Mitsubishi ASX coming next month, estimated price RM140K

The Pajero has been launched, the Lancer Sportback is next and this is the final piece of the jigsaw – the Mitsubishi ASX. The compact crossover will be launched by Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia (MMM) early next month, it has been announced.

We will get a 2.0-litre version imported CBU from Japan. The engine is question is the 4B11 unit with MIVEC, as per the Lancer. But the quoted figures of 150 PS and 197 Nm are slightly lower than the Lancer’s 155 PS/199 Nm. Perhaps it’s a different tuning more suited for SUV applications. The engine is paired to a CVT gearbox with six virtual ratios in a Sports Mode, and there are nice long steering shift paddles, like in the Lancer.

Here are some of the standard kit. Active Stability Control (ASC), Hill Start Assist, dual front airbags plus a driver’s knee airbag, leather seats, a 2-DIN touch screen audio system, reverse camera, automatic air con and cruise control are included. There is also a full colour LCD multi information system in the instrument panel, which is a nice upgrade to the orange jagged edge characters one gets in the Lancer.

Available in five colours, including the car’s signature Kawasemi Blue, the ASX is open for bookings as we type. The estimated price is RM140,000.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ikat perut on Oct 08, 2010 at 10:51 am

nice…”jacked up lancer sportsback”

• Hmm… Will anyone still go for the Pajero Sport? Nice step from MMM too, hope that the price wont be higher than 140k

• JonLing on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:02 am

Pajero Sport and ASX are in different classes, so the one who loves the ruggedness of Pajero Sport will still go for it. ASX is more urban runabout vehicle, like CR-V. Not overly crazy about it, but it’s interesting to see how ASX fair against all its rivals. RM140k is kinda competitive too.

• bystander on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:34 am

yeah, especially when it’s 2.0 mivec CBU from japan. hope it’s spacious enough unlike sohai T rush.

• campro on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:39 pm

Toyota Rush really can balik kampung jual sendiri enough…the worse SUV ever in our local market…now i remember Perodua Kembara even worse than Toyota Rush….that Kembara really can’t go…only foolish go for it including my stupid friend bought it n then next year sold out after complain too much & dissatisfied lousy car…

• with those features, CRV sales surely drop.

• subhero on Oct 08, 2010 at 3:02 pm

ive seen this car yesterday. tak cantik pun.

• Armeng on Oct 08, 2010 at 3:54 pm

CRV is a Honda famous model. It is unlikely the CRV going to loose sales drastically. Anybody who want to buy a car, they will consider their budget and preferred brand. You can say this and that but still preference goes to popular and trusted model. What ASX to be compared with CRV. Unless ASX is priced at RM120K or lower, then I believe CRV will be much affected.

• i dont agree with u because mitsubishi is famous as well but i must say that mitsu abit more plasticky compare to CRV. i really dont like the plasticky of lancer. ASX is more aggresive look, youngster will buy it n uncles will buy CRV. but then again bcuz of the features, ASX comes with driver’s knee airbag and its for safety. a reverse camera n LCD screen will really impress ppl to get 1. most consumer will buy cause they fork out so much n should get better fancy stuff.

• JonLing on Oct 09, 2010 at 8:56 am

it takes more than just cool features to sell a car, sorry to say that. Or else, I think all the brands with cheap cars and cool features would have outsold Toyota and Honda already. There are some reasons behind why Toyota and Honda are still very much dominating the whole market, and it is not only brand snobbery.

• buy 3008 then.

• which brand out there provide good features n its cheap?all brands out there are competitive, just the matter of which is better than which. impossible u tell me u buy honda when they give u no features whereas brand X gives u all features and selling around the same price. they all are competitive, those features wont run much because its costly to the company but must stay competitive. ASX wif better features will surely win part of the game. T n H all current models started to lose to Koreans car because most of their cars come with standard features. somemore CRV is very common on our road nowadays. T n H were strong bcuz their sales were constantly good b4 but now with those recalls from them n more models on the market, consumer will think twice b4 booking it.

