China wants foreign companies to disclose EV secrets

Trouble seems to be brewing in one of the world’s largest automotive markets, China. It has been reported in the Wall Street Journal that the Chinese Government wants to force foreign companies to reveal their electric vehicle technology before they can sell their wares in China.

The country’s current proposition says that foreign automakers wishing to produce electric technology must form a joint-venture with a Chinese company. In the joint-venture, the foreign company would only hold a 49 percent stake, which basically means the Chinese company will hold a majority stake.

This is all part of the government’s 10-year plan, at making the nation “the world’s leader” in developing and producing battery-powered cars and hybrids, according to executives of four foreign auto makers. The Wall Street Journal says that the plan is to develop three to five Chinese companies into global EV and hybrid players by 2020, along with two to three global suppliers of key components such as batteries and motors.

This will be a dangerous balancing act for foreign companies as China has a lot of leverage, being one of the biggest auto buyers in the world, while revealing their tech secrets could see it being used for other purposes. The plan will be distributed among other government agencies and state-owned automakers to gauge their opinions on the matter. There is a likelihood that the technology transfer clause could be changed or even modified before the plan is commissioned. If there is no opposition to the plan, it could be put in place as soon as next month.

A very scary thought, but if Toyota’s actions are a precursor to other automakers actions, we could see a major pullout of foreign companies from China. Toyota have postponed the release of its latest generation Prius hybrid in China (which has been on sale in many other market since 2009) until they get confirmation on China’s plan.

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• Tiadaid on Sep 22, 2010 at 5:22 pm

Force without compensation? How desparate for profits car makers must be to put up with that? This is another form of protectionism. Maybe the Malaysian government should implement it if it’s successful!

• campro on Sep 22, 2010 at 7:40 pm

M’sia to success with this china forcing policy hard lah…m’sia market damn so small….only idiot will do…..
      with this policy China is the big winner although foreign brand will feel losing their technology but it help most automaker since China is the fast growing n still expanding market keep sales on skyrocketing…. To prevent foreign country dominating their Chinese economy power….

• Malaysia can take advantage of this…..invite all car maker who want to produce EV car come to Malaysia

• alldisc on Sep 23, 2010 at 9:33 am

already one of requirement for china foreign direct investment is that when a company wants to set-up facilities, China govt will provide the necessary including free land, if possible. but should the company wants to pull out, they have to leave all equipment behind.

good policies right? yeah, with China’s cheap labour its a win-win situation.

• squall_shinoda on Sep 25, 2010 at 1:09 am

It’s no longer as cheap as we used to know. Remember the strike at Honda factory in China by Chinese car workers demanding for salary raise previously? It’s just one of the indications that China labour cost is not as cheap as we used before.

• This is unfair game for the foreign investor, the corruption in china is more dangerous than the Malaysia, I personal experience this before, force is the way to make yourself to the end of the road, i totally disagree for this move.

• squall_shinoda on Sep 25, 2010 at 1:13 am

I agree with you. With this totally ridiculous and unfair policy, Chinese automakers can simply claim many technologies originally developed by foreign carmakers as their own. As a result, there will be more clones of popular foreign car models which will be made legal because of the unfair policy there. Better invest in India rather than in China.

• welcome to Malaysia..please invest in our country..pull out from there..wawawa~

• think on Sep 22, 2010 at 8:48 pm

malaysia is even worst….they cant have a stagnant automotive policy…everytime the ministers cahanges ,,the policy also changes….thanks alot for the goverment, for having ultimate taxation……..

• MoFaz on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:14 pm

looks like you haven’t think before you write. you only know to use shortcut like what China is doing. so please don’t use ‘think’ as your nick.

• Anti Proton on Sep 22, 2010 at 5:28 pm

china is disgusting.

• gangully on Sep 22, 2010 at 5:30 pm

hahahaha… if some of the EV manufacturers agree to this, we may soon see dopod or htc (before they were bought over by Soy Erricson) type cars on the road…

• Tiadaid on Sep 22, 2010 at 6:54 pm

HTC & Dopod is Taiwanese. Different country

• uchak on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:33 pm

Taiwan are much better in term of product quality..they have better standard and practices..we can judge on their products.

• ethan on Sep 22, 2010 at 5:32 pm

this is a bad move from china…. trying to hijack technology from others….

