Fourth-gen Mitsubishi Pajero launched – 3.8 V6, RM290K

The legend is back, they say. And after a long absence from Malaysian soil, the Mitsubishi Pajero was launched this evening at the Carcosa. This fourth-generation model isn’t just the tough, no nonsense jungle basher as many remember it to be, but a 4X4 that combines go-anywhere ability with luxury.

We’ve driven it already, but if you missed that test drive report, the Pajero is powered by a 3.8-litre V6 engine with 250 PS and 329 Nm of torque, made at 2,750 rpm. This SOHC engine with MIVEC is paired to an INVECS-II five-speed automatic gearbox with Sports mode manual override.

Power is laid down to the surface via Mitsu’s Super Select 4WD II system. SS4-II offers four driver selectaable modes for various road conditions – 2H mode for the best economy, 4H mode for better traction, 4HLc with locked centre differential (equal power to all four wheels) and 4LLc, which is like 4HLc plus low range gears for you to crawl out of the most extreme situations. 4H is the standard operating mode (default torque split is 33:67) and the three high range modes can be shifted “on the fly” at speeds up to 100 km/h.

The Pajero’s Active Stability and Traction Control (ASTC) uses a network of sensors to collect real time data and monitor the vehicle status and steering angle. This data is then used to regulate brake force and drive torque for individual wheels to improve handling and stability. ASTC is integrated with Multi-mode ABS and EBD. The Pajero comes with front, side and curtain airbags.

The equipment highlight is a Rockford Acoustic Design sound system with 12 speakers, 860-watt amplifier, digital signal processor and a 5.1 channel theatre surround. The centre stack also houses a centre information display that shows fuel economy, elevation, compass, outside temperature, a calendar and customisable clock, among other things.

Other standard kit include leather seats (fronts are powered), automatic climate control, rear air con with roof and floor vents for second and third row occupants, sunroof, cruise control, keyless entry, auto levelling HID headlamps with washer, 18-inch alloys, aluminium pedals plus automatic lights and wipers. This CBU from Japan Pajero is priced at RM289,980 OTR with insurance, which is reasonable compared to other SUVs with big engines sold here.

Live images from the launch after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1530]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Neutral on Sep 23, 2010 at 9:08 pm

wow complicated old style! it looks like make up of old Toyota Unser. However sorry dear Mitsubishi engineers and salesman, definitely it will not be best choice for young and early 30’s like me :p

• Belum try belum tau, sekali try hari hari mau. LoL.

• mitlanevo on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:05 pm

macamana mau cuba?

the old gen pajero is 1 of the worst suv, with lorry-like seating and ridiculously underpowered, even with turbocharged…

sekali cuba sudah takut lor…..

• HirumaKecil on Sep 25, 2010 at 8:14 am

What??? WORST SUV… This is not SUV… SUV is stupid.. This is the real 4X4 king… This is not to fight with CRV,Herrier, or something like that… Not enough power??? Are you crazy???? That old Pajero conquered the jungle for years.. This type of car is not for ‘orang muda’ who used to ‘pikat awek’ at bukit bintang la beb.. This is for serious driver who like the real 4×4… SUV is like man that have a nice muscle coz they take body builder powder, while this Pajero is like heavyweight boxer that have real muscle and the true power… The real man car… SUV is shit, compare to this Legend… This is the answer for a range rover with cheaper price… About underpowered… Are you sure old pajero is underpowered… People at ‘pedalaman and hutan’ like this car for its extreme performance in extreme surface of the world… Young people who just like fancy suv and want power like sport car will not buy this car.. But the real man like this car…

• paultan fan on Sep 24, 2010 at 9:20 am

the models look younger than the 4×4 :-)

• i don think u r their main target dude

• that is it bcoz EURO 4M petrol/diesel coming our way next yrs since it was mention in NAP….3.8-litre V6 (6G75 3.8 V6) engine meet Euro IV emissions standard

“V. Clear Roadmap for the Implementation of Fuel Standards

Since September 2009, EURO 2M specification for petrol and diesel has been implemented. The Government has now set a clear target of implementing EURO 4M specification for petrol and diesel by 2011.”

• Supporter on Sep 24, 2010 at 2:07 am

Ow my god! It totally resembles its predecessors… I don’t see any Prado in there.

This is what we call legend.

290k price tag is cheap with all the technology which (if I may) is second best to Land Rover. Even Mazda CX-9 with its 3.7 liter power house already priced above 300k. (no offense)

This big machine will totally run riot in our streets like all the Alphards out there…

Have to get my hand on it ASAP.

• vikki bro on Jan 24, 2012 at 8:50 pm

bro i’m 27 n i love this car. i gonna buy one.

• Mini Fanatic FREAK~ on Sep 23, 2010 at 9:11 pm

This is a lot better than Toyota Prado.

• think on Sep 23, 2010 at 9:14 pm

i do not like the design at all…look too old………..but it has the muscle for the uncles………..think

• nabill on Sep 23, 2010 at 9:20 pm

really luves the looks , modern and yet boxy . . . thought price going to be above 300k , bt thats not saying much !

• wow..what a price..

