Lotus CityCar Concept – it’s a three-door EMAS!

lotus-citycar-2

Greetings from Paris! After an epic traffic jam to reach the Porte de Versailles and failing to find a seat in this packed press room, here’s the start of our live report from the show. And to kick things off, we have something Malaysians are familiar with – Proton’s EMAS concept with three doors and a Lotus badge. It’s called the Lotus CityCar Concept and sports styling that differs from the EMAS. Click here to see the EMAS.

This CityCar Concept is not part of the five new Lotus cars that will mark a new beginning for the company. The five new cars will be unveiled later in the afternoon. It’s a full range of sports cars ranging from a lightweight compact model like the Elise, to a full on supercar that takes aim at the best from Ferrari and Porsche. There’s also a luxury GT and a four-door version that should be a challenger to the Panamera.

Meanwhile, take a look at this CityCar Concept. The front styling is the “new face” of Lotus which you will see on the new range. Gone is the old look with the Lotus mouth – in with super sharp lines and squinty eyes.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Swift on Sep 30, 2010 at 7:01 pm

looks like Jabba the hutt to me.

• oomph on Sep 30, 2010 at 7:11 pm

you are a blind for beauty.

• 3008_bought on Sep 30, 2010 at 9:07 pm

will they put this to production and price it cheaper like kancil?

• Sweft on Sep 30, 2010 at 10:11 pm

then your overpriced swift looks like pricess amidala?

• swift is proven through out the whole europe.

what do you(P1) have? lol.

yea, export top spec, and selling cheapest spec, and export spec is cheaper than local spec. We subsidy foreigner, itu la baru macam. 1 msia.

• littlefire on Oct 01, 2010 at 10:08 am

Honestly, it really looks like Toyota IQ to me… With some cosmetic changes… Since Lotus have been using Toyota engine a lot, so would not be surprice..

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_iQ

Maybe using the same marketing tactic like Aston Martin Cygnet?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aston_Martin_Cygnet

• izyan on Oct 08, 2010 at 12:09 am

no more traffic jam problem. ;)

• Jack Lim on Sep 30, 2010 at 7:14 pm

Why right hand drive? thought lotus ady belong P1

• top gear don’t want the aston martin cygnet……and now…….this……

• yippi33 on Oct 01, 2010 at 4:13 pm

Why some people are so obsessed with topgear and everything they say??they’re not the gods of automobile..shiissshh!

• hope proton version will come out with imprinted backlight intact! i like those lamps but not this lotus version..

• evilunatic on Sep 30, 2010 at 7:27 pm

i’m lovin’ it. :D

• Damn, it makes the Proton looks so dull and boring…(in fact, it is…)
    Nice car btw…

• no spec?

• Brian on Sep 30, 2010 at 7:56 pm

But better looking than the actual Emas though. Oh Proton, when will you people actually design cars with passion and true creativity?

• than proton version emas!

• balloon on Sep 30, 2010 at 8:06 pm

looks alittle like tthe Range Rover Evoque !
    I hope this get into production and win some Aston Martin Cygnet Fan because this is better !

• if the price is right, this will sell like hot cakes in malaysia and eventually the world. I always believe proton (national car) is a good idea but a badly managed company due to poor management.

• Katak on Sep 30, 2010 at 11:42 pm

Have u ever seen a “cheap” brand new Lotus in your life time??? I think no one soul on earth have…..So, keep on dreaming.

• zack2terer on Sep 30, 2010 at 9:07 pm

love to see lotus badge than proton

• Jimmy on Sep 30, 2010 at 10:24 pm

Can Proton please don’t call the original car EMAS? This name sounds so cheap! Maybe can modify a bit to call Emasso, Aurum, Momentra or even Quantum.

• Galon (Ganyang Malon) on Oct 01, 2010 at 1:38 am

Not ‘EMAS’ that make car look cheap,but Proton did. I suggest if you have Proton Emas, you must called it Toyota Emas. Nah you must feel very ‘high class’ now when driving your car.

• emas is cheap? maybe u have so many emas at your home or maybe u are poh kong tauke…

• kozekx on Oct 01, 2010 at 9:58 am

Gold (Emas) sounds cheap???

• bobdbilder on Sep 30, 2010 at 10:25 pm

Love the camera replacement for side mirrors. It would do wonders for the aerodynamics. Not to mention reducing the power consumption. But I would think they’d change that to a smaller pod by the A pillar when actual production version comes out.

• rigormortis on Sep 30, 2010 at 10:26 pm

wow emas!sorry but proton’s is way better.

• Jimmy on Sep 30, 2010 at 10:52 pm

Can call the EMAS as Proton Thundercat (or Proton Thundercar). Thundercat, I like this name (the logo is it a cat or harimau, or just ‘cat terpercik di lantai’? Can’t Proton design a better, more organised more symmetrical kind of logo?).
    BTW the triangular front fog light areas make me want to vomit. Should be re-designed.
    Avanza-type door handles again???

• y don u ask alfa romeo, peugeot, jaguar, rover, ferrari, holden first they r not symmetrical either long before proton

• bryan.jones on Sep 30, 2010 at 11:02 pm

Bloody Ugly!! Group Lotus, focus pls!!!

• Katak on Sep 30, 2010 at 11:40 pm

From the interior photo, we can be sure this is just a fancy mock-up conceptual car.
    Not sure how Lotus will do with a mass market electric car……Proton haven’t built one yet & neither is Lotus.
    Just for testing market reaction & survey I think……

• mr5zal on Sep 30, 2010 at 11:55 pm

Rosyam Noor will get confused and dont know which one to buy- proton emas or lotus. Hahahaha..

• xavier lert on Sep 30, 2010 at 11:57 pm

shud color it gold..

• meejawa on Oct 01, 2010 at 4:05 am

Mata Sepet !!!

• monada on Oct 01, 2010 at 8:19 am

I like the general design of Proton Emas.. This CityCar is following the overall new theme of Lotus cars. Can’t understand why some people still prefer to bash the Emas concept…

• wowwowwwww on Oct 01, 2010 at 2:13 pm

instead of admitting they can’t afford a lotus,they choose to bash the emas which look better than this…
      not saying better but I don’t think this look better than the emas….
      emas is cheap?coz it’s a language they familiar with…and if proton use some French or Italian naming….’wow!!!!this car sounds superb expensive I want it!!!’

• Aaron Isaac on Oct 01, 2010 at 8:37 am

hahaha, squinty eyes…sounds malaysian!! xD

• cheap?? no no lotus will not be like that..coz best seller car not come from its price..

• zaff1984 on Oct 08, 2010 at 8:28 am

I think car will be compete with mini cooper as a premium compact car… Lotus try to steal the cake of premium compact…

• Rudolf on Aug 01, 2011 at 8:20 pm

Hei, I like this car. I think its cool to drive one. :-)

• anakSarawak on Aug 01, 2011 at 8:46 pm

Wonder when will our “EMAS’ will become P1’s “anak Emas”…..

• DarkAvenger on Aug 02, 2011 at 4:26 pm

Looks good. Maybe i am wrong, but from the EMAS photo, the boot is freaky small….and if they can keep the price under RM60k…if it’s have a decent boot almost as big as Myvi and under RM60k, then we have a Myvi killer here.