Toyota Corolla Altis 2.0V – Malaysian Spec Test Drive

The facelifted Toyota Corolla Altis will be officially launched tomorrow (23 September) and if you missed our previous posts, here’s the lowdown. A new ZR range of Dual VVT-i engines are now in place, and there’s a 2.0-litre range topper to join the 1.8 and 1.6. The new engines will be paired to another first for the Altis – a CVT gearbox with seven virtual ratios in manual mode (except the 1.6, which soldiers on with a 4-speed auto).

We’ve driven it already, when Toyota Asia Pacific organised a regional media drive for the new car at the Sepang circuit. And while we had a decent first impression, there’s only so much you can experience in a few runs, on a circuit. So here’s a more detailed review of the new Altis, in the exact same spec that will be launched in Malaysia.

Continue reading the report after the jump.

Toyota Corolla Altis 2.0V – Malaysian Spec Test DriveI like what Toyota has done to the new Altis. In my opinion, the fresh face, in particular the new grille and reprofiled bumper, gives the car a wider look and erases the fussy sharp nose of the old car. Like the facelift for the Camry, the “U” shape of the front is ditched in favour of an “X” shape. Speaking of that car, the Altis now looks very much like a junior Camry; seeing how popular the Camry is, that can only be a good thing.

The HID headlamps have a greyish blue tint on their lenses (not apparent in pictures) which Toyota labels as “smoked”. They look good but less good looking in my opinion are the tail lamps, which have a whiff of aftermarket about them. At least they do the job of differentiating old and new from the back effectively. The other changes are a longer chrome strip above the number plate, new bumper with horizontal reflectors and the Dual VVT-i badge, which UMWT opted to put next to the variant badge.

Toyota Corolla Altis 2.0V – Malaysian Spec Test DriveThose with “younger” and more sporty tastes will be attracted to the Civic or Lancer without even giving the Altis a look, but for the rest of the buying public, the Toyota should be entirely inoffensive, and maybe even a bit sporty in the case of the top spec 2.0V. Talking about sporty, it’s a nice rim design, but they’re still only 16-inch items and there’s no bodykit at launch.

As mentioned in our initial test drive at Sepang, Malaysian bound cars will have a light coloured cabin across the board, instead of the black that some markets get for their 2.0V. While there are some who don’t like this, a light hue has its benefits.

Besides creating a greater impression of space and airiness, the Altis interior feels luxurious the moment you step in. Although it isn’t greatly changed from the old model, the little differences make a positive difference. The grey soft plastics that line the top half of the dash and door mouldings are in a darker shade than before, and the faux wood trim is now in tasteful dark wood with a matte finish. For me, while the old orangey and shiny wood was a turn off, the new trim successfully warms the ambience over lesser models that have silver plastic.

Quality is top notch. Panel fit is exemplary, buttons are super tight fitting and good in tactile response. The only blot in the copybook is the fit of the second glove box in our test car, but then again, how many other classmates offer an extra glove box? The layout and ergonomics are also incredibly simple and straightforward – I can imagine my parents operating the car immediately without fumbling, for instance.

The most obvious changes in the cabin are the steering wheel and instruments, and both look good and work well. The three-spoke steering (only for the 2.0V) is a really nice thing to hold – perfect thickness, slightly flat bottomed, perforated leather with contrasting stitching and useful buttons. The DISP button on the right spoke toggles the trip meter while the cruise control is on a separate stalk. Personally, I like this layout as I use the trip computer more often than cruise control.

For the Optitron dials, they now sport a white ring with black numbers – looks sportier and is more legible than before. All models get a green ECO light that well, lights up when you’re light on the throttle. You can also call up an ECO meter from the trip computer if the former isn’t enough.

Other things I noted over the few days with the car are the abundance of little storage spaces (both sides of the centre console base, left one has a hook), the illuminated vanity mirrors (not that I used them much :)) and the handy sliding arm rest. I also realised that the controls for the wing mirrors are completely unsighted, blocked by the steering wheel. The seat base (driver gets electric adjustment with lumbar control) could have been longer too, although the leather covers weren’t as slippery as in the Sepang cars. The front parking sensors were quite useful too.

Drive wise, the Altis is a smooth operator with this new drivetrain. The engine is rarely heard in normal everyday driving, which isn’t just because it’s very well insulated, but because it rarely needs to be worked very hard. As usual for a Toyota, there’s good throttle response and lots of usable grunt despite the unspectacular headline figures (147 PS/187 Nm). Getting up to highway speeds from rest and overtaking is really effortless in conjunction with the CVT, which works very quietly.

Toyota Corolla Altis 2.0V – Malaysian Spec Test DriveAs noticed in our first drive in Sepang, this Super CVT-i gearbox is more alike a conventional automatic than any CVT this writer has ever used. I’m betting that many showroom test drivers won’t even know that it’s a stepless gearbox unless told. Ease on the gas as you pull away and you’ll notice a connection between tacho and speedo needles. Give it full throttle and the revs fall a bit after reaching 5,000 rpm or so before climbing again – like an automatic, albeit a sloppy one as the “changes” aren’t that clean.

That quirk was deliberately engineered into Super CVT-i for it to feel “normal” to most users, but if you’re jumping into this Altis from the old one, what’s not normal is the new car’s seemingly resistance free drivetrain; the low NVH levels was something I really grew to appreciate over our few days with the car. It glides off as quietly as you’d like, and the engine ticks at just 2,000 rpm at a 110 km/h cruise.

Toyota Corolla Altis 2.0V – Malaysian Spec Test DriveThe Nissan Sylphy shares many of these smooth and silent qualities, but that car lacks the Altis’ successful auto ‘box mimicking and manual mode; the latter comes in handy when you want more involvement. The steering paddles are larger and have more substantial action than those in the Honda Civic, and the shifts are quick.

The drivetrain is very good, but the Altis’ ride and handling package isn’t quite up to mark, although this shouldn’t be a big issue to its target market. They prefer a a comfort oriented setup, which is good, but while the Corolla is softly sprung, secondary ride comfort over rough roads and bumps could be better. The suspension seems to deflect rather than absorb imperfections, and while it’s never harsh or loud as the rough edges are well taken off, I still felt too much of the road to be truly comfortable. Same goes for rumble strips and highway expansion joints – the Altis hops over them.

The less than perfect ride means that B-road blasts aren’t fluid, and the Toyota rolls a fair bit in tighter corners as well. The steering, while nice to hold and precise, doesn’t provide much feedback either, so while the Altis will oblige when driven hard, you’ll know that it’s not in its element and is not built for hooligans – we don’t predict many occasions where an owner will intentionally test the VSC’s effectiveness.

The Altis is a more mature sort of car, and that’s not a criticism. It majors on refinement and comfort, and delivers on the most part, except for the low speed ride. Toyota also wanted a plush luxurious feel with a dash of sport for their C-segment car, and we think that’s achieved nicely in the cabin.

If there was something that didn’t meet my expectations, it’s the fuel consumption. Driving smoothly with the ECO light on 80% of the time (it goes off in manual mode, by the way), my best efforts yielded 11.2 km/l according to the trip computer, which isn’t terrible, but not great for such a promising combo. Perhaps it could be that factory fresh WUJ 5552 had just 70 km on the odometer when we collected it, and economy would improve with more miles on the clock. Other issues? The fiddly key fob needs strong, deliberate presses to work and the alarm went off too often in a thunderstorm.

That aside, I can imagine the Altis as a satisfying car to own and use, but also a car that I’ll never lust after. A brilliant tool, nothing more. That’s a car’s role for many though, and the Altis’ new-found blend of great refinement and performance plus traditional Toyota qualities makes it stand out in a sea of “sporty” players.

Indicative OTR with insurance prices are RM105,990 for the 1.6E, RM112,990 for the 1.8E, RM122,990 for the 1.8G and RM131,990 for the 2.0V. Click here to view our previous post for more info and images of the Altis. It also contains some old/new side-by-side pics.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1520]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Stop driving your FWD pussy boxes 4-cylinders short of a testicle – go get a proper car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • the only problem i got is the back logo, it has a “dual” “VVTi” ” 2.0″ + “V”
    typical japanese.

• golf only has

gti

• they should add, chairman: akiyo toyoda, grandson of founder of toyota.

can write an essay there

• Uncle Tan on Sep 23, 2010 at 12:19 am

lala,

I warn you, stop comparing the stupid 1.4 Golf with this masterpiece :)

I cant even put my 2 golf bags into the stupid Golf.

• When you say ‘masterpiece’ it depends on what you are referring to…

Engineering/drive train wise you call this masterpiece over GTI? Wow, you’re really superbly advanced!

If you need more room, get the biggest Toyota Hiace 12 seaters masterpiece! :D

• dumb@ss on Sep 24, 2010 at 1:59 pm

Wait 2 weeks to get your DSG box replaced if there’s trouble. Hope you break down going to a golf event..

• Harimau Kayu on Sep 25, 2010 at 11:38 pm

If it was meant to fit 2 golf bags it would be called the VW Golfs instead.

• JDM car on Sep 22, 2010 at 12:22 pm

Poor designed car with 131k price tag, add 10k can get new accord 2,0 wit new designed big spacious, speedomter and dashboard for uncle2 type… Lousyy toyota

• blablabla on Sep 24, 2010 at 5:21 pm

whats so good about accotd ??? it is ugly…camry….= better

• Mas-z on Oct 01, 2010 at 2:05 am

Can agree with you, blablabla. Go test drive an Accord and you see why.

instead i am totally agree with JDM. Accord is a wiser choice than the Altis. It is more powerful (147ps vs 155 ps) , even more powerful than the lousy Altis own brother Camry, prettier, bigger than the Camry, it’s a value buy.
          In my opinion, that dual vvti tech, can’t match the supreme smooth of Vtec.
          Simple reason that i don’t like Camry is because of it’s bloated look. Just look at it’s rear end. Honda has succesfully combined elegant and sporty design in the form of Accord.
          If I decided to buy a Camry, I would definitely opt for these design(sadly not available in our market):
          http://bit.ly/c6EhZy

Just my 10cent. No offend

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • John Doe on Sep 22, 2010 at 4:54 pm

Lol yea, too much mess there.. Do they really need to put those emblem on the boot? It’s ruining the looks of the car.. Oh wait..

it’s already ruined! (ZING..)

• waterman on Sep 22, 2010 at 1:56 am

a better looking altis for young generation…
    overall i like the looks and 7 speed!
    seriously is much much better than the current altis.

seems like toyota malaysia is threaten by their rivals.
    more and more nice car in malaysia nowdays.

• it’s CVT with 7 speed ratio not a normal 7 speed gearbox..

• alldisc on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:11 am

in a CVT, the ratio is like infinity. the ratio is created electronically and therefore known as virtual. we feel there is a ratio but nevertheless it is still a stepless transmission.

• DonkeyKong on Sep 23, 2010 at 1:12 am

The ratio is not infinite. There is a maximum and minimum ratio on a CVT. Only the steps in between are infinitely variable. INFINITELY VARIABLE and INFINITE RATIO are totally different. There is no such thing as an infinite ratio. That would imply nonsense such as we can have an overdrive ratio of 0.0000000001:1 at top gear and do 100km/h at 0.01rpm!!

• What’s so special about it… as if there’s no more such thing in the market? CVT recommended for smaller CC vehicles. This vehicle should come with Twin Clutch.

“CVT 7 speed”… Honda CITY has it 7 years ago!
      Also, what’s so special about the ‘automatic gearbox rpm mimic’? costing more fuel? Maybe this could explain the 11.2KM/L FC?

• oldwira on Sep 22, 2010 at 5:52 pm

yup, even my yamaha nouvo i bought 2 yrs ago got cvt, hehe, nothing to impress… cvt sounds loudly, maybe because of good sound insulator make this altis good in NVH. My verdict 1.5 out of 5.

• DonkeyKong on Sep 23, 2010 at 1:19 am

The mimicking could probably due to LOWER R&D and production costs!

In a normal CVT, the shift map is more complex and requires accurate actuators or stepper motors in conjunction with high-accuracy position sensors to determine the constantly variable position of the CVT belt or power rollers.

What Toyota did was a short cut – fix the actuator or stepper motor to just 7 positions, provide a low-resolution position sensor to detect just those 7 positions instead of a constantly variable sweep (they can even do it with a series of limit switches!) and just use the same sort of shift map as a regular automatic transmission, but extended to 7 ratios.

In other words, they are using a CVT gearbox to allow them to choose ratios easily, but using shift components and shift logic that are carried forward from regular auto gearboxes. In short, COST-CUTTING. 7-speeds without the complex Lepelletier gearsets, and CVT without real CVT operation and control.

Toyota chose the easiest and cheapest characteristics of both solutions to accomplish their goal, and successfully marketed their cost-cutting gimmick as a product feature!

• Cool man. Thanks for your comments. :)

• Japanese Rival on Sep 24, 2010 at 12:45 am

You are the man!! HU

• intermilan on Sep 27, 2010 at 9:30 pm

paultan.org are in desperate need of more comments like this.
          Forummers that really care are shying away coz too many non-sense comments been wrote by too many people.

Having said that, this article writer are just too nice to this Altis.
          Unbelievable journalism. Be brave to write the truth without hitting-the-bush when you criticise it. Hantam saja lah!.. For RM132K OTR with insurance, its much more expensive than at least one (1) D-segment sedan! The Toyota overpricing cycles continues..

• gee… thaz pretty low of you to write this statement about the writer..

• Wow, is that true? Gee… I recall that in another forum one of the editor asked the engineer during the sepang track day.. and the engineer explaint this is done deliberately to provide a similar feel for the majority of driver who are used to the 4AT setting where the Rpm will rev up and down.. but frankly.. if Toyota can gimme the fuel eff of a CVT, the seemless drive plus the ability to allow me to redline the RPM which I want to.. that would be really really appreciated.. but wonder whether this Altis can do this also..

• Dear Dong, You seem to know a lot about Toyota, these are confidential design parameters. Have you opened it to see how it looks like or you got any literature on it??

• wallstreet on Sep 30, 2010 at 4:24 pm

and whats so great about Honda having it on City 7 years ago? CVT was patented since 1886..Honda ditched the CVT for obvious reason we all know. It failed misebly…

• mahal sgt baik beli sonata or accord or senang cerita camry….we dont be stupit buy this car. now days in malaysia alot of this rubbish car 2.0 in the market.. true puki says nothing spectacular at all this corolla.