• jolly_idiot on Sep 23, 2010 at 9:33 pm

This thingy got market in malaysia? 290k price tag i got lotsa better choice. Why Mitsi? Why Pajero? I think more people may prefer Vellfire.

• Modern 2 on Sep 24, 2010 at 2:16 am

You are comparing with a different catagory bro. Velfire not meant for off road at all

• flizzardo on Sep 27, 2010 at 3:09 am

are you serious?

comparing an off roader with a family MPV ?

• oomph on Sep 23, 2010 at 9:39 pm

this is targetted at very few customers who mostly dont have time to go offroading.

• Alamak on Sep 23, 2010 at 9:40 pm

With close to 300k might as well buy Audi Q5. Looks way better on the exterior and interior unless u tauke balak need to go into jungle haha

• korekkorekkorek on Sep 23, 2010 at 9:54 pm

what a designn…

exactly, with this price i might as well go for Audi Q5 or harrier …both looks at least 20 years ahead

• Korean on Sep 24, 2010 at 8:47 am

This is 3.8 V6. Q5 is a lame 4 cylinder inline.

• BeemerFreak on Sep 24, 2010 at 11:48 am

Test drive one before u start talking, the 4 cylinder 2.0TFSi in the Q5 is the best sounding 4 cylinder ever. In contrast the MIVEC sounds harsh and industrail which is very uncharateristic for a V6. U mau cantik punya V6 go hear what mercedes benz offer, thats true V6.

Rubbish statement from an empty vessel.

• Korean on Sep 24, 2010 at 7:11 pm

Audi salesman start to look down at people again. Please do not reply my post if you have nothing good to say. A 4 cylinder will be forever a 4 cylinder…like chicken no matter how hard it tries, it still a chicken never will be an eagle.

• 308thp on Sep 25, 2010 at 12:23 pm

4 cylinder sounds good? this is the funniest statement i ever heard.

V8 sounds good, V6 sounds smooth.

4 cylinder sounds…..like myvi. wakakakkakakakkaka. Unless its a turbo.

• E Bear on Sep 24, 2010 at 3:32 pm

Tauke balak already upgrade……now fly helicopter already.

Got Range Rover or Land Cruiser standby…lagi expensive.

• hangmedan on Sep 23, 2010 at 9:42 pm

wow!!! almost 290K? too expensive lorrr… it’s only cost you RM150,938.40 in Japan.. the price doubled here, fuhhhhhh…. check it out!
    http://www.batfa.com/new_car_mitsubishi_pajero.htm

• Alpha on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:09 pm

solution to ur problem : go to JAPAN.

• MoFaz on Sep 23, 2010 at 11:29 pm

it’s 3.5l man, and import tax for CBU cars for that monstrous cc is definitely high!

• same 30% import tax whether it 1.2 or 3.6cc…….the diff only duty tax which is max 105%

• 3008_bought on Sep 26, 2010 at 6:29 pm

as if you’re working in Mitsu or gomen la.

They also said they cannot take bribe right?

They also said court is justice right? Get real man. Law can be bended here.

• from my stupid calc pajero price is suppose RM372,953.93

rate 1 USD = 3.09300 MYR

Engine Capacity >2,500
      import duty 30%
      Excise Duties 105%
      Sales Tax 10% (if GST 4% only)

unit cost 3800cc . 5 doors . Gasoline = US$ 48,800 (Automatic gear only)
      Shipping cost = US$900
      Marine insurance = US$ 120

=US$ 48,800 + US$ 48,800(145/100) + US$900 + US$ 120

http://www.maa.org.my/info_duty.htm
      http://www.batfa.com/new_car_mitsubishi_pajero.htm
      http://www.xe.com/ucc/convert.cgi?Amount=120580&From=USD&To=MYR

• drMpower on Sep 23, 2010 at 9:42 pm

this is very butch looking. very man-ly.

i was so touched.

come to papa. come. come

• Roxas on Sep 23, 2010 at 9:44 pm

This thing rocks !!!
    I hope it get to rule the 4WD segment as before ~!

• theanswer on Sep 23, 2010 at 11:57 pm

with these version..definitely hard to say. they should put this in the market where everest, fortuner compete..but they already put pajero sports there. for 290k ppl already being brainwash with other brand such as harrier and cx7/9 or even x3. itoo late i guess. but still, a good suv..legendary.

• Mascular handsome guy off shore from japan ~ Oooo~~~~ !
    It retains the original design and combine with modern and futuristic design,,if you know how to view right and start appreciate what it gots ~.

• Alpha on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:11 pm

the price is even better than imagined.it’s a pajero.a true 4WD,not those imposters on the road today.it wasn’t even a fair comparison comparing it to Harrier,Q5 n such.it’s a true blue off roader.

• alxand@mitsubishi@ss2 on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:16 pm

as usual, basher…
    each modelk had it’s own targeted segment…
    this 1 def not aiming those who wants a cute sporty suv…
    a pajero is a pajero, where it goes the name sounds stronger than the brand itself,
    the legend is back, long live the legend,
    bit pricey, but in BULLEHland… WTdo….

