US made Hyundai Sonata recalled, local cars not affected

The current Hyundai Sonata is being recalled in the USA over a steering shaft problem. This recall exercise will involve 139,500 model year 2011 cars that were assembled at the company’s Alabama plant from December 2009 to this month.

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) report explains that “on some of these vehicles the steering column intermediate shaft universal joint connections may have been either improperly assembled or insufficiently tightened.” The worst case scenario is “a complete separation of compromised attachment of the connections, such that the driver could experience a loss of, or reduction in, steering capability increasing the risk of a crash.”

Sonatas brought in to dealers will have their shaft universal joint connections inspected for proper assembly. The power steering software will also be updated free of charge.

Local owners need not worry. Hyundai Motor Company has confirmed that Korean made Sonatas are not affected, and our market’s Sonata YF rolls out from HMC’s Asan plant in South Korea. Our sources have confirmed that there will be no recall in Malaysia. By the way, local spec Sonatas do not use the US market car’s EPS steering, but a hydraulic setup.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• greenluck on Sep 27, 2010 at 6:29 pm

What recall? I don’t care… just give me my car!!
    Still waiting for my Sonata (2 months + already). Force to downgrade from hi-spec to std spec bcause the dealer say may have to wait longer for my colour choice with hi-spec.
    What a shame.. I love the panaromic sunroof so much.

But with extra 8k in my pocket, many extra things I can put inside the car… like the new Iphone 4.. he..he..he..

• what a waste!

• oomph on Sep 27, 2010 at 7:29 pm

good for you mate!

• Jimmy on Sep 27, 2010 at 11:17 pm

Worth waiting longer for the panoramic sunroof, unless you have no car to use NOW.

• Yoona on Sep 28, 2010 at 10:03 am

yeah, i’d say wait otherwise u regret later as you will be driving it for the next few years. i saw in one forum seems to indicate that the AP issue has been resolved and if u booked yours in July, you will probably get it in Oct

• crazyboutcrv on Sep 28, 2010 at 9:53 pm

Wait till you forget take it out of the car,end up iphone missing with a broken windshield.

• langatian on Sep 27, 2010 at 6:38 pm

haha,
    as i thought malaysian hyundai sonata will not affected same as local assembled Toyota Camry due to acceleration pedal stuck!

• Lightning McQueen on Sep 28, 2010 at 8:32 am

They know malaysian do not care much for their cars

• inderaloka on Sep 27, 2010 at 7:24 pm

Hydraulic steering over EPS steering. Sometimes, traditional way is better.

• inderaloka on Sep 27, 2010 at 7:27 pm

Correction.

Hydraulic steering over Electronic Power Steering (EPS). Sometimes, traditional way is better.

• John Doe on Sep 27, 2010 at 7:29 pm

As usual, all the car brands (you name it, Toyota, Honda, and even Hyundai) produced the best quality version of cars in Malaysia that’s why there never any recall over here but instead produced the most horrible quality over in US.

• Mozilla Chrome on Sep 27, 2010 at 10:43 pm

Yes, i can smell cynicism there..

• haidir on Sep 28, 2010 at 8:17 am

additional info. it depend on the vendors who supply that steerings tho. korean CBU vendors are difference than US. i suspect it is so called “made in china” vendor.

• munaz743 on Sep 27, 2010 at 7:36 pm

This is just an attempt to protect the local brand in the US. Why there was no news on Ford or GM?

• nolan on Sep 27, 2010 at 7:53 pm

no recall for Malaysia Sonata because if the owner had an accident, they just don’t care because of Malaysia Boleh spirit….

• wowwowwwww on Sep 27, 2010 at 8:05 pm

time for Japanese car bashed to voice out again!or just keep quiet I guess….?

• this is what it is.. putting all the hight tech standard on car.. but mostly are not reliable or stable to be used yet. this is what us like. high tech tough not reliable.. just like korea.

• alldisc on Sep 27, 2010 at 8:16 pm

when 139,000 unit sonata recalled, only 5 comments here.

when toyota announce a recall, several hundred comments will be bashing toyota as if the cars are as of lowest quality.

pathetic.

