Peugeot 207 teaser reveals first details of Malaysian specs

Nasim has put up some initial details on the upcoming Peugeot 207 Sedan on their website. The following are the initial list of specifications that we know for now:

• 16 valve DOHC engine – no mention of engine displacement though. I’m assuming it’s going to be a normally aspirated 1.6L motor, but highly unlikely to be a Prince.
  • Adaptive automatic transmission with Tiptronic and Sports mode – this is most probably a new and improved version of their 4-speed automatic.
  • Sensor activated headlamps and wipers – this is probably best in class for a B-segment sedan of under RM100k.
  • Leather-wrapped steering wheel
  • ABS brakes with EBD and EBA
  • ISOFIX point for child seat
  • CD player with MP3/WMA/USB/Bluetooth support
  • 6 speaker sound system
  • Dual SRS airbags for the front occupants
  • 15 inch allo wheels with 10 spoke Interlagos design
  • 420 litre boot space
  • Engine immobiliser
  • 3 year or 100,000km warranty

How much would you pay for a CKD Peugeot 207 Sedan with a normally aspirated 1.6 litre engine and these specs?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• toyooot on Oct 02, 2010 at 12:25 am

70k, reosonable,, but ford fiesta will be the 1st choice.

• Modern on Oct 02, 2010 at 2:14 am

Agree.70K below should be.Above that, they cant sell well now that new Proton is gonna be launch. Plus this car has a poor resale value,unattractive rear lamp. Accessories it wise though. Tough competition for Peugeot.

• i will take any car as long can be drive, safe, hav 4 tyre, has 2 or 4 doors, has engine, has aircond, n anything that make car can be drive..but not 3 tyre car like in mr bean neighbor, not lorry or bus….if the car free i want it

• fried tape play on Oct 04, 2010 at 1:37 am

45k..not more than that..sure will sell like hot cakes..that nasim guy very rich already..peace!

• wolfsburg on Oct 02, 2010 at 12:28 am

For a 12 years old car I would probably pay 65k for it, at most 70k…

• bryan.jones on Oct 02, 2010 at 12:29 am

more like a facelifted 206 with new 207 fresh face.. and with ugly tarik butt. be realistic about RM 50-55k is okay. knowing Naza, they will dump the price later (like 206 from 69k to 44k), u think la.

• wolfsburg on Oct 02, 2010 at 12:34 am

It is really a 206 with a new body shell…

• Paul Tan on Oct 02, 2010 at 12:40 am

Yes it’s essentially a 206 Sedan updated with the 207 face and the interior’s been updated as well. However there’s no 207 Sedan based on the 207 in existence.

• Paul..the interior is exactly the same with the 206..
          unlike the china version..
          how i know ?
          because my peugeot friend show me their traning material

• mohdnasir on Oct 03, 2010 at 12:33 pm

ya i agree the interior is same with 206 but is much better than it and it is continental car

• bobdbilder on Oct 03, 2010 at 2:24 pm

If Toyota can do it for ages with the Vios why not Pugs with the 206? I’d personally would buy a 207 3 door hatch manual for 80K if it could make 0 to 100km/h in less than 10sec.

• alldisc on Oct 04, 2010 at 2:27 pm

to have a car dealer selling 207 with manual tranny? you must be dreaming ..

• pretty sure they will not dump the price, and yeah. i have thought of it. goes to show how little you know about nasim… which is part of naza but operates independently. get your facts right bro!

• bryan.jones on Oct 02, 2010 at 1:06 pm

dude, what till they rebadged it as naza.. then u know..

• they must get permission first from peug..this not china bro

• bryan,

you missed the ntv7 prime news 2 nights ago. it was revealed to the media with a peugeot badge. so, no naza badge for this little peugeot. which is good news isn’t it?

• Paul Tan on Oct 02, 2010 at 9:27 pm

The teaser image above clearly shows it has a Peugeot badge as well, although it’s covered abit by the white rectangle.

• stephen on Oct 03, 2010 at 2:54 pm

not only that….Paul found the info from Peugeot Malaysia homepage….not naza homepage….it won’t be a naza badge product…i went to service my 308 at ipoh Bluebox…they already putting up poster about 207.

• by the way, the 206 was badged a naza and this is badged a peugeot. that alone is value enough for many of the pug fans.

• tishaban on Oct 02, 2010 at 12:33 am

Let’s hope it’s around 70k. Any higher and it’s already encroaching into Naza Forte category, bigger car, bigger engine, better specs. Or the other B-segment cars from Toyota/Honda which have better mindshare.

Why aren’t they bringing in the 207 hatch?

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 04, 2010 at 2:14 am

207 Hatch would cost nearly RM100k I heard. Sedan is easier to sell and a viable ‘My First Continental Make’ candidate.

• waaaahh on Oct 02, 2010 at 12:35 am

I think Naza will price the car starting at 75K onwards. I am willing to buy the car at 55K since usually they will give up to 20K discount few years after first introducing the car.

• Anti Proton on Oct 02, 2010 at 12:37 am

i heard a car called a mazda 2 or a fiesta. much better.

• theanswer on Oct 02, 2010 at 12:46 am

i think somewhere around 65-75k.