• apamau on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:30 pm

Wow, RM290k is a good buy. as this is a different segment of car, we can’t really compare to Q5, this is really for those who want macho and off road. IF you know what i mean off road..

Well for the look, yes, agreed that it may need to be more stylish.

• navin on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:36 pm

5.1 theatre surround? wheres the screen?

• Jimmy on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:39 pm

If size does matter, this one is alang-alang.
    If look does matter, this one is alang-alang.
    Therefore, the price is also alang-alang.
    I mean not too overpriced, compared to the greedy recond car shops.
    300k, a lot of choices for good vehicles.
    Almost can buy 2 fortuners, if you don’t need some of the goodies.

• akupunya on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:55 pm

1. PROTON tak nak rebadge ke pajero ni???!!

2. Pajero ni dah obsolete design. the name can be remained, but the design i outdated.
    buang masa ja. better get VW SUV.

• shawal on Sep 23, 2010 at 11:34 pm

wahh, so friggin expensive, last time, you didnt have to be so rich/successful to own a pajero…..

• bohpee on Sep 23, 2010 at 11:36 pm

nice one.. but too pricey.

• theanswer on Sep 23, 2010 at 11:53 pm

some might say worth the price since the engine is big and a bit luxurious. but not the same pajero we used to see few years back where the price around 100-150k(not the pajero sports)..and ppl bpught it because it’s pajero..rugged..true off road capability and yet not that expensive. i cant see these pajero will be use as an off roader vehicle.

• The old pajeros used to be the main choice for govt departments.. especially in rural areas. With a 290k price tag, looks like govt officers have to look for other 4WD alternatives

• sham_azlan on Sep 24, 2010 at 6:27 am

Sarawak govt uses Toyota land Cruiser and this pajero model 2 years already….

• govt buy tax free kah ?

• if it tax free or not it does not important….y that G need to pay tax since the tax gonna be collected by them…it do not make sense rite..but i do now know it applicable to both federal n state

• sukasuki on Sep 30, 2010 at 12:30 pm

sarawak govt can issue its own AP, not get from Fed
        thats why swak govt uses japan imported 4WD as their fleet

• sorry i won’t buy it…looks so boring

• Lim Kopi on Sep 24, 2010 at 12:21 am

I just wonder who would buy this monstrous Jap at such a price, when u could top up a little bit more for an AUDI Q5 ???

• HirumaKecil on Sep 25, 2010 at 8:29 am

f*ck Q5.. This car not to fight Q5… That is why they have This Pajero and Pajero Sport… Pajero is 4×4, while Pajero sport is SUV with AWD… This Pajero is 4×4, not AWD.. Yes, they are same.. But why Mitsu call this car 4×4, and not AWD.. Coz to show how serious this Pajero is…. The power of 4×4.. The real super multipurpose car… You dun like… Ok.. Fine.. this car is not your type… How can u compare car that is not even for the same purpose… It just like you ask why people buy a range rover for rm800k… Why don;t they go for Porche Cayane… Can cayane go to the real jungle… No… Can Q7 do it??? Noooo….. Only Range Rover can do it… And this Pajero is for who admire a range rover, but with half of the budget of range rover…

• flizzardo on Sep 27, 2010 at 3:15 am

dont try to reason with this bashers that dont even have car license

they know nothing about automotive world

just talking rubbish about their imaginary cars

• Gajen on Sep 24, 2010 at 12:46 am

looks old…esp the interior…

• Andrew on Sep 24, 2010 at 1:32 am

240ps/329Nm from a 3.8 liter engine? kinda low for today’s standard = I think Mitsu is giving MY an old engine!

• rossi46 on Sep 24, 2010 at 4:30 pm

Agreed, weak engine…today 2.0 liter turbodiesel can easily get 390nm torque…X5 3.0 diesel can get 500nm…wt that price tag, and if wanna use for off-roading…better get a Discovery diesel…more power, less fuel consumption & lower co2 (greener)

• the whole world get the same Cyclone V6 engine….6G75 3.8 V6 petrol…4M41 3.2 Di-D diesel not available to us n 6G72 3.0 V6 only available in japan n certain market

• handsome*dude on Sep 24, 2010 at 3:11 am

Oh~~ so gorgeous! the ladies… especially the second from left~!

• Mt7812 on Sep 24, 2010 at 7:16 am

Why they keep the name ‘Pajero’?

‘Pajero’ is a very rude spanish word, this is why Mitsubishi renamed the car for spanish speaking markets:

http://chameleon-translations.com/Index-Companies-pajero.shtml

• JonLing on Sep 24, 2010 at 9:24 am

I think Pajero has become a legendary name in many parts of the world, so it’s wise for them not to change the name into something else, especially when they claimed that they derived the name from a feline. We have not that many spanish speaking people here in the region anyway. But of course, this wasn’t the case for Americas and Spain, so they have to change the name somehow to avoid misunderstanding.

• azrai on Sep 24, 2010 at 7:57 am

A luxury off roader it seems to be.

