Mitsubishi Lancer Sportback Test Drive Review from Japan

UPDATE: Mitsubishi Lancer Sportback 2.4 launched in Malaysia – RM129,363.00

By now, you probably won’t be surprised to hear that Mitusbishi Motors Malaysia (MMM) is a busy company for 2010 with a trio of new models for the Malaysian market. The legendary Pajero will be the first to debut later this month, and they’ve announced that the ASX compact crossover will be here in the fourth quarter, so here’s the last piece of the jigsaw – the Lancer Sportback that was recently snapped by some of you.

Launched in 2007, the Lancer sedan has very done well in Malaysia for a product out of the Toyota/Honda/Nissan triumvirate. Malaysian carbuyers are generally a distrusting lot, so our acceptance of the Lancer can be due to two main factors – the pent up desire for a “real Lancer” and the ninth-generation car’s hot looks.

Continue reading the report after the jump.

I still remember clearly when I first drove the Lancer GT the weekend after it was launched. Never in my hands before had a test car, including more exotic/expensive ones, turned so many necks and caught so much attention. Never mind that it’s just a humble C-segment saloon battling the Civic and Altis, the Lancer looked every bit the Fantastic Sports Machine it was touted to be and everywhere we went, there were people asking “Evo ah?”

Few years have passed, and while the Lancer doesn’t get so many stares these days due to familarity, it’s still a very handsome car – one that proclaims performance from the design alone, and still the sportiest looking entrant in the class to these eyes (we’re talking about the GT variant, of course).

Now that I’ve professed my admiration for the sedan’s looks, I’d have to say that I don’t fully “get” the Sportback’s design. While I’m quite fond of hatchbacks, I don’t see much allure in the Sportback’s shape. In searching for a reason why, I looked up the side profile pics of current five-door hatchbacks that were drawn ground up, cars like the Subaru Impreza and Hyundai i30 for instance (the likes of Focus and Golf already have their “trademark” shapes), to compare side-by-side with the Mitsubishi.

Mitsubishi Lancer Sportback Test Drive Review from JapanFrom this, I realised that it was down to the Sportback’s long overhangs and heavy rear end. The former is not an issue in the sedan, but most modern hatchbacks have their wheels closer to the edges. The elongated rear section (demonstrated by the angle of the rear glass) also contributes to the impression of an ample bum. Furthermore, the more rounded rear edges don’t really go well with the sharp front end.

Think about it. Sedans converted from hatchbacks are normally critisised for being poorly proportioned, so crafting a hatchback out of a sedan shouldn’t be that straighforward either, and I’m sure there were constraints Mitsubishi desginers have to work within. To these eyes, the end result looks more utility (SUV, wagon) than sporty, but of course looks are subjective and there will be many who like it.

In any case, the rear spoiler helps the cause. Everything forward of the B-pillar is familiar. You might have noticed that the Sportback pictured here comes with the split grille of the Lancer EX (but only the upper half has a chrome outline, EX has chrome on both tiers) instead of the full “jet fighter” grille of the Lancer GT, and Malaysian bound cars will be similar. Most 2010 cars in other markets come with the sportier item, but perhaps MMM wanted to create some differentiation from the sedans.

Mitsubishi Lancer Sportback Test Drive Review from JapanFrom the driver’s seat, what’s good and bad about the Lancer sedan is applicable. Let’s start with the positives. Mitsubishi’s C-segment machine was conceived with a sporty flavour, and all that’s essential and central to the business of driving is spot on here. The sporty twin barrelled dials are easy to read and look good; ditto the leather wrapped three-spoke steering wheel, which like the Lancer EX has buttons on both sides (audio left, cruise control right). The leather seats on our JDM spec test car were comfortable and reasonably supportive when cornering, and a good driving position wasn’t hard to find, for me at least.

