Proton Gen.2 and Satria Neo owners: Proton Safety Recall Exercise for Clock Spring

Proton is having a Safety Recall Exercise for certain models sold between April 2004 to June 2008. There is an issue with the Clock Spring (slip ring), which is something that connects the switches and airbag in the steering wheel to the radio, horn and cruise control.

According to Proton, their engineers have identified irregular performance in Clock Spring components of the Proton Gen.2 and Satria Neo models equipped with the auto-cruise function, manufactured between April, 2004 to June, 2008. The affected Clock Spring may cause the following symptoms:

• Noises when turning the steering wheel.
  • Unintentional triggering of the car horn.
  • Malfunction of car audio remote button on the steering wheels.
  • Self-deployment of the air bag in rare cases.
  • Unable to start car due to short circuit of the electronic components.

If you drive a Gen.2 or Satria Neo purchased between April 2004 to June 2008 you are advised to contact your nearest Proton authorized service center to book an appointment for full inspection and rectification work. Here are some linked resources to help you with this:

“Although the number is small, the safety of our customers is paramount and we apologise for any inconvenience caused. The recall is an example of the commitment we place on our customers’ safety, and the reliability of our vehicles under Proton Global Quality Assurance programme. We hope our customers understand that this recall is necessary to ensure their continued confidence in the safety and performance of their vehicles,” said managing director Dato’ Haji Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir.

This is one of the rare few times we’ve seen any Malaysian company call a recall by what it really is – a recall, instead of ‘service campaign’ or whatever other alternative names they can come up with.

UPDATE: Proton says the recall affects a total of 5,836 cars in Malaysia, comprising 4,128 Proton Gen.2 1.6 A/T H-Line and 1,708 Proton Satria Neo 1.6 A/T Hi-Line cars, with auto cruise function.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Darn!! No wonder everytime i turn the steering wheel got ‘crock’ sound… Time for i-care now!

• Ah Boon on Oct 08, 2010 at 3:36 pm

hey if i just booked a neo 3 weeks ago, do u think it would’ve been made in june 2008 or later lol….

• Ah Boon on Oct 08, 2010 at 3:36 pm

neo cps i mean

• ariel. on Oct 09, 2010 at 2:37 pm

hey.
          dont be idiot……….
          cps is launched 2009..
          or you just showing that u buy neo?
          poorly man….

• lol its almost 2yrs now…i don think that they simpan proton that long….if they do so y did u need to wait 3 week to get ur neo! furthermore neo cps last yrs facelift

• nolan on Oct 11, 2010 at 11:56 am

my maid drive a Neo cps…..she has no complaint……recall or no recall make no sense to her…..

• Armeng on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:05 pm

Lucky you, only “crock” sound. If happen to be “crack.crack..crack” sound, what would be happened to you then.

• matrix guy on Oct 08, 2010 at 7:13 pm

No wonder my airbag keep coming out ! tekan horn it pop up pula! time for i-care! while stock lasts ??

• ur lying man…airbag system is very sensitive system…how can u masuk balik at it place when it pop out..only train people must do that not u

• in germany..airbag is regulated as harmful explosive

• Alifz on Oct 11, 2010 at 1:42 am

some to here..you need police report to change the airbag if explodes..

• PutraRocker.Com on Oct 09, 2010 at 12:55 am

better late than never..woot3 o_O

• exjavanese on Oct 09, 2010 at 3:22 am

its it all of this recalling enigma outer end by the poor quality vendor part? somebdy plz make me clear it out?

• bumpercar on Oct 08, 2010 at 3:34 pm

need to recall savvy as well la proton. all amt of the junk. my friend’s amt savvy stop in the middle of highway when all the cars are moving 100km+. bloody nightmare. very expensive also to repair. ‘savvy’ my azz

• mohdazizee on Oct 08, 2010 at 10:04 pm

for savvy owner. dont just like this post. you also must make a comment. biar proton tau.

savvy aku baru 3 tahun. amt dah problem. tanye kat sc. senang je dia org cakap. tukar satu set. rm 16000. gila ke ape?

• Hayden on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:23 pm

seatbelt dah 3 kali hantar still problem..susah nak tarik! = =,

• praks on Oct 09, 2010 at 1:37 am

My savvy seatbelt has the same problems too. I have had to change my front car lights 9 times in 3 years. When you tell the people at proton, they dont seem to know how to solve it. why work in proton then. My savvy has had sooo many problems, that i have come to a decision, i will never ever, ever, ever buy a proton again. Never again. Not even if it’s free. Cant wait to finish paying for my loan so that i can dump the car into a river, hopefully with Proton officials present and also the press to see. I dont know if proton will see this, but i hope anyone who is thinking of buying a car does….

• Sally on Oct 09, 2010 at 9:38 am

Since u so savvy, u no need wear seatbelt marrrrr

• DICKYBIRD on Oct 10, 2010 at 12:08 pm

YUP! ALL pengampu protons drive around without wearing seatbelts coz.
            1. they BO Chap like the company
            2. their safety belts are defective but the SC guys say it is like so they just accept it lah
            3.they think their proton’s lotus handling is so good they dont need to worry about seatbelts

• agas2 on Oct 13, 2010 at 9:30 am

my saga blm also have this problem lah…sometime ok sometime tak ok…on bad day, it took 20 minutes + to successfully tarik the seat belt :(
          power window no need to mention …its a well known issue…

• mitsubishi aspira on Feb 17, 2011 at 10:44 pm

I have the same problem in our saga…the others are okay except the front passenger seatbelt…like its sohard pulling seat belt

• Renault amt really a junk? AMT in savvy is from renault rite

• alldisc on Oct 11, 2010 at 3:18 pm

yes, and it was first developed for Clio 92 model. used in savvy 13 years later. but then, when it comes to sensors it is hard to predict its lifespan. alfa romeo 156 selespeed did face similar situation.

• carsut on Oct 12, 2010 at 10:04 am

Yup, that quit true, my brother in low savvy hard to start up and event this morning the car suddenly stop while cruising..but luckily my persona did have any prolems

• portdickson on Oct 08, 2010 at 3:41 pm

are they sure only satria neo and gen2 were affected?..how about persona?..my persona got audio remote button problem also…

• littlefire on Oct 08, 2010 at 5:52 pm

I think in a few post back, i mention that already a few Gen.2 & Persona suddenly air-bag pop up during driving! The car not even involved in accident! All these news i heard from those kereta tarik guy.. If not mistaken, P1 service center just replace the air-bags & reset the air-bag module only as suspect of air-bag system malfunction (Got gurantee maa..) But i knew that something really fishy about it as a few cars happen like that! Persona users please aware, as i already heard rumours that Persona H-line also have problem like this..

• michelin on Oct 08, 2010 at 6:12 pm

u r right, littlefire.. i’m a persona h-line user (April 2008) and got these problems so far:

– Noises when turning the steering wheel.
        – Malfunction of car audio remote button on the steering wheels.

Been to SC, and they said I have to pay for a new steering since my warranty period is already due (> 1 year). WTH?!

• dickybird on Oct 08, 2010 at 6:36 pm

lucky nothing happen to you bro! thank heavens! this bo chap (dont care in hokkien) mentality in proton is why some of us will never ever buy a proton. SC seems to be saying “you bought the car its your problem, now pay up!”

• udasalleh on Oct 09, 2010 at 8:28 pm

so… u’re saying that since Toyota, Honda, BMW, Mercedes Benz, Nissan, Suzuki, Kia, Hyundai, Chevrolet, Ferrari has done recalls… u won’t buy any of those brands either?

• don’t try to be smart here, udasalleh! It’s the attitude / mentality of people at the SC not the recall.

• michelin on Oct 12, 2010 at 10:26 am

God forbod, dickybird.. but still, i got 2 out of 5 problems stated above.. Clock spring or not, I guess customer has the right to get full explanation.. that SC can’t even guarantee the problems will be gone if I change my steering.. sigh..

• protein persona on Oct 09, 2010 at 6:20 am

Same I too have a proton persona bought back in February 2008 H-line.

So far no air-bag problem (god forbid) but i too have those steering button multifunction , a cracking sound when fully turn while reversing and the door kinda stuck during very hot day…until my door handle broke from the outside just to open the door?

• alldisc on Oct 11, 2010 at 3:21 pm

my persona has no airbag and no steering button. its a huge downside. even though owners of high specs persona/gen2 are worry of this issue, and i can actually smile but nevertheless i have a low protection against a frontal collision.

• The boon on Jan 22, 2014 at 4:46 pm

Do true bro. Call the hotline and tell them about it. I got charged too. After complaining to hq I got my refund

• Sonic Boomz on Oct 08, 2010 at 3:42 pm

“The recall is an example of the commitment we place on our customers’ safety, and the reliability of our vehicles under Proton Global Quality Assurance programme.”

So it means, under this quality programme, they have deliberately scheduled a recall?

Wow.. that’s like murdering your family and citing that ur trying to save the world and reduce carbon foot print..

• KoverLainen on Oct 08, 2010 at 3:46 pm

Your understanding of English is one of the worst I’ve ever read.

• dickybird on Oct 08, 2010 at 5:27 pm

and you cannot even spell kovalainen. LOL! your Finnish is equally bad! but good call (or recall shall we say) from proton.

• drMpower on Oct 08, 2010 at 5:41 pm

i think he just made up the ID. no resembelance to the real heikki driving for lotus racing. ;D

• nahhh on Oct 08, 2010 at 6:12 pm

you can’t take a JOKE? KoverLainen = Cover line.. Aiyoo!!

• dickybird on Oct 08, 2010 at 6:28 pm

forgive me if i forgot to laugh

• dickybird on Oct 08, 2010 at 6:33 pm

and btw that aint even close to cover the line, whatever that means. well i guess for proton standards, koverlainen = cover lain = good enough. well like i said, good (re)call from proton.

• Type F on Oct 08, 2010 at 6:54 pm

Same goes to dickybird too…
          Cover line pun x phm..

• dickybird on Oct 08, 2010 at 9:20 pm

dude, your joke is defective like a proton clock spring, you need recall to it! now that is a joke!

• boyxinan on Oct 09, 2010 at 2:10 pm

Proton car has no quality at all, even my 4 years old myvi door better than my sister in law new persona door, she just bought 3 months ago.she tell me myvi door sound though when closed not like his persona door. many of things not right with new design proton car, even my father wira car are better than new design proton car. If they want to built peoples car, then do it right.. dont play with propaganda ‘beli barangan buanatan Malaysia’ but throw at people a rubbish to buy. I dont hate P1, but i hate when people take oppotunity from low income, medium people.

• fazron80 on Oct 10, 2010 at 12:21 am

well my wife myvi clutch is like the worst clutch in the history of automotive, Now thats for quality. comparing perodua and proton is like, are you even serious. comparing bad with another bad.

• Haha… just listen to the door sound so u can said is tough. U must be kidding me… Hey guys here you are the QC specialist. Just hearing the sound to do inspection. bravo….