• Armeng on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:26 am

Yup..Top up 6K and you get better engine, specs, space, look, power bla bla bla bla bla bla of Sonata YF

• But no choice, ppl buying this car may still look at the BADGE…~

• letstorque on Sep 22, 2010 at 5:54 pm

i hate Toyota as a car,but a visit to UMW Service centre was an eye opener,on why people bought Toyota.
          i had experience Honda Malaysia,Tan Chong Nissan,Auto ConneXion Ford,Auto Bavaria BMW,Bermaz Mazda here in Kuantan,I rate UMW Toyota the best service centre.
          i consider as if you bought a Vios but they treat you like a Camry owner.
          At Tan Chong,you bought Xtrail,but they treat you like a Latio owner.Those who service their Tan Chong-imported Murano will be very angry.

• i do agree wif u, toyota service is the best of all i see so far. the salesman will call u n ask u whether u wanna renew ur roadtax when ur raoatax going to due. n their service was efficient, they wont take up ur time too long!

• M6forlive on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:39 pm

i was a toyota user and currently doing my service at Bermaz. no doubt toyota service is no.1

• DiscoStick on Sep 25, 2010 at 12:42 am

and those gung-ho toyota drivers even beautify their emblem with LED… truly disgusting

• Account Man on Sep 22, 2010 at 7:31 pm

sonata? after 5 Years u know langit tinggi or rendah (car value after 5 years)

• Account Man on Sep 22, 2010 at 7:33 pm

sonata? after 5 Years u know langit tinggi or rendah -car value after 5 years-

• New2Korean on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:34 pm

You people buy car only drive for 5 years kah?

• Uncle Tan on Sep 23, 2010 at 12:14 am

Hi Mr New2Korean.

I only drive for 4 years

• if u own a sonata… 5 yrs is the max u should hold it.. after that it depr. even faster.. that just an industry norm for second hand Korean mix..

• I drive KIA spectra Novus for 5 years already, feel very boring already and wanted to upgrade my ride last year, but the depreciation is too much and I had to pay the bank a lot of extra money due too very low 2nd hand price of KIA the dealer want to take.

• Kelvin on Oct 28, 2010 at 8:39 am

malaysia need to drive till die

• dumb@ss on Sep 24, 2010 at 2:03 pm

Are you driving a sonata now? or does your house have the Oval T parked in the driveway?

• Finalist Imam Muda Astro Oasis on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:44 am

Bawak mengucap adik Hafizul. Tak sopan kita main kan nama org lain dengan gelaran2 yg bukan2.

• mohd hafizzul dorifuto on Sep 23, 2010 at 12:27 pm

maaf la weeeei…ambo jd geram sbb dio start dulu, kalu dok gak ambo x start lah

• PutraRocker on Sep 22, 2010 at 1:58 am

nice!

• Tongek on Sep 22, 2010 at 7:42 pm

Nice kepala buto lu. Asal Toyota je semua nice. Buat design macam babi & dugong pun orang Malaysia kata nice. Orang bodoh je yang kata nice.

• PutraRocker on Sep 22, 2010 at 1:59 am

nicE

• Supercars on Sep 22, 2010 at 2:29 am

Thanks for review…I’m thinking to buy a Corrola and don’t know what to do :) and after that safety accident I don’t know if I shoud trust in it…

• cybermaster98 on Sep 22, 2010 at 9:44 am

If that is gonna stop you then best u just stay home. There have been numerous planes crashing but does that stop u from flying?

• Even staying home might kena lightning strike! hahaha!

• Dont buy this car, it sucks Malaysian money. Go get something worthy…

• drMpower on Sep 22, 2010 at 2:43 am

for those yelling mahal or whatever, stuff it urself. remember this is toyota of which gonna sell very very well even after loan finish pay. thats consider very very good already compare to unlimited discounted brands.

all been very good, infact the effort to make altis appealing to younger ones, must be appreciated. however, it still lack the features in class leading civic and attractive mazda3.

at the back, how come the design mimicked very near to the older gen altis? i thought we are going forward, not backwards (even for facelifting practices)

• power on Sep 22, 2010 at 9:30 am

hey, how well can you sell for second hand? 5 years 50%, standard. camry accord all same price la, dream on la high price. Unless u driving entry level vios and city la, those are higher price.

• cybermaster98 on Sep 22, 2010 at 9:47 am

Higher cc cars will always have lower resale value for the simple reason of DEMAND. More ppl can afford Vios and City compared to 2 litre cars like Camry, Accord, etc. But the Japs will always have v good resale values in comparison with other foreign makes. Just for your info, a Vios only loses about 40% value over 7 years.

• Yoona on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:16 am

better not buy car if want to preserve value of money

• cybermaster98 on Sep 22, 2010 at 1:34 pm

The idea of buying cars is to get a reasonable car that fulfils your purpose but at the same timi minimising losses thru lower maintenance and higher resale value. Cars are a losing investment so always minimise losses.

• alldisc on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:34 am

good one, another example is between Camry 2.0 and 2.4, the 2.0 model holds to its value better as there is a lower demand for a used 2.4 car – those buyers can afford to buy new.

• TokSenLa on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:04 pm

Hey don talk cock la. Audi and VW also got good resale value what? Even Mercedes good wat!

Wat talk cock u?

• drMpower on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:15 am

after 5 years, still got 60-50%. thats good already. pay loan finish, image u can sell this one for 50k? phew. thats is big capital for next car what…. thats even better than strangely cheap korean brands. and of course our very own made ones.

or if u compare to government inventory practice, this one is super super super good (gomen practice, per annum the value depreciate 20%. so if like 5 years, it deemed WORTHLESS)

hahahahaha

• But when compare to u buy a 50k car, after 5 year still can sell 30k…. U also finished ur loan + u lost less $$$….

• ini sekolah abis ke tak?

• agree with all bros here. It’s about DEMAND. How many of us will demand for an ALTIS 2005 for example? I don’t think it crosses 80% ppl’s mind…

• Wesley on Sep 22, 2010 at 2:53 am

haha, too pricey for a 2.0 model, prefer slyphy better & cheaper some more… this altis got nothing special to me..

• cybermaster98 on Sep 22, 2010 at 9:48 am

Try owning and servicing a Toyota. Then ull know why its the No 1 selling foreign car in Malaysia. Till then ull just be another 1 of those anti Toyota fans.

• cybermaster,

Really salute you, without fail, always commenting how good toyota is in every topic related to toyota, its services, the resale value, the best etc etc. We got your statement loud and clear already. Yes, toyota is a good car. Thank you.

• Must be a TOYOTA salesman! Or, go apply for that job! Sure will boost this ALTIS sale!

• New2Korean on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:40 pm

And you are just a Toyota Fanboi…

• DiscoStick on Sep 26, 2010 at 12:59 am

But STILL, Toyota pulled out of F1… $$ not enough! they r Providing better services? that’s Japanese philosophy, since they’ve seen all Toyota worshippers supporting them without fail, given their Japanese spirit, they reward their worshippers with good after sales service, and it preserves win win situation for them.

but…

Is the car value for money? brothers sisters, u guys know the answer.
        **our market flocked with dump followers, simple as that (:

• alldisc on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:59 am

if nissan sylphy is sold at 130K, believe me its even worse scenario. no on will buy at all.
      tan chong is selling cheap as a strategy only. same goes to kia and hyundai, which unfortunately i still dont see many kia forte on the road yet, or hyunda’s YF sonata.

• How good is Toyota??? few years ago, I have a Avanza 1.3 & Myvi 1.3, same engine… but service at Toyota cost RM200 ++ & “without semi Syntactic oil” just “Normal oil” with Toyota brand, but at Perodua Service center, Myvi service only RM100 + semi Syntactic Oil….. In The End Sold the Avanza after 3 years…..

• cybermaster98 on Sep 22, 2010 at 1:30 pm

So during service u only change engine oil?? That shows how much u know about servicing cars. Either that or u didnt really own a Toyota in the first place? I have been servicing my Toyota Vios at Toyota for the past 7.5 yrs and a normal service with fully synthetic oil plus all the other normal wear and tear parts e.g spark plugs, gasket, oil filter, etc only costs me about RM293. So how could u say normal engine oil for Toyota costs u RM200+?? All service records for Toyota are available online. If what ure saying is true then post your service invoice here for all to see. I just hate liars!

• Unfortunately, you are the one who is lying.

• cybermaster98 on Sep 22, 2010 at 3:27 pm

i just love catching these liars and those blind supporters who merely change their username and try to back up their claims. Why dont u check out a Vios number plate 4486 which did its service on 23/12/2009 at Toyota Jalan 217 branch? Go find out if the service cost was RM 293 or otherwise. Also check the service details if u can. Then come back here and call me a liar again. HAHA!

• As you can say, “those blind supporters who merely change their username”, why cant you use other’s service history? And I am the owner of this name, dont trust? Ask paul how long I’ve been here.

• New2Korean on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:45 pm

Yes you are still a liar and a born blind one too. what to expect from someone born out of Toyota exhaust pipe!

• peugeot 407 anytime lah brader..

• DonkeyKong on Sep 23, 2010 at 1:38 am

His comment said service WITH and WITHOUT the oil. That means regular service using semi-synth oil, or regular service using synthetic oil. He didn’t say the service involves ONLY the oil change.

How typical of Toyota fanboys.. can’t even read properly and can’t tolerate any criticism of Toyota..

• Just go to any of the service center ask, u can find the answer….. Easy….. is it true…… Bcos of 3 year warranty, must Service at Original Service Center….if not who want to service there….. Vios service RM293? Cheap? U r too rich!!!! Alza service Less than Rm 150 if no mistakes (Just 1st service)….. Just go find out urself at P2 service center….

• cybermaster98 on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:19 am

thgh says:
            22/9/2010 at 8:14 pm
            As you can say, “those blind supporters who merely change their username”, why cant you use other’s service history?
            Even if i was using someone elses service history, how would that effect anything? The model is the same. The service costs are model dependent not owner dependent. All we’re talking about here is the cost of servicing.

Someone claimed it costs 200+ for normal mineral oil which is not true. So whats the harm in pointing out the real facts with proof? A normal service with fully synthetic oil, changing oil filters, gasket, etc costs only RM293. So how could a service with a normal mineral oil cost RM200+? Assuming the wear and tear items are the same, u mean to say the difference between mineral and fully synthetic oil is about RM80 or less only? Commonla!

• cybermaster98 on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:13 pm

kc says:
            23/9/2010 at 7:45 am
            Just go to any of the service center ask, u can find the answer….. Easy….. is it true…… Bcos of 3 year warranty, must Service at Original Service Center….if not who want to service there….. Vios service RM293? Cheap? U r too rich!!!! Alza service Less than Rm 150 if no mistakes (Just 1st service)….. Just go find out urself at P2 service center….
            Who want to service there??? HAHAHA. Have u ever been to Toyota service centres before? Almost 70% of the cars being serviced there are older models. Thats why for Toyota most of the time, u need to book your service at least 1 week in advance.

Yes RM293 is reasonable for the service standards & service warranty u get at Toyota. U said the Alza service costs less than RM150 for your 1st service rite? We are comparing normal servicing after the free service la. How much does it cost after your free service period? Did u use Fully Synthetic oild for your Alza? Surely not since its first service. Plus dont forget, u are comparing local make with a foreign make

• salgoodguy on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:19 am

last time changed for semi syntetic 3liters+win washer – RM20 voucher just costed RM 54 for the total….do maths bro

• alldisc on Sep 23, 2010 at 11:02 am

Toyota Motor Corp Japan has some shares in UMW. PNB has shares in UMW and Perodua. Toyota owned Daihatsu, which has shares in Perodua.

Basically, UMW Toyota and Perodua SC are sister companies.
            No need to argue why perodua charges lower. if they charge high for services, definitely perodua owners will service outside.

UMW attended to 1,000,000 million units Toyota cars in 2009 (service/repair/complaints) – the numbers are self explanatory.

• campro on Sep 22, 2010 at 3:51 am

Nothing special abt 2.0V…take 1.8G or 1.8E is enough…2.0V add some 10k-20k go for camry far better…Civic 2.0 better compare to altis

• alldisc on Sep 22, 2010 at 12:21 pm

but civic is now just too old. its replacement is not far away – must put that in consideration too.

• i like the front, but i dont like the rear, and it is too pricey too, better get a Forte instead of this

• zaff1984 on Sep 22, 2010 at 8:54 am

mmmm…. in term of saving yes, you will save almost Rm30k. but personally i dont think its in same class.

• power on Sep 22, 2010 at 9:31 am

yea, forte still lousy in terms of gearbox. If forte comes with a better gearbox, then, forte is 1 class above this toyoda latis.

• alldisc on Sep 22, 2010 at 12:22 pm

info from naza insiders – forte petrol consumption is higher than similar sized cars.

• Korean car memang kuat minyak..
            Kia/hyundai owner know about this..but what to do, sudah terbeli…

• I don’t think we need NAZA insiders to say that… :P

Imagine those high specs come out with 17″ wheels… definitely jiatlat on pick up and FC…

• nabill on Sep 22, 2010 at 4:48 am

does this CVT needs a regular oil change or its sealed for life ??

its an example of how easy it is to get the suspension setup wrong , it neither rides well , nor handles well ..i wd have prefered to master atleast of of it….

again , the script is almost written ,its gonna sell well , buyers wdnt care less abt handling and all those things in this car , and depreciation will probably be very low , oooh,and ‘that’ badge of course !

• niamafufu on Sep 22, 2010 at 5:46 am

boring~

• WinterAngeLs on Sep 22, 2010 at 5:53 am

I admire the smooth dual vvti engine paired with a CVT tranny. Other than that, there is nothing to shout about.

Overall, its a reasonable upgrade paired with a not so reasonable price tag!

• Maajeedaa on Sep 22, 2010 at 6:44 am

Well, whatever THE NEW aLTIS is…for me at the moment the best product from The Shogun guys in this compact 2.0 class is still the M3 Sport. It’s still the best value for money can buy. Let alone the aftersales value as its already a complete car EITHER BY LOOKS, POWER WISE AND OF COURSE ITS RIDE AND HANDLING for you to have. GO MAZDA!!!!!

• i thought u said bmw m3

• mutings on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:45 am

bless you. thought the person was on about the beemer. confused…

• yeah…
      but I’m envy on this altis engine and gearbox..
      wish it’s in my Mazda3..

as for the rest… you’re right. Mazda3 is much better than this ugly looking so-called NEW altis.

For me, there will be only 2 serious contender in this category.. Civic & Mazda3. For those who are planning to get a car in this category and have a budget of around 135K, I suggest u test drive Mazda3 if you plan to buy now or wait for new Civic or New Focus next year.

• shogun on Sep 22, 2010 at 4:16 pm

m3 sport- mazda 3 sport

• Another old wine in new bottle…yawn…..

• littlefire on Sep 22, 2010 at 8:37 am

I think is new wine in old bottle to tipu ppl to buy at first impression… LOL..