But the masterpiece has to be those magnesium shift paddles that wouldn’t look out of place in a supercar, the exact same items you’ll find in the sedan. The “ting-ting” sound it makes when meeting your fingernails is great, and the action is substantial, unlike the toy like tactility of some plastic shifters. They’re mounted on the steering column, not the wheel itself, so those whose driving style involves twirling the wheel in corners with hands maintained at 10-2 won’t have to adapt. For the rest whose hands turn with the wheel, shift before you turn!

Mitsubishi Lancer Sportback Test Drive Review from JapanThat’s the great stuff. Away from the “driver’s area”, the dash design is as unimaginative as Mitsubishi could have got – there’s little to excite or interest unlike the Civic and Mazda3. We’ve also complained about the grade of material in the Lancer since day one, and the same hard and insubstantial feeling plastics covers the dash and door caps. Panel fit isn’t the most consistent either and those knobs on the stereo are toy like. But it looks like these aren’t deal breakers, judging by how the Lancer is still well received.

Equipment wise, expect the local Sportback to have what’s on the Lancer GT, which includes dual airbags, ABS/EBD/BA, auto air-con, 6-CD/MP3 player, a black themed interior with leather on seats, steering and gearknob. It should also come with cruise control, but we’re not sure if keyless entry and a touch screen ICE system with navigation (as per Lancer EX) is part of the package. But what’s certain is that the Sportback will come with Active Stability Control with Traction Control, a safety feature none of the sedans have.

Mitsubishi Lancer Sportback Test Drive Review from JapanAnother one up over the current Lancer is under the hood. The Sportback will be powered by a 2.4-litre four-cylinder engine with 16 valves, DOHC and MIVEC on intake and exhaust valves. Not to be confused with the old 2.4 unit in the Grandis, this is actually the 4B12 that’s a longer stroke version of the 4B11 2.0-litre unit in the Lancer GT/EX. It makes 170 PS (at 6,000 rpm) and 226 Nm (at 4,100 rpm), which is 15 PS and 27 Nm more than the 4B11. And although we got to experience the manual in Japan, there will not be a stick shift for Malaysia and our sole option is a CVT with six-speed manual mode, something current Lancer owners are familiar with.

With a 2.4, the Sportback is the biggest engined and most powerful Japanese C-segment car in our market, as the rest top out at two litres. In our short test drive at MMC’s Tokachi proving ground, I did feel a difference compared to my memory of 2.0-litre Lancers, especially when pulling away from low revs, although the variance is not night and day. The power spread is also decent, and the engine is keen to rev. The 4B12 employs a balancer shaft module to aid smoothness; and while it’s less tiring and woeful sounding than the 4B11, I believe that smoothness isn’t an inherent quality of this particular engine family.

There’s nothing new to report on the CVT. Sounds and feels a bit lazy at low speeds, but shifts happen fast in manual mode, which I use quite frequently when driving a Lancer. At Tokachi, we were fortunate to sample the Sportback with a manual box, and the experience was much more fun just by putting the responsibility of shifting gears back into your hands and left foot. We’re not talking about Honda levels of slickness, but it’s good enough. Unlike the CVT, a stick shift doesn’t add tedium to the uninspiring engine note, but instead takes some attention away from it. Too bad.

That aside, the ninth gen Lancer has always been above par in the driving department, and the Sportback follows form. It rides very well on 18-inch rims and body control is taut for a non-performance variant. It’s nice to steer too; the leather wrapped wheel has nice weighting and there’s quite a bit of road feel filtered through. The Lancer hasn’t gone on the EPS wagon by the way – it still uses good old hydraulic power assist. Grip is good, too.

Mitsubishi Lancer Sportback Test Drive Review from JapanMany Malaysian carbuyers have the impression that buying a hatchback is like getting “less car” than a sedan, but it’s not so for the Sportback, litreally. It actually has a larger footprint than the sedan thanks to 15 mm extra length (4,585 mm) although width and the 2,635 mm wheelbase are unchanged. Rear room is similar to the sedan, which means not bad, but not as much legroom as a Civic though. All black interiors don’t do much for an impression of space, but there are no headroom issues in this hatchback.