• omahabojan on Sep 22, 2010 at 6:22 pm

They lack knowledge, that’s why

• MoFaz on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:17 pm

heck, they can build rocket and launch into the space… yet they’re not capable to build EV tech? i really doubt it.
        the only reason is they’re more ‘MALAS’ than Malaysian!
        and cheating is their way of life… how many scandals so far..?

• maybe they invest more on military tech than civilian tech…

• squall_shinoda on Sep 25, 2010 at 1:24 am

One classic example of their cheating is the 1st-gen Daihatsu Terios clone. While Perodua manufactured the Terios under licence as Perodua Kembara, the 1st-gen Terios is illegally cloned as Zotye 2008. And there are some sly tricks to make it “legal” to those who criticizes this type of cloning. The Zotye 2008 uses Mitsubishi’s engines (4G13 and 4G15 as in the old Iswara) instead of the standard Daihatsu engines. And the manufacturer claimed that they’ve bought the presses of the 1st-gen Terios from Daihatsu after Daihatsu launched the 2nd-gen Terios. They think that by simply buying the press means that they are free to use the design as their own without paying even a single cent of royalty to Daihatsu. What a dirty tactic of cloning and cheating…

• always want copy fast, “Clun” it fast, make money fast mah.

• trav_da_man on Sep 22, 2010 at 5:41 pm

WTF china is thinking??? But we can use it to our advantage. Ministry of Trade of Malaysia, what are u waiting for????

• mystvearn on Sep 22, 2010 at 5:46 pm

Just don’t sell Hybrids in China. Simple. Secret kept safe

• Tiadaid on Sep 22, 2010 at 6:48 pm

Then they’ll force the companies with hybrid cars to either sell them, thus put up or get the hell out.

• campro on Sep 22, 2010 at 7:44 pm

yaya…may be follow EU style setting high regulation on the emission & green tech for environment friendly….then white ppl & japanese hv to be good boy sell their hybrid / EV in china…since China economy n market is vr huge, it should can gv pressure on the automaker like EU did…

• Tiadaid on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:58 pm

No it’s not like EU. In EU you don’t have to give away your advantage to your competitors! If you have an advantage, you’re allowed to milk it for all its worth. It’s not the case here.

• campro on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:26 am

ya i know…what i mean here is smthg like EU style in term of setting high strict regulation for entering china market….example pressure on co2 emission of china effort to clean their country…sure hybrid / EV co2 emission is vr low…but is hard forceful way…sure EU is more fair n they protect intelligent properties…so we wait n see what the china govt next move…

• jamal on Sep 22, 2010 at 5:52 pm

lol. very subtle. nice

• drMpower on Sep 22, 2010 at 5:54 pm

fuh. this is mao ze dong to the core.

u think NAP/ proton protection are cruel?

think again.

• Thomanic on Sep 22, 2010 at 5:56 pm

What to do…China is the largest auto consumers in the world…..all flock to there go gain some profits…..China also want a piece of the pie…..

• assumption or accusation?

• bobdbilder on Sep 22, 2010 at 6:06 pm

Its a good move. China can make anything. If they wanted to copy, all they need to do is buy a few EV and break it up. Source everything from Alibaba.com and wala; Instant Technology. They are brilliant economic strategist. Disgusting to some, but you must say they are brilliant. I’ll bet you they’ll even have faster time to market.

• Tiadaid on Sep 22, 2010 at 6:48 pm

Bet you if Malaysia did it you’ll be the first to decry it.

• drgn86 on Sep 23, 2010 at 4:34 am

too bad Malaysia can’t, thanks to undermining policies that has favoritism

• Korean on Sep 22, 2010 at 7:02 pm

Agree with you.
      This move is disgusting to a LAGGARD but is a challenge to a VISIONARY.

• MoFaz on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:29 pm

oh, yeah.. brilliant. they never know what’s exactly behind the tech, and definitly they can’t copy the and produce the exact thing. Thomas Edison tried 1000 time before he found suitable filament for light bulb and China want to do it in 1 try!
      worst case scenario: they copy wrongly and the EV car owners electrocuted and died on their ‘proudly made in China’ electric chair.
      you think Haier can beat Samsung/Sony/Panasonic tech? Korean beat Japanese when they make their own tech, not by copying Sony.