• campro on Oct 02, 2010 at 12:47 am

more choices now….Vios & City dominating the market….no matter what M’sian heart alway been Toyota & Honda 1st….important is value for money including all aspect…

• fried tape play on Oct 04, 2010 at 1:39 am

yess more choice, but waja lancer will definitely EAT the market. no worry dude

• Espresso! Quick! on Oct 05, 2010 at 8:16 am

fried tape,

yeah, the waja will eat the market… that is 100% sure but this small peugeot is not aiming to fight the waja. i don’t think they even want to fight the city and vios or the mazda2 or even the fiesta.

the 207 is here just to provide an alternative to those who want a small european car at a local price (which i hope it will be) and that’s about it. a niche player content on its niche market. i believe that you and i can agree that the status quo will not change unless proton is disbanded and that day will never come seeing how much they are provided for. and, i don’t think the team at peugeot are worried about fighting with other brands. they are not even competing on equal grounds anyway, so what’s the point of fighting. as long as they reach their quota per month, they’ll be pretty satisfied.

so to those who go for the persona, the waja, the city, the vios and others, they are all good cars. nothing wrong there. just that there are different cars for different tastes.

• your comment is the best one

• Really like your comment:

so to those who go for the persona, the waja, the city, the vios and others, they are all good cars. nothing wrong there. just that there are different cars for different tastes.

• alldisc on Oct 04, 2010 at 2:36 pm

yes again as proven by market sales in august 2010.

vios was top with 3,192 units.

honda city was 1,901 units only.

this 207 sedan will hardly make a dent on the duo sales.

• alldisc,

totally agree with you. i don’t think the people at nasim are so gung-ho and think headed to go head up against the establishment. at best, they are looking for a small niche, get the car into the market and provide a small european alternative to what’s available currently. so, 90% (in my humble opinion) will most probably ignore this but for the 10% (again in my humble opinion) who do try this car out, they would probably discover the gem that is this car.

• nabill on Oct 02, 2010 at 12:56 am

ayoo , after all that glitter from the paris auto show , we r back to reality with crap cars !!

• yup, and so is everything else in the same segment. life is such.

• urk hik hik on Oct 04, 2010 at 1:55 pm

aiyo apa ama achi…

what la u complaint2……Paris FASHION show got much more glitter, but does our fashion getting any better……show is for show maaaa………..

• bystander on Oct 02, 2010 at 1:02 am

new 207 hatch, around 80k top, this piece of shit, RM 0.00! simply won’t consider this ugly car even b4 taking “naza” into account…

• if the 207 hatch came, you wouldn’t believe the price. was told by SA that it could be same as 308. so, no point wishing for it.

anyway, malaysia is not hatch friendly lah. unless you are perodua with a ‘star’ product like the myvi. even ford and mazda introduce sedan versions of their fiesta and 2… no matter how ugly they are too.

and at least this car won’t need a 6 month teaser period just to get 500 bookings (well, maybe a bit more by now)!! :D

• blabla on Oct 02, 2010 at 1:55 am

trust me, the butt looks fugly. seen it hate it. lol. but some cars are just meant for some people out there. as for me, i dislike it. haha

• toyott on Oct 02, 2010 at 2:18 am

how bout i give you this car for free?

• I would sell it and buy another car
        ^o^

• Thanks, count me in if u giving it free.. I ll exchange it for a myvi anytime. But I doubt there would be any takers.

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 03, 2010 at 9:35 am

Yes that would be a smart move. You should really get a Myvi to serve your needs.

• Espresso! Quick! on Oct 02, 2010 at 9:38 am

where and when did u see it? u sure or not u saw it? or you thought a vios was it? ;)

• Gajen on Oct 02, 2010 at 2:00 am

65K the most….i mean forte is 70sth…the most naza could sell is 65…

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 03, 2010 at 9:34 am

Yes I’m sure your logic would make sense, IF it was a Kia 207.

• tHe^CuLpRit on Oct 02, 2010 at 3:50 am

65k tops… can’t see this being a value buy if priced more than that. If it don’t sell then you know what’s gonna happen, lotsa dead stocks and price-throwing which is only gonna hurt the second-hand value.

good luck to the potential buyers ;-)

• retro on Oct 02, 2010 at 9:43 am

so far they have not discounted the 308 or 407 or 3008. i think they will continue this trend for the 207. well, for those who want other cars, buy them lah. nobody stopping them. by the way, resale value of the nasim introduced 407 is pretty good so this thing about resale value of peugeot is reversed already. have you checked out how high used 308s go for? if you want to wait for a new one, then you’ve got to wait months. so, for some, it is better to get used… no matter how high the resale value.

this 207 is for real drivers. may not look great but there’s real depth in the chassis and best of all, has hydraulic steering so it will not have the too light playstation type steering of the oriental competitors.

• i think resale value of single storey house at shah alam is very high…

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 03, 2010 at 9:34 am

Ah so, buying cars for resale value is it? Smart move. Very, very smart move. Now why didn’t they think of that?

• Lim Kopi on Oct 02, 2010 at 3:58 am

I am not even sure if I will be buying the upcoming Proton Wa-Lan instead of this junk … thats how cheap it should be :)

• KnowAll on Oct 02, 2010 at 8:47 am

this car is a China model which it appears NAZA is responsible for right hand drive markets… so question is will the parts come from China especially the common parts.. of course dashboard since it is right hand drive will probably be manufactured locally in Malaysia….

• alldisc on Oct 04, 2010 at 2:42 pm

a factory making dashboard for LHD market has no problems producing dashboard for RHD model. no big issues there.

• retro on Oct 02, 2010 at 10:16 am

Lim Kopi,

buy the wa-lan lah. nobody stopping you. it was afterall created for those who can’t afford a real lancer. this car with its european technology is definitely not suitable for you.

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 03, 2010 at 9:32 am

Yes you should really buy the Proton Lancer. It’s much better suited for you.

• accessories wise…. this 207 looks interesting but..
    i’ll still choose Mazda2 or Fiesta in this tough category..