There are some surprises in the boot, where Mitsubishi incorporated some “MPV style” conveniences which are helpful in daily use. The seats split fold 60:40 to increase load space, but instead of stretching to fold them, the Sportback has levers on both sides of the boot wall – just pull and they fall.

The boot also has a false floor that can “submerge” by 90 mm for a deeper overall space. Sliding the floor into the lower groove is a one handed operation. The 345-litre boot is square shaped (good) and the hatch opening is large. Although overall boot capacity is smaller than the sedan, there’s more possibilities for large items when the seats are folded.

If you want a Lancer that stands out from the rest, and like the looks of the Sportback, this should be right up your alley. There’s no sacrifice in cabin space compared to the sedan, and you actually gain in hatchback practicality and power. What about the all important price? Although MMM hasn’t finalised the figure, my guess is that this CBU import from Japan will be priced below the RM140K mark – a small premium over the Civic 2.0 and Mazda3 2.0 Sedan. It should be launched sometime in October, so stay tuned!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• i spotted 2 flies

• andymervingeorge on Sep 13, 2010 at 2:10 pm

I find the Sportsback much sexier than the GT. That ass, to me, was tastefully designed, thanks to the spoiler. I can imagine with that wing, it wud be like back in the 80s looking like the Toyota Corolla. :D I’d love to see this more on our roads! Good write up there Danny! U even managed to tumpang the limelight in that mag cover :D

• rapidshifter on Sep 13, 2010 at 2:27 pm

“although we got to experience the MANUAL in Japan, there will not be a stick shift for Malaysia and our sole option is a CVT with six-speed manual mode, something current Lancer owners are familiar with.”
    dang… guest no more stick shift for new japs cars in Malaysia.. sigh.. back to locals…

• ManualHead on Sep 13, 2010 at 3:59 pm

… so envy Paultan can drive a stick shift Lancer …

“At Tokachi, we were fortunate to sample the Sportback with a manual box, and the experience was much more fun just by putting the responsibility of shifting gears back into your hands and left foot.”

• Kambing Gurun on Sep 14, 2010 at 12:35 am

The most irritating fact. What the ****… they think Malaysian can’t drive manual huh? Or do they think those who buy manual cars can’t afford Japanese cars?

• DonkeyKong on Sep 14, 2010 at 2:45 am

I think the manual version will cost almost the same (or at most, just RM2k-3k cheaper) compared to the auto version, so probably the distributor figured that it’s not worth their trouble for the small potential sales volume of manual-tranny cars in that segment.

• trollbait on Sep 14, 2010 at 8:30 am

blame those lazy-assed aunties and unkers that prefer autoboxes. They ain’t real drivers – to them, their cars are just a form of transport. pffth

• dont be funny, want manual, go buy Neo CPS or Vios J, thats all.

Real man drives BMW or GOLF or Ferrari and those arent manual.

Kancil 660 is manual

• Kambing Gurun on Sep 14, 2010 at 11:59 am

Kancil 660 and Vios J are not cars. They are craps.

• alldisc on Sep 15, 2010 at 12:49 pm

VW Goft GTI and Scirocco come with manual gearbox and clutch, only automated.

• JonLing on Sep 14, 2010 at 9:13 am

There’s just not enough market share to justify the cost of importing the manual variants. That’s all. Malaysia is basically an automatic-gear driven market.

