Petronas Merdeka 2010 Short Film – Kereta Buruk

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Goniothalamus on Sep 08, 2010 at 12:05 am

motivation is better than wealth.

• jay8393 on Sep 08, 2010 at 12:15 am

I second that.

• lorenzo on Sep 08, 2010 at 12:16 am

Yet i still prefer wealth.

• shawal on Sep 08, 2010 at 2:35 am

from where these high school students got the money to build a golf cart anyway

• pomen_gtr on Sep 17, 2010 at 4:59 pm

normally this project fund came from the school yearly financial plan.

to include R&D purpose like this…..my school did some project long time ago….but not on cars/bike related la…

btw..u can judge it yourself….how could a school children using basic tools to build high-end finished product exactly as a modified-golf buggy :p

but….the value of this short film….u think it yourself….cheers..

• wuttaheck on Sep 08, 2010 at 11:54 am

both is better

• wealth can bring up motivation

• ibex7 on Sep 08, 2010 at 8:11 am

No la..the desire to be wealthy going to fire up the motivation..that’s the right way! =)

• The message is clear, where there’s a will there’s a way.
      And it has nothing to do with wealth.
      If you want to be wealthy, there is always a way.
      Just stop complaining, stop blaming others, and stop giving excuses.
      Yet, I like the 1Malaysia spirit showed in the commercial.

• Tiadaid on Sep 08, 2010 at 10:06 am

If you got the motivation, then wealth will come to you sooner or later.

• hinder on Sep 08, 2010 at 12:18 am

Boring

• losantara on Sep 08, 2010 at 12:24 am

The white car pulling the cendol stall is actually a Club Car Golf Buggy distributed by YAMAHA. You can find in most golf clubs in Malaysia

• wow, whan an idea! where’s a will, there’s a way!

• mfahd_88 on Sep 08, 2010 at 12:32 am

can’t wait to watch their 2010 raya ad

• budin on Sep 08, 2010 at 4:01 am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lW-kOc2ZeQI Petronas 2010 Raya TVC

• yuzman on Sep 08, 2010 at 8:08 am

raya ad already came out since few days ago.. P.Ramlee version this time

• Adrian on Sep 08, 2010 at 1:39 am

Touching advert. Just like one those from our late Yasmin Ahmad’s heart-touching tv ads.
    Kudos to those who produce it. Cheers :)

• proud to be kajangian!

• heh heh on Sep 08, 2010 at 5:32 am

“kalah menang adat pertandingan, yg penting niat kita tu..”

hidden msg–> mercedesGP petronas x menang F1 pun xpe, yg penting niat nasionalisme tu taja team yg antara yg terhebat/terbesar.. :D

• lol

• Elvis on Sep 09, 2010 at 10:38 am

“kalah menang adat pertandingan, yg penting niat kita tu” , ya, rite, tell that to BeeEnd when they lose the next general election 2012. Definately theres going to be a lot of sour grapes VIPs…

• Malaysian 4ever on Sep 08, 2010 at 5:45 am

Proton Bashers attitude….like the orange groups….

• Potong Boley on Sep 08, 2010 at 6:47 am

Still can’t beat the ads produced by the late Yasmin.. anyway the raya ad already out laaa..

• freeze on Sep 08, 2010 at 7:33 am

But will that be road legal?

• leonardo on Sep 08, 2010 at 8:04 am

IMO the story is more like ‘thinking outside the box’ thingy – while all the other students were buliding car derivatives, the winner built a modern cendol cart to help one of the student’s dad. Yeah, everyone knows it’s a golf buggy, but it’s what you can do with it which differentiate creativity from the mundane.

• clwon on Sep 08, 2010 at 8:36 am

the shooting loc is in kajang weh??

• Alvinthv on Sep 08, 2010 at 8:49 am

Petronas always have nice Merdeka Short Film. Very Touching as well.
    Go 1 Malaysia. Even the short film is normal, but I still like to watch it.

• cazrun on Sep 08, 2010 at 9:20 am

nice ad.. sell the wheel n u can make money from it.. :)

• pedrosa on Sep 08, 2010 at 9:27 am

I wish I get a chance to build a car when I was a high school student.

• Tiadaid on Sep 08, 2010 at 10:03 am

The emotional aspect of the ad is forced, notl like in the old days when Yasmin Ahmad was around. They tried too hard to play with the audience’s emotion and it just comes out unnatural.

Besides, using emotional appeal in these ads are no longer effective, in my opinion. Why can’t they use humour to spread the message, like back in 1998 with the “Kasut Gombak” Petronas ad, or the 1999 Boat Race ad? At least it reduces viewer fatigue. I bet none of you remember right at the top of your head the Petronas Merdeka ad for last year, but I’m sure many of you remember that Kasut Gombak ad from 10 years ago!

• trav_da_man on Sep 08, 2010 at 11:02 am

Extractly what i felt too, I dont feel anything special on this advert, not even closer to that boat race 11 years back. This advert has lost its emotional touch unlike the ones from Yasmin Ahmad

In fact i felt nationalism among Malaysians in 2010 took a dive to the bottom due to recent racism issues and lack of flag hanging around our houses, buildings and our cars. Even my friend was a victim of racism and violence when he was assaulted by a group of teens asking him to go back to china at jalan pinang during merdeka day. That news can been seen around FB and malaysian insider.

