Sporty R-Design treatment for Volvo S60 and V60 wagon

Volvo UK has announced the launch of R-Design models for the S60 and V60 wagon. These sportier cars should prove popular as apparently, R-Design variants account for up to 60% of some model lines, and 25% overall. For the S60/V60, R-Design is available across the range and not just for high spec cars, which means that it’s possible to have the economy of a 2.0-litre D3 with hot T6 looks, for instance. There are four petrol and two diesel options in the UK.

Looks wise, R-Design cars have a redesigned front valance while a distinctive diffuser houses twin tailpipes. Also included are unique five-spoke 18-inch Diamond cut wheels. Inside, a special leather/textile upholstery is available in off-black and ceramic light, or in all-black, both with contrasting stitch. The cabin also features an R-Design steering wheel, gear knob, sports pedals and floor mats.

The changes aren’t just skin deep. A strut brace under the bonnet stiffens up the structure and the rear features monotube dampers. Unlike twin-tube dampers, the monotube system features compression and return damping via the same valve. This gives shorter, faster fluid flow, which means faster response. The front and rear springs have been shortened by 15 mm and spring stiffness is 15% higher compared to the standard-fit dynamic chassis.

“This makes the car easier to control and reduces any tendency to lurch. This is an area that requires true fingertip sensitivity in order to find the right blend of dynamics and comfort. If you go too far the car feels bumpy even on smooth surfaces. We’ve invested a lot of time and effort in finding the ideal balance,” said Stefan Sällqvist, manager of vehicle dynamics at Volvo Cars.

Hi-res images after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1524]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Anti Proton on Sep 22, 2010 at 7:08 pm

i cant buy a volvo anymore. its chinese.

• bohpee on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:24 pm

why you said like that?

same like proton, they own lotus, but lotus car quality is still the same..

so what’s wrong with volvo own by chinese?

• drMpower on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:57 pm

keh keh. how la like this people oso got?

the fact that matter is, the chinese must let volvo run by themselves. no interference.

technology transfer yes, but must preserve what volvo are.

good luck in turning chinese cars into safer ones

• kamal on Sep 23, 2010 at 8:38 am

Now that they have found new design direction, can’t wait to see how the replacement XC 90 will look like. Will probably buy one over my toyota fortuner.

• phahmeen on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:55 am

Comment not cool….

• Kington on Sep 22, 2010 at 7:24 pm

Looks really cool and vulgar just like the old 850R and the S60R.

I miss those days of Volvo’s reVolvolution. Even the base S60 T-5 was a blast to drive despite its understeer and torque steer. It just had character.

• Front is dugong. but the wagon’s rear is hot!

• the front headlight must be merc E class inspired.

• think on Sep 22, 2010 at 8:38 pm

comeback volvo…you can do it…………….think

• niuhje on Sep 22, 2010 at 9:17 pm

i’m not gonna say it!…

• rageaccel2 on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:52 pm

cool… volvo have made a comeback.. now they do make a really nice cars. not for old people anymore.. love the C30.

• 1kereta on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:06 pm

a good brand (safe car) ruined by the current design team… fire them all and hire some korean to redesign the car…

• For your info, The koreans hired germans to head their design team

• Jimmy on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:23 pm

Weird design, especially the front. Totally lost the classic look of Volvo, not recognisable from far anymore.

• anyoneanywhere on Sep 23, 2010 at 12:03 am

So what? Even Volvo own by chinese, the quality will still remain the same. China man are rich, that’s why they can bought over Volvo’s. I bet they won’t lower down the quality of Volvo’s. And the head light are awesome.

• handsome*dude on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:15 am

some ppl scare of the China owns the Volvo now~ act like the Volvo car will be like infected with somekind of deadly virus~@@~!

if that is the case, no wonder last time the British so mad about Proton bought over the Lotus !~ just imagine so many years ago, how was Proton doing? then suddenly a third world country’ company bought over a well-known sport car company thats own by a first world country~~ If you were a british, what would u think??

so the fact is, Lotus is still Lotus, and it still stepping forward, just look at all the few new models that coming out from it~~

i guess what we can compare now is how the China will make use of the Volvo as to compare with how the Proton making use of Lotus~

who u think is better?

i bet sure is the chinese

• phahmeen on Sep 23, 2010 at 4:00 am

no money..no talk…bising jer…..the wagon is hoooot!

• JonLing on Sep 23, 2010 at 8:30 am

maybe due to my job or something, I can’t help but feel that the front look of the S60 reminds me of the latest Sonata……..especially on the bumper part. I don’t think Volvo teams have managed to find the right design for the front of S60/V60 yet, as the original look really too simple and bland for me, and yet the modified ones are a bit too messy. Hopefully they will sort this problem out when it comes to the time for facelift version.

• Jaybond on Sep 23, 2010 at 8:43 am

People can get a bit hysterical when it comes to Volvo now being owned by a Chinese. Calm down. No Chinese hands will temper anything in the R & D department, except the expenditure. But nowadays the Chinese bosses have deep pockets anyway! They are the ones who will encourage/support Volvo to challenge the German automotive giants and I’m sure more exciting products from Volvo in the pipeline. I understood the S60/V60 test cars had just arrived in Malaysia.

• Machi on Sep 23, 2010 at 11:47 am

Honestly.. This R badged V60 sportwagon is truly disturbing my mood after watching it…it’s almost kill my mind to own a Passat CC straight away. Guess this baby should be in the range of 305bhp or something like that?

For me I don’t care the owner is Chinese or Ind..Volvo is still a Volvo…..a world leading high safety standard car with great fun to drive…Chinese bought it for it’s brand value on safety technology and R&D..Don’t think Chinese is that silly until want to kill this brand..

• Look I own a new big volvo and it took me more than a year to fix its suspension. Hope the chinese sack the Swedish engineers who tuned the suspension to ultra soft and let me feel each bump and pothole like a trampoline.

• eeeriz on Sep 23, 2010 at 3:38 pm

Agreed. My T5 standard suspension sucks. Even my PV6 has done better. But nothing beat the sheer acceleration of T5 at highways (maybe exception of other more powerful cars).. hehe