• sranua on Sep 24, 2010 at 8:06 am

Beauty and the beast..anyway last time Pajero is main transport for Govt. offive especially at district area…then Ford Everest and X-Trail.
    New pajero with prices like this even with tax being removed..don’t think any Govt. Office can afford it.

• Rizal on Sep 24, 2010 at 9:08 am

government can’t afford to buy it? ….. gov can buy anything la

• E Bear on Sep 24, 2010 at 3:25 pm

Totally agree with Rizal, govt already have nice private jets, choppers, this one ok lah.

• Gov can la or high ranking gov offcr can la but normal gov officer cant really afford eg science officer, pegawai takbir, pegawai pelajarn, headmaster etc

• 308thp on Sep 25, 2010 at 12:32 pm

why would those low ranking officer buying this kind of car? they only need a motor cycle. get real. how many ppl in the world can afford this kind of car, even in japan.
          its cheaper in japan, but what kind of ppl will buy?

just like s class in germany is cheap, but its still driven by the very rich ppl. understand? its not like a poor bloke in msia can go uk and start driving a new audi despite its cheap, becos there are evenb cheaper car than audi such as.,..a toyota, or a kia….

• flizzardo on Sep 27, 2010 at 3:17 am

exactly

only in malaysia too many average joes dreaming to drive expensive cars and blaming the government for something they cant afford

thats why now many tied up and working their asses to pay off their loan

• 6 months later Proton rebadge it as Proton Montero 4WD at RM150K price undercut everyone from Captiva to Fortuner.

Nice girls models there hmmm but Mitsu should bring Chyna WWE as the promo model – tough girl drives big SUV (but girly man drives sissy RAV4 or CRV).

• The lady model (on right) looks like from Mongolia…Hmmmm! (http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=mitsubishi-pajero-malaysian-launch&image=dsc_0743b.jpg)

• Mata2 on Sep 24, 2010 at 8:57 am

Jeep, Hummer, Land Rover, Land Cruisher and Pajero are the legends therefore, everybody maintained the design cue and their offroad prowess. The rest offroders are just plain for city people and who do not appreciate the legends.

• 7 seater ?

• Not-Soul-Uncle on Sep 24, 2010 at 9:22 am

“go-anywhere ability with luxury”, sounds like fun, when will Jimmy Choo make some shoes for us uncles to climb Mont KK.

• Maserati on Sep 24, 2010 at 9:48 am

Too exp for this piece of junk. Who in the right mind wud spend this kinda money on this.

• acerman on Sep 24, 2010 at 10:15 am

Mitsubishi Pajero. The first ever 4×4 that come to my mind when I’m was in the childhood years. This car should be a classic.

• Syafiq Syukri Ghani on Sep 24, 2010 at 11:00 am

Thanks To Paultan….

Mitsubishi Pajero Is Returns

• RM 280K ++ on the road , I’ll rather go for a Volkswagen Tiguan or Audi Q5 .. wonders how is their 4WD system works.. there seems to be no auto mode. I would prefer Acura’s SH-AWD technology which is far more superior.

• 308thp on Sep 25, 2010 at 12:32 pm

acura cant sell. dont be funny.

• Acura sell fairly well, that is because it is only available in US and China. But its SH-AWD technology beats Audi’s Quattro, Volkswagen 4 motion, and even Subaru’s 4WD system. The new ZDX would sell like mad if they would only mass produce and sell it most part in the world.

• HirumaKecil on Sep 28, 2010 at 10:45 am

This car for sure much2 more better than tiguan ar q5… If you worry about the 4WD system, then this is just like you tell us that you talk about this car without any knowledge about this car.. Actually, this pajero did;t need superior AWD or something like that.. Because Pajero is weel known for its 4×4 ability… It can easily go to extreme place like jungle, sahara, super muddy road and even can cross a river… Just like we know, even the 1st generation Pajero 4×4 system also is much more better than other suv in extreme surface.. It can easily go to the place that even rx 350 and Q7 cannot go at all… So for this new Pajero, for sure the system 4×4 system that it has is much more better than the old Pajero.. So, we can say that this 4×4 system for sure much2 more practical and efficient than what acura have in their car.. I’m not saying that Pajero 4×4 system is better than Acura AWD system… But it is more efficient and flexible for its purpose… Coz thiz car more likely will be use as transportation in ‘jalan balak’ or construction side or place like that… And at the same time can be use for balik kampung or bring family to cuti2 malaysia.. So we did not to buy Nissan Navara and the Lexus rx 350 at the same time, becoz we can buy a car that can cover the function for both of the car..

• sukasuki on Sep 30, 2010 at 12:41 pm

all people keep saying 4WD and AWD is the same
          but its not
          the difference is CENTRAL LOCK DIFFERENTIAL
          if u r the 4WD hardcore user then u will know what this means
          but for me, the best 4WD will be Land Cruiser HDJ80 (luxury but use axle in front and rear for real grip of shaft), Range Rover Classic (slow on the road, but awesome on offroad, seriously comfort) and Merc G class (1st come with CENTRAL, FRONT AND REAR DIFFERENTIAL LOCK selectable)
          SUV uses AWD which is all wheel drive driven but with differential
          if u driving on the muddy road, differential will get ur car stuck in the mud because of the differential thingy
          in order to get more grip of the tyre, differential must be locked for the tyre can distribute equal power each
          xpaham, tanya sama kdai 4WD apa itu differential lock

• mirror mirror on Sep 24, 2010 at 11:48 am

In my line of work i go off-road everyday, but i will never drive this baby off road, it is too expensive.