• boyxinan on Oct 11, 2010 at 12:58 pm

you p1 peoples always patronize when people criticize.. shame on you using ‘proud to buy Malaysian’ but then u FRAUD peoples..

• since you compare the door shutting sound… then i compare the interior quality… myvi after 3 months interior starts to have rattling noise… Persona, 1 year plus already, still silent… Myvi very noisy when you drive up to 80 km/h… Persona drive up to 120 km/h? silent!!! Ride quality? Persona.. Engine power? Persona of course… Fuel efficiency? the new campro iafm engine consume pretty much the same amount of a 1.3 litre myvi… (of course don compare the old campro la) space? myvi… styling? myvi also… but boot space? of course persona!!
          CONCLUSION: both cars are equal… quality wise: malaysian cars ma!!!

• DK BOSS on Oct 08, 2010 at 3:43 pm

Bout time they own up to their faulty parts !!!!

• rossi46 on Oct 08, 2010 at 3:44 pm

good move….

• Alvin_ng on Oct 08, 2010 at 3:46 pm

Proton is moving in the right direction… not afraid of recalling and rectifying. Good work Proton~! We would like to see Proton competing in international arena.

• pastor lim on Oct 09, 2010 at 1:14 am

If u can live another 300 hundreds years yea maybe can see them competing internationally rofl…

• ntah.. on Oct 09, 2010 at 7:00 am

no it’s not.. you only need to wait until 2012 for the launching of Proton Emas..

• Buy MyVi on Oct 10, 2010 at 12:03 am

wow LETS WAIT AND SEE

• DICKYBIRD on Oct 10, 2010 at 1:01 pm

agreed! talk is cheap, proton is in the business of making and selling cars so show us your product! all this talk of Emas and it is still just a prototype.

• this is the best I’ve read all day. EMAS alone is gonna make Proton competing internationally.

• milo tin on Oct 11, 2010 at 12:45 pm

Can help to recall my Waja power windows? I have fixed it 3 times, and now lazy to fixed it orady.

• Peter on Oct 08, 2010 at 3:46 pm

My colleague and I complained abt this issue when the car was bought in 2005. The SC change everything including the steering. It took 5 years to discover or the report to reached the management. What a joke! I wonder how other who face this issue (few batch of car owners) back then feel now.

• Ah Boon on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:03 pm

hey peter, can share with us what problems happened with the car.

• Peter on Oct 09, 2010 at 12:46 pm

The prob is when just brought the car, it’s found the steering got sound when turning. It’s very disturbing as this’s the new car. I’m not a rich guy who have to fork out 1/3 of my salary to pay the loan. Can U imagine that kind of feeling when U see the SC do ‘R&D’ when they dig out every new part of your just-bought car to find out ad-hoc possible solution to solve the prob. The prob is not on them… it’s the Proton management that should be liable. This issue should be fixed years ago as feedback (if any) from their authorized SC.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:13 pm

Then,how can a year 2000 Toyota recalled in 2010.
      That’s 10 years

• 2002 roll-royce as well :)

• Peter on Oct 09, 2010 at 12:49 pm

So, if Toyota did that means that’s ok /reasonable? So Toyota is world leader and everything they do set the standard?

• alldisc on Oct 11, 2010 at 3:30 pm

guys, guys… to do a recall exercise one manufacturer need to have a high percentage of claims. example there are 200,000 units of gen2, sneo and persona and about half of them come with driver’s side airbag. and let’s say there are 120 complaints (or 0.0012%), it is hard to justify whether need to recall or not. the numbers are too low. there is a fine line between recall or not.

on the other hand I must agree though proton should have recall on PV6 gearbox problems, as well as perdana E55 AT tranny, wira 1.6 C98 AT prob, waja CF1 power window problems, savvy AMT problems and gen2/persona fuel gauge problem.

• Peterpj on Oct 08, 2010 at 3:47 pm

I am one of the affected users.

But the thing is that I had my clock spring changed about 2 years ago…and at my own expense since the car was out of warranty. Note: the air-bag is also not part of Proton’s extended warranty as well!

Speaking to my friends, I realised that they too had clock-spring problems in their cars (2 friends with Gen 2 and 1 friend with Satria Neo) and they too had made repairs at their own expense.

Called up Proton i-Care this morning and they told me that I would still need to change the clock-spring – meaning that they sold me a defective product including when we repaired the clock-spring out of our own pocket in the past 1 or 2 years.

What I want to know is whether Proton reimburse us for unnecessary expenses!

• Ah Boon on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:07 pm

dam.. u remeber how much was the repair ? i booked a neo cps manual transmission 3 weeks ago.

I wonder if it was made in 2008

• Eyesore on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:43 pm

you know…. neo CPS was launched in 2009… so no… ur newly booked car not affected…

• littlefire on Oct 08, 2010 at 6:08 pm

Have been cases Proton SA modify the grantt just to ‘jack’ up the car price… Ask around those new “old stock” Perdana, you can also ask for made in 2010 also can wif $$$!

• Ah Boon on Oct 08, 2010 at 6:35 pm

oops, thought it was 2008 launched. Sorry im new to malaysia

• boyxinan on Oct 11, 2010 at 1:17 pm

another p1 salesman, knows properly what years and car affected.. Hi mr. salesman.. how about sales today? good? careful, dont fraud people ok.. talk nice to customer, giving this and that to hook peoples.. after sales, ‘do I know u?’, ‘I’m not remember..’, no wonder, malays easily forgotten..

• Tiadaid on Oct 11, 2010 at 9:12 pm

You wanna talk about fraud, go talk about P2. That’s a fraud of an unimaginable scale, but yet Malaysians lap them up.

• Consumer on Oct 08, 2010 at 5:07 pm

If you’re buying brand new, you shld insist for 2010 stock. If 2nd hand, well….

• neo16 on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:45 pm

Probably because 2 years ago the part was the same. Very likely they would have had to redesign that part for this exercise to eliminate that flaw permanently

• alldisc on Oct 11, 2010 at 3:40 pm

peterpj, you have a very strong case to take proton to the tribunal if they refuse to entertain this matter.

you can claim this under negligence & safety. no need for compensation one, just get proton to re-imbursed you will do.

and thank you for supporting proton. we are proton’s largest supporter in the world (about 80% sales are for local market), without us proton must have stumbled.

• Malaysian on Oct 08, 2010 at 3:50 pm

But they don bother to recall Wira’s power windows problem and many other problems which cause Malaysian so much money and time 2 fix for themselves?

• Peterpj on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:05 pm

A reasonable person would know that air-bag systems and a power window system are like apples and oranges.

• dickybird on Oct 08, 2010 at 5:40 pm

a reasonable person would also be very upset if they had to fix the same system, power window or otherwise repeatedly with their own money even when the defect is caused by the maker.

• Tiadaid on Oct 08, 2010 at 6:31 pm

Credit where credit’s due. They’ve done a recall, so for the bashers at least acknowledge that, especially those who praised the other carmakers to high heaven when they did a recall (overseas, but not here). And for those hammering about the power window issue let me tell you this, even Toyota won’t recall their cars for a power window issue if it doesn’t involve safety.

• but honda recall for power window early this year?? don’t remember?? do you think defect power window switch not harm? it make driver lost concentration when try to pull up window. i nearly accident at plaza toll after scan touch n go in heavy rain..stupid proton…if you care, please recall power window la…1 year need to change power window switch 3-4 times…wth

• tiadaid on Oct 11, 2010 at 2:50 pm

Honda recalled their power windows because the switch will catch fire. Proton’s power window didn’t catch fire so it’s different. It’s your fault if you don’t concentrate on the road!

Speaking of the Honda, did they announce the recall of the affected model or did they just keep quiet? If I remember correctly, the cars invovled were assembled in Malaysia. Did Honda Malaysia went and announce to the Malaysian public about the recall, or they said it’s nothing?

• alldisc on Oct 11, 2010 at 3:57 pm

when i work with UMW for 5 years from 97-00 and 07-09, there is no power window problems involving the regulator. on the motor yes, some cases but it is hard to predict on motors. again, please understand the need to practise a re-call.

where else, proton’s popular power window issue involving wira and waja were alsmot all about regulators (or glass holder)

• Sonic Boomz on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:07 pm

coz they think it’s trendy to do recalls now.. all the big companies doing recalls.. they also dun wanna seem left out..

• trollbait on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:17 pm

Because at that time, recalls are not fashionable mah. Now potong see that everyone doing recall, they oso wan to jump on the bandwagon.

• Facebook_User on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:33 pm

True bro.True.SPOT ON

• Romadan Idham on Oct 09, 2010 at 7:54 pm

Dear Fren,

I am agree with u, my wira is in year 2002, why no recall been made to rectify the prob of my power window?

• Proton Supporter on Oct 09, 2010 at 9:53 pm

Dont agreee…..Power window problem no need to recall coz it wear and tear problem…Car Manufacture only can do recall when they find any parts problem that can effect to dangerous….if your power window have problem just change la…what are you waiting for…Even any of Car Manufacture in the world not going to recall their product only coz of power window..LOL

• steering also wear and tear.

• my home lamp switch still can used after more than 20 year.. no wear n tear pun….it’s 240 V …but this switch only 12V..why after a few month , already cannot used..it’s design problem + cheap material…don’t use wear n tear excuse la..

• fazron80 on Oct 10, 2010 at 12:25 am

maybe Proton will do that when the power window problem becomes serious like exploding while driving.

• qwerty on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:01 pm

My bet is that this is none other than a wayang.
    Only 2%? What about the rest of the lemon models. Trying to portray that from day 1 until now all other models are top quality products except this 2 %? If these models are so good, people won’t be boycotting their cars.

• even other maker recalled less than 10% of all their product

• DICKYBIRD on Oct 10, 2010 at 1:12 pm

its good they are doing this safety recall coz an exploding airbag is no joke. but its a good chance for them to demonstrate their commitment to quality and safety which up to now has been perceived as sorely lacking. just recall the whole lot!

• bontton on Oct 09, 2010 at 1:01 pm

agreed with u 99.9%..their wayang to show that proton also recall when got something issue with safety..i already checked my gen2(2008) car using online not affected but i got simptom no 5 and cause me to spend my own RM to rectify..

• wow i need to get my estranged neo from my uncle to get it fixed!

btw, i dumped my 1.6 (A) neo because the FC was not acceptable. 370km for 50L. bankrap aku bodoh!

• neo16 on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:38 pm

Strange. I’ve never ever been able to fill up 50L into my tank. 40L is max.

• Good reply. It caught him red handed.. lol

• dickybird on Oct 08, 2010 at 5:29 pm

maybe your fuel tank is defective?

• badact on Oct 08, 2010 at 5:31 pm

may be raf do so much mode.. lah
        even the fuel tank also he have change…

• littlefire on Oct 08, 2010 at 6:06 pm

Bro, it proves that you never drove your car hard enought! Have you tested driving it until entering corner or up a small hill that your car ‘cough’ n knock very hard due to hardly any fuel left in fuel tank?!?

