Toyota Corolla Altis launched – RM106K to RM132K!

UPDATE: Official images of all variants added!

You’ve heard about it, seen the pictures, and have read TWO test drive reports from us – and now the facelifted Toyota Corolla Altis is officially launched. UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) president Kuah Kock Heng rolled back the cloth at the company’s Subang 3S Centre minutes ago.

For a minor change (Toyota speak for facelift), the Altis features extensive changes which include new drivetrains across the board and a new 2.0-litre range topper. The CBU from Thailand range starts from a 1.6E (RM105,990), 1.8E (RM112,990), 1,8G (RM122,990) to the RM131,990 2.0V. Prices are on the road including insurance.

The ZZ series of engines have been replaced by the ZR range, which have twin cams, 16 valves and most significantly, Dual VVT-i. Compared to the ZZ series, the new engines feature, among other things, a roller rocker arm for the valve mechanism, diagonal squish combustion chamber, thin and long reach spark plugs, shell type exhaust manifold, resin long port intake manifold and much reduced friction.

Figures are up. The 1.6-litre has 120 PS and 154 Nm (up by 11 PS/9 Nm), the 1.8-litre has 140 PS and 173 Nm (up by 8 PS/3 Nm) while the new 2.0-litre model gets 147 PS and 187 Nm of torque from a relatively low 3,600 rpm. It’s interesting to note that while the Civic 2.0 has 1 Nm more at 188 Nm, it’s made almost 1,000 rpm higher at 4,500 rpm. In any case, the 2.0V gives good performance, as we found out over test drives on the road and track. The 1.8 and 2.0 have Acoustic Control Induction System (ACIS), a variable intake manifold system that works to optimise power/torque throughout the rev range.

The smallest engine sticks with a 4-speed auto, but 1.8 and 2.0 variants get Toyota’s Super CVT-i gearbox. This stepless transmission has seven virtual ratios in a manual mode, and the 2.0’s three-spoke flat bottomed steering wheel has shift paddles. Toyota claims improved fuel economy – the new 1.8 is 15% more frugal, while the 1.6 should be 10% less thirsty than before. An ECO indicator light is a new feature that motivates you to drive efficiently. The Optitron meters in the 1.8G and 2.0V feature another ECO bar display in the trip computer.

No major reconstruction, but the Altis’ looks are now sharper and more Camry-like. The 2.0V gets a single bar grille in dark grey to differentiate it from the chrome double bar unit on the others. The range topper also gets HID headlamps with smoked lenses. Inside, dark wood trim with matte finish replaces shiny wood in the 1.8G and 2.0V, while the seat fabric design is new in the other models.

Click here for the review. Full specs and images after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1527]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1520]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• niuhje on Sep 23, 2010 at 12:10 pm

did i hear somebody say OVERPRICED?? Word up!!

• The Loner on Sep 23, 2010 at 12:51 pm

You want some, here are some:

Price after excise duty & sales tax deduction (excluding UMW profit margin):
      2.0V –> RM69500
      1.8G –> RM66500
      1.8E –> RM61000
      1.6E –> RM57300

• So the Goverment makes a hugh part of it . The bank also makes a hugh part of it.
        The tol operation also make a huge profit. All now is change whats need to be change.

• rosdi on Sep 23, 2010 at 3:02 pm

VeeDub can sell reasonably priced Polo and Golf here (and with much better engine to boot), why can’t Toyota?.

• alibaba on Sep 23, 2010 at 6:21 pm

Because there a lot of suckers willing to pay for ‘exclusivity’ for the T on their bonnet.

• nofairworld on Sep 24, 2010 at 9:55 am

All non-national car price are over-priced (not only T). This is because of the ridiculous high tax. For a non-national car price, almost 50% of the money we are paying to government. Therefore, no matter it is T, H, N or whatever brand of the non-national cars – as long as non-national cars, we are paying a lot of tax (which included in the car price) to the government. Reason of the high tax is told to be used to protect local automotive industry, but in my opinion, government has to consider to gradually open the market for local made cars to compete with other car maker in an fair international platform in order for local player to improve efficiency and quality. It is a long way to go but it seems a lack of roadmap at the moment.

• Any User on Oct 04, 2010 at 4:05 pm

: )

It has long long been the dream of many a Malaysian car enthusiast that he/she may live to see that mythical day when the high taxes originally intended to temporarily shelter the local car industry would finally be done away with.

Unfortunately the cruel fact is that, based on how the Malaysian government derives its revenue to pay its many many civil servants as well as various astronomically priced projects, there is no conceivable method of reducing the taxes on foreign vehicles without a corresponding increase of revenue from some other source whether through taxation or otherwise to make up for the shortfall that would result from reduced vehicular taxation.

For the foreseeable future there is no real prospect of vehicle taxes coming down without some other increase that would affect the amount of disposable income available to the ordinary citizen. Already we have seen the government has yet again increased the price of cigarettes in an attempt to increase revenue generation from that section of the populace who, largely, will be unable to kick the addictive habit of smoking.

The only viable option of owning a dream car within your lifetime if you were to remain in Malaysia would be to:
            1) get very rich very fast;
            2) formulate an investment plan that would generate returns in a relatively valuable foreign currency (seeing as to how the Malaysian ringgit needs to remain at relatively low levels to maintain/entice foreign direct investment whilst our economic transformation plans pan out, probably in a generation’s time to equate to the time needed for a sufficiently educated workforce to develop); else
            3) emigrate in search of employment in a country with policies more favourable to car ownership…but there’s no guarantee you’ll like the country you’re working in.

: )

Good luck my dear countrymen.

• alldisc on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:32 pm

look at those figures!!

if government remove private-owned car taxes, ppl will buy this altis or civic instead of persona.

govt should continue tax the spare parts though… this was, with one small accident a car can be writen-off. just like in UK – cheap cars, expensive parts.

• Tiadaid on Sep 23, 2010 at 5:42 pm

You sure? Don’t forget, Proton cars are taxed too. Plus Persona Elegance Highline offers more in terms of features compared to the 1.6 Altis. Who buys THAT model? Might as well add some more money get the Peugeot 308 Turbo.

As for the taxation of spare parts I have to ask you this, do you want to see Malaysian roads filled with cars on the side of the road not functioning because people can’t afford to maintain their cars? In the long run changing cars often will cost you more than if you periodically maintain your car in good working order! I prefer cheap parts.

• BOYRACER on Sep 23, 2010 at 11:57 pm

I prefer cheap parts too.In UK the cost of labour is very high.Spare parts not so.

• I am not sure if national cars still have fifty percent of excise tax rebate. If we assume they still have, then a Persona H-line, if taxed in the same way as Vios and Altis, will have a retail price of 70k MYR. It will continue to be cheaper than an equivalent Vios, and certainly still cheaper than Altis.

• babyboy on Sep 24, 2010 at 4:07 pm

^^Haha… very funny la your thinking…

How the gov can survive without excise duty & tax?

How can gov develop this country if gov no income?

From the tax payer?

Huh! Not all people out there pay their tax…

It same to the business, is it have a business sold something with cost price? how they pay worker? How to growth?

Who know that businessman charge us with high profit margin? But we still buy it… Think its…

However, it is good for government to lower their excise duty & tax to make sure
          buyer have more option to buy a car^^.

• where did u get that figure?

• putarbelit on Sep 24, 2010 at 10:04 am

if follow these price regime, banks will allow a max 3 yrs installment plan only ; 10% int as per 30 yrs ago , 10% d/payment , the monthly installment should be around 1800… hmmm

• i love the car altis 2.0V. i’m going to buy it.

