LLumar launches first 3S centre and two new tint films

LLumar, a company that is famously known for its security tints has launched the company’s first 3S centre right here in Malaysia. The flagship centre which is claimed to be the country’s first “3S tint centre” is located along Jalan Chan Sow Lin, next to the Audi service centre. The new centre allows customers to experience various demonstrations and display tools that showcase the quality of LLumar’s tint films. The centre also allow customers to compare tint films from its competitors.

Adding to that is a comfortable waiting area with WiFi connectivity so customers can at least wait while doing something productive, as a typical full-car tinting process can take anywhere between 3-4 hours, as I have experienced recently.

More time would be needed if there is sticky residue on your windscreen, after being removed by the authorities. LLumar whose parent company, US-based Solutia Incorporated which now owns Novomatrix (owner of the V-Kool brand among others) also launched two new tint films. First up is the AVS 70 windshield tint which belongs to LLumar’s Ultra-Premium Windsreen Film line-up.

The company claims that the AVS 70 is compatible with most wireless devices such as mobile phones, satellite signal receivers and infrared receivers. This comes as good news to most of us. Putting a tint that will render a GPS or a Smart Tag unit redundant isn’t something one would be happy about. However there is one problem. LLumar confirms that the AVS tint film is non JPJ-compliant, hence you could risk removal by the authorities.

We understand that LLumar will notify the customer which tint film is JPJ compliant and which isn’t. The other new product is the Crystal 6 film. This is the company’s “darkest legal” tint with protection against side impact collision as well as “smash and grab” incidents.

Unlike the AVS 70, the Crystal 6 tint is JPJ-compliant and it covers all windows and comes together with a rear windscreen tint (from LLumar’s windscreen tint products like the AVS). The front windscreen will have to be purchased separately. Yes, unlike other tint brands, LLumar sell its automotive tint products in two parts.

When a customer walks in, he or she has to select a security tint product (total of six to choose from) followed by the selection of a front windscreen tint (also six options). Pricing wise, the Crystal 6 tint will cost you RM1,680 for a medium-sized vehicle and the AVS 70 will set you back RM900 for a similar-sized vehicle. LLumar also revealed that it will replace its JPJ-compliant tints if they are removed by the authorities, free of charge.

LLumar also mentioned that it is working on a system which will allow customers to get JPJ-approved certificates that signify the legality of the tint. Customers will be able to show this certificate to the officer in charge to prevent removal, which could be due to a faulty scanner.

However it is unknown when this mechanism will be implemented. It should make things a whole lot easier for the consumers. Have your say after the jump. You can also read a report on 3M’s Crystalline tint film here.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• rosdi on Sep 28, 2010 at 5:33 pm

Wow!.. Gorgeous!!… (if you know what I mean… ).. :p

• 4x4Fan on Sep 29, 2010 at 5:01 pm

yeaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh…..You take at the left side..I’ll take at right side…hehe..

• the juke on Sep 28, 2010 at 5:42 pm

Whats the point of offering an illegal tint film in the first place? isnt that a ‘crime’ itself?

• dodgeviper88 on Sep 28, 2010 at 6:01 pm

cause there is demand for it. Furthermore, it is the customer’s choice and it is not a crime to have illegal tint. If not alot of people would be arrested and thrown in jail.

• JonLing on Sep 29, 2010 at 9:16 am

my question would be more like, why the authorities allow them to sell some “illegal” tints in the first place?? If you dun allow them to be installed in anyone’s car, simply ban them from selling in some major tint shops lah…….it’s hard to stop some small shops from selling those tints, but a big company like LLumar, i think they can do it quite simply. Don’t be like “you can sell them in your shop, but I will arrest those who’d install them later”……want to create some “games” for the authorities to “play” ah??

And I hope LLumar should consider to stop selling those “illegal” tints as well. Whatever the reasons for keep selling the tints are, I think when it’s illegal here, it’s illegal here. That is the law. Sad but true.

• isn’t illegal tint film but the ridiculous jpj rules that created how much percentage of light can be penetrate into the cars instead of hot sunny days in malaysia.
      think about it!

• if you’re just a road user then it’s easy to bash JPJ rules. But if you’re JPJ or PDRM, then it’s another matter altogether, no? Now, why do they have that 70% visible light transmission rule? (hint: something to do with road safety / crime prevention). Simple common sense: If light from outside cannot penetrate the windscreen at a safe percentage, would you be able to see THE ROAD clearly then? THINK about it!

• Hahaha.. You’re absolutely right. People who just simply bash the authorities simply have no empathy whatsoever in other people’s jobs. I vote for JPJ all the time. :D Cheers!

• trollbait on Sep 29, 2010 at 8:10 am

I would love to see what tune you’re singing when you kena a JPJ saman, kekeke

• dodgeviper88 on Sep 29, 2010 at 1:37 am

i don’t see singapore having any problems about tinted windows. I feel it’s to make JPJ or PDRM’s life easier, if you really suspect the car you can always stop and ask them to wind down the window. When you cross to Singapore also they’ll ask you to wind down all windows. Also it’s another easy way to generate revenue if you know what i mean. Same goes for HID lights as well. No proper guideline at all. I got a friend kena tahan cause the police say he got HID light. He say he didn’t change to HID just the bulb only. The police then say it’s the same it’s all illegal. They can’t even tell the difference. Stupid

• bluetravler on Sep 29, 2010 at 5:55 pm

Wrong dude, in the west coast of the state(CA and AZ) as also in our south city island. There are rules for the tinted windows and it is strictly enforced. On to the seller(retailer) and the owners(you end user). Beyond certain % of tint, their card readers don’t work. As for the states, well my cousin and I after got stop for speeding, we also got fined for tinted beyond the approve allowance.