• Marc Yeo on Sep 13, 2010 at 2:37 pm

Fantastic! Will go for a test drive ;)

• meteoraniac on Sep 13, 2010 at 2:56 pm

the design of the boot is much suited for the hatchback than the sedan IMO

still 140k is priced too close with Camry, Accord etc…

• Jimmy on Sep 13, 2010 at 5:52 pm

Can, this C-segment Mitsu can compete at RM140k in Malaysia if there are 6-speed auto/CVT with paddle shift, panoramic moonroof, 7 airbags, telescopic steering, leather seats, auto-aircon, V-Kool, autodimming reverse mirror, Captor or equivalent, 17-inch rim, adjustable armrest, very good NVH + refinement, and most improtantly 2.0 turbo direct injection. By the way, the current Lancer is not very refined, please compare with Sylphy’s interior ya (not Civic, as Civic interior is about the same standard like Lancer).

• Jimmy on Sep 13, 2010 at 6:00 pm

I am saying what a Malaysian specs should have, not the JDM. Malaysian’s mind are glued to T and H, so better have something concrete (can be seen and feel, not the ESP lah, caliper brakes bla bla bla that cannot be seen) in order to compete.

• Bro, ESP is a very good selling point! Especially in our weather. Got fancy interior, but slam into the divider, no point rite? Ayo, pls la Malaysians, wake up and and get educated. Safety first man!

• Maaajeeedaaa on Sep 13, 2010 at 2:57 pm

Nothing new except its hear and butt!!!!!!!!!!!!

• nabill on Sep 13, 2010 at 3:07 pm

the side really looks ugly….and mitsubishi should have played with the front end abit since the trade mark ‘chin’ has been around for a while…

• keluangman on Sep 13, 2010 at 3:25 pm

2.4 engine? Ini macam mahal lah roadtax.

• Citroen Ds3 on Sep 13, 2010 at 3:40 pm

The looks is all good all rounder.. but the pillar on the back looks a bit tad bit doesn’t it? by the way, how is the interior quality? similar to the existing Lancer? Or better? Or worse off? I hope this comes to singapore too…

• The Loner on Sep 13, 2010 at 3:41 pm

Danny, it is very surprising that you got to experience the manual Lancer Sportback. As I know, this Lancer is sold as Galant Fortis Sportback and there is no manual transmission for JDM.

Is it the vehicle for the market outside Japan?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Sep 13, 2010 at 4:37 pm

You are right, both 2WD and 4WD JDM versions use the CVT while the Ralliart uses a twin-clutch ‘box. Perhaps it’s for Australia, where Mitsu sells a 2.4 manual

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 13, 2010 at 11:06 pm

Well, the LHD Canadian version also comes with the 2.4 and standard 5 speed manual.

• mitlanevo on Sep 13, 2010 at 3:58 pm

lancer case:

the sedan is awesome, but hatchback is a bit weird, agree with the above article, especially “don’t see much allure in the Sportback’s shape”

impreza case:

the hatchback look fine, but the latest sedan version is crap, previous impreza sedan look so much better……

• Henry on Sep 13, 2010 at 3:59 pm

The CVT gearbox spoils it for me.

• Henry on Sep 13, 2010 at 7:15 pm

But I do like a 2.4L engine in a C -segment body. It would give the car much needed grunt. Nice torque figure too @ 226nM but can’t beat the Pug 308 THP’s 240nM.

Sadly no 5-speed auto or 6-speed manual offered.

• Rhys Millen on Sep 14, 2010 at 12:02 am

it’s a 2.4l engine with counter balancer shaft…… Identical to the theta engine on the NF Sonata.

• Peter on Sep 13, 2010 at 4:11 pm

Very very cool….

IMO….

This is able to compete against Civic in the same segment. Furthermore, both are made in Japan. Not talking abt our Proton Waja unit which we will be getting.

• MOONTANA on Sep 13, 2010 at 4:21 pm

u can see 2 flies on the rear spoiler that can make this car fly.. wooo hoooo

• elite on Sep 13, 2010 at 4:36 pm

another new model from proton? satria neo replacement model?

proton really impressive la on its 25th anniversary

• Gen 3

• senzu bean on Sep 13, 2010 at 6:06 pm

Why Neo replacement need to rebadge from Lancer Sportback? Just put the 1.6 turbo engine Neo will be powerful already since Neo is lighter than this Lancer Sportback. And 1 more thing Neo replacement need to benchmark from the Neo S2000 not from Mitsu.

