JDM Honda Inspire facelifted, our Accord to follow?

The Accord is still a global name, but it has stopped being a true global car since the sixth-generation model. Since then, Honda created an Accord for each major type of market: Japan, Europe and North America. Japan and Europe started sharing a more compact version of the Accord since the seventh generation, while the US Accord joined the size race. And since bigger is better in our part of the world, ASEAN got the North American body.

In Japan, the Accord as we know it is called the Inspire, and it has just received a mid life facelift. Our Accord was launched back in April 2008, so it will be three years old next year. Could be time for a facelift, so let’s look at the refreshed Inspire to see what we can expect.

It’s a mild rework similar to the facelifted US Accord, and the changes are most obvious up front. The latest Inspire gets a new grille with a rounder bottom half compared to the current car, and the look is consistent with Honda’s recent products like the RB3 Odyssey. The bumper is also new, and there’s more sculpture work on it. The new grille combines with the strong chin to create a narrower and more prominent “U” shape. At the back, the bumper is reprofiled and there are chrome strips flanking the number plate.

JDM Honda Inspire facelifted, our Accord to follow?The cabin looks pretty much the same, but this 3.5 V6 Inspire has a full colour sat nav system that uses the main central display, so the climate and audio info are shown on a separate strip just above the air con vents. I’ve always thought that the vast screen is rather “wasted” in our Accord, as it shows very basic information. The centre console is still a button fest on the Inspire, but the layout is slightly different. All these should not make it here as it’s unlikely that our Accord will include built in sat nav as standard.

Images taken from Honda’s Japanese website are after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1487]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• WooGoo on Sep 08, 2010 at 3:55 pm

The fact that there is no sat-nav in our range of Jap. cars is such a shame!!!

Look at the Taiwanese, all their cars are so well spec’ed and equipped. We should learn from them.

• alldisc on Sep 08, 2010 at 7:07 pm

nissan sylphy does have satnav, factory fitted.

• JDM car on Sep 09, 2010 at 11:07 am

Sylphy car look weird, like cockroach, oso need to pronounce properly if not
        become nissan siflis haa haa. The speedometer oso look cheapear and oudated.

• Taiwanese on Sep 08, 2010 at 10:13 pm

We Taiwan can jail our corrupted leader, so do you think Malaysia can learn from us?

• BeemerFreak on Sep 08, 2010 at 11:53 pm

Yeah, Kia and Hyundai should start offering these soon, the it will really kick the Japs in the backside. Pls put sat nav and more stuff into ur cars, we dont mind paying slightly more. Korean cars are already as advance as the Japanese and should be on par with them on reliability soon…….

• JDM car on Sep 09, 2010 at 11:13 am

definetely because people here still look and buy for Honda and toyota .They dont need put so much gadget or free gift or cheap price to attract buyer , people already trust their brand ma. Unlike korean car or taiwan they strugle, thats why need to give free gift and still tak laku like Hyundai here..

• PutraRocker on Sep 09, 2010 at 9:53 am

nice!

• isslah on Sep 08, 2010 at 4:03 pm

did they upgrade the engine or retuned it?

• tianshi on Sep 08, 2010 at 4:06 pm

This accord is great looking, but too bad it’s a SOHC inside it’s bay

• The Loner on Sep 08, 2010 at 7:22 pm

No need to feel bad on SOHC engine. Honda already proven that with SOHC, the vehicle can achieve same fuel comsumption and power with its competitors where they need to build DOHC engine to achieve same fuel consumption and power.

Normally Honda builds DOHC engine for performance cars, just like those B16A, B16B, F20C, F22C, K20A engines.

• squawk on Sep 08, 2010 at 9:45 pm

SOHC and DOHC have their purposes. Just like multilink and torsion beam suspension.

• JDM car on Sep 09, 2010 at 11:18 am

Hello bro this inspire SOHC not ordinary one , SOHC V6 3,5 produce 280 hp NA engine. This is the most powerful NA standard engine with cylinder management..
      most advance engine, DOHC 3,5 NA engin cannot produce such output..