• haidir on Sep 23, 2010 at 4:47 pm

great! now jap make car also start to equip traction control in their car sold in msia . so we r 10 years behind i think than euro bcoz all jap make car equiped with TC/TRC in EDM.

of course GM, US car maker (chevy, Ford) is the 1st to sell their C-segment car with TC in M’sia. e.g. cruize n fiesta

• Haidir on Sep 24, 2010 at 11:25 am

oops this 2.0V and 1.8G also equiped with VSC + TRC.

TRC=TC= traction control
        VSC=ESC=ESP= electronic stability control

• Ah Pek on Sep 23, 2010 at 12:16 pm

No sexy girls during launching !!!
    This car confirmed for Uncle only !!!

• cynical on Sep 23, 2010 at 1:52 pm

Can you prescribe me something to keep me awake? Because I’m getting sleepy looking at these boring pics. Yaaaaawn…

• There is a cross button on the top right corner… hehehe..

• Armchair critiquer.. on Sep 24, 2010 at 8:46 am

You want a can that’s a head turner everytime? Get any one of these..
        http://images.businessweek.com/ss/09/10/1028_50_ugliest_cars_of_past_50_years/index.htm

• Jimmy on Sep 23, 2010 at 12:17 pm

HID headlamp on a normal halogen/non-projector headlamp?

wont that be illegal?

• budin on Sep 23, 2010 at 3:15 pm

for 2.0 model it using a D2R type of reflector which is for HID usage… same like honda CIVIC 2.0 and type R.. the reflector is totally different from halogen reflector..

• You’ll get AUTO LEVELLING Bi-xenon with Mazda3!!

What an overpriced damn car is this!!

• theanswer on Sep 23, 2010 at 8:06 pm

mazda 3 still the best looking car and spec in this category.

• babyboy on Sep 24, 2010 at 4:13 pm

All factory made was approved by JPJ.

• Yalor…only 4 pensioner.
    Civic steering is the best design more gud looking

• demio121 on Sep 23, 2010 at 12:25 pm

the spec sheet is pretty awesome for the new engine. I wish for a more exciting external sheet metal.

I think its overprice. CBU from Thailand costing more than the Lancer from Japan..!!!

• bluetravler on Sep 23, 2010 at 12:32 pm

The tail lights really bad looking. What gives? 1st Mer, now Toyota. Even my old and sold, 1st gen Altis tail light look better than this.

• Bet more ppl look look see see only… and talk this and that everywhere…

How many ppl would actually buy among say 1,000 visitors? Toyota supporters/non-supporters? Whatever.

Enthusiast will buy it even without a test-drive. The rest will be speculators/comparer talking about all sort of same old story about overprice, badge, resale value, service, all over again like the test drive forum.

• sepak @ss on Sep 23, 2010 at 1:45 pm

hello @ss lubang………this is a car forum la…….of cos we will talk about ‘same old story about overprice, badge, resale value, service, all over again like the test drive forum’…..

• sham_azlan on Sep 23, 2010 at 1:59 pm

org bodoh komen pon bodoh

• tianshi on Sep 23, 2010 at 5:00 pm

like i said earlier, though expected but still surprised to see that so many pple come here just purely to complain and downgrade toyota, but none are able to buy even just the cheapest level of Altis.

So, the conclusion is – cheap Proton Lancer are able to stimulate these sour grape’s sourness to the sour’est !

• OPENMIND on Sep 23, 2010 at 11:45 pm

that’s the problem, they think that they are the one who can afford 100k+ car…come on and wake, i had 3 cars and all of them more than 100k+ and none is toyota….why because it is just expensive and not value for money…and lastly very boring…..

sorry…dont meant to be rude, but really cant stand this sort of comment.

Having said that, despite i dont really buy toyota car…i still admire them for their ability to build sucha reputation. ….

• babyboy on Sep 24, 2010 at 4:41 pm

P1/P2 owner want toyota,

toyota owner want bmw,

small car owner want big car,

big car owner want luxury car,

never ending

• isslah on Sep 23, 2010 at 12:39 pm

hahaha..corolla..what a legendary name for that time..but now..you are famous just for the uncle..yes..you can market the car for the uncle group..but please la..it does not mean you market the car for uncle so the design must be ‘uncle’.

Come on, wake up toyota..u are a big name but come out something like that.. If u still with this design language..i’m pretty sure the volks,hyundai, and kia will replace your spot one day..make design that ‘voila’ everybody..show them your true potential.. please..i’m begging you..

• sham_azlan on Sep 23, 2010 at 1:58 pm

kamu pon satu…dah kata utk uncle…u bising pulak……pergi tumbuh bulu dulo baru dtg sini komen…

• Finalist Imam Muda Astro Oasis on Sep 23, 2010 at 3:23 pm

Tak baik adik Sham cakap macam tu.

He is entitled to his opinion. Sama2 lah kita renungkan apa yg dia sampaikan. Tak suka duduk diam2 jer.

• Uncle Tan on Sep 23, 2010 at 12:40 pm

The LEGEND CONTINUES…………

http://www.automotoportal.com/article/Top_5_Worlds_Most_Successful_Cars_Ever

http://hubpages.com/hub/Top-50-Best-Selling-Cars-Of-All-Time

• cynical on Sep 23, 2010 at 1:54 pm

No wonder only uncles and grandpas love corollas. They went waaaay back!

• victor lee on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:44 pm

Yes is the world most saleable car doesnt mean the car is good. Toyota Corolla Altis doesnt win anything of the JAPAN CAR OF THE YEAR event is made in Japan and Honda Civic wont TWICE! go google search. BTW Honda WON 10 times and Toyota WON 8 Times since Japan Car of the Year is created.

• Somene on Sep 24, 2010 at 1:14 am

It isn’t fair to say that the Corolla isn’t any good. Although it is overpriced here, the Corolla is overed in many different variations across the globe, with many different prices, depending on demand and market situation. So, a Corolla could be value for money in North America(example) and people would want to buy it.

• 4agze on Sep 23, 2010 at 12:44 pm

better wait for waja-lancer

• boyboy on Sep 23, 2010 at 12:45 pm

still using outdated chassis platform.

overpriced? yes, that is the strategy, overpriced at first, then give promotion, so that u pass less downpayment and afford to buy 1.

• boyboy on Sep 23, 2010 at 12:46 pm

sorry, typo error – pass = pay

• sham_azlan on Sep 23, 2010 at 1:57 pm

jgn lah u beli…bising betol…..macam anjing kat jln tu….

• just another who don’t read
      this gen corolla is made from mc platform and not the old vista platform
      wake up pls

• Car of the Year 2010. on Sep 23, 2010 at 12:47 pm

Ya.Overpriced Man.Somemore why dont launched this enhanced model since day 1 altis launched few years ago. At that priced, should free bodykits, insurances, road tax and etc. No show girls?? I am sure Toyota dun attract single people to buy their car lah!! Since day one i dun like altis style, Uncle car style, not even for family, not new technology ICE system, who wana buy.Save the effort lah lah,TOYOTA!

• sham_azlan on Sep 23, 2010 at 1:57 pm

u mmg bodoh…sendiri cakap utk uncle…masih bising pulak….kalo u masih belum tumbuh bulu…jgn bising kat sini….

• Tiadaid on Sep 23, 2010 at 5:46 pm

Ko ni salesman Toyota ke? Defend toyota cam takut tak dapat komisyen bulan depan!

