Paris 2010 debut: Mazda Shinari 4-door coupe concept

Mazda has unveiled a new concept called the Shinari at a private press event held in Milan recently. This new four-door coupe concept will give the public a hint to the future direction the Mazda family will take in terms of design language.

Given the designation “Kodo”, it replaces the oddball Nagare design language that we’ve all become accustomed to, most recently seen on the latest version of the Mazda5 M{V. In Japanese, “Kodo” translate to “soul of motion” and the creation of the design was a joint effort between Mazda’s design studios in Japan, U.S. and Germany.

General Manager of Mazda Motor Corp design division Ikuo Maeda had this to say when asked when the new design language will appear on new models, “this design will lead to the next generation of Mazda design and will lead to other elements.”

Apart from the usual, Mazda also unveiled their plans of wanting to compete with luxury carmakers and has confirmed that they will be improving the quality of their interior levels. “We want to play in the same group as BMW and Audi. On fit and finish we want the same level of quality, ” said Derek Jenkins, director of design for Mazda North America.

The Shinari will make its official debut at the Paris Motor Show on the 30th of September this year. Check out the picture gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1460]

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• vertigo on Aug 31, 2010 at 5:25 pm

seriously, mazda has never failed me on their designs. and i’m still getting the better from them.

• Looking good :)

• Aaron Isaac on Aug 31, 2010 at 6:08 pm

if I’m a school girl, panties sure drop liao!!!! damn handsome car!

• its only a drawing…and a concept model will be 5% different…then the production model will be 70% different…

• zaff1984 on Aug 31, 2010 at 6:10 pm

very nice… as good as maserati design… better than the old design language.

• nimosy89 on Aug 31, 2010 at 6:16 pm

love it…

• shawal on Aug 31, 2010 at 6:27 pm

Awesome effort by Mazda

• oh
    my
    gosh~~
    fantastic design…….. @.@

• Jimmy on Aug 31, 2010 at 7:35 pm

Arabian or Malay name. Why not Waja Lancari :-)

• Benny on Aug 31, 2010 at 7:36 pm

I Fell in Love with my new Mazda. Mazda always produce excellent design man Loving Mazda

• firefox on Aug 31, 2010 at 7:50 pm

very nice design….

• squawk on Aug 31, 2010 at 8:02 pm

Looks great! Less ‘organic’ than Nagare but still very sleek.

• Yoong Tofu on Aug 31, 2010 at 8:20 pm

No more silly grin :)

• libralcl on Aug 31, 2010 at 8:39 pm

Great design. Better exterior than the Hyundai i-flow (personal feel) and the interior has the gene of McLaren MP412C. =)

• c14man on Aug 31, 2010 at 8:51 pm

Super SEXY!!
    The RX8 is one sexy car~
    and this is much better!
    way to go Mazda!
    Congratz!
    Hope it gets here!
    (not that i can afford it, at least i can feast my eyes on it) =p

• FrozenHeart on Aug 31, 2010 at 8:59 pm

Another Zoom Zoom design from Mazda? Absolutely Cool ! Love it, maybe this will be use for next gen Mazda 6 ?

Zoom Zoom

• SpiderX on Sep 11, 2010 at 4:47 am

I’m thinking the same too.. It will be good if it’s the mazda 6 replacement! I’ll definitely get 1!

• RadzLee on Aug 31, 2010 at 9:43 pm

Rx-8 replacement maybe?

• cyrus on Sep 01, 2010 at 8:50 am

more like rx7 to me… we still waiting for the new rx7 to come

• nicholas on Sep 01, 2010 at 2:24 pm

i dont think rx7.
        since the new rotary sport car is gonna be 2 doors. not 4 doors.
        maybe new mazda sedan

• hinder on Aug 31, 2010 at 10:47 pm

mazda announce stop production of rx-8 which is coupe line with four dour, however now appear new concept of coupe which similar rx-8 ,but most excited is what engine it gonna be? rotary 1.5x+turbo zoom zoom zoom

• Cars look really great!!! Really got its own unique design language and surprise Mazda can change their design language so quickly.