• drgn86 on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:12 am

who said koreans didn’t copy the japanese? samsung has been sued for stealing technology from sony for their lcd tvs…. so don’t just single out china as your like, MoFaz isn’t that all to be proud with, bias punk…

• MoFaz on Sep 23, 2010 at 5:15 am

so many companies claiming that other companies are stealing from them. and for your information, sony use samsung panel for their lcd, so why would sony sue samsung? i don’t have problem if koreans study japanese products and create / innovate better products. even japanese was known to have reverse-engineered western products.
          but the main issue here is about china. you can find lots of imitations coming from china. imitation is some kind of piracy, you didn’t do the research, simply copy works of others, and the original inventors or copyright holder get nothing from the sales. now they want to be leader in EV tech but skipping the R&D stage?

• campro on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:41 am

China soon will be world leader….china need times to improve….sure they will even take faster lesser time to success than korea…korea take less time compare to japan achievement…china is on growing stage…Japan korea can….no way china cannot…they 3 belong under same yellow skin civilization…so their intelligent gene should be on par….when we pandang ke timur mean we look at China, Korea, Japan…NOT our bolehland….

• DonkeyKong on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:02 am

Any culture that doesn’t have an Ibrahim Ali will progress and eventually compete with everyone on a global stage. Those countries who have such cowardly rent-seeking short-cut-to-riches leaders, such as Zimbabwe, end up being basket cases.

• squall_shinoda on Sep 25, 2010 at 1:39 am

Ambition doesn’t always legalize the processes to accomplish it. Other carmakers in the world has spent billions of US dollars for their R&D before coming up with their final product. And I must admit that even though our national carmakers (other than Proton) sell rebadged models, they rebadge the models honestly by paying royalties to their respective original manufacturers. But Chinese auto makers are ridiculous – their government forces the foreign carmakers to “cooperate” with the Chinese carmakers by allowing them to simply rebadge the car models with the Chinese badges. Even cloning is legalized there. There are many cases of Chinese auto makers copying designs of popular models without permission and without paying even a cent of royalty to their respective original manufacturers.

• Salamander on Sep 22, 2010 at 6:14 pm

Seriously China need to learn how to appreciate an intellectual property. Car maker spend millions and R&D but China are taking the shortcut by forcing these company to share their trade secret.

Furthermore, foreign automaker over there they can only held 49% of the share while local company will make the remaining 51%.

But then again they have the bargaining power that is why their are bold enough to make this kind of move.

• bryan.jones on Sep 22, 2010 at 6:24 pm

yet some people said they’re good in new invention. what a rip off!!!

• DonkeyKong on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:03 am

China?? Good in new inventions??? This is the first time I heard of it!

• once pirate always become the pirate

• Initial R on Sep 22, 2010 at 8:11 pm

This not pirated but sabotage coz no product on the road yet but want to have one before the other come in….

• squall_shinoda on Sep 25, 2010 at 1:42 am

We can still call them pirates what… but actually they are even worse than pirates because the policies by their government itself to legalize such kind of piracy (copying other designs and claim as their own)…

• Is the Chinese Trade Minister been chatting online with our Malayian Trade Minister??

• MoFaz on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:33 pm

china is formerly communist country.. remember this: “whatever your belonging is country properties”

• campro on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:42 pm

China until now still a communist country lah….is a modern modified communist system…far Greater Superior than the western original communist style…..

• DonkeyKong on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:04 am

“far Greater Superior than the western original communist style”

Wow, Western original communists?? And I thought those countries were called the Eastern Bloc for a reason..

• russia

• campro on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:53 pm

Soviet union lah bodoh….now Russia

• DonkeyKong on Sep 23, 2010 at 4:22 pm

Soviet Union is not a “Western” country. It’s just north of us “Eastern” folks.

• they feel that they have global purchasing power,so that’s why they are taking this way as the shortcut to gain tech from big players in the auto technology. the world have no other choice.

• Initial R on Sep 22, 2010 at 8:08 pm

Hmmm… tax up to 30% is more batter for selling car in Malaysia rather to gave 51% share holder for local & even more disclose the EV Tech to other… Now I wonder offshore company that selling & assemble crappy car in Malaysia, how much they get the profit after mark up for down graded product & minus the tax ?. Hmmmm…. I wonder… ????…

• y.c.low on Sep 22, 2010 at 8:45 pm

With a population of a billion, China is not fearful of car manufacturers pulling out their latest technology. I don’t believe any car manufacturers can ignore such big market in China. China needs technology transfer fast in order to compete with the car giants of the world. It is only logical that if they want to sell their products in China, they should not be hesitant to share their technology.

