Volvo S60 coming in 2011, possibly with T3/T4 GTDi engines

The all new Volvo S60 is coming our way “in 2011” according to Volvo Car Malaysia (VCM). The statement from VCM also mentions the “possibility of offering the T3 and/or T4 for future Volvo models offered here in Malaysia”. The new 1.6-litre GTDi engine badged as T3 and T4 will make its worldwide debut on the S60 and V60, so these cars could be the “future models” VCM is talking about. It’s likely that the S60 will be locally assembled in Shah Alam.

Before we proceed, note that the “T” designation is no longer reserved for performance range toppers. Volvo has a new naming system in place that “ranks” the engines for each model – T6 is more powerful than T4, which is more powerful than T3, for instance. The same thing applies for the diesel “D” variants.

The GTDi name makes one think of a diesel, but is actually a four-cylinder turbocharged direct injection petrol range, downsized like how the Europeans like it. The 1.6 GTDi T3 has 150 hp and 240 Nm while T4 spec gives it 180 hp and 240 Nm, which rises to 270 Nm on overboost. VVT on both inlet and exhaust valves are employed. These engines can be paired to either a six-speed manual or a six-speed Powershift twin-clutch unit – no prizes for guessing which we’ll get!

For the 1.6-litre GTDi, Volvo positioned each injector centrally above the piston, just beside the spark plug. The injectors have six holes each, somewhat unusual for centrally positioned injectors. This gives particularly uniform and finely atomised fuel distribution and greater control on fuel dosage.

In cold starts, the fuel is sprayed into the middle of the combustion chamber prior to ignition. The high fuel injection pressure of 100 bar means that preparation is perfect and less fuel ends up on the cold combustion chamber walls. This helps cut emissions and reduces the amount of fuel consumed. Another benefit is reduced soot particulates compared with a side-positioned injector. In cold starts, this injection style also contributes to quick heating of the catalytic converter, which in turn speeds up the exhaust cleaning process.

Click here to view the S60 and here to read the V60 post.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• new offering is good…..

• armandd on Sep 02, 2010 at 11:26 am

i’m certain that we’ll not get the manual version, which is sad for people who really loves driving..

• The Loner on Sep 02, 2010 at 1:24 pm

Boleh Land is following the foot steps of Japan and American, where majority of the cars are automatic transmission.

• Prashnan on Sep 02, 2010 at 11:52 am

Day by day, engines are getting smaller and powerfull….!Good
    Less roadtax and import duty….

Hopefully! there price range in RM150,000 and below, due to (GEELY)
    if not buyer’s will go for Up coming Camry 7speed!

Hope to see soon!

• Yay! I want the T4 6-speed manual! Wishing and hoping they’ll offer both variants.

• zanggief on Sep 02, 2010 at 11:58 am

looks like pretty attractive, with 1.6litre can perform like d normal 2.0litre model.

Is there any idea on the price tag?

Also, curious about d diesel model available in europe. Would that be bring into boleh land in future…

• The Loner on Sep 02, 2010 at 3:51 pm

Possible if G willing to approve sale of ULSD (ultra low sulphur diesel) here.

• gracke on Sep 02, 2010 at 12:03 pm

Volvo, another good choice of continental machine. So glad that VCM provide a 1.6GTDi turbocharge and direct injection engine, powerful and it’s a big saloon! I wonder how much will it be?

• dickybird on Sep 02, 2010 at 12:09 pm

lol! that cold piece of engine does look quite sexy! some more turbo and direct injection! phwoar!

• RadzLee on Sep 02, 2010 at 12:46 pm

nice car, nice package…
    Anybody can explain why currently volvo cars are rare on malaysian roads?

• Jaybond on Sep 02, 2010 at 1:06 pm

It’s becoz of the mindset of vehicle buyers themselves, especially European cars, majority will opt for either MB or BMW, but not many will chose Volvo. But the new S60 is certainly a big step for Volvo towards a new direction, and also the car has gained positive review worldwide.

