Proton in talks to produce Proton EMAS concept car

Proton has entered talks with a few companies in Japan and Europe to produce a production version of the Proton Emas Concept which was unveiled by Proton and Italdesign-Giugiaro earlier this year at the Geneva Motor Show 2010. The discussions are expected to be concluded by the end of this year.

“There were discussions in terms of technology, platforms and how we can work with others to source engines to us. The current trend is to come up with cars, including those using hybrid technology, that are fuel-efficient and produce low amounts of carbon emission. As Proton is a competitive company, we will take on this concept and make it a reality,” said Proton managing director Datuk Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir.

Proton will be targeting the South-East Asian market as well as the Indian market with the new Proton EMAS. As the EMAS is a small and compact car, it should hit all the right criteria to be positioned favorably in India’s car tax system which takes into account car dimensions.

It was also revealed earlier this year that Lotus would be developing its own version of the EMAS, and a Lotus concept car based on the EMAS called the Lotus City Car Concept was displayed at the Paris Motor Show earlier this month. The Lotus version of the car would have a more premium and sportier positioning, and be equipped with more powerful engines.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• fugly

• mastermind on Oct 07, 2010 at 3:03 pm

yes i want one…

make it rm 50k with hybrid power
    oh yeah, don’t forget LOTUS DNA ok…

thank you

• jimmyc on Oct 07, 2010 at 3:15 pm

yeah.. ASAP as well. saving my cash for this one.

• sammy on Oct 07, 2010 at 3:53 pm

50k??? no way….with hybrid power it would be around 100k

• Virosh on Oct 07, 2010 at 4:11 pm

Lotus DNA with hybrid power for 50k. Even a civic hybrid is more than double of that. Its not cheap and easy to produce a good hybrid car. Unless you want problems with the power windows etc.

• that is civic la broo..japan’s CBU…different tax…this is our local car…must be cheaper but not sure can get it for 50k…but for non-hybrid version…maybe below 50k can get la…

• Hargatinggi on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:27 am

With non-existance Hybrid know-how & techology….Proton & Lotus are trying to build a Hybrid from “off-the-shelf” components…….Under 50K will be a big ask.
          Pray it’s between 60k to 80K if it’s your lucky day….
          I’m starting to believe that this EMAS project is just a marketing concept that is nice on paper but still a long way from production readiness.
          What I can see is Proton & Lotus try to sell their design concept to other manufacturer, not the actual car. Both company never built & sell a Hybrid Car & neither of them have solid Hybrid expertise. And in Lotus case, they don’t even have their own car engine……

• Eyesore on Oct 08, 2010 at 3:22 pm

This kind of mentality will get Malaysia nowhere…. “Local product maaa… kene la murah… Import mahal takpe.. classy” getting worst when this thought coming along with it… “Local product maaa… confirm quality rendah… Waaa imported product, very very high quality”…..

no wonder loats of malaysian getting conned by foreign company…

• vader on Oct 09, 2010 at 11:21 am

never mind….honda fit hybrid is around 60k. will wail for it

• Hargatinggi on Oct 07, 2010 at 3:16 pm

There is some clear mistake in Datuk Syed statement: Proton have never been competative!! Who are they compete with b4 Perodua knocked them of their perch???
    For as long as I can remember, they are just enjoying total domination in local market.
    (Sign: 3 colours option ONLY for newly launched car…i.e Proton Savvy etc)

This EMAS project will exposed Proton lacked of technology knowhow. 1 decade after the first Toyota Prius sold, only now they start looking for technology supplier…..Yes, they don’t even have any hybrid technology but plan to buid & sell one…This could be a very long uphill walk…..
    Hopefully they won’t sell the finished product with Waja price tag……

• campro on Oct 07, 2010 at 5:38 pm

Since when Proton is competitive company claimed by Proton managing director Datuk Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir??? he is make false statement in the press…
      for national car maker Perodua is more competative…Proton alway lose to Perodua current 2010 also still behind P2…in local market alr lose….then how to compete with other global well-known car maker from europe, japan, korea, USA, even china do far better than P1…