• potatomasala on Oct 02, 2010 at 6:47 am

here is a review on that car from overseas….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hax78LNy1C4

• This car wont go cheap. but not too expensive. If what Naza’s target is able to be achieved. It should be 500 units of 207 per month competing vios and city.
    And being seriously. the spec isnt much.. nothing much to brag for. a competor for vios and city? even forte packed with all techy and high spec stuff cant beat the sale of vios or city. can this little peugeot be?
    Probably yes if that car has got 5 years warranty and a price of below a toyota vios J spec: rm70k.

• rynn,

they are not going to fight the vios, city, forte or the persona or the waja. 500 a month is peanuts compared to what the others do. i guess that’s all they require. so there’s no point saying that this will compete with whatever you may have. it is a niche player and as niche players go, numbers aren’t all that matters.

• that bad meh? you guys have not even seen it live yet. and don’t count on the discountlah. nasim has since stopped all that long ago.

• Yoong Tofu on Oct 02, 2010 at 9:35 am

207 with a nazak badge is worth no more than 20.7k

• SM Siddik on Oct 02, 2010 at 9:55 am

i just hope this car doesnt have mixed-badge like naza-kia……naza here, kia there….what a crap!!
    to buy? i’m living in brunei for the time being but looking at what you will get with your hard-earned money, i’m sorry, cant help….

• all spy shots point to it having a peugeot badge and as shown on ntv7 two nights ago, it HAS a peugeot badge. so, i think that should make peugeot fans happy that they don’t have to go and buy replacement badges ;)

• Jesse James on Oct 03, 2010 at 8:50 pm

Yes, it has. But it doesn’t stop them to slap ‘another’ NAZA sticker at the back, like they did on 308. The sticker could be easily removed though.

• alldisc on Oct 02, 2010 at 10:45 am

as this 207 is meant for Asian market, the same should be for the prices. i must agree with many here that it wont be as high as vios/city. should bt in 60-70K segment to be competetive.

nice specs though.

• Maserati on Oct 02, 2010 at 10:48 am

Ford Fiesta is crap lah.Fords have always been crappy cars.Duno why ppl are still buying them.Look at the Mondeo,total failure.

It will be a good buy if they price this around RM 75k-RM 85k.

But then again,RM 99,999 is also below RM 100k.

So yea,it all depends on what kinda engine they are using,and the interior build quality.

• Tiadaid on Oct 02, 2010 at 1:47 pm

Funny, for a car you call crap, it has received a lot of accolades from people who know better.

• ko malu saje... on Oct 02, 2010 at 5:50 pm

he is a malay italian wannabe, so what can you expect?

• retro on Oct 02, 2010 at 7:51 pm

what’s wrong with ford cars? it’s not doing well simply because malaysians have been fed a staple of tapoica for far too long, they don’t know how to appreciate caviar. caviar is not cheap and rightly so european cars. but the fact is both can fill the stomach. just the question is whether or not malaysians dare to try a different diet and spend more for fine food.

maybe it is time for a change in mindset. but as people have been confortable for a long time, it is difficult to handle change even if the change is for the better.

• yess..ford just cant do it in malaysia.maybe in uk or aussies. in malaysia, ford looks like a old design moving fridge.dun care the marque,really, nobody use ford here.

• Focus on Oct 03, 2010 at 1:04 am

Hehee, I beg to differ… lotsa fords on the roads… just not as common as your asian cars.. I think the Ford Focus, Mondeo, and Fiesta all look just fine :) . In any case beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

But yea, the rear of the 207 is just not right :P

• fried tape play on Oct 04, 2010 at 1:47 am

gud point.
          i dunno what sime darby doing right now with their fords marketing. suddenly quite like rat.
          ford is a good car, just need more marketing.like massive one.

• mitlanevo on Oct 02, 2010 at 11:03 am

if 60-70k, i will surely go for it…

• zimba on Oct 02, 2010 at 7:50 pm

hmm.. it will definitely be irresistible if it’s rm55k to rm 60k. if not.. Why not Persona high Line? Think twice ma. Can Naza’s quality beat even Proton?

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 03, 2010 at 9:22 am

Judging from the quality in the Optima, Sportage, Spectra5, Forte, 407 and 308 I think they can match and exceed Honda and Toyota quality quite easily.

• aiya… have you ever drove one of those? Most of the cars has much problem compare to the almost problem free T n H. I know one Forte owner who is struggling for warranty service already. In terms of the Interior design. I do agree that those car have better quality compared to T n H. But when comparing the reliability of the car. T n H win it.

• tiadaid on Oct 03, 2010 at 4:22 pm

T&H almost problem free? I beg to differ. They have just as much problems, but people are too ignorant to see it

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 04, 2010 at 2:03 am

Yes, I have driven all of them, and I’ve looked CLOSELY at the panel gaps, fit and finish, etc. Many of my friends are using Peugeots and Kias as daily drivers. They drive them HARD! I’m not going to knock the Japanese brands, but they are not as infallible as you might imagine.

• just go for persona dude.seriusly will regret if u buy this bag of douche. mark my word.persona!

• Focus on Oct 03, 2010 at 1:05 am

The Persona is much more pleasing t the eye :)

• abu busyra on Oct 03, 2010 at 11:18 am

yup guys….go for it. more Elegance..kekeke

• Ash Menon on Oct 03, 2010 at 2:25 pm

Agreed. The Persona Elegance version is manages to look more premium while being cheaper. I’m still trying to figure out how the company that designed the 407 could get this 207’s butt so wrong… French car design really has trouble with the rear end. 308, Megane, etc.

• 60-70k and hatcback, sure!

I hate how cars sold in the Asian region has to be ‘stretched’ into a sedan to be accepted… most of them turns out ugly.. >.<

• They will sell at latio, vios or city range

• I like pug but the resell value is kinda sad.. :/

• speedywinger on Oct 02, 2010 at 11:54 am

Looks very boring tho..

