Paris 2010: BMW Concept 6-Series smells of the real thing!

Taking into account BMW’s history of concepts that are virtually the finished item, and this showcar’s realism, we could well be looking at “the new 6-Series”. Based on the Concept Gran Coupe that BMW showed in Beijing this April, but with two doors taken off, this is officially a “concept study for a luxury 2+2-seater”.

Like the F10 5-Series, this Concept 6-Series Coupe is much less polarising than the car it replaces. BMW points out that all the classic hallmarks of a BMW coupe are present, including the stretched bonnet, short front overhang, a pushed back passenger compartment and a low silhouette incorporating a flowing roofline.

It looks wider and lower than the current car, and elegant in the metal; highlights are the “shark nose” that juts out with very prominent nostrils, an arrow-like line on the profile that starts from the “gills” and a concave rear end with bulit in spoiler. The LED rear light elements look like those on the F10. Speaking about lights, this concept sports new LED headlights that incorporates Adaptive Headlights and BMW’s trademark corona rings. The all-LED design is a first for a BMW.

Inside, there’s a freestanding 10.2-inch iDrive Control Display in the centre of the dash, as well as a 16-speaker Bang & Olufsen stereo. This is a “fully active” system, which means the two bass speakers, seven mid-range speakers and seven tweeters all have individual amplifiers. Could this be an option on the production car?

Nothing on the drivetrain and mechanicals were mentioned, we’ll have to wait for that. See our previous post for studio images. Paris pics are after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1589]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• sharkFIN on Oct 03, 2010 at 1:57 am

nowadays the shark nose front is a trend just like that evo X

I hope P2 not thinking to copy shark nose front into VIVA just like they did copy that merc “mata bulat” into kancil not so long ago..

lol

• modern on Oct 03, 2010 at 3:41 am

Why suddenly P2?

• DonkeyKong on Oct 03, 2010 at 3:19 pm

Why don’t you say that the Volvo S60 had that protuding center grill unit way before the Mitsubishi Lancer, then?

• “Shark Nose” has been around since the 1980’s BMWs…

• Hmmm… somehow it looks better now compared to the last few post, but still, the size of the two big nose in front can be reduced, overall the car is well designed.

Congratulations on creating a 6 series replacement…

• wowwowwwww on Oct 03, 2010 at 2:32 am

sexy shark…

• Wow! It’s a 6 series coupe, man!

• it is! wow! would you look at that! guess no one saw that coming!

sorry~ no offence meant. just couldnt help it when you’re stating the obvious. hahahahahhaahhahahaha!

• Tan Tee Lim on Oct 03, 2010 at 3:14 am

hmmm… need to take a while to get used to the looks. Just like the previous model :/

• omaha on Oct 03, 2010 at 3:22 am

The back reminds me of proton pesona

• much uglier than predecessor. similar to 5 series get bigger nostril which is annoying.

• Ordinary Joe on Oct 04, 2010 at 2:01 pm

Yeah, it is isn’t it, just like the 5 series, i didn’t like it either, UNTIL i saw live! Its quite different in real life.. so i hope this would be a nice suprise to in real life..

• WahPiang on Oct 03, 2010 at 8:23 am

Good car for my son…

• Ash Menon on Oct 03, 2010 at 10:07 am

I really, really, wish that car designers would stop trying to pretend that signal lights and reverse lights don’t exist in the rear light cluster.

LOVE that straight, strong line running along the side.

Overall a very aggresive, planted look. Nice.

• chuakz on Oct 03, 2010 at 10:21 am

a lil bit dull aint it? when bangle was at bmw he put a bit of spice into it…now its all the same face…

• DonkeyKong on Oct 03, 2010 at 3:22 pm

When Bangle was at it, BMWs stopped looking Teutonic and strong. People who like Bangle designs should flock to Hyundai these days, they’re learning a thing or two from the Bangle era.

• Strat on Oct 03, 2010 at 11:19 am

Good car for my son

• BeemerFreak on Oct 03, 2010 at 11:51 am

This car design is years ahead of its competitors.

• Not-Soul-Uncle on Oct 04, 2010 at 4:44 pm

maybe you can enlighten us on its competitors in terms of make and the model?

• wowwowwwww on Oct 03, 2010 at 1:04 pm

good car for WahPiang & Strat’s children…

• Kimmy on Oct 03, 2010 at 1:56 pm

This is the bomb!very sexy front

• jisus on Oct 03, 2010 at 3:06 pm

very nice sophisticated bumpers design integration with the body! another masterpiece..

• Dr. Kervokian on Oct 03, 2010 at 3:43 pm

Shark? duhhh… it looks like a wildeebeast with the stretched bonnet. don’t believe me, check this wikipedia image

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/f/fb/Blue_Wildebeest%2C_Ngorongoro.jpg

• mirror mirror on Oct 03, 2010 at 6:13 pm

Already they are replacing the 6 series? I quite like this new slimmer and athletic design language of BMW, no more scowling face.

• ariel on Oct 03, 2010 at 8:07 pm

gud car for my wife…..

• everytime i look at bmw’s, i see a well design engineering..
    bmw like to play with lines..
    the cockpit is the place to have satisfaction..
    although their rival has some good engineering too,but i still have special interest with bmw..

• Seriously on Oct 03, 2010 at 10:27 pm

I like the concept design better :/

• Mat.tayar on Oct 03, 2010 at 11:19 pm

Excellence ROF 245/40 R20 99Y XL runflat, mit SterMarking BLT

Please note: We only supply the tyre. Even if a rim is shown in the photo, it is not included in the price.

List price*: EUR 597,00 !
    Our price only EUR 408,70
    That is 32 percent less!
    Postage and packaging are included in the price!

Type of Tyre: Summer tyres
    manufacturers
    part number (sku): 522026
    Speed Index: Y: These tyres are approved for speeds of up to up to 186 mph/300 km/h !
    Fitting stations: Search for fitting station
    it is a reinforced summer tyre for passenger cars.It has runflat system.

Run flat tyres
    The run flat feature uses a reinforced side wall that, in the event of the tyre bursting, holds it in shape, preventing it from springing out of the rim. This means that in the case of a flat, it’s possible to drive a further 150 miles at 50 mph. All run-flat tyres have the RSC symbol (Run Flat System Component) on the sidewall. Run-flat tyres don`t need any special rims, but only function with vehicles that are equipped with a functioning air pressure control system.

• Jaybond on Oct 04, 2010 at 8:37 am

VERY NICE BMW!

• nighttrain on Oct 04, 2010 at 8:44 am

Reminds me of the 8 series my uncle owned once.. beautiful car, so much electronic issues..

• potato on Oct 04, 2010 at 9:37 am

What’s up with BMW nowadays?

Nissan Skyline/Fuga Taillights for the new 5 series.

Now Nissan Silvia S15 Taillights for the 6-series…

• cslee on Oct 04, 2010 at 2:39 pm

Buy Nissan GTR 2010 even better.

• JonLing on Oct 04, 2010 at 4:50 pm

Imagine it in M6 form……….*drooling