I think this model will appeal to those who are thinking of buying a second hand Toyota Land Cruiser.

• Well have u been to a real construction site buddy? U will be surprise to know that
      most of the big timers drive porsche cayanne for site meeting and inspection.

• HirumaKecil on Oct 16, 2010 at 1:04 pm

construction site at KL boleh la … Only 1km offroad from the aspalt… Try to go to bukit or sawah area… there will be no Porsche there… only pajero,parado,navara,hilux,ranger,talcoline???,and trooper…

• BeemerFreak on Sep 24, 2010 at 11:50 am

New cars for the Police Force and Local councils again? Pajero was famous for being used by the army too. There goes the tax payers money.

• pultat on Sep 24, 2010 at 11:54 am

Very old styling..perhaps the old uncles will have a trip back in time with this…only good for off roading…other than that Q5 or any other SUV beats it hands down..

• paultan.org on Sep 24, 2010 at 12:48 pm

i prefer third gen Pajero….

• Anti Proton on Sep 24, 2010 at 1:23 pm

a little too late perhaps?

• Tiadaid on Sep 24, 2010 at 1:47 pm

A friend of my mum from the UK once asked her this question:

“Do you really need those big SUV in Malaysia?”

Nuff said.

• Yes , when come to running down mat rempits on the road who wanna kill you. LOL

• hahahaha on Sep 25, 2010 at 9:02 am

well, in East Malaysia.

• wowowww on Sep 25, 2010 at 4:39 pm

wow…your mum’s friend is so superior!!!from uk eh…
      summore know so much bout cars and Malaysia…
      I envy you…=(

• Tiadaid on Sep 26, 2010 at 12:27 am

Sarcasm aside, she do have a point. Despite all the holes on the road, it’s not bad enough to warrant an offroader. Big engine, guzzle fuel, and a lot of those SUV, from my observation are driven by people whose family can just as easily be transported in a 4-door luxury salon. Lets face it, more often than not, SUVs are bought not because of need, but because of status symbol.

• wowowww on Sep 26, 2010 at 12:27 pm

Nola….try visit any construction site bro…there are thousands of them in Malaysia going on and we seriously need this monster…
          these monster are needed to build your country….those Q5,x1 or whatever small 4×4 wannabe can’t really perform 50% in offroad….
          try visiting one and you’ll know…it worth any cents from your wallet…
          so…do uk need any of these monster?

• tiadaidblur on Sep 26, 2010 at 12:37 pm

you sounded like a small kid….Malaysia needs alot of these cars…

• HirumaKecil on Oct 16, 2010 at 1:21 pm

What fuel guzzler??? Those who buy this Pajero still worried about fuel consumption ka??? They dun care la…. someone have viva, then he borrow someone Pajero, then he will worried about fc…. For the pajero owner, that is not a problem.. coz they can afford it… Kamon la… if we use viva, just think about our viva fc, if we use volvo, just think about our volvo… i’m using 2.0 Peugeot, so i only think about my Peugeot fc… The other car fc does not effect our money… only our car will effect our pocket.. Ikut taraf hidup la… orang kalo pakai viva, pastu naik gen2, mesti dia risau pasal minyak, sebab taraf hidup dia sesuai untuk minyak viva je… bagi yg naik perdana pulak, kalo naik gen2, dia xkan rasa apa2, sebab taraf hidup dia lain… Kesimpulannya, kita beli kereta, ikutlah kemampuan diri sendiri…. Kalau kita mampu pakai kancil, pakai la kancil, jgn nak beli waja, Kalau kita mampu pakai mercedes beli la mercedes… Memang la kalau ikutkan hati, semua orang nak beli kereta idaman hati… Tapi kita kena la ukur baju di badan sendiri.. memang la x fair, tapi ni la hakikat dunia… Yg jadi masaalah ni bila orang yg sepatutnya pakai Kancil, xnak pakai kancil, dia pi beli
          spectra… tu yg jadi masaalah tu.. Sebab terlalu ikut nafsu… Xsalah kita pakai kancil, kereta jugak. selamat jugak kalo drive baik2… Hujan x basah… Kalau rasa sempit tu beli la kereta lain, tapi harga biarla dalam lingkungan kancil… Beli la Wira 1.3 seconghand.., kos servis pon x lari jauh, fc pon x lari jauh.. Kalo bagi alasan, orang lain naik kereta selesa, kita pon nak jugak… tapi kena la pikir, kita hidup bukan dalam kereta… kalo dalam kereta ja selesa, tapi tido malam x lena pikir bayar kereta ngan duit minyak, x guna jugak..

• rexis on Sep 24, 2010 at 1:52 pm

Wat? Just launched? I already seen this piece of heavy metal on the street, two days ago!