• campro on Sep 02, 2010 at 4:55 pm

Mercedes and bmw hv good resale value….Mercedes hv the less depreciation….same go to Honda & Toyota….think wisely sometime really no need to waste money due to the high depreciation….usually ppl will chg new car after 5-7 year…
        some more Mercedes & Bmw really more advanced n hv good looking design….for japanese car, honda & toyota better than it rivals japanese car….

• I see alot in Penang though.

• kamal on Sep 02, 2010 at 12:58 pm

is the xc90 also assembled in shah alam?

• patrick on Sep 02, 2010 at 1:23 pm

hopefully volvo will price it lower than 130k since it is a 1.6 class..more affordable for the future pls

• sutheshkumar on Sep 02, 2010 at 1:50 pm

I thought the T3 is only available with manual?

• mirror mirror on Sep 02, 2010 at 2:10 pm

Now, would you buy this or the Volkswagen Passat CC?

• chang voon on Sep 04, 2010 at 11:12 pm

I PREFER PASSAT CC……BEAUTIFUL..POWERFUL…AND ADVANCE TECH..

• eeeriz on Sep 06, 2010 at 3:41 pm

Yeah, me too. But if compared against T6, I’d go for T6! I luv big engine and the sound of it..

• Lazri on Sep 02, 2010 at 2:15 pm

I doubt we’re going to see the GTDi engines anytime soon; same goes with any diesel options. We’re probably going to get the T6 3-litre version and that’s the only petrol option available anywhere.

• David on Sep 02, 2010 at 10:04 pm

Not exactly. Volvo, through one of the saleswoman i talked to while enquiring about the S80 said they will be launching the XC60 with the new 2.0 turbocharged engine for under 300k, yet still loaded with all those safety features like that adaptive cruise control, City Safety, and a truckload of them. So launching the S60 with those GTDi engines is safe to say, a reality.

• hetfield on Sep 02, 2010 at 2:48 pm

the colour of the rear diffuser doesn’t match with the car..ugly.

• I just don’t understand why Volvo want tot send a low range Volvo here? Should it be a T5 variant is better? Speaking of which I think beside the new S60..I would love to see if the Volvo can bring the S40 T5 version instead! And I figured that the old S60 T5 is better than the new ones since to me the newer version is “underpower”..

• not really underpowered.even the 1.6 turbo at 240Nm torque is higher than the mighty BMW 320 “ultimate driving machine” that sells so well here in Malaysia at stratospheric prices. if they can sell the new S60 1.6 T3 around the price of the 2.0 S40 (circa RM170) quite a number of buyers will be tempted to turn away from the camry and accord.the problem with the S40 is that it’s too small to use as a family car.better as a second car.

• really, who is that on earth will choose s60 over Accord? the new s60 even still new in Valve timing technology and you expect T4 engine or T6 engine to challenge the best selling iVTEC engine? wake up laarrr….wake up…look around you….how often s60 come to your vision.

• haha you are so funny trying to use the s60 name as well.I owned an accord and sold it to buy the S60T when it was launched in 2001.In terms of power,no fight-lar,only the 3.5L accord can match it in acceleration,definitely not the 2.0 or 2.4L even with iVTEC.the only problem with the volvo was expensive maintenance.
          why do you see less S60 than accords on the road?it is way more expensive.look around,most of the accords are the 2.0 variants,less than RM150K,compared to the S60 which is a >200K car.

My point is that if volvo can bring down the price of the new S60 it would give us the consumer more choices.If you like the accord,then by all means buy it.but I am sure there are people out there who would prefer a solid conti turbo if it is sold at the same price as the jap model.

• gracke on Sep 02, 2010 at 11:54 pm

This is Volvo S60, a luxury, performance, comfort and handling big saloon car. How to compare with Accord??? Many people’s dream car in those days but now we all are able to afford it, is a good news.

If a person who knows about this car definitely they will buy it and now even less than 200k(may be n hope so), surely people choice.