• Landcruzerzzz on Sep 14, 2010 at 8:56 am

Hello bro, if u talk about NEO S2000, there is nothing from PROTONG except the Satria body shell, and the hard-earned money from Malaysian tax payers. There is nothing to proud about it, even the drivers is foreigners! Some more the Satria is a CKD of outdated Mitsu Colt back in 80’s. Proton just don’t have the things that make me salute to him. Respect the local effort and initiative of Savvy, Gen2, and Persona, but right now they goes back to square one by rebadge the Mitsu Lancer. Haiz….

Please tell me what we Malaysian should proud about it !!!!

• aduss on Sep 14, 2010 at 10:34 am

1st satria neo is produk of proton, not mitsu, you tak tau ka? ayo2.. u should proud about it!! semua cmpny hanya guna “body in white” tuk kereta relly mereka, yg lain boleh dikatakan 95% telah diubah suai.. so.. aper yg proton buat sama dengan cmpny lain.. jika gov bg duit pun, ia akan dapat balik ke gov bcos proton dibawah kazanah..kazanah under gov.. keuntungan kazanah akan dapat ker gov. so duit yg dilaburkan hanya pusing2 balik.. dlm perniagaan mesti ada rugi nyer.. so pelan2 la lama2 ada untung.. kurang2 gov tau nak buang duit denga cara yg betul.. walau ada sikit2 (banyak) gak yg tak betul.. tak der saper dlm dunia ni yg sempurna..

• neo cps 1300kg, u sure its lighter?

• senzu bean on Sep 14, 2010 at 4:05 pm

This Lancer Sportback is in 1400kg region.

• Henry on Sep 14, 2010 at 4:18 pm

That would be about the same weight as the Ford Focus and Pug 308.

The Japanese equivalent models should be about 100kgs lighter.

• vertigo on Sep 13, 2010 at 4:48 pm

drop the CVT box oredi!

• wowowww on Sep 13, 2010 at 5:38 pm

come on it’s not that bad though….get used to it and it’s fine…=)

• The Loner on Sep 13, 2010 at 7:41 pm

In fuel consumption, CVT can outperform manual gearbox, not even mention automatic gearbox.

Only drawback is high maintenance cost if gearbox fails.

• JonLing on Sep 14, 2010 at 12:01 pm

maybe u two should try out the CVT gearbox in Mitsu Lancer GT first before you make any comment. I would opt for a 5-speed or 6-speed conventional automatic gearbox at any time, if possible. The only CVT that is exceptionally good for me is the one found in Sylphy, and the latest X-Trail. Mitsu’s CVT is not even closed to that CVT. Sorry.

• wowowww on Sep 14, 2010 at 9:20 pm

umm I have one in my house own by my brother….
          get used to it already though….

• Syarif on Sep 13, 2010 at 5:22 pm

I’ll wait for new Proton Waja priced 50% lower than the upcoming Sportback Lancer

• ikfndr on Sep 13, 2010 at 7:31 pm

Nice car, after this people go potong their lanja(lancer+waja) n modified into this….creative people

• Hi Paul/Danny,

Any reason why they are not bringing in the manual tranny? Since it’s a CBU, couldn’t they just offer it and ship it over when they get orders? It’s a Mitsubishi Lancer – they will definitely get some order for the manual tranny if they offer it. Not everyone wants a rubberband running their drivetrain.

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 13, 2010 at 11:55 pm

Its probably more to do with spares inventory, service personnel traning…etc etc…than to just do a straight import.

Probably have to go through another JPJ hassle to get a different model “imported”.

• Rhys Millen on Sep 14, 2010 at 9:15 am

The key word as you said is some orders not alot of orders.