• learner on Sep 27, 2010 at 8:46 pm

simple reasons, hyundai is cheaper with lot of goodies for the same segment as toyota, not just in malaysia but in other countries too. that’s why people expecting better Q with toyota than hyundai. when T have Q that is no better than any other brands (e.g. hyundai) ….. just ready for thousands of incoming comments…. remember, people have to pay premium price for T.

• wowwowwwww on Sep 27, 2010 at 10:24 pm

in Malaysia even the Japanese car packed with all the high quality goodies those basher will still shout….
        wonder why?
        and will usually compare a vios j to this sonata of….
        or compare a pajero to a q5?
        or comparing a kancil with a GTR(why waste so much on a shit Japanese metal even I rather buy 100 kancil…etc)?

• wowwowwwww on Sep 27, 2010 at 10:26 pm

in Malaysia even the Japanese car packed with all the high quality goodies those basher will still shout….
        wonder why?
        and will usually compare a vios j to this sonata of….
        or compare a pajero to a q5?
        or comparing a myvi with a GTR(why waste so much on a shit metal I rather buy 10 myvis…myvi also got 4 wheels la….etc)?

• Jimmy on Sep 27, 2010 at 11:13 pm

Very very true. So TOYOTA, you should have the highest quality among all ordinary cars; I am not talking about premium cars like Mercedes etc.

• Can’t put it any better… Even a million dollar handmade Ferrari can burn…

Least the ordinary cars have stuck pedals :p

• farghmee on Sep 28, 2010 at 7:09 am

malas dh nk comment..tu je..

mmg dh sedia maklum, kereta mana2 pn xperfect.

yg peliknye, ada sesetengah drp kita ni pk kete dia la yg plg perfect.

rasanya komen dh makin kurang sbb orang ramai dh sedar hakikat “kete xperfect” ni :)

• awg1031 on Sep 27, 2010 at 10:16 pm

i think something fishy is going on in the State..or is it their so call ‘skill’ worker is not as skilfull as they should be..

• wowwowwwww on Sep 27, 2010 at 10:39 pm

agree…don’t see much happen in japan or Korea….
      most recalls include those in US n China…

• totot on Sep 28, 2010 at 8:33 am

Ya seems that way. Also with this kind of trend of recall on most foriegn brand, it makes hint that there may be some sabotag on successfull foriegn brand to protect its local brand.

• Yoona on Sep 28, 2010 at 10:13 am

now that you mention, they are among the fastest selling cars in US.

the ruling party is losing popularity everyday due to high unemployment and seems desperate to improve it one way or another

• elwwmtx on Sep 27, 2010 at 10:44 pm

They were clever enought to take safety measure PRIOR TO ANY POSSIBLE FATAL ACCIDENT and FUTURE LAWSUITS.

• squawk on Sep 27, 2010 at 11:00 pm

So it’s true…. Americans can’t put a car together properly. LOL! :-D

• Jimmy on Sep 27, 2010 at 11:09 pm

Has Hyundai-Kia mastered steering technology? A friend of mine has an Elantra < 50 000km but got a steering rack problem. Another friend got steering sound (on rapid cornering) on his Sportage < 20 000km. Initially I thought just coincidence, now we see.
    By the way, Hyundai-Kia seems to be not yet good enough to build long-lasting durable reliable cars. Cut cost maybe, just to compete in pricing.
    Another weak point is the suspension/absorber.
    No recall in Asia? Could it be because nobody care? Or because Asian are more chin-chai-chin-chai, more easily cheatable?

• toyott on Sep 27, 2010 at 11:27 pm

WHY U.S car always recalled?? problem with qc or what??

• Thomanic on Sep 28, 2010 at 9:09 pm

Because US people are litigate. Anything happens, they sue. We Malaysian love to ‘settle sendiri’.

And their consumer protection law is WAYYY better than ours. The manufacturer have no choice but to recall. Reading through our statute act and compared to theirs, I can see why the manufacturer here not even bother to recall.

And one thing, even recall happens in Malaysia, it is different compared to US. In US, if you get a loaner car while your car is being fixed, the reimburse the loaner car fees. Talk about double standard……..