• Ahmad on Sep 03, 2010 at 1:05 pm

Hey S60 ,

You are S60 and NOT S60T.

S60T (is the only logical dude ) NOT S60 as per this forum

S60 seems to me like a HONDA salesman without any professionalism and knowledge at all but create cristicism without fruits.

If you want to sell HONDA please be more professional as not many people will listen to what you say into buying a HONDA when their dream car is actually a VOLVO .

Even no matter how good or bad any HONDA is , HONDA does NOT carry the BADGE PREMIUM AND LUXURY compare with any VOLVO CARS.

For info VOLVO introduce RN engine way back in 2000 with refine continous variable valve timing technology and such technolgy did exist in all S40 , S80 series before 2000 couple with turbo terchnolgy. Sadly you do not know.

Anyway VVTI is an old engine technology terminolgy enhance and use by TOYOTA now was actually developed and patent by FIAT group ( Alfa Romeo ) in the 1960 and then by GM in the mid 1970. Now TOYOTA and not to mention HONDA is the engine copy cat of such Variable Valve timing technology idea .

I begin to WONDER and started asking myself question once again as how durable and reliable is a I-VTEC HONDA engine now. Quality wise on HONDA ???

Personally PRESENTLY any products coming out from JAPAN to me is still a little bit on the shoddy goods syndrome of the 1970 era.
          There is still that something is actually lacking in a Japanese car compare to a continent car which i still cannot express but can feel it.

Perhap Continental car give rise to a soul and confidence in which Japanese car does not have.

That why forever admirer and customer of continental cars

• Joseon on Sep 04, 2010 at 3:24 pm

Ahmad you’re right.
            Engines from Toyota (Yamaha Motor Co), honda, Subaru (Fuji Heavy Industries) are yesteryears technology.
            Meanwhile only Mitsubishi on par with continentals marque by sharing GEMA engine with the South Koreans marque.

• Joseon on Sep 04, 2010 at 3:54 pm

Eventhough Volvo is on the hands of Geely (China), R&D is still based in Scandinavia Europe.

Same goes to Jaguar / Land Rover which belongs to Tata (India), R&D at UK.

Don’t ever have narrow mind-set judging automotive from China or India shall be inferior!

Nissan is lucky to have Carlos Ghosn Renault to keep there engines up to date.

• BeemerFreak on Sep 02, 2010 at 8:31 pm

Lets hope they price it not above rm 230k then it would give the Passat cc a run for its money. Anyway VW Malaysia has just brought in the 5 seater version of the Passat CC which should spice things up against the severly underspecced 320i and Merc C200 CGI.

• b€e it s60 or 3 series, both take civic FD design as their benchmark. But none of them match the high pick up and performance of 2.0 iVTEC. Civic is a market leader and king of the car for now.

• gracke on Sep 03, 2010 at 9:15 am

Civic only performance among Altis, Sylphy and Lancer(may be), between Volvo S60, not yet!

• for your info the outgoing s60 makes the century dash in 7 sec(auto), with a top speed of 250km/h.no civic 2.0 iVTEC boy racer can catch it on the highway unless it has been heavily modified. perhaps a type R on twisty roads. if you read the s60 blogs you will find quite a number of speed junkies who enjoy poking fun at the 320/325/520/523/525/528 owners. 330/530/M3/M5/evo/impreza of course loose-lah.

“Civic king of the car”????hardly everyone’s dream car.affordable,worth the money,good resale,yes(but new model coming soon)…..but if turbo contis become more affordable………

• shawal on Sep 02, 2010 at 10:38 pm

volvolicious~!

• AntiEvil on Sep 02, 2010 at 11:47 pm

Indians are doing a GREAT job at VOLVO in designing cars .. unlike when it was owned by FORD, all VOLVOS before look like chinese coffins on wheels

• campro on Sep 03, 2010 at 4:32 am

Western all like BOX shape car….that y japanese car hv to special design another version for america & europe market…..example accord, civic, camry n so on….Asia and Europe car hv minor different design….our Asia version more pretty

• mmouse on Apr 07, 2011 at 12:59 pm

0 thumb ups 20 thumb downs. I don’t understand why this is tagged as Hot debate. Shouldn’t it be Well hated?

