Ford to prove its Ecoboost V6 engine in Baja 1000 race

To prove that its 3.5-litre Ecoboost is more than enough engine in the F-150 truck and that it’s durable, Ford will give the Ecoboost its racing debut at the famous Baja 1000 desert race this November. The twin turbo, direct injection engine will be in stock condition (said to have been selected randomly off the line from Cleveland Engine Plant), and the machine is this cool F-150 you see here.

“The engine going into our race truck for the Baja 1000 is the same engine going into the 2011 Ford F-150 that customers can purchase starting next year,” said chief engineer Eric Kuehn. “No special blocks or structural upgrades. We are fully confident that because of the strict testing the 3.5-litre EcoBoost truck engines underwent before we started manufacturing, it will take anything the desert can dish out.”

Ford will compete in full-size stock class, which includes competitors with unlimited V8 engines. For safety, a full roll cage is added to each truck. Also allowed for competition are modifications to the suspension, tyres and wheels.

Baja is part of a “torture test program” by Ford to convince customers that its 365 hp/570 Nm Ecoboost V6 is a class leading engine. Visitors to Ford’s US website can see a poor engine enduring thousands of miles on the dynamometer and in the lab to ensure 150,000-mile durability (240,000 km) for the most demanding F-150 customer.

The site will also show a series of web-based documentaries hosted and narrated by Mike Rowe of the Discovery Channel series Dirty Jobs. The “jobs” include towing a pair of Sprint Cup Ford Fusions for 24 hours around a 1.5-mile oval track and hauling timber in Oregon.

More pics after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1531]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• shanmungam on Sep 24, 2010 at 11:40 am

so ugly.. i think my mitsubishi lite is way nicer

• atnamwolley on Sep 24, 2010 at 12:05 pm

You must be joking. Mitsi Lite looks far uglier than most workhorse pickups.

• musicscott on Sep 25, 2010 at 3:15 pm

Who the hell cares what it looks like…all that matters is who cross the finish line first.

• Mancini on Sep 24, 2010 at 12:33 pm

why name it baja? macam baja subsidi sajer

• The Loner on Sep 24, 2010 at 12:58 pm

Ugly but musclar. US muscle vehicles are well-known for that.

• nabill on Sep 24, 2010 at 1:18 pm

im counting 12 headlights over there !

• rageaccel2 on Sep 25, 2010 at 12:13 pm

is a must for night race in the desert.. the obstacles or sudden drop offs u can’t see..

• rexis on Sep 24, 2010 at 1:47 pm

Is it an oil burner or petrol? And looook at the size of that heat sink, are you sure this is stock? Heck…

• Now that’s what i call a truck. Pajero pls stand aside…

• theanswer on Sep 25, 2010 at 9:44 am

baja race? what baja race? still; well known off road race is dakkar and pajero did very well there..not ford. tq.

• Cool…

“Have you driven a Ford……………. lately.” Or was it “Built Ford Tough”. :)

• super cool!!
    with the SVT Raptor version will be good~

• ah yat on Sep 24, 2010 at 9:46 pm

Go Ford… stand a site ladies (=hiluuxxx, navarraaa, tritoonnn…), SD please bring in F-150 in, I want to buy one…

• redline on Sep 25, 2010 at 9:30 am

Should facelift our Malaysion Ford Rangers to look like this… really BAD to the bone!

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Sep 25, 2010 at 4:05 pm

and you can park a suzuki alto underneath it