• untitled on Oct 08, 2010 at 6:17 pm

I did, n it only requires 41L to refill..thats the max…dont forget the bottom of the tank is flat, that accounted for quite a lot if u can logically think. normal circumstances, its less than 40L to make it to the top

• littlefire on Oct 08, 2010 at 7:19 pm

Bro… I think i caught u red handed again! Persona Fuel tank is 50L! please read it from it’s website…

http://proton-edar.com.my/pdf/personaelegance.pdf

• littlefire on Oct 08, 2010 at 7:23 pm

http://www.proton-edar.com.my/pdf/brochure_neocps.pdf

Neo CPS also 50L!!!

• trikfidi on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:06 pm

this is waayyyy funny. people posting w/out numbers and facts. really shame people. anything can do to flame others. this is the real bolehland joke

• fazron80 on Oct 10, 2010 at 12:28 am

Is there even a single owner of persona or neo who can fill up until 50L? Never heard of one yet.

• fuel tank has been design “physically” for some amount of liter but the maximum you can fill is less then that to give space for vapor and pressure system.

• alldisc on Oct 11, 2010 at 4:08 pm

my VSS (very sad story) with persona. several times engine die by the road side because petrol finish. top up about 5L engine can start again. supposedly, when reach petrol station not far away i only fill 45 litres, right? but i can only fill up to about 37/38 litres only. meaning when engine stalled, there was actually about 7-8 litres of petrol left….

please dont blame me. i am a pathetic proton owner here…

• its petrol station pump problem la..they only fill 30 liter for u, but charge 50 liter..what station u use?

• Proton Supporter on Oct 10, 2010 at 12:00 am

Ko la yg bodoh…50L dh dekat RM 100 klu isi minyak..Neo full tank bru 40 litre je tank dia..ko reti kira ke tak?Patut le ko bankrupt …..Bodoh

• mirror mirror on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:09 pm

I think that almost everyone working for Proton from the factory floor to the engineers to the MD is frustrated by the highly inefficient and counter productive vendor system (parts supplier) which Proton is obliged to carry. Even VW does not know how to solve the problem with the vendor system and decided to walk away.

• Protong Sampah?

How about Persona 2009? (and other models as well?)

1) Squeaking Front axle, due to water accumulating in the cross arm bolting which causes ‘tup-tup’ sound everytime you turn the steering around? This will loosen up the bolt bit by bit. The problem only stops for a while, after each painstaking job of lubricating and tightening each of the cross-arm bolts/nuts. It came back in just few weeks.

2) Problematic centralized locking? (keep on unlock/lock non stop)

3) ‘Kruk-kriok’ sound whenever you wind down and up the power windows?

4) Specifically for the older Camtakpro Gene.2, the wiring material are so poor that most of us experienced ‘burn-out’ and wire overheating. The engine or fuel pump doesn’t work due to this silly QC/QA? (note: you can feel the hot heat generated from the wire/junction box! a part of the car’s insulation/floor mat has a burn mark, hurm, potential fire?)

5) Aircond host (front left passenger seat) always leak water into the cabin? (mini banjir besar!)

6) Car battery quality sucks, very weak just after few weeks of usage, don’t tell me its the normal wear and tear? Already changed the battery after 3 months the car was purchased?

7) Plastic peeling off easily; the roof lining, door lining and window lining are peeled off easily.

8) Manual engine; RPM always stuck at 2000~3000 for no apparent reason. It is more frequent during traffic jam.

9) The steering make a weird sound last time, the steering rack have been replaced one whole set (after numerous complaints were made).

10) The “striker” units (the metal ring located at each door – used to locked the door) has a terrible plastic quality which I believed triggered the car’s locking/unlocking mechanism. I know this after replacing it with new ones, the problem stops only for a while. Then the plastic wear and tear in just 2~3 months, the problem come back again.
    and the list just keeps on going…

Sometimes makes me wonder, even if Protong replaced the car with a new one, the problem will still persists. The real culprit is Protong. Protong is the problem! QC/QA sucks!

Why only now make recall? Why only certain models? Protong should replaced the entire fleet of cars sold since 1980’s! Protong owe the rakyat big time!

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:25 pm

SYOH HAI,all your post are purely RUBBISH!
      Show us the prove,make a video about it
      Show the pictures!

• I can testify to the #4 Fuel Pump problem.. breakdown 3 time already.. first 2 wiring issue and they just do patch wiring job. stuck in middle of carpark cause cannot start and waited for the proton service guy.

2 months back, same problem.. but this time, half way reaching top of a hill and engine cut out.. sterring and brake heavy like shit.. glide down hill and stop by roadside..

fyi.. i still plan to buy next waja (partially hang up with paying $$ for non national brand) but i think you should be more reasonable by retraining from calling names.

• dickybird on Oct 08, 2010 at 5:31 pm

hey show us the rubbish! we want pictures! or your comment is defective just like Syoh’s proton! LOL!

• wow, either Gen-2 is a lousy car or you are `blessed’ with the lousy luck of purchasing that lousy unit…a lot of my friend own Gen-2 and i myself drive a persona but our cars are not badly built and didn’t face so much quality issues like yours….

may i suggest a `mandi bunga’ ritual for u and ur present and future car(s)..

• Dear Mr. moc.,

I was told by a good muslim friend that, “mandi bunga” is not a part of Islamic culture. It is described as “bidaah” by most ulamaks. Bidaah = literally means, a practise which is NOT originally from Islamic teaching. This so called “mandi bunga” is an ancient Malay culture (before the coming of Islam). Furthermore, we are in a technical forum. If you have nothing technical or intelligent to say, I suggest you to refrain yourself from saying anything useless that will only contributed to the wastage of internet bandwidth. Thank you for reading.

• S.Roma on Oct 09, 2010 at 8:03 pm

Dear Mr Syoh,

Mandi bunga is no “bidaah” or wrong. Some of the traditional dr still doing it. Depends on what u thk of…

• udasalleh on Oct 09, 2010 at 10:59 pm

Bidaah doesn’t mean wrong. Bidaah means (like he said) practices not directly from Islamic or the prophet’s teachings or basically has no prior evidence being prescribed. Lets just leave it for another forum. OK?

• fazron80 on Oct 10, 2010 at 12:32 am

what bidaah got to do with this recall?

• biggie on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:38 pm

its a P2 salesman right?

• Eyesore on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:49 pm

Probably one of ur passenger door wasnot shut down properly hence making the autolock going on and off continuosly…. i noticed that happen only when the passenger door not closed and i stepped on the brake….

• Dear eyesore, the problem was the “door actuator unit” (at least for my case) located at the driver side door. Need to be replaced too. As usual, normal QC/QA nonsense from Protong.

• khuaguagugini on Oct 08, 2010 at 5:16 pm

i drove the persona 2009 since july 2009 till now.
      and i never experienced any one of the problem you listed.
      so, as moc said, better you go for ‘mandi bunga’ first.
      you’ve experienced too much bad luck. (or you should never drive again for the lifetime).

• Dear Mr. khuaguagugini,

I was told by a good muslim friend that, “mandi bunga” is not a part of Islamic culture. It is described as “bidaah” by most ulamaks. Bidaah = literally means, a practise which is NOT originally from Islamic teaching. This so called “mandi bunga” is an ancient Malay culture (before the coming of Islam). Furthermore, we are in a technical forum. If you have nothing technical or intelligent to say, I suggest you to refrain yourself from saying anything useless that will only contributed to the wastage of internet bandwidth. Thank you for reading.

• khuaguagugini on Oct 10, 2010 at 1:24 am

dear mr. SY0H,

as per request from other users, how if you publish the proof of the problems you experienced? (better proof like the ‘My Honda Tak Guna’ owner done)

as part of this blog reader’s said you are the permanent basher of P1, no wonder why you got the worst quality of P1 car even in DSZ era.

why? the answer is in yourself.

ott topic:
          ‘mandi bunga’ is bid’ah? fine.
          then, when you leave the world, the undertaker can just bury and leave you alone without any ‘doa’ and ‘talqin’.

• syoh a hardcore p1 basher..
      never had a prob with my gen2 almost 3 yrs..
      just maintain/service ur car well la..

• Your car is still okay, because it is the same Gene.2 sitting inside that Protong’s showroom. Never move since 3 years ago. I suggest you try to sell it off to unsuspecting customer before its expiry date. Thank you for reading.

• udasalleh on Oct 09, 2010 at 8:41 pm

really aiming for the ferrari but can’t afford it huh?… everythings under waranty just state everything in black n white n return the car. duhh.

• Proton Supporter on Oct 09, 2010 at 10:01 pm

Cakap x guna..tunjuk proof…bru gentle..klu setakat complaint kt sini bukan bleh ubah apa2 pun..klu dh pegi service center masih prblem lg show your proof…service book attached skali bru org bole caya..

• Protonfan on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:19 pm

Business strategy like Toyota? Will proton sale figure increase like Toyota after this?

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:21 pm

Proton was under old management during the car was launched,DSZ was doing the right thing to recall back the cars.
    Who say Proton only cares about money,there is still no accident related to this problem,better than Toyota and Honda,they only recall after accident occured,and even KIA’s steering problem was discovered by authorities not by themself.
    So,what’s the point of criticising them?
    They had done the right thing.

• Proton Supporter on Oct 08, 2010 at 7:18 pm

Aku setuju sgt yang Proton mmg b”tggjwb…yg complaint tu mcm pkai keta yg best sgt!!diorang ingat beli keta Honda / Toyota ape 2 lah tu best sgt ker???Setiap brand ada kelemahan msg2… klu Proton ada problem kreta…. korang blasah gile2..tp klu model lain sume diam…Aku dah pakai hampir sume jenis keta jepun..same jer ada problem..skrg aku dgn bangganye drive Waja R3 dh hampir 4 thn umur dia,elok jer satu Malaya dh pegi no problemo…keta klu x reti mantain bg jenis apa pun melingkup LOL….