• seconded..mazda 2 is better, even saga blm is better

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 03, 2010 at 9:20 am

Better in terms of what? How do you justify that comment?

• fried tape play on Oct 03, 2010 at 9:10 pm

yeah, saga is better. mazda 2 is a a real looker ( just put a skirt set..fuhh).no problem on saga so far ( power window aside).engine n gearbox is unbelievably gud this time.handling superb. n for sure the QA/QC side..b00oo for naza/puG!

• mizzuddin on Oct 06, 2010 at 3:25 am

saga handling superb..? r u damn high..? and booing pug for the handling? something is not right here bro…

• mizzuddin on Oct 06, 2010 at 3:29 am

most saga will suffer scratches at the outer “pembuka pintu”… and “terkulai” a bit for the inside “pembuka pintu”…

• mizzuddin on Oct 06, 2010 at 3:35 am

park ur saga under the hot daytime and the plastic cover for the A-tower will “terkulai” for itself too..! and the dashboard will become greyish especially Gen-2 and Persona…

• Ash Menon on Oct 03, 2010 at 2:26 pm

As in the Mazda 2 sedan? Now that’s a tough call…

• normal_user on Oct 02, 2010 at 12:02 pm

Its not worth a look if its priced more than RM65K. Higher than that, Fiesta, Mazda2 are better choices.

• WahPiang on Oct 02, 2010 at 12:32 pm

Ugly car. But nevermind, since I’m in 3rd world, might as well blend in with the locals

• bryan.jones on Oct 02, 2010 at 1:12 pm

don’t buy this for your daughter, new X3 is a good choice for her.

• RM68,888 :o)

• Jimmy on Oct 02, 2010 at 1:30 pm

Those who predicted a price more than RM65K must be those who are not good at maths, or just too rich (rm65k to them is rm65??).
    Top specs even with panoramic sunroof (as free accessory)cannot be more than rm65K. Just too close to Vios J.
    Basic spec priced at rm50k maybe a better strategy (price range of persona which has many more kelebihans).
    Why would an ordinary Malaysian choose a rm66k Pug 207 over Vios J? Just tell me. Unless Pug after-sales service is 2x better than toyota AND spare-parts is guaranteed easy to find (don’t trust the salesman who tell you the spare-parts will be available in 48 hours, piece of shit; unless it is black-and-white – any delay will be paid compensation).
    I am not a Toyota salesman.

• retro on Oct 02, 2010 at 7:46 pm

unfortunately, you don’t know much about this car either. why do you think they only want to compete on numbers? hasn’t it occured to you that they may not even need to sell more than a certain number to be comfortable?

sure there will be others buying the vios or city… then it is up to themlah… i don’t think nasim is concerned about that all.

you need to understand a little more about branding than numbers here. in life, things are not always decided by black or white, or numbers, or math, or yes or no. there is something called passion and the need to espress oneself. and, if those have a little more to splurge on themselves and they like what this car offers, what’s wrong with that? you can’t let others make their own decision? who are you to judge a person on what they buy if they can afford it? i mean if you’re such a pro at math, then it is fully your right to buy your vios and be happy about it but it DOES NOT GIVE YOU THE RIGHT to criticize others who have different views from you. maybe, this car is not even for the ordinary malaysian but instead, the extraordinary malaysian who thinks differently, who thinks out of the box.

for those who think with their heads, sure, go get a vios or for those who just want the biggest car for the money, there’s the persona. even the myvi is good value if you think this way. but for those who want to live a little more on the fine side, there are cars like this or i even dare say the entry level ford and vw.

don’t know why you are getting so worked up… you haven’t even seen the car live yet.

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 03, 2010 at 9:00 am

I don’t understand the haters. No one is forcing them to buy the 207. It’s an alternative to the mainstream products out there. Congratulations to them for putting in a lot of specs in a European make, at a reasonable price. What more can you ask?

• retro~ i think u are the one getting worked up with lotsa comment up here. It’s not up on what brand is the car. Peugoet car is good for low noise on highway and tough chasis yet good handling. It’s all good. But now it’s the Naza who packed those things up… lotsa people who used to have or having Naza’s build car faced many problem and non-stop claiming from the warranty. But yet… claiming from the warranty still need to wait quite long.. This is why when people see it’s a Naza’s built… People dont want it anymore.. All Naza bad history has all the way from the very first Naza Ria to Citra to Picanto to Sutera, Forza 206 and even Forte.. All got problem with the services.

• retro on Oct 03, 2010 at 1:17 pm

Rynn,

Perhaps you hv a point about the services. Wonder if Paul could open a story on services for us to discuss. We could even discuss which naza branch is not performing or better still, see how it stacks up to the other 1) european entry level brands 2) japanese and 3) national makes.

But as a product, maybe this is not so bad. It’s got stuff that let’s it stand out pretty well against its main competitors.

• zimba on Oct 03, 2010 at 1:59 pm

yea~ only vios i guess.. But not City.. still will loose to a Proton Lancer lauching this month [( it seem that it has brough forward instead of November in trying to compete the New Altis.. according to a salesman in Proton Showroom at Subang… and even got a proof it’s launching in Oct instead of Nov:
            http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2010/10/2/business/7139734&sec=business )]
            Want a europe handling? Proton has got Perfect Lotus handling.. Reliability? Proton has got Japanese’s car reliability.. people let’s focus more on our Newly rebadged Proton lancer launching this month instead of this Pug first.

• zimba on Oct 02, 2010 at 7:51 pm

aiya… didnt see your comment.. You speak as i think!! Persona high line way much better to this!

