Passat BlueMotion sets world record run on a tank of fuel

vw fuel record

Nothing like one upmanship, indeed. In the latest round of cock a snook in the numbers game, a standard production model 1.6-litre 105PS TDI Volkswagen Passat BlueMotion has set a new Guinness World Record for the longest distance travelled by a standard production passenger car on a single tank of fuel.

The attempt, made in England by a team from The Sunday Times, involved taking the Passat BlueMotion from Maidstone, Kent to the south of France and back. After 1,526.63 miles, or 2,456.87km, the car finally ran out of gas near Calais.

The route comprised mainly French highways, but included some town driving, resulting in an average speed of just over 72.5 kph.

Gavin Conway drove the Passat BlueMotion during the three-day record-breaking journey, accompanied by a navigator and video crew. Following the entire drive in a van was a two-man team from the UK AA, there to witness the journey independently for the Guinness World Records organisation, which accredited the record.

The Passat BlueMotion’s fuel tank was drained before the record breaking journey and filled with 77.25 litres of standard diesel, and the end result was an overall fuel consumption of 89.83 miles per gallon, or if you prefer metric, 31.8 km per litre (3.14 litre per 100km). Which is quite a fetching figure.

Expect attempts by the Teutonic competition to break this record, and not too long in the future. It is, after all, undoubtedly about bragging rights, and right now it’s Veedub’s to rub.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Facebook_User on Oct 05, 2010 at 1:17 am

I drive a Honda,but I really wanna say this to Honda – as if diorg tau pun – This is baru betol FUEL ECONOMY.Drive every litre..hahaha

• tokmoh on Oct 05, 2010 at 9:32 am

korek korek korek!!

Need to tell that to Toyota too. Take that, Prius!! See how low it can go compared to THIS!!

Veedub… representing Deutchland!! Das Auto!!

• But if Toyota and Honda FC compared to Protong Sampah FC? Japs way better kan kan kan? Hahahaha.

• tokmoh on Oct 05, 2010 at 4:08 pm

You ok? Need as aspirin?

But if u insist, I know a fren’s satria neo has better f/c than another fren’s honda city (latest version). It’s about the right foot, if you understand me.

Anyway, tq very much Paul!! Gravatar’s back, yeaaahhh!!

• wow..3 liters…i’m impressed…

• REDRIDDLES on Oct 05, 2010 at 7:38 am

wow….but in real life situation, i don’t really think so..with traffic, stop n go etc..

• littlefire on Oct 05, 2010 at 8:08 am

Bluemotion if not mistaken is Diesel turbo engine wif at least EURO5 emission… In Europe already proven that diesel really save a lot… But still we never learn from them even with evidence shown… Just go google it urself and see the competition againts Honda Civic Hybrid vs VW Polo Bluemotion and you will know who win in term of fuel economy & maintainance cost.

• FAReast on Oct 05, 2010 at 12:42 pm

effient turbo diesel engine cannot enter malaysia because proton & perodua dont have the engine technology to compete with others. thats why also the govt dont want to introduce euro5 petrol & diesel here. because proton and perodua have old tech engine (if using euro5 feul also have no improvement on feul efficiency. but other car manufacturer have euro5 engine that can resulting in big feul efficiency gap with proton & perodua)
      so proton & perodua should improve their technology faster so that it can be on par with other manufacturer.

• littlefire on Oct 05, 2010 at 2:07 pm

We already given them a lot of chances, including VW wanted to invest and buy P1, but sadly they rejected it…

If no competition, do you think they can improve faster? If they want to improve, until when? 2020 and above?

• DonkeyKong on Oct 05, 2010 at 4:16 pm

Improve?? Who says they want to improve?? They just want to sit back, get handouts, and eliminate the competition. That’s the mentality of a large segment of Malaysian population, that’s why we can see the support for groups like Perkasa is so strong. These people don’t want to compete, they don’t want to improve, they just want to get paid for doing nothing!