• cazrun on Oct 08, 2010 at 7:58 pm

hahaha.. setuju sgt2.. i love proton.. :)

• Izhar on Oct 09, 2010 at 12:14 pm

betul bro…..kat sini macam2 lah cakap..time kene g servis centre baru tau…hahaha…biler barang rosak…..menempek kat kedai potong….kalau power sgt…beli lah spare part direct ngan pusat servis….baru tau ternganga….proton ni gunannya nak suruh kita belajar wat kete sendiri….so kita kurang mengharapkan supply kete dari negara lain…mana2 kereta sekarang bukan proton jer, kita tukang check..jadik QC..apa2 problem kita complaint kat pembuat kereta..so then diorang akan improve…ferrari pun boleh terbakar, jaguar pun pernah air bag terbukak sendiri, cuba baca sejarah lama2..zaman2 70an 80an…pembuat kete lain alami masalah jugak…masa tuh umur jenama diorang dah berapa tahun????P2 rusa pun ada masalah gak..gearbox lekat..xleh nak neutral.so benda2 ni normal..yang penting pembuat kereta kene bertanggungjawab panggil balik model2 yang defect…orang nampak proton problem pasal proton banyak on the road…walhal yang lain2 sama jer….ford ranger clutch hidraulik slalu rosak (MT) bocor manjang…
        kete ni nak kene maintain…bukan pakai lanyak jer…contoh…sport rim besar 18 inci..camtik gile…tp pakai tayar secondhand / korek..ape kejadahnya….rim besar getah tayar nipis akan effect suspension..bearing tayar….sedangkan manufacture dah design saiz rim n tayar yang sesuai..bila rosak, salahkan manufacture….
        ok…nanti kemudian tambah lg…

• Proton Supporter on Oct 09, 2010 at 9:39 pm

Aku sokong lu bro….diaorang ni sanggup beli keta import walaupon umur keta tu dh belas tahun…ada standard konon…time cari spare part yg lawak tuuu…p lah terhegeh-hegeh kt kedai potong nk part murahan..yg kaya tauke kedai potong..klu mamat Jepun dtg Mlysia ni diaorang pon pelik…rase nye keta niii dh lame kena scrap tp kt sini berebut bebudak beli…mentality kita yg perlu diubah sebnrnye…

• Scania360 on Oct 10, 2010 at 1:08 am

Aku pun setuju sama bro!!
          mcm le pembuat keta lain tu perfect..
          klu Toyota dh kasi death kt US..kes enjin speeding up menggila..
          itu blum lg citer Mercd Eclass wt problem computer box reset xtau sbb tgh2 highway..
          xde sape heboh2 citer kt Malaysia nih..
          seteruk2 Proton lum g enjin dia kene rasuk hantu xleh stop mcm Lexus tu
          aku dh guna 2 model Proton..jauh beza kualiti skrg bnding mase Mitsu dulu..
          so pls appreciate lah..nk komen jgnle idiot sgt..bg le ade rasional..at least Proton dh bertanggugjwb atas defective lepas..as per recall tuh..

Go Proton..!!

*Scania skit punye mahal beb..kasi pening transport operators..abis warranty je sana sini wt hal..at least spent 20-40 k just for electronics problem..itu Euro punya brg tu..xde yg perfect ler..

• datopage2 on Oct 09, 2010 at 1:13 pm

Think someone mentioned the tarik kereta ppl knew abt this ,,, so those ai bags must have cause SOME kind of damage or accident wor ,,, just seems logical :P

• campro on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:21 pm

i thought Proton vr vr want face & never will recall their model…since many had complain certain issue in certain model…Good to know Proton willing to do this recall…hopefully no innocent ppl cause death in accident…

• Sonic Boomz on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:26 pm

If Proton is really serious about doing recalls to safeguard their customers, they would have been doing one recall every month. They seriously want us to think that this is the first time ever Proton cars have mass faults?? They just think it’s trendy to do recalls now.
    They are thinking, wah Toyota, Ferrari, BMW all doing recall. We also do lar.

Too bad they never think like, wah other automobile companies technology and efficiency grow by leaps and bounds! We must also do that and not rely on automotive policy protectionism anymore!

• better late than never..

• when proton don’t recall, basher complaint..
      when proton recall, basher also complaint

but when toyota, honda recall, it’s a nice move.. typical!!

• fasgen on Oct 10, 2010 at 10:11 pm

honda , toyota, lexus.. tak recall tapi perlu servis khas.. kan sama dengan recall.. nak jaga nama.. tapi hakikatnya recall la tu…

• senzu bean on Oct 08, 2010 at 9:15 pm

U don’t know meh? Proton first recall is with the Savvy.
      It already years since that recall.

• ko malu saje... on Oct 09, 2010 at 7:43 am

it was the waja bro… the sport rims wan laaaa….

• kenny_lim on Oct 09, 2010 at 3:14 pm

this is what we call the move of a cowards. so true….haha…..since bmw also do, i think if proton do, also nothing much. who knows, bcos of this fault…….ppl are killed since most accidents happens without knowing the cause and most blaming the owners…hehe……

• callenish on Oct 11, 2010 at 7:06 pm

this is not the 1st time proton do a recall.

they had a recall over savvy for the wheel bearing issue
      they had a recall over waja for the rims issue.

don’t blindly bash.. find the fact bro..

• korok on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:28 pm

Nice move proton… Luckily nothing worse happen after 4years driving gen2.. now its time to i-CARE, hahhaha

• campro on Oct 08, 2010 at 10:02 pm

lucky i drive p2 myvi no buy proton car…more reliable car than poor proton troublesome car…haha….for dear M’sian local national auto maker P2 is the best and will u less problems…anyway P2 alway stay ahead of Proton in top best sales in local market…

• mivec on Oct 09, 2010 at 4:40 pm

another p2 salesman but using campro name.. maybe u supply defective engine head to p1 maa..

• fazron80 on Oct 10, 2010 at 12:37 am

I wonder if you’re referring to the same myvi that some owners including me experiencing the disc rotor problem. Maybe that problem shows myvi is so reliable.

• callenish on Oct 11, 2010 at 7:08 pm

myvi disc rotor + caliper issue is yet resolve by them, reliable eh?

• even if this was never announced, people who encounter some of the problems above would just be like :” oh well is a proton, no surprise here.” and move on.

• Consumer on Oct 08, 2010 at 5:14 pm

Cuz, thats what the Serv. Ctr guys used to say rite… hehehe

• S Bala on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:44 pm

Proton they know all the problem only that they don’t bother of quality or safety. Just look at the toll boot how proton driver open the door to pay toll. All of us know there is problem with power window for waja?, why there is no call. This recall is a like main wayang. There is no quality mentality among Proton personal from top to bottom.

• waja2007 on Oct 08, 2010 at 6:38 pm

Since 3 years (clocked 94000km) till now, I never had to open my door to pay toll (using TnG). As an everyday user, I just smile (with surprise) when I caught a Vios, Kembara, Kelisa, Accord in front of me have to open its door!

Oh I forgot, they say the T n H cars never had a SINGLE problem, LOL.

Love my Waja Enhanced.

• Tiadaid on Oct 08, 2010 at 8:56 pm

My City also have to open the door to pay toll (but I don’t bother, just wind the window down, then manually pull up the window). I’ve seen a new BMW 3-Series having to open the door to order McD drive thru!

• recall only applicable for “safety” issue only la bro..

• udasalleh on Oct 09, 2010 at 11:06 pm

What is the matter with u? A SAFETY RECALL is when it could effect human lives..! Power window can kill u at the toll booth meh? If its under waranty then send it back.

• haprakah on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:46 pm

aisey you guys

when proton do this you bising-bising… if you were affected customer the just go la to proton and repair…

what’s wrong if proton jump into bandwagon of re-call if this is for your safety…

duh!

• BOYRACER on Oct 08, 2010 at 5:19 pm

Too many proton bashers here..anything proton do is wrong.

• david on Oct 08, 2010 at 5:22 pm

reason simple, when go the service center, the mechanic say: Ni ada sound biasa shj, tak payah takut, semua kereta ada punya…… it normal….

So actually is normal ppl will be bising bising at here or actually are just comment and unsatisfied customer to PROTON.

In Malaysia recall is very rare due to most accident will be blame to driver…..

• untitled on Oct 08, 2010 at 6:21 pm

but the statement u “suggested” hasn’t been heard by me for more than 4years, update urself lad

• kenny_lim on Oct 09, 2010 at 3:17 pm

true, the one that caused by cars were not on news. what about those auto burn cars in the middle of the highway? hehe……another X-Files?

• azrai on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:51 pm

At least they did a recall not like those T brand only Malaysian model not affected. Curiosity..

• Eyesore on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:51 pm

Lol such different in responses between Toyota recall and proton recall…. Toyota recall…praised like heaven… care for customer, doing the right thing bla bla bla….. now proton do recall suddenly they r the culprit, they r doing it just for publicity bla bla bla…. Lol..

• david on Oct 08, 2010 at 5:24 pm

reason simple, at normal day without recall go to service center, the mechanic say: Ni ada sound biasa shj, tak payah takut, semua kereta ada punya…… it normal….

• untitled on Oct 08, 2010 at 6:21 pm

seriously, how long ago have u been to proton sc?

• Gaban on Oct 08, 2010 at 9:57 pm

The problem that you try to bring up not stemming from vehicles but instead stems from useless unskilled mechanic that open workshop below tree.

Blame the mechanic, not the round wheel..

• Someone on Oct 09, 2010 at 3:16 am

Hello? Have u even seen the comments? When Toyota started the mass worldwide recall, they were bashed to hell. Literally 95% were saying: Toyota no good, Hyundai/Kia good, Proton also good.

I’M NOT A TOYOTA SUPPORTER! Just stating the facts; if you don’t believe can check out yourself.

• i hav read much of the comment if not all…all bash that i read really bout sarcastic comment that used to compare proton quality n other car quality eg T car….eg comment “look even T has quality prob”…not purely bash..even i do the comment also..sarcastic way…if u read all comment here is purely bash like no other day..if u read serial basher like SY0H or SY0H kind of basher…they will praise the move other car maker

• DICKYBIRD on Oct 10, 2010 at 1:29 pm

mostly bashed by KZM’s type of proton fanboys lor. of course, how to compare T quality to P1 kuliti, no comparison bah.

• ryner on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:52 pm

This recall only affected Gen-2 and Neo…So…that mean persona H-line did not use the same “clock spring” like Gen-2 H-line?

• yes.. persona and gen 2 high line has different clock spring..

• Maserati on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:52 pm

hahaha.Proton again. I think they should recall all their vehicles not only neo for all the rubbish quality that they have gave us.

After recalling,they shud just close down.Cuz not only are they wasting taxpayers money,they are coming up with rubbish cars that nobody ever will drive.

• autojohndoe on Oct 09, 2010 at 7:42 am

then, all the persona on the road… who drive them? ghost?

• MBX Boy on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:56 pm

Kudos to Proton for accepting their faults and the intention to improve! However, can’t help it, I don’t seem to agree that 2% is a small number! 2% means about 16,000 cars (total quoted was 660,0000).

• MBX Boy on Oct 08, 2010 at 4:58 pm

Maybe proton should also start recalling Iswaras and Wiras. There seems to be manufacturer faults and irregularity all over my old Iswara.

• udasalleh on Oct 10, 2010 at 5:20 pm

oh… recall a model no longer in production huh? real good business sense there..! Do u even understand what a ‘SAFETY RECALL’ means?

• MBX Boy on Oct 10, 2010 at 7:32 pm

Next time when I write a comment, I’ll put in brackets “this comment is meant to be sarcastic” for thick-skulls like you. :)

• “There is an issue with the Clock Spring (slip ring), which is something that connects the switches and airbag in the steering wheel to the radio, horn and cruise control.
    According to Proton, their engineers have identified irregular performance in Clock Spring components of the Proton Gen.2 and Satria Neo models equipped with the auto-cruise function, manufactured between April, 2004 to June, 2008”

That’s mean only H-Line Auto for those model affected. That’s why only 2%.