• tianshi on Sep 10, 2010 at 2:13 pm

lol everyone knows SOHC is not for sport performance, it will never be.

guess you have to update yourself a bit before telling me what is what

• isslah on Sep 08, 2010 at 4:10 pm

I think the new grille is nice and suit to the front end look. But Honda you need to aware because if you are still depend on this design language for the next gen accord, many people will go to the Hyundai or Kia because their design late now more attractive and appeal to the potential buyers..you really2 need the new design language but please go to sleek design like Hyundai or Volkswagen..stop the square-ish design..you have limited the car potential and market like what you did to the new gen Stepwagon

• americans love them..

• potatomasala on Sep 09, 2010 at 7:49 am

true true….a lot of them prefer the 3.5 litre V6 version,but sadly,our malaysian gomen is killing us with the “insane” road tax : (

• djomaha on Sep 08, 2010 at 4:12 pm

Looks alright to me

• uncle car for uncle. accord boring.
    just look at korean car like sonata..

• No Offence on Sep 08, 2010 at 6:30 pm

Sonata looks good at first sight… and good rear as well as US style solid interior~

but it looks…very weird at the front…

• Accord, the new life begin.

• engdau on Sep 08, 2010 at 4:39 pm

It’s still not nice looking car, especially the up-front. The new spoiler attached at the front bumper can be scratched or dented with the new design.

The rear look…. no “wow” factor once u look at the new design. Poor design.

• hougo on Sep 24, 2010 at 1:34 am

you scratch bumper means your driving skill is not good … not the design is not good

• nebula87 on Sep 08, 2010 at 4:41 pm

no big differences…jus bumper nya…

• redkde on Sep 08, 2010 at 5:28 pm

plain ugly

• potatomasala on Sep 09, 2010 at 7:48 am

did anyone ask you ?…surely you are another “brake problem dugong” salesman……

• kitman on Sep 08, 2010 at 5:43 pm

well i prefer the previous gen accord. the current gen is kinda fussy and those new hyundai sonata imho is way too fussy with lines, curve and fold everywhere – looks like over done. next gen honda should just make the accord simple, modern and classy. look at audi/vw.

• Mata2 on Sep 08, 2010 at 5:57 pm

Nothing wrong with sohc, it delivers same bhp and tq unless you always need 6000 rpm

• casey-c on Sep 08, 2010 at 9:51 pm

Nothing wrong with SOHC, but Outdated Technology. Premium price

• awg1031 on Sep 08, 2010 at 6:04 pm

too big for our road..even parking just ngam2..comfort level is also not that high..sonata is more compact and suitable for asean..

• MR-S Boey on Sep 08, 2010 at 6:13 pm

reminds me of the Airmaster bodykit

• Kington on Sep 08, 2010 at 6:14 pm

This Accord was very much a disappointment for me.

It drives well, make no mistake, and it handles very well. In fact, i think it handles better than the Mazda 6. Sad to see that the engine’s performance is often taxed by the heavy body.

At this rate, i hope the Japs stop making their cars bigger than its previous model. It’s fine to see the Civic and Corolla offering good space like the old Accord and Camry, but what’s next for the Accord and Camry? S-Class or 7-series size?

• Alpha on Sep 08, 2010 at 8:59 pm

I thought Honda already hav a S-Class/7-er competitor,the Honda Legend??

• casey-c on Sep 08, 2010 at 9:53 pm

not only heavy body, I suspect Honda gearbox is losing some of the Horse power. Feel no oomph when needed to go faster

• hougo on Sep 24, 2010 at 1:37 am

the anti car diving and lifting technology on accord makes you wont feel the “oomph” , so you could have better driving comfort .. if you are looking for oomph sport cars will suites you better .

• Korean on Sep 08, 2010 at 10:18 pm

Is the Camry that started size bloating and get all the sales, Accord has no choice but to follow. Yes the next Camry will be bigger than S-Class in order for them to continue out selling the Accord.

• Ridiculous size on Sep 09, 2010 at 1:01 pm

Does it mean that 10 Years down the road we have Honda Tractor? lolzzz

• raya_aje on Sep 08, 2010 at 6:44 pm

in luv with accord euro… too bad only available via grey importer..

• libralcl on Sep 08, 2010 at 6:59 pm

Oh no, Honda needs to pick up the spec and price in Malaysia for the next facelift. If KIA K5/Optima comes in with better equip and price then Honda might lost customers for their D-segment car.