• its like giv ur wife to people who let u to stay at their place…..so that ur wife can giv child for u and for them….fair rite? same but diff scenario..example only ok..don be mad

• campro on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:49 am

they really cannot even close 1 eye look into china huge market….chinese is now getting richer n richer…a lot will bcm millionaire…all afford to buy luxury / sport car like Ferrari…
      China sure jealous look at Korea Hyundai kia & Japan Toyota, Honda, Nissan…bcoz Chinese automaker is still far behind korea & japan iconic brand…

• DonkeyKong on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:08 am

They can get further ahead if they stop making their coffin-on-wheels death traps. Is it really so hard to engineer a car with decent crash safety?

• think on Sep 22, 2010 at 8:46 pm

if the chinese g’ment is so smart ,,without aware on their level of quality of products coming from there..they are the worst country in the world by producing low quality products in order to make profit…cheating will always get the punishment…china will feel the suffer of the consumers sooooon………this is a great situtation created by china itself for the carmakers to think…if the foreign carmakers decides to pull out from china,,then they will also close their assembly plants there….later chian g’ment will get the pain……………..

• bomb china with nuclear & they will learn to appreciate

• campro on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:47 pm

hard lah…china also hv nuclear bomb…later our m’sia country gone from this planet…rmb m’sia is such a small country…What to do…china is 1 of the big 5 in Nato…plus their allied Russian on same boat…all want to build good relationship with china to do business….No china friend later ur country going to bankrupt….

• the_fighter on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:22 am

nobody dare to do this la..not even USA!!

• DonkeyKong on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:10 am

HAHAHAHAA nuking a country just because of its automotive policies!!! My God, that is the most brilliant idea presented so far..

• Korean on Sep 23, 2010 at 1:30 pm

Most stupid comment of the year.

• I DONT BELIEVE IT on Sep 22, 2010 at 9:45 pm

somehow i thinking the reliability of this news, you know it just a mouth from some media.

Hey, China already have their own EV…

• Competent news source on Sep 23, 2010 at 1:02 am

Hey Bro, the news source is from Wall Street Journal……you know the most famous and reliable business publication in the world. Its not really a big secret.

• Yoona on Sep 23, 2010 at 11:09 am

the Wall Street Journal from US pffftt

• Korean on Sep 23, 2010 at 7:09 pm

USA and Japan start to worry the coming up of China, so they try to spread lots of negative rumour on China. But it seems like most of us are ignorant and naive.

• I DONT BELIEVE IT on Sep 24, 2010 at 10:26 pm

Media is still media, no matter where they from either CNN, BBC or CNBC. It still just like we in Malaysia have RTM that only say good words about BN and critics the opposition.

It just my 2 cents.

• shawal on Sep 22, 2010 at 9:47 pm

Just don’t sell EVs & hybrids, is not like they care for the environment in the first place either, sell as much cars as you can , and once it gets nasty, just pull out from china..

• Lightning McQueen on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:07 pm

Bloody greedy China Government…
    Go and learn yourself laa

• campro on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:52 am

even India nation should learn from china how to handle the economy effectively….

• MoFaz on Sep 23, 2010 at 4:55 am

in my opinion, india has the capacity to surpass china economy, and it’s already starting to take place. hopefully they won’t resort to take shortcuts and make scandals like china.

• If I was the leader of country with such a big market, I also do the same thing, it’s a wise move, as that is the only way to gain technology advancement, if one have to do everything from scratch, how long you have to wait, by the time you have come out with your IP, the technology had been obsoleted, don’t forget the patern right law which restrict you from delvelopment.
    if everythng you have to go by the book, you will alway stay as a consumer only, as the developed country register every damn thing!

• MoFaz on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:39 pm

owh.. no wonder you’re not a leader even in Malaysia.
      there’s no point having or building any school in china if you’re saying every student has their right to copy assignments or even exam answers. no doubt you still have the largest population but lots of them are poor, dumb and can’t even read…

• rageaccel2 on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:06 pm

well said..

• alldisc on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:17 am

i second you…

• I DONT BELIEVE IT on Sep 24, 2010 at 10:29 pm

@ MoFaz, without a note/book/resources/reference/teacher. How a person can pass the exam with flying colour?

Same theory apply here, they need someone to lead them.

• yes, it may take a longer time to discover the necessary technology. Yes, many companies will fail and run out of money. At the end of the day, it means standing proud among others and able to further innovate without aid from other countries. there is no shortcut to success.