• wowowww on Sep 24, 2010 at 2:01 pm

so many sour grapes again….oh well…

• Lim Kopi on Sep 24, 2010 at 2:53 pm

Honestly PEOPLE, would you pay almost RM300k for a MITSUBISHI ??

Especially when SUVs like Volvo XC60, Nissan Murano, BMW X1 or AUDI Q5 is not that far away …

think about this …

And for what they did to Lancer owners with the upcoming WAJA , who knows about the Pajero later on eh?

• I would pay for that knowing that when the warranty expires i m rest assured to obtain spart part that is not expensive from local chop shop. Wherelse a bmwx1 or and audi Q5, i will be a mad cow when come to the same problem. Think about it. Loook the long term buddy. U can see from the previous models they are built to last.
      Waja Lancer wont be having a 2.0 engine. So Lancer owners dont have to be worried.
      U wanna 2.0 go for lancer if cant afford go for 1.8.. simple ma!

• oomph on Sep 24, 2010 at 7:42 pm

there’s always halfcut for 2.0 lancer engine! haha.
        soon you’ll see no difference between mitsu and proton lancer.

• i think it will be pretty hard to sell over here due to the price tag vs the inside out look…

as for the XC60, X1, Murano etc spare parts concern, i don’t think people who can afford ~300k car will worry much about it as they can afford…..

• Lim Kopi on Sep 27, 2010 at 3:55 pm

Vnos …

Valid point on parts but , MITSUBISHI ain’t exactly popular hence the parts isn’t exactly as abundant as Toyota or Honda …. so parts wise is probably only MARGINALLY better (though i have no evidence on how good it is)

and also like what hmmm says, the type of people whom can afford 300k car wouldn’t exactly worry about price of parts later on. As u may know, everything can actually be ordered nowadays…

I still think Pajero shouldn’t be priced that high, though its really fault of taxes …. Pajero isn’t exactly premium hence should not have a premium pricetag

• Alamak on Sep 25, 2010 at 2:59 pm

New waja will have 2.0 model too

• those SUV not off road ready…pajero not for mass but niche market

• flizzardo on Sep 27, 2010 at 3:20 am

lol comparing x1 a pointless car with pajero

you really should stop surfing around automotive blogs and continue with your street race blogs

• bryan.jones on Sep 24, 2010 at 3:15 pm

when the sales figure not really good, maybe can rebadge.

• E Bear on Sep 24, 2010 at 3:22 pm

Finally, a true 4WD Pajero.

Good for oil palm n developer towkays, CEOs,COOs, Directors, YB that visit the site once in a bluuuuue mooooon.

It looks competitive beside the imported Land Cruisers which have even larger engines.

These are hardy vehicles which shine in mud, steep and uneven terrain.

• PakAbu on Sep 27, 2010 at 10:28 am

Yeah…. true… true…

But lots of commenters here don’t see that way. *sigh* :roll:

Guys, this is a “show-off” real 4×4. They may not use it off-road that often to justify the price. But image wise, when you really need to take the big shots for “lawatan”, this expensive chunk of metal can pull it off. With style.

For real works, they use second-hand 4x4s lah…

To scare off mats rempit, you have Navara, Everest,… etc etc…

To show off to your neighbours…. get a Murano etc…..

Choices…. man…. choices…..

• Pikomon on Sep 28, 2010 at 6:56 am

Yb don’t use Mitsubishi la.Yb use Toyota if want to go offroad.A lot of them using Land Cruiser 100series or 200series and Toyota Fortuner 2.7V.Even today tauke balak don’t buy Mitsubishi la,the use Range Rover Supercharged or Toyota Land Cruiser 200series man…From 290k what will the price be after 5years?

• some of the comments sounds like made by mitsu salesman. how can anyone agree to such ridiculous pricing, either you a hardcore mitsu fan or plain stupid. there are better and more efficient suv in the same price range. somemore the whole seems abit dino to me. GOTCHA MITSU SALESMAN!

• Danny Tan (Member) on Sep 24, 2010 at 5:53 pm

Cars are expensive in Malaysia, that’s a fact which can be applied to all.

Have you considered the prices of other SUVs and crossovers with similarly large engines? The Mazda CX-9, Nissan Murano and Lexus RX350 are all well above RM300K.

• flizzardo on Sep 27, 2010 at 3:22 am

and they cant even perform well in offroad

whereas this pajero can

• rossi46 on Sep 24, 2010 at 4:34 pm

look like a modified Unser ; ) from the back…hehehehe

• JonLing on Sep 24, 2010 at 4:44 pm

Started to appreciate the looks of new Pajero, and I have to say the spec that is coming to Malaysia looking quite good, both externally and internally. The added “bodykit and side guards” (dunno what to call them) does really add some luxury and muscular feel to the look. Just hope that MMM may consider to import a less expensive and perhaps diesel version of it, then I think many people’s Pajero dream will be fulfilled……..I think diesel version will be a very attractive alternative to its potential buyers too, just look at how many Toyota Land Cruiser VX on the road and you know what I mean.