• alanzo on Oct 08, 2010 at 5:09 pm

my saga got ‘crock’ problem too, made 2009.

• cslee on Oct 08, 2010 at 5:09 pm

Hahaha…This year really was a “RECALL” year for most of the car manufacturers. Now only await any recall from Perodua……lol.

• kenny_lim on Oct 09, 2010 at 4:00 pm

haha…proton think that it is an ‘in’ thing to recall with the giants. after all, no one give a damn about this………

• _xXx_ on Oct 08, 2010 at 5:22 pm

org recall dia nk recall jugak. Junk is forever junk

• misai omar on Oct 08, 2010 at 6:22 pm

kalau recall kan kata junk pulak..tak recall kan kata proton jugak ! The principle of BASHER !

• isra` on Oct 08, 2010 at 9:40 pm

purely stupid basyer……heheh

• udasalleh on Oct 09, 2010 at 8:47 pm

so… u’re saying that since Toyota, Honda, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Mercedes Benz, Ferrari has done recalls they’re junk too huh?.. hmmm… that’s fair enuf.

• edperdana on Oct 08, 2010 at 5:22 pm

Wow the airbag works? : )

• Proton also need to recall O2 sensor in gen2 and also crank sensor. This 2 sensor durability not lasting.

• dodgeviper88 on Oct 08, 2010 at 5:39 pm

I think a miracle has just happened.

• Jimmy on Oct 08, 2010 at 5:49 pm

Good step, brave one. As compared to a most prestigeous brand(s) — even there may be an issue, but they tell you there is none, so no recall. If you die on road, they call it human-error accident.

• elite on Oct 08, 2010 at 6:01 pm

recall paid for by years and years of ripping off the rakyat and receiving subsidies..

• haprakah on Oct 08, 2010 at 6:27 pm

then go to proton service center meh
      and say you paid the cukai for proton to operate
      and insist on free repair service for your proton meh

come on.. we are the rakyat..duit rakyat mean duit kita la meh
      so insist on free repair service from proton…

the power to the rakyat meh

LOL

• callenish on Oct 11, 2010 at 7:14 pm

you also receive subsidies from various source, why don’t you reject it and lets see if you can live…

• kiddy on Oct 08, 2010 at 6:26 pm

not only gen2 and neo..la… i think the earlier batches of persona like the 2007 model without iafm have the same problem…. as i own the 2007 model the very 1st batch, after 1year, when i turn the steering, there is a rubbing sound whenever i turn the steering…and the steering radio control button sometimes wont response when press…. ..wonder how…?

• Chris on Oct 08, 2010 at 9:56 pm

your car have the same problem as my persona!!!
      damn proton…when will they fix persona??
      i always thought it was only mine….

• Ahya, why recall this and that ? If it’s a proton sure got problem one lah ! Just continue to drive and if accident then sue proton..

• normally recalled is being done only if the part affected will promote hazardous or life threatening situation.

• Not so concern issue… most of them already go to car accesories shop to repair… what the joke P1

• Mlyseeal on Oct 08, 2010 at 7:10 pm

excuse me, please recall also my 1994 Iswara.
    – windscreen wiper problem, kriok kriok kriok
    – power window not working
    – horn kaput
    – water in boot
    – damaged my ego.

• thats because its too damn fraking old. repair it yourself lol.

• lol lol……

• junaidi on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:30 pm

LOL so cheapskate. still using 1994 yaer old car. Kalau classic car paham la jugak.

• abzaja on Oct 09, 2010 at 7:39 pm

lol..i’ll just take that as a joke

• udasalleh on Oct 09, 2010 at 8:52 pm

so… ure saying ure still using the wiper since 1994…?

• Scania360 on Oct 10, 2010 at 1:26 am

go n scrap ur car..or burn it..
      u ask BMW to give u lifetime warantty..than if u get it..then come to Proton..complaint!!

• learner on Oct 08, 2010 at 7:14 pm

P1 have issued many recall before, from waja wheel to savvy bearing to wheel jack (WTF?). at least i see some responsibility in action out of many irresponsibility. but then as we focusing on P1 per se, we have forgotten that P2 should also recall myvi and viva for brake caliper problems…………………………….

• my 1 yo viva had power window problem too, suddenly up or down without pressing any switch. hampeh p2

• sepajo on Oct 08, 2010 at 7:29 pm

If Toyota recall , they are being responsible, transparent, etc. If Proton recall, the cars are junk. Typical bashers.

• If watever things posted on top is true… Proton shud recall alot more cars due to even more serius problem.. but yet they only recall this small little spring..

• wat is that prob?

• they recall these old Neo and Gen-2 becoz this small little spring can kill you if it fucked up. other minor problems like shitty power windows are not going to kill you. thank god those springs didn’t killed anyone yet.

kalau Toyota, org suda mati baru mau recall. itu pon pihak berkuasa yg jumpe problem.

• Scania360 on Oct 10, 2010 at 1:22 am

u ask la Toyota to recall ALL their cars..ghost car killing the owner..
        but..as usual lah..malaysian bashers typical minded..
        if Proton had power window problems..15years ago..the story will be re-play..re-furbish..re-plot..or whtever until next 50 years,..
        but if other car makers did that..u all will make silent.. think positively..they were doing well but some small defective, good recall..etc….hahha..stupid basher..
        now day u all cannot cari makan ma..
        ppl can see n can feel the true..

• mata katak on Oct 08, 2010 at 7:51 pm

complain, or dont complain…up to you guys..

For me, I never drive a proton. NEVER

Thank you very much….

• P1lover on Oct 08, 2010 at 7:57 pm

Helpless to comment abt P1…if comment too much..sure ppl will say u r another basher..aiks ..sad sad sad to talk about P1 …Quality/safety wise..u know I know..no need to argue, history tells .. if u r willing to fork out more money (since none of us can get away of GOV tax)..better get something else…

• nabill on Oct 08, 2010 at 8:34 pm

in protons case , damn if u do , damn if u dont…i just hope their part suppliers will improve their parts quality , thy had 25yrs to learn the trade…

• Anti Proton on Oct 08, 2010 at 8:37 pm

dat is why i just ride a yamaha motorcycle. r1 la…not kapchai

• Proton Supporter on Oct 09, 2010 at 9:18 pm

Btoi ka ride R1….ntah 2 ride Y80……keh..keh

• udasalleh on Oct 10, 2010 at 5:12 pm

U ride a bike yet read paul’s forum on CARS…! why? want to buy a car is it?

• BOOOOOOOOOO for proton..
    i dont think proton really wanna admit they do have mistake in their car, like previous power window, they dont even call back for that issue.. i think they just wanna be like those toyota calling prius so that they will have something we call “mencapab” or mencari publisiti murahan.

• abzaja on Oct 09, 2010 at 7:45 pm

maybe you’re right and also maybe you’re wrong, who knows what were they thinking/planning…but at least they doing something…right?

• Proton Supporter on Oct 09, 2010 at 9:15 pm

Boooooo for pali…
      Proton admit kesilapan la tu bru diaorang buat recall…klu x baik diaorang buat donno je…jimat kos nk ganti benda tuu…Toyota pon recall sebab dh jd kes accident bru nk buat recall…Proton klu x recall pon x ape coz benda tu klu x tukar pon x ape coz x membahayakan….cuma ade bunyi sket x effect apa2 pon

• lousy proton, lousy perodua …

• fadhli_pedar on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:44 pm

hello brader…not every car maker is good at what they r doing.
      bmw is recalling their cars too…

• kenny_lim on Oct 09, 2010 at 4:06 pm

after so many years and thousands of complain, they only replace the spring…what a joke.

• callenish on Oct 11, 2010 at 7:18 pm

go a find the fact, proton had done several recall in the last 3 years

• The so called ‘recall’ is one way of marketing gimmick ever since the toyota cars recall made a huge success in making the toyota brand even more credible. Thereafter other cars like honda and so on started to make recall as well.
    Think again, why only recall a small no. abt 2% recall, whereas we as the owners had numerous faulty parts to content with even the issue had been brought up at their service centres????
    I know it’s about proton but i put this as a point since it touches on recalls…
    The Perodua Myvi is known for the famous disc rotor warping problem but this issue has been long overdue as even with the replacement, the problem still exist as product replaced is also faulty. The disc warps again after the replacement and once your warranty expires, that’s it. It becomes owners problem.

• Tiadaid on Oct 08, 2010 at 10:50 pm

And yet, nobody bashes P2 for not recalling their cars at all.

• do u know how many % T recalled, H recalled…etc recalled

• udasalleh on Oct 09, 2010 at 10:48 pm

Thats idiotic to say a safety recall is just a gimmick! Any company willing to invest in safety merely as a long term branding exercise is ridiculous. They see the whole picture please. U should too. This is about lives at stake and not JUST about future sales and marketing of the brand.

• There are many of whom who owns many other models besides that 2% recall and whom also has the similar or the same problem with their unit and yet they do not come under the recall.
        Besides i didn’t just put a remark on proton per se, and u don’t get unnecessarily over idiotic over the issue.

• kremer on Oct 08, 2010 at 8:57 pm

how about power windows for waja ? my waja 3 door broked already…all my friends and some waja owner said like that too…it is so obvious that the window panel made from cheap plastic….when too recall? damn P1 tipu waja owner….

• gee… u mean the door can’t open? sound like a serius safety issue..

• kiddd on Oct 09, 2010 at 2:05 am

What a stupid question, he mean his power windows was broke, not the doors, please read carefully..

• cl_qwertyuiop on Oct 09, 2010 at 4:32 pm

I think all the recalls only focus on the life safety issue. If the defect lies on the power window(s), it doesn’t affecting our safety seriously (Unless you drive your car into the river), so this issue does not worth recalling. Try to check other car manufacturer whether or not they doing recall on defect on things such as defect power socket etc.

Peace to all of you.

• Tiadaid on Oct 09, 2010 at 7:46 pm

No they don’t. Them bashers know that but choose not to know.

• Proton Supporter on Oct 09, 2010 at 9:09 pm

Halo kremer..aku pon pkai Waja gak..dh 4 thn…tp x penah pon power window problem..bukan power window yg problem tp hang yg problem!!!

• kremer on Oct 08, 2010 at 9:01 pm

the plastic panel that hold the motor and window broke into very tiny parts…mahal ooo nak repair..original one up to rm400 and local one also 200 to rm250…and even it is original….still can rosak…ayooo…my dad’s wira power window never rosak even after ten years…my one rare use also rosak…very sad and tak puas hati…

• fadhli_pedar on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:42 pm

HOI BRADER…
      lu msti x penah dengar berape harge spare parts produa?
      i have experience with Kenari n u wanna know how much it cost for a lock to be changed?
      almost to 6hundred and “alasan”that the ppl gave is that most of the parts are ordered from japan.