Speaking about tv adverts, there only 2 in which one from TM and another from Petronas. The one from TM was forced too, and this petronas one is honestly disappointing. I do really miss Yasmin’s magic now…………

• autojohndoe on Sep 08, 2010 at 7:59 pm

really?

what is happening to Malaysia…

someone is playing racial card for their own benefit…

• tokmoh on Sep 09, 2010 at 12:42 am

I’ve read about your fren’s incident in FB, I feel sorry that he had become a victim and for the state of this country. It is almost as if the passing of Yasmin Ahmad had also brought along the death of the warmth of compassion that Malaysia had and should have.

You and your friend probably do not celebrate Hari Raya Aidilfitri, but please accept “maaf zahir dan batin” from me. Please have faith that there are “Malays” who truly want to just be “Malaysian”. It’s about time our leaders need to really understand that we do not owe them toleration against this BS and many other racist crime.

Heck, I wonder if they know this ad exist at all. Yet another one of Yasmin’s priceless masterpiece: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P6jIHaYOA9k

• Tiadaid on Sep 08, 2010 at 11:05 am

Actually I just remembered, there were no Merdeka ad last year, because the ad agency was still reeling from the shock of Yasmin’s death. But still, emotional appeals should go! Petronas, stop being touchy-feely and find some sense of humour!

• tokmoh on Sep 08, 2010 at 8:14 pm

I think it doesn’t matter whether it’s comedy or emotional, it’s a matter of execution. Just look at this year’s Petronas raya ads somebody posted up above. God, the loghat Kedah feels cheesy instead of funny. THIS is how to make funny dialogue with loghat Kedah: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b5-zaBmAR7g

I see that Petronas struggles to find a worthy Yasmin replacement. Understandable since she sets the standard so high she’s literally irreplaceable.

Slow poke la you, Paul :P Merdeka dah seminggu lepas, letak ads raya pun takpe hehehe :)

• Tiadaid on Sep 09, 2010 at 8:42 am

Well, it’s not Petronas’ fault. It’s Leo Burnett, the ad agency’s fault. From what I’ve heard (a friend of mine interned there and are good friends with the creative team), they’re really struggling, and it isn’t helped by the purging of many old timers. The reason? Well the people over there didn’t practice what they preach in the ad you linked! But the shoe’s on the other foot in the ad industry.

• bboyaman on Sep 08, 2010 at 10:52 am

show always different with reality …..

• teressap cock on Sep 08, 2010 at 12:58 pm

u r rite..ideal dreams of Malaysian..but it do happened at Kajang,at High School Kajang..we do mix together..miss all those days

• Disappointed Son of Malaysia on Sep 08, 2010 at 11:58 am

Who took the 1Malaysia mentality away from us? and now trying very hard to implement that mentality back to us with this 1Malaysia campaign? Sorry…its very difficult after all the damage been done and racism remarks.

Btw, Malaysian will need a Visa to enter China even though if you’re a Chinese. Not so simple as what been said of “Lu balik China makan la!”. Can imagine this sentence came out from a headmaster.

• Tiadaid on Sep 09, 2010 at 11:34 am

No, there’s no one person to blame for the degradation of 1Malaysia mentality. All are to blame for stoking the fires of racism for their own personal gain. And it’s only difficult if we make it difficult. Racism is everywhere, and its victims are every one of us. There’s no one in this country who have not been a victim of racism, even in its smallest form.

At least 1Malaysia is a but a small step in the right direction, but for the love of god I couldn’t understand why some people attempted to subvert what should have been a step for a unified Malaysia for political means!

• santa on Sep 08, 2010 at 12:26 pm

Pimp My Ride – Kajang Edition.

• Alwin on Sep 08, 2010 at 1:14 pm

OMG! now M’sian still making such things ah? Can we improve a bit? Somemore, still using races to do the show…..come on…..

• 4g15p on Sep 08, 2010 at 1:15 pm

But i like this one ^_^

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0kKcA1s0klE

• Aaron Isaac on Sep 08, 2010 at 1:20 pm

great message, but acting could be better -.-“

• I dun understand the meaning of this ad.

Can the white cendol car pass Puspakom test not??

• mirror mirror on Sep 08, 2010 at 3:40 pm

Ad message – Action speaks louder than words.

• rexis on Sep 08, 2010 at 5:38 pm

Maybank Merdeka ad is better

• apamau on Sep 08, 2010 at 5:55 pm

Oops.. for me it sounds like.. niat is penting.. proton, niat is penting.. don’t win also nvm.

• pulge on Sep 08, 2010 at 9:41 pm

From what I can see from this ad, the real message is to encourage creativity and ideas. We should note that our education is mostly theoretical and not many schools in Malaysia could develop such creative and functional ideas for the masses. In fact I see none. The fact that not all good looking designs can be practical or sensible for the market is also noteworthy.

We should have a broader mindset and come up with ideas to help people in a good way. Do not criticize others for their opinion as everyone have the rights to voice out.

My opinions.

• It means we know how to build cars already.. after 53 years :)

• copycat on Sep 09, 2010 at 4:29 am

It also means after 53 years some national car company can start copy and paste from Mitsubishi.

• Elvis on Sep 09, 2010 at 2:18 pm

Maybe Petronas should do ad on how they suck billions of dollar from oil revenue to certain CEO, board of directors, royal family members and certain exPMs and PM of Malaysia. Now that will be a very good moral ad!!!