Old wine is better to drink compare to bottle.. :P

Anyway this 7-speed gimic already done by previos gen H. City.. And for those who want to own cars with CVT gearbox. Please remember to buy original CVT gearbox oil from manufacturer as their not same as those Dextron 2,3 or 4 gearbox oil! Change it regulary around 20~30,000 km and should be no problem.. If no gearbox cooler, add 1 for better efficiency.

• REDRIDDLES on Sep 22, 2010 at 7:38 am

altis has its own idea, the car is very well equip..a nice car..but when it comes to compare with other car and money is concerned, some will go for other car like civic or sylphy…some will stay..its your call.
    in performance, hard to beat altis with its dual vvti and 7gears gadget.among all its rivals in that range of prices..

• tianshi on Sep 22, 2010 at 7:41 am

Though expected but still surprised that so many sour grape here who likes to complaint or downgraded toyota but none are able to buy one.

no wonder proton lancer are able to excite so many pple.

• Finerounddclock on Sep 22, 2010 at 9:35 am

Ha ha ha how true!

• so you’re here to share the grapes too? defend it cos you’re driving the entry level vios?

• DonkeyKong on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:01 am

One shop sells roti canai for RM0.50 and another sells the same thing for RM1.00. If I go to the first shop and complain to others that the other shop is overpriced for the same old crap, does that make me a “sour grape”?

• dumb@ss on Sep 24, 2010 at 2:15 pm

Nope. That just makes you unappreciative of the aircond in the first shop and the lalat in the second…

• Nope… if both shop are selling the same stuff but one shop is selling double the price.. and people still buys from the more expensive shop, then the cheap once must have something wrong.. hahaha.. prob something about how they prepar ethe cheap roti canai..

How aboyut another example, u can buy a Rolex from the rolex shop or u can get one from Petaling Street.. which 1 will u buy?

• DonkeyKong on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:02 am

One shop sells roti canai for RM0.50 and another sells the same thing for RM1.00. If I prefer to buy roti canai from the first shop and complain to others that the other shop is overpriced for the same old crap, does that make me a “sour grape”?

• Flannel on Sep 29, 2010 at 2:57 pm

porraaahhh tianshi,

my old evo 7 still cool and steady la:P

• so expensive ..

• its a crap japanesse are getting far too expensive, conti cars are better build and better spec, ford and cheveolet for a change anyone?

• BMW-More Problem on Sep 22, 2010 at 12:46 pm

Agree Jap cars are getting a bit on the high side…but no choice.. they are more reliable and hold better value. Conti cars have better handling and specification but the reliability is questionable and value you can forget it….

So up to individual if they want to play it safe and get a Toyota or walk on the wildside with a conti….. It is your pocket at end of the day.

All cars have pro & cons. Depends on you what is acceptable and what is not…..

For me reliability & resale is number one priorty so all conti cars are out of the question. Of course I will admire some conti cars for their design and and quality but when it comes to putting money down then I need to be sure.

Frankly I have some gripe about the new altis especially the beam suspension.
      This type of setup is more suitable for hatchback and not sedan. I know Toyota wanted to maximise the boot space with this design however the handling is hampered.

So as you can see even I buy an altis it is not perfect… It ticks most of the want lists but not all…. Likewise for civic…. and Lancer and there is good and bad…. it all depends what is acceptable to you….

• wow..new facelift altis got Alza headlamp curve..

• azrai on Sep 22, 2010 at 8:08 am

Only for sporting Uncle Chong car. It still look like an old man car. Wait for the coming Waja Lancer with its nice price tag.

• _xXx_ on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:45 am

If the new Waja a true rebadged Lancer, I am interested. If cumpro-inside again? No, thanks.

• still remember the Proton Juara? It is also a rebadge from Japan… and its worst comment(for those who can actually accept its shape..) is no SPARE PARTS! so like wise this will be the same for Proton lancer..

• DonkeyKong on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:04 am

The Juara had no spare parts because the Mitsubishi Town Box was never sold in Malaysia. With the Lancer already popular in Malaysia, even aftermarket bolt-on performance parts for it are abundant. And you’re saying it will have no spare parts???…

• well… Proton will have to localize its Lancer if it plans to sell it further.. hence u maybe buying a Mit Lancer at the beginning but then later on Protn will loclize those parts… unless u plan to mix and match those ori jap parts with local parts.. no need to look too far back, just look at Nautica from P2, great sales good demand but the government will only allow just so muc of these “fake” Malaysia brand cars on the road..

• azrai on Sep 23, 2010 at 8:11 am

No Campro la..It is 4b10 and 4b11 (also 4b11t) Mivec engine from mitsubishi for those Waja replacement. Aiyoo…No read ma?

• Chung on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:01 am

We will have Waja Lancer? Sure or not?

• *facepalm* are you living in caves? lol

it is confirmed, and Proton even showed some parts of the “Waja Lancer” in TV3 a few weeks ago.

• tyang on Sep 22, 2010 at 8:09 am

Headlamp – nice.
    Taillight – ugly. the old one looks better than this.
    Price – too pricey, better add some more for 2.0E camry. agree with Wesley, opt for slyphy rather than this. wonder how much it would be with bodykit

• Jojo61 on Sep 22, 2010 at 8:12 pm

132k getting a current Vios Steering, OMG

not sporty enuf, at least for me, interior colour, tailight. wood trim design does not fit the word sporty.

• jolly_idiot on Sep 22, 2010 at 8:22 am

nthing to hoo hah. still boring and pricey

• BOYRACER on Sep 22, 2010 at 8:46 am

The last model Honda City have Vtec & 7 speed CVT also.

• cybermaster98 on Sep 22, 2010 at 9:51 am

Read the review properly and ull know the difference. Dont simply assume la.

• evoskylancer on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:40 am

cybermaster98, most if not all of your comments in this thread as a whole are defensive on the Toyota part…either you are a Toyota salesman, or you are a Toyota owner (probably own the pre-facelifted Altis) =)…no?

• cybermaster98 on Sep 22, 2010 at 1:21 pm

Well, im just speaking facts. As ive said many times, Toyota has done many things right but its also gotta buck up with the specs and pricing. Im a fair commenter and no i dont own an Altis and neither am i in sales.

Cheers!

• Jojo61 on Sep 22, 2010 at 8:06 pm

lol, a T salesman will wanna sell you a Camry 2.0E rather this Altis 2.0

1. T mostly dun have so much stocks for new models, especially coming to last Q of the year, bring in so much CBU is not a good decision,
          2. i heard Camry have promotion, for this new model mostly dun have, price different actually not that much after count in the promotion
          3. Comms for Camry should > Altis i think.. ^^

• You’re just another blind badge supporter. Yes, as technology develops, a ‘Super CVT’ does sound and work much better than what’s been introduced in 2003 (to hit the market with the word “7 speed CVT”…

However, It’s still a CVT. All CVT works in a similar technological way.

• BOYRACER on Sep 22, 2010 at 2:38 pm

What is the difference?I was referring to the engine n gearbox.VVTi, VVTi-L, Vtec;
        They work basically with the same principle.The difference is only with the execution.
        Btw they can build 8 or 9 or 10 speeds with the CVT gearbox.
        I just dont understand the big fuss with this engine/gearbox combo.CVT has been around since the 1960s albeit in more crude fashion.

• Mata2 on Sep 22, 2010 at 4:22 pm

Previous City was not Vtec with CVT, it was IDSI with CVT

• Honda Service Engineer on Sep 22, 2010 at 8:24 pm

both previous honda city GD model even i-dsi or vtec is using CVT tranny la bro…

• Need to open your Mata, Mata2. Look carefully for VTEC City that you can only see it’s taillight like, 3 seconds…

• O Yes… I owned one of these City also… the tumb control type CVT.. cool n FUn to have it around..

• It is really good on highway overtaking and being tail-gated challenge… :D

A good little 1.5 economical performance car without any sort of modification! ;)

• This car is dinosour age compared to VW Golf 1.4 tsi…….pay a little extra 15k you get a real icon car.

Looks is still so uncle.

People will still buy because of the brand name and not the car itself.

• Shows how brand power can influence the people… Look at Apple, they don’t even have to push their products, people just come in droves to buy them.

Specs aside, I think Toyota’s build a reputation of building reliable cars and solid after sales service. I have to admit, they are darned reliable.

Can’t say much about VWs since I don’t own one.

• BOYRACER on Sep 22, 2010 at 3:55 pm

Agree with you.Reliable yes.But they have stopped making great driver’s cars like the corolla AE-86, supra & celica.Only Lexus has it with the IS-F & LFA.That is the sad thing with Toyota.

• power on Sep 22, 2010 at 9:33 am

ppl buy altis to prove that they are uncle. and so, you can sell them typical uncle stuff if you see someone driving this car.

If that guy driving a forte, 308THP, Golf GTi, Cruze, you know this kind of driver is not easy to bullshit, they do their homework, and they are smart ;)

let see if this car can outsell forte :)

• cybermaster98 on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:28 am

Eh even the current Altis is selling as well as the Forte despite the Forte being a much newer model. The July statistics for Malaysia, the Forte is not even in the Top 10. Same as the Altis.

• alldisc on Sep 22, 2010 at 12:51 pm

this is one comment from someone who has done his homework and knows what he is writing about. its not about being fanatics but rather no-nonsense facts.

• wowowww on Sep 22, 2010 at 3:21 pm

forte is not a good car to drive actually….drive one n you will know…

• dumb@ss on Sep 24, 2010 at 2:22 pm

I dropped my bid for the Forte. Take it through a bump, and you will know why. Soundsd like my Saga now.
            I’m upgrading, and the Civic, Altis and TSi is in my sights… just surfing around for comments.

I see most ppl banging the Toyota because the can’t afford one… Wonder why they surf the page about something they are not passionate about…. Now that’s “sour grapes”.

• Mata2 on Sep 22, 2010 at 4:40 pm

cybermaster98,

You are really Toyota man, today not many Toyota man la… I never own a Toyota, I am a Honda, Mitsubishi, Mazda and Citroen man. I believe the best all round car (hardware, 3s, reliability and friendliness) in Malaysia is Toyota.

2.0V is about civic 2.0 price range, however 1.8G is the most expensive among its rivals. This design cue will be forgotten in future, too many curvy profiles that remind me the Hyundai coupe 10 years ago.

Toyota corolla was no. one for decade in Singapore but now Hyundai took the position in the last 2 years. The recipe is simple, cheaper, more features, modern design, similar or better safety spec and professional 3S. Hope we have the same standard here in future.

Please bring in the optima fast…

• Philip J. Fry on Sep 22, 2010 at 3:25 pm

Golf GTI is an Altis competitor?

• reader on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:09 pm

Let see local sales reports:(source from motortrader, cant retrieve apr,jun data)
        Jan Feb Mar May Jul
        Civic 839 634 754 661 1043
        Forte 458 568 546 400
        Altis 348 323 686 467 454

Civic is owis ahead of altis, while forte & altis both ‘lebih kurang’ lah
        Data speaks thousand words, even tis may outrage many toyota diehard fans=p

• libralcl on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:02 pm

I believe Forte 2.0 is now in shortages status. If the delivery is smooth this figure will be different.

• alldisc on Sep 23, 2010 at 11:42 am

for those youngsters,

altis sales were way ahead of Civic ES (S5A) from year 2000 to 2005 until Civic FD arrived. it was simply because it is a better car and it was because the Altis was so good in all areas that made Honda to come up with Civic FD, which we must admit is a very good family sedan.

• mr. wiseGuy on Sep 23, 2010 at 1:50 pm

bro..hubpages bkn bley pcaya pn
          now VW is number 1 top selling car around our globe..
          now YOU SHUT UP T BOY

• Agogogo on Sep 22, 2010 at 9:12 am

BORING has a new name

• v5002 on Sep 22, 2010 at 9:13 am

kutuk la apa pon kat toyota…. sale depa tetap baik….
    after sales service pon baik…
    resale value pon baik…..

• v5002 on Sep 22, 2010 at 9:16 am

lagi satu, yang suka mengeji toyota tu… penah pakai ke brand new toyota?
      pakai dulu baru tahu…..!!!

• evoskylancer on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:45 am

bukan mengeji, but we just wanna get the best car for our money…for RM130k, i personally think that honda civic 2.0 is the better car compared to toyota altis 2.0v…why choose a less-better car when you can buy a better car for the same price? just my 2 cents…

• Mata2 on Sep 22, 2010 at 4:43 pm

evoskylancer,

I own a Honda but never own a Toyota. What make the civic 2.0 a better car than altis 2.0V?

• abcde12345 on Sep 22, 2010 at 1:29 pm

my father had used current altis
        service out!!
        about the product?
        nothing to show off
        jz so so only
        interior damn sux!!
        but when i recommend him to test drive the civic
        without thinking he trade in that uncle signature to civic
        altis no free service or free gift as what he said
        when he bought civic he got free service and a lot of free gifts
        he said the acceleration damn good
        cant u see the different
        dont because you r using toyota brand it doesnt mean you have to say that you are driving a good car and brand
        oh plz
        *i’ve driven both altis and civic as well

• cybermaster98 on Sep 22, 2010 at 3:03 pm

Another typical case of someone who has NEVER owned a Toyota. When will they realise that its so obvious based on what they write that they have ZERO experience with Toyota? Why do ppl need to lie i wonder…….

• pkm23 on Sep 22, 2010 at 4:55 pm

civic isnt a comfy ride.. and too many problems. noisy engines, irritating gear change and sound when u shift from P to D. Tough altis is pricey but those people that knows toyota well will definately buy without considering.

• farghmee on Sep 22, 2010 at 5:53 pm

quoting abcde12345:

“my father had used current altis

*i’ve driven both altis and civic as well”

• First time I heard Civic giving out so many free gifts… which outlet he buy from r? when I check out the Civic in the PJ outlet… the Honda salesman is so gungho.. long waiting list now lar don’t expect much discount.. u wan to buy better place booking now if not wait another few more months..

• This Forum about Civic Vs Corrolla? Or T Salesman Vs H Salesman?

• alldisc on Sep 23, 2010 at 11:44 am

your father bought honda civic because of free gifts?? so lame…

• farghmee on Sep 22, 2010 at 5:14 pm

aku rephrase kn:

” lagi satu, yang suka mengeji xxxxx tu… penah pakai ke brand new xxxxx?
        pakai dulu baru tahu…..!!! ”

replace xxxxx with other brand of ur choice. haha

• UGLY car , go for Civic better !!

• Dak's Quack on Sep 22, 2010 at 9:16 am

I’ll prefer the exterior design of Avante 2011 over the facelift Altis. Korean car has improved a lot and their cars’ build are already in par with the Japanese car. And I believe consumer nowadays emphasize a lot on the looks. If it doesn’t looks good, driver doesn’t feels good and they won’t buy. The once used to be younger generation, who like futuristic design has now grown up and with great purchasing power. If Toyota still think that their once used to be popular design will still sells today, they might wakes up one day and realize that they are left in a lurch.