• Lim Kopi on Sep 03, 2010 at 12:51 am

hhmm …. good that volvo is making a come back with a decent model with spec ….

Problem is , with the presence of a new competitor – VW now selling in more numbers than Volvo locally, I do think they still need to work hard on their pricing to catch up ..

and with Geely being its new owner really doesnt help much …

• Hbong on Sep 03, 2010 at 1:00 am

Below 200k pls ask Volvo salesman come n take order now !!

• Jaybond on Sep 03, 2010 at 10:03 am

You can get the Volvo P1X cars (S40 & V50) for under 180K now. But for the new S60 (CKD form) expect the price to be in the same level as the MB C-class, BMW 3 Series, Audi A4 & VW Passat CC, which means 200K-plus, that is the current standard, at the end of the day you will get a high quality European car same as the Germans.

• i currently own a Camry 2.0. after 3.5 yrs, my conclusion is the Camry is a worth-buy machine. somehow, i am thinking to change from japanese driving-feel to westen one, budget around RM250k. tested C200 CGI, it is powerful, good handling, smaller, and harder suspension compare with Camry. but the new S60 is catching my attention! glad to know it is coming to us nx yr (hopefully in CKD). here i need some one’s advice between this two car. thanks a lots!

• Ebear on Sep 04, 2010 at 10:38 am

S60 n C may be too small for you as Camry is famous for space.

Maybe can visit the VW or Audi showrooms, just for fun.

• Yamatei on Sep 04, 2010 at 5:11 pm

new! Volvo S60
        NCAP 5 stars.
        Good F/C.
        Good Ride & Handling.
        Low CO2 emission.
        Low Maintenance cost.

Toyota Camry [ASEAN variant (except SG)]
        NCAP 3 stars.
        High F/C.
        Poor Ride & Handling.
        High CO2 emission.
        Average Maintanance cost.

Live life progressively & prosper!

• Realistic on Sep 03, 2010 at 11:30 pm

When I think of this car, I think only of GEELY! How to be reliable later on when you need to change spare parts? You will only get China made parts, same as Chery etc.

Cannot la, better to buy VW, Audi, BMW or Mercedes for the same money!

• Pachard on Sep 06, 2010 at 1:55 pm

I want that all new Volvo S60..

• is S60 comparable wif the 3series n c-class? i thot it is in the same class wif the 5series n e-class, then the S40 must be smaller than the 3series. am i rite?

btw, i wld like to give my words accrdint to wat “S60” mentioned above, im totally agree dat civic cant be campare wif this volvo, why does he want to win his civic, where it SO OBVOUS dat the volvo is SURELY gonna smoke the civic wif the turbo integrated,

the civic is only integrated with i-VTEC, doesnt help much, it juz give A LITTLE extra performance, Y DOESNT HE UNDERSTAND!!!!!! i-VTEC,VVTI,MIVEC or watever oldschool “enhancing” tech is NO MATCH wif the VOLVO,BMW,MERC,AUDI tech…………………………….

• Delay and delay. Now new CKD S60 supposed to be launched in July 2011. Fed up already lah… not waiting anymore, buy something else. How can Volvo be out of this segment of the market for so long? C200s, A4s and 3 series must be laughing their heads off at Volvo’s marketing (or lack of) strategy.

• paganfarmer on Jan 01, 2011 at 9:15 pm

i cancelled buying the s40 to wait for this. please god, let the price be below 200k! pls…!!!!!!

• re:yamatei
    NCAP 3 stars.
    High F/C.
    Poor Ride & Handling.
    High CO2 emission.
    Average Maintanance cost.

TRUE OR NOT CAMRY NCAP 3 STAR ONLY????

• Re: yamatei