BMW Malaysia to fix affected V8/V12 brake vacuum pumps

BMW will be conducting a ‘technical service campaign’ to work on defective Brake Vacuum Pumps found in certain V8 and V12 equipped cars built between 2001 and 2009. Affected vehicles may develop a leak in the braking system that could cause a vacuum loss, resulting in a decrease in brake power assistance.

The following are the models affected: 2002-2002 BMW 745i/Li, 750i/Li, and 760i/Li, 2007-2007 BMW Alpina B7, 2004-2010 BMW 645i and 650i, 2004-2010 BMW 545i and 550i, and the 2003-2010 Rolls-Royce Phantom.

“Our BMW cars here in Malaysia are largely not affected by the Brake Vacuum Pump issue as the majority – 98% – of our cars sold here run on four and six cylinder engines. The issue is also only limited to certain eight and twelve cylinder engines which were built between 2001 and 2009. We have identified these cars here and we will be running a campaign to further ensure our customer’s peace of mind. There have been no reports of any accidents having occurred as a result of the defective brake vacuum pumps,” said BMW Group Malaysia managing director Geoffrey Briscoe.

The problem will take approximately 1 day to fix and it will be at no cost to the customer. Customers who have purchased V8 and V12 vehicles through grey importers are also advised to bring their cars in to check if their cars are affected. We called BMW Malaysia up and checked and it seems that if the conditions of the grey import car fit the service campaign criteria, the fix will also be at no charge to the grey import car owner.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nabill on Oct 05, 2010 at 6:21 pm

very good of bmw to fix the faults for grey imports as well….very responsible as almost 70% of bmws on the roads are ap !

• exlive3 on Oct 05, 2010 at 6:39 pm

really 70%,,didnt now that..lol…

still a good way of bmw keeping their customer loyal to them….

• Tiadaid on Oct 05, 2010 at 6:37 pm

Finally, the first carmaker to admit their car sold in Malaysia needed to be recalled

• moots on Oct 06, 2010 at 6:49 am

Yeah good on BMW but remember its v8 and v12 models. If the smaller engine cars were affected not sure if the statement would gave been “No worries Malaysia not affected”.

• mitlanevo on Oct 05, 2010 at 6:46 pm

luckily i seldom drive my B7 and Phantom

• dodgeviper88 on Oct 05, 2010 at 10:44 pm

lol! I think I would switch to Maybach and let my maid use the Phantom.

• lightning mcqueen on Oct 06, 2010 at 5:37 am

Same with me, my new ferrari… i let my maid use to go to market… until they recall it the ill use it again…

• nolan on Oct 06, 2010 at 3:40 pm

wow….i only let my maid to drive Proton only…..because always no recall at all….

• mitlanevo on Oct 06, 2010 at 11:34 pm

my maid’s reventon and fxx also sent to workshop for service…

now temporary driving her spare car, which is a gold plated sls amg….

• Anti Proton on Oct 05, 2010 at 7:02 pm

malaysia got alpina b7???

• nabill on Oct 05, 2010 at 9:14 pm

u cant take a joke?

• Anti Proton on Oct 06, 2010 at 12:02 pm

what joke? im just asking a normal question????!!!???? cause i haven’t seen one here. besides a fake mod-up bodykit recon one from uk at some dealer in kepong.

• mahemm…..so when my Phantom in there for 1 day, my driver do what????

• BMW the only gentleman to admit fault in “perfect” bolehland.

somemore even ready to fix for grey importers.

• lightning mcqueen on Oct 06, 2010 at 5:32 am

hahahaha… even the big brother has to do recall

• azrai on Oct 06, 2010 at 7:54 am

For the first time a global car in Malaysia recalled. It means the car BMW sold here is the same as the other part of the world. Toyota? No, Malaysia version perfect. no need for recall. :-)

• BMW-More Problem on Oct 06, 2010 at 2:06 pm

Lexus made a recall in Malaysia for valve problem…
      BMW is slow to the recall game. Only now suddenly they have an issue ??? Come on….
      While they are at it… can ask them to fix the power window, active steering, modules,
      oil leak…blah blah blah…

• rally_fan on Oct 07, 2010 at 8:22 am

“public recalls” are usually only done when the problem needing fixing is determined to potentially be a serious safety issue.

• BeemerFreak on Oct 06, 2010 at 11:07 pm

Toyota takes Malaysian for joyride, because they know that some Malaysian will die for Toyota, so why need to recall?

• bombaman on Oct 06, 2010 at 10:22 am

They so smart using the term ‘technical service campaign’, so it’s practically a recall like every1 else in the car industry rite?

• carsut on Oct 06, 2010 at 10:30 am

Now Phantom owner will piss of, their millions ringgit car has to be sent to the workshop for bugs fix..

• Anti Proton on Oct 09, 2010 at 1:54 pm

my rolls royce rosak. i rather walk than be driven in anything else.