• cIT.... on Sep 24, 2010 at 8:31 am

Tah… salesman toyota nih.. dah design mcm orang tua.. takde ciri2 futuristik.. yang ko nak marah sangat buat ape… Honda city, civic, mazda3 sume design futuristik n orang muda minat…

• ikat perut on Sep 23, 2010 at 12:54 pm

paddle shift short like ‘little dick’…different from lancer GT paddle shifter that is more ‘longer’ hehehe

uncle car with shifter but look too ‘shame’ to appear behind the steering…oldtimer always look humble than the egoistic youngster…but don’t judge the engine by its hood

• Finalist Imam Muda Astro Oasis on Sep 23, 2010 at 3:29 pm

That “paddle shift” is probably an after thought from Toyota. Ustaz think it is useless anyway. You will get huge turn-ons using it for a at most 2 days.. after that you will not bother to use it again and hope it’s not there on the first place..

• Off Tangent on Sep 23, 2010 at 12:59 pm

i wonder why nobody has complained about the light colour interior. it is such a chore cleaning light colour leather yet car companies still persist on introducing light coloured interiors. given, they give a bigger look to the interior but it is still, a chore to maintain. perhaps it is fine for higher end luxury cars who have drivers to clean them or are used less extensively but for a mass selling car?

• Tiadaid on Sep 23, 2010 at 5:49 pm

Light color interior gives a more airy feel to a car, while a gray interior makes the car feel dull. It’s the cabin feel people often think about, not interior cleanliness.

• The 2.0 Altis@ RM131K?. What an overpriced piece of crap.

It cost only RM105K up north!
    http://www.toyota.co.th/en/models/altis/altis_grade.asp

• rosdi on Sep 23, 2010 at 1:01 pm

Only uncles and aunties drive a Toyota… what a dull drive..

• sham_azlan on Sep 23, 2010 at 1:54 pm

itu sebab mereka ade duit beli…x macam kamu org miskin….

• Finalist Imam Muda Astro Oasis on Sep 23, 2010 at 3:32 pm

Bawak mengucap adik Sham… tak baik cakap benda2 macam tu. Siapa kita nak tentukan rezeki org lain. Ingat lah Allah dik…

• acerman on Sep 23, 2010 at 6:49 pm

Haloo bro, don’t say things like this okay. It is not polite. I know u have a lot of money but do not simply say things like this. Yes, in Malaysia there are people who could only afford a kancil as a long distance vehicle, but think of these people who are actually contribute to our wealth. Just think, who would sweep the floor, do all the dirty things like an Indah Water worker. Answer me, would u do it?

• alldisc on Sep 23, 2010 at 1:04 pm

quote :

“It’s interesting to note that while the Civic 2.0 has 1 Nm more at 188 Nm, it’s made almost 1,000 rpm higher at 4,500 rpm.”

Altis 2.0 = 187Nm @ 3,500rpm
    Civic 2.0 = 188Nm @ 4,500rpm

one word = driveability.

• kelvin on Sep 23, 2010 at 4:49 pm

what bout sylphy’s 191Nm @ 4,400 rpm and RM17,000 cheaper?

• theanswer on Sep 23, 2010 at 8:10 pm

lancer 199nm@4250! lancer ex at 120k.

• alldisc on Sep 27, 2010 at 8:56 pm

try rev sylphy’s engine a 1,000rpm lower like altis….then you will appreciate an engine that reach peak torque at a low rpm – which normally means the torque curve is not peaky but almost flat.

• jolly_idiot on Sep 23, 2010 at 5:38 pm

Bro, Civic comes only single vtec if not mistaken. And is design for higher Revv. Toyota always an old man car. But who cares? People are still buying.

• acerman on Sep 23, 2010 at 6:52 pm

Even the word “Honda” sound more aggressive than “toyota”. BUT people still buy this type of car for many reasons. Let them buy it, cause’ its their money. Agree?

• thinkfirst on Sep 23, 2010 at 1:11 pm

i think it’s definitely overpriced for the features it delivers as a package like airbags, light and rain sensors and adaptive headlights to name a few. Toyota is still behind time in terms of putting the technology in place for the benefit of the consumer. Charging at this price is definitely no no for me. I have an 2005 Altis but I think I was rip off by Toyota for the price and maintainance is not cheap at all. my 2 cents of experience.

• sham_azlan on Sep 23, 2010 at 1:53 pm

jgn lah beli….lepas beli bising pulak. ape susahx2 ….jual je. beli proton saga….atau viva base-line punya….

• thinkfirst on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:50 pm

that why I didn’t buy Toyota after I sold my Altis. I am glad I made that move.. :-).

• Alpha on Sep 23, 2010 at 1:20 pm

u want a Toyota that will always catch the eyes of many??get the 10 year old + Toyota Supra instead!!!XD

• mitlanevo on Sep 23, 2010 at 1:24 pm

great, now altis no longer is a boring uncle’s car!

• frank on Sep 23, 2010 at 1:26 pm

what a boring car…zzzzz

• sucks…

• hariHariMao on Sep 23, 2010 at 1:42 pm

frankly, tis car is sexy, my dream car! perfect in lime green body color! with wooden trim it gonna be awesome! the net in the boot is simply brilliant! good job toyota!

• acerman on Sep 23, 2010 at 6:54 pm

“net in the boot is simply brilliant!” ?? Even Viva has it.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Sep 23, 2010 at 1:46 pm

Seriously,it looks even uglier than before.
    Sorry this not suitable for the uncles
    But the grandpas will sure love it.

• cynical on Sep 23, 2010 at 1:49 pm

Uncles.. Come get your dream car

• Halfclutch on Sep 23, 2010 at 1:50 pm

Can I say Peugeot 308 Turbo? Looks outdated inside and out. The 308 Turbo is only more expensive than their base model.

• Haiyaa!! There’s no cheap for antique. More years to come and more expensive it will be.

• uncleJohn on Sep 23, 2010 at 1:58 pm

come on Toyota, look at the auto cruise control u make me to recall our long outdated proton’s auto cruise control… it was so ugly

• overpriced old car…this uses the same platform as the previous so it will drive similarly. haha….another con job. with this kind of pricing it should be all new altis. i am ex-alis owner so i know what i am taking about.

• thinkfirst on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:57 pm

I am with you raj. My comment here is to open the eyes of the Toyota potential buyers to look outside the box and see what’s been offered better out there. Whether it’s a Honda, Kia, Mazda or Hyundai, they offer better service, price vs features/safety and design/technology. I am an ex-Altis owner, and I can tell you I have spend so much fixing the car. it’s comfortable but it wouldn’t win the day with better offering out there. Re-sale value? wait till you sell your car.

• Precisely, i’ve just recently sold my Vios and it took me quite a while to get the price i wanted, not to mention the hassle of selling it myself. The value offered by the 2nd hand dealers are measly to say the least.
        What impressed me was just the trouble free (4) years of owning it. Thats all.

i’m moving on to another make now … sorry toyota. you’re way overpriced

• zaff1984 on Sep 23, 2010 at 4:34 pm

can we say the “excellent re-sale value” is just a myth..?

• cybermaster98 on Oct 02, 2010 at 10:32 am

Selling any car within 5 yrs will always show a considerable drop. Although it shouldnt be so apparent in a Vios. Why dont u reveal your car model and the price u sold it for?

As far as i know, 2003 Vios are going for between 45-49K depending on specs. This is only 40% lower than the original selling price. If this is not good resale value then what is?

• cybermaster98 on Oct 02, 2010 at 10:33 am

Honda, Kia, Mazda and Hyundai offer better service? Either u have never owned a Toyota or ure a salesman for one of these makes.