• mizzuddin on Oct 03, 2010 at 5:32 pm

zimba: r u sure h-line persona is way much better than this? ummm… in term of what..? kindly please evaluate

• zimba on Oct 03, 2010 at 10:10 pm

There are quite some people supporting that Persona high line is better to this..
          1. more handsome and sexy with the body kit.
          2. it campro iafm.. way more efficient compare to pug 1.6 vti. it’s more fuel saving then Pug 1.6 vti(as in Pug 308) go ahead and check it out.
          3. Persona high line has got navigation! cool man~
          4. Persona also got ABS and EBD + Lotus Ride and Handling whey.
          5. Auto Cruise to save even more fuel on highway
          6. trunk with remote release
          7.Immobiliser also got la
          8. dual srs airbag also got
          9. 15″ aloy wheel
          10. leather seat
          11. reliable . QC comfirmed.

• Espresso! Quick! on Oct 03, 2010 at 11:47 pm

Persona reliable? QC confirmed? Hahahahaha :D anyway, since you said so, yalah. Pretty good package but it will never stand heads and shoulders with other foreign brands. Good as it is, it just doesn’t have the brand value.

And you really believe that Lotus handling stuff huh. Goodlah you! That means their marketing has been successful. Perhaps, you should apply to be their spokesperson. And, go on then… go buy your dream car with the other many tens of thousands. Afterall, the herd instinct never hurt anybody.

• Since when Peugeot is a branded? Peugeot is just an old brand.. I dont find how cool it is comparing to Proton. Since when Peugeot is a branded? If Peugeot car is that cool.. why the Europe people nowadays prefer Japanese car?( for the midrange…)

• to rynn:

why the Europe people nowadays prefer Japanese car?( for the midrange…)

How sure are you about this?
            Europeans still prefer European brands.
            Here you belittle Peugeout, and if you check what happen in Europe, Japanese cars got the same fate.

Just go to websites similar to our mudah.com.my, you’ll have some ideas.

• mizzuddin on Oct 06, 2010 at 7:57 am

wallaauu… “Lotus Ride and Handling whey” maa… actually the standard suspension setup for 1.6 wira sedan ’94 handling is way much better

i only agree the good looking facts. i love the appearance of both gen2 and persona

• mizzuddin on Oct 06, 2010 at 8:03 am

navigation..? u mean the portable GPS unit.? come on… its not an embedded or integrated with the car… u can find one at lowyat plaza at much lower cost and models to choose from

• john doe on Oct 03, 2010 at 7:00 pm

Toyota spare are cheap and easy to get because all malaysians toyotas are not imports….all local made with most of the parts from Thai….so plenty of imitations lying around….Pugs, Chevys and Kias spares are coming from their main factory, not made by Naza….thts why they are expensive(ori maa) and they take time to arrive….

• White Jack on Oct 02, 2010 at 3:37 pm

RM63,888

• mizzuddin on Oct 02, 2010 at 3:54 pm

if the price is around 55k maximum… i’ll definitely buy this car…

• mizzuddin on Oct 02, 2010 at 3:58 pm

if the price is around 55k maximum… i’ll definitely buy this car… but even h-line ploton priced at rm59k

• Pug dog on Oct 02, 2010 at 4:18 pm

Have you ever drive a Pug? If x, try first.. then u will never bother about resale value, bla bla etc…

• kennytan on Oct 02, 2010 at 6:30 pm

hi…everybody.whos can shared with me about 206cc year 2003.how about the

maintaine fees? fuel?spare sparks?My friend want to selles 58k.is it reasonable?

thank you to all Car Expert in Paultan.org……….

• Ash Menon on Oct 03, 2010 at 2:31 pm

I think that’s way too high… Why don’t you check the papers, look for used Bestari 2003, see what the price is? Or motortrader website also.

• 206 for 58k? oh gosh.. you dont have to think twice to take it.. decline it.. It should be around rm30k. if it’s 58k you should take a Persona or a new Myvi ady.

• mizzuddin on Oct 06, 2010 at 3:47 am

bro… its not 206 bestari… or 206 1.6… but 206CC… the convertible one… CBU unit… believe me… 206 handles real great.. can’t say the feel… and bestseller in Europe too…

• alpha999 on Oct 02, 2010 at 8:42 pm

let’s be realistic, this model will hardly even reduce sales of T n H.

malaysians will rather go for myvi…….years later after earning more, they will trade their myvi for toyota models

• osh_kosh on Oct 02, 2010 at 9:18 pm

RM50k i also don’t want…

• They plan to sell how many per month? Lookk at cchhevvy cruze only 150 per unit. All becoz naza is the culprit

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 03, 2010 at 8:58 am

It’s Nasim not Naza Tuan Syed. ‘Culprit’ eh? What’s with the Naza The Evil Empire talk? Nothing they can do is right for some people.

• Jimmy on Oct 02, 2010 at 9:50 pm

If somebody is faithfully servicing my car well like UMW, I say again UMW, why should I change for the so-called ‘better’ whom I am not even confident with (their lousy after-sales service like the Nazakia — please improve ya, if you hear me, I wish you will improve). Every body also can say their after-sales service si so so good, but please ask 100 Toyota owners and compare. When you taruh the money and you find nobody cares about your complaint or claims for waranty parts, then you cry. I am a white-collar man ya, I am not a Toyota salesman but owner of Toyota car (I have bought 4 other cars of different brands and they are all lousy, I don’t know about Honda yet).

• retro on Oct 02, 2010 at 10:52 pm

Oklah, you’ve made your point. Glad you’re happy with your toyota. I’m happy with mine too. Aftersales for other brands will always be a question mark. Right? But with the French HQ backing this car, can’t you give them the benefit of the doubt?

