Tissot 2010 T-Race Nicky Hayden Limited Edition

Nicky Hayden was in KLCC this evening to launch the new Tissot 2010 T-Race Nicky Hayden Limited Edition, a special edition numbered watch that integrates Nicky’s colours and race number 69 on the case back with his lucky star emblem. The metal elements on the case was modeled to look like GP bike brakes.

Only 100 units will be available in Malaysia, out of 4,999 pieces worldwide. The watch retails at RM2,400. Also on display at the event is the Tissot 2010 T-Race MotoGP Limited Edition, with an 8,000 unit run. It’s sold in a helmet-shaped watch box with a set of MotoGP motorcycle handle grips.

Tissot 2010 T-Race MotoGP Limited Edition – RM2,750

Swiss-made chronograph quartz ETA movement
Scratch-resistant sapphire crystal with magnifying lens for date
Rotating bezel with GMT function
316L stainless steel case with silk printed glass case back
Carbon dial
Water resistant to 10 bar (100 m / 330 feet)
Black rubber bracelet
Helmet watch box with a set of authentic MotoGP motorcycle grips

Tissot 2010 T-Race Nicky Hayden Limited Edition – RM2,400

Swiss-made chronograph quartz ETA movement
Scratch-resistant sapphire crystal with magnifying lens for date
Rotating bezel with GMT function
316L stainless steel case with silk printed glass case back
Black and white dial with red detail
Water resistant to 10 bar (100 m / 330 feet)
Red silicon bracelet
Limited edition of 4,999 pieces

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mystvearn on Oct 06, 2010 at 8:21 pm

Only the super rich can afford this. Other people would find that money more useful for fuel for their car

• r u sure bout that bro?students nowadays easily can afford iPhone that costs thousands, this piece of timepiece is rm2400..its quite reasonable since its th limited edition

• casey-c on Oct 06, 2010 at 8:55 pm

Those really super rich don’t even bother to look at this type / kind of price watches

• USDfan on Oct 06, 2010 at 9:06 pm

agreed wit u bro…not need to be super rich for rm2400 watch…

• crazyboutcrv on Oct 07, 2010 at 2:25 am

It all lies in a person.Preference and Budget.
          To me a SWATCH will do fine.

• bombaman on Oct 07, 2010 at 10:48 am

i rather get myself a Michael shoemaker Limited edition of military grade G-Shock extreme lolz…

• mitlanevo on Oct 06, 2010 at 10:32 pm

rm2k for a watch is nothing for students nowadays, since they can afford cars like rx8, 350z, civic etc etc….

• shoon on Oct 06, 2010 at 8:32 pm

below 2.8k aint for super rich. in fact it may be considered cheap for some since it’s a limited edition. luxury watches easily cost from 3k + up to 100k +

guess only tissot fans or the racer’s fans will buy.

• Manson on Oct 06, 2010 at 8:46 pm

Ur Kidding right, Tissot made the most cheapest swiss made watches in the world
    Unlike other that just put in ETA engine & mark up their price.
    I love car & timepieces

• i wanna get 1 too !!!!
      Tissot is da most economical n more durable swissmade u can in malaysia BRO..

• Horizon Sailor on Oct 06, 2010 at 11:58 pm

also…dont forget Victorinox brand….still consider cheap…..otherwise…you can buy other imitation luxury watch brand in petaling street or pasar malam…

• casey-c on Oct 07, 2010 at 10:10 pm

Can someone confirm Tissot is 100% made by Swiss or now owned and made in China, Their official Website is tissot.cn, same like Mido.ch. I lost my confident on China made products. Yes China made are cheap.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Oct 10, 2010 at 5:41 pm

.ch is the country code for Switzerland, .cn is China

• KCivic on Oct 10, 2010 at 5:29 pm

what timepieces or watch brands u currently own?

• shawal on Oct 06, 2010 at 9:12 pm

Sometimes its not the worth of your watch, but the worth of your time…

• Alpha on Oct 06, 2010 at 9:37 pm

I’d prefer Tag Heuer,though.rather than Tissot,a low-end Cerruti is better.

To the guy who claimed ths for the super rich,my,my..u sure knw ntg abt timepieces.

• Kwing on Oct 07, 2010 at 12:08 pm

tissot is pretty cheap brand especially in europe, seiko’s velatura beat it any times!