• gilabangsat on Oct 05, 2010 at 5:31 pm

why you have to drag Perkasa into this discussion? The growing support shows some people just had enuff of.. erkk your group antics? Stick to the topic or write your own political blog.

• Sean ZX10 on Oct 05, 2010 at 2:28 pm

it’s not because proton / perodua cant produce such technology. The engineers really want the diesel but following market demand/ market surveys instead of engineer syok sendiri…its not what Malaysian want…that includes YOU!!!

Why? simple..go ask around or do a GOTCHA call asking want diesel engine or petrol? “ish…don wan la diesel..black smock la macha..what!! u think I wan to wash my bumper everyday ka? …ish don wan la..smell not nice la..”

Other reason also follows which is —>The GOV is very pretty much reluctant to refine our fuel to Euro 5..why? Expensive!!…Even to change RON92 to RON95 whole Malaysia even those who dont drive tamau!!..tamau!!..mahal!…mahal!!

So please dear FAReast….is it a good move to make your car Euro 5 DIESEL but your the fuel is Euro 2 at most? Did you know that diesel engines need high pressure fuel to make combustion thus needing a very complex and sensitive fuel filter? fuel filter clogged? what happened? u’ll be changing those RM1000++ part as frequent as you change your underwear.

Take lessons from Mercedes CDi and BMW CDI owners.

• Muserella on Oct 05, 2010 at 4:17 pm

Real life situation..

• FAReast on Oct 05, 2010 at 11:17 pm

that’s why the engine technology and feul grade improvement should be togetherly improved. some modern cars need feul filter because of the euro 2 feul is still considered dirty for the cars. the engine wont need feul filter if we have euro 4/5 feul grades. yes it is a bit more expensive to produce/refine euro 4/5 feul, but it will gain back in term of more milleage that the vehicle can travel. diesel engine emits less carbon monoxide than petrol engine, thus making it more environmental friendly too. about the ‘black smoke’, modern diesel cars like bmw 320d dont emit black smoke, they have the diesel particulate filter (DPF) to burn the carbon particles.

• Muserella on Oct 06, 2010 at 8:42 am

it is easier to upgrade technology than upgrading people mentality..

• PakAbu on Oct 05, 2010 at 4:00 pm

[Citation needed]

:roll:

• rexis on Oct 05, 2010 at 8:32 am

1.6 litre TDI, this is a near fiction engine for most Malaysian.

DVVT is already cutting edge here.

• leonardo on Oct 05, 2010 at 8:45 am

The Passat has got a 50 liter fuel tank? Impressive.

• junaidi on Oct 05, 2010 at 3:35 pm

LOL my moms Matrix pun 50L. apa nak hairan?
      Or you mean the passat should have something like 70L?

• Vincent on Oct 05, 2010 at 9:10 am

31.8 KM per L ah? I tot the months ago shell contest on liht foot, got one nissan recorded 200+ KM/ L?

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Oct 05, 2010 at 1:37 pm

The car used in the competition is not a production car,but this passat is a production car.

• 3.14 litre per 100km..wow….

• Harrycnut on Oct 05, 2010 at 9:28 am

*sigh* we will never get to feel those engines here… *still dreaming*

• alldisc on Oct 05, 2010 at 9:37 am

31.8 litre per 100km is somehow astonishing.

but try drive the same car in KL during peak hour traffic, impossible to get such figures. this is the real world.

• Azahari on Oct 05, 2010 at 11:37 am

At some point you may be right. But diesel engine is still the most practical and fuel safe for town driving because diesel can provide you more torque compared to petrol. Its like, u almost don’t have to step on the pedal every time you want to move your car in the traffic jam. Very low revving means very low fuel used. Hope you get my point :)

• alldisc on Oct 05, 2010 at 3:12 pm

very low revving? toyota prius and honda civic hybrid has their engines switched off during stationary – zero FC and most importantly zero carbon produced (exhaust emission).

the prius can even move up to 40kph relying on battery pack and motor alone.
        hope you get my point too.. :D

• Canaanite on Oct 06, 2010 at 4:36 pm

This is what we call “Start/Stop” system its already standard feature on most current petrol/diesel-engine continental marques.

moving at 40kph on pure battery power, how far can you go?