• That’s funny because outside of SEA, people refer to Honda and Toyota as “brands with cheap cars and cool features”.

Can’t afford a BMW? Buy a Honda.

• Ravi K on Oct 09, 2010 at 2:59 pm

Whatever it is, this ASX or whatever is no comparison to the CRV. People buy a Honda because of the reliability. I still remember when the 3008 was launched, people said that CRV sales will drop. I don’t think so. I don’t see the Tucson taking away CRV sales and neither is the X-Trail.

• gooddaymate! on Oct 11, 2010 at 6:21 am

you can compare Mitsubishi Outlander with Honda CRV, but this Mitsubishi ASX it comparable with Nissan Dualis.. More like urban SUV..

• 120K is not possible la fren, 135K still ok

• Vincent on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:23 pm

I Feel facelift CRV look better..jsut a bit costly..

• CR-V is much larger than this ASX and i do believe this ASX does not come with a 4WD system !! at least CR-V comes with Real time 4WD

• CRV double grill is a failure design. Honda will drop this double grill in their next CRV replacement model.

• Derck on Oct 09, 2010 at 10:47 pm

Cannot compare to Honda, like resale value, service networks, spare parts.

• Great! Alternatives to so many competitors yet this should stand up of the crowd.
    Can you guys imagine, 2 of this make 1 Pajero IV? :D

• i wonder if it will come with the panoramic glass roof that the Singapore market is equipped with.

• infinity on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:10 am

I saw this car yesterday!!it was at bangi area, turning to equatorial hotel, bangi…it was together with mitsu sportsback and 2 other mitsu cars which i didn’t manage to identify..haha…
    initially, the sportsback was behind me…i tot it was jz a lancer…then it overtook me and i saw the badge covered with tape..there’s a “2.4” word in chrome at the side for the sportsback…
    my 1st time coming across a pre-launch road-testing car in such a near distance!!

P/S: sorry for not having any picture taken, as i was the only 1 in the car…and it happened jz too fast..haha..

• subhero on Oct 08, 2010 at 3:03 pm

i guess singapore Plate number. saw it too yesterday putrajaya area

• pultat on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:31 am

A bit of consolation for the lance gt owners, they can upgrade to this and dump the gt before the new waja hits the road….and probably 4 years down the road…proton will rip this off as well, so be ready buyers!

• OMG!! dream comes true!!! I prefer the 1 that runs on diesel

• is this a real 4×4 or a 4×2 like vitara, rush, x-trail?????

• CRV is overpriced and underpowered.

• xavier lert on Oct 08, 2010 at 12:25 pm

thats cheap….

• nice…CBU somemore..CRV is going down…hihihi…

• thirtyone on Oct 08, 2010 at 12:35 pm

Will anyone trust Mitsubishi again after what they are doing now with the Lancer / Proton?

• As a lancer owner, i will never buy mitsu car again.

• campro on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:43 pm

yup… we understand ur feeling…sedan , mpv, small suv…better don’t buy…scare later happen like the lancer scenario…but Buy pajero 6/ sport should be no problem…

• subhero on Oct 09, 2010 at 12:50 pm

SO THEN I CANCEL MY LANCER AFTER THIS.

then waiting for new WAJA. its same what?

• wat if pug rebadge mitsu?

• mitlanevo on Oct 08, 2010 at 1:33 pm

CRV better watch out, haha!

• jflee169 on Oct 08, 2010 at 2:16 pm

i have the same feeling that proton might use the ASX as their next new model line-up in future.

• Armeng on Oct 08, 2010 at 3:59 pm

I think you are the Jedi or Yoda relative..guess some more and give hints. How about Perodua’s future model. Can be said Vios might be rebadged as well?

• i think proton will remain on MPV n Sedan.. not SUV..