• Shali on Jun 17, 2013 at 2:52 am

I agree. Malaysia is probably the sunniest spot in south east asia and to let JPJ has the final say is not right. Let the 16 million motorists here decide what they prefer. 16 million is a lot of votes. If they prefer the Bat Man standard so be it.

• E Bear on Sep 29, 2010 at 4:12 pm

Vip, Vvip, Enforcement staff…..they can use it without any worries.

• KeretaKebal on Sep 28, 2010 at 5:54 pm

peewiiitt..not tinted okey…

• Ah a timely post!

• beemer on Sep 28, 2010 at 7:14 pm

Those the installers?? Tear off my existing tint and get me LLumar!!:P

• chicken run on Sep 28, 2010 at 7:15 pm

wow , intoxicating to the chicks ………….

• Halfclutch on Sep 28, 2010 at 8:23 pm

If they are the installers, nobody would go kopitiam during installation..

• Jimmy on Sep 28, 2010 at 10:59 pm

Uppermost picture only:
    Ah moi, cantiq moi.

• Paul Tan on Sep 28, 2010 at 11:39 pm

My Perdana still has a few years old LLumar tint on it, installed at the old shop in TTDI.

• campro on Sep 29, 2010 at 3:17 am

i never heard of this brand LLumar….so it is good or not???
    i only know good brand like V-kool, air cool, ecotint…

• DonkeyKong on Sep 29, 2010 at 11:45 am

Their advertisements have been in local car magazines for so many years now..

• Corona Beard on Sep 29, 2010 at 3:23 pm

Other than the better foreign titles like Autocar ASEAN and Top Gear, who reads Local Car Mags anymore?

• Tiger on Oct 13, 2010 at 1:02 pm

Hahaha .. you only heard of good brands .. and did I see Air Cool among the good brands you mentioned? Hahahaha .. and you’ve never heard of a ‘lousy’ brand Llumar ? hahahaha …

• i want one..! i mean the chicks..^^ gud job Mr. H.Sidhu..two thumbs up!

• _xXx_ on Sep 29, 2010 at 9:57 am

“LLumar also revealed that it will replace its JPJ-compliant tints if they are removed by the authorities, free of charge.”

Do u guys find the above statement stupid? Contradicting with what the co claims?

• ka_one2000 on Sep 29, 2010 at 10:14 am

Yep, why the authorities wanna remove the tint if it is legal…..confused……

• DonkeyKong on Sep 29, 2010 at 11:49 am

Because when it comes to Malaysian authorities, sometimes the left hand doesn’t know what the right hand is doing. Ever encountered a situation whereby the JPJ website says one thing, and JPJ Putrajaya confirms it, but JPJ branches seem to have their own way of doing things that are totally different from what the website and JPJ Putrajaya says? I’ve come across this “problem” a few times.

• mechanical on Sep 29, 2010 at 1:07 pm

If there are legal dark tinted. i likeeeeeee :D

• how bout those vvvvvvips??dark s hell their tintd window??safety??they said cnnot b to dark bcos its not safe for the passenger/driver whatsoeva..are we using dark tintd for fun??hahaha..double standard..

• deuter_backpack_malaysia on Sep 29, 2010 at 4:48 pm

illegal film? has anyone been stopped for tinting film inspection? i dont have such experience before after been driving for more than 15 years. probably the device for inspection is either too expensive or jpj cant maintain the device.

• Frankie Tan on Sep 29, 2010 at 6:44 pm

you are a sheer lucky dude or simply you don’t drive hard enough like most of us, my W40 is elusive since 1999, W210 stop once by trafik since 1998 & Stavic stop once by trafik & once by JPJ Ops Cermin Gelap last year since 2005. Trafik is understanding but JPJ really sucks with a token fine of rm210 & an inspection at their place with the tint self removed prior to that fateful but eventful day. It still worth the expenses considering the security you get from prying eyes, yes we are talking about the reality of unreported ransom paid to small timer kidnapper, no thanks to our 50% only LT ruling. All Transport Minister are aware of this shivering truth but sadly they are too busy politicking to safeguard their platinum rice bowl and none has anymore resources to access this scenario. Don’t blame the overzealous JPJ as after all they are only: saya yang menurut perintah. Hopefully one day our Transport Minister can emulate to the least Japan if not Taiwan. There are still hopes, with direct access to PM where rakyat didahulukan & pencapaian diutamakan.

• Please don’t remove my tints, but I don’t mind removing those girls ‘thin tight white tint’. Hahaha.

• osh_kosh on Sep 29, 2010 at 8:47 pm

lotsa flesh… whippie…

• anyone got experience? comparing to 3M..toyota premium tint..

• Tiger on Oct 13, 2010 at 1:06 pm

I’m having LLumar Titanium 4 mil safety film , installed at AutoTint PJ branch. I tell you , you need to choose only ONE factor between safety or heat. If you picked safety like me , you need to sacrify the comfort of cool cabin. Safety films have very poor heat rejection , trust me. Sometimes when I stucked in jam in the afternoon , I regret in puchasing a safety film , but sometimes when I heard somebody’s side window kena smash by thieves , I felt otherwise pulak …

• carlove on Mar 31, 2013 at 2:24 pm

PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT GO TO 3M PUCHONG NEAR IOI MALL. I did my car tinted over there. I can’t explain everything here. They quot extremely expensive and they are not professional at all, I have experiences a very bad services there. After I have received my car, they don’t even clean my car, and what a mess ??? they dirty all my seat cushion. Make me so troublesome. I am so heartbroken with my new car. So please be careful with this 3M AUTO FILM IN PUCHONG GUYSSSS!!! I’m sure you can get better than this bullshit.