• overpriced old car…this uses the same platform as the previous so it will drive similarly. haha….another con job. with this kind of pricing it should be all new altis. i am ex-alis owner so i know what i am taking about. can’t stand the tupperware plastic interior

• deuter_backpack_malaysia on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:05 pm

i am an 2008 altis driver, i have countless passengers of mine fall assleep when we go for short trip lunch, about 15 mins drive. comfortability is really unbeatable.

• fandango on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:27 pm

There’s no such word as “comfortability”.

• thinkfirst on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:44 pm

I guess your guest is full after lunch.. :-). any car will put them to sleep.

• Toyolta on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:56 pm

They must be so damn bored with toyota and fall asleep

• ermm… last time sit in Mini Bus also see lots of people fall asleep.

• acerman on Sep 23, 2010 at 6:57 pm

Why is it whenever two or more passenger sits at the back of an altis, the car looks uneven. Like the rear lowered?

• Its normal for pensioners to sleep in the car :-)

• altimasss on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:10 pm

The only that i like in this car is the ECO indicator.. i think it’s a must have for every new car as it encourages to drive more efficiently.

• i can drive without a eco indicator. Just stick to 2000 rpm when driving.That should do the trick. i manage to save a lot of fuel.

• Han!h on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:11 pm

why is it that the latest vios, altis & camry look kinda same?…

• victor lee on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:39 pm

lol… because the toyota designer is stereotype.. not think of the box.. u see honda civic, city and accord, got same or not? just compare this 3 segment car with toyora camry, altis and vios on the side view and you see the different a typical car VS future car.
      Toyota just want to make money not thinking safety, like the vios J spec.. no air bags leh, yes the price is rm70k only and its affordable, but what is the different them compare to our proton and perodua if some car manufacture just wanted to make money because of cheaper car without safety!

• I think J grade now come with air bag(driver) for A/T & M/T.

• Finerounddclock on Sep 23, 2010 at 11:42 pm

Yeah right! I see more Camry on the road than Accord. Didn’t you notice? What does figure tells you? Popularity, reliability, & trust my friend. P/S just in case you really didn’t notice more Camry out there than your future car Accord, head to an optometrist for a check will you! Another crap guy. Talk nonsense…

• alldisc on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:46 pm

because the T logo is the same. put BMW 3 series, 5 and 6 series side by side and they do look kinda same. it is what BMW says ‘corporate image’!

• deuter_backpack_malaysia on Sep 23, 2010 at 4:06 pm

Can see that toyota is following the trend of following a common design identity, the headlamp of Altis looks quite similar to the latest Lexus RS 300
        Same goes to Mercedes, remove the logo, one glance you will know it is a Mercedes. what else? Volvo? The design has an identity.

• elwwmtx on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:14 pm

Can buy 3 unit of SAGA BLM which is way better than this old granny Corolla.

• Can buy 3 viva’s and open a show room! lol

• Tiadaid on Sep 23, 2010 at 5:53 pm

If you’re smart, you buy those Saga and open up a rent-a-car business catering to Uni students. Surely can make more money to buy something much pricier than this Altis!

• elwwmtx on Sep 23, 2010 at 8:58 pm

Tiadaid and Vnoz. well said! they try to cheat our money. Better use that money and use it for business.> LOLS

• Never attracted by it’s exterior, the first version or the facelifted version…. no difference..

• NoBrainer on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:31 pm

I think the car will sell very well. I know many of brothers here will comment and choose not to buy. But there will be many more who will buy this car just for the badge itself.

The final outcome? The Toyota board will give each other high fives and go home with a big fat bonus. The rest of others like myself? Still complaining about expensive cars, expensive petrol, and stupid govern.

• nabill on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:32 pm

we have been saying cars are overpriced for almost 20 yrs now , anyone listening ?? i guess not , our tax structure looks like a giant snake that jus wanna bite us in the balls…!

i dont think toyota give a crap if its targeted at uncles or youth , as long as the sales figures look good at the end of the year , its a proven formula , why change it….

• JonLing on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:41 pm

Good job Danny, and thanks for bringing us all the reviews and news about the launching of new Corolla. But can you show more photos during the launching, instead of just putting up all the test drive photos that you had for previous post?? I would like to see the differences between 2.0, 1.8 and 1.6 liter variants (exterior, and if possible, interior too), but I end up seeing 2.0 V variant every time…..maybe some photos on 1.8 and 1.6 variants too??

• victor lee on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:45 pm

dont blame toyota, honda etc on overpriced. If you know the facts our malaysia car for international make is expensive is because to protect proton and perodua. So blame the stupid govt.

• thinkfirst on Sep 23, 2010 at 3:00 pm

I don’t blame them for setting the price before but after looking at Hyundai, KIA and Mazda, you wonder if you have been ripped off by Toyota and Honda. They are selling their name for the premium price for offering nothing back to the consumer in terms of safety and latest technology offerings. I just think they are taking advantage of the system we are in now.

• scooter on Sep 23, 2010 at 3:57 pm

Agree.
        After gov slash the rakyat with high tax, tis 2 manufacturer are slashing on our wound. They claim using certain percentage of local make parts on their CKD baby, but still price it so high.

Look at Japan made Mazda3 2.0 with price tag RM135, compare with local made Civic 2.0 RM131k & Tomyam made Altis 2.0 RM132k, Is only cheaper by just few thousands?

If look at Spore market(without CKD & same tax apply on all manufacturers), Japan made Mazda6 2.5 S$135k, Thailand made Camry 2.4 S$123k. And look at msia market, Mazda 6 2.5 is almost same price with Camry 2.4, ~RM175K!!

Now we know how well UMW & Honda taking advantage on us. High capital in providing more 3S SC is not an excuse, profit is taken not just when selling car to us, but when we send our to their service centre as well!

• BeemerFreak on Sep 23, 2010 at 4:56 pm

True that mazda is selling above Toyota’s price in SIngapore, however i come to know that VW is also about Toyota’s pricing in SIngapore, eg the golf TSi, Jetta TSI, and Scirocco TSi are all going for about 10k dollars less than the 2.0 Camry. How do you explain that for VW’s case in Malaysia, i think they are over charging us tooo.

• JonLing on Sep 23, 2010 at 4:55 pm

I think instead of blaming on the system and distributors of Toyota and Honda pricing their cars too high, why not we focus on the real reason why they can do this and people still buying their cars?? I don’t think if Mazda, Kia, Hyundai, Ford and some other car brands have better customer service, more / better service centre, people won’t be turned to buy their cars instead.

So instead of blaming the T & H, why dun we urge other distributors start to improve their services as well?? By not improving the service, those distributors are actually indirectly “giving chances” for T & H to price their cars higher than normal, because people would still choose T & H no matter what, even if they have to pay a huge premium, just because they know they will get better services, or even more assurance in return. For example, the whole Sarawak only got 1 VW centre in Kuching, and you expect me to buy VW car in some other towns in Sarawak, knowing that I have no where to go to service my car?? Or some distributors will have service centre at some towns, yes, but the service centre is as big as the small workshop garage in your neighbourhood, and parts always have to wait 2 – 3 days or even longer to arrive, I don’t think I have any interest at all in buying the new cars of that particular brand. So in the end, I might as well get a Toyota or Honda, since they have some proper service centres throughout the whole country.

It doesn’t take only good cars to sell in big numbers in this country, and I believe all the other distributors know this principle all too well, just that out of some reasons they chose not to follow this principle sometimes.

• gonggok on Sep 23, 2010 at 3:31 pm

If you think the price is high because of tax you’re wrong. If tax the tax so high then how come a CBU JAPAN Suzuki Sx-4 is cheaper than some Vios?

How come an IMPORTED latest Sonata is cheaper than an Accord assembled in Melaka?

Stop blaming taxes for the price.