• they can simply bring in something tat dunsell well coz u need to think other stuff like parts :)

• dgs22 on Sep 13, 2010 at 8:54 pm

interior quality is still like sh-i-t. Cheap looking, hard plastic. Makes waja interior looks superior.
    worst interior quality ever for a CBU.

outside look like a fast car, but inside the nvh is wholly-dang noisy. moves like a cow too.
    u will notice the exhaust giving the “mooooo” sound when rev. Just like what driven.com.my review on lancer.

with proton copying the lancer, only stupid-bag owner will buy a lancer. 2nd value will drop like bird-sh-i-t.

• trollbait on Sep 14, 2010 at 8:42 am

omg i just watched that ‘moo’ episode of Driven – having never driven it I didn’t realise the Lancer sounded soooo lame! jeez no wonder every disses the cvt – I’d be embarrassed to rev the engine if it sounds like that all the time haha

• actually i didn;t notice this “moo” sound until i watch driven too! The next day sit in my colleagues lancer. and lo and behold… when he step on the accelerator…. u will hear “MOOOOoooooooOOO”

the cow is back.

• Yoong Tofu on Sep 13, 2010 at 9:15 pm

CVT is for scooter.

• anoymous on Sep 13, 2010 at 10:02 pm

proton, please bring this right away…at 60-70k…please..i will supot you anythime

• mirror mirror on Sep 13, 2010 at 10:51 pm

I just realised that this blog is really going places, I mean the staff/crew are often invited to test drive cars overseas.

Well done.

• kwpang on Sep 13, 2010 at 11:03 pm

if it’s below RM60k then confirm sale.

• khairulx19a on Sep 13, 2010 at 11:06 pm

now bring the new outlander

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 13, 2010 at 11:56 pm

Naza probably would bring the 4007 in before Mitsubishi does.

• bystander on Sep 14, 2010 at 12:16 am

forte hatchback is much much more handsome looking than this! the rear light is as cheap looking n boring as it gets, fr the front look like half cut body, it’s just ain’t right…like the bm e36 coupe, without the handling n premium image. if the trend continues, jap will lose to korea in the next generation (5yr).

• Dr. S00k on Sep 14, 2010 at 12:24 am

I don’t mean to splash cold water ..
    but i think cannot sell wan lah.. for RM14X,

ppl will buy the 2.0 Camry or Accord. T&H still rulezz :(

• Landcruzerzzz on Sep 14, 2010 at 8:59 am

Camry & Accord will make u looks 10 years older! While Lancer SBack will make u looks 10 years younger!!!!

• Maserati on Sep 14, 2010 at 12:37 am

Rubbish car wont sell well here in Msia.

Even Lancer 2.0 GT struggling to make an impact,bringing in this is like suicide.

It will sell,but in very few units .

• the only thing Mitsu Lancer GT not doing well in malaysia coz the time to wait to ghet the car…LANCER GT need to wait for more than a month if u compare with civic (malacca) and ALTIS (thailand) rather than Lancer (JAPAN/CBU)…if they can cut down the period of waiting…CIVIC and ALTIS bye2…coz Lancer price is very much competitive with T&H and u get CBU some more…

• anand on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:37 am

by the way what car are you using….currently the waiting period is less than 2 weeks…I got mine in a week time….although proton is coming up with WAJALANCER i still go for CBU since the WAJALANCER is 80% using malaysian parts…you’ll know the quality after 2 or 3 years or maybe months….wait and see

• shawal on Sep 14, 2010 at 2:57 am

Just Bring in the ralliart version of both sedan and hatchback, and watch them fly out of the showrooms….