• sukasuki on Oct 10, 2010 at 2:00 pm

they are 3rd party parts for waja power window
      last time my brother change all the power window mechanism for his waja
      made from steel, use gear instead of cable (suggested by my dad’s fren, a workshop owner)
      then my brother sold his car to his colleague, n till now power window still functioning.
      price also cheaper compare to plastic one
      try search one

• Basher on Oct 08, 2010 at 9:02 pm

Wah so long time basher cannot condemn Proton, now it time for them to release the tension.

This topic will give them the opportunity to summarize all the comments released for the previous topic.

• yah…i think like that also…last time they only can bash waja replacement….i just cant wait someone comment bout “change G”

• abzaja on Oct 09, 2010 at 7:52 pm

i’m thinking the same thing…saw SYOH’s comments here and there replying to others

• c14man on Oct 08, 2010 at 9:08 pm

I’m driving a Proton Saga (2006 Orange Saga – Merdeka edition RM27k). Also having crocking sound on turning the steering wheel. Horn did not sound on full strength most of the time. At least there’s no radio control, cruise control and airbag on it.

Could it be of the same problem also?
    But wont bother changing la.
    As long as the steering can still control the direction of the car.

• callenish on Oct 11, 2010 at 7:26 pm

saga/iswara scarpping sound on the steering is due to the mechanical clip which connect the steering and the rack to activate the horn. it cannot make any harm, just grease it..

• noname on Oct 08, 2010 at 9:17 pm

luckily i book myvi yesterday, cancel book Neo CPS bcoz long time to wait(i need car for this raya haji) .. sure my aunts and uncles “panas bontot”, their car was bought in 2007.. i hope proton make sure this will never happen again..

• Chris on Oct 08, 2010 at 9:51 pm

myvi is the worst car in the world for guys…and since u said wanna buy satria neo,i assume u r a guy…
      and i bet u bought myvi because “tak cukup duit”…
      satria neo cps and myvi price is a big gulf…

• and world’s apart in terms of driving dynamics and performance… hahaa..

• S.Roma on Oct 09, 2010 at 8:20 pm

Dear Fren,

Maybe he don care about the handling, he just want a car that is reliability…

• tiadaid on Oct 09, 2010 at 9:56 pm

Calling a Myvi reliable is like calling a Toyota Vios J a JDM model.

• DICKYBIRD on Oct 10, 2010 at 1:35 pm

only a proton fanboy would refer to a vios as a JDM which we all know to be asean model. anyways glad Chris saw the light, i pegang the neo’s steering should boleh dengar “Krock!”, nvm turning the wheel.

• Neo CPS was launched in 2009. so it doesn’t have this problem.

• udasalleh on Oct 09, 2010 at 10:33 pm

so… ure saying that u book a car of your preferance but canceled it becoz of the late delivery?…. whats that got to do with performance or reliability? it just means one has ran out of stock and the other has stock available.

• DICKYBIRD on Oct 10, 2010 at 1:40 pm

its called a blessing in disguise lah! the star talked about a buyer whose Neo started having problems at 3 days. MSM, mind you so maybe can take it with a pinch of salt.

• farghmee on Oct 10, 2010 at 10:49 am

happy driving! hehe

• greasemonkey on Oct 08, 2010 at 9:19 pm

No need to bash them, most manufacturer are bound to come across some kind of recall in their models,most recent being BMW. What the big fuss about?

• kenny_lim on Oct 09, 2010 at 4:41 pm

hehe….at least bmw don have stupid issues like power windows kong and etc….tats the difference. don compare a peacock and a crow.

• Chris on Oct 08, 2010 at 9:48 pm

i have been experiencing screeching sound to my steering wheel when i am turning it and has been experiencing endless problem with the audio control on steering wheel of my 08 Persona….the wheel has been changed once but still the problem persists….

why they don’t recall my Persona too?
    will they change anything for me?

• campro on Oct 08, 2010 at 10:07 pm

buy p2 car next time…dun put much hope in p1….next 3 yr mayb they will recall ur pesona too, haha….Gen2 & pesona share exactly same steering…for sure problem will be same due to same supplier….LEARN ur lesson now…dun waste ur hard earn money buy car that alway cause u trouble & headache….Myvi will come out NEW generation…buy P2 car lah…Perodua is leading top sale ahead of Proton in our local market…

• Chris on Oct 08, 2010 at 10:17 pm

i drove myvi countless time as my gf had it and she broke down few times in it…
        that is what u call reliable???
        i know u r p2 salesman..
        people who drive cars will know proton is drivers car and myvi is ladies car.

no way im going to waste money to buy myvi with no airbag cause for you, proton is more kaput than p2….p2 is a “cheap” brand for toyota to milk money out from malaysia…

• campro on Oct 14, 2010 at 3:39 am

sorry i not a car salesman….my job & biz hv no relation with the automotive industry…i jz like u guys share opinion…share my exp gv comments….
          hatchback car doesn’t necessary mean ladies car…example ford focus, VW golf GTI …guy love drive this car….

P2 rebadge daihatsu/toyota at least it is well known & proven better than Proton in the world…that y u can see vios sale better than city, Camry better than accord…

P1 is a rojak cannot totally called manufacturer plus itself hv also rebadge partly mitsubishi car…now new waja is completely rebadge lancer then u cannot see anymore Campro engine & Lotus handling…bcoz Mitsubishi not allow p1 to do so…they even forbidden p1 handle the ECU & MIVEC engine…this is a step shown Mitsubishi share same thinking like VW to avoid proton steal their intelligent property….

• wonder whether the new waja lancer steering wheel is local made or import from japan… but chances are it is made in malaysia also to put the proton logo on it.. argh..

• campro on Oct 14, 2010 at 3:26 am

i also feel the same..there is high possibility made by proton…confirm no more lotus handling…this new waja model Mitsubishi hv strict in certain area…they no allow proton to intervene the engine…that mean good for all no more campro engine…mitsubishi must take well care of their engine technology know how from being leak out or fall to their rivals hand…scare proton steal their intelligent property…

• udasalleh on Oct 09, 2010 at 10:22 pm

OMG!!!… u’re right!… MyVi n viva drom P2 owned by Daihatsu… owned by Toyota… gets supply from same vendor yet Toyota does recall… shouldn’t buy P2 too rite? That is what u’re saying rite?

• campro on Oct 14, 2010 at 3:19 am

buy naza or inokom…now we hv so many national car maker…this1 no good buy other brand lah…but like u said ppl still happy to own P2 rather than P1….this hv cause p2 staying ahead of p1…u should ask all m’sian…only me 1 ppl doesn’t represent our real market situation…except those too loyal to national car maker Proton until did not even realized there hv other national car makers as well in our market like naza & inokom… if they recall really hv to see which model they recall…if they recall camry, sure it hv nothing to do with innova for example…buy u still can place ur money buy Innova…hope u knw what i meant…hopefully u knw how to thk rational…

• shacz on Oct 08, 2010 at 10:02 pm

im regret bought proton car….giving me alot of problem…now my drive shaft got sound…my pomen said need to change….better i use keldai rather than this stupid gen2..

• then use keldai la.

komen byk, tapi guna kete proton jugak.

piraaaah.

• fadhli_pedar on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:33 pm

true2 bro…i cant argue more with what uve said.
        komen byk2 mcm beli kete mahal2 ratus2 ribu jek.
        so kla rase malas nk complaint byk g bli merc ke,bmw ke

• Consumer on Oct 09, 2010 at 11:11 am

Yup, there are oth. more expensive makes out there, but even when u buy a Proton or any car out there, shouldn’t YOU be entitled to having a reasonably good quality product?

• and merc and bmw don’t have to change drive shaft?

• Scania360 on Oct 10, 2010 at 1:38 am

no need to change engine oil too? coolant?
            wahaha..buy BMW la..
            i dont understand la these stupid bashers..
            if u thing Proton bad..dont buy it…or dont care on it..
            but why u all squeezing ur head to give much2 intention..CARES to Proton??
            meaning that u all also putting some confident to PROTON..
            PROTON bears Malaysian..

• DICKYBIRD on Oct 10, 2010 at 3:22 pm

coz of proton we have a fucked up car market.
            we do not owe proton anything, they are a business like any other.

• kenny_lim on Oct 11, 2010 at 7:47 am

if toyota vios starts at 50k, trust me la…….u think we will buy proton? hehe…..proton is not malaysian but mahathir

• so what? of course you need to change ur driveshaft when its sounds crap, all cars are like that. lol

• subhero on Oct 09, 2010 at 12:40 pm

u use 3rd hand gen2. any very2 old gen2. then buy from auction car. after buy dont repair. straight use.

mende nak murah. complain byk.

• linear_system on Oct 09, 2010 at 2:36 pm

maybe he thought that when u buy a car u dont have to think the wear and tear for it…and maybe he even didnt go for services every 5000km..heheh

• dragster on Oct 08, 2010 at 10:23 pm

aiyoyo!!! red alert!!!

• RECALL SEASON is NOW! on Oct 08, 2010 at 10:30 pm

BMW, ASTON MARTIN, HONDA, TOYOTA, DAIHATSU, GM, CADILLAC.. all recall their cars back.. something is wrong!!!

now is RECALL SEASON!!!

• Jimmy on Oct 08, 2010 at 10:35 pm

A lot of my kawan-kawan who support me get my contracts, they don’t have to be good. And I don’t even dare to comment on their inferior products, lest they don’t support me later.

• Jimmy on Oct 08, 2010 at 10:36 pm

How to improve, if like that?
      Nasib baik sekarang ada serba sikit improvements.

• Wari Nordin on Oct 08, 2010 at 10:47 pm

luckily my gen2 done well after 5 year…. no prob. at all!!! !! just normal like other car..

• Firman on Oct 08, 2010 at 10:48 pm

Why high line only? mine is 1.6 Auto M-line 2005 also had that problem. When i check at proton SC they said cost to change that parts is almost rm300…why M-line not included?

• Donald Trump on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:03 pm

Funny people saying power window problem should do a recall. name also safety recall.

• kenny_lim on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:07 pm

haha, some said proton will not recall n blast toyota…and now…..haha…….the problem already there just that proton got so many problem till they didnt notice………

• teamsleepnine on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:44 pm

as far as i concern….people blast toyota as most toyota buyers think toyota is bulletproof……they are not!……even bmw’rolls royce have to recall it’s car…

• Consumer on Oct 09, 2010 at 11:18 am

You’re right in saying that every car has/had its own set of issues along the years. Hell No Toyota’s are not bulletproof ! However in relative terms, how many issues will a Toyota have compared to a Proton?

• Is this recalled placed as the marketing strategy for proton for introducing the coming Proton Lancer? As in quality control… it seem that it’s good and indeed very good that Proton is taking hard core on quality like Some other global cars brand.