However this is Mazda, they have a history of producing really great-looking concept and than overly tone down for their production version. Let’s see how this car turns out.

• sheikomatic on Sep 01, 2010 at 12:32 am

cant agree more.. most of their concepts doesnt make into production..

• c14man on Sep 02, 2010 at 12:49 am

true…

but at least this one looks closer to production than their previous futuristic concepts.
      let’s hope it does make it to production.
      they’ve been having that large grill design for quite some time in their previous concepts, but current production cars still have that big smiley face.

• S.Neo on Aug 31, 2010 at 11:19 pm

much much much better than Hyundai or KIA ….
    love it !!!

• kozaen on Aug 31, 2010 at 11:20 pm

Way to go Mazda!!!… The most refreshing Japanese auto brand out there. Can’t wait for this baby to be on the road. Definitely will trade my current mazda 6 for this sexy beast :)

• yeah..itz definitely will be compete with the Merc CLS…mazda 6 cost u less than 180k…this new maza dude will cost u more than 200k…confirm…pay the tax and make our G rich…

• 1country on Aug 31, 2010 at 11:42 pm

perfect!!

• perfect design..but how to open the door….??

• nice design……….but how to open the door???

• JonLing on Sep 01, 2010 at 8:57 am

if this is where mazda would be heading, then i will say that they will be heading towards a very promising future. What a great evolution and change to the old Nagare design language. Take out the weak spot, maintain and enhance the strength, and add in something new in the mix. Brilliant!

• looks like japanese version of aston martin rapide…sweet

• Iskandar on Sep 01, 2010 at 9:12 am

Breathtaking.

If Mazda 3 would use this design, I’ll definitely wait.

• The Black Stig on Sep 01, 2010 at 9:28 am

I am a Mazda lover.. will buy this car anytime. Hope they translate the design principle to new gen M6.

• nice looking car but its only a concept car not the real stuff yet, hopefully the real car will look similar.

• LoveIt on Sep 01, 2010 at 3:18 pm

This will be the next generation of Mazda RX-8…definately

• mthree on Sep 01, 2010 at 7:48 pm

The most beautiful Mazda ever! Awesome!

• that is the way to go man…….
    good job and hoping to see more good designs

• skatax on Sep 01, 2010 at 10:16 pm

That big-mouthed grille made Shinari looks more like a Jag version of Lamborghini Estoque! Good! Looks neat but profound.

At least the concept car now looks more conti and less confined compared to the previous concepts; Taiki, Ryuga, Hakaze, which is also great but short-lived. That’s what happens when your Head of Design resigns (van den Acker) these days, they put their great ideas to rest as the move to a new company. Too bad. But I admit, the 2011 Mazda5 did look horrible. Huh~

But Mazda, come on lah; you should at least produce a limited run of the drop-dead gorgeous Furai to commemorate the end of Nagare design era! Just slap LF-A’s price tag should do the trick…

• mirror mirror on Sep 01, 2010 at 10:31 pm

Almost forget there is a Mazda in the Japanese line-up, yes Mazda makes exciting cars, the 6 in my opinion is better than the Accord and Camry; and the Lantis and Astina are really memorable models.

• Anti Proton on Sep 01, 2010 at 11:02 pm

omg this is seriously good stuff

• Fuyoh!niceeee!!!LOVE MAZDA!

• REDRIDDLES on Sep 02, 2010 at 8:40 am

its is like a more practical car compare to mazda furai …the design is so futuristic

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Sep 02, 2010 at 10:46 am

rear looks sexy but front is jaguar-ish

• Kelvin Tan on Sep 03, 2010 at 2:53 am

better call it the new RX-9 then.

if mazda go ‘premium’ one day, they should make cars to match these guys:

Aston Martin Rapide
    Lambo Estoque
    Porsche Panamera
    Maserati Quattoporte
    McMerc CLS AMG