Yes we are being ripped off – but it’s the distributors who are ripping us off…

• all its about of tax+profit!

• Yoona on Sep 23, 2010 at 4:48 pm

its a double whammy, both G and the distributors are ripping us off. G in the tax and distributors in stripping the specs and still price it high and blame the tax

• Tiadaid on Sep 23, 2010 at 5:31 pm

Forget tax. It’s a given. Just take a look at the whole picture. You got a CKD car priced not much less than a CBU car with more features to boot. THAT’S what is meant by overpriced. Open your eyes and don’t just look at the brand. See the big picture! They’re ripping you off yet you gladly smile and buy their cars anyway!

• handsome*dude on Sep 24, 2010 at 3:38 am

I think you still dun get the picture here!

what many brothers here mentioned overpriced, is on a fair comparison with other brands of car that available here which all bond by the same govt tax structure!~

just imagine…

if take away all the govt tax… the toyota and honda will still sell overpriced as compare to other similar cars…

you get it or not? dude………………..

• can’t believe still got so many ignorant ppl think that these jap car prices are high due to tax only.

it is actually due to extra fat PROFIT!!! Please wake up!!

• campro on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:46 pm

Thailand 2.0V spec far better….our cut cost too much….but still selling at high price…

• GO GREEN on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:49 pm

132 k ?? Are they mad ?

Better get new WAJA with MiVEC 2.0 litre

• deuter_backpack_malaysia on Sep 23, 2010 at 3:52 pm

eh, i doubt new waja will be mivec 2.0. Most probably it will be a waja lancer campro. Proton has adopted 1 engine fits all strategy and waja lancer will be no exception.

• Guest on Sep 23, 2010 at 4:58 pm

Looks like we all have to wait and see which engine will be plonked in…

• ct5505 on Sep 23, 2010 at 2:51 pm

Honda civic is always better than this Altis.. why Altis always look cacat from the exterior into the interior… look at the auto cruise control like proton car…

• deuter_backpack_malaysia on Sep 23, 2010 at 3:53 pm

Civic is noisy, they need to make the car quieter only you will feel you are driving a >100k car.

• E Bear on Sep 23, 2010 at 4:39 pm

This part very easy one, with after market paddings.

• Bob_B78 on Sep 23, 2010 at 5:24 pm

It all depends on your definition for Civic. If u define it as sporty, one should not complain so much bout being noisy (lamborghin cost well over 1 million and is as loud as a bus kilang). If you define it as family sedan, of course its NVH wont be up to mark.
        I believe Mazda 3 or 5 NVH wont be as good as Altis either

Here is some interesting facts:
        http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1271632

• Agree. The civic is quite noisy since the day 1. But since it looks much better my wife choose Civic although corolla is more quite..

• Not-Soul-Uncle on Sep 23, 2010 at 3:19 pm

Look like many of the people reading Paultan.org are young ciku, in summary, most of the negative comments are:-
    1) Overpriced
    2) Ugly look
    3) Bad government taxation structure
    4) Only old people will buy

My humble responses to the above comments will be:-
    1) what car in Malaysia is not overpriced? so what’s the fuss making noise about?
    2) there’s no car can please you young ciku, Altis: ugly, Civic: ah beng, Lancer: more ah beng, Sylphy: ah lian…..perhaps all cars should look like Lambo Reventon or Bugatti Veyron then only happy. but sometime a Wajalution or Wiralution will also make you guys happy.
    3) bad government taxation, i wonder how many of you young ciku are registered voters or old enough to vote for Malaysia’s brighter future.
    4) not old people, but mature people who don’t want to turn heads every time driving on the road and sane people who don’t like to drive like doped monkey.

• BeemerFreak on Sep 23, 2010 at 4:59 pm

finally someone wise enough to make a wise comment.Good one. All cars are over priced in Malaysia. We should not complain about Toyota making the profits because at least they Deliver a decent enough car for us.

I found out that the cost of making a current proton Persona is about Rm 12k all inclusive, so where has everythign went? Haha of course in G’s pocket lar

• Guest on Sep 23, 2010 at 5:00 pm

Good 1 :)

• uncle on Sep 23, 2010 at 5:07 pm

Hello Not-Soul-Uncle, you sound like you are one old smelly hard-to-open-durian… myself is middle-uncle, and yet I beg to differ your ‘humble opinions’…

1) Price of a car is not directly proportional with what it could provide and how well it is perceived by public. For old durians like you, you buy to SHOW that you CAN buy without much considerations and fussy over little things. However, youngsters need to make sure they bought something they won’t regret as they can’t easily change car like you old durian.
      2) Yah, no single car pleases everybody, just like no single woman 100% pleases you old durian as well… that’s why some old durians keep looking for mangosteens… YOUNG somemore!
      3) Yes, proud old Durian here, voted many times yeah? So WHY is the government still perceived as ‘bad’ in terms of giving taxation structure? DID YOU VOTE wisely? Even after so many times?
      4) If you’re mature enough, you won’t call youngsters ‘ciku’ or ‘monkey’ or whatsoever, coz one day you OLD durian will become ROTTEN durian and by that time you’ll look at these MATURED fruits finally recognized that you’re old and going to leave the world. But you didn’t communicate well with young “CIKUs” that’s why you end up pathetic and no friends/family, keep blaming on generations gap.

RESPECT!

• tianshi on Sep 23, 2010 at 5:07 pm

Your comment – Spot ON!!!

• alldisc on Sep 23, 2010 at 5:22 pm

a very good response from Not Soul Uncle, which I believe we can use to wrap up all those comments made by the Cikus….

my 11 years old son and 16 yrs old daughter are so much in love with Nissan 350Z and Mini Cooper without realising that these 2 cars are hardly affordable for about 20 million malaysians (except the lucky few) and the fact that their father is riding motorbike only to work. heh heh… when i go back home today i want to call them cikus also. they cannot call me uncle rite, i am the father!

• thinkfirst on Sep 23, 2010 at 5:56 pm

you should read the above comments before defending. The overpriced is not because of only the Gov taxes, they (Toyota/Honda) are suppose to be CKD.

Price should be much lower than CBU. e.g. CBU JAPAN Suzuki Sx-4 vs Vios. or Mazda 3 2.0 vs Civic 2.0.

For a few thousand ringgit difference between the 2 cars, I am getting much more value from Mazda e.g. Adaptive Headlights, spoilers with bodykits, 17″ Rims, Rain Sensor, Light Sensor, 6 airbags, front parking sensors. What is Altis or Civic got to offered ? In reality, Civic 2.0 should be price at RM 120K for what they offer in terms of features and been a CKD. Even Hyundai comes with much better features now than Civic and Altis.

• Good comments, but as a supplier to local OEMs, just want to clarify that CKD or CBU has nothing to do with the final costing… all that u save is just the transportation cost from Thailand or Indonesia to Malaysia.. as in Malaysia government policy, the rules is the more u localized your parts the more rebet u get on your excise tax.. and that is how they are protecting the industry..

• handsome*dude on Sep 23, 2010 at 5:57 pm

uncle,

1) ppl said Altis overpriced, is bcos it really is as compare to those same specs selling here under the same taxation

2) Ugly look. seriously, bcos Toyota is famous. once its come out a new model, people would expect some “wow” effect… just that this time, the “wow” effect is on the negative side… it is ugly, no doubt. if some 3rd line brand who come out a ugly design of car..ppl would not comment that much…

3)Govt tax . this topic.. no need to discuss.. it is bad. or u agree it is a good tax structure for car in malaysia?

