The 5 new faces of Lotus unveiled – more details to come!

Don’t stop and think for a moment that the Lotus City Car Concept and the Lotus Elite revealed before this are the only two cars that Lotus have in store for the public at Paris 2010 – in fact Lotus has unleashed a massive onslaught of new cars, all styled with the new Lotus design language.

Here are all the five cars in brief while we upload the rest of the stories for you. Our man on the ground Danny will be back soon with live photos from the motorshow floor as well.

Lotus Esprit – 2 seater, mid engined, rear wheel drive, powered by force inducted 5.0 litre V8 making 620 PS and 720Nm, redline at 8,500rpm, 0 to 100km/h in 3.4 seconds, 7-speed twin clutch transmission. Hybrid KERS system optional. Spring 2013 debut.

Lotus Elan – 2+2 seater, mid engined, rear wheel drive, force inducted 4.0 litre V6 making 450 PS and 465Nm of torque, 7 speed DCT. Debut in Summer 2013.

Lotus Elite – 2+2 seater, front-mid engined, rear wheel drive. Similar engine as the Lotus Esprit, but with front-mid engine layout. Uses a hybrid gearbox with integrated electric motors and KERS. Scheduled for Spring 2014 debut.

Lotus Elise – the bread and butter of the Lotus marque so far has been the Elise. It’s interesting to see if Lotus has done much to the original Elise’s ‘less is more’ principal. This new Elise is quoted at being 1,095kg so it’s still pretty light. The original Series 1 Elise was 725kg and the latest is about 901kg. This new baby is 200kg lighter. Power is via a 2.0 litre force inducted to make 320 PS and 330Nm of torque, taking it from 0 to 100km/h in 4.3 seconds, paired to a 6-speed manual with optional twin clutch. This Elise will debut in 2015 for about 35,000 pounds.

Lotus Eterne – this is a big bad four door super saloon from Lotus, also using a 5.0 litre V8 force inducted to make 620 PS and 720Nm with a 8,500rpm redline. It’s front-mid engined and rear wheel drive with optional all-wheel drive, and is expected to be priced at about 120,000 pounds with an intended early 2015 debut. You’ve got four doors and four seats.

Are you liking the new face of Lotus? More details coming soon! Other than these 5 cars and the Lotus City Car Concept, the Lotus stand also features the new Evora S and the automatic Evora IPS.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Anti Proton on Oct 01, 2010 at 12:49 am

very nice.

• Gajen on Oct 01, 2010 at 12:53 am

all look alike….however they look cool…happy to see the elan back

• nihonjin on Oct 01, 2010 at 12:58 am

the side mirrors are so tiny…camera integrated maybe? are these just prototypes or the final version paul?

• Paul Tan on Oct 01, 2010 at 1:03 am

They’re probably concepts that are intended to go into production as all of them have release dates. But the technical details have probably not been finalised. I doubt any of these are running prototypes, just pure design concepts and a product plan.

• nihonjin on Oct 01, 2010 at 1:07 am

ahhh…thanks for the reply….need to lower the expectations abit then…but so far the line-up is superb!

• speedywinger on Oct 01, 2010 at 1:02 am

futuristic design =)

• ko malu saje... on Oct 01, 2010 at 1:10 am

Mazda!!!

• rihuhs on Oct 01, 2010 at 1:11 am

ooh.. me likey~

• trav_da_man on Oct 01, 2010 at 1:13 am

This is indeed interesting and ambitious. It reminded me of Aston Martin’s DB9 project where almost all of their model lineup looked more or less smiliar despite different body sizes and engines.

It is also risky as well. Provided the price is bad and sales flopped, this will spell disaster to Proton. Anyhow let put fate with Dany Bahar, afterall Proton hired him. This cant go wrong i hope!

• Kevin Tan on Oct 01, 2010 at 1:15 am

Five sports cars in one motor show? WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW!