• Outdoor Person on Oct 27, 2010 at 12:20 pm

Perodua cannot afford to rebadge Vios la..Think about it before u comment la..

• niuhje on Oct 08, 2010 at 2:43 pm

buy-buy crv and rav 4 (pun intended)… huhu

• dexter on Oct 08, 2010 at 3:16 pm

would never consider a mitsubishi anymore! don’t know when they will allow proton to rebadge it!

• Looks good, price also good for a CBU car…. Maybe can convert to Evo 10 SUV..

• mr_naz on Oct 08, 2010 at 3:18 pm

really2 like this suv….

• the specs are not even matching the pug 3008. might as well go for that…..

• Reviewer on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:03 pm

i agree with ESP’s comment, peug 3008 has the highest spec if you compare to Honda or Mitsu…..its jus that peug still trying its best to make it into our “malaysian mind”…..cheers…

• tikus on Oct 08, 2010 at 6:09 pm

Pug 3008 looks good and the spec too. Just 1.6 road tax and get 2.0 power.But in bolehland toooo many toyota and honda fanatic.

• apexg2 on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:09 pm

erm, then proton should rebadge this..hehe!!

• BSLee on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:20 pm

Why CRV or Mitsu AXS..? Cannot understand… Peug 3008 is better!.

• Derck on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:28 pm

The Gearbox issue on lancer still unslove, the triton leaf spring complaint still unsolve, the quality of service from EON is remain unsolve, why we need to bought theses “UNSOLVE” goods from them? especially the saleswomen to squeez your trade in car to a lower price, asking me to give them RM1,000.00 commission, is from Bangsar.

• alxand@mitsubishi@ss2 on Oct 08, 2010 at 5:56 pm

bro, if u unsatisfied with the sales person u can always call the customer help line n complaint for cekik darah :)

• c14man on Oct 08, 2010 at 5:35 pm

after what proton did to lancer, will mitsubishi shark nose still laku here?
    cos soon you’ll be sharing the same car look with most ah beng who buy waja and make it into evo-looking thing, or worse beyond that.

i wouldnt take the risk, though i have to say ASX is pretty good looking.
    for 140k, i’d rather settle for something else which proton is not likely to ckd, eg: Hyundai Tucson.

• Rhys Millen on Oct 09, 2010 at 12:37 am

Yes and you can share parts from the engine as they are the same engine .. ironically developed by Hyundai.. so when waja hits the road it’s Hyundai engines all over.. just so ironic.

• iampaultanfan on Oct 11, 2010 at 11:59 am

pls read more…it’s not a Hyundai design engine la they still not able to design their own….Mitsubishi provided the design…go google n read properly…duh

• Jimmy on Oct 08, 2010 at 5:54 pm

1st: Proton is not going to CKD this.
    2nd: Price for initial ones should be RM135K to attract buyers, only later can the price increase when there are more on the roads. (Sincerely speaking, for a truly CBU SUV from JAPAN with good specs, RM140K is quite reasonable, esp if comes with 4 airbags and ESP).

• Jimmy on Oct 08, 2010 at 5:57 pm

Got telescopic steering like CRV or not? No moonroof I think, although it is CBU Japan.
    Other specs seem quite OK.

• alxand@mitsubishi@ss2 on Oct 08, 2010 at 5:58 pm

well proton mitsu scene is only for the lancer as per agreed… the asx is not to compete with crv which is a bigger in size n bigger player in market, it’s a x-over with different range market of customer :)
    yes we had our training at bangi gold resort this week :)

• its gonna be weird for customers paying thousands more for a ASX and Lancer hatch which essentially have the same front nose as the upcoming proton “lancer”

these proton “lancer” guys can easily convert the front nose back.

how are the real mitsu owners going to feel and where will the exclusivity be about driving a mitsubishi…..

i pay rm140k for an asx and the proton lancer essentially looks similar….ouch

• Mtisu Fan on Oct 08, 2010 at 9:22 pm

The price already speaks for itself. So what kind of exclusivity are you complaining about? You want exclusivity? Go get yourself a BMW, Audi or Porsche Cayenne. With a minimum of RM250K and above, you can mingle with all the “Exclusive” bunch of show offs. I’m not complaining. I’m just saying as long as they’re affordable (all vehicles should be don’t you think?) and comes with an acceptable quality/performance/ package plus good design, they are indeed good enough for me. Enough said..