4)in term of car industry, modern car surely need modern design. Clearly, Altis does not taking one step ahead..
      you said “but mature people who don’t want to turn heads every time driving on the road…..”
      take a look at all the new model of those luxury brand : Benz E class, S class, the new CLS, or the Passat CC.. those ppl who can afford for these car, are you saying they are not Mature enuf??? oh come on, just look at the latest S class now… its been in the market for few years d, this almost million price tag big boss car… also look so young & exciting, which dun have any feel of boring at all~~

agree or not? brothers out there???

• Edward on Sep 23, 2010 at 4:51 pm

First of all i would like to congrats UMW for their newly launched Altis. Yes.. they did it again!!! A Thai CBU C-segment car for 130k..hey come on it is better buy if you like to compare to our Melaka 2.0 civic.

But still i am no fan of UMW and Honda Malaysia.. Both are daylight robbers… Society now are changing.. more and more ppl can start to afford to installment an 130K+- car already so C-segment cars are becoming more competitive. Why?

It is so simple.. graduates nowaday 3k basic stay with parents fork out 1.5k monthly to a bank for a car ok mah…. still can survive somemore can show off

Chinese got 1 say: 1 type for rice can feed hundred types of ppl. We got blind badge chaser, petrol head, car enthuasist, etc etc. That is why i love this forum.. the comments are so enlightening.

Back to the topic, i am not belong to the kind of ppl to pay 50% more in order to retain 50% more in resale value 5~7 years down the road. Since when buying a car can let you make money? For me to spend so much in a car every month of coz i want to enjoy my car to the max la….

let me see what are the choices available if we got 130k:
    Conti:
    -Ford Focus TDCI (powershift 6 spd dual clutch, turbo diesel, best in class handling)
    -Peugeot 407 (it is an old model but hey who dun wan a 10speaker JBL hi fi in the car and other more equipments offered in the package)
    -Peugeot 308 turbo (save up to 20k, u get a sweet glass roof, rear a/c vent, 240nm)

Kimchi:
    -Hyundai Sonata YF 2.0
    -Naza Forte 2.0

Sushi land:
    -Mitsubishi lancer 2.0 GTS
    -Nissan Slyphy (less than 130 even u take the luxury navi package, somemore Xtronic CVT)

All this are C or D segment cars not even include recond yet…

• E Bear on Sep 23, 2010 at 4:55 pm

Whether like or dislike, why not go to the showroom or go for a test-drive first, then decide.

The normal crowd will be happy.

• Uncle Honda on Sep 23, 2010 at 4:59 pm

This altis sure suffer when proton waja-lancer launch soon.

• deuter_backpack_malaysia on Sep 24, 2010 at 3:53 pm

if it is mivec engine or campro, i think Waja lancer will sell well coz lancer has good design. This is because the current lancer driver has managed to make ladies fall in love till they remove their underpants. Internal beauty actually doesnt matter that much to many, that’s why people bash the design of toyota, coz the first level of contact is only the design. not much people will care about the internal beauty until they test drive one.

• amirad on Sep 23, 2010 at 4:59 pm

You don’t love the Altis. You’re only glad its there. Ready to serve with you with no fuss, no drama and no excitement. Its a family car and the only time I drive is when I’m with my family. Smooth, quiet, fuel effcient, easy to maintain, comfy and reliable. What more can a family ask for? Dual VVTi and CVTi are plus points. I guess if this altis 2.0V is priced at RM100k and made to look like IS250, maybe not so many people will be firing their bazookas.

• Car lover on Sep 23, 2010 at 5:09 pm

Typical government, say will reduce car prices in future, but that future never comes….prices go up & up only……vote for Pakatan….cheaper cars perhaps….enough of bullshit car prices!!

• The Loner on Sep 23, 2010 at 9:11 pm

Government is playing around with excise duty, since import duty cannot be manipulated due to AFTA agreement unless the CBU vehicles are from non ASEAN countries.

• Tiadaid on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:43 pm

Ahahahahaha! You made my day! Vote for Pakatan is a vote for cheap cars? LOL!

• Sometimes, it is not the GOV…it’s how the company markets and do pricing on a car. Within the same period, import duty didn’t rise but the car price rises. Why? These assemblers/importers raise the price of each FMC or facelift. Toyota isn’t the only one doing this…

and just a thought: Proton Saga BLM’s price went up by a few thousand ringgit because they put a side turn indicator on the “facelift”….i don’t see any of you complaining then. Haha….

• kayel on Sep 23, 2010 at 5:11 pm

so many people here opt to not choose and condemn it, but the fact is the sale is expected to do well

• What an ice-age auto-cruise stick.. other car is using button..
    what happen to toyota designer and engineer actually?? are they sleeping or total ignorance?

• alldisc on Sep 23, 2010 at 5:26 pm

now youre saying…

the general election not far away….

• hullahoop on Sep 23, 2010 at 5:30 pm

yesssss the wonder of 1Malaysia.. bravo government..

• Peter on Sep 23, 2010 at 5:33 pm

Price not competitive … among all over-priced cars in M’sia. I’ll give Korean car a chance.

• Beemer on Sep 23, 2010 at 5:47 pm

1.6l for RM105K? too bad..i better buy e39 @ RM80K..then, with the balance i have, i can use it for repair n maintenance..at the end, ive got power, comforts and prestige as well..no doubt the price is overpriced, but when u match it with the uncleness of altis, that make it even worse!

• neppy on Sep 23, 2010 at 7:42 pm

no prestige at all, coz all cars are becoming old through time,
      after 10 years consider old , that applies to e39 too, it is boring to see,
      only e60 is becoming evergreen car, even f10 is out already, e60 is still more beautiful , modern and still has contemporary exterior , for at least 10 years from now
      too bad it has recahed eol

• Finerounddclock on Sep 23, 2010 at 11:32 pm

E60 an evergreen? Gimme a break. I saw an M5 parked next to Citroen C5 last week & the M5 looked outdated bro. I repeat, Outdated. Not evergreen.

• alldisc on Sep 24, 2010 at 4:10 pm

you are right Beemer, provided you have 20K cash in hand bro…

but you are forgetting that 99% of the 20 millions malaysians are less fortunate. many having not even 5K in hand. myself included lerr..

• peh.kalau artikel pasal toyota masuk sure komen2 sampai ratus2 wooo. kalau psl kereta lain 50 puluh pun payah sampai

• handsome*dude on Sep 23, 2010 at 6:14 pm

Honestly,

I will take the blame to the local dealer UMW ! they are greedy. Toyota builds it name since many years back~ but it didn’t act like a mature, well respect old man.. which will do much ‘charity’ as in for cherish back us , the ppl, the large group ppl of long time supporter ~~

UMW only know how to ’empty’ all the specs of the car, then increase price again and again~~

you guys just compare the same car sold in other asian country and malaysia then you know.. how low spec is our toyota line up here~~

that’s y now so many ppl voice out~~
    bcos we are not blind~~

• Terence on Sep 23, 2010 at 7:13 pm

Do you know altis’s spec in Singapore is lower than us? Yet Singaporean are still buying.

And do you know up to date Toyota still top the sales chart at Singapore in 2010?

Do you know BMW has overtook Honda, Hyundai & Kia become 2nd top sales car in 2010 at Singapore?

Lastly, do you know the “must impressed” Hyundai & Kia has been kicked out of the top 5 sales at Singapore in 2010?