• handsome*dude on Sep 14, 2010 at 3:16 am

nice car ! nice car!! the rear lamp looks much better on the sedan version..but still lack of LED design, which should have be the trend right now~~ will there be any LED day time running light in the car when its launch here??? LED DRL is a must have feature too right now~~

• WinterAngeLs on Sep 14, 2010 at 3:38 am

So jealous, we all cant have a taste of the manual tranny. =(

Agreed with u guys, the sportback slightly blunt rear design doesn’t go well with the sharp front. However, price at below RM 140K could hurt sales, as we all know the new waja is launching soon which makes it even worst. Buyers might think twice for a 140K hatchback.

Btw, there is possibility tht some might convert their wajalancer to waja sportback…lol u know how creative some of them are..haha

• WinterAngeLs on Sep 14, 2010 at 3:45 am

Oh ya, i saw projector headlamps. Will it be maintain on our local specs ?

• sonyman on Sep 14, 2010 at 8:14 am

Hi maserati,

Why do you think that this sportsback is a rubbish car? Is it because of its performance? The value? the price per feature you pay is less or not worth?

We all know lancer GT has not many numbers on our roads. Probably because their lancer 1, 2 3, 4 all on the malaysian road, we know them as proton saga, proton wira.

So if Mitsubishi is selling a rubbish car here. In you mind what is a great car to buy? Is it “Honda city and toyota Vios”? if I were to ask your humble opinion here, what car will you recommend me? What car comes first into your mind.

I believe you drive a Maserati right? So you must be a true petrol head i believe. How fast can your Maserati go that you have ever pushed it before? Is it 280kmh? I believe so. Maserati are really wonderful cars.

So i hope to hear from you soon….

• Dear Lancer,
    If you are going into Malaysia market with the standard look and package, please do not bother to come here!
    For the same design same performace why would anyone pay extra to get it when they can get Proton??
    I would think bringing in Ralliart Lancer would be a good idea. May be for RM150k you get a Lancer with RalliArt bodykit with tune engine…. at least 200hp! Why not?

• anand on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:40 am

you do get everything but the safety is being compromised…currently the LANCER weights at 1800KG. Do you think WAJALANCER will be carrying this weight. Trust me most of the people here will change their mind……

• derek on Sep 14, 2010 at 10:15 am

honda sales advisors claims that there are problems with CVT gearbox,how true is it?

• Nozzy on Sep 14, 2010 at 11:20 am

Not many sportsback models in bolehland…hmmm

• well. gt wait time had long been below month… the only long wait timeis in 2007 2008 ear,
    as for ralliart at rm 150k… we in bolehland can dream on, tax is killing our taste for better car, so if budget limited then just get a normal cheaper car…
    nothing much we can do but by paying more for better car :)

if not mistaken,
    evo x b4 tax is like 110-120k, but tax is around rm 170k,
    so if we’re talking about ralliart lancer/sportback, i think price tag… rm 200k??? any1???

cheers

so hmble info

• Mata2 on Sep 14, 2010 at 12:32 pm

Partly I agree with dgs22 and some of you telling camry or accord should be a better choice although there is engine displacement different but this car is smaller with about the same price!

You may give your own opinion probably you do not own any Mits. car. I am driving this brand along with Honda and European model. First impression of Mits:
    1. Cheap plastic – really cheap until the coin compartment is so clumsy that can just dropped off when you open it.
    2. Knock the interior plastic part and compare with T or H – you feel they are made of thin wall, therefore, poor sound absorption.
    3. Engine – not refine enough seem like it hurts when you rev. It sings high note too but with rock voice
    4. Fuel cons. – I do not know others, mine is dam high compared to H.
    4. Suspension – rough sound like something wrong with the spring.
    5. Handling – no comment cause you can tune it later with better suspension and brake system but generally not excellent though.
    6. After sales service and overall brand image – if T & H got 8 over 10, Mits deserves 5 only.
    7. Long term business plan – what you see is Proton logo on the boots

If I were to rank Mits. among popular Jap. brands:

Toyota
    Honda
    Nissan
    Mazda
    Mitsubishi

I do not know how will I fall in love for the second time…

• at least this is an honest opinion from a lancer owner. Most owner are in denial or cannot accept it when ppl tell them that the current lancer interior quality is crap-pish.