• mata katak on Oct 08, 2010 at 7:55 pm

after a couple of years, proton may “copy” this car and make knock-off proton out of it…..

• Machi on Oct 08, 2010 at 8:07 pm

For sure it’s in my “NO BUYING LIST”

• CR-V 2.0 vs ASX 2.0

engine
    CRV :150hp,190NM
    ASX: 150hp,197NM

Transmission
    CRV :5 Speed
    ASX :6 Speed CVT

Safety
    CRV : VSA, TC, ABS, EBD, BA, Shift hold control
    ASX :ASC, TC, Hill start assist, ABS, EBD,BA

Cargo Volume
    CRV: More
    ASX :Less

4WD System
    CRV: Real Time 4WD
    ASX: N.A

But I still prefer CR-V due to its refinement, car like handling, and NOT A CVT TRANSMISSION !!!

• Tucson 2.0 Hi Specs CBU Vs Peugeot 3008 CBU

TUCSON:-

RM139,888, 2.0 DOCH Dual CVVT, 1998cc
      6Speed, Shiftronic, FWD, 2 Airbag,
      ABS,EBD,ESP,HAC
      225/60 R17, 1403kgs
      Smart Key, Push Start,
      Panorama Roof.

Pug 3008:-

RM143,888, 1.6 Turbo Charge, 1598cc
      6Speed,Shiftronic,FWD, 6Airbag
      ABS,EBD,ESP,HSC
      225/50 R17, 1539Kgs
      Cruise Control, Power Rectracble Wing Mirror, HID
      Panorama Sunroof (fixed typed)

• Add On:-

TUCSON:- 6 months wait, Road Tax RM439.20, 5 Years Warranty

PUG3008:- 8 Months wait, Road Tax RM120.00, 3 Years Warranty

• skatax on Oct 08, 2010 at 10:16 pm

well priced Mitsu! now its’ up to us to choose either X-Trail, CR-V and the ASX. and even perhaps Tucson…..not.

anyhow, i’m glad Mitsubishi decided to bring this car in. although we didn’t get Airtrek (aka Outlander) successor, baby Airtrek pun boleh lah…

aha~

• I guess we should do some research before giving any comments or comparing this model to other models. Sometime the comments in here is so pathetic. Comparing ASX and CRV is just not accurate, they are in a different category. It’s not totally a SUV, it’s a combination between a car and SUV (x-over) btw it’s popular in US, Europe and Japan. If you want, compare it to Nissan Qashai.
    The closest we can get is Pug 3008 or Kia Rondo. But I test drove 3008, while the power is satisfying, the cabin is not so.. although it does look nice. I am hoping that the ASX will give a little bit more space than 3008. The price is reasonable when your option is between 3008 & ASX.

• Jimmy on Oct 08, 2010 at 10:49 pm

Gook luck to you, for those who bought or want to buy Pug 3008 (hey serviced by Naza-related company, product quality of Naza standard).
    All the best to buyers who are to be serviced by EON (you are pengemises, as far as I can remember in 1990’s/early 2000’s).
    I will buy these Pug 3008 or ASX if it is serviced by UMW.
    20 years from now, you may understand why most people still choose Toyota in Malaysia.

• mivec on Oct 09, 2010 at 10:30 am

why ppl service by EON u call them pengemis? u kaya sgt ke?

• saki77 on Oct 09, 2010 at 1:03 pm

i think what he meant is that u r treated as a pengemis…..