• alex tye on Sep 28, 2010 at 1:42 am

i am waiting the car ….until my neck long !! rather buy honda or toyota !! got $ buy car still need to suffer all this shit things !!

• Yoona on Sep 28, 2010 at 10:16 am

booking is refundable i believe, but i can never do it, not with their current specs and design…

• azrai on Sep 28, 2010 at 8:20 am

One more mystery just like Toyota. recallled in other parts of the world but Malaysian’s sold cars not affected. Are you kidding me? Why Malaysian car so perfect they don’t even have to recalled it?

• rickyll on Sep 28, 2010 at 9:07 am

Another recall. It seemed like no one else is going to escape. So, who’s next. The beauty is whenever there were recalls, be it in the U.S. or some other places. Our local dealers were quick to clearify that they didn’t involve those assembled locally. My guess is: It could be either due to the shoddy workmanship of foreign workers or ours is more superior in terms of quality control. LOL.

• Yoona on Sep 28, 2010 at 10:19 am

thats because it is NOT assemble locally, sigh

“our market’s Sonata YF rolls out from HMC’s Asan plant in South Korea. Our sources have confirmed that there will be no recall in Malaysia. By the way, local spec Sonatas do not use the US market car’s EPS steering, but a hydraulic setup.”

• BMW-More Problem on Sep 28, 2010 at 10:35 am

Sometime you need to read between the lines…..Toyota recall big issue… VW recall nobody make a big deal out of it…. why cos it is a Toyota and top selling in US.

All cars have defects due to mass production and that is a fact. Now whether they are responsible and make a recall is a difference thing.

It takes guts to own up to your own problem rather than sweeping under the carpet.

Now I am not a Korean car fan however I have to respect Hyundai for their bravery.
    This is how a brand builds consumer confidence. Who know I may consider Korean brand one day.

• its bcos ppl pay a premium price just for the supposed reliability and quality of toyota.

so if you pay more and get less quality obviously ppl will start slamming toyota.

• Civic1.7 RS on Sep 28, 2010 at 2:54 pm

sometime it design issue..

• Maybe it has something to do with right hand drive and left hand drive. States got left hand drive while we in Malaysia right hand drive.

I don’t know. Anyone can comment?

PS: I am quite surprise that some of us try to drag politics issue in this fine blog. Shame!

• niuhje on Sep 28, 2010 at 11:31 am

just wanna see dem cun chicks man … it’s all bout the ladies! all bout the lovely ladies!!

• vincent choong on Sep 28, 2010 at 11:45 am

For Jap car die-hard fan:
    When it happens to Toyota, it is ‘Conspiracy’
    When it happens to Hyundai, it is ‘Quality’

• subhero on Sep 28, 2010 at 1:03 pm

till now i dont see this car OTR .

• a new name for toyota=thaiyota,quality also kap kap only not like last time

• Got mine standard spec 3 weeks ago. So far so good!

• Chan,
      When did you book yours? High or low spec? 2.0? is it silver color?

• openmind on Sep 28, 2010 at 6:20 pm

Wonder why isn’t the recent recalled on car using toyota ZZ-FE1 engine not reported?

• Salam and good day to all..

I must say,I have been working about 11 years with a lot of Korean technology as my line of job is on many sophisticated merchant ships. This Hyundai as we know is not just a ‘car producer’ as we malaysian mostly knew. As far as I know and seen, they are a great company. They have a own shipping company. They also built ships as they have their own shipyard, plenty technology involved and been integrated into the ship system and as far as my experienced,their technology is reliable and changed overtime and becoming better and better and some of them are superior than the Japanese counterparts.

In Malaysia, many of us still think otherwise, that the Korean tech is not worthwhile. Many prefer the Japs. What had happen to some electronic gadget or stuff such as cellphone and TV years,where people tends to prefer Sony,Sharp and Toshiba instead of LG and Samsung. Now, the wheel has turned, and more and more people buying Samsung and LG cellphones and TV’s and they are up to the par again.

Malaysian should changed their mindset..For any other products and brands, please do make a good research of it and not just giving some comment or condemning or praising things blindly.

As for me,I am waiting for my Hyundai to take over my Toyota…