• aduhh…P2 is not a national car maker laa…its toyota…

• campro on Oct 12, 2010 at 6:49 am

who said no…even our highest rank leader hv label Perodua & Naza & inokom as local national car maker…P2 is JV with toyota hv share in p2 as well…even in the press also hv write perodua & naza & inokom is a national car maker….i know p2 & Naza only CKD rebagde daihatsu/toyota & kia /chevrolet & hyundai…Proton also make no different from them as a rebadge Mitsubishi car for generation especially lancer…from saga to wira to old waja ( in taiwan known as lancer fortis) to new waja…..nothing special

• FaredSYGPROTON on Oct 08, 2010 at 1:22 pm

dude…proton is more competitive compared to P2 laa…P2 only popular in local market, proton is now getting known in the global market..yeah it is still long way to go compared to Hyundai, Honda and Toyata, but now Proton has exported 20% of its cars to the global market and the numbers increases…with this new hybrid model, I bet proton will be able to sell their cars in US one day…one more thing, dont u read the paper?? Proton’s sales has increases 13% recently…grow up laa P2 lovers juz accept the fact P1 is getting closer to steal the crown back from P2..

• campro on Oct 12, 2010 at 6:42 am

unlikely lah hoi…sales down abit bcoz ppl is waiting for new generation myvi…now still ahead proton…later new myvi official launch…p2 will jump like rocket again far ahead p1…

• car nuts on Oct 12, 2010 at 4:54 pm

Suprising all this. My only complaint against Proton is why can’t they build proper car for us. All our money, tax payers, and purchasers of Proton cars at artificially high prices, are used to pump money into Lotus. To pay expensive orang putih and yet claim and hold on to artificially high taxes to protect so called National Interest. If that is the case, then sell Lotus, stop “bermimpi di siang hari”. A lot of us cant afford to buy Lotus cars. The best way to move forward is to get the best minds in Proton instead of merely trying to rely on Lotus. Anyway, as far as I know most of Proton cars were sent back after they tried and fail to sell overseas. The India and China project had failed. so did Indonesia. I can’t really understand. Dulu VW nak beli tak nak jual? Entahlah Malaysia Boleh !!!!!

• DICKYBIRD on Oct 07, 2010 at 6:28 pm

agreed! competing with whom and competitive in what respect? P2 are in a different segment so certainly not competing with them.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Oct 07, 2010 at 6:53 pm

That’s why they need to joint venture with other companies,because from there they can share technologies.
      I hope the final product whether a hybrid or a normal car,the quality should be improve and the price should be affordable.

• nazri on Oct 07, 2010 at 7:10 pm

jeles?

• U felt down when u tried to walk in for the first time. Can you walk now?

If Proton dare not even try to fight P2, when can P1 fight with other big boys? we also taking of fair fight with others, then this should be the good for P1 to fight with P2. Good for the industry and good for the car users. Only then P1 and P2 can improve.

U like Proton or not is other story but P1 is doing the right thing no doubt.

In term of technology, Proton is always ahead of P2. Hope tha P1 can keep going and P2 can become a true national car one day!

• talkbig on Oct 08, 2010 at 9:55 am

First become the no 1 car in Malaysia without the protection from goverment. Beat P2, then build cars for export to Japan, Europe, China, India and lastly to the US/Canada. Then talking big is fine. Even being no 1 in Asean is so far away. So, I am sceptical about their ambition being reached eventually.

• Eyesore on Oct 08, 2010 at 3:28 pm

when did DSZ or PROTON talk big??? He just merely mentioned Proton is a competitive company…. being competitive doesn’t mean being no1 all the time cuz there can only be 1 person/company at no 1 at one time… duh… Exora n savvy is doing well in thailand.. even the arena is quite popular in Ausie… in Malaysia yes… maybe only Perodua is competing with proton on equal term… but if u notice somehow foreign car is getting cheaper (maybe not by much)… vios or city price is not that far from persona or waja…..

• you never become number one without govt protection.
          the fact is, you cannot even breathe without govt protection. the existing multibillion corporation will crush you like coke can.
          even Japs govt protects local japs cars.. Korea used to protect local korean makes..
          so what?..