• Yoona on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:25 am

agree, at least now the Japs stepped up in their offering with competition from Korean. look at many other existing models that are still empty…

i’m all for more intense competition, can only do good for consumers.

• cybermaster98 on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:39 am

In Malaysia these are the factors which determine whether a model is successful or not:

1) Interior & exterior design
      2) Specs
      3) After sales service
      4) Build quality
      5) Resale value
      6) Price

Toyota keeps going strong because they are front runners in the build quality, after sales service standards and resale value categories with decent design and specs too although their prices are quite expensive.

For Toyota to be detroned, the Koreans would need to improve their after sales service and lower their pricing much more. Only then can they challenge Toyota. The Forte has done that with its pricing but sadly the after sales service leaves much to be desired. But im hoping the upcoming Hyundai Avante will be priced better compared to what they did with the Sonata.

Hopefully with all this competition we’ll get to see some great cars which are more affordable.

• reader on Sep 22, 2010 at 4:26 pm

ya, very strong brand till Altis sales every month is outnumbered by Civic

• cybermaster98 on Sep 22, 2010 at 4:31 pm

Altis is a model not a brand. Silly. U either compare brands or models. Make up your mind.

• reader on Sep 22, 2010 at 4:41 pm

comparing altis with civic is comparing model with brand? wat a joke

• cybermaster98 on Sep 23, 2010 at 9:35 am

U dont get what im trying to say? Let me spell it out to you. U said ‘Very strong brand till Altis sales every month is outnumbered by Civic’.

Why associate brand with just 1 model? What about the sales of Vios and Camry against the City and Accord?

U either compare brand with brand or model with model. Brand wise Toyota is way up there compared to Civic. Model wise the Altis is far behind in its sales comapred to the Civic. Nothing about brand power. Its the model which ppl dont like in this case.

Got it?

• I dont think Toyota’s quality are really up to standard , had before an Altis and Vios… the build quality is rubbish… big gaps found most of the part.. water even enters headlamp and tail lamp… CONCLUSION I drive Honda now !!

• cybermaster98 on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:21 pm

What a silly conclusion. HAHA. What gaps u talking about? Show us some pics la. Or tell us the exact location of those gaps? We can discuss it here. Did u bring up those ‘serious’ issues with Toyota? If so which service centre? Just another case of someone who never owned a Toyota but trying to condemn it by making up fairy tale issues.

Anyway, ive seen water in the headlamps of BMW’s and Mercs too. Does it mean we should assume their build quality is crap too?

• How am i gonna show it to you if I had already sold both of the car. Those gaps you could find it at the boot area, rear C pillar, under seat, and you will know it when you own a car. Complain before, but they just neglect. I will not point out which service center but and i will not give a damn point to it as i am not driving one now either. By the way, I owned 4 Toyota cars in the past, well to frankly tell the truth, Toyota cars are well ” you get the car, that’s it seat and drive, drive and seat ” you’ll never be joyful of driving it. When i owned a Honda this year, it changes !! It makes you want to drive more as oppose to Toyota ( feel bland ).. I got no comment on European manufacture, but from what I see Merc and BMW had never rivaled Audi in terms of their build quality.

• cybermaster98 on Sep 23, 2010 at 3:58 pm

Just for your info, in the JD Power Vehicle Dependability Survey 2010 which ranks car makes according to the number of problems, Toyota was ranked 6th as compared to Merc (9th), BMW (18th) and Audi (27th). It may not be a 100% accurate survey but im sure it must mean something.

Ive had my Toyota for 7.5 years and ive not seen any ‘gaps’.

• samkhairul on Sep 22, 2010 at 9:20 am

luckily i get myself civic 1.8 S-L..huu

• alldisc on Sep 22, 2010 at 1:04 pm

and in a year’s time, this car would be consider obsolete. one reason people buy new cars is because they dont want to get left behind with the rest but want to keep up-to-date.

• Better to get golf 1.4 TSI than this 2.0v..monthly installment not much different..

• cybermaster98 on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:41 am

Of course la monthly installment not that different. Its totally different category la.

• BMW-More Problem on Sep 22, 2010 at 12:50 pm

eeeer… when you sell you will cry…..that is the difference.

• Philip J. Fry on Sep 22, 2010 at 3:30 pm

Can’t really tell yet, since the 1.4 TSI is new to the market. The GTI holds its value pretty well, but can’t really use that to judge the TSI.

• when u are old, you will cry too.

you will cry because you only live once, and you settle for boring regular stuff.

You only live once, so try conti cars.

If you are successful, i’ll bet u wan a conti car. So now is the time to buy one.

Stop thinking about time to sell the car, or the time your children growup( send you to old folks home) and or the time you will go to heaven.

Enjoy now. Live hard, die young(young in heart, not age) !!!

• TokSenLa on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:19 pm

VW resale value better than Toyota la. Wat talk u?

• alldisc on Sep 22, 2010 at 1:07 pm

golf is so much better, provided one doesnt mind about hatchback looks in malays’a all important sedan owner image.

the golf has its upper hand with its lower fuel consumption, higher engine output while low on exhaust emissions. cabin space is not much differ except for width where altis excels (even wider than civic by 30mm). plus, not to forget the fabulous 7 speed DSG.

and 2+3 extended warranty with unlimited mileage!

• Mata2 on Sep 22, 2010 at 4:51 pm

…tiny boot, cramp occupant space, where to service here in Johor ha?. Golf is good for ppl with not more than 2 kids. I have 3 kids, accord pun dia orang kata sempit, so now tangkap MPV, baru diam sepanjang perjalanan.

• neppy on Sep 22, 2010 at 7:06 pm

hahha btol tu , kalau bwk anak kecik 2 orang boleh la pakai golf hatchback , budak2 skrg rata-rata lagi besar dari generasi dulu. nak pakai utk jarak dekat boleh la sempit-sempit kalau jauh buat seksa je 5-6 jam berhimpit kat belakang , tu belum kira kalau kena peluk brg sbb boot kecik hahaha

baik tangkap exora puas hati, lebar, boleh angkut brg lagi, even utk pegi ofis pun boleh….1.6 la katakan , jimat pun jimat tak sampai 100k pn, duit lebih bole invest , hahaha

nak make up takde masalah , belambak skirting ader, nak mcm mana pun bole, nak gaya VIP, sporty, nak nampak mcm oem pu bole, rim 5 nut belasah je byk pilihan pe dr 4 nut

ride n handling toksah citer pun tau, lagendary LOTUS tuuuu, haha even merc dan bmw pun tak bole lawan la haha , pu them to shame

go go protonn!!!!

• Quad V on Sep 22, 2010 at 9:25 am

dual clutch better than torque converter better than CVT. CVT most terrible to maintained. CVT better replace than repair it.

• sounds like all CVT car owners gonna throw their cars away after seeing this~!

But, is that so? Yes. It takes extra care for CVT, just like how you would care for a turbo charger that kind. However, the pay off of FC and acceleration is good if not better.

Of course, Twin clutch shall be the next standard automatic gearboxes… :)

• Mata2 on Sep 22, 2010 at 4:57 pm

@ss,

I agree with you. New technology is not simply designed for fun. It should have gone through proper reliability tests and fine tuning before introducing to mass market. You guys should try drive sylpy (and enjoy the generous space).

• linear_system on Sep 22, 2010 at 9:26 am

thermometer tailight??

• This Corolla Altis 1.6/1.8/2.0cc car is still okay and way better if compared to the local’s camtakpro 1.6cc. Some more, 7 speeder with CVT gear box. This is the generation Y era, where people are going for environmentally friendly product, lesser carbon emission and value for money products and above all, fuel efficiency!

• This is enough? How about Volkswagen’s? Seen it before? 1.4 TSI, 7 speed DSG? Produce much more torque and power than this old and rusty engine!

• zaff1984 on Sep 22, 2010 at 9:27 am

**dreaming** if P2 rebadge this car… ehehe… :)

• theanswer on Sep 22, 2010 at 9:32 am

dont forget that we got lancer 2.0gt that only cost 125k!

• Better ambik Sonata baru RM130k++, 2.0, 166ps, 199Nm.

• calvin_ng on Sep 22, 2010 at 9:41 am

CVT Gearbox…. when Honda learn that CVT is very expensive to maintain in Malaysia (Driving condition) and here comes toyota with CVT beware Gearbox may cost RM25K!!!

• BMW-More Problem on Sep 22, 2010 at 12:53 pm

Bro… to different manufacture….Just like auto gearbox… Toyota auto is much smoother than Honda autobox….

• sounds like a torque converted box won’t fail? manual gearbox fails as well!

Just that like some said, it’s still NEW (less than 10 years) in M’sia and ppl doesn’t really know how to maintain/repair it that’s why it is expensive.

Anyway, Dry twin clutch auto should prevail for coming years…

• alldisc on Sep 22, 2010 at 1:10 pm

this was because of reliabiltiy issues with Honda’s CVT. they ditched it for conventional auto tranny (torque converter type).

toyota’s CVT is new in malaysia but not in japan. toyota has well-developed this tranny to withstand pre-mature damage – this should lasts well.

• bryan.jones on Sep 22, 2010 at 9:44 am

still ugly.

• Mancini on Sep 22, 2010 at 9:45 am

it doesnt impress me much. boring boring and old.

wake up toyota

• alldisc on Sep 22, 2010 at 1:13 pm

they dont need to wake-up. toyota is depending on vios and camry as their bread and butter.

this altis serves only as alternative to other makes. just like what perodua is doing with nautica and honda with freed. to umw, its better to have this in their showroom line-up rather than not.

• Curious on Sep 22, 2010 at 9:52 am

noting impressive, toyota cars do not give me that king of Umphh feeling anymore

• keluangman on Sep 22, 2010 at 9:53 am

yawn! Waja lancer cheaper, better looking and more exciting to drive.

• Chief on Sep 22, 2010 at 9:54 am

Toyota doesn’t care what u all saying here..haha

• klguy on Sep 22, 2010 at 9:55 am

the 1994 SEG is still the best corolla designed ever. driven the current altis…took a sharp corner and my fren at the back seat flew from left to right.

• alldisc on Sep 22, 2010 at 1:15 pm

thats because he was not wearing seatbelt.. ha ha

or could it be because of leather upholstery? i am thinking maybe you make a sudden turn that your freind was caught unaware.

• klguy on Sep 22, 2010 at 4:41 pm

haha, yes he was not wearing seat belt. i took the corner at ard 40-50kmh. dunno which to blame…the car too high or the rear suspension.

• even F1 car, if you take sudden turn, the rear passenger will move. that is physic.

wait, F1 car doesnt have any rear seat. lol.

Wat car that u make sudden turn, the rear passenger will not feel a thing? not even bicycle. maybe a dead man wont move la.

• kelvin on Sep 22, 2010 at 9:58 am

the price is so near to the next bigger segment car like camry and accord with another 15k, must as well get the bigger one right?

• Uncle car for uncle.
    Uncle car designed by uncle toyota.

only ah pek and mak cik will buy this uncle-ish car.

If 2nd value is d only thing u think everytime buy a car, then forever u drive a toyota or honda la uncle. Uncle, u must be open minded. all car depreciate. So many ppl buy crap-vios even tho interior sux like hell compared to city. oh yea… i can hear uncle vios is angry now. Can’t swallow the truth ? then pls go to toyota.com or uncletoyota.com

All uncle and makcik pls speak up to defend this uncle car ! haha…
    So fun to watch uncle and makcik shouting when kena attack..

rgds,
    uncle open-to-all-car

• cybermaster98 on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:49 am

Im sure u dont own a Toyota or any other car of a decent make. For your info ppl buy Toyota for these reasons:

1) Reliability
      2) Excellent after sales service standards
      3) Excellent resale value

Yes the specs and the pricing for Toyota’s are not as good as i would expect but Toyota has built an image for themselves for these 3 reasons alone. None of the Korean makes have these 3 qualities. But in saying this, many other brands especially the Koreans are catching up. Im sure the upcoming models from Toyota especially the 2011 Camry will be a class above. They cant afford to sit back and depend on these 3 factors alone to drive their sales.

• hi uncle cybermaster, firstly i do have a japan make car in my stable so u can shut ur mouth. U think u r god ah to know what car i have. . . goodness me this uncle. . .

on the 3 points u give, thats the typical thing that many uncle will say to defend toyota. for something that depreciate, u can use the word “excellent resale”. hebat la u uncle. where u study ah ? must burn the uni/college down. Are u regular at failblog.com ?

But when u say korean is catching up, i agree with u. They are and toyota must not just rely on boring design or “play-safe” design. Must be more creative.

• BMW-More Problem on Sep 22, 2010 at 12:56 pm

no need to call ppl names hear…..he is just stating his opinion…

• alldisc on Sep 22, 2010 at 1:17 pm

it is unfortunate that drv is looking down on uncles, forgetting the fact that his father is also uncle, his uncles are all uncle and he himself will become uncle one day.

or will he die first before becoming one?

• TokSenLa on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:30 pm

In life sometimes you got to enjoy, not just worry about resale value or depreciation. You cant take that to your grave!

You need to enjoy driving for what it is … that one money cannot buy!

• rotul on Sep 23, 2010 at 11:28 am

agree with u..

• cybermaster98 on Sep 22, 2010 at 2:34 pm

Drv is your typical case of a guy who hasnt got alot in life. He claims to have a Jap car in his house but if it were a good brand like a Toyota or a Honda and a newer model he would have surely mentioned it. The fact that he didnt proves that he probably does not have a good branded jap car in his house for sure. Maybe a local brand.

Plus only a fool will not understand the term ‘excellent resale value’. Everybody in the automotive industry and even layppl know that resale values are always taken in comparison with other brands. Its not a stand-alone value. Plus its also common knowledge that your car value has already depreciated the moment it leaves the showroom.

Sadly he still chooses to debate this like a small child. Let him be. lets have mature discussions and ignore these kids screaming for attention.

• pls do not defend toyota here.

This is a forum, toyota already number 1 in non-national car sales. What more do you wan?

unless you are a toyota salesman( but hey, you make enough money with VIOS, so go away)

• i have to agree that vios interior sux…but i think that the city interior also sux like hell. look damn cheapskate and low quality…design also terrible.

• uncle alex, i think u need better eye-glasses. if both are bad, then a neutral person would tell u vios interior is worse than city. unless again, like i say. u cannot accept the fact. just like alot of uncle out there. close minded and cannot take facts.

just like lancer owner that cannot accept the interior is lousy with very cheapo plastics. Lowest point for a CBU car. go watch driven.com.my. sorry to all uncle lancer btw. haha

• hey young man, i’m not saying vios is better, just that to me both also equally that bad in terms of interior especially the dashboard area. exterior wise i still think city is the best.

btw, i’m not yet an uncle…haha :P

• pkm23 on Sep 22, 2010 at 4:58 pm

interior for new city way too bad. interior design doesnt match and the engine too noisy. too disappointed to be the owner.