• handsome*dude on Oct 07, 2010 at 7:35 pm

Tag Heuer is over price, with the same quality, rather go for BALL !

i love the Ball micro gas tubes , one of its kind! its self luminates for 25 years! gosh!! so bring while in the dark~~

but the design i still like Maurice Larcroix~

• Kwing on Oct 10, 2010 at 8:48 pm

apple to apple comparasion, Tissot can only compare to Seiko’s medium end watches, swiss army and hamilton etc,

• umnosukapitnah on Oct 06, 2010 at 9:37 pm

a watch with rubber bracelet that cost 2.7k!..its not even a stainless steel!…wowweeee

• FAReast on Oct 06, 2010 at 9:46 pm

if got VR46 edition watch, i might consider buying it. VR46 is the best!
    perhaps, casio can make VR46 edition watch since VR46 is under yamaha=japan
    can be cheaper too… hehe…

• mirror mirror on Oct 06, 2010 at 10:01 pm

Tissot and Oris are two reasonably priced fine Swiss watches. I remember Brietling used to be reasonably priced too but then the value keep appreciating over the years. I hope Tissot and Oris can do the same too.

By the way Paul, is it appropriate to post news on car hi-fi systems in this blog?

• wowoooowwwwww on Oct 06, 2010 at 10:12 pm

only super rich?haha…OKAY….

• antaras on Oct 06, 2010 at 10:14 pm

Maybe it’s Nicky. If they put Rossi’s name there, I bet the price will be doubled. >_<

• stanley on Oct 06, 2010 at 10:27 pm

there is a catch. The battery last 2 years and cost RM380 to replace. can only be replace in KUL HQ near the weld.

• Chris on Oct 06, 2010 at 10:58 pm

Are u sure the battery cost 300 bucks? My Moto GP Tissot V8 cos RM 20 to replace. Where u heard 300 just for battery? Even mechanical watch service also not that expensive

• acapcs on Oct 07, 2010 at 12:37 am

berdasarkan komen diatas-atas,

nampak sgt ada yang salah guna duit semasa belajar.

• campro on Oct 07, 2010 at 2:36 am

i want the Red Bull Racing Formula 1 watch from CASIO….

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Oct 07, 2010 at 2:42 am

Tissot is the official time keeper at 2010 commonwealth games

• Smstr on Oct 07, 2010 at 3:57 am

Nolah…..very affordable

My Omega costs 17k

• JonLing on Oct 07, 2010 at 8:15 am

love the MotoGP Limited Edition watch that even comes with authentic MotoGP motorbike grip……hahahaha……that’s really funny but somewhat cool as well!

• used non national car owner on Oct 07, 2010 at 8:28 am

Rich or not rich is irrelevant.

It is the attitude and priority towards life.

Nice looking watch.

Affordibility? Most people can….

Buying? Not when I have yet to achieve my financial freedom.

• timepiece on Oct 07, 2010 at 8:39 am

BS lar…. RM300 for batt?? limited edition price izzit?
    I service and overhaul my TAG oso cost only RM200
    tissot for super rich? wait until u see vercheron, panerai, B&R….

• kangoroo man on Oct 07, 2010 at 10:54 am

super rich dun wear a watch… time keeping for what? lolz

• blackjkx on Oct 07, 2010 at 9:33 am

Those bloody mat/minah rempit will like this.Buy fake one also can show off.Any one of us?

• hahaha, I really have no idea they were call minah rempit. made me laugh.

• Kwing on Oct 07, 2010 at 12:07 pm

mayb one day like car industry where they share technoogies (eg, VW) tissot can borrow technology from its sisters brand under swatch (eg AP, breitor or Omega).

• KCivic on Oct 10, 2010 at 5:26 pm

they can borrow technological know how under the Swatch Group stable of brands but because of product differentiation, Tissot remains Tissot, right behind Rado, Longines, another good brand.

• no matter how expensive, these watch still gives u 24 hours. what i need is more time ….

• looks nice. i like~

• kayel on Oct 07, 2010 at 3:15 pm

this watch is for collector….given the price, i think seiko is much better in term of quaity and design

• Maserati on Oct 07, 2010 at 4:59 pm

RM 2400 is nothing lah for a watch.Its like a few cents for the rich.

Rich ppl dont buy this “LOW CLASS” watches aka TISSOT,TAG Heuer,RADO and so on.

The rich buy watches that cost at least 6 figures and above =)

• Its common perception that watches from Switzerland is the best. there are easily over 500 watch brands from switzerland, many we have never even heard of (and can’t even spell and pronounce correctly). Price is about marketing someone’s perception on quality and brand. Why a watch is more expensive than others is NOT that the quality is far more superior – its that people THINK it is far more superior, hence, ready to fork x amount of money on timepieces.

If you want to find out what the super rich are wearing now, check out this brand – Richard Mille. Nadal wore it when he won the French, Wimbledon and US Open this year. It (model RM 027 Tourbillon) costs USD$525k. Yes, its USD525K. Heck, even the replica/fake models costs RM300++!

Now boys, you can thank me for giving you a lesson on luxury watches.

