Citroen DS4 unveiled prior to Paris 2010 debut

Citoren has unveiled yet another new model in its DS range – the Citroen DS4, bringing the new modern DS line-up up to a total of two models so far.

It’s essentially a very high spec Citroen C4, using the same platform, however dimensions are a little different. It’s shorter, taller and wider than the C4, and while the interior pretty much has a similar design except with much higher grade materials, on the exterior you can notice that the shape of the car between the B and C pillar of the DS4 is noticeably shorter than the C4. The rear door handles have also been hidden in the window trim.

The Citroen DS4 will be available with a choice of 5 engines – two HDi diesels and three petrol engines. The most powerful is the 200 horsepower THP petrol engine, joined by a THP 155 and a VTi 120. All three are different variants of the 1.6 litre BMW-PSA Prince engine, with the THPs being turbocharged and the VTi being a normally aspirated model. You can either have these with a manual transmission or a Citroen EGS transmission which is an AMT-type automated clutch manual.

Look after the jump for more photos and a full press release.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1459]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• hksport on Aug 30, 2010 at 7:17 pm

looks like subaru impreza to me… o.O

• c14man on Aug 30, 2010 at 7:29 pm

sexy looks and sexy lines..
    by the way, is it same category with Polo or Golf? 308?

• pacifictuna on Aug 30, 2010 at 9:24 pm

not sure bout polo, but definitely similar to 308 since it share platform with the current C4. but this sure sexy…..

• hanifhamzah on Aug 30, 2010 at 8:01 pm

hot hatch!!!

• handsome*dude on Aug 30, 2010 at 8:27 pm

Oh shit~~ so gorgeous~~~ much better than my 308T ~~ I wan one of these!!~

i wish NAZA or other can do the Citroen like PUG~ make it a affordable price here, !!

will these day soon enuf??

Citroen feel must classy and now even sportier with the DS series compare to PUG~~
    !!

• aksMs on Sep 01, 2010 at 5:48 am

You wanna buy this when Berukland is running the show for Citroen locally? Good luck then.

• Is it possible that brooklands to bring in 2011? Garang!!!

• bryan.jones on Aug 30, 2010 at 8:31 pm

nice job Mr Metroz!!

• d'bankers-i on Aug 30, 2010 at 8:33 pm

does this car is rebadge from lancer?
    if you look it closely,u can see lancer figure,especially @ their front end

• mangkok on Aug 30, 2010 at 9:58 pm

aiyoo…why on earth would the french wanna copy the not so nice lancer la?

• RadzLee on Aug 30, 2010 at 8:43 pm

Phewww…! indeed a hot hatch~
    doubt it will be introduced in Malaysia….

• shawal on Aug 30, 2010 at 8:51 pm

Beautifully made inside and out , but white is not its color…

• What a car! absolutely solid….

• Katak on Aug 30, 2010 at 10:59 pm

This one is a much sweeter than the Ford Fiesta^^

• petra on Aug 30, 2010 at 11:15 pm

macam Savvy jak ni

• Thomas on Aug 30, 2010 at 11:48 pm

ouk……beautiful car! I fall in luv………..

• loollool on Aug 31, 2010 at 12:16 am

3 of the baby use this same Prince engine, DS4, 308T & MiniCooper S~
    I will choose this, DS4 !! i fall in love!! DS3 already so nice….this one better~~

DS4

Renault Megane Coupe

new Alfa Giulietta

… all super sexy hot hatch !!!!!!!!!!!

the Scirocco is nice too, but a bit on the fierce end~~

• To sell Citroen DS3 and to get RenaultSport Megane on Aug 31, 2010 at 1:02 am

is it just me or does the back have the similarities to the new RenaultSport Megane? Or does all frenchies now come out with small rear window??

• I would just buy this car just because of the RPM’s…

• did MV Agusta has been sold 1euro again?..i read it from newspaper..for sure huge thumb down for me this time

• wish p1 could consider /adopt this kind/trend of design of our cars

• mr_3m on Aug 31, 2010 at 5:20 am

petra,

betul la macam savvy, sebab citroen ni ‘hatch back’ jugak… that’s where the similarity ends OK.
    Design detail wise macam langit dengan bumi OK.

• The Black Stig on Aug 31, 2010 at 8:51 am

Beautiful car indeed, shorter but taller than the C4 it’s kinda radical for current demand. A nicely sculpted interior which is so typical to Citroen.

• Why this Citroen DS4’s rear passenger’s doors has no door latch? Only the front doors have such latch. Is it meant to be opened from inside?

• saki77 on Aug 31, 2010 at 1:00 pm

Pls read the article before make any comments…
      Some people la….

• septzz on Oct 11, 2011 at 11:02 am

hidden at the C pillar. like the Hyundai Veloster. And that new Chevy Sonic.

• Kavin on Aug 31, 2010 at 11:18 am

wow….the behind has takes some lines from AudiA4…..if only the costs of parts are reasonable, why not??

• squawk on Aug 31, 2010 at 1:00 pm

Sexy car. But not sure what to think of the ‘melted’ look of the binnacle.

• anoymous on Aug 31, 2010 at 3:51 pm

nice but later resale no value…junk still…ugly too…

• SavvyTron on Sep 01, 2010 at 2:17 am

how to open back passenger door??didnt see any handle.

• Jaybond on Sep 01, 2010 at 9:27 am

Looks very nice. This is what DS line up are designed for – as Citroen’s premium sub-brand. Maybe the next one will be a sedan (Citroen Metropolis concept).

• Anti Proton on Sep 01, 2010 at 11:05 pm

i just seriously love the interior

• ArDi Yusof on Sep 04, 2010 at 12:42 am

The rear door, is it such as mazda8? Love it

• Sexy!

• Henry on Oct 10, 2011 at 4:56 pm

Wow! Nice and classy. A worthy competitor to the Pug 3008 and BMW X1.

• fiesta on Oct 10, 2011 at 5:10 pm

it would be great if it can be price more or less the same with fiesta. :)

• Should be nice car. But from my 6 years of citroen ownership, till this moment, I will conclude that if only the price of parts and the cost of repairs are much more reasonable, many will find Citroens quite a viable choice.
    It has superb comfort/handling balance, very economical (my C8 does RM0.13 per km on long journeys with 7 on board in total comfort at a constant 120km/h) … a totally different driving experience then any Jap and Koren MPVs.