• Someone on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:16 am

Uncle/auntie the only words u know?

Come on, get a life. Let people decide what they want to buy, never mind how good it is. They have the money, so why can’t they choose?

And FYI, I am NOT an uncle ;)

• when there is uncle car being review here, then i have to use d word uncle/auntie lor. . .
        btw, everyone is entitle to their own opinion. I never say who can or cannot buy anything. go read again my post uncle. opss..

u not uncle ? sure boh.. haha
        looks like one, sounds like one but not uncle ?

• alldisc on Sep 22, 2010 at 1:19 pm

is thats the case then it is sad you are not as wise as Paul Tan, or Danny. i pity you.

Paul Tan never described a specific car as being uncle-ish. you want to be sarcastic, go read Jeremy Clarkson’s satire.

• Mata2 on Sep 22, 2010 at 5:11 pm

hei guys, how do we know that we are uncle already?

• Guest on Sep 22, 2010 at 12:51 pm

Drv,
      Just out of curiuosity, what car do you drive?

• alldisc on Sep 22, 2010 at 1:21 pm

yeah, i wonder too… could it be a 1996 Nissan Cefiro 2.0? what the hell, he can bullshit us easily.

sorry drv, now i am not interested to know. a bull is full of bullshit.

• cybermaster98 on Sep 22, 2010 at 2:37 pm

Do u need to ask him to know? Isnt it obvious that he doesnt drive anything that’s worth commenting on? Typical guy without much in life. What a pity. lol

• i dont even care what car u drive dude. why need to ask. I’m giving my opinion on this altis. unless u got nothing else to defend this uncle altis ? and wanna start other topic ah ? Dont start your uncle tactic here…

i think ppl that WILL only buy toyota/honda and live & die with these 2 brand is the one without life… i got more life than u can imagine.

just read other comments la uncle. more ppl are saying the design is boring. u r fighting with majority. its a tsunami hitting u in da FACE uncle…

• I feel compact car pricing in malaysia is way overpriced compared to big entry level large sedans like accord and camry. i feel if you are forking out 130k for a compact like altis or civic might as well add about 10k more to get accord or camry 2.0 which you will appreciate more and dont feel robbed. I bought an altis in 2004 and sold it in 2008 to buy the accord. i felt the altis was not worth the money and the accord value for money. i guess car manufacturer know that malaysians will buy civic and accord by the busload without giving much thought to bigger car that is close to the pricing. just take the top spec altis on plus or any highway, then take the camry or accord, then you will know. the comfort and handling is miles apart. toyota likes to fix all this fancy features and gadget to get points in review and to convince customers. to me at the end of the day is how the car feels when you drive under many conditions, low speed, high speed, under load, etc.

• JonLing on Sep 24, 2010 at 8:51 am

there are still many people out there who want their cars to be “fully packed” instead of “kosong” , so for them choosing top spec or near top spec of some smaller cars is more reasonable than buying a basic spec bigger cars. Those basic spec bigger cars can be really “kosong” sometimes…….and that’s how the distributors are making money. Different spec cars for different people.

• As mentioned by someone else here, many previous gen city owners has troubles with their CVT ‘boxes (according to online forums). So how does this CVT box from Toyota measure up in terms maintenance, life span, etc.? Same thing for dual VVTi engine; how does it differ in terms of maintenance cost, service window compared to the previous engine with single VVTi?
    Another thing, is this an entirely new model or facelift? Seriously the window shoulder line looks the same.
    Boring to drive or not, Toyotas offer rock solid reliability and second hand value. Sensible guys and ladies will pick up this car.

• squall_shinoda on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:06 am

Not so impressive compared to Civic… and selling the 2.0 Altis will probably kill the sales of Camry 2.0. And, one more thing… using a CVT gearbox? I think those who have experienced the nightmares of owning the old City will surely avoid this car… why? The CVT gearbox is expensive to maintain, and the gearbox itself is expensive. After a certain mileage you’ll need to change the belt, or else your car will end up at the side of the road, waiting for mechanics to make money. Looks like Toyota doesn’t want to learn the bitter lesson that Honda had experienced before.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:28 am

I feel that it’s a little unfair to pre-judge Toyota’s CVT based on the performance/reliability of a rival’s product. Just because Honda “failed” in its CVT experiment doesn’t mean that CVT is a dead technology.

• wazza on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:57 am

honda cvt does not fail. it only happen for the first batch of city where they put wrong gearbox oil. and of course, cvt gearbox from honda is not mean for abuse use.

im not sure how is cvt tech from toyota, as honda cvt is totally different than toyota cvt, and nissan cvt =)

im owning city cvt and nissan x-cvvt, i can see the different between these two gb. afterall, i would put more thumbup for honda cvt gb =]

• BeemerFreak on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:11 am

I agree fully with Danny, has Nissan reported any problem with the Sylphy? Honda rushed a technology that hasnt been perfected into production, they called it wrong and deserved to pay for their error.

Toyota has a long history in making cvt gearboxes, ever since the 1st prius appeared. So dont judge a book by its cover, think before commenting.

• Jeff Choo on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:08 am

11.2L/100km when driving in Eco mode?

Wow. Even in my Evo X MR when driving in an ‘economical’ manner with occasional bursts, I average better than that.

• alldisc on Sep 22, 2010 at 1:24 pm

there are 2 mileage readings when it comes to FC if not mistaken. one is current that alters according to your paddle input. another is average reading that calculates all hard driving plus city drives and even stationary into account.

• Beh tahan on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:13 am

Can’t see anything great about this car. Price is definitely on the wrong side. More than RM130K for a vehicle with such common features. The only + point is the brand name.Nothing spectacular about it. With RM130K, I might as well get a Sonata YF (which is a D-segment car although the brand name is nothing to shout of).

Want a quiet and comfortable car, might as well get a Sylphy which is RM20K cheaper. If sportiness is what you are after, a much better bet is the Civic. So, the Altis is neither here nor there. I think the product planner is a confused person. But I don’t think the public is as confused as the planner. So, Toyota pls think about your product positioning.

• nighttrain on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:46 am

T hasomehow achieved cult status here.. no matter how ugly or useless (top of the range doesn’t even have dashboard touchscreen), they will still buy..

• Hondaman on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:22 am

come on lah Toyota…we don’t want uncle look, we want fresh sporty look like civic, forte, avante2011….
    this one still look the same as my previous 2002 altis…

• Razor on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:42 am

thats due to limited supply of forte la boss!

• Peter on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:48 am

Still to expensive compare to Korean car.

• cybermaster98 on Sep 22, 2010 at 1:16 pm

What’s the price of reliability, excellent after sales service and excellent resale value then?? Just cuz its not in the official price list doesnt mean its not important.

• deuter on Sep 22, 2010 at 4:37 pm

Too expensive in term of price tag or too expensive in term of full cycle of ownership (purchase –> drive –> maintainance –> sold off)? Actually when we buy car, we should look at the full equation, not just the element in the equation. The upfront price tag is just part of the equation.

• oomph on Sep 22, 2010 at 7:32 pm

(purchase –> drive –> maintainance –> sold off) –> loooking at just this factors only, you might as well get a Viva or Proton Saga. they do the job excellently. without fun and comfort of course.

• Wow, a lot of sour grapes……

• blackjkx on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:57 am

What a shame for toyota with this product

• fifteen on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:02 am

Toyota, the purveyor of green motoring; always pushing the red-herring with the Prius, is now selling to the third world region a 2-litre compact sedan? What is it on to when the rest is downsizing. I’ll take a 1.4-litre, twin-charged Golf any day. Thank you very much.

• This looks worse than the Vios IMHO

• Kow Kow Chan on Sep 24, 2010 at 6:43 pm

Sure bo , still got car looks more worse than a Dugong Vios…….

• i will take Civic or M3 or Sylphy anytime over this crap blood sucker altis.

• nighttrain on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:37 am

At a glance, one wouldn’t know that it’s a new Corolla. To me, it ain’t ‘new” per say, just a facelift. Just sad…

• ex-ToyotaOwner on Sep 22, 2010 at 12:08 pm

what’s even sadder is that a lot of uncles (or young men who behave like uncle) still buy this car!

wake up uncles! jap auto-makers are taking us for a ride!

• Uncle Tan on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:31 pm

Yes I am an Uncle driving a Toyota but still going out with a handful of < 25 years old hot chics. They just like me this old uncle which i dont know why…..How about you ex-ToyotaOwner ?

• ex-ToyotaOwner on Oct 07, 2010 at 6:57 pm

Since i ditched my lame toyota i’ve been going out with your 18 year old daughter. lol dork.

• ex-ToyotaOwner on Oct 07, 2010 at 7:02 pm

haha look, 6 ‘uncles’ voted thumbs-down for my remark!
        denial is such a sad thing. at least the camry looks nice… upgrade la uncles ;-)

• Kow Kow Chan on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:47 am

Tiu nah seng , what so great about the high price low spec Altis , some more only 147ps .

The old cacat looking Honda City(flower horn fish) oledi using the problematic 7 speeds CVT lah…….

• alldisc on Sep 22, 2010 at 1:29 pm

in what way u r saying its lowspec?

honda’s city CVT and toyota’s are totally different products.

engine max horsepower does not necessarily mean good. it is how the power is delivered across its rev band, at what rpm peak torque is reached and what is the torque curve like, what is the transmisison type. come on man, u expect 150ps is better than 147ps?? if you are playing trump cards, of course you win but in reality 147ps and 150ps has not much difference in terms of performance.

• Mata2 on Sep 22, 2010 at 5:25 pm

Alldisc, you are correct. One of the day I was trailing a Waja at NSHW, speedometer was 195kph, couldn’t overtake and gave up although I have much better hp. I was driving 2.0 ivtec accord. damn weak 4th gear…

• Kow Kow Chan on Sep 23, 2010 at 12:13 am

Of course , with the crazy price of Rm130++k price for a 2 liters C segment car , Toyota will have to be more generous on the car’s spec but yet why only 2 airbags , torsion beam , wet battery …etc..etc…

Do you know Forte 2.0 with a price tag of only RM93++k oledi give u 6 airbags + almost every features that you can find in the premium Altis 2.0 . Go and see for yourself what specs you get in a RM80K++ Vios or a RM105K++ Altis 1.6 or RM122K++ Altis 1.8 . All Jap cars are actually high price but cheap skate (low spec) .

Civic 2.0 = 155ps
        Forte 2.0 = 156ps
        Sonata(i45) 2.0 = 163ps
        Altis 2.0 = 147ps

Dun tell me , there is no power difference , especially the latest Korean engines have superior power across all rev band and a smooth torque curve ……..

• alldisc on Sep 23, 2010 at 3:35 pm

original CD = RM40.

imitation CD – u want to sell same price is it? where’s the attraction?? sell cheaper lah.

Naza will not sell Forte at Altis price level becase they know to target for different kind of people with less budget.

there is no difference between altis 147hp and civic 155hp, except on paper only.
          an engine is evaluated not only for its max power output alone but other characteristic as well like
          a) max torque
          b) torque curve
          c) efficiency (heat loss, friction etc)
          d) exhaust emission
          e) NVH (when mounted on a car)

• Kow Kow Chan on Sep 24, 2010 at 10:05 am

Korean are NO imitation car/cd . Not like most Jap cars over here , keta cakap is Japan but parts semu pakai imitation . Jap car owners are so kau funny got money to buy non national car but yet so kau worry to buy petrol , genuine parts and as well as resale value ….

147ps Vs 155ps ,to sub average driver (Ah Pek/granny) like you ,of course no difference lah .

I got hugh doubt that the 147ps altis can outrun the 155ps Civic on the following figures which I obtained from the Singapore Torque Mag :
            – 0-100km/h = 9.2 secs
            – top speed = 209km/h

– fuel combined cycle = 12.5 km/h

Anyway , I do have the figures for the slightly heavier 4AT dual VVTI 2.0 Wish for comparison :
            – 0-100km/h = 11 sec
            – top speed = 180km/h
            – fuel combined cycle = 12.2 km/h

• Kow Kow Chan on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:54 am

Spend Rm130k just for the sake of the stupid T* logo and hope for a good resale value , this is betul betul idiot……..

• Yup..they actually spend for the 6-months bonus of the UMW staffs…

• Jimmy on Sep 22, 2010 at 12:00 pm

Many people still think that low-tech Toyota is durable and easier to maintain and low spare part cost. All those electronics if rosak will cause you a lot of money, in their mind, worst still it can cause accident. That why conservative people don’t like Honda.
    But I think this time this one is definitely a positive move from Toyota, and this is not a Hilux to be vigorously used.

• pultat on Sep 22, 2010 at 12:01 pm

Does not look any different than the past incarnations of Altis…with that price for the 2.0, you might as well add another 3k and get the fully imported Mazda3…

Same ol’ uncle car…

• AltisOwner on Sep 22, 2010 at 12:17 pm

I am driving a 2002 Altis 1.8… so far still happy with it save that it lacks a bit of punch on the highway (engine strain and running a 3.5k rpm at 130kmph). Will test drive the 2.0 to see whether it is any good (including quietness of suspension). The 2k rpm at 110kmph looks good.

Price wise looks a bit pricey. When the launch a new Camry 2.0, it had better be more than the 10+K premium, else, might as well top up and get a Camry 2.0 with dual VVTI and maybe a 6speed gearbox (none CVT). (WISHLIST).

• blacky on Sep 22, 2010 at 12:22 pm

same situation happening in newspaper…..rob, rape, accident, economy sux, school fight…bully…politics oso….bla bla bla…..all bad news… jus read the review will do…u may ignore those not so professional comments…

• budleee on Sep 22, 2010 at 12:38 pm

lol..

a CVT mimicking a normal autobox…

how funny, yet, its something I would like to have..

