Locally assembled Volvo XC60 2.0T Powershift open for booking, early birds get RM6K worth of accessories!

Volvo has announced that a locally assembled version of its XC60 will be launched late next month, and that dealers have opened their order books. The CKD XC60 will be in 2.0T Powershift spec, and a look at Volvo Singapore’s website shows that this drivetrain combines a 203 hp/300 Nm (from 1,750-4,000 rpm) turbocharged four-pot mated to a six-speed twin-clutch gearbox. With this, Volvo Car Malaysia (VCM) will stop bringing in the CBU XC60 T6, of which 150 units were sold since mid 2009.

Those who pre-book the car will take delivery by year end. The first 60 customers will also enjoy a free accessory package worth RM6,000. The pack consists of décor trim air intake, skid plate rear bumper, load organiser, sports pedals and a dirt cover bumper. The final pricing isn’t confirmed by the authorities yet, which is why Volvo won’t provide us with an estimate, but we reckon that a call to the dealers (Federal Auto, Swedish Marque or Angkatan Hebat in KK) will get you a ballpark figure. The CBU 3.0-litre T6 started from RM330K so this should dive below the RM300K mark.

The CKD car will retain all the safety features that makes it unique in the class. Collision Warning with Auto Brake (CWAB), Blind Spot Information System (BLIS), Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC), Dynamic Stability & Traction Control (DSTC) and City Safety are standard. The latter helps avoid low-speed fender benders by automatically slowing or stopping the Volvo to minimise damage.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• BeemerFreak on Oct 08, 2010 at 10:33 am

It is a wonder why volvo malaysia isnt keeping both variants to cater for different needs. The same 2.0T engine is also available in the S80 in SIngapore, which I think Volvo malaysia should take a look at to provide entry level S80 to compete with the much cheaper but much better equiped VW Passat CC 5 seater.

• deli27 on Oct 08, 2010 at 10:35 am

CKD where?singapore?drb hicom?naza?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:18 am

Volvos have assembled here since the 60s. They have a plant in Shah Alam

• That’s a useful piece of info. Newbies like me really have no idea that Volvo has a assembly plant here in Malaysia.

• deli27 on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:41 am

Oh,ok,i thought volvo shah alam volvo only assemble volvo trucks.

• Vincent on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:19 pm

Long time ago, before the P1 come in to market, we have quite a number foreign brand setup local assembry plant…After P1 come in, their price kena Jet up and loss teh number…slowly… most plant tutup kedai….sad….

• Sally on Oct 09, 2010 at 9:40 am

True true, last time my 240GLT and 940 Turbo from Shah Alam…

• pricing will be very important. Not many people want to pay >300K for a volvo, especially now that Geely has bought into the marque. 200+ k will buy you a stylish,safe euro car if you can tahan the maintenance and finally beg people to buy it from you for peanuts when it is time to upgrade

• handsome*dude on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:27 pm

if according what u said, no wonder LOTUS was not doing that good for such a long time~~

• Simon Har on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:54 am

finally they did it right with the price! love the XC60!

• nighttrain on Oct 08, 2010 at 12:06 pm

Now my sister is asking me whether to get the X1 or XC60.. Twilight fan konon..

• lihwoei on Oct 08, 2010 at 12:22 pm

go for XC60…it’s worth for it for long run…

• Vincent on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:21 pm

I test drive XC60 T6 last year…it drive like a coupe…..

For XC60 2.0T, I thing still not bad lar..

If Volvo can price it around RM250K.. sure will tapau X1…

• mr_3m on Oct 09, 2010 at 7:17 am

A CBU 2.0liter VW Tiguan is priced around RM25xk and if Volvo is not to be seen trying to ripped off their customers, my best guesstimate is that the CKD XC60 2.0T should be selling between RM200k and RM250k…. if it is about RM220k then maybe Volvo will achieve some volume with XC60, just as we see plenty of the XC90 soldiering around….

• campro on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:33 pm

XC60 far better than bmw X1…Volvo XC60 score Euro ncap 5 star with 94%…that is alr high great result for safety…even Audi Q5 only score 5 star with 92%….Volvo are really vr safe car…

• eeeriz on Oct 14, 2010 at 10:54 am

To say XC60 better than X1 is really an understatement. But then again, X1 received a very bad review by the much hated Jeremy Clarkson, and personally I dun like the look of X1. Sorry to say to BMW fan, but X1 is the most ugliest series in BMW line up. XC60 is very much better looking. However it remained to be seen on the overall performance in terms of driving, handling and comfort. I’m driving T5, but think the handling sucks (need to upgrade the suspension -but no money lorr..).