• drMpower on Sep 23, 2010 at 12:31 am

we have got to draw the line here. reverse engineering is okay, the koreans had done this for years. but still its not relate in any way to what the chinese government is trying to do.

by passing a law or decree of state like asking them to open-up SECRETS, it is way tooooo much. sharing okay, but ASKING them to give all (in trade with piece of the market) is totally…. crazy.

but china knows their buying power are second to none, currently in the world. thats why these manufacturers are flocking into china. some even invent something ‘specific for china only’. thats how attractive the market in china is currently.

theres no way to spin this matter. even alistair darling also wont be able to create any positive upon this.

• when i read your comment, i remember during my school day. during exam lazy bum will flock around smart student table to copy his/her paper. then after the exam this lazy bum just ignore the smart student like they dont even know them.

i wonder what will happen to those foriegn company after this Chinese company got the tech and knowledge from them.

Hit and Run?
      One night stand?
      Habis madu sepah dibuang?

• 1kereta on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:54 pm

it’s a political issue…japan should release the Chinese fishing boat captain first before China takes more actions…

• bluetravler on Sep 23, 2010 at 11:10 am

If that is the case and your thinking, sometime soon china will also lay clam to S. island that is also clam by us(mal), viet and phili., that we just turn away and act nothing happened. Even though none of us are fighting over it anymore and share it between our 3 counties’ marine business, till a day when drilling tech reach the point of allowing us to explore the rich stuff. China is nothing more then a big bully, I know because i have done business with them for more than a decade. It now wants to, if possible to clam that, everything under the eastern sun is theirs. The peoples’ mentalities is not up to a point to be a super power country. They hv a point of view that the world at large owes them for their past 50 years of suffering, don’t know why, just do. Like we, the outside world hv together make them and their family suffer. They are not ready to meet the world and take up responsibilities. they are like a pack of very hungry dogs release on us the world and our leaders have no defense against it. I have changed my job just not to deal with them anymore.

• Jimmy on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:56 pm

Daytime robbing. What do you think? It happens also in B-land.

• nabill on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:04 pm

yup , jus an official way of saying ” can i steal ur technology without paying anyting and rebrand it under chinese companies?”

no shame…

• Jimmy on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:21 pm

Yes, it is daytime robbery. Like merampas tanah orang lain, hopefully all the tanahs in the state/country belong to him. Many more examples, you want to hear?

• uchak on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:25 pm

typical china-man!! they only know how to imitate and produce low quality cheaper unreliable product.good for them since they got vast market. To bad to the inventors.

• altimasss on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:43 pm

Very bad move.. imagine all countries importing manufactured goods from China pakat and do something similar to them.. they can close down all the factories and back to farming again..

Everything has a limit.. and I still cant believe they are actually demanding this.. where is your Great Wall pride ?

• campro on Sep 23, 2010 at 3:02 am

u cannot demanding too much…example u complaining too much & dun want this biz deal, china govt can gv contract to other country company in waiting list….who lose in the end!!! so all only look at china face to get business here…Nothing to gain only lose in enemy the china….the Great wall can banned u from entering for biz purpose….i guess this is how the great wall shld work exactly like a border gate

• DonkeyKong on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:15 am

China will also only lose “in enemy the world”. If everyone else says “screw this shi’, we’ve had enough” and shift production to Mexico, Brazil and India (which is already happening), soon China will see its domestic jobs drying up and unemployment will rise. Without buying power, China will not be a desirable market despite its large population. So much for their powderful Great Wall border gate.

• campro on Sep 23, 2010 at 3:06 pm

Mexico, Brazil and India hv to take next turn….the world is eye on china….wait until china bcm developed country 1st for few decades….then we see really miracle can happen to be other country turn….China do Olympic so success….India do Commonwealth games also can hv Bridge collapse…scare cannot complete in time….too much corruption….India should not Follow our bolehland Terengganu state famous in collapse main stadium, aqua stadium, building so much….when ppl ask terengganu famous what??!! answer famous building collapse…

• wowowww on Sep 23, 2010 at 12:31 am

and after 10 year they will claim those techs are theirs….
    just like how they build the rocket…you think they can?there are alot of spy in NASA who are paid to help them…
    you think china has their EV already?they always claim something which is not true until they find a solution….
    omg can’t believe I’m born as a Chinese….sad…

• alldisc on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:32 am

my friend, we cannot chose who we are when we were born. but when we choose the right path, be wise and respect other people (and dont bash/insult), everything will be ok one.