• handsome*dude on Sep 24, 2010 at 3:25 am

exactly !! Singaporean is facing the same issue with us~
        thanks god u know that… Toyota is still at the Top chart (non-national car) by selling it renowned “kosong” car to us~

u just tell UMW, if i wan a sunroof, 6 air bags, dual clutch(?) EPS, ABC,DEF,GHI, JKL,bla, bla~~ how much will it cost us?? a C-segment 1.6 sedan may cost you 150-160k~ then u might pay the same for the CBU unit VW Golf 1.4TSI ~

(so their best response it, they don’t offer any of them!!)

just compare the specs with the VW GOLF 1.4TSI specs bro!!!

• Scuddie on Sep 26, 2010 at 1:56 am

Stupid, 6 air bags and dual clutch are they big a MUST to usual drivers like us? U just buy for your tiny space golf 1.4 with the RM150k…lmao…

• dooodooo on Sep 24, 2010 at 2:44 pm

No I don’t & I guess most wouldn’t know that too. Who cares about what Kiasuland is getting anyway.

• Chris on Sep 23, 2010 at 7:32 pm

Overpriced!!!!!!!!!
    But still,very nice and attractive product for me hehe…

• Maajeedaa on Sep 23, 2010 at 7:51 pm

well………………anyone knows who owns UMW Toyota in Malaysia?

• Jason Gan on Sep 23, 2010 at 9:59 pm

Kudos to the Dual VVTI!
    Spec wise… this car offers value for money specs for buyers out there…
    But design wise, it’s definately a NO NO for me!!!
    Front looks similar to it’s predecesor, interior looks rather dull and it’s tail is rather boring…toyota designer seems running out of idea? Really, nothing much to shout about this car..

No offence to toyota’s fan out there….

• 122K for 1.8 Altis vs 114K for Civic 1.8. Altis is overpriced and if you see fuel efficient, Altis 10.95km/liter comparing to Civic 10.25km/liter. Even it is still depends on engine and driving style but if you see, the difference is not so big.

• elite on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:16 pm

why proton don’t have car above 100k?

• Finerounddclock on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:19 pm

Huh? The non-relevant kept on complaining about Toyota of this & that. What they forgot to see is the fact that Toyota topping the chart day in & out, month in & out. Let alone realizing that Toyota was the top seller for few years in the row. Top Seller means something okay! They don’t just accord that kind of recognition for nothing do they? Bunch of craps…

• Tiadaid on Sep 24, 2010 at 11:18 am

In Malaysia? Don’t think so. Irrational Malaysians buying on badge factor, that’s why.

• You’re right.. Toyota is doing something right. They’re not perfect, but they’ve topped the charts for quite a bit :)

• handsome*dude on Sep 24, 2010 at 1:54 pm

My are having 4 toyota out of 5 family members..

and I still complaining Toyota ! ~

not bcos of the car is bad… but the overall package they offer is blood sucking~ and some more right now the market is very happening, more and more choices~~

• _xXx_ on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:41 pm

I will choose 2L accord (140k) over the 2.0V (132k).

• mirror mirror on Sep 23, 2010 at 10:54 pm

Many well to do folks in smaller towns are still buying these boring Japanese cars because their sales and service representatives are always around. Many aunties in my town are driving this car, too bad they didn’t try out the conti like Ford and Peugeot or even VW.

• Off Tangent on Sep 24, 2010 at 3:37 pm

i don’t blame them. ford or peugeot or vw can never match the aftersales network or capability of toyota or honda. until such time, those brands will remain niche. to the majority of buyers out there, the main consideration is ‘peace-of-mind’, this may mean boring to some but to those who can’t afford to have their car stranded for days without parts, boring is at least better… and safer. always good to know there’s a service centre just round the corner. and no matter how the euro brands say they have 15k or 20k service intervals, a breakdown is still a breakdown and a wait for parts is still a wait for parts.

• kennytan on Sep 23, 2010 at 11:48 pm

toyota altis 2008 = seldom second hand car .

honda civic 2006= a lot of second hand car .

• thats bcos there are much more civics on the road.

civic sales is more than double the altis every year.

• cybermaster98 on Sep 28, 2010 at 9:52 am

Correction: Civic sales are 75% more than Altis not 100% la. This year the Civic recorded 6596 sales while the Altis had 3788 sales. The Forte sales are still lower than the Altis at 3722 despite all the hype.

• kennytan on Sep 24, 2010 at 12:29 am

toyota,honda car future just only increase price .bacause high price still got supporter.The

korean car dont worry.price just stable,because malaysian not like korean car.i can tell u if

sonata price is Rm 120k still cannot fight for toyota altis or civic.if carmy sells Rm 160k for

2.0e still got buyer.The govement already know how to fix the car price

already……………………..

• bluelite on Sep 24, 2010 at 1:00 am

@ RM132K I suppose they have touch screen HU or Keyless with Push Start Button…overall the car is quite attractive but only if the price @ RM125K!!!!!

• rich the Govertment, rich UMW, poor Malaysian who bought this car…

• ah yat on Sep 24, 2010 at 7:54 am

still stuck with torsion beams…

• palatu on Sep 24, 2010 at 10:00 am

the fact is toyota corrola the best seller in the world

• palatu on Sep 24, 2010 at 10:02 am

As part of the government’s renewed focus on improving fuel efficiency in the U.S., the EPA is currently working on fresh designs for new-vehicle window stickers

• palatu on Sep 24, 2010 at 10:03 am

corolla is the best seller model

• The rear lights looks ‘not happy’ and outdated. Suprised with the design from one of the biggest auto company in da world. I’m sure Toyota will be overtaken by hyundai soon due tooutdated design!
    Maybe I’ll get one for my grandpa :-)

• Kuih_sepit on Sep 24, 2010 at 10:55 am

Hi huys ,

Even though the design of the the Corolla , Vios are way beyond the Honda , Mitsubishi , Mazda , Ford , Chevy , Kia and maybe Persona , people still opted to buy them because of the reliability and durability of Toyota brand . For me because of that , I have booked a Civic instead , even though the current model will only last for another year since the 9th gen . will be launched late next year or ealy 2012 .

Kudos to the Toyota designers ……

• sepajo on Sep 24, 2010 at 12:25 pm

Many people but the Corolla for its reliability and good resale value … and they are mostly boring people.

• Pietro on Sep 24, 2010 at 1:00 pm

I bought my Altis 1.8G in Jan 2010. Barely 9 months old and I have all sorts of problems. I have written to Akio Toyoda and Toyota HQ responded to me personally. Most of the problems had been sorted (new suspension coil, boot lock, disc brakes etc) but the car still drives crappy. Not the same as when I got the car in Jan 2010. Suspension is horrible and the car rattles over bad conditioned roads. Reminds me of Protons but my previous old Waja is as solid as ever. Also the entire Vios range had been recalled last month due to wiring issues behind the airbag. Gone are the days of reliable Toyota. I got conned into believing that they make good cars. My first and last Toyota car.

• cybermaster98 on Sep 28, 2010 at 9:54 am

Mind telling me more about that Vios recall last month?

• ppl who are defending the Altis price because of govt tax are barking up the wrong tree. All non-national cars are taxed under the same rate, so pls compare the below

Ford Focus 2.0, CBU 109k
    Kia Forte 2.0
    Suzuki SX4

All are comparable cars and are cheaper then the Altis. The simplest way to tell if a car is overpriced, is to look at the price of the same car overseas

example (numbers are made up, but u get the idea, im too lazy to do the actual calculatiosn, but i bet the altis markup will be higher then brands like suzuki and ford)
    thai focus vs MY focus = 109% markup
    thai Altis vs MY altis = 145% markup

• handsome*dude on Sep 24, 2010 at 1:56 pm

u just tell UMW, if i wan a sunroof, 6 air bags, dual clutch(?) EPS, ABC,DEF,GHI, JKL,bla, bla~~ how much will it cost us??
    a C-segment 1.6 sedan may cost you 150-160k~
    then u might pay the same for the CBU unit VW Golf 1.4TSI ~

(so their best response is they don’t offer any of them!!)

just compare the specs with the VW GOLF 1.4TSI specs bro!!! its a CBU Euro car!