• artworkz on Sep 24, 2010 at 5:06 pm

the 2nd gen pajero has more good looking especially the japan CBU model

• ah yat on Sep 24, 2010 at 9:57 pm

this pajero sucks… uglier than before, the front looks very depressing, just look at the logo, like the sick darth vader, over design… buy a vw passat, s80 better with that money…i like the models, they are cute…

• 3008_bought on Sep 25, 2010 at 2:06 am

u are salesman comes here to promote your brand??

look at the 3.8 liter also you know that this is targetting Land cruiser and range rover la.

you pervert.

• JonLing on Sep 25, 2010 at 8:25 am

come on lah brader, this is a full size SUV u r talking about. VW Passat and S80 are all family size passenger cars lah……..SUV and passenger cars are different, know?

anyway, i think this car will be doing quite well here in East Malaysia, especially, with right promotional campaigns. Even some “softer” SUV’s like CX-9 are selling quite well here, without many ads and promotions, not to mention more expensive than Pajero, so i think this Pajero can do even better.

• namewee on Sep 25, 2010 at 12:36 am

The Pajero looks a bit low and has a low stance.

• Why no diesel? Petrol engine suck!

• Nick C on Sep 25, 2010 at 4:02 am

Aiyo…the looks so boring. Price too high. Really wan to go off-road with this?? Sure boh!!
    But watever it is, at least there is a now another new options for Mitsu fans and us. (Unlike some brands that are still offering the same thing for past few years…eg. Isuzu. What other besides Double Cabin & Single Cabin?) At least, we are now spoilt with more choices, $$ is another issue…Hehehe!!

• hahahaha on Sep 25, 2010 at 8:59 am

if i were to choose this beween the 2010 Prado, which is better ?

• HirumaKecil on Sep 25, 2010 at 9:01 am

This is not SUV… SUV is not offroader car… Just to belagak at Bukit Bintang only… X5 cannot beat this Pajero in offroad track… Cayene cannot beat this Pajero in jungle… This car is for who like the real 4×4… Just like Jeep and Range Rover…. How can an SUV which put their spare tyre under the car, next to the exhoust pipe want to change the tyre in jungle and extremely mud or Sahara sand.. The tyre stuck under the car oredi meh… This is the right car for that place… The owner will even equips this Pajero with win cable in front and at the back… PLEASE… DON’T compare this Pajero with fake AWD ‘car’ out there… This is the real and serious 4×4…. This is not SHOW OFF car.. This is the true OFF ROAD King… Of coz u can easyly get cheaper SUV which is better looking and faster than this Pajero… Volvo xc90 is superb.. Go for that SUV… But this Pajero has its owned fan…. People who like this Pajero will not ‘pandang’ even ‘sebelah mata’ for ather SUV like harrier and Q5 or something like that…

• Luv d 2nd gal frm left…she’s hot!!!!!!!!

• rageaccel2 on Sep 25, 2010 at 12:39 pm

why not V6 DOHC? i think DOHC is better in term of power delivery.

• I’m a purist – I would buy it….

• now that we have the petrol, MMC,-

PLEASE BRING IN THE DIESEL!!!!!!

look at the sales of the TRITON SPORT 2.5L, the responces is phenominal.
    waiting list bah…… not hard to figure out and its not rocket science,
    we need 7 seaters for family trips, on and off road.

• Anonymous on Sep 26, 2010 at 12:01 am

nice interior minus da faux wood-trim. shud’ve thm replaced with real aluminium

• Mr Wancer on Sep 26, 2010 at 2:38 am

SOHC has better torque duh…

• Mr Wancer on Sep 26, 2010 at 2:41 am

Us East M’sians don’t look @ Cayenne, Q5 or XC90…why?? Because it is useless offroad..

The true 4×4 offroader’s is Land Cruiser, Pajero, Prado, Range Rover, Land Rover, Trooper..

Only 4×4 wannabe’s will choose Cayenne. Real man would choose Land Cruiser or Range Rover…

• hazamiey on Sep 26, 2010 at 6:12 am

This SUV is intended to be a true-blue off-roader while at the same time cocooned the pilot and passengers in a luxury ambience cabin. I don’t think it will be a direct competitor to other soft-roaders such as Audi Q5/Q7, BMW X1/X3, Mazda CX7/9, Porsche Cayennes, Toyota Harrier, VW Tiguan, etc. Only certain models from these brands stand out to be capable off-roaders such as X5, Touareg.

The closest competitor to this Pajero would be the Land Rover Disco, which is priced over RM400k. Of course, other continental SUVs do include more bells and whistles compared to Japanese SUVs, but for under RM300k, you will get an off-road ready SUV without spending more to a get a really capable SUV.

If we look deeper into the market, and if we are a true motoring enthusiast, we can notify the presence of this model to fill the gap between city-driving-SUV and hardcore 4X4. There are people who would go off-road when needed, and no surprise if common SUVs couldn’t do the rough job, but at the same time we don’t need a Land Rover Defender which is not comfortable to ferry big bosses to a project site. So only some SUVs left like the X5, Discovery and Touareg, and these machines are not cheap. As an alternative, people will again go for this model, the new Pajero.