But is it really a good move? wont it affect badly to the sales of Proton? Or instead.. they think it could drive the sales of Proton Lancer?

• zimba on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:41 pm

hmm. .. It definitely wont affect. Recall Is not big dea. Proton has improve really much since the production of Proton Persona. that 2% recall is rather little. dont be worried with all those comment up here. =D It’s just some low quality management caused by the EX-CEO! With the new CEO… everything is improving well.

I do support everyone buying 1 Proton Lancer. It’s something that is really good with the blend of Japan + England technology. There wont be hard defect .. Since it has got the quality’s ensure from Mitsu + prasing too..

We are 1 Malaysia. BMW also got do some weird recall on all cars on simple Brake Problem!

1 Malaysia. Be proud for Proton taking such quality improvement and control. It’s not cheap to do the recall though..

• potong on Oct 09, 2010 at 1:31 am

sure they r not cheap but they have sucked our money since a long time ago…wif that kind of money they should recall all the cars they made from the beginning….now they’r talking of making hybrid cars…what a waste of tax payer’s money…

• got one….that comment on my list that i wan to read…..”tax payer money”…huhu

• callenish on Oct 11, 2010 at 7:34 pm

haha.. just don’t understand. people still talking about ‘duit rakyat’ , ‘tax’, subsidies… etc

if you cannot accept the fact, go to other country…

• eposuer on Oct 11, 2010 at 4:39 pm

japanese car manufacturer too have sucked malaysians who bought their cars..either way we’ve been sucked by car manufacturers..

• I called i-care regarding this issue too as i just have mine replaced April this year. The operator online told me to write in to them regarding the issue. Seriously, she doesn’t sound like proton gonna do any refund / rebate.

• handsome*dude on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:23 pm

Bravo Proton !!!!!

• HirumaKecil on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:27 pm

Stupid basher…

• fadhli_pedar on Oct 08, 2010 at 11:29 pm

to ALLL!!!!!

Let me tell you guys that this only effect the Gen2 and Neo from High Line ONLY!!!!!
    so for you guys who’s not using/driving a highline Gen2 or Neo STOP PANICKING!!!

• One sentence. This year’s the recall season.

• PROTON should be blamed for producing different QC of each car. Someone happy with the performance and hassle-free car. Other person frustrated will their lousy car that give many kinds of problem. To improve this problem the PROTON should have a stringent QC also choose the good practice vendor that create high quality parts and more important is take politician away from PROTON! Politician is just blood-sucking person for making their business in term of low quality product and expensive parts. Make your change in GE13. Thank you,

• thank gudness to other gov…if their people like malaysian abis..maa…kene change gov

• Tiadaid on Oct 09, 2010 at 3:35 pm

What does Proton have to do with politicians?

• PROTON must sacked all the politician that created some of their parts for PROTON cars with low quality materials at the same time make a huge profit because PROTON must accept their lousy parts to assemble in PROTON cars. It’s about cronies man. Nothing can be ignored. I convinced if you become a MD of PROTON you must accept politician as your client because most of GLCs are political-aide based. And If you denied or ignored to make politician as your client simultaneously you can be caught under ISA!
        Trust me my fren… haha…
        Malaysia Boleh!!!

• callenish on Oct 11, 2010 at 7:38 pm

business and politics will never be a good partner, that the facts

• boyxinan on Oct 12, 2010 at 7:56 am

You p1 peoples luckily our country not practice AFTA yet, if not, I don’t no what happen to p1, so Tiadaid if you say what have to do with politicians, they are the person that try to curb AFTA to save automotive industry in Malaysia that mostly linked to their cronies.. I dare u if AFTA practice now, Malaysian people will only buy vios, city, mazda, suzuki and etc etc.. and middle and low income will buy lots and lots of p2 cars.. politician cronies can’t masyuk

• i once to went to change tires my car, there was this customer who wanted to change a new tire for hiswaja which was on 3 weeks old, according to him his wife drove it up a kerb and developed a lump. so when they realigned the wheels, the mech forgot to lock the steering in place, so the steering was “senget”. Than the taukeh had to come and realign the steering manually by opening the the center console which houses the airbeg, TO EVERYONES suprise in the shop, the airbeg blast mechanism was not connected to the socket(electric & sensor socket). The mech shouted at the owner to screw proton up on this, after fixing the socket the airbeg malfuction light kept on. Scary leh….

• Raymond on Oct 09, 2010 at 1:04 am

And they say wanna put a Turbo in their engine, hmmm….will they explode?

• fuh the mech so gud…even notice the prob..isit true..meh

• MoFaz on Oct 09, 2010 at 4:27 pm

that’s a lousy mechanic.
      same like those who insisting you to change camber every time you want to do tyre alignment. they didn’t even take the camber out but telling us it’s already bent… and the camber might cost them RM8 but they charge us RM48…WTF??

• gogorock on Oct 09, 2010 at 12:05 am

haha, proton will not use this as a way to get their sales for Lancer la, rynn. THis is a malu thing.

for watever reasons proton is trying to do is to cover their backside so that nobody will sue them.

Seriously, malaysia car is ….sigh…….speechless. So many years already, wtf improvement we have.

• udasalleh on Oct 09, 2010 at 10:01 pm

so… ure saying Toyota, Honda, Nissan, Hyundai, Kia, BMW, Mercedes, Ferrari who have done recall is a MALU thing?… hmmm… n some have a bit more years in the car industry too… go figure.

• mycar on Oct 09, 2010 at 12:15 am

go and compile the proton car accident root causes… then u will have a lot more defective parts to recallllllllll

• Buy MyVi on Oct 09, 2010 at 12:18 am

Told you not to buy a Proton !

• soulfly on Oct 09, 2010 at 2:16 pm

you shouldnt compare the cars as each has its pros and cons.i own a gen 2 and a myvi, and i know the characteristics of both cars. myvi to has its problems such as the brake caliper probs. so i dont think u should bring down proton, be proud la, we have our own car manufacturer. unlike p2, its daihatsu =)

• boyxinan on Oct 11, 2010 at 10:16 am

Thats a problem.. ‘be proud’, always proud, proud and proud.. After that Malaysian people get ‘fraud’ by Malaysian car.. now Indon and Thailand use better car than Malaysia. Even vios use as taxi in Indon, what a shame for Malaysia.. I can see our neighbouring country can buy well better car than ours. And I see many P1 people struggling inside this website to patronize Malaysian even they know that THEY ARE NOT NUMBER IN THIS COUNTRY. Can’t you see? People need a practical car, not a high performance, lotus handling and etc etc… keep practical and people will buy, who cares the car has problem on that and this.. What a shame for you P1 people, better you know your own car first than your tounge… We Malaysian people challenge u to get number one again, then we will say ‘PROUD TO BUY CAR FROM FIRST NATIONAL CARMAKER’..

• soulfly on Oct 11, 2010 at 3:46 pm

ask the gov to reduce tax on import cars la =)

just saying be proud, we have our own car manufacturer, in owning a car, u have the choice man. p2, honda, toyota etc

• udasalleh on Oct 09, 2010 at 9:58 pm

so… ure saying Toyota racall don’t buy Toyota… Honda recall don’t buy Honda… Kia, Hyundai, Chevrolet, Nissan, BMW, Mercedes, Ferrari recall so don’t buy them all?

• Proton Supporter on Oct 10, 2010 at 11:32 am

Aku penah drive Myvi sepupu aku p Penang ikut highway from Ipoh……macam layang2….aku bgtau kat dia ini keta ke apa?

• Raymond on Oct 09, 2010 at 12:22 am

I think they should recall the first car they produced until the latest one.

• mirror mirror on Oct 09, 2010 at 12:50 am

My friend once told me his experience in investing in a less developed country – his workers decided to sell some metal parts in the factory to the scrap metal dealer for a couple of bucks. They removed four out of eight bolts and nuts from a machine and sold them to the dealer and thought that the remainder four bolts can hold the machine alright. Unfortunately the machine came apart while running and my friend has to spend a few hundred thousand repairing it.

The case with Proton is somewhat similar to my friend’s experience, the entire nation has to forgo billions just so that a hand full of people can make millions. Don’t blame the people of Proton, the big majority of them don’t really get much benefits.

• soulfly on Oct 09, 2010 at 3:36 am

I think that proton have been responsible and taken actions by recalling the models in on their defaults. I have been driving my 2004 gen 2 and it have serve me well till today. If you take care of ur car, it will take care of u i guess. For some of you who face problems with the car , it might just be your luck or unfortunate to own that unit. All cars(brand) may have their reliability issue, you just wont know it till you own one. There are many proton users in Malaysia because its our national car, and people face breakdowns and problems with their cars. It is either the cars defaults or just poor maintenance. Think of how many proton users are there on the road? if there were that much users using another car manufacturing brand? and many faces the cars problem wont there be tons of complaints too?

I belive proton are improving, and i hope they improve more on QC so that many would want to own one and be satisfied with their car.

Love the car and the car will love you =)

• when it comes Proton, yes improvement straight down to the drain.
      That’s what improvement had been for 25 yrs long.
      U can just dream on!

• Mur7hy on Oct 09, 2010 at 12:46 pm

you’re right those who are lucky will get a good, prob-less car but thats like 1 out 100.. pity those 99 unfortunate ones… lol well. its proton anyway.. what do u expect? so suck it up people..

• good job proton..at least you admit ur mistake n overcome that problem. the end!

• PowerWindowProtonSucks on Oct 09, 2010 at 12:21 pm

If they need to recall models due to Power Window problems, then they might as well tutup kedai..sebab boleh bangkrap..sebab sampai bila-bila takleh setel..

• Yoong Tofu on Oct 09, 2010 at 4:01 am

How about power window ??

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Oct 09, 2010 at 4:34 am

they have “matched” toyota in at least one area

• abzaja on Oct 09, 2010 at 7:58 pm

please don’t compared P1 with the BIG T…Toyot’s recall means caring for the customers…P1’s recall means sucks in everything they do…well at least that what toyot’s fan and P1 haterz will say

• Maserati on Oct 09, 2010 at 8:36 am

To the fool who said if we wan complain , go buy bmw or merc. Hello, my myvi se 3 years not a single problem and it costs me rm 52k. So is tht exp for you? Compared with ur stupid neo. Hw much does a neo costs?

Proton cars always always sell thru their lotus handling. But the overall quality n fuel consumption is terrible!

Duno why still got ppl supporting proton like tiadiad. Its ok, u still got a chance to dump ur proton now and get a better car.

Lets all boycott them and make them bankrap . Then we dont hv to see these ppl anymore.

• acerman on Oct 09, 2010 at 11:56 am

Lets here that same phrase another 2 years from now and who will get the last laugh.

• zimba on Oct 09, 2010 at 12:01 pm

are you serious that your RM52k overpriced Myvi has no problem? with the heavy wind rustle sound at even medium speed? Or the lousy chasis and suspension that make the Myvi owner feel like the car can break off anytime? Shouldnt we call this a problem? and an extra slow working reverse sensor.. i think Myvi need to be recalled as well.