This is going to be a much simpler car to maintain compared to the more complicated models on offer. Who knows, owners of this car may have a better experience.

• i maybe the lucky one… wonderful service experience so far with my 206 service.
      Toyota service is also good but it come with a price (but some still think is worth it!)

by the way, i’m too not a car salesman & i own both make :o

• helmi on Oct 02, 2010 at 10:36 pm

For me 70k. But I dont know it will sell well because most Malaysian has negative perception about French marque such as reliability, expensive maintainance, expensive and difficult to get the spare part. Peugeot has a long way to build its branding here.

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 03, 2010 at 8:56 am

True but at least they’re putting effort into making it work. As for reviving a ‘dead brand’, I think they’ve done more good than bad. Keep the constructive criticism coming, but pot shots do no one any good. They make the forum look bad.

• hey u guys, taste this naza bag of douch.haha
    buy this, u get a lot of free stuff like- steering fluid leaks, regular over temp, unbelieveable quick paint aging, n a great depreciation rate. nice spares price too..enjoy!
    1 more..nobody will buy ur car after dat, lu pakai lah sampai jahanam..HAHa

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 03, 2010 at 8:55 am

No one’s stopping people from buying a Honda City and Toyota Vios. I am sure they are invincible and completely free from any issues.

• Not sure whether Naza was screwed up by Pug or Naza screwed up us; in China tey got better looking 408; a 308 sedan with better looking not an aging 206 with trunk. naza reputation not better by this model but 3008!

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 03, 2010 at 8:54 am

First of all, it’s Nasim not Naza. What are you talking about? The 408 is a larger car. 207 Sedan is smaller. Who’s screwing who, and why?

• Try to check with wikipedia when PUG launched 206 and 207 is booted outgoing version of Pug. Are you happy with old 2000 Corolla to rebage as Corolla and sold alongside current Altis?

• Espresso! Quick! on Oct 03, 2010 at 11:25 pm

Hey, I don’t mind an old SEG facelifted and sold as new! Its a good and reliable car. So, why not? As long as it is more affordable than the ridiculously priced new Altis. Well, its also got to be a Toyota lah and not some other weird unheard off brand.

Back to this, yeah. There is business sense. Its gonna be way more reliable than the newer stuff thanks to the older but proven mechanicals. So, yeah, there could be a market for simpler stuff from Peugeot. As long as it remains Peugeot lah.

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 04, 2010 at 2:07 am

Duh … so tell me, how did they screw you up again?

• Paul Tan on Oct 03, 2010 at 12:13 pm

408 is probably coming later, as Nasim has announced they will CKD a c segment Peugeot sedan. It will of course be much more expensive than this b segment 207 sedan.

• Jason on Oct 04, 2010 at 1:15 pm

Wow, Paul, that’s a great news! Hopefully Nasim will brings in the 408 and it is the same as what we have seen in China. I’m a very happy and satisfied 308 owner and will consider to replace it with the 408.

• kenny_lim on Oct 03, 2010 at 1:15 am

might be a good buy if around 70k n from french (good handling) but sadly it is assembled and serviced by naza…it is a nono. my sis is still struggling to fix her new 206, lots of warranty claim, poor qc and etc……it is not about french car but it is more towards naza…..a total disgrace to the marquee….

• I have been driving a Chinese car assembled by Naza for more than four years. There are problems, but they have more to do with the lack of technical ability of some of the dealers in troubleshooting, and the unsatisfactory practices of those dealers when dealing with warranty claims (some of them do not want to handle claims, saying it takes a long time for them to get the money back from Naza). There aren’t serious qualify control issues at the Naza side. If someone has to be blamed for the lack of durability of certain parts, it should be the part manufacturers that are targeted. But since going to Nasim from last year, things have been reasonable. But then, my warranty has expired, so I am paying for all replacement parts. May be that has something to do with the good service I get from Naza/Nasim. In fact, that is already the best service I expect from any car manufacturer or distributor.

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 03, 2010 at 8:39 am

Come on lah guys,

1) Why bash the rear? To me it looks like a 607. Not a bad effort in making a B-Segment sedan from a hatchback base. When Honda does it on the Jazz and built the City, Malaysians accepted it. When Peugeot does it, it’s wrong? To my eyes the 607ish rear looks quite grand.

2) Naza bashing? Peugeot is sold by Nasim, not Naza. Get your facts right. Are Hondas sold by DRB-Hicom?

• zimba on Oct 03, 2010 at 12:22 pm

yo. we all Nasim is one company while Naza is another… There isnt much difference.. Pug 206 CKD by Naza and being sold by Nasim Pug got many Prob.. We have even one visitor above kenny_lim commenting on Pug 206.
      and now Pug 207 is still being CKD by Naza and sold by Naza at Gurun… aiya… Bad QC you can expect.

• zimba on Oct 03, 2010 at 12:26 pm

* Pug 207 is still being CKD by Naza at Gurun though sold by Nasim.

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 04, 2010 at 2:09 am

What bad QC are you talking about? In terms of problems per 100 cars, how bad are they compared to Honda, Toyota, Proton and Perodua? Any statistics to back up your claims?

• Correction, msian didn’t really accepted the Jazz looked alike City as you can see that the Vios at that time outsold the city by a big margin. It only looked acceptable with full fledge body kit and etc. This 207 is butt ugly, they should just stick to the old 206 and improved on what it flawed so much.

• azhar on Oct 03, 2010 at 11:53 am

Has Naza/Nasim been able to resolve the engine overheating issue with this 207 sedan? The issue has never been resolved with the Naza Bestari/206 hatchback.