• talkbig on Oct 09, 2010 at 2:12 pm

Japanese and Koreans have moved soo far ahead when they had protection and are now global manufactures of car. In fact, Hyundai has assembly operations in US. Toyota is all over the world. Even Tata sesms to have moved forward. Where is Proton? In Iran and Indonesia trying to produce Japanese rebadged cards.It’s not about criticizing Proton but what have the got from Lotus in terms of building quality cars. Just look at the Perdana model, it’s been there like 20 years already still churing out the same boring stuff. If this is what you call competitive, please look up Webster dictionary for the real meaning. It’s a joke that people can comment about patriotism even it means supporting inferior quality products. Shame on those who view patriotism blindly.

• shay13 on Oct 11, 2010 at 2:05 pm

Bro…

U talked like you know everything. Make your homework before you want to comment. You look like an idiot. DSZ doing everything he can to improve proton. Don’t compare to big names like Hyundai etc. because they are long existed. If you are so clever why don’t you become someone and slowly put yourself in this industry. Turn this name to a big name like the mr. T,H,N etc. It takes time, patient, support and experience to move forward. Just give them that will ya. Do you see Proton as what you see it last 10 years? I doubt that.

• fighting with P1 and P2 some more…this stupid bashers never learn…if u bashers hate proton so much go and get ur imports dont shout here if u have no cash to pay for imports…

• acerman on Oct 07, 2010 at 8:39 pm

“they don’t even have any hybrid technology but plan to buid & sell one” they are ready actually.

• EVE…..

• Uzair on Oct 08, 2010 at 10:24 pm

dude DSZ is definitely better than you!

• weeling on Oct 07, 2010 at 3:34 pm

why not proton use the same engine as the lotus city car.?

• Peter on Oct 07, 2010 at 5:32 pm

Isn’t it obvious enough?

Lotus does not want to market their car wif Proton….

Lotus is a much premium brand…

Try comparing the cheapest model wif Proton most expensive model….

Its a huge difference…

Proton is more Budget type

Lotus is much more premium type

• Tok Janggut on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:22 am

But I thot Proton owned Lotus. Siapa tokeh ni aa????

• Peter on Oct 09, 2010 at 1:19 pm

Toyota also owned Lexus….

See it?

Lexus is much more premium.

Toyota is much more budget.

• DICKYBIRD on Oct 07, 2010 at 6:25 pm

coz if lotus engine means toyota engine, the proton fanboys will go and hang themselves if that happens! LOL!

• Katak on Oct 07, 2010 at 8:46 pm

Lotus also takda engine la….what to share LOL ^^
      Remember this, most Lotus sport cars used Toyota engine & some other engine supplier….Very logical la bcos Lotus sold less than 3000 cars last year…….

• Mienzz on Oct 11, 2010 at 4:37 pm

Sebenarnya Lotus ada kepakaran utk membuat enjin tapi kos untuk membuat enjin sangat mahal

• zimba on Oct 07, 2010 at 10:11 pm

yea. it should be good if Emas has the same engine as the Lotus city car. Even Satria Neo R3 is for Perfomance and high spec priced at rm115k shares the same CPS as the RM60k CPS Neo. Lotus sharing the same engine with Emas will be able to save more cost looking for a different engine.

• Peter on Oct 07, 2010 at 11:58 pm

Proton Emas would most likely source engine on their own. And it is also likely to be the replacement for Proton Savvy.

Lotus has been sourcing engine from Toyota all along.. Thus it is most likely to be toyota engine.

Lotus will provide Proton with the Chassis and platform.

These already show that Both companies would want to make their own car on their own. Proton is Proton. Lotus is Lotus. Get it?

• Eyesore on Oct 08, 2010 at 3:31 pm

Lotus sourcing kinda high displacement egine from toyota.. even then they tuned it to be much better than toyota’s….

Lotus have their own small engine…. so i think Lotus City car won’t be using toyota engine….

• Sonic Boomz on Oct 07, 2010 at 3:51 pm

What did i say about the Tata Nano?

Am I right or am I right?

haha.. sell in India..

• Exotic sports on Oct 07, 2010 at 4:04 pm

Why Proton doesn’t takes ideas from Lotus who will be developing its own version of the EMAS based on the EMAS called the Lotus City Car Concept.