• Mata2 on Sep 22, 2010 at 5:35 pm

Take a good read at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Continuously_variable_transmission

small tractor uses cvt, generator in 1950s used cvt, we had cvt in a car in 1970s. cvt is not a new toy…

• Altis Owner on Sep 22, 2010 at 12:47 pm

I owned a previous 2009 1.8e altis, i bought the altis 1.8e sporty with 1.8e price. I manage to get discount of RM2000 rebate, RM800 merit voucher, RM500 eservice voucher and Free Bodykit with a discount of almost RM5000+-. Actually i feel that the old altis is much sportier than the new altis, the front looks ok quite nice but the back of the car really look ugly compare to the old altis, maybe its because of the mixture of white and red plastic which make it look ugly. Personally i feel that the old vvti engine already got enough power and its smooth enough, but i doubt the realibity of the new CVT gearbox. How much will be the maintenance cost of the new engine and new gear box. Toyota claim that with the new engine and gear box the fuel consumption will go down as much as 15%. How true is it ? Is the new altis fuel consumption lower then the old altis, i guess it much be lower but not much difference in the end. If compare with the price i bought with the new price Toyota offer, its a price difference of almost RM10000 which is quite a lot which make me feel whether really worth it or not to purchase this new altis when the old one already good enough. For the interior i feel that the steering look the same as those in vios which doesnt match the interior of the car, the new steering give a cheap look to the car, i prefer the old steering which you can find it at Toyota Estima or Toyota Camry, but this kind of new steering you can find it at Vios. Anyhow different person got different view of this car and i never regret that i purchase an previous generation altis. The previous altis is good enough and the price difference of RM10000 will be the difference in choosing between this new and previous generation altis.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Sep 22, 2010 at 1:02 pm

By the way, this three-spoke steering design is only for the 2.0V. All other models get a four-spoke item as before. The 1.8G gets wood inserts as well.

• you are here to tell your grandma story becos you feel you are cheated by those huge discount, cos this new altis is better than your old altis.

You can only feel better by telling, old altis is better than new altis, and it got huge discount.

:) for that money you can buy 308Turbo. but, well, you’re uncle, so you dont have a choice. lol.lol.lol

• scgtimk1 on Sep 22, 2010 at 5:09 pm

The Pug 308 Turbo rear seat is damn cramp. My family cannot fit 3 person comfortablyat the back.

The Altis has a LOT better shoulder room hence the higher price.

• but the pug 308 turbo got better leg room than altis and rear aircon vents and is alot cheaper than ugly altis.

don’t forget it is a conti car and still 20k cheaper than this crap altis.

heck even 407 is cheaper than altis.

• Man, different ppl different taste. There are ppl eating RM19.90 nasi lemak, with 10% service tax 5% GST with great service… and there are a lot of us eating RM2 ‘bungkus’ nasi lemak, still happily enjoy!

Nobody is getting better food that the other. So long as it doesn’t poison us! The same applies to cars!

• libralcl on Sep 22, 2010 at 1:47 pm

Hey check out the Hyundai Sonata with same price!

• deuter on Sep 22, 2010 at 4:45 pm

Most hyundai owners will become hyundai owner once in their life. my uncle owned a hyndai sonata before, the period of ownership was quite a nightmare. The major issue was engine turned off by itself at traffic light and the technical support was bad, none of the service centers could find out why. until he wrote a letter to big shot from hyundai management only he got his engine replaced. if you are a toyota owner once, you will be easily a toyota man for the rest of your life.

• neutralization on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:25 pm

I agree with you on the Sonata ownership…….nightmares !!!

• salgoodguy on Sep 23, 2010 at 7:46 am

totally agreed, i believed at the end of circle i need car that better reliable…no matter wat brand, yes cvt box not for high speed , for today .. theres no more proud to be fastest car on the road even car manufecture stop making it..why? i got a car thats costed me 35 bucks a week for daily used ( 40km) erm..imagine if i can cut for 15%…don waste money for gas

• cybermaster98 on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:09 pm

Damn right Deuter! Ive asked the same question before: How many Hyundai / Kia owners are repeat owners? How many Toyota owners actually move to another Jap / Korean brand? Im sure there are those who actually do but the percentages could be very different.

• ex-ToyotaOwner on Oct 11, 2010 at 11:12 am

not THIS GUY! -> http://avanzamalaysia.com/topic/194769/1/

btw that guy’s not me haha… i just got sick of toyota’s uncle look

• toyota is good at marketing. the way they position this car is like a sports car with fuel economy. what a joke! to me toyota is for uncles and house wives….. who want to get from point a to b. it takes the trill out of driving….civic drives well but it has its problems, even altis has that. i regreted buying the altis in 2004 and now i am happy with my accord which comes with its sports DNA. i feel toyota owner are the bunch who wants a reliable transport, thats it.. all the fancy buttons, traction control (this is the ultimate joke, its not real-time) and wooden steering is secondary, even the wood (plastic) is nowhere near jaguar quality and worse, suspension type is same as in perodua myvi. in overseas these cars are like proton but since we pay premium people, think it is premium. i feel for the price, peugeot 308 turbo is a better buy.

• 308 turbo for man, who put driving above resale value, and reliability, just like BMW,Mercedes,Ferrari.

^^

• E Bear on Sep 22, 2010 at 2:00 pm

The 1.8 looks like a more logical buy….the 2.0….no apparent advantage except for that bit more of ego.

• jaijoe on Sep 22, 2010 at 2:17 pm

If you see closely this new altis is not bad at all……. i booked already 2.0V.. yeah..

• wowowww on Sep 22, 2010 at 3:39 pm

those sour grapes….lol

• Rich Toyota Salesman on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:23 pm

jaijoe

Congrats you have made a right choice ! Enjoy your Corolla

• jaijoe on Sep 26, 2010 at 2:09 am

after test drove altis 2.0V and Mazda3, i canceled my altis booking…….. Mazda3 is way better interms of handling and interior feel…But Mazda3 a bit pricey…wanna try peugeot 308 turbo later..

• Mata2 on Sep 22, 2010 at 5:41 pm

omg, you have booked already!!, I beg you take back your money and wait for a new civic..few months to go.

• hullahoop on Sep 23, 2010 at 5:41 pm

or i sell my 2months civic to you and i’ll wait the new gen civic..hahhaha

• zaff1984 on Sep 22, 2010 at 7:56 pm

lol so many dis-like when jaijoe says he already book for facelifted Altis… ultimately, he like the car, why should anybody dis-like his decision…

• sepajo on Sep 22, 2010 at 3:25 pm

Somehow a Corolla always fail to excite me.

• paut dahan on Sep 22, 2010 at 3:25 pm

previous tail light look better than this

• scgtimk1 on Sep 22, 2010 at 5:10 pm

True…

• MonfereBlogspot on Sep 30, 2010 at 7:20 pm

Thats why I bought the pre-facelift Toyota Corolla Altis 1.8E during August when I saw the spyshot pic…

• The sound of this engine is nice ^^ …. sounds like degraded LF-A engine … really interesting … go get a test drive if the car are available in the showroom ^^

• mitlanevo on Sep 22, 2010 at 4:24 pm

looks much more better, at least the potato shape of old altis is gone…

but the price is a bit over, i rather get a lancer (sporty), focus (quality) or the mazda3 (happy car)……

• deuter on Sep 22, 2010 at 4:48 pm

Altis maybe quite average in term of its design, try to observe altis at traffic light. once it turns green, how many cars having the same capacity can beat it? it is quite a good city car, always in front.

• Mata2 on Sep 22, 2010 at 5:47 pm

what… ? ppl do not rush for podium at traffic lights. some times kancil rush infront of me , that doesn’t mean kancil drag faster.

• amirad on Sep 23, 2010 at 9:37 am

Ahah! The king of traffic lights is actually the yamaha LC135. Can outaccelerate most normal cars. I know because I ride one. No. I’m not a mat rempit. Always ride responsibly with jackets, full gloves and riding boots. Only the likes of 525i, 325i, GTi, Type R, CGI and the gang can outaccelerate it.

• everybody claim add 15 – 20k can get a bigger car like the accord/camry 2.0. are they aware of the power – weight ratio??

definitely a small car with big engine is more fun to drive as compared to big car small engine…secondly, an accord/camry 2.0 is considered entry level while civic/altis 2.0 is premium model..

finally try out the civic 2.0 vs the accord 2.0 then tell us if you’ll pay the extra 15k for an accord 2.0!!!

i guess it all depends on your criterion, be it comfort or performance…they’re both different category….it’s like comparing a beemer 325 vs 520??

• 15k for comfort lah~ but these ppl so easy get/ found 15k???? if really so rich just buy all….;p no need compare….

• x-vios on Sep 22, 2010 at 5:10 pm

Still boring looking. For boring people, kiasu people who always talk about resale value. Haven’t even buy the car already thinking about selling… duh…

• cybermaster98 on Sep 23, 2010 at 9:26 am

Those are ppl who plan ahead and more often than not they are ppl who are very successful in life. They dont look at the present but plan for the future.

• ex-ToyotaOwner on Oct 11, 2010 at 11:17 am

hmm if they so successful, why not get a bmw or a merc ler… so successful that they dun even hav to worry about resale value :-) or a camry at least… if they hav to stick to toyota

• japfan on Sep 22, 2010 at 5:10 pm

After serious considering, I have decided to get a Forte 2.0 at 93K rather a Civic/Altis 2.0 at 132k because of huge price difference.
    Civic and Altis still drive better in this trio, however, Forte 2.0 is not too far off than the 2 japs. (don’t even mention the basic Vios/City)
    I am thinking to invest the saved 40k into property, good enough for the down payment.
    I really think the jap have ridiculously priced their cars.
    What do u think?

• huhaha on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:20 pm

why not buy a Viva and pay more for your Property, Dont trust this Forte trust me

• japfan on Sep 23, 2010 at 8:52 am

For one like you who don’t understand my point, pls don’t commend.
        To me is just shits out of the mouth and I will not respond the stupid thought of u.
        I am buying a C segment car and is doing a comparison.

• cybermaster98 on Sep 23, 2010 at 9:24 am

Its not that the Japs have ridiculously priced their cars but the Forte which has lowered its price to be very competitive. Hopefully the Hyundai Accent does the same too.

• japfan on Sep 23, 2010 at 11:42 am

cybermaster98 says:
        23/9/2010 at 9:24 am
        Its not that the Japs have ridiculously priced their cars but the Forte which has lowered its price to be very competitive. Hopefully the Hyundai Accent does the same too.
        ————————————————————————————————————–

What ever it is, I m still going to save 40k from the start.
        Lets say if after 6 years, Forte worth 40k and Civiv/Altis 90k, all would have the same depreciation of 40k.
        Moreover, I would able to save some interest due to the lower borrowing on Forte.
        To me, its just not jutify to pay extra 40k for the same C segment of cars. Beside, Forte could be better equiped and attrative exterior

• cybermaster98 on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:06 pm

Well i agree with you about the Forte. Its price is very competitive as ive said many times. For your info, im considering that for my wife among other models. But sadly, whats worrying is the after sales service which is far off the mark.

• japfan on Sep 23, 2010 at 4:25 pm

Nowadays, the technology of new cars are normally quite reliable. (except proton) If I would maintain the Forte well with regulatr services and no abusive driving, I don’t see the car would give any big problems for the next 6 years driven.
            Any cars without proper maintainance would give problems no matter what brands.

• robin on Sep 22, 2010 at 5:10 pm

apala mau gaduh? citarasa masing2 berbeza… kau suka itu, aku suka ini… masing2 punya suka la… korang cakap itu kereta bagus2… korang ada pakai ka?

• some buy cars purely on price basis without taking into consideration of car segment…

it’s like paying bungalow price for a semi-d!!

as much as a golf 1.4 may look attractive…it’s a hatch vs sedan lah….

compare apple to apple lah!!!

golf is 30k premium over the 308?? so issit worth the premium?? 1.4T vs 1.6T…

not many avg joe will fancy a large sedan ie. accord/camry/sonata if you’re bachelor, spend most time driving alone, parking problem, tight ramps…

i myself has been driving the camry 2.4 for 3 yrs, nothing bad about the car but still traded it in for a golf GTI!!!

previously owned a cooper 1.6 also running on CVT for 2 yrs…no problems at all

• Mata2 on Sep 22, 2010 at 5:53 pm

…ini memang betul. cuba la pakai camry/accord pergi kedai nak beli rokok atau ambik anak balik sekolah atau pergi jom heboh TV3, baru u orang tau betapa untungnya pakai kancil/viva.

• continue to use kancil/viva no issue, but just dun run 140km/h and tailgate others thinking the car is camry/accord…

• amirad on Sep 22, 2010 at 5:31 pm

What! RM130k better get Civic. Is Civic really better than Altis? I wonder. Add another RM10k can get Camry or Accord. Well. Not everybody wants a D segment car. But if add another RM20k can get golf TSI, this one I like.
    I used to kutuk Altis …car wobbly, stance too high, looks like a hippo (2006 model) but in the end bought one for the wifey. After 5 years of ownership (though I rarely drive it) the car has been super reliable. Never miss a beat. My heart doesn’t feel any excitement but my mind is at peace. Which is why I need to get myself a driver’s car. Maybe the Altis can be a complementary car to your other exciting cars.

• sound so easy for u to get 10k?

• but you wake up every day and suffer the agony of looking at such an ugly thing in your porch everyday.

• Toyota is the no 1 manufacturer in the world!!!

Why u think the US tried all sorts to bring them down cos they’re a threat to GM!!!

Which car doesn’t have accident causing faults?? Why only Toyotas are brought to light??

Koreans on the other hand are penetrating the Auto Industry hence they’ve to price their products at a discount…simple marketing strategy…

I’ve been promoting the Koreans…the Forte, Tucson, Sonata looks too good to be true…high spec low price, seems like everybody’s dream…went on to speak to some independant mechanics…

1. Unless you dun intend to sell your car within 7 yrs
    2. Hopefully your car doesn’t breakdown

Then buy it…because, however you dun like the resale value or some term it every car depreciates, fine…but if you’re buying a car with 10% D/p and 7 yrs loan, some car depreciates to a point that you can’t sell your car within the 7yrs cos you need to fork out more $$$ to redeem your loan!!! My real life experience, I bought a Ford Escape over the CRV because the Escape is more durable off-road & slightly cheaper (the x-trail no out yet, suv not so popular back then, hence only 2 options), the car cost about 5k less brand new, but 5yrs down the road when i sold, the crv cost 20k more for a same 5yr old!!! so that’s what they mean re-sale value!!!

2. Because the Koreans are so new in the market, if your car fails, everything will have to be original brand new spare parts…sorry no potong kereta, no used parts, no oem…probably not any tom, dick or harry knows how to service your Koreans!!!

• come on ash,korea is coming up to replace the t brand in future ,everything improve perfectly,korean car look sporty value for money is suitable for all range of ppl not toyota just for uncle,i sure that u also a uncle,haha if you so care for the resell value better go buy house,maybe u just can drive japan car cant drive a car like bmw,audi,ferrari,lambo,merc

• i can’t deny the fact that the koreans are trying to pip the toyotas, in fact reports have shown that it’ll take less than 5 year for Hyundai to overtake Toyota to be no 1…but than again, it’s still a relatively new thing for Malaysia, just like how Audi’s are struggling against Beemers & Benzies…but their top choice in Europe….

