Coolest truck in the world gets “digital mud” graphics

This writer isn’t the biggest fans of pick-up trucks, but I can’t deny the coolness of the Ford F-150 SVT Raptor. Remember those monster trucks on TV long, long time ago? Here’s one you can own and drive (sadly, only if you’re in the USA), with a 411 bhp 6.2-litre V8 under the hood and a new for 2011 four-door SuperCrew body. There’s now an optional “digital mud” graphic pack too!

The pack consists of matte black graphics – including the F-150 SVT Raptor logo that runs along the hood. The digital mud, a combination of matte and glossy black paint, is splashed across the box side, meant to replicate mud that would be thrown from the truck’s tyres when off road.

“For off-roaders, mud on their truck is a badge of honor. Owners like to show what they have experienced with the amount of mud on their truck. But they also are proud of the condition their truck is in. Digital mud provides the best of both worlds, so even when the truck is clean, it still shows off its true nature,” said Bruce Williams, F-150 SVT Raptor designer.

“When I started looking at off-road racing history for inspiration, I noticed that a lot of Ford Broncos from the 1970s were running matte black hoods to reduce the glare. So it’s a protective graphic that has a functional benefit and ties in with our racing heritage,” he added.

More pics after the jump!

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1494]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• tayar BoTaK on Sep 13, 2010 at 11:26 am

emm..i’m smell ah beng custom kit in malaysia will exist..

• mitlanevo on Sep 13, 2010 at 11:42 am

damn cool truck!!!

• dodgeviper88 on Sep 13, 2010 at 11:49 am

when will naza import this? I would buy one!

• Mayonaise on Sep 13, 2010 at 12:29 pm

I’ve always loved the machoness of the F-150 since it’s first generation, it just keeps getting cooler and cooler…

• dragster on Sep 13, 2010 at 1:47 pm

6.2 liters with V8 under the hood sounds excellent….esp when this engine roar……how many of us can afford the roadtax n insurence of this monster???ha ha

• roYal on Sep 15, 2010 at 9:47 am

Mybe some vIp..
      or
      mybe tMj…

iF 2.0l,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,mybe more la of coz…

• infinity on Sep 13, 2010 at 1:53 pm

Beautiful! But there’s 1 thing i do not understand…
    y is it called “Digital Mud”…when i 1st read the title, i was thinking that the mud design will change as it is something digital..hahaha..

• fatcat on Sep 13, 2010 at 1:59 pm

If you can buy one of this, you will not mind the roadtax & insurance

• mrHanS on Sep 13, 2010 at 2:36 pm

luv to have one….;)

• JonLing on Sep 13, 2010 at 3:32 pm

Love this truck. Love this. It just screams “Man” all over it. Wow….now finally I get the idea why some men would buy such a truck with big engine. Good job, Ford!

• tikus on Sep 13, 2010 at 4:50 pm

No matter how cool this mechine is….In Bolehland, Toyota still the best.Ha Ha

• mitlanevo on Sep 13, 2010 at 8:03 pm

ya, the best in braking failure and producing dugong and potato inspired car…

• shawal on Sep 13, 2010 at 5:39 pm

The main reason you can’t use the truck here is dat malaysian primary school students arre too short and enjoy running crossing the street, you’re bound to squish one…

• Can i buy one of these and drive it at some estate or farm only….minus the road tax & insurance : )

• dragster on Sep 13, 2010 at 10:39 pm

T still the best here in sense of OEM sparepart….maintanance….n also resale value….most important is the durability of the machine…ha ha

• mohsin on Sep 14, 2010 at 11:57 am

i’m sad I’m not in USA

• Cool!!

• greasemonkey on Sep 15, 2010 at 9:45 pm

Damn jun! love it.

• ah yat on Sep 15, 2010 at 10:25 pm

Great truck! SD please bring it in, sure beat the crap out of navara, hilux, triton…

• oh!!

Sime Darby’s Ford… Do Something….