• what the hell u re saying…EMAS is developed by 3rd parties company…ITALDESIGN…proton pay them to develop a city/electric car and Persona Replacment Model (Global car)…so, because of the trend of super car manufacture now is to have their own version of small electric car…Lotus use the Emas platform to their small/mini electric car…maybe the engine source will be different because Toyota will never allow proton to use their engine and Lotus in the other hand defiantly will use the toyyoda engine…so both the company need to look for different engine/source…

but my bet…proton will use Nissan/Renault electric engine…hihihi…

• why spend for some fancy Italian design? I don’t understand. spend your money for the technology la proton. then just stick the hybrid engine into the current models. guarantee 50% savings in fuel consumption and sell the car at 50% premium.

for example, a RM60,000 Saga that guzzles 50% less fuel.

but the problem is, even a stock myvi 1.0 would probably consume less fuel than a hybrid Saga..

and don’t even think about getting any ROI.

• howitzer on Oct 08, 2010 at 1:06 pm

wtf r u saying? dont you know that saga consume even less fuel than viva?
      this has been tested and proven, then you say its consume more than myvi?
      get your fact right dude, dont just bash blindly… huh!!
      bashers oh bashers..

• Simon Poon on Oct 07, 2010 at 4:16 pm

R & D = Recreate & Duplicate

• they may use lotus engine for hybrid config.. but this car is not only meant to hybrid, it can also use for ICE config.. it maybe part of proton’s global small car plan just like ford fiesta and nissan march..

• Protong should give up its dominion control of the local car industry and close shop. For the sake of Malaysian car industry.

• autojohndoe on Oct 08, 2010 at 2:50 pm

after Proton close…

then, you will ask perodua to close pulak…

after perodua, you will ask naza to close pulak…

and so on… until there is no local car company…

In the end, what you want is Malaysia will no longer have car maker, but imported car. What you wish will make malaysia as user country, manufacturer only…

• campro on Oct 07, 2010 at 4:39 pm

Since when Proton is competitive company claimed by Proton managing director Datuk Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir???
    Emas nice design car…for EV car NISSAN more popular…even Mercedes AG use their technology to new EV mercedes…
    i guess Proton hv to seek their big Brother, Mitsubishi again to use their EV colt technology when come to mass production…for Europe market Peugeot hv alr take Mitsubishi Colt rebadge under their own brand line up…so after all Proton only hv Bolehland market & some ASEAN….

• Dinozilla on Oct 07, 2010 at 4:44 pm

When I read this sentence “As Proton is a competitive company…”
    I laugh~

• campro on Oct 07, 2010 at 11:38 pm

agree…sendiri cakap sendiri Hebat, Sendiri syok sendiri…haha…it funny…

• knoxx on Oct 08, 2010 at 9:51 am

Sesorang akan lebih berjaya apabila menetapkan matlamat serta wawasan yang ingin dicapai…ianya lebih baik daripada tidak menetapkan sesuatu pun.. Jika anda orang yang berfikiran jauh & matang sila fahami statement “As Proton is a competitive company…” banyak positifnya..

• Hargatinggi on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:40 am

Jangan omong kosong la bro. Cakap memang senang tapi bila buat, lain pula yang dikejarkan^^
          25 tahun baru nak tetapkan maklamat….Mungkin sudah terlewat sikit. Hyundai & KIA adalah contoh syarikat yang “Competative”.
          Proton hanya pandai sedekah dari rakyat M’sia (Semalam, Proton minta kerajaan start balik Skim Pelupusan Kereta yg berusia 10 tahun & keatas…..)

• Tiadaid on Oct 08, 2010 at 2:15 pm

If a 25 year old man who had played a fool when he was at school wanted to redeem his life and be successful, is it too late? It’s never too late to chase your dream. What they don’t need is naysayers like you discouraging them from achieving your dream.

• autojohndoe on Oct 08, 2010 at 2:52 pm

try pergi korea dulu bro… baru you tau how they can become that competitive…

• dickybird on Oct 08, 2010 at 6:09 pm

“If a 25 year old man who had played a fool when he was at school wanted to redeem his life and be successful,” let him do it with his own money and whatever time he has left, not with my money and time I say.

• Jimmy on Oct 07, 2010 at 5:25 pm

Lotus one should come with moonroof.
    Proton iSWARE aeroback in 1990’s had only TWO colours to choose from: white/red, then later, dark grey/green.
    Hey, we have more advanced tech man, I thought we don’t need hybrid nor EV already, since we have ‘hydro’ technology (you know what I mean).
    Shouldn’t we be so proud of ourselves?