• KCivic on Oct 09, 2010 at 10:41 pm

interesting paul now incorporate watches in this forum. You are right super rich dont look at Tissot not because its is a lousy brand but because this particular watch is a quartz. Watch collectors mostly will only buy mechanical watches ie. Hand-wind or automatic. Tissot is a good swiss brands with more than 150 years of history and some of its notable models, automatic ones are Visodate, Heritage and those from Heritage Collection. Classic looking Tissot are very appealing. If u like quartz Tissot, go but the T-Touch. To me the most reliable and affordable quartz watches are CASION G-Shocks. dont buy Seiko unless its Grand Seiko which cost at least above rm10k. I bought a seiko Sport 5 automatic watch for my younger bro at rm500 bucks, and after 3 months, the mechanical movement went faulty and the minute marker fell off. Bad luck i guess.The most expensive watch i had seen through Auctions are an old Patek Philippe which cost rm7 million. There are sites which you guys if interested can visit, such as Antiquorum, Patrizzi&Co, Christies, Sothebys, etc. Nearer to home, u can visit Singaporean used watch dealers such as Passions, Visiotime, Hobbylink, Heirloom, etc. I believe both Swiss and Japanese make good watches. japan on for Grand Seiko. Swiss are watch experts and the whole surroundings of Switzerland is most suitable in producing quality watches. U do not need to be super rich to own swiss watches. Spend within your means. There are quality brands for less than RM10K such as IWC Mark XVI, Omega Seamaster or Planet Ocean, Fortis, Breitling Colt series, ORIS, Tag Heuer Carreras, u have many quality swiss watches. The super rich pays top dollar for AP Royal Oak Offshores, Pateks, Rolexes, Independent brands, UN Freak, Tag Monaco V4, Blancpain, Breguets, and others. Watch collecting is a hobby just like car. Imagine driving luxury cars versus affordable Japanese Honda, toyota and Nissans. Same concept. Swiss meachanical watches are engineering marvels. They are expensive because a lot of money is spent on R&D, materials and advertising only play a small role in costing. If u like cars u can also like watches. Rolex produce close to 1,000,000 units of watches every year, the largest producer in Swiss and their watches sell like hot cakes and they are in existence for slightly over 100 years. Rolex is like the favourite King of a country. Everybody wants one especially their Explorer I, II, Gmt Masters, Milgauss, Daytonas and their Submariners. I have a friend who bought an AP Royal Oak Offshore T3 for rm50k about 8 years ago. He is a happy man now cos this watch now cost rm100k at least in the secondary market. Sorry for such long commet. Surf the net to learn more on mechanical watches if u r interested. Another site for you view watches are Watchprosite.com and Timezone. When u are in the office or see your friends, check our the watches of your colleagues. Its interesting. The same Rolex now is 20% more expensive compared to 2 years ago. Enough talking… Feel free to feedback if u want to know more about watches… I a, just sharing out of my liking for watches… Cheers..

• Kwing on Oct 10, 2010 at 8:44 pm

how about Seiko Springdrive series? they are not bad rite? btw seiko coming out with a quartz watch cost around rm 10k, what your thought on that?

• KCivic on Oct 11, 2010 at 8:14 am

Kwing, seiko spricngdrive is a techonological innovation, incorporating both quartz and mechanical movement. Excellent movement made up of hundreds of parts but imo, it should be either quartz or mechanical and shud not mix both. Not pure enough imo. They have already released the Seiko Astron i think its called, it will cost around rm17k if i am not mistaken and again this is a special quartz developed by seiko itself. Not bad. I am not a big fan of seiko thus my opinion maybe bias. This watch is a reissue from 1970s. U can go to watchprosite.com and view it under HorologicalMeandering. Someone already showcased it there. Being a super quartz, it is also super accurate. For rm 17k, i would advise u to but swiss watches. U have many choices depending what kind u are looking for. Even if with budget of rm10k, u can buy 2 good swiss watches, Longines Legend Diver and one Breitling Colt. Mechanical watches are different from quartz. It is more emotional. Study the mechanics and egineering inside. U will like it.

• Kwing on Oct 15, 2010 at 4:07 pm

thanks for the info, do you have any good websites to buy 2nd hand watches? esp US site?

• KCivic on Oct 22, 2010 at 8:56 pm

US sites, i can only think of www.robertmaran.com, i know a lot of Singapore’s site, such www.passions.com.sg, www.visiotime.com. Go visit www.watchprosite.com and learn a lot there. IMO u should buy the re-issue Longines Legend Diver, the one without date. u will love it, no regrets. It is an exact replica of a vintage Longines Legend Divers watch issued back in the 50s. USD 1.8k.

• takai on Apr 25, 2013 at 12:44 pm

Sometimes its not the worth of your watch, but the worth of your time from qoute..i think the watch its worth also, because we can show passionate through workhard to purchase that watch.