• alldisc on Sep 08, 2010 at 7:10 pm

front look is neat but rear still messy. honda’s plan to get more sales by promoting bigger is better did not work with this 8th gen accord. the camry still better in sales even though smaller.

• BMW M-Problem on Sep 08, 2010 at 8:23 pm

Camry still looks more classy… The problem with accord design is it is too fussy..
    They tried too hard and looks messy… Well we have to wait for next generation…
    As for Sonata…..again Hyundai tried to hard…. looks weird…

Why cant theY build cars with smooth lines like an AUDI…

• potatomasala on Sep 09, 2010 at 7:45 am

camry classy ?…the interior with those wood trim makes it look soo “uncle-ish”….and the exterior,inspired by a round soap bar……

camry reminds me of a dugong……..

• its got a new bumpers and a grill……what else?
    hoping to see engine upgrades…..
    and i am very sure $ will go UP again by a couple of thousand…..

• shawal on Sep 08, 2010 at 9:49 pm

Easier to differentiate when browsing Motor Trader in the next few years…

• Yaw Dak on Sep 08, 2010 at 9:53 pm

I prefer the new Euro Specs Accord design. Clean and sleek.

• akupunya on Sep 08, 2010 at 11:42 pm

if you don’t afford to buy bimmer, just buy this machine.
    you can show off, speeding and go luxury.

• As usual face lift and upgrade for cars are always minor changes. Hopefully the next gen Accord would not be something like this but rather a design which is futuristic and fluidized. Hoping to see new engine from Honda as Kia,Hyundai and Toyota are now equipped with Dual VVT and 6 speed auto gearbox. Since most thought of next generation Honda car’s will mimic design from the current CR-Z. But I seriously do not agree with the enlarged front end intake of CR-Z and the simple design of the headlamp. Hopefully Honda would give us a WOW factor again like what it did to Civic when it first launch.

• Rhys Millen on Sep 09, 2010 at 12:35 am

Wood is definately a killer .. seems like the accord was the victim ….just doesn’t go together with the car.

• tokmoh on Sep 09, 2010 at 12:45 am

No LED rear lamps and projector lens? I am disappoint.

• hougo on Sep 24, 2010 at 1:39 am

no LED rear lamps does not mean that the light is not good , most importantly the brake lights visibility are good to the rear driver. it might not have LED but it shine as bright as LED

• The new hyundai sonata lack of speed and power… the engine is underperformance
    compare to accord.

• Maserati on Sep 09, 2010 at 10:00 am

Everybody here says SOHC is ok.In fact actually SOHC engine is really really weak lah.

I still prefer DOHC anytime.SOHC gives the feeling that the car is underpowered all the time and it annoys the hell out of me.

Thats why our Accord 2.0 and Accord 2.4 dont seem to be as powerful as the older models.The new ones are so underpowered.Feels like shit to drive them.

Camry 2.4 is so much nicer to drive

• dizzy on Sep 09, 2010 at 10:06 am

My neighbour owns a 2009 accord VTi-L, complains about brake jamming while driving..

Engine under power, rattles here and there…

So Accord buyers, please take note…

• Philip J. Fry on Sep 09, 2010 at 6:38 pm

Is this your neighbour?
      http://kereta.info/my-honda-accord-tak-guna-my-honda-useless/

• Ridiculous size on Sep 09, 2010 at 1:06 pm

I find that Honda’s fit and finish is much better than Toyota. It’s built quality also more exquisite. (at least to me) also the price difference compared with a Toyota and Honda. How about that… Proton: Since you are so in love about re-badging, why not rebadge the Honda Accord to Potong Banana?

• still FUGLY!

• Hope The next generation Honda Accord will come with the new engine technology such as AVTECH(Advance Vtec) with 7 speed auto gearbox Perhaps!!!

• Yoong Tofu on Sep 09, 2010 at 9:17 pm

LPPL design.

• apaapaaje on Nov 04, 2010 at 11:31 am

just bought 2.0 VTi-L 3 months ago. its a nightmare to me. FM radio reception very very poor here in kuala terengganu even in town. to those who plan to purchase and you are loyal listener, better for to you to think twice. you will be lost certain frequency. the worst is 100.2 (ikim.fm). i just tell you the truth.