Now Proton, please re-badge one of those and rename it PUTRA CPS. You can dump in the upcoming 1.6 liter turbocharged campro to make it work! it won’t reach the 4.3 sec mark but it sure gives a taste of what Malaysians could have….

• JACK HAMMER on Oct 01, 2010 at 11:23 am

agree..

PUTRA replacement please…

• pls la.. on Oct 01, 2010 at 11:21 pm

good idea!! where is proton putra replacement??
      so please proton, dont leave putra a side.
      i am sure a lot of putra fans out there.
      so proton dont make us disappointed.

• taufic on Oct 01, 2010 at 1:22 am

simply omfg

• lotus eterne….make tht a base design language for the new perdana

• ryuuga on Oct 01, 2010 at 4:52 am

All the manufacture in the world are incorporating with world design language so let it be the new face of proton line-up.

• skatax on Oct 01, 2010 at 1:27 am

5 cars in a row is a bit too much. i just hope the funds that Lotus going to get to build up these babies won’t come from our G’s money.

at least figuratively, i am proud that these cars are products from Proton.

• nigel hisham on Oct 01, 2010 at 1:47 am

who else is do you think is going to pass the kitty to lotus…

• bogaboga on Oct 01, 2010 at 1:31 am

love the fresh looks ^^ and espirit engine detail looks like it is able to challenge the new lambo huhu

• taufiqh on Oct 01, 2010 at 1:39 am

Maserati and Lamborghini combined!

• avenue de opera on Oct 01, 2010 at 1:42 am

Fantastic opportunity for P1 to offload a portion of its equity
    in Lotus when its on the high. !!

• Nabill on Oct 01, 2010 at 1:46 am

Awesome ! Just curious where the engines and transmissions sourced from ? Doesn’t look like from Toyota anymore

• nigel hisham on Oct 01, 2010 at 1:49 am

guess who is going to pay for the project financing???? hampers to anyone for an accurate guess…

• MoFaz on Oct 01, 2010 at 2:45 am

that’s exactly Malaysian mentality…
      when a son/daughter of a teacher scored 8As in PMR, everybody said: “biasalah, anak cikgu, mestilah cikgu tu ajar anak dia lebih daripada anak orang lain”

but when a son/daughter of a rubber tapper scored 8As after he/she study hard, and burning the midnight oil… guess how many of us would praise and take him/her as example to follow?

it doesn’t matter how much help a person get, he/she won’t success if he/she doesn’t have the desire to be successful.

• JACK HAMMER on Oct 01, 2010 at 11:27 am

well said..
        u got some points there..

but still some azzhole thumb u down..

• campro on Oct 01, 2010 at 1:51 am

5 model look the same….only minor different….buy 1 of those 5 should enough since all face look alike…i thought lotus would surprise us will all 5 different styling look…

• JACK HAMMER on Oct 01, 2010 at 11:29 am

almost all porsche cars look a like..

so what???

• campro on Oct 01, 2010 at 4:03 pm

British auto car maker all unmatchable to German marques…that why all british brand owned by other country auto maker….
        Lotus >> proton
        Jaguar>> tata
        mini>> bmw
        Land Rover>> tata

Conclusion German auto maker like VW, BMW, Mercedes is the world top ranking in Europe & world….that why malaysian all love to drive Mercedes & Bmw….now VW is start vr popular in M’sia now…especially the Golf GTI…really impress many m’sian eye…

• blaze on Oct 01, 2010 at 1:57 am

theres 5 beautiful cars and i still cant believe there’s haters out there.

go stuff yourselves in your toyotas dickheads.

• Tan Tee Lim on Oct 01, 2010 at 1:57 am

bah… was expecting more from the looks of the cars…

Why do they all look nearly the same… ?

• JACK HAMMER on Oct 01, 2010 at 11:35 am

why the latest mazda cars look a like???

something to do with their design language lar..