As for pricing, I have stopped buying brand new cars as long as our exorbitant taxes remain, since the fuel price is floating, the taxes were supposed to have been rationalize but our New Automotive Policy is still silent on this, more like No Automotive Policies.

• retro on Oct 03, 2010 at 1:08 pm

Is there an overheating issue? So far I have not experienced it. Anyway, this is not the 1.4 engine but a 1.6. Just make sure to use ori coolant. I hv never experienced any overheating. Some under the tree mechanics will tell you it is ok to use water. Follow their advice at your own peril.

• Azhar,

This car not launched yet lah. How to have overheating problem? :D

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 04, 2010 at 2:10 am

Dude, I know more than FIVE friends who own the 206 and drive them HARD. NONE of them have an overheating problem!!! I wonder where you’re getting your information.

• the way i look at it there are more choices for the public. the 207 is not the greatest looking car but then again its no worse than a overpriced vios or a mazda2 sedan or a fiesta sedan which incidently only give you one airbag. plus with a 207 you will at least enjoy the drive and looking at the posting its got decent features.
    the good thing is that it will be branded as a peugeot and not naza.

Anyway lets look at the final price.

• Kenny Sia on Oct 03, 2010 at 3:26 pm

Kulim, not Gurun……

• guess it happens across brands…some people have the moolah to replace thier cars after short usage.. but there were also new 308s being advertised there as well

• zimba on Oct 03, 2010 at 8:39 pm

ho..what i think it’s that people find CKD 308 boring so they decided to change it. or it’s plain painful with problem.

Brake problem:
      http://www.peugeotclubmalaysia.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=15156&sid=9541f3c446436f00bfdfb135f024d18c

Pulling to the left problem as it is modified from a left hand drive.
      http://308gt.blogspot.com/2009/07/why-we-have-pulling-to-left-problem-on.html

Bad fuel consumption.. if comparing to 308 1.6 vit.. same big engine arr..
      http://308gt.blogspot.com/2009/07/average-fuel-consumption-for-all-308.html

here.. It’s Nasim.. not Naza:
      http://308gt.blogspot.com/2009/08/nasims-poor-warranty-and-backup.html

new problems emerged this morning..erratic speedometer and RPM reading and the headlamps , dash board’s light flickered…sigh..car in workshop now , anxiously waiting for the diagnostic result….hopefully the problems are minor..
      new problems emerged this morning..erratic speedometer and RPM reading and the headlamps , dash board’s light flickered…sigh..car in workshop now , anxiously waiting for the diagnostic result….hopefully the problems are minor….
      and bla bla..

there’s isnt much pug out there.. but yet there are people complaining about it.

It’s just my sincere advice here. dont think it’s an europe car then everything goes well.. It’s the reliability that counts..
      you may go ahead if you really love this pug..
      when there is true love……

• pug = premium
    rm20k lesser than the 308 is a good bet.

• should be good car and price around $70,000

• fried tape play on Oct 04, 2010 at 1:36 am

best price of this car is.. 40k.. or less
      if 50-60k..people will buy myyvi..

if only naza sell their 308 for 60k..sigh~

• handsome*dude on Oct 03, 2010 at 8:03 pm

although the boot not nice….the front is good, as 207 face is very nice!

overall, given the price should be around 70k and all the specs given, it is a much more better buy than the VIOS or the CITY~~

• Maserati on Oct 03, 2010 at 10:54 pm

This is better than any proton out thr lah.

Dont compare persona with this. Persona is a piece of junk

• fried tape play on Oct 04, 2010 at 1:32 am

let c, persona is handling by lotus
      this pug…is a pile of horse crap-> quote from topgear tV.
      y naza bring this brand anyway? this is the 10 top worse brand in UK

• Jason on Oct 04, 2010 at 5:20 pm

fried tape play, seems you trust Topgear so much? Then go check what are their comments for your ‘Lotus inspired handling’ Proton, don’t forget to go check also other commentators other than Topgear.

• mizzuddin on Oct 06, 2010 at 4:00 am

i can’t believe that there is really someone out there takes Topgear comment into consideration… hiks (“.) (“.) (“.)

• E Bear on Oct 03, 2010 at 11:38 pm

It offers a more affordable euro sedan but with old tech, re-packaged n updated.

It remains to be seen how the public will respond,

It is not that this is good but the Persona, could be even better.

• fried tape play on Oct 04, 2010 at 1:29 am

yeaa.. gud point.
      dun worry bout the public reaction, coz there will be none.
      haha.screw u naza..

• mizzuddin on Oct 05, 2010 at 11:38 pm

maybe much better in term of appearance… real good looking but the build quality and the materials used are so disappointing… i drove both Gen-2 and Persona… the ride and handling which have the “Lotus ride and handling” reputation are so disappointing too..! ’94 Wira sedan is way much better..! i took Karak curves at 120 – 140 kmph with fairly good feels… WITHOUT CHANGING LANES. Gen-2 and Persona will feel not right and too “kosong” at that speed even on straight lanes..!

• nighttrain on Oct 04, 2010 at 12:39 am

This car is a disgrace to Malaysians and should stay in China. Malaysians should be offerred the current Peugeot lineup as Europe. How are we suppossed to move towards 2020 when we still restrict ourselves with these limitations(SEA only cars)?

• fried tape play on Oct 04, 2010 at 1:33 am

i like 308, n the 308t.
    but this model? is a big no. dunno y..help me on this guys

• azrai on Oct 04, 2010 at 7:57 am

I only hope this things sells more in ASEAN region let say 85% of Gurun productions. Will be good for our economy. Bring more money in and create for jobs for locals.