• raixa on Oct 07, 2010 at 6:01 pm

Danny Bahar quote that proton plan “They’re strong,” he says. “They have their own aggressive plan to lift production to a million cars over the next five to seven years, from around 350,000. Besides that, they’re fun to work with. They have 1000 engineers of their own, and Lotus is already making use of those as capacity allows to work on third-party engineering projects. It’s a great partnership.”. Can Paultan clarify this audacious plan of Proton.

• dickybird on Oct 08, 2010 at 9:20 am

CEO big position jadi kenalah talk big if not macam mana earn his big salary.

• Hargatinggi on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:42 am

1000 engineers work in a company who selold 3000 cars per year…….Really remarkable talents they got at Lotus there ^^

• “There were discussions in terms of technology, platforms and how we can work with others to source engines to us. ”

Just curious, isn’t proton a car manufacturing company?

In this case, how is the approach different than say, 7-11, or Old town kopitiam engaging a European designer to come out with the concept, then collaborate with another Japanese company “in term of technology, platforms and how we can work with others to source engines”?

Where is the added value of Proton as a car maker?

p/s for a record, I am a proud Malaysian. I also want our own astronaut in space, in a Malaysian made space shuttle.

• Dextrous on Oct 08, 2010 at 8:40 am

The correct statement should be

“There were discussions in terms of technology, platforms and how we can work with others to source engines FROM us. ”

what DSZ mean is to source the range extender engine from PROTON. so that proton have the volume to low engine production cost.

• Hargatinggi on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:45 am

Proton mana ada range extender engine…haha…..That’s just Marketing Cock & Bull story ^^
        If they have, why don’t they put it in all their current car models & make every single M’sian happy….(Unless they scare they may piss off Petronas…..)

• shoot! not only we build confusing cars, we speak confusing English…

“There were discussions in terms of technology, platforms and how we can work with others to source engines to us. The current trend is to come up with cars, including those using hybrid technology, that are fuel-efficient and produce low amounts of carbon emission.”

I don’t recall Proton has an engine that is
        1. fuel efficient, or
        2. produce low amount of carbon emission, or
        3. not to mention hybrid.

Did I miss anything?

I would be the happiest Malaysian if Proton ever get close to being competitive.

I take competitive to be playing on level field, no government (tax payers) “grant”, and more importantly (for me anyway), freedom of choice when come to affordable and quality automobiles.

• Hargatinggi on Oct 08, 2010 at 12:04 pm

So u got your First M’sian Space-Tourist-Man. Local boy to boot too^^
      What next, the First M’sian Moon-Landing-Tourist-Man…The Chinese communist government could welcome some nice monetary contribution from our rich government, I believe. Next flight 2012…….

• i am skeptical on this.

• the*Z*man on Oct 07, 2010 at 7:47 pm

I couldn’t agree more on this quote : “As Proton is a competitive company…”! proton rulez the world !

• campro on Oct 07, 2010 at 11:54 pm

toyota rule the world as No1 world auto maker….VW rule over europe as No 1 europe auto maker…for certain country Hyundai rule their country…for MALAYSIA, perodua rule the local market dominating as top 1 spot…Proton is still behind P2…No EYE see…

• cirit on Oct 08, 2010 at 9:01 am

toyota no 1 auto maker in the world?….so slow la u campro….the toyota already down to no 3…herherher

• alldisc on Oct 08, 2010 at 9:36 am

nice comment!

• campro on Oct 12, 2010 at 7:05 am

thx ^_^ V
          important point is in the local market….the rest world top, europe top, world top luxury is not the main player here those dun knw oso nvm…important to know is P2 ahead of P1 at m’sia…i also like my nice comment above…

• bangku on Oct 08, 2010 at 9:50 am

If we include motorcycle maker, I think their sale is no. 1

• campro on Oct 12, 2010 at 6:59 am

now is alr impossible…proton’s Agusta motorbike hv been sold $1 to other company…m’sia vr popular sold thing with $1…same like Dr.M sold rm1 Air Asia to tony fernandes…

• monada on Oct 07, 2010 at 7:53 pm

Hargatinggi.. why are so sceptical? When Proton want to move forward, there’s always sceptics like you.. As so has said over and over again, don’t compare the old management with the new management who seems to be able to produce results.. BTW, what’s wrong with the Proton Emas? It’s a good project to move Proton ahead

• Hargatinggi on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:52 am

I love reality more than Marketing bullshit.
      The reality is, there is only a few big car companies who have hybrid expertise. If it’s so easy to be done, why don’t we see everyone selling it???
      Only Toyota & Honda are actually selling it in mass market, the rest of them is still doing trial and error in the lab. Consider how little money Proton have….I hope they don’t ask the poor Rakyat to be guinea pig again & test their product with their money……
      Good luck with your optimism btw……..