It’s just the Malaysian market perception…it took a long way for Malaysians to accept both the Audi’s & VW’s….and after introducing a few hot models only then are they building their service centres!!! so it’ll take the Koreans to sell many units b4 you see the mushrooming of service centres…right now, Honda’s and Toyota’s have no problem catering for Spares and Services

• perhaps you missed my post, i’ve driven Proton Saga, Ford Escape, BMW 330, Mini Cooper, Toyota Camry 2.4 & Currently Golf GTi….Small, Big, New, Used, High Resale, Low Resale cars!!! I’ve changed enough cars, loose enough money to understand what resale value means…perhaps you’ve not experienced paying money to sell car!!! Trust me, it’s very common out there

• is considering..

• I hope this car can stop when i press the brakes.. dont bloody recall anymore shit man, god bless Toyoda hahahahhah

• WilliamSmith on Sep 22, 2010 at 6:12 pm

Duh..I dont understand..CVT but mimic Traditional Autobox? Isnt CVT is to provide sustained RPM once on the pickup hence always in the correct more efficient rev band for max pull and push? Another MESS by Toyota…

• balloons lover on Sep 22, 2010 at 7:11 pm

still 2 balloons only? haih….

• Robert88 on Sep 22, 2010 at 7:15 pm

hmm.. just wondering why the steering using by 2.0 is similar with current Vios models one..132k man, i need something special.

front grill, steering, head lamp = sport
    wood trim, interior design/colour, rear lamp= not sport.

put ECO in speedometer… for what? so called sporty car dun need it.

it wanna be a sporty car, perhaps, but not sport enuf, Rojak feel so far..

• kenny tan on Sep 22, 2010 at 8:10 pm

actually toyota car is very boring…..if compare to another importer car.i got 1.8e corolla
    altis.the absolbar already spoil,the service centre tell me my brake finish.but when i comfirm to another service centre is make sure my brake is under good condition.so
    i think the people customes service centre need a lot of comissen.so i already complain to the toyota office.but no answer for me…………

• cybermaster98 on Sep 23, 2010 at 9:20 am

Something is wrong with your story. Brake pads are the easiest to analyse. I doubt 2 service centres will give u 2 different analysis about your brake pads. Why dont u just take it to any tyre shop and visually inspect it yourself? Its so easy. Its not some highly technical part that u need expert analysis. U complained to Toyota office just cuz of your brake pads??? Haha. Come up with better stories la if u wanna kutuk Toyota. If your story is real, why dont u provide more details?

• cosmo on Sep 30, 2010 at 6:37 pm

huh… why need to come out with detailed stories??? ppl not interested with those “T” brand rubbish stories la…. ya, in fact a rubbish really need a better maintenance service compare to the other brand…. tell u what, ppl will buy a vios, just because it is 1 of the cheapest jp car u can get on the market….. if those ppl they can afford for a better 1, will u think that ppl with still buy this tiny crappy car? the exterior look so sick, the interior feel so cheap, the ride and the space is just rubbish…. i did sat in one of fren’s vios, i knew that feeling… toyota get its name for reliability becoz of their land cruiser series which i admit they all are really well built… but not for the vios or whatever it is…. but anyway, do enjoy your time with your little tiny “T” brand rubbish… pity….

• kenny tan on Sep 22, 2010 at 8:11 pm

better buy honda car…………….

• Ah Fook on Sep 22, 2010 at 8:27 pm

Fook the Gomen and their so called NAP lah.

The 2.4 Corolla is only about RM80K at other parts of the world.
    http://www.toyota.com/corolla/trims-prices.html

• huhaha on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:16 pm

Calculate properly la …….It’s only 58k, same with our Persona.

• dumb@ss on Sep 24, 2010 at 4:38 pm

I have a friend in the US saying that they pay US$2k per year on road taxes and insurance. You want to fork out MYR7k per year? Tht’s why you can’t compare the price here vs that of other countries. We collect our taxes upfront and no admin cost for collecting in 7 years time, while the other countries tax by the per year usage. That’s why the Europeans and US ppl change cars often (also due to parking… my experience.. NYC parking is US$15 per hour, and in HK, its equivalent is MYR30 per hour).
      So.. want to complain some more?

• dumb@ss,

you r right that insurance(depending which type) and taxes are way higher in US than msia. Yet, those are accumulated cost over the years u own the car(more like operating cost, u got car, u pay.), whereas the cost to purchase a car is like capital expense, you pay all at once/downpayment(in terms of servicing loans to bank over a time period). So it is a question on how fast you want ur money to go out? A choice. i rather pay cheap cars and pay higher tax/insurance. Same like if u ask me, i rather pay cheap cars and market price petrol.

And since cars are cheap over in US, not alot people are worried over the resale value, to buy a civic/corrolla in US, maybe selling price is somewhere USD17-20k, a 2nd hand value will not differ in such substantial amount that the consumers buy purely because resale value. There is alot of competition between all the car brands. it is a consumer’s heaven. Msia is slowly gearing towards it.

And alot of 2nd hand car dealers in US actually inspect and refurbish the cars for resale + they provide extended warranty. So at least the consumers who bought the 2nd hand car are at ease. Having cheaper cars and higher salary allows Americans to have purchasing power, you work hard a few months, u can get an ok car. In msia, it’ll never be like this.

You are also right that parking in big cities are expensive, do take note these big cities you mentioned, the general salary is also way better. They are charging alot for parking because they want to limit the traffic in the cities and to encourage ppl to use public transportation. But if u were staying in suburbs, most parking is provided free :)

• Yoong Tofu on Sep 22, 2010 at 8:41 pm

For the same dough, I recommend Mazda3 2.0 Sports! :)

• Mpower on Sep 22, 2010 at 8:42 pm

with a budget of 131k, i could get highest spec of KIA Forte and the remaining cash i could use it to do some minor makeup. Gosh this is damn tooooooo~ pricey

• 911insider on Sep 22, 2010 at 9:13 pm

Dont like it. Same story every time. Old design for old man. i really want to buy an Altis due to its reliability but i cant bear to look at it every morning. Stupid toyota.

• stop the crap.. two choice.

1. If you want comfort, old school, reliable buy Altis

2. If you want power, speed, design, future then buy civic

• umnosukapitnah on Sep 22, 2010 at 9:44 pm

131k for 2.0 corolla???…give me a comfy 105k after discount sylphy anyday!!!

• Paul, my 1.8 Altis (normal VVTi type) can easily achieve 6.0 to 6.4 L/100km (i.e. between 15.5 to 16.5 km/L) on 100% highway driving. Method of driving = conservative and minimal revving. So I wont be surprised that the 2.0 will do even better, what more with Dual VVTi.

Maybe you didn’t reset the trip meter properly when you topped up the fuel. In my Altis, I must reset 3 parameters: the fuel consumption, E/T (estimated time of driving) and average speed.

• From a neutral perspective of a Mazda fan and a Mazda6 owner. for all your whining about the corolla being for ‘uncles’ and ‘housewives’, toyota has made the corolla the top-selling model of all time. Yes, for most of us the Civic looks better, but beauty is in the eyes of the beholder. And, beauty alone isn’t the only critera in buying a car. If not, people wouldn’t have bought the Dugongs, the Kenaris, the Sagas, and not to forget the ever so popular Kangoo! People buy cars for different reasons and those reasons are unique for every individual.

While everyone is entitled to their own comments, bear in mind that what you say reflects your level of thinking in which I assume consists of fanatical Honda fans and the anti-Toyota bandwagon. Hey, I ain’t a fan of Toyota either but at least look at this model objectively. Pricey? You bet. Ugly? I think so too. But it has its plus side as well.

I dislike both Toyotas and Hondas for my own reasons, but I do admit one thing. Toyotas are more reliable than Hondas. Cheers!

• New2Korean on Sep 23, 2010 at 12:52 am

I think you Toyota fan-boys are missing the points. NOBODY dispute Toyota sell more cars. Even an idiot will know Toyota sell more car even if it is a piece of junk! So STOP hyping about their sells – WE KNOW THAT! The fact that they know there are large number of fan-boys unconditionally supporting their products is not helping us, the buyer/consumer; it is COSTING US MORE for a “LESSER CAR”!

Another thing I’m tired of hearing is the resale value. No doubt a relatively new used Toyota have better resale value (by a lot) than a similar age other brand, but realistically most of us don’t change our car that often! Most of us drive our car for 7 to 10 years or more, and for a car that age the difference then is not much – not heaven and hell difference like you fan-boys portray it to be! I sold my 10 years old Camry recently and it is only 4k more than a similar age Accord! So stop hyping about this point too!

Points that matters more are like look/style, the technology, the pricing, reliability, the comfort/features, performance/handling, etc… which is more interesting to talk about don’t you think?

• scooter on Sep 23, 2010 at 8:38 am

Thumbs up brother!!
        Most of the readers are tiring listen to ‘resale value’ bla… it’s a fact that all msia rakyat know T has higher value, so no need to hard sell on this. For Altis owner who like or not on their car, we are welcome u to share out ur experience with us

• dumb@ss on Sep 24, 2010 at 3:18 pm

It’s ok. Dun let me hear you whining to the 2nd hand car dealer to take your car for more money…..
          This forum is free, but when your pocket’s on the line, you’ll whine more than everyone else…

• cybermaster98 on Sep 23, 2010 at 9:13 am

For your info, the comparison is not between Japs but between Japs and other brands. And since u know alot, u should also know that the resale values for higher cc cars are lower in percentage compared to smaller cc cars simply because of demand. As ive said in another post, a 7 yr old Vios only loses about 40% of its original sale value. No other car of the same age or category comes close to this resale value.

And yes all the other points have also been brought up and discussed. Why dont u read ALL the posts before making false assumptions?

• hahaha….how wrong can you be….with so many new car models launching every now and then….ppl are tempted to change cars more often than you think….not many ppl will drive their cars for 5-10yrs if they hv good resale value…only those who are driving ‘cold’ cars will have to drive and pay off their 7-9yrs old loan cos value of car cannot redeem loan mah!!!

• dumb@ss on Sep 24, 2010 at 4:39 pm

Liked that you agree… if the crowd are fools or the other way around….

• New2Korean on Sep 23, 2010 at 1:05 am

Ops! sorry! My above post is not intended as a reply to your post.

• malaysian on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:43 pm

my Proton Persona much better than is crap………. in term of value, comfort, handling…

• zaff1984 on Sep 22, 2010 at 10:59 pm

comfort..? i find Persona seat quite hard and little bit stiff …

• Thais on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:08 pm

Your Persona is a crap la y

• huhaha on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:12 pm

In terms of value, comfort, handling,,,,,,,,,, your Persona is a crap

• the angle position of the back seat is not comfortable ..

• amirad on Sep 23, 2010 at 9:14 am

Persona is not much better, just adequate. In fact, a persona is all that u need for a reasonable car. Above that, its luxury, passion, interest….. whatever reasons that makes u happy to own yr choice of cars.

• jufri on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:58 am

please compare apple to apple , persona is a family sedan, altis is C segment, i you want, compare persona with vios.

price , ride and handling wise for sure persona wins anytime

• dumb@ss on Sep 24, 2010 at 4:41 pm

True. Ask them to take the RM65k to buy new seats, change suspension, change engine, change transmission, change chasis change this and that, and then you get…… Altis…, or if you are not careful, rojak la…
        How to compare?

• and i thought persona is also in c segment while vios is B same with saga.

• learner on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:15 pm

haiyaa, lagi2 mau gaduh. toyota or honda, both also japs. who ever win, we still losing the money to the japs. earns more money and go buy future CKD VW in Msia, lets those japs bit their finger! hopefully their greedy will lower down and ww can buy brand new altis dual- or triple-vvti witn 2.0 special VVV at cost of no more than rm120K! period.

• for heaven’s sake, it’s just a car.

no need to argue like there is no tomorrow.

• 1kereta on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:35 pm

just rm1k more expensive than civic 2.0s, i think some die hard toyota fans will still buy… but i still like mitsu lancer better…very Evo X look!

• malaysian well said, persona is worth every ringgit in malaysia. govt also like u to buy malaysian. so take it as a privilege car with right pricing.

• YeapyEvo on Sep 23, 2010 at 1:10 am

UMW salesman and shareholders can wait to collect big cheque end of this year thanks to Malaysian blind supporters.

May be 1.8G version will offer lower FC, but for youngster who can afford to pay RM 130k better add another 20k for a Golf 1.4 with better handling , power and FC!

• bohtakchek on Sep 23, 2010 at 7:46 am

it is a ladies car…

• Calvin on Sep 23, 2010 at 9:49 am

For all those out there hear this…
    1. Altis don’t get rear independent suspension it uses torsion beam ( even proton wira uses independent suspension)
    2. CVT is not new. Honda has it in the 1995 civic they called multimatic but unfortunately CVT runs very hot and causes premature failure in hot countries and Malaysian driving habits as well. CVT is a very efficient gearbox but it is very costly to maintain and to replace
    ( you may claim Toyota gearbox is perfect but it will fail sooner or later and it is the pricetag city ones cost 25k how much cheaper Toyota can be…)
    3. Engine performance at 2.0 is still below expectation giving a dual vvti technology there.
    4. 2 airbag!! Hello 2AIRBAG!!! even civic has 4 and forte has 6 let’s not start conti cars…

Is it worth our money you make the choice i’ll just pass and go for civic or Mitsubishi lancer

• This car was voted with the best fuel consumption in Taiwan…

• Edward on Sep 23, 2010 at 4:42 pm

First of all i would like to congrats UMW for their newly launched Altis. Yes.. they did it again!!! A Thai CBU C-segment car for 130k..hey come on it is better buy if you like to compare to our Melaka 2.0 civic.

But still i am no fan of UMW and Honda Malaysia.. Both are daylight robbers… Society now are changing.. more and more ppl can start to afford to installment an 130K+- car already so C-segment cars are becoming more competitive. Why?

It is so simple.. graduates nowaday 3k basic stay with parents fork out 1.5k monthly to a bank for a car ok mah…. still can survive somemore can show off :)

Chinese got 1 say: 1 type for rice can feed hundred types of ppl. We got blind badge chaser, petrol head, car enthuasist, etc etc. That is why i love this forum.. the comments are so enlightening.