• roy_Hdg on Oct 04, 2010 at 9:26 am

Don’t care lah..i’m not buying anyway…just use my B7. lost to blackpool? that’s my real headache now

• kerelbort on Oct 04, 2010 at 5:12 pm

Wow.. chuck jordan, if I were to judge, you are the main person to promo 207 sedan in paultan.

anyway. look can be deceiving, go test drive it for the feel, listen to the public for the feedback on quality, ask for the price for spare part(specially the one that you would spend emergencily i.e. battery price etc)
    lastly, ask yourself if this car would fit your wallet. if you like to be stuck with the car for your lifetime. take it. if not wait or just don buy it.
    continental car is and always will be a good car to be bought second hand if you can really afford their maintenance.

and this 207 is a lover-hater kind of question to compare to a Proton, you should look for its size competitor = Saga as Persona is too big to be compared with 207 sedan.. and keep in mind, this is not a real 207 but a 206 that being stretch in a sedan.

nasim is a naza, nasim sell. naza build. so anyone screwed up. both got the blame.

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 05, 2010 at 6:05 am

Apparently so. A lone candle in the dark against the bashers.

• here is some interesting fact:
    http://www.thisismoney.co.uk/most-reliable-cars

From that website.. it seem that kia is a top9 most resliable manufacturer..

but when it become a CKD model by NAZA.. everything goes wrong.
    .. When Kia is actually such a good reliable international brand!

• zimba on Oct 04, 2010 at 6:42 pm

urmm.. this car is peugeot not Kia.. but when thinking that Pug also CKD by Naza…
      anyhow… rynn.. thanks for that link. =D

• check this link out:

http://www.thisismoney.co.uk/bargains-and-rip-offs/motoring/article.html?in_article_id=507837&in_page_id=53949&ct=5

Kia is being a top 9 car most reliable manufacturer brand in Britain beating many other europe brand car.
    But CKD version Kia by Naza seems bad.

Pug is CKD by Naza.

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 05, 2010 at 6:04 am

The Spectra5, Rondo, Optima and Sportage don’t seem to have any issues. How bad is it compared to Honda and Toyota? They don’t have any issues?

• intermilan on Oct 05, 2010 at 12:26 am

target price?
    maximum RM73,888 OTR.
    anymore expensive, they are shooting themselves in the foot.

but it will get much better sale volume if sold below rm70K , but i doubt they will sell it below rm70K.

anyhow, good luck to the 207 sedan. the more choices there are, the better it is to the consumer.

• edward on Oct 05, 2010 at 8:19 am

Wow… I really dont understand why an entry-level conti sedan had to be place not max than RM73,888 if not it cant sell well… Where else an hype up TRD can go up to 90k? Aren’t these jokes brighten up my day….

The price should be around basic spec of forte 1.6 or close to our Vios Kosong. What Nasim trying to do is bring in affordable conti car into boleh land.. and so sadly in those people mind only resale value…Go buy an house la if u so mind about resale value…

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 05, 2010 at 11:17 am

Exactly what I’m thinking too. The mindset here is so entrenched.

• E Bear on Oct 06, 2010 at 9:19 am

Understanding buyers preferences is first step, then finding ways to change it is some other thing.

People don’t mind trying but they need to be reassured and if make a mistake by choosing a lemon, they would want to limit the embarassment.

I remembered complaining when first got the City (overpriced, under spec)……now, forgotten already. Will not affect my mind when I visit the H showroom again.

• David on Oct 06, 2010 at 3:04 pm

Agreed. Malaysians are a funny lot, buying cars based on badge prestige and resale value. Come on, what’s so great about a Toyota badge? To me, it’s just a badge, as i value the overall qualities of a car before i put down my dad’s hard-earned money. For example, why should i pay 76k on a Vios J, when i could pay slightly less and get a Hyundai Accent, Kia Forte EX, or even the Ford Fiesta and Peugeot 207 sedan? The reasons are obvious. Buy them as a package, ownership experience, NOT because of a badge!! No doubt aftersales service of these rival companies could be better, but, they are definitely improving bit by bit. No harm done for this actually.

• Probably a mouth watering opening offer of less than $70K. Near enough to challenge
    the Persona, but not quite.

• mizzuddin on Oct 05, 2010 at 11:25 pm

why don’t we bash the government policy and the cronism practiced..? for me, Proton is not more than to secure somebody’s pocket since the existence… same to Naza too…!!!

both conti and jap cars are way much better than ploton… but personally, conti cars are way much better in terms of ride and handling and the build quality is superb, solid… accords, SEG, civics and all 90s jap made cars feels “kosong”… like driving “kereta lama”… but not contis… try the pug 405..!

• E Bear on Oct 06, 2010 at 4:57 pm

No point bash govt policy nanti kena investigated pun tak sedar!

New Japanese cars especially the larger ones have improved a lot, just that the shock absorbers go crazy soft at high speeds.

This little pug is targetted for people who want to try affordable conti and not too concern about modern looks or tech whistles.

Need to launch it fast before the Waja replacement comes to town.

• Sagtiya on Oct 07, 2010 at 11:26 pm

The front looks ok but the rear portion is ugly….looks a bit cacat. It could have been better if they designed the rear a bit like the 407. Then I would consider paying 70k for the car.

• danny on Oct 11, 2010 at 2:59 pm

I think only thing is no secondhand value !

• laluan sehala on Oct 18, 2010 at 7:14 pm

keep to your japanese cars danny boy. once you’ver grown up, you can join those who appreciate what good cars are all about!

• laluan sehala on Oct 18, 2010 at 7:16 pm

car’s in the showrooms already. check it out. what do you think?

• anti wrong on Nov 15, 2010 at 10:18 am

I HATE 207 SEDAN!!!!!

• Mazlo on Mar 22, 2012 at 10:15 pm

very high spec car. good strategy!