• campro on Sep 23, 2010 at 3:14 pm

Rocket to the moon sure capable…Russsia help them coz they both are the big5 in Nato allied on the same boat…unlike our bolehland buy Russia fighter jets free moon trip package…use money buy (shame la nothing to be proud of) then our bolehland proclaim they so best capable can go moon BUT with Russia rocket…china build their own rocket n up to the moon….this should be proud of….

• positively thinking on Sep 23, 2010 at 1:26 am

I thk it is a strategy by China govermant to make sure their local car producer will get biggest pie in China green technology vehicle market.

Do you think China doesnt have any requirement to building own their EV. so if you saying that, why biggest corporation like Daimler who own Smart cooperation with one of China atomative producer BYD.

Also if you visit China in 2010 China Beijing International Automotive Show which trusted as largest event in world automotive show show that majority of china producer including BYD, SAIC, Chery, Geely and etc show their ability to build own greener car including EV technology, FCEV technology, hybrid, plug in hybrid etc.

I thk it’s about to make sure China local auto company get biggest pie in greener car market. So they must make foreign auto company afraid to invest in China especially in greener car market.

Yesterday, BYD launched EV bus which can run 300 km by only one charging. so i think they have an ability to build own EV tech

http://autonews.gasgoo.com/china-news/byd-to-roll-out-electric-bus-k9-this-month-100921.shtml

aLSO I think China gov seriously want to be a top global player in greener car market by invest billion of ringgit. read news below

http://autonews.gasgoo.com/china-news/china-s-big-push-into-hybrids-electric-cars-100922.shtml

also one of China rapidly grow auto company Chery which before cooperation which Better Place (Nissan-renault subsidary in EV technology) to build their own EV, FCEV now has setup new brand to capture a little pie in greener car market. Please read below

http://autonews.gasgoo.com/china-news/chery-auto-gets-a-new-brand-for-new-energy-vehicle-100908.shtml

http://www.chinacartimes.com/2010/09/08/chevoo-its-cherys-latest-new-energy-brand/

• lightning mcqueen on Sep 23, 2010 at 5:16 am

if they have their technology why bother to ask other manufacturer to reveal their trade secret?
      i am not confident with their verdict ev bus going for 300 km in single charge:-
      for empty bus ok la…
      and for limited time only… after 3months the distance only 300 meters…
      just look at our rapidkl buses…. made in china, breakdown everywhere….

• i have no doubt that china can produce ev or hybrid. but what scare me is their reliability, safety, stablity and many other …ty’s of the product.

• bluetravler on Sep 23, 2010 at 12:12 pm

positively thinking, much of what you said is correct. but consider these; Ev cars are not that “easy” to build. Yeah, in the ultra basic form, it is just a battery and E.Motor, like your toy car. But there’s where is diff greatly. The speed and ways of discharge, the cycle of charging, effective of storage after long usage and etc. And it is just the battery, not to begin with the various type of motor. Like, do you even know that pure EV car currently now have no ” real gear”, but 3 companies are rushing their OWN R&D to do it first and file a patent for it. Hint; none of them are from china. China, for now, may hold the largest rare earth deposit currently known, thus enable it to force these policies on to the world. ( Afghanistan, may soon over take china if recent findings are confirm). As such policies from china, one, limiting the sales of rare earth to the rest of us. Japan recently publish in tech and sci section, that they hv managed to build a small E.Motor without using any rare earth, and hope to have a EV Motor of this kind ready in 5 years time if not sooner. Take that China. Furthermore it the begining of the year, there held a meeting of the big 8 car industries; 4 from JAP, 3 from EU, 2 from USA, None from China, to find ways and agreed to a standard for the EV battery. This kind of Meeting would set the world standard for further cars. These bring back to the days of China wanting to set its own cellphone tech, its own freq. threatening all major handphone brands, remember? What of it now, nothing……but the western cave in, to barter a trade of telco tower tech for china. Now Huiwai is one of the big player for telco tower. Malaysia currently use lots of it. Because they are cheap. Muscling other major brands away.(No r&d cost for them) So next when you have lousy handphone reception even when you can see the towers, don’t just blame maxis, or digi or cel. Blame huiwai. And do you know that huiwai is really a front company for china’s Red Army. So next time when you talk bad about china on your handphone, think twice, they may have build some hardware into their tech to let them listen in. Maybe they will build something into your further china make EV car that will allow them to turn it off, if they don’t like your way of driving :) Hehehehe.

