Ex-Perodua MD Datuk Syed Hafiz is now COO at Naza Kia

Ex-Perodua MD Datuk Syed Hafiz is now COO at Naza KiaNaza Kia has announced that Datuk Syed Abdull Hafiz Syed Abu Bakar has been appointed as the company’s new chief operating officer. Syed Hafiz’ role in Naza Kia will commence on October 1st this year and he will replace Datuk Syed Hisham Syed Wazir who left the company at the end of August to join UMW Holdings Bhd as its president and CEO.

Syed Hafiz was formerly attached with Perodua as the company’s managing director. He left his 5-year career at Perodua late last year and gave way to Tuan Haji Aminar Rashid Salleh, former head of UMW Toyota’s Strategic Marketing Group. Syed Hafiz has spent a total of 10 years in various capacities at the UMW group.

SM Nasarudin SM Nasimuddin, joint group executive chairman of the Naza Group of Companies said, “Datuk Syed Hafiz brings with him a vast wealth of experience and hands-on knowledge that will bring the Kia brand to the next level in Malaysia.”

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• its a good decision for make our automotive industry become growth to high quality national cars.

• isslah on Sep 21, 2010 at 2:37 pm

hahaha..the UMW take naza man and then naza take the UMW(Perodua) man… Good strategy by naza because want to get marketing knowledge from the japan malaysian born..

• 3008_bought on Sep 21, 2010 at 6:07 pm

and nobody wants P1’s higher management.

Wait…P1 guy is from P2, wakakakak. thats why P1 is doing better, and decided to rebatch lancer!!! Way to go!!!! These CEO’s are really smart.

not like that funny tengku and his funny son(drift wat la, you engineer tau, not racer!!!)

• isslah on Sep 21, 2010 at 2:39 pm

Sure this condition will be more dramatic fighting between the ex-boss and the current boss..who will win in this situation..need one year to see it..but let’s hope the both of them bring heaven to the local automotive industry..

• Modern on Sep 21, 2010 at 2:59 pm

Just make sure to do a good Job.That’s All.

• The Real Syed on Sep 21, 2010 at 3:03 pm

Syed ini hidung jambu….kakaka.tang mana syed nya pun xtau..

• The real SYED won’t look down or mocking other person appearance. Clearly, you’re not the real Syed either. What’s the meaning of having a pointed nose when your attitude saying it differently .

• The Watcher on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:35 am

Do not mock God’s creation! It is an act of sin! You have guts to call yourself The Real Syed? Sigh!

• maybe his mom wasn’t a sharifah..but i think he’s good in automotive industry though..

• Jimmy on Sep 21, 2010 at 3:09 pm

Improve your after-sale service ya.

• for all the people they can choose… this is actually one of the best choice around.. heard a lot of good things about Datuk Syed even before he became boss of P2.. a man that is willing to listen to the ground.. now it comes to the problem whether he is given to free hand to play his game in his new capacity..

• oh… … make sure the naza man working UMW wont make toyota car get worsened..

• cazrun on Sep 21, 2010 at 5:08 pm

nice move.. like a circular flow of ideas among malaysians.. :)

• cyberspace on Sep 21, 2010 at 5:16 pm

The right man is in the house..hopefully he will improve naza kia after sales service which need to be concentrate more..

• MeLvYn on Sep 21, 2010 at 6:03 pm

If possible, improve the Fxxcking worse in the market after sales services. I had been waiting for parts for my Forte for 3 months, i will never encouraged any other people out there to buy Naza as for them, maybe Ferrari and Bentley customers are those they would care and willing to lick their boots.

• kenny_lim on Sep 21, 2010 at 11:09 pm

well……that is their trademark. i would suggest to u to write a formal complain to Kia Korea and they care about their brand. I did so 5 years back and they assign a local service manager to look into my case. and guess what? a chinese chief engineer asked me why the f (yes, he use the f word) that i buy this car? it was a crap…….it was a good car to me but just the services.

• saki77 on Sep 21, 2010 at 11:43 pm

what happen to ur Forte?

• MeLvYn on Sep 22, 2010 at 12:31 pm

I had a minor accident and i need to wait for parts (front and rear door, driver side and etc) to start repair works. From 2 months before Hari Raya they drag me until Hari Raya. Ok fine i tried to be understanding but after Hari Raya you know what the customer care told me? Estimated date for parts is 29th and she keep on emphasizing that is only ‘ESTIMATED’, not confirmed. Do you know how suck is this?

• for sure the highest paid position in naza kia..just bring in more model from korea..n rebadge..n p1 bring models from japan..now the playing field is level..

• so it appears no one is qualified to lead this industry. they only know how to install a car like playing LEGO. We want people or new ceo’s who can create a new car from receiving lucrative salaries only

• cardreamer on Sep 22, 2010 at 8:01 am

Yeah, improve your customer service!!!!!

Please refund my booking fees! it almost a month now since i cancelled my intent to purchase!!

Anyone from NAZA reading this, please help me…the bank is charging me already!!

• krisdsg on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:36 am

NAZA can appoint who ever they want, there is nothing to changed if their mentality is the same WAIT & SEE lorrr

• Good…good…now P2 has something to fight for…hehehe…

• shamila Sivaraman on Jan 08, 2011 at 9:38 pm

I bought a Picanto on 21st December 2010, still waiting to enjoy the ride unfortunately By viewing the car it turns out did not have any anti-rust coating & shows defects of rust points already. I requested to have an anti rust coating to protect the under carage. It took deadfull 3 weeks to have it done. NAZA KIA claims that the PICANTO Qoute:FYI in our plant, our effective protection of steel is achieved by GALVANIZING or ANODIZING the metal. KIA have an initiative to spray ED coating to ensure the steel body is fully covered from rusting. An extra rust coating isn’t necessary as being mentiond in the letter. With all those protecting coating,How is possible the rust appears?? So NAZA KIA is still responsible, as they claim the otherwise!. Turns out that more of this Picantos’s face this problem when they were released from the manfucturing area. There is a GREEN OK MANUFACTOR STICKER places on the side window. To add more , under the spoiler & right matgaht shows rust also. I would like to know the undertanstnding ED Coating, why are this cars are not inspected as mentioned by KIA NAZA manuals & places an OK stickers by the manufacturer….before delivery to customers? for those reading this i strongly recomend to jack up the vehicle before signing up your papers. For salesmen,,,$$$$$ only in the mind. No nuts about product knowledge. The branch manager who disappears. Very simple NO OWNERSHIP & SELF PRIDE in doing 9-5 job. More phone calls & never a reply as promised. All talk big but job not done.