• squawk on Oct 05, 2010 at 11:38 am

No non-hybrid/ev car will give you good mileage in a traffic jam. But trying driving a hybrid at highway speeds and see if your FC is still good.

This bluemotion is a compromise between the two – urban and highway travel.

• tiadaid on Oct 05, 2010 at 12:12 pm

Yes, 31.8L per 100km is amazing. Amazingly bad that is! I think you mean 3.18L per 100km

• This is equivalent to my 3 months mileage….Definitely valuable buy if it comes to our shore and without tax ( keep on dreaming ) …..malaysia boreh..

• ben yap on Oct 05, 2010 at 10:06 am

The Passat manages to do 31.8km per litre which already sets world record… what about the Nissan competition that a contestant who did 165.8km/litre in a Nissan Sylphy?

The Nissan’s claim of 165.8km/l is not true.

• littlefire on Oct 05, 2010 at 2:10 pm

I think nissan is just marketing gimmic and i might believe it is 16.58km/liter.

• ben yap on Oct 05, 2010 at 4:01 pm

it’s unethical to market the car where they themselves know that the car cannot reach that potential. it is classified as deceiving the consumers.

• DonkeyKong on Oct 05, 2010 at 4:22 pm

RM165.8km/litre?!!! Sounds like total bollocks. It is impossible to achieve unless they’re using a lean-burn direct-injected single-cylinder 200cc engine mated to a car that weighs 150kg, then it might be possible.

• I drive a Nissan Sylphy and below are average figures I got using RON97 petrol.

City driving: 8.3l/100km
      Highway and federal roads: 7.2l/100km

When I enquired about the posters on FC, the sales consultant basically told me to ignore it cos they are not real world figures.

• ben yap on Oct 06, 2010 at 12:52 pm

I would say it is not true figures as well by Nissan. If it is really a true figure, they would have proudly claim for the world record title.

• balik kampung few times never need to refuel… walaoeh

• farghmee on Oct 05, 2010 at 11:13 am

3.14L/100km is really good.

“The route comprised mainly French highways, but included some town driving, resulting in an average speed of just over 72.5 kph.”

—-mainly french hiway
    —-some town driving
    —-ave. speed 72.5km/h

hmm…not daily figure :P

• armandd on Oct 05, 2010 at 4:08 pm

it may not be daily figure, but at half that mileage (1,200km) it’s already beyond what a normal sedan can achieve!

• Aniki on Oct 05, 2010 at 12:11 pm

You all don’t compare Nissan light foot contest result to this. That competition rules are you can top up the fuel to very very full and travel for just 200km and refuel to a level which is not yet full. The refuelling method is not fair for most of the contestant. This demo is refuel to full tank and run till it stop. Next time Nissan light foot contest should blank out all the contestant fuel tank and give a standard 30 or 40 liter to each contestant and after 200km then only draw out the remaining fuel to calculate the milege. Not by refuelling method.

• drMpower on Oct 05, 2010 at 12:32 pm

i never buy these sort of bragging. all i care is the excitement of paddle up shifting at the maximum torque band end

and when the corner comes, dropping to 3rd or 2nd, before pulling out of it again with maximum powerrrrrr

• loveit on Oct 05, 2010 at 12:52 pm

this is not the case if it done in Malaysia…people in this county doesn’t respect you driving on the highway at 73 km/h average..

• marai on Oct 09, 2010 at 7:44 pm

dont care if you drive 70km/h as long as stay in the left lane. but most this new drivers like fobia to use side lanes…even drive very slow want to use middle lane. really annoying…

• we want a diesel car under100k now not acrew cab.

• Protong should be ashamed of themselves.

Tak TerPersona IAFM (manual) = 6.3L/100 km (average highway and city driving)
    Gene.2 CamtakproCPS (auto) = 8.4L/100 km (average highway and city driving)

While other car makers strive for better fuel efficiency, they went ahead for fuel guzzler turbo engine. It’s GOOD to be protected. You can spent money unwisely.