Back to the topic, i am not belong to the kind of ppl to pay 50% more in order to retain 50% more in resale value 5~7 years down the road. Since when buying a car can let you make money? For me to spend so much in a car every month of coz i want to enjoy my car to the max la….

let me see what are the choices available if we got 130k:
    Conti:
    -Ford Focus TDCI (powershift 6 spd dual clutch, turbo diesel, best in class handling)
    -Peugeot 407 (it is an old model but hey who dun wan a 10speaker JBL hi fi in the car and other more equipments offered in the package)
    -Peugeot 308 turbo (save up to 20k, u get a sweet glass roof, rear a/c vent, 240nm)

Kimchi:
    -Hyundai Sonata YF 2.0
    -Naza Forte 2.0

Sushi land:
    -Mitsubishi lancer 2.0 GTS
    -Nissan Slyphy (less than 130 even u take the luxury navi package, somemore Xtronic CVT)

All this are C or D segment cars not even include recond yet…

• cosmo on Sep 23, 2010 at 9:23 pm

1 more toyota rubbish come in malaysian car market…. look ugly, interior full of plastic, small legroom…
    nt comfortable at all….. the only reason ppl buy toyota, jz bcoz the service is CHEAP. thats all…

• dumb@ss on Sep 24, 2010 at 4:45 pm

Don’t worry. Buy what you want and skip lunch and dinner to repair your car… You have that mentality… most likely due to skipping lunches and dinners.

• kennytan on Sep 24, 2010 at 12:00 am

i want sell my 1.8e altis 2008..what the market value?top mark tell me is 73k.u say toyota
    car high value when sell back to toyota.is it true?i buy accord better…………

• Japanese Rival on Sep 24, 2010 at 12:23 am

i cannot imagine how awful to drive a uncle’s vehicle on the track………….Hey come on, be more realistics, Altis is not borned for this. Why people think the car can be transformed just by added in with Body kit, how stupid and naive. The naive nation(Japanese), please la, just admit you guys are selling lower end market product.

• balloons lover on Sep 24, 2010 at 1:05 am

we should get more balloons at this price…..
    is balloons that expensive?

• cyberspace on Sep 24, 2010 at 11:18 am

Altis’s design sucks..

• Oh my goodness, not MOVING FORWARD enough! The exterior design and shape still resembled much of its predecessor since the Altis inception in year 2001 (except continual improvement to the front grille, the rear lights and few internal upgrade which looks much better now). Look at Honda Civic and to a certain extent Korean Brand like Hyundai and Kia, they are coming out more and more innovative designs and higher specifications. The next Honda Civic in 2011 is going to outclass this new Altis with much advancement in design and technology.

The Altis past launches have never really bring any excitement neither is the new launch now. I rather call it a facelift launch.

It is just some honest opinions. But if you still a loyal Toyota Fan, nothing will hinder you from buying into your passion.

Pricing wise of the new Altis – decide for yourself is worth or not.
    Other Optional European Comparison:-
    Audi B7 2006/07 – 120K-140K
    Volvo S40 2006 – 95k-100K
    BMW 318i -2005 E46 – 100K – 110K
    Toyota Camry – 2008-2009 – 120K – 130K

• could u afford the maintenances of all these conti cars although its cheap in price…but i do agree its too pricey if compare with other countries…

• x-vios on Sep 24, 2010 at 11:14 pm

dumb@ss says:
    24/9/2010 at 4:38 pm
    I have a friend in the US saying that they pay US$2k per year on road taxes and insurance. You want to fork out MYR7k per year? Tht’s why you can’t compare the price here vs that of other countries. We collect our taxes upfront and no admin cost for collecting in 7 years time, while the other countries tax by the per year usage. That’s why the Europeans and US ppl change cars often (also due to parking… my experience.. NYC parking is US$15 per hour, and in HK, its equivalent is MYR30 per hour).
    So.. want to complain some more?

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

nobody can response to this? and I also heard the servicing in Western countries count by the hours.

We also always heard about the dollar to dollar comparison. Well, ringgit to pound, a Ferrari 458 cost about the same as the price of Accord/Camry here. Do we see Ferrari in UK as common as we see Accord/Camry in Malaysia?

Also, Indon and Thai have larger population in us and we always praise them for their cheap cars, but Malaysia still have the largest passenger car market in ASEAN.

• anzian69 on Sep 25, 2010 at 3:31 am

hai all,
    I’m an altis owner now and vios owner B4, ( 1.8G sporty.) Previous model B4 this. But I advise to the future altis owner ….. please think properly before you buy this car…….. TOYOTA ALTIS.

Toyota have a great marketing stratergy, nice words to hide their weakness…… nice words to use old technologies.

130k for the car….. I thing you buy the name of TOYOTA is more expensive than the car it self. Sorry, I say it because I use this car. But hard to explain it.

Service Centre.
    Very good. Nice words, polite and friendly….. and all the food and drinks is free inside it.
    But……, they change my audio player 3 or 4 times due to no signal…..
    Aligment 2 times…. ( at the end I solve it outside toyota service centre )
    Until now I’m still driving my car with ” duk… duk…” sound from my rear left tyre when I hit over bumper…. I already waste my time 3 times due to this problem…. ( Referring to their report : Duk… duk… sound repaired and ” OK “. I know they are very busy, but dont do like this. ( Hope some one here from toyota service centre Muar branch )

I cannot say they are stupid because they already qualified by toyota but it look very very cloose to it laa….
    The nice words from amoi and awek and apek and atok from the enterence of toyota service centre indirectly hiding the weakness of the workshop behind it.
    Cannot do anything due to warranty …..

It same like TOYOTA did to sell their car….. like father like son maaaa…

This is not a blank story, it a reallity. So, please think properly…..

—- Normally ppl say, DONT JUDGE THE BOOK BY THE COVER, but this time I already read the book and tell you the story. It’s up to you to judge the the book BECAUSE YOU ONLY LOOK AT THE COVER——

Sincerely,

anzian.

• johnny on Sep 25, 2010 at 8:54 am

honda civic much more better than this….toyota strategy similar to proton,they keep on change accessories etc…its shows that the compony trying to have more sales rather than developing new model,see the different of old civic with new gen civic and accord old version with new version.Hyundai sonata also follwing Honda startegy…

• Well one thing is sure, the design wont last long. And road holding is weak.

• Irwin on Sep 25, 2010 at 10:08 pm

I don’t think this facelifted Toyota Corolla Altis can beat Honda Civic, the Exterior very ugly compare to Honda Civic. How come recently toyota lost to Honda

• come on la fren civic how many years oledi…its only 4 ah beng and samseng la…tasteless… hehehe

• every month 3000 malaysian will buy a Vios. they will buy even if a Vios will cost 150K i think UMW must be using a good bomoh or something at the showroom

• Bender on Sep 26, 2010 at 4:36 pm

mazda 3 zoom zoom definitely owns this new altis and is on tight comparison with civic.

• me just test drove this altis 2.0.
    power wise not much differ from my civic 1.8.
    more bumpy.
    out of date interior.
    and for 130+k.
    really really those psycho fela will buy this..

• papaHero on Sep 28, 2010 at 11:38 am

whatever its is, toyota has done a good job for their market future mean for make sure the 2nd value still better than other car!

• blacky on Sep 28, 2010 at 2:42 pm

ya go ahead add a little bit more $ for latest sonata D segment which also got steering issue and got recall in US

• Flannel on Sep 29, 2010 at 2:56 pm

my civic 2.0 iVtec with mugen skirting more shiok and powerazzz, cant compare with this old design and kinda outdated, so sorry toyota lover;P

• Altis for mature ppl.

Civic for teenager.

• I prefer Mazda3!

• really wanna taste the dual vvt-i….dual thrill!!

• Toyota sells millions of these, they are known as bread and butter models and they pay for Toyota LFA’s ,F1 teams and what not. They’re are simple A to B machines..super reliable

• Cumpro sux on Oct 03, 2010 at 3:24 am

Dual VVT-i….
    Honda will come out Dual V-tec…soon

• shaun on Oct 03, 2010 at 8:46 pm

I went to Toyota showroom at Prai yesterday. The salesman really sucks! Reluctant to provide test drive. Furthermore, eyes and fingers are busy on his cellphone screen while talking to me. Totally do not show respect to the customer! I end up left the showroom without even bother to test drive the car.

• Impressive cvt gearbox with manual paddle shift on the new altis..how long could this gearbox can last if compare to sylphy x-tronic cvt without the manual paddle shift..after 100,000km,like those honda city after 120,000km run on the i-dsi cvt gearbox with paddle shift..???the cause of driver’s effect can well explain very much..Let’s put a simple test on a downhill road on those cvt gearbox on many cars nowdays..which car can shift to neutral (N) while cruising and does not harm the gearbox ratio converter???altis can?sylphy can?civic can?

• If the new civic come out next year, toyota altis will be the loser again…
    Thats for sure, nowaday we can see the modern design from honda compared to the uncle style toyota.

• Bangala on Oct 04, 2010 at 10:11 pm

Nissan Sylphyl anytime… Smooth driving , much spacious !!! and CHEAPER :)

• firefox on Oct 05, 2010 at 6:50 pm

malaysia alway late and outdated…dual VVTI last 2 years already launched at china altis….:(

• Proton Supporter on Oct 08, 2010 at 7:58 pm

Korang teliti baik2 gambar dashboard Altis tgh bukak glove box compartment kt atas tu..senget bro..klu Proton mcm tu korang kutuk…Altis mcm ni kira ape????OOOH keta import

• Thinker on Apr 24, 2011 at 4:30 pm

Hello KAWAN.. tu bkn ”SENGET” LA KAWAN… bentuk glove box tu MELENGKUNG sbb tu dia bila dibukak jadi SENGET..kalau betul kepala mata ko tgk bende tu SENGET..dia x kan FIT LA bile ditutup wahai kawan yang SENGET

• campro on Oct 15, 2010 at 3:23 am

1.8E,1.8G,2.0V which 1 hv leather seat???

• I am puzzled. Why does Toyota want to make Altis 2.0V whereby Camry also got 2.0E? IMHO Altis 2.0V should not exist.

• JustAThought on Oct 03, 2011 at 11:44 am

In your humble opinion, perhaps you’re suggesting Civic 2.0 shouldnt exist too? :)

• Design Master on Oct 26, 2010 at 11:10 am

Hyundai Sonata & Chevy Cruze… both looks good in term of design…

• the matter of fact is... on Oct 31, 2010 at 1:31 pm

Each time when I looked at the discussion forum, blog, comment on the aticle, etc regarding the newly launched Toyota cars, many anti-Toyota fans were always trying to emphasize that the person who bought Toyota car is the dump person…

In this article, I would like to remind those people, Toyota Corolla is the word’s best-selling cars. There are many “dump” people wordwide to help keeping this record since 1997 and none of the year since then was failed to do so.

out of this article, there are many dump people helped keeping Toyota in the track of No.1 automaker despite of the recent recall.

• Human on Nov 06, 2010 at 8:47 am

I agree with the matter of fact is….. Those people always saying that Honda car is nicer. I agree that the Honda design is much more better than Toyota. However, please compare with the quality of 2 cars before made the conclusion. Toyota can always be the top seller in the world is because of the product quality!! Honda design is very attractive but is the quality win the Toyota? Please check carefully before you all said Toyota!!! Im not support Toyota or boycott Honda, I just want to say that if you dun like something, you can choose to don’t buy it and not necessary to say so many rubbish things here, it look like childish. If you can affort the car price, just go ahead; if u cannot affort, please shut up.

• kamehameha on Nov 16, 2010 at 6:49 pm

as stated by the reviewer “but also a car that I’ll never lust after”…this statement holds true for toyota cars. they make good machineries but not in a way that you would lust for them. i have both toyota & honda at home n i feel the toyota works in a very subtle, efficient manner. it is a good car to own, if you just want a car to ferry you around plus abit of luxuries feel. but a real petrolhead will probably choose the more radical designed honda, with its petrol guzzling vtec. that my 2 cents anyway. moreover, diff people have diff requirements when it comes to cars.

• The matter of fact is ... again... hehe... on Nov 28, 2010 at 2:08 am

If the “petrolhead” really cares about the fuel efficiency, well… choose Prius, the world’s most fuel efficient gasoline car. Malaysian government has recently subsidied green cars, and that Prius is now ~RM140k. Toyota Prius ranked best-selling cars in Japan to keep the No. 1 point for 18 recent months in a row even though sales declined due to the removal of subsidies for green cars.

However, you may choose Altis with 7-speed, dual VVT-i engine that you will experience the ” real power of dream” with 2.0 engine.

Again, diff “dump” people have diff requirements when it comes to cars. ;)

• The matter of fact is... ... on Dec 12, 2010 at 9:35 pm

By the way, based on Taiwan’s official websites of Toyota and Honda, the fuel consumption rating are 18.2km/l for Altis and 15.4km/l for Civic respectively. Which means Mr./Mrs. Kamehameha claimed was incorrect… :)

• mzma73 on Nov 17, 2010 at 4:07 am

Still better than Tukun buatan Proton, Perdana yang dah 20th nya tech pada harga RM110k.

• Simon Low on Dec 17, 2010 at 10:29 am

Review on this car is bias and not being critical.
    Altis is a car with design failure. The mechanicals are wonderful. Thats all. So, whatever facelift done here are simply “Malaysian” style in clearing the stocks.
    Reviewer should be honest at this.

• polok on Jan 04, 2011 at 8:36 pm

car for sissies

• polok on Jan 04, 2011 at 8:37 pm

can go 240kph..bullshit

• jameson99 on Jan 19, 2011 at 11:34 am

i have this car max can go 210,any way you don t need 240 kph on malaysian road

• golok on Mar 07, 2011 at 2:07 pm

toyota for uncle..honda for rebel without cause young generation

• Jai-Dee on Nov 28, 2011 at 12:21 pm

apa barang pakai torsion beam suspension…kete saloon lak tu kalau kete compact xpe gak…kira altis ni same tahap ngan saga laa ek???

• johnson on Dec 01, 2011 at 2:11 pm

When I visited Toyota showroom to buy corolla Altis, one of my buddy called and told me about new Honda Civic. I was fixed to buy Altis but than I thought to go and see Civic too, as both vehicle falls under same price range. I was speechless by seeing Civic. Dazzling sport look, wonderful interior, and superior performance shook me to the core. Now i’m planning to buy Civic. Price is little high compared to Altis but its really worth to give a try.

• mohsen kamal on Mar 02, 2012 at 10:51 pm

i have lose my car key of altas corola 2003 1zz now what can i do plz help me

• orang yg tahu pasal kereta ..akan hanya pilih toyota ,..dari dulu sampai sekarang. Honda hanya gah dari segi design saja tapi enjin tetap tak boleh lawan toyota !

• michael lee on Jan 10, 2013 at 2:50 pm

Hi, anyone have any idea how to adjust the alarm sensitivity? I just bought a new Altis 2.0 and the alarm trigger too often during thunderstorm and service centre not able to detect any faulty with the system. Shall I change a new alarm system? or any adjustment can be done?

• org lws on Mar 09, 2013 at 12:39 pm

just buy altis.. d lws paling byk brand uncle toyoda.. haha.. dr toyota crown k camry.. corolla 80 ke corolla altis… :-P