• Jimmy on Sep 14, 2010 at 4:08 pm

When you are 40 and above, you will want Camry or Accord out of your RM145K instead of this Lancer Sportback (of course this is a different story if this is a real racing car like RX8 at RM145K). You just mark my words.

• sonyman on Sep 14, 2010 at 9:56 pm

Mitsubishi got no D segment car meh? how come Lancer VS Camry and Accord one?

• Jimmy on Sep 15, 2010 at 10:59 am

What I implied is that Mitsu C-segment cars cannot be priced at > RM140K, even if they are 2.4L or 2.0T and have good looks only, but without solid sincere goodies/offer; it will not sell well at this kind of price. Even if Galant G-spec equivalent is priced at RM140k, most Malaysians who can afford will still choose Camry G. For me, I will choose Galant over Camry at this kind of price only if Galant comes with 7 airbags and ESP, and is significantly larger than the small little D-segment Camry (meaning it has top safety features over its rivals).

• cslee on Sep 14, 2010 at 4:21 pm

Not nice, Not worth to buy. Who knows later proton copy this again, then..sorry again to all the Lancer sportback owners…..lol.

• woot woot, waja aeroback for balik kampung raya 2010 \o/

• desperate move by MMM to bring in any car they can… shud this be considered as a Nissan AD resort replacement?

• quadlights on Sep 15, 2010 at 12:48 am

Hahahaha WAJA AEROBACK!

• sp3ctrm5tr on Sep 15, 2010 at 4:23 pm

Lancer Sportback vs Impreza WRX STi. Who will win??

• later going to be waja hatchback haha

• Ash Menon on Sep 18, 2010 at 5:54 pm

Proton Wajaback? Lol…But somehow I like the Sportback’s rear lights more than I do the sedan Lancer. Something about those cutoff circles annoys me, and the sheer amount of blank space on the back isn’t helped by squeeeezing those lights into the corner like that.

This one…yeah, it’s a bit of a lard-arse, but it doesn’t look too bad for it. That fabulous blue color helps it. As proof, even the flies love it. And flies are very good judges for the good stuff in Malaysia, just look at any stall food to see :)

• little panda on Sep 28, 2010 at 3:16 pm

I think malaysia hot hatch is still lack of demand. That why we called it hatch back here, instead of hot hatch.. because it is not hot here( weather for sure too hot). Many example on the road model, people are more likely to buy a sedan, as they realise more steel and space installed on the car, but paying few grand lesser. I wonder will our brothers willing to pay more for the hatch rather than taking the saloon. Anyway i and hatchback car lover.
    Hope there are more hatch owner in future.

• Flannel on Sep 29, 2010 at 3:38 pm

aiyya lawak la mitsubishi ni, macam adik dia proton, this hatchback version is like lancer sedan without an ass, harharhar, with same front bonnet/bumper/lamp etc, not creative at all, so sad, see how honda did to their sedan and hatchback? common la mitsubishi, take an example like proton wira and satria, and dont forget proton arena, harharhar, and the sweetest thing ever, proton juara, harharhar, so sad:(

• facebook.com/protonlotusiast on Sep 30, 2010 at 3:25 pm

spot this car durin ramadhan at glenmarie area in silver color. who’s that fella?

• mohdnasir on Oct 21, 2010 at 11:04 pm

PRICE IS NOT SUITABLE FOR MALAYSIA MARKET BECAUSE ITS IS 2.4 ROADTAX EXPENSIVE WITH INSURANS PRICE IS MORE I SUGGEST MITSUBISHI HAVE TO BRING 2.0 MODEL

• CaptainCommander on Nov 11, 2010 at 9:04 am

Folks, proton can rebadge this model again – 2.0s with target price range ~100k. Glad to see that joint venture btw proton & mitsubishi…. Bravo…