JPJ undercover squad snaps 3,560 road sinners in the act!

JPJ undercover squad snaps 3,560 road sinners in the act!How was your Hari Raya holidays? It’s always good to catch up with friends and family from our hometowns, which is why Malaysians take every opportunity to balik kampung. But these periods of celebration are often marred by our horrible accident rate, which is among the highest in the world. To strike some fear in errant and misbehaving motorists, the police and JPJ have been out in full force this Raya.

It has been reported that undercover officers from the Road Transport Department (JPJ) have caught some 3,560 motorists committing traffic offences on camera during the recent Ops Sikap. The snoop squads were stationed along the country’s 202 “death stretches” and top road crimes were beating the red light, cutting queue, using emergency lanes and road shoulders, overtaking at double lines and using mobile phones while driving.

JPJ director-general Datuk Solah Mat Hassan revealed that the said officers travelled or stationed themselves along the death stretches in plain clothes and only equipped with cameras.

If you were among those caught on camera, expect a notice from JPJ in your mailbox inviting you for an interview, where the department would explain the alleged crime and hear your response. Datuk Solah said the interviews were necessary as the vehicle owners may not be the ones committing the offences.

Remember our previous post quoting the JPJ boss inviting the “services” of public MMS snipers? “The public have also been supportive by sending us photographs of motorists committing road offences. We will use these to book the errant motorists,” he said.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• i think this is gud method…some driver r selfish ….only think they r late n some think they r heroes on wheel…the only setback is that im driving so i cannot take pic

• Hameed Koyakuti on Sep 30, 2010 at 1:40 pm

JPJ, JKJR, MIROS people also dont know how to drive properly and defensively.

Furthermore, most of our policy makers are chaffeur driven and do not drive. They were also driven in a 5 stars car. Try driven in a kancil or hyundai accent. They dont know the economics, socionomics and ergonomics of driving.

Until then, all our policy will failed, road accidents will be high, road bully rules and road dummies will also rules !!!!

• oh no … there goes my duit raya ..

• good one!

• Amiran on Sep 21, 2010 at 7:17 am

Yes do it, these people had been irritating other road users so much. Normally they drive slow, hog the road, but when the road is agaist their liking, they break the law. Unlike some furious driver, yes they did overtake at double lines, but they seemed doing it at their own risk, briskly, without irritating others.
    Whatever, this is what the dept should be doing. Then publicised in their website.

• ABC123 on Sep 21, 2010 at 9:52 am

“they did overtake at double lines, but they seemed doing it at their own risk, briskly, without irritating others”

at their own risk?
      without irritating others?

not quite. overtaking at double lines presents a risk (and irritation) to everyone at the scene: the incoming vehicles, the vehicles being overtaken, and the overtaking vehicle itself.
      it shouldn’t be encouraged.

• rookie on Sep 21, 2010 at 11:13 am

“they did overtake at double lines, but they seemed doing it at their own risk, briskly, without irritating others”

imagine someone is overtaking u and there’s a lorry on the opposite direction and the lorry swerve to your direction and hit u instead of having frontal collision with the one that is overtaking next to u…

how about it? the one who breaks the law get away unharmed but u..?

then only u’ll think..

• SukaTgkOrg on Sep 21, 2010 at 3:50 pm

tthe double line always represent dangerous area to overtake..in the stretch from kulai to Kota tinggi.. the double line is always when we are approaching the hill area..where you cant see the incoming car… the speed limit in this road stretch is 80kmh.. but with the tendency of overspeeding when the road is clear.. just imagine when 110kmh car collide front to front..and actually thats happen so many times there… so go ahead potong la dekat double line.. if somehow after the collition u are still alive and the other party end up dead.. I will be happy to become road bully and add some more pain..

• “good job” JPJ..

• keluangman on Sep 21, 2010 at 9:01 am

they(JPJ) seriously need more job as they have alot of time to conduct at least 3,560 interviews.

Probably need part timers for this, haha.

• well this activities is good at 1st but if it drag too long it will when messy. they will miss used it .

cuz malaysian always does that. lets said if the people are driving careless or accidently drive weird or maybe that driver are clumsy or infront of the person who drive way too slow and they overtake and some people hate that fella and also snap that person or something?. the person who behind will snap and send and that person will buta buta kena saman or else. so that might lead alot of problems.

for me i will not support this like forever, maybe like big days like this might ok but everyday no way.

• azrai on Sep 21, 2010 at 11:21 am

The photos is not a valid documents to be produced in court.

• really?

• S.Roma on Sep 21, 2010 at 3:17 pm

Dear Ria,

I agree with Azrai… the photos is not moving, unlike videos…

• Eyesore on Sep 21, 2010 at 4:36 pm

Well if MMS pictures yes.. not valid in court..hence the interviews before any action is taken… but if picture from speed trap cameras…i think you can be sure that it is valid in court cuz if not there are no point installing it all over the country… if they r not valid YET… be sure the law is in the making n should be approved n enforced soon…

so drive safely and obey the law… they are there for you own good…

• i seriously wonder, why the stretch of PLUS hi-way between Simpang Ampat and Ayer Keroh got speed limit of 90km/h? the stretch is wide (3 lanes) and not as busy as KL-Seremban yet road user are limited to lower speed. there’s no point putting this 90kmh limit since majority of the vehicles are traveling over 120kmh along the stretch there

• Baron on Sep 21, 2010 at 1:30 pm

because a lot of cross wind over there?