• Armchair critiquer.. on Sep 23, 2010 at 8:02 am

I think it’s more of a measure to prevent foreign car makers from entering Chinese EV market than anything else. The Chinese have their own EV tech. EV penetration is still in infancy stage, so by “preventing” others from getiing initial footholds, the local Chinese EV manufacturers have sufficient time to build significant market share and expand from there.

• azrai on Sep 23, 2010 at 8:09 am

This is what has been told by Dr.M on last Monday. Foreign country inpose many restrictions for our carmaker to penetrate their market while MIDA quite ‘easily’ to allow those 5 company from China, South Korea, and india to set foot in Malaysia. Think about it. Dr.M is the Malaysia Automotive founder.

• 4G63tDSM on Sep 23, 2010 at 9:08 am

Thats because it depends on who is holding the aces.

You can demand when people want what you have. You have to give in, when you want something they can give.

Simple.

Large foreign companies can contribute much needed FDI and local employment. As a developing nation, we must start that way, and then work with developing technology and resources that other people want.

Loose that and Malaysia will never succeed in its quest of high income nation. We have lost all that momentum that we generated in the late 80s and early 90s.

No one even knows for sure the quantum the Malaysian Automotive dream (er..nightmare) has cost Malaysians.

What you suggest is for us to wall up our economy? You sure you want to be North Korea? ..and one without nuclear and a happy trigger finger. Who is going to care about you?

• azrai on Sep 23, 2010 at 11:36 am

According to Dr.M, FDI fund 95% come from local source. This mean if foreign company invest let say RM100m, RM95m is taken from local bank loans. So it is the same is local company just borrow RM95m from local banks and set-up business here. You see it?

• 4G63tDSM on Sep 23, 2010 at 6:01 pm

95% of what? Total FDI for just 1 company?
          Its simple to get a point to justify your answer.
          Its easy to justify that by taking Dr. M’s word of mouth as the truth. Is it really?

Even if they do take 95% from local banks, they are making the initiative. besides, they still need to make the interest payments. How many LOCAL business can afford to rack up $100 Million loans?

Don’t discount the needed employment boost and technology/skill transfer.

That is where the real benefit to FDI.

I see your point. But you are missing the big picture.

• rossi46 on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:18 am

hehehe…follow this, surely doom….end up wt Lada during the cold war type of auto industry. Wt our small “ciput” size mkt…..who cares

• i fully support this move by china gov. some more, the gov should force all the manufacturers that want to sell their products in china to 100% build and assemble in china. no CKD or components should be imported from outside. foreign company only bring in the know hows.

even better if the gov also required that any manufacturer that want to sell their products in china, their factories in china should at least produce 20% for world export. this ensure that china will be in the industrial leader and producer of products, and the rest of world would have to depend on them.

• woww..
      are you being sarcastic?
      or do you love China a lot?

• azrai on Sep 23, 2010 at 11:41 am

Not that 100% assembly is matter, but intellectual rights. They wants the secret of EV. Do you think Bubur lambuk Kg. Baru easily give their recipes when demanded? Just like you ask Coca Cola their recipe, will they give it to you?

• Prot0n 1nspira on Sep 23, 2010 at 8:39 am

Go go Proton INSPIRA

• autojohndoe on Sep 23, 2010 at 5:50 pm

new name for the waja replacement?

Shoot! i have this name in my mind…

• Outdoor Person on Sep 23, 2010 at 8:39 am

China is a “dog eat dog” world la bro..

• 4G63tDSM on Sep 23, 2010 at 9:12 am

View one way, this is daylight robbery of intelectual property.

But viewed another way, this is a business terms and condition.

Want the market bad enough? Then they will find some compromize somewhere.

China is holding all the cards. Can’t blame them to be bold.

• Jimmy on Sep 23, 2010 at 9:50 am

You read about China EV in newspaper or are you the engineer inside the company? In fact the China may overclaim their technology in EV, maybe they have some problems that is difficult to solve. Even big automotive companies are still working hard on EV technology. Where is China??? Only know how to steal, how to rob (technology, I mean, not money nor resources like Amerika), and how to become an actor in Oscar (I also can cry in front of TV to show kesian to the earthquake mangsa).

• wowowww on Sep 23, 2010 at 12:23 pm

they overclaim everything la….their ev cars don’t even have airconds….
      they always claim something false just to tell ppl they can….in the same time try everything including stealing to achieve that….
      they even claim they are the world’s biggest car manufacturer country…claiming that their cars being the no.1 selling brand in the world….
      read those china news n tv interview….