• shawal on Oct 07, 2010 at 8:59 pm

Im not interested in this small hatchback,
    I want a car with persona/waja’s dimension and using the range-extender powertrain based on Proton EMAS’s concept ,
    Get to work already!!!

• the upper picture_proton Emas looks so nice with the bigger headlight. Hopefully the production model will be using the Big headlight for Proton Emas and please make sure the technology is reliable. We Malaysian dont want Proton fails for reason of technology not reliable. Hurry up on production and really hope it’ll be here by end 2011 instead of 2012.

• Galon (Ganyang Malon) on Oct 07, 2010 at 9:04 pm

yeah…Proton only big mouth

• campro on Oct 07, 2010 at 11:46 pm

i laugh too after see the competitive words came out from that “Datuk” mouth…he really katak dalam tempurung…never see foreign car maker how strong their sale volume in worldwide as well as well-renown brand in the world in all aspect…haizz lazy to talk much…

• nazri on Oct 08, 2010 at 12:58 am

u lazy work… type at paultan so much.. :D

• yeah.. yeah.. just laugh for it bro.. but look at the way you talk, i am sure that u are scared because you are P2 salesman… hehehe… keep up bashing, because after this u will not have any sales at all… :D

• campro on Oct 12, 2010 at 7:17 am

in other post i also been rated as p2 salesman….i really laugh & smile on my face….thx i will continue keep leave comments not bashing lah hoi….i’m not a car maker…those auto industry hv nothing to do wif me…moreover i’m not car salesman… no impact on my job & biz….many ppl share same feeling as me vr happy laughing when saw the words…sharing is good

• senzu bean on Oct 08, 2010 at 8:44 am

At least Proton has something but u?
        U have nothing to show…. talk only.

• campro on Oct 12, 2010 at 7:13 am

of coz here is for talk…. this is for us to leave comments…i’m not a car maker…those industry hv nothing to do wif me…moreover i’m not car salesman… no impact on my job & biz….as i consumer we hv right to comment product include car like Poorton…

• proton please settle your lousy engine..emas is not a must!

belum pandai berjalan tapi nak terbang..

• think guys.. they source engine to cut down costs to produce emas at lower price.. simple as that.. they listen to u guys. now when proton moves like this u said lack of technology la apa lah.. what the heck

• malaysians brah….what u expect.only know how to complain

• campro on Oct 07, 2010 at 11:50 pm

so zen said malaysian brand is 2nd class gred…that m’sian does not deserve a better car like other Jiran country…
        there is alot ASEAN product is global brand…Air Asia for example…i scare ppl AA x syok over lotus matter…

• Jarum on Oct 07, 2010 at 11:48 pm

Well done, Proton. Love the ambition and determination with the Emas project.

Hopefully it doesn’t turn out to be like the episode of the Neo and Gen2 recall case that Proton is currently facing. Hope Pail Tan covers this story.

• elite on Oct 07, 2010 at 11:49 pm

100% designed by foreigners…proton just run the assembly line

• nazri on Oct 08, 2010 at 1:00 am

is kia/hyundai now design by korean?

• exjavanese on Oct 08, 2010 at 10:12 am

it’s design by ex-Audi…

• Hargatinggi on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:58 am

KIA/Hyundai is not really a Korean only company selling to the Korean market nowaday.
        Both are true international company & it’s no suprise that they employ the best people in the business to bring the company forward.
        Can u imagine Google & Microsoft only employ American??? Stupid as it may sound….But our good old Proton is special case.
        Now they just sub-contract design work to Mat Salleh, maybe they cannot afford to employ a full timer Mat Salleh ^^

• Eyesore on Oct 08, 2010 at 3:44 pm

bla bla bla… its forgiveable when foreign company did it…. for local company.. never!!! they must be perfect! stand on their own! do not work with others!! What ever…

• campro on Oct 12, 2010 at 7:24 am

that is the weakness for them unable to accept facing the reality world…that y they keep dreaming not chasing the dream…high challenging world…

• Uzair on Oct 09, 2010 at 9:25 am

dont you know that proton sent a team of engineer to italdesign for the designing???? you dont read alot doncha… kuang kuang kuang

• Jarum on Oct 07, 2010 at 11:49 pm

Sorry… Major typo… I meant Paul Tan.