• E Bear on Oct 09, 2010 at 12:48 pm

Maybe he meant EON giv priority to Proton cars…the other cars…… non-priority.

• openmind on Oct 12, 2010 at 7:31 am

UMW service is nothing to shout off….mainly because they have got a slightly more reliable car (of course, with less features, less chance for things to be damaged)

It is just because the other vendor is even more slacking intheir servicing ability that makes UMW looks like the undisputed champion in car servicing….

Please get your fact right otherwise it will be very miss leading…

• when one can’t blame a product blame it on other stuff…
    3008 has 156hp, 240 nm torque, a proper 6 speed auto box by aisin, 6 airbags and prolly
    Runs circles around other suvs.

• Everydaydriver on Oct 09, 2010 at 12:52 am

But why la 3008 have to break down in amazing race asia. PR disaster la… poor Indon ceweks…

• vader on Oct 09, 2010 at 11:07 am

because it was set up by NAZA lor….. Such a high tech car needs professional set up or servicing…..

• Outdoor Person on Oct 13, 2010 at 11:00 am

Ahahahaha..I like u man!! Everydaydriver…

esp..specs wise 3008 sure la canggih in papers..but when da car breakdown, those who pick n tow 3008 wud probably a Jap car..wake up la dude!!

• Lim Kopi on Oct 09, 2010 at 12:26 am

Unfortunately in Bolehland, the most sensible thing to do is compare things within the same price category.

So now Msians have choice of ASX, CRV & Pug 3008.

Spec wise 3008 still remains on top, in addition to being the only Conti option.

After sales is prolly CRV

ASX – mitsubishi errmm …. Not sure what they are actually good at :)

• udasalleh on Oct 09, 2010 at 6:44 am

Mitsubishi actually make great 4x4s n SUVs… they were involved in rallies since the 1960’s and were Paris Dakar rally winners involved since the 1980’s. Now thats a heritage that can’t be denied.

• its CBU compace CRV… i will bought this if below 130k otr…

• Teo2442 on Oct 09, 2010 at 1:19 am

This car looks weird. It got the ugliest front end among those SUV sold in Malaysia.

• Funan on Oct 09, 2010 at 5:19 am

nowadays trendy hot looking SUVs are from south korea.
      who cares bout ugly non-popular expensive SUVs from japs !

• Canaanite on Oct 09, 2010 at 5:37 am

this is not yet the most ugly SUV from MMC.
      have you seen the Outlander Roadest?

• Not-Soul-Uncle on Oct 09, 2010 at 12:41 pm

you really think SsangYong Kyron and Mahindra Scorpio is prettier than this?

• Jimmy on Oct 09, 2010 at 5:45 pm

KYRON is the most ugliest (I purposely use it doubly) car in the world, worst than the keranda car (Jaura).

• E Bear on Oct 09, 2010 at 12:52 pm

Nonetheless, it is fully imported….that must mean something.
      Latest welding machines, good QA/QC, painting……..world-class production.
      And nope, I am not a Mitsu sales bear.

• Yoong Tofu on Oct 09, 2010 at 4:06 am

CVT is for scooter.

• Yoong Tofu on Oct 09, 2010 at 4:08 am

EON servis is nightmare on glenmarie street.

• udasalleh on Oct 09, 2010 at 7:03 am

Like i said before… Proton needs to design an SUV or crossover vehicle… use a boosted 1.6litre engine would be enuf (just like the Pug3008) n design it based on the Exora platform. Catering to the urban jungle joes… much more mucho than an mpv (leave that to the pakcik n makcik). Just look at the market for these things now… i do prefer SUV / crosssovers because the road conditions in ever-constructing roads of M’sia is still much to be desired… the uneveness, bumpiness, potholes and flood prone streets of ours.