Paul, your test-review on XC60 2.0T is very much welcome.. :)

• nighttrain on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:56 pm

Looks like the XC60 for the doc. But I see that X1 is more powerful and more efficient.

• handsome*dude on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:33 pm

since ur sister is a woman, she should get the most safety brand Volvo, the XC60 anytime~

u all know wat i mean….a woman driving, some more a SUV“`

• moots on Oct 09, 2010 at 12:28 am

Most of the reviews I have read have stated that the X1 sold in Malaysia has very little extra equipment.

• nighttrain on Oct 10, 2010 at 9:11 am

okay, thanks everyone…

• Anti Proton on Oct 08, 2010 at 12:36 pm

i’d take the bmw anyday. much better to drive.

• keluangman on Oct 08, 2010 at 2:49 pm

I bet the price would be RM299k OTR w/out insurance.

CX-9 is better buy imo. Or the new Mits Pajero.

• campro on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:28 pm

the day hv come finally…. i been waiting for this a long time….

Paul,

When Volvo M’sia will bring in Diesel version to M’sia CBU or CKD also nvm??? Thailand hv diesel version…Diesel version more better…

• E Bear on Oct 08, 2010 at 5:26 pm

Unlikely to bring in diesel as Euro 2M isn’t exactly the most up todate grade today.

Yup, diesel would be great for long distances and up hills.

• The Loner on Oct 09, 2010 at 6:15 pm

Euro 2M diesel is near Euro 3 emission standards. However all Volvo diesel engines are now Euro 5 compliant. Volvo Malaysia won’t bring all available diesel models due to the high maintenance cost of Euro 5 engines that will hurt its profit margin.

• campro on Oct 12, 2010 at 6:37 am

what a sad news for me…but how come volvo bring diesel version of xc90??? that xc90 hv any trouble with our local KNS diesel grade??? although our local diesel KNS but BMW bring alot diesel model into our market…dun say bmw diesel engine better than volvo engine…BMW car really dynamic efficient…

• Lim Kopi on Oct 08, 2010 at 6:52 pm

Well done Volvo, guess its good to now really compete against the likes of X1 and Q5 finally …

hopefully the price will be competitive though … Volvo still remains a “cold door car”

• handsome*dude on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:31 pm

the CBU XC60 pricing is already same as the Q5 now~~ but XC60 more power…

true…volvo should price a lever lower~~ and 2.0T will attract more buyers compare to 3.0T
      ~

• mr_3m on Oct 09, 2010 at 7:30 am

And to save cost, reduce complexity and improve efficiency, the 2.0T XC60 is likely to be without the Haldex AWD system from the T6 version…. most SUV is now offered in 2WD just like the latest X-Trail, Grand Vitara 4×2, petrol X1 and now the XC60….

• BeemerFreak on Oct 09, 2010 at 10:56 am

XC60 can tapao Q5 anyday. Chinese take over Volvo has given this company a better future..

• eeeriz on Oct 14, 2010 at 10:58 am

I beg to differ. If you look at the previous Autocar, Q5 2.0T topped XC60 T6 even though T6 is much powerful, albeit in standard form. However it losses out to handling and comfort. Even 0-100kmh is not much difference between the two.

• Yoong Tofu on Oct 09, 2010 at 5:46 pm

280K is still too pricey for a Geli brand.

• teringin nak drive kereta Volvo. mesti best sbb kereta ni berat. mantap!

• eeeriz on Oct 14, 2010 at 11:00 am

haha.. tu betul. Volvo mmg berat dan bila bawak laju, it felt very stable. 200kmh feels absolutely relaxing drive with sheer confidence..!

• David on Nov 25, 2010 at 11:31 am

agreed. Try one out bro!! I had an opportunity to test drive the latest S80, and guess what? I actually LOVE it more than my uncle’s E200!! So much more planted on the road, and feels like i’m driving a much smaller car!! It’s a shame it doesn’t sell as well as the usual Merc or BMW.

• there is no right or wrong here. what i can say is i have no problem with my s80. from 850, s70 till s80, volvo is just perfectly built. it is just like other premium brand which maintenance is high. stick to japanese car if u want a low maintenance and reliability