• my bus accident twice there, in year 2000, 2 times in 3 months.

its either ghost, or crosswind.

• AWAS! KAWASAN ANGIN LINTANG

• The_King on Sep 21, 2010 at 1:59 pm

I also drive above 110Km/h on that highway lane.. feel sleepy if I drive 90Km/h..

• not every second got angin lintang doh.. shud put sensor, if it’s happening then yes, put the limit 90kmh, but the rest of the time it’s killing us man..

• SukaTgkOrg on Sep 21, 2010 at 4:52 pm

I have to agree it is a mental torcher when driving in that stretch..imagine you are allowed 110kmh before that ..but cant go to 110 because of the traffic..as soon as the traffic is clear..going down the hill some more..you are only allowed 90kmh… try to drive 90kmh..and you will be beamed and honk even when you are at the extreme left lane…huhuhuhu

• TakNakBN on Sep 21, 2010 at 1:40 pm

where to see those pictures?

• Expat on Sep 21, 2010 at 2:19 pm

Malaysian’s can’t drive for shit, one of the highest accident rate in the world and why is the media always covering up their retarded act by reporting car lost control and dumb fellow crashed into a tree, guard rail or back of a parked truck and it exploded. If there is really so many cases of cars losing control, car manufacturers would have lawsuit up the wazoo for defects or recalls. People here are clueless about traffic laws or is it just a 3rd world mentality?
    Maybe one day when people here seriously consider safety a priority then there may be a reduction in highway fatalities.

Best one yet, dude crashed into guard rail at Penang bridge and was throw off the bridge into the sea. Hahah Only in Malaysia!

• S.Roma on Sep 21, 2010 at 3:15 pm

I just hate those moron that drive slowly at the right lane, they also so blind to see the car from the back is approaching… even after honking and hi beam…

STUPID DRIVERS !

• don’t be so langsi when driving…

eventhough u are driving a toyota harrier, porsche cayyene, or even “powerful” proton wira, please, no need to give hi-beam or honking, just, be patient laaa.. if dia tak mau ke tepi, potong kiri laaa… if dia driving at 110km/h, its ur fault laa having traffic offence travelling more than speed limit!

• Kambing Gurun on Sep 21, 2010 at 8:43 pm

“potong kiri” is already breaking the law la…

• cmon laaa.. if the slow driver don’t even hiraukan u at the back u still want to stay behind ke? hahaha.. common sense laa tambi…

• im using ER6n.. so sorry laa if u are the one yg kena potong kiri bro.. =) peace..

• SukaTgkOrg on Sep 21, 2010 at 4:46 pm

I also hate to see people with super fast car beaming and honking when I was overtaking a long strecth of not so slow lorries…. I know lah my car not as powerful as yours… but I am already at 120KM/h.. wait la until I have the left line back to come in…. I cant come into the left line at 120kmh and press my brake hard behind a 70km/h lorries can i?

• pomen_gtr on Sep 21, 2010 at 5:25 pm

yes..sometimes the too sellfish driv er keep honking…

but if given enuf time to get into middle/left lane but still wanna stay upright on right lane keeping that own speed then,i think he/she should be rammed by a bulldozer..(if only bulldozer can go beyond 120km/h) :lol:

• Kambing Gurun on Sep 21, 2010 at 8:46 pm

Not so. It’s okay if those people drive supercars, but the most irritiating ones are peopel who drive Kancil/Viva traveling at 150km+ honking/beaming at you to as if they drive sort of super super cars.

• i wonder y do u need to drive at 120kmh to overtake a 70kmh lorry?

• SukaTgkOrg on Sep 23, 2010 at 4:04 pm

try over taking 3 lorries driving at 70kmh with 80kmh speed… see how long will it take ..and how many honks and beams u will get along the way.. :-)

• acerman on Sep 22, 2010 at 12:27 am

Don’t be a selfish driver. Be considerate with others. The people who like to drive fast beyond the speed limit are selfish drivers. If u want to “berlagak” and showing other people that U can drive faster and Ur car is more powerful, perhaps U should be a race driver. Unless U are Too afraid to drive on the Litar Sepang.
      People who drives on the highway especially on the N-S highway are people who want to drive relax and avoid small, traffic lights on normal roads.
      Using honking and hi beam is not the way of Malaysian. if U want to overtake, give a signal, the driver in front of u will go back on the left lane. I’d done this several time, give a signal and people will understand that U want to overtake. PLEASE. BE POLITE ON THE ROAD. WE ARE CONSIDERATE DRIVERS. NOT RUTHLESS.

• pomen_gtr on Sep 21, 2010 at 4:39 pm

errrr..when a car cruising 50-60km/h on 90km/h zone and hogging dozens of other vehicle behind what choices do u have???stay for the rest of your live behind slowpoke selfish driver?

• Eyesore on Sep 21, 2010 at 5:21 pm

thats diff story… most of the time the so call driver already driving at or slightly above speed limit…so you honking and high beaming is kinda wrong…

• Kambing Gurun on Sep 21, 2010 at 8:37 pm

“top road crimes were beating the red light, cutting queue, using emergency lanes and road shoulders, overtaking at double lines and using mobile phones while driving.”

Not enough. Add those people who “makan angin” on the fast lane.