• steward on Oct 01, 2010 at 1:57 am

nice design but there some copycat to lambo & aston martin too

• Helmet on Oct 01, 2010 at 2:20 am

I think I just had an orgasm.

• Syarif on Oct 01, 2010 at 2:31 am

Looks very Japanese-like!
    Does Proton designers/engineers involve also in the project?

• senzu bean on Oct 01, 2010 at 2:35 am

The front might be the same but the back is really different for all 5 cars, it ill make the looks of Lambo concept rear to shame.

• akmal on Oct 01, 2010 at 2:54 am

seen the real pix on autoblog.. what i can just say….superrbbbbb…

• donadoni on Oct 01, 2010 at 3:51 am

all of all, i smell that something is missing. where’s the vented hood?

• shawal on Oct 01, 2010 at 4:56 am

The Elise is more beautiful than ever, but too bad its starting price will be around 40k pounds (RM400,000 plus taxes) which is what the current evora is going for…
    and Elise is the entry level lotus…

• HirumaKecil on Oct 01, 2010 at 8:36 am

when i look at the picture of this new elite.. suddenly i i’m thinking about Pininfarina Ferrari..

• Tiadaid on Oct 01, 2010 at 10:03 am

Oklah, Lotus makes money. And when Lotus makes money, Proton makes money. When Proton makes money, we make money.

• HirumaKecil on Oct 01, 2010 at 8:34 am

Dem hot… Superb… Look like they have a strong line of cars… This is just like what happen with Kawasaki.. After super low-profile in 90s, they give a big surprise to the world.. Remember when they introduce Z100 and Zx6 in early 2000s.. That moment is the superb comeback for ‘the green mean machnie’.. They are a king of the road in 70s and 80s, absent for a decade and comeback strong after that.. this is just the same with Lotus situation…

• lencongan on Oct 01, 2010 at 8:34 am

i can feel they need larger cooling ducts.

• FAReast on Oct 01, 2010 at 8:46 am

Yeah, the esprit make a comeback! =)

• blackjkx on Oct 01, 2010 at 8:53 am

Next: Develop your very own engine from magnesium,Lotus.

• E Bear on Oct 01, 2010 at 9:03 am

Esprit, Elan n Eterne, very nice. Definitely eye catching. One look n u know they are fast cars.

Launching so many models at the same time for low vol. producer may lead to QC lapses.

• facebook.com/protonlotusiast on Oct 01, 2010 at 9:04 am

which one of this is “Putra” replacement ;)

• xavier lert on Oct 01, 2010 at 9:14 am

i wanna see how Lotus Eterne compete with handsome rapide,tough masculine Qporte and ugly panamera…

• blackbox on Oct 01, 2010 at 10:32 am

Now is good time to sell Lotus and make money.

• Jedimaster on Oct 01, 2010 at 1:59 pm

Why Lotus can design So stylish car, But proton still cannot? Look at our cuerent model, gen2, waja, persona, satria,…ready alamak! no creative at all, Where is all proton designer graduate? from University Kampung…. So sad.

• remind you that those Proton models you mentioned are old models from 3-6 years ago. so sad.

just wait for the next Persona replacement, or EMAS. you’ll shit bricks.

• pls la.. on Oct 01, 2010 at 11:27 pm

strongly agree with u jedimaster.

• My personal view, Lotus currently has the best designs and they have beaten other big boys from this aspect.. Bravo guys!

• kapparo on Oct 01, 2010 at 4:41 pm

I like the Eterne…4-door & full 4 seats practicality withouth sacrificing sportiness

• fendy on Oct 01, 2010 at 4:53 pm

wowww look sweet .. the elite front look like lambo

• It is holy…when can own of these babies…

• somesay on Oct 02, 2010 at 3:45 am

a bit like honda crz front end design don’t ya’ll think

• sonGoten on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:13 am

To bad for most of us can’t afford it. Just can admire from tepi jalan with mouth wide open.