• ovepriced! strip down feature compared to Thai market..

• Newbie on Sep 24, 2010 at 6:11 pm

Excuse me everyone,
    Does anyone know,
    which brand more fuel saving?
    Honda/Toyota?
    Anyone?
    Curiously want to know.

• cybermaster98 on Sep 27, 2010 at 11:08 am

Nothing to do with the brand la. Its the power to weight ratio that determines this including driving style, type of tyres, number of gears, etc.

• I will buy it ….. if they selling it at Rm40,000

• overprice… yes! go get a civic.

Altis 2.0 made 147 PS and 187 Nm of torque from a relatively low 3,600 rpm.
    Civic 2.0 has 1 Nm more at 188 Nm, it’s made almost 1,000 rpm higher at 4,500 rpm.

so, altis produces more torque at 4,500rpm !!

Here comes a new VTEC challenger !!

• anybody that has test drive the car yet? would appreciate some feedbacks on it..

• Japanese Rival on Sep 25, 2010 at 12:32 pm

rubbish specs, German car eqipped with Dual-Clutch(DSG) transmission, Japs only come with an outdated CVT. Japs car are totally out compare with with Germand makes, they progress, not that commercialised.

• Japanese Rival on Sep 25, 2010 at 12:40 pm

Toyota always equipped with SUPER item, like super ect, super cvt………etc. Bue what i found in its is SUPER yellowish blur headlight, super lousy aircond compressor, super expensive maintenance cost, super stright rear seat, super UNCLE exterior………….etc

• Altis :- Nice car with great features.No doubt about it. Time tested technologies and reputable manufacturer.

THE ONLY PROBLEM, OVERPRICE.
    REALLY OVERPRICE CAR.

PERIOD.

• after all the big hoo and haa and those WOW pricing ! still NOT a keyless system !! WTH ! bummer !

• wochomi on Sep 25, 2010 at 7:26 pm

I’ll get one of these. Looks good to me. Never really bothered with the specs on the pamphlets anyway (probably just lies anyway). Most importantly just to support the govt in the form of taxes, and also support UMW for their efforts in providing jobs to the many Malaysians.
    Buying Toyota is the most patriotic thing you can do. So please don’t say bad things bout the big T.

• alpha999 on Sep 25, 2010 at 9:46 pm

compared 2 previous altis… this new facelift.front n rear…..definately better…

• haha…will see many new altis on the road soon…..no matter how it is priced… Many rich man dun pay tax to government….but they dun mind pay tax on cars…..

That’s the reason why government cant survive without excise tax… technically, proton will never beat toyota…

I also can come up with a new car with ten times more features than proton, but at sub-quality, not fully calibrated, using cheap material composites…

wake up malaysian, earn more money, you will see the difference. Rather than complaining here…drive proton for the rest of your life…

• callenish on Sep 26, 2010 at 12:56 pm

almost 200+ comment for this facelift altis just in a few days.. i wonder how many actually afford to buy a >RM100k car in malaysia?

people who are really looking into a car, will just walk to the showroom and test drive, practical, useable, meet the purpose, commercially affordable, then they place a booking. waiting for delivery.

if you can afford a civic, then buy a civic, if you can afford a persona, then buy a persona. no need to bullshit with all those negative comment where in the end you cannot buy it anyway.

every car is design with a purpose and they’ve done a study in market segment, the manufacturer know what they are doing. we complaint about the dealer in malaysia, then boycot if you don’t like. but till today, toyota is till on top of other non-natianal car, why? it just show we refuse to accept the fact.

i’m not saying toyota is the best car, but it meet the purpose. somebody mentioned with this price they should give sunroof, 7 airbags, bi-xenon HID light, DSG gearbox, but without this, can the car deliver it purpose? the answer is yes.

nowadays we have many choice, so choose what ever meet your criteria, if toyota really a rip-off company, just don’t buy their product, but will this happen?

• Edward on Sep 27, 2010 at 5:25 pm

Enuf said.. i did.. i never own any toyota from UMW before…

Since your purpose is basically from point A to point B only why not you get yourself a viva or saga blm…

what i am trying to say is we are comparing apple with apple.. orange with orange… we know that buying a car is not an investment but we want to squeeze the moolah we are paying to the bank every month for the best deal in town, right?

MORE EQUIPMENTS AND SAFETY FEATURES = moving from point A to point B lagi comfort and save :)

They did done a market study before launching. this is the result they gotten.

Apa kereta slap with the T-badge sure can sell pretty well. now somemore we put in 7spd CVT with 2.0 dual VVT-i wor… ppl willing to pay extra to secure their resale value oso la… you see our new trd vios still got ppl buy la

• Mata2 on Sep 26, 2010 at 4:27 pm

I just went to Toyota show room in JB yesterday, I doubt this model will be hot selling. Most of sales exec. were sitting and there were only 3 of us inspecting the car, one uncle with his daughter and me. Pitty altis…

• ex-ToyotaOwner on Sep 27, 2010 at 1:39 pm

biasa la. last 2 times i went into a toyota showroom (don’t ask why), also no one layan me. business too good la, i suppose :-)

this car sucks, and reeks of complacency, or cost cutting in design and/or manufacturing. disgusted by how toyota and nissan have the worst uncle-like designs, and expensive too. how can a company that came up with Murano come up with the latest X-trail?
      so go ahead, all you uncles… make the ‘safe’ choice. 2nd hand value, bah. how about 1st hand suck ass driving experience!

• KCivic on Sep 27, 2010 at 10:05 pm

everytime i look at altis, it just look so lame! they cannot even afford a proper grille for god sake.. was there a grille or did it fall off.. i mean it looks like a doctors car… go Honda!!

• cybermaster98 on Sep 28, 2010 at 9:32 am

Top sales figures for various models in Malaysia for August 2010

Vios – 3192
    City – 1901
    Civic – 1016
    Avanza – 924
    Camry – 901
    Accord – 728
    Forte – 448
    Altis – 390
    Sylphy – 331
    Mazda2 – 181
    Peugeot – 161]
    Lancer – 152

• alldisc on Sep 29, 2010 at 1:50 pm

oh my, forte sales better than altis.

and a lot of ppl still buy avanza, really?

• cybermaster98 on Oct 02, 2010 at 10:20 am

Dont forget that Altis is an older model launched in March 2008 while the Forte was launched Nov 2009 albeit with much better specs. Almost 1.5 yrs apart.

But overall the Forte only sold (and registered) 3722 units while the Altis sold 3788 units. Quite even. The Altis figures should improve when the 2.0V sales are accounted for.

• ToyotaFensi on Sep 28, 2010 at 10:07 am

Dual – VVTI dah launched kat Australia dalam 2007 -> http://www.themotorreport.com.au/538/2007-toyota-corolla-drivetrain-information.
    Banyak lambat la Toyota M’sia.

• super-expensive

• blacky on Oct 02, 2010 at 11:00 pm

altis 2.0 selling at around 81k at langkawi but add another 50k in KL (131K)
      forte 1.6 selling at around 81k in KL….can’t find forte price at nazakia website…so assume minus 40k….can get forte 1.6 in langkawi?

• Buy BMW on Oct 20, 2010 at 12:39 am

DON’T BUY THIS TOYOTA ALTIS, BECAUSE IT IS TOO EXPENSIVE ! ! !

RM 131,000 IS STUPID ! ! !