• such FC is not found any where in real life other then website of proton…

• junaidi on Oct 05, 2010 at 3:41 pm

WOW! You hebat, engine turbo campro belum keluar you dah tahu FC.
      clap clap clap, you’re awesome, yes yes, fantastic. What university did you go to? University of Duuuuhh???

• Muserella on Oct 05, 2010 at 4:21 pm

takde duit nak isi minyak jangan nak complain FC tinggi..nak jimat jalan kaki ar.

• the_fighter on Oct 05, 2010 at 5:12 pm

or kayuh basikal…its environment friendly …also good for your health! :)

• you said all turbo engines are fuel guzzler?
      lol please don’t make stupid joke here’
      go and read more

• NeuroOne on Oct 05, 2010 at 2:34 pm

This is freaking awesome!!

• mirror mirror on Oct 05, 2010 at 3:02 pm

A CASUAL sampling of my cars’ fuel consumption.

Honda Accord 2.0 (the ’07 model, petrol): 16sen/km (combined highway and urban)

Nissan Frontier (auto, diesel): 18sen/km (combined trunk roads and offroad)

My friend used to joke that if the axis power had won the WWII we would all be driving the Lexus and Infiniti; but honestly I had rather drive the German.

• alldisc on Oct 05, 2010 at 3:21 pm

16 sen? 18 sen?? you are referring to which year? 2007 petrol/diesel price was relatively low but 2008 it was sky high! now it is different altogether.

people do not measure FC in currency per km but how far a vehicle goes per litre of fuel (example 10km/L) or how much fuel consumed per certain mileage (8L/100km).
      such data is more consistent even when fuel price fluctuates up or down.

just a friendly opinion. dont bash me. i am not the ministry :D

• mirror mirror on Oct 05, 2010 at 11:18 pm

2009 – 2010 prices, before the 5 cents increment.
        Aiyo, what makes you think I want to bash you, is that the reputation I am getting?

• mirror mirror on Oct 05, 2010 at 3:39 pm

correction – should be Nissan Navara not Frontier.

• DonkeyKong on Oct 05, 2010 at 4:31 pm

Oh come on! Use some meaningful figures such as km per liter that we can all easily relate to! Fuel prices fluctuate and still people use figures like sen/km of all things.. At least with figures like km/l, we can compute straight away how many km we can drive on a full tank of fuel

• mirror mirror on Oct 06, 2010 at 12:08 am

Honda Accord – 8.89 lt. / 100km

Nissan Navara – 10.59 lt. / 100km

• am 12 on Oct 05, 2010 at 3:31 pm

I just tested my 2005 vios, can clock above 500km in Rm50 ron95 fuel (RM1.85). That is comfortably RM10 => 100km or 5.40L per 100km. Aircond is always on. The driving condition is combined both hiway and normal roads in Lembah Klang.Sometimes hit above 100km/h. And the car mileage is already 185,000km. No major problem so far.

But sure performance is not as good as Passat car. and its diesel.

Toyota is coming way too. For Real in our country, of course European car is pricey above Japanese….yet think of price of Passat – Jap car price , then took the money for fuel spending, u can go everywhere road can taken in our Peninsular. That is economically reliable from cheaper Toyota brand point of view.

Yet, me prefer Conti too for quality finest. Lol.

• Facebook_User on Oct 05, 2010 at 10:22 pm

Bro I oso want conti,but my pocket cannot tahan la umah n kereta n maintain,ini saja yg mampu.BUT i hope they will improve the technology la lk VW.we need to know tht the time will come when th price of gasoline will govern our livelihood down to its core

• alldisc on Oct 07, 2010 at 10:58 am

i am driving national car only. i am not happy with the fuel consumption. but i save a lot more from the car’s low price (30K saving to vios, or 190K saving to a passat) so i dont bother so much with the a bit high FC. i guess, thats what our governement wants by projecting non-national car price higher.