• exjavanese on Oct 08, 2010 at 10:08 am

What ever folks…
    you all wanna talks critics, but the end of the day, im very sure people will be buy it! Good design make product look good, even thou is not good as well…hahahaha (iphone 4 also got problem maa..hihihi)
    BTW, for sure the best thing is ‘Good design comes with good quality’…perfect!!

• sranua on Oct 08, 2010 at 10:50 am

I’m thinking that as part of marketing or promotional program, Proton could pick up some of the harshest basher, some of proton loyalist, joint them together.
    Then plan a trip to Proton Tg. Malim plants, let them see Proton car’s being assembled, let them join the engineer, R&D Dept, Financial Dept. meeting or arguments,
    So that they know inside out of making a car, and how hard to please a customer. Than make a quiz, test the basher and the loyalist on whatever improvement should be done to Proton.
    If they can’t come out with any rational ideas, ask them to pay the visit.
    Well any takers anyone.

• gilabasi on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:11 am

the best of the bashers can come out with is “just close shop.. remove imported car tax already!”

• Eyesore on Oct 08, 2010 at 12:31 pm

Paul, no article about Proton recall for Gen2 n Neo?

• Proton Supporter on Oct 08, 2010 at 7:48 pm

Klau Proton nak buat sesuatu yg baru je..ade lah komen yg x sedap didengar..korang ingat nk produce kreta ni bleh dlam masa yg singkat ke?Mamat kt Jepun pmbuat keta yg diagong2kan tu pun ambik masa nk maju dan dapat pengiktirafan..Tp PROTON dlm masa 25 thn dh bermacam teknologi dihasilkan…Aku bangga dgn kejayaan PROTON dh bleh hasilkan enjin sendiri dan memiliki LOTUS…Mat Saleh pon dh jd kakitangan Proton..jgn jeles!!!PROTON BOLEHHH!!!

• ah yat on Oct 08, 2010 at 10:47 pm

Hi, P1 CEO buying time only… talk to who in Japan ans Europe… P1 please be seriouslah

• Yoong Tofu on Oct 09, 2010 at 4:11 am

o_O This is one fugly s.o.b.

• Virosh on Oct 09, 2010 at 1:18 pm

why don’t you try designing your first hybrid car with no proper experience or technology when you are also trying to finish a persona replacement, a waja replacement and a perdana replacemnent. If you hate it so much don’t bother commenting.

• donno on Oct 09, 2010 at 11:13 pm

Been to the lotus booth at Paris…

Those british guys at the lotus booth are so unfriendly, and arrogant! Looking at me, a malaysian as if i cannot afford any of those things. Even the lone malaysian guy (don’t know who he is) doesn’t even bother to say hi and show me around. I was shown around by one of their french security staff (who is a muslim and was happy to hear that i’m from malaysia).

I had better time at other booths such as Mercedes, and Porsche. Their staff was very friendly and was keen to show every one of their cars.

To all the British Lotus Staff. Remember who is bankrolling you and stop being so arrogant!

I came in my heart so proud and exited to see Lotus Cars, but i went away very very dissapointed…

• waimak on Oct 10, 2010 at 9:31 pm

Proton is actually ‘ window shopping’ for the suitable paltform for this emas concept for now. Who’s ‘offering’ it is a big question mark.. all the best.

• car nuts on Oct 12, 2010 at 5:00 pm

By the way, Hyundai used to build Ford cars in Korea in 1967. They only started building their own cars in the 80’s same time as Proton. They have left Proton so far behind. We do not have the economy of scale and unless we can break into the biggest car market in the future i.e. China, India and USA forget it. Better chose an industry we can be competitive. Look at Taiwan they chose computers. We should have taken that route.