Don’t simply bash this model because of its awkward look. It may retain the Spartan design cues to resemble its hidden capability. For those youngsters out there or common-minded Malaysians, Pajero has contributed a lot in developing our country. It is one of the most practical vehicle (other than Toyota Land Cruiser, Isuzu Citation) that ferries engineers, surveyors, architects during the 90s where a lot of constructions running at that time. It was the glorious moment for these vehicle to meet the demand of building skyscrapers that decorates our major cities, opening new area and clearing rural grounds to build famous residential area (where you can now live happily while browsing this paultan website), and buildings major roads and super highways where only then the soft-roader-city-driving SUVs can survive with.

Try to browse in the net and look how soft-roaders perform in tough environment. I’ve seen a lot of test made by journalists, including those bad boys from TopGear, and it is true that most soft-roaders could not work in harsh environment, and it ends up they just damaging the suspension systems and transaxle.

I think it is not fair to simply bash this model and idiotically comparing it with other soft-roader-city-driving SUVs that always end up become a mom’s taxi. Those common SUVs are built for people who prefer elevated driving position, and love something that is bigger than a car so that they can haul anything including their kids, household goods, and even shopping bags. It is not meant for off-road even though it has 4WD DNA. That is why some manufacturers already throw the 4WD system and choose only 2WD system (like what happened to Nissan Xtrail recently) as they know most of the time, the vehicle would not make it into any uncivilized environment.

The Pajero is competing in a niche market, and there would be some few people (with a bit thick pocket) who will spend their money for something that is luxury, rugged and practical. This is a CBU model, and I don’t think MMM will having problem selling this model as it will not be imported in large numbers.

I am not an MMM salesman. I’m a hardcore sportbike lover and only interested in attacking chicane. I don’t give a damn on big, sluggish SUVs or other off-roading 4WD meaner and with that RM300k, I would rather go for Lotus Exige. I’m leaving this comment just to appreciate the uniqueness of the SUV and the heritage it has driven from the last decades. I think MMM has done a good job by bringing this model back. It is never too late for them, because it is targeted only for niche market. Give it any stratospheric price tag, and there are Malaysians who can afford to buy supercars, hypercars and other unimagined luxurious stuffs.

• Lim Kopi on Sep 27, 2010 at 4:01 pm

Valid point there …

but still …. RM300k for a mitsubishi ?

• HirumaKecil on Sep 27, 2010 at 9:29 pm

yes.. why not?? Evo for 300k is ok… This is better … It is bigger than evo… Practical than evo.. Safe than evo… Tough than evo… Have bigger engine than evo.. Luxury than evo… Spacious than evo… confortable than evo… powerfull than evo.. yes evo is faster and have better handling.. but in extreme surface, no doubt that evo will be towed by this car… Hahaha.. i will choose this car compare to bmw3 series or lexus rx 350…

• same pajero model in Aussie….
    down under in Aussie this model is a hot seller…has been there for the past 3-4 years now..

• If really want to go off road, get ur self a double cab, put the spare tyre in the bucket and change the tyre to MT. then go off road, don’t have to get ur self a SUV for off road.

This pajero is legendary, but other makers have make their SUV more luxury and more techy than this pajero. I’ll take the prado over this.

For me,the king of 4×4 is still the legendary Land Cruiser 70 series.

• Ah Fook on Sep 26, 2010 at 3:29 pm

I would love go behind it’s wheel.. drive from KL to Russia.
    Just need to make sure it has a heater installed. :)

• Adee Dede on Sep 27, 2010 at 3:18 pm

Haiyooo….I like It Veryy Much and Rely Rely Beutiful Pajero Butt..wooo…
    Toooo Xpensive lah…….Dont want to imagine to buy such things like
    this…Sory…..Its my tipe but tooooo….xpensive…..

• This is the only Japanese 4×4 that retains its design since the 1st generation. Truly a legend. My dad still drives his Pajero that was purchased in 1986! Still going strong!

• Imran on Nov 21, 2010 at 9:47 pm

Test drove the 3.5L V6 full specs in Abu Dhabi..
    10 airbags, sonar sensor, 12 speakers Rockford, Bluetooth telephone connection, leather seats & sun roof… etc.. etc.. 4WD super select at max speed of 100km/h..

It’s a true 4×4, competing with Toyota Prado, Nissan Pathfinder and Ford Explorer.. interior finishing is first rated compared the Made In Indonesia Fortuner…

Also tested on the desert…. flawless and very capable… unlike… SUVs ie Ford, Flex, CX9, XC90, X5, X6, Q5, Q7, etc which will never find their ways in the desert or dirt track.. they are way too soft… – thats why they are called Soft roader AWD (Sports Utility Vehicles)..

wonderful ride and value for money at Dhs100k = RM80k…but at RM290k in malaysia and expensive yearly road tax… then maybe not so attractive..

• keluangman on Nov 22, 2010 at 9:41 am

I just loved this Pajero. Wished I can afford it…

• mirror mirror on Dec 30, 2010 at 3:01 pm

Just spoke to salesman, the consumption is rated at 40 – 50 sen per km, MMM should bring in the diesel one.