• am 12 on Oct 05, 2010 at 3:39 pm

Impressed but not too much. I have tested the FC too with Japanese brand. Just saitisfied with what having for real pocket money u can afford to buy a below 100k car.Isnt it? Still not satisfy… then can have Conti for 200k. More satisfying/quality built/interior finishing/ image = speak more money. Just like that.

And I want a Passat CC one too someday when affordable. The interiors is superbly impressing.

• blackjkx on Oct 05, 2010 at 3:44 pm

Pls burn less fuel.Save the planet.

• DonkeyKong on Oct 05, 2010 at 4:34 pm

Tell it to the power plants and industries. The major consumer of fuel are industries, utility companies and power producers, and NOT automobiles. Vehicle owners using less fuel will hardly have an effect on the planet because industrial fuel consumption dwarfs vehicular fuel consumption by a huge margin.

• odi862 on Oct 06, 2010 at 9:33 am

Agreed……go for nuclear power plant……no emission just radiation.

• Aniki on Oct 05, 2010 at 4:28 pm

G should not gain too much on tax to protect PROTON. Instead they should drop the tax on green cars so that most of the people can have a green cars in affordable price. In Australia they can buy BMW 320D with just AUD65k and AUD20k for Honda City. As comparable to the salary, my salary here is twice lower than the same post offer there. You can see the difference. Time to change, they feel too comfort.

• with Proton around u can forget about buying cheap cars besides the gov is so hooked on revenue from car taxes they will never give it up…my two cents input

• Aniki on Oct 06, 2010 at 11:15 am

Why other countries didn’t charge so much tax on vehicles? Foreign branded cars built in Malaysia also charge with import duty. They got a lot of tax elsewhere especially from Petronas but we do not know where does all the money went despite build up highways (build by 3rd party and need us to pay toll) and KLCC (build by Petronas) etc which are not own by G. All those money went to those high level’s pocket. They really think they can keep on like that but people has the choice to choose them and the time will come.

• tokmoh on Oct 06, 2010 at 2:30 pm

Proton also taxed quite heavily la. This guy posted open market value for Exora m-line is approx. RM32k after conversion: http://funtastickodesign.wordpress.com/2010/05/21/kerajaan-patut-turunkan-cukai-interest-rate-untuk-kereta-nasional/

It’s happening with aviation industry, or rather, the other way around. Go try book flight ticket for same destination (from KUL to anywhere) and date with MAS, Emirates, SIA etc. You’ll see MAS charges most, if not very high airport tax, dunno wtf MAHB somewhat ‘discriminate’ MAS.
        Then there’s another famous scanned Arab ads of Waja, Gen2 sold for around RM30k+-

Weird things happen behind closed doors when monkeys get voted into power.

• sean ZX10 on Oct 06, 2010 at 8:35 pm

i like your sentence there bro….”weird things happen behind closed doors when MONKEYS get voted into power”

hahahah…good one brah!! but i think they are worst than monkeys.

• in order to save our planet, we have to have a saving first.

that engine is expensive and VW never goes on sale. u know what i mean.

so, it’s no surprise if a company such as VW can work it out.

• Why you think this engine is expensive?

It’s RM98.000 in the UK. And yes, it’s on sale there… ;)

• dreams on VW blues..huh

• reuben how on Oct 08, 2010 at 2:29 pm

It really makes driving a hybrid pointless. Am driving a camry hybrid. Yes, its advanced but consumption never drops below 6.8l/100km no matter how slow and gently i drive. And when driving up ANY ramps i have to be so careful not to catch the airdam fins below the car which are supposed to reduce fuel consumption. Every time i go up a ramp SCRAAAATCH just like i am driving a lowered sports car. Makes me cry as the car is brand new… SIGH….

• reuben how on Oct 08, 2010 at 2:31 pm

As for malaysian cars, i don’t see how they can sell in australia in a couple of years as it is already illegal to sell a brand new car without side impact airbags and ESP, in victoria