C’mon Dato Syed… time for Proton to join the band wagon! (hint… hint… potential buyer here!) :)

• Outdoor Person on Oct 13, 2010 at 11:46 am

I second his comment..but considering da nightmare have to go thru to pay tis grease monkeys to servis my wud cheese me off..EON seriously need to listen to their customers..

• can the auto maker get rid of the signal light on the side mirrors..it is very annoying as a it is a mere imitation from mercedes..BMW ,ferrari are good designers as it never imitates the design..

• Jimmy on Oct 09, 2010 at 5:47 pm

Cannot be creative already, poor man.

• Retaurant Lotus on Oct 10, 2010 at 12:29 am

its for the motorcycle driver driving next to you la weii.
      …so its better for them to know you’re turning rather than bumping onto your door.

its for safety purpose . still want to complaint.. duh!

• lancer waja on Oct 09, 2010 at 12:40 pm

I’ve seen the ASX in China last year and thought that it looks great. Now that it finally is going to be in Msia, I must say that I am keened to get the ASX; but should I hold on for a year or two waiting for Proton to buy the model over and sell at RM80k?

I mean, if the new Waja Lancer’s going to be sold at RM70k like what the Mutiara Dsara salesman said, then it’s just plain lucky that I let go off my Lancer GT fast. If I waited till the Lancer Waja is out, instead of RM98k, the car’d probably be sold only at RM58k.

• E Bear on Oct 09, 2010 at 12:44 pm

With proper marketing, a suitable brand ambassador, service packages, extended warranty….presto, you have a good sales figure.

Imagine, why spend 300k for an SUV when u can have this one for 1/2 the price.

Maybe spec it to make it more classy and sporty.

• Jimmy on Oct 09, 2010 at 5:50 pm

Hi friend-friend sekalian, don’t be cheated by the 5-year waranty. I don’t entertain you for half a year, and I take another 6 months to fix the part. Nah 20% of your waranty’s gone. The important thing is care, and attitude. Good UMW, l like you. Why nobody wants to learn from UMW/Toyota? Weird and stupid, isn’t it?

• SavvyTron on Oct 09, 2010 at 3:48 pm

Mitsubitshi Airtrek replacement ??

• gooddaymate! on Oct 11, 2010 at 6:17 am

airtrek in Malaysia is wagon, but in australia it is more like crossover type and the replacement is mitsu outlander… but this ASX is an urban suv (hatch) which is smaller than CRV, its more a kind like Nissan Dualis.

• type-x on Oct 09, 2010 at 6:09 pm

proton could use this asx as a platform for their entry suv, but not use the design. change the front end like what peugeot and citroen did until the cars look not even identical to the asx. that should be the right way, not just change the bumper. i think it’ll work.

• Teo2442 on Oct 10, 2010 at 1:59 am

Yap, i do agree with u. That five years warranty comes with certain rules. I had just waited for 3 months in order to get my iafm module fixed. Another four months for the door rubber strips exchanged. And the service by the Sc ain come cheap. Just a simple minyak hitam change for every 5000km, they charge u rm 60 for the labour fees!
    Can u imagine that, a simple act like open the screw to flush the old oil, rescrew back, refill the new oil and walah, it cost u rm 60! unbeliveable! Not to mention the major service(every 20000km), it ll cost u rm450 to rm600++ depend on the car’s model.

• shuey on Oct 11, 2010 at 3:12 pm

I drive a CRV. power and pickup is rather dissapointing. Need to test drive ATX

• KK rider on Oct 13, 2010 at 7:18 pm

Mitsu design is now very common in Malaysia. With so many Proton Lancer on the road next year, with the same Mitsu 2.0 engine with CVT for only RM 90k with Lotus Handling, who would buy this car? ??

• smith wesson on Oct 19, 2010 at 6:20 pm

soon our road will be full of INSPIRALOTION X

• Will mitsu sell this model to proton again?? Mitsu if u wanna malaysia market, must look long term.. else malaysian will lose confident on u, dare not buy ur car anymore!