• gun n roses on Sep 23, 2010 at 11:26 am

I really don’t like CHina, just know rob, steal and forced people in day time…all automakers packed and go back or to others country la…….let China eat bananas and jump like monkey??

• bluetravler on Sep 23, 2010 at 12:16 pm

positively thinking, much of what you said is correct. but consider these; Ev cars are not that “easy” to build. Yeah, in the ultra basic form, it is just a battery and E.Motor, like your toy car. But there’s where is diff greatly. The speed and ways of discharge, the cycle of charging, effective of storage after long usage and etc. And it is just the battery, not to begin with the various type of motor. Like, do you even know that pure EV car currently now have no ” real gear”, but 3 companies are rushing their OWN R&D to do it first and file a patent for it. Hint; none of them are from china. China, for now, may hold the largest rare earth deposit currently known, thus enable it to force these policies on to the world. ( Afghanistan, may soon over take china if recent findings are confirm). As such policies from china, one, limiting the sales of rare earth to the rest of us. Japan recently publish in tech and sci section, that they hv managed to build a small E.Motor without using any rare earth, and hope to have a EV Motor of this kind ready in 5 years time if not sooner. Take that China. Furthermore it the begining of the year, there held a meeting of the big 8 car industries; 4 from JAP, 3 from EU, 2 from USA, None from China, to find ways and agreed to a standard for the EV battery. This kind of Meeting would set the world standard for further cars. These bring back to the days of China wanting to set its own cellphone tech, its own freq. threatening all major handphone brands, remember? What of it now, nothing……but the western cave in, to barter a trade of telco tower tech for china. Now Huiwai is one of the big player for telco tower. Malaysia currently use lots of it. Because they are cheap. Muscling other major brands away.(No r&d cost for them) So next when you have lousy handphone reception even when you can see the towers, don’t just blame maxis, or digi or cel. Blame huiwai. And do you know that huiwai is really a front company for china’s Red Army. So next time when you talk bad about china on your handphone, think twice, they may have build some hardware into their tech to let them listen in. Maybe they will build something into your further china make EV car that will allow them to turn it off, if they don’t like your way of driving Hehehehe.

• Chevy Captiva Fans on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:50 pm

Well well well….i can see the dragon start opening his big mount….bite bite bite…watch out there… :). I am not favour with this policy, it’s not friendly at all…I hope other auto maker should pull out… China should grow and shape its own identity rather that steal others people technology. Stealing will never long lasting la!

• campro on Sep 23, 2010 at 3:26 pm

wait china company buy some america / europe car company….then no more consider stealing…India TATA company buy Jaguar & Land Rover…same as proton did buy Lotus….then Proton can hv Lotus handling feature…no ppl going to say proton seal lotus technology rite!!! haha…

• autojohndoe on Sep 23, 2010 at 5:47 pm

It is buying…

what china did is forcing… this is different

• Korean on Sep 23, 2010 at 7:15 pm

We at bolehland is forced to buy expensive low grade car……Now..that is FORCING. And it is defferent from China government, which they force foreign company and not their citizen.

• mr_3m_wancer on Sep 24, 2010 at 1:58 am

How do you know that??

I believed that as China is a communist country, their citizens are also ‘forced’ in other ways..

Good example: No internet freedom. Do you see it happening @ our Boleh Land??

• Korean on Sep 24, 2010 at 7:35 pm

Yes!! Cartoonist Zunar arrested, new book seized.

• Chevy Captiva Fans on Sep 23, 2010 at 11:27 pm

I can see China do buying some other auto make like recent one Volvo. Added, there do develop EV under company call BYD… but still don’t know what is reason behind this about this policy…I guess there must fact some technology challenge there…or just too greedy to be world #1.

• mycar on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:12 pm

if i am chinese gov, i will do this. the jap is selling their cars and making money, come on guys, everything has a price to pay for! either you share your technology, save me 10 years of R&D and let me catch up the technology, in return I let you sell your cars and make money for 10 years; or you can choose not to come to Chinese market and earn nothing. I can assure you that, if cooperate with me, we all win-win.

• Shame on you China.

• nigel hisham on Sep 25, 2010 at 1:40 am

interesting to see how ZAP’s venture with jonway will evolve from this recent development….

• Mori2 on Sep 25, 2010 at 11:47 pm

For me, personally it is not a force but it is an option for automakers… if it is dangerous for a long term business, just do what other business people will do … if you ask me, i will find another market for long term period in other developing countries