• neo16 on Oct 09, 2010 at 1:26 pm

I paid 48k for my Neo and I would never compare it to a Myvi. The Neo is a driver’s car and the Myvi handles nothing like the Neo. I used to drive a Satria GTi, another fabulous handling driver’s car. I cannot compare either model to any similarly priced alternatives out there. Certainly nothing from Perodua. I thought the Kelisa was close in terms of enjoyment but I was dissapointed. Great fuel consumption though but thats about it.

My Neo is over 3 years old and I still feel have that ‘mild excitement’ before I get into the car… everytime! The only other car that gave me that feeling was the Satria GTi.

I have driven the old 90s Saga, the 2003 gawdy Saga, the Perdana V6, Satria GTi and of course Neo. Based on my personal experience, yes the old generation Proton’s weren’t built that well but the new ones, especially Satria GTi onwards and especially when they started using the Tg Malim plant (I think Neo is built there?)… the build, quality and driving feeling are worlds apart. Door gaps are perfect, no power window problems AT ALL and the driving enjoyment is levels better.

I’m just a consumer like everyone else.. i don’t work for Proton but I give credit where credit is due. Protons aren’t perfect and neither is a Mercedes (have a 1 yr old new c class).. but today’s Protons aren’t half as bad as some people seem to hint. Many are still living in the past. I had a few days driving a friends Exora mpv and boy that was a very pleasant surprise. Just needs a turbo engine in my view. Great value for money in my view.

• kenny_lim on Oct 09, 2010 at 4:51 pm

great………but it still take a huge effort to convince most of us. for that price to pay for a locally made car…..not worth it. so how do we consider this as a ‘national’ car when the price is not much difference than imported ones? for me, it takes a huge effort to convince me that proton is not another ‘tin milo’ car………….other than that, i dont wish to gamble my hard earned money on proton yet…..maybe one day….but not now…..

• watever on Oct 09, 2010 at 7:30 pm

just because ur myvi does not have any problem, doesnt mean other myvis are the same, FOOL!

• boyxinan on Oct 11, 2010 at 10:34 am

another p1 peoples.. i wonder , when Paul starts about proton posting, many people try to patronize people who criticize p1.. even more peoples buy p2, Paul, any comment on this?

• Boleh Lah Proton on Oct 09, 2010 at 9:11 am

Some even paid for the same repair before this annoucement so would he got refund from Proton?

Salah siapa kalau beli Proton macam beli lottery, kira nasib lah dapat batch Proton unit takde banyak problem?

I think Paultan should start new post how to improve Proton and collect all suggestions to PM in time for Budget 2011 proposals. Other suggestions also must include the overall auto industry in Malaysia:
    – mandatory safety equipment as standard car accessories (ABS, dual airbags etc)
    – at least 10-YEARS car WARRANTY on ALL PARTS plus FREE LABOUR CHARGE
    – promote fuel efficient and clean engine car (higher mileage, low emission) by giving lower interest rates, cash rebates incentives, free road tax, lower insurance premium to all new car cars with better mileage and low CO2 emissions
    – limit car segment to 2000cc (diesel/petrol) and below for zero car taxes duties. Above 2000cc it is not only much higher price but those with low mileage, higher CO2 emission at risk being banned for sale. Anyway who need sportcar to go for pasar here?

But I think minimum 10-years car warranty will solve all these car quality problems. For 10 years it is ‘no question asked, just fix it’ policy that will justify the money paid for any car.

• syeikh_nasri on Oct 09, 2010 at 9:20 am

Well, this is what we call as FATE…human dont have ability to look into future precisely..yet what we just can is, do, wait, see and hope for it…the very least, some can forcast@predict the future but still the life is not perfect, then evaluate the errors and make a corrective actions..dont be foolish & childish… anybody can commit mistake, intentionally or else..but, the main focus is, how we responsible to what have done…try to avoid mistake…SIMPLE ADVICE, HUMAN IS NOT PERFECT..NOTHING IS PERFECT IN THIS WORLD..HUMAN CANT ESCAPE FROM 2 THINGS; Mistakes & forgetfulness…okay!!

• acerman on Oct 09, 2010 at 11:55 am

I totally agree. Moreover, nothing is perfect in this world when it was made by HUMAN.

• syeikh_nasri on Oct 10, 2010 at 3:21 pm

thanx bro, you are right.. we are humans…so be proud that we can do something although facing problems….humans are creative and innovative…BUT we need RESPONSIBILITY in the first place..

……..cheers bro..

• claclaclacla on Oct 09, 2010 at 12:13 pm

i like what u have just commented.. what you have just said was very true though..thumbs up.. ^^

• syeikh_nasri on Oct 10, 2010 at 3:22 pm

Thanx so much..really appreciate it.. applied positive & critical thinking…he he

………cheers bro..

• kenny_lim on Oct 09, 2010 at 4:46 pm

but one thing, lazy ppl cannot be saved. so far, the quality still sucks after decades of ‘experience’. yeah, nothing is perfect……

• syeikh_nasri on Oct 10, 2010 at 3:26 pm

hmm…lazy….thats one more thing which mostly HUMAN do that.. wait, we also “lazy” sometime..dont we…ha ha..plz dont angry okay, nanti cepat tua..

………cheers bro..

• aduss on Oct 09, 2010 at 10:55 pm

tapi yg aku tak puas hati, “sapi punya susu yg bernila, lembu dapat nama busuk” apa ni… kena salah kan vendor yg sply part 2.. and if proton buat kereta dari part yg berkualiti from 1st time dari dulu,. harga mahal pun org akan beli.. walau 5k jer yg di recall.. nama tetap busuk,, stop beli part murah dan tak berquality, beli part yg patut brquality mahal sikit tak per,, and stop cut cos.. it will kill the “Q”…

• kenny_lim on Oct 10, 2010 at 12:45 am

ala……kalau rasuah tu takde……yang pasti, proton dapat ke era yang lebih baik. proton tu, kena blame juga…sebab, takkanlah dia orang taktau tentang qualiti kereta proton? nak salah, salahkan budaya rasuah dan undertable…..

• syeikh_nasri on Oct 10, 2010 at 3:38 pm

Well, its a undeniable practice in this modern world which full of bureaucracy.. like a COUNTRY…it have 3 main elements in building and maintaining the country..JUDICIARY, LEGISLATIVE & EXECUTIVE…mostly the act of executive is more exposed to risk (critics/errors etc)…but judiciary & legislative sure have a exciting & joyful moments to think with…at the end, we found “cruelty” in most aspects..each individuals may think differently into it..later on, each one talking about needs, satisfactory, rights and responsibilities…

Try watch “KAIJIN GAMBLER”…u will find something…..

• meane on Oct 09, 2010 at 11:25 am

some bomoh said, air bag self pop-up cause of the car got accident with makhluk halus…

ok, just kidding.

• Shuvit on Oct 09, 2010 at 12:30 pm

I was one of the earliest who sent out the car for this. I have never experience any problems stated in this recall but I did it anyway as a safety precaution.

I am actually impressed with the commitment by Proton.

• Bashers! please take note that at least proton is making good progress lately.. dont bring up the old story under old management…old management suck! big time! but we should have faith under new leader.. and they are now cleaning up the mess from phase by phase..i can see their management is more bussiness oriented compared than last time which is more political during Tgku Mahleel..and DSZ is leading proton to the right direction…give them another year or 2…you can see what i meant… once they can compete with big boys, and focus on exporting their car as a major sales…trust me..you’ll understand…

• Zidane on Oct 09, 2010 at 1:58 pm

I agree with Andy!

Under DSZ we’ve had major improvements.

We cannot expect all to be perfect as it will take time for them progress in that area.

A recall is something good to me. Coz they admit there is an issue and they are not covering it up.

• john doe on Oct 09, 2010 at 4:41 pm

quote: “once they can compete with big boys, and focus on exporting their car as a major sales”

the world will end b4 tht happens…..

• Tiadaid on Oct 09, 2010 at 7:43 pm

No wonderlah Malaysia not going anywhere. Too many defeatist roaming around.

• Swift on Oct 11, 2010 at 3:45 pm

and you’re either a PROTON ball scratcher or someone who is ignorant or plain blur.

You should read more.

• Tiadaid on Oct 11, 2010 at 9:03 pm

Read more? Oh man, I DO read more. You know Honda in the late 1960s were producing DEATHTRAPS as K-car in the Japanese market? You know that Ford in the 1970s produced the Pinto that had a propensity to catch fire after a slow rear end collision because of poor design. Know where I got those tidbits? Here’s the two books I’ve read about both Ford & Honda as citation

The Pinto fact – Wheels for the World by Douglas Brinkley pg. 671
            The Honda fact – The Honda Myth by Masaaki Sato pg 169.

Don’t believe me, go to Kinokuniya or Borders and check it yourself! Typical basher, don’t have facts bash the messenger.

• Whatever… if the new management is so so so good and so responsible then they should have recalled a lot more defects on the car..

I am still having doubts on the intention on this recall from Proton:
      a. Is it just a marketing gimmick?
      b. Is proton doing it willingly or forced to do it?
      c. Did something serious happened to anyone?
      d. Is Proton still hiding many many things about their car from the public

Don’t believe that anybody would trust the global quality thing that the MD is saying, that is just a gimmick or cover up reason… if really quality is their top concern then they should recall a lot more.

• Proton BashersAreStupid on Oct 09, 2010 at 2:19 pm

How funny when people relate quality issue in Proton with politics. Org QC bkn tau pn owner keta tu UMNO ke MIC ke MCA ke DAP ke PKR ke PAS ke. Ckp mcm org xbukak otak pas 2 ada hati nk kutuk Proton. At least Proton ada gk improvement. Dri dulu asyik facelift ja. Mmg Proton QC ja problem tpi design and performance even Paultan pn komen as ‘exciting’. Aku tgk kt komen keta2 Perodua… Xdk org pn kutuk2. Tpi tau x… Everytime org antar Alza pi SC. Org SC nnti repair ruang kt tingkap depan sbb slalu masuk air dgn angin luar sbb design defects?? Alza 7 seater kna langgar dri blakang… Teros jdi 2 seater. Apsal xdk org kutuk pn?? Xkata pn Alza mcm tin milo mcm korang kutuk proton tin milo?? Sbb apa tau x?? Korang ada keta 2… Aku xtgk pn org yg ada laen dri proton or perodua kutuk?? Ikut masing2 la. Ada duit beli la mana mampu. Kalu nk banggakan sgt MyVi 2… Muat xkorang kalu masuk beg time balik kampung 4 org dlm keta?? Persona aku muat ja?? Hahaha. Aku bangga nk naek2 kn Proton tpi cara korang kutuk ni mcm kutuk org xblajar kt sekolah.. Tgk bashers kt motoring forum yg luar… Kutukan diorg based on facts. Ni kutuk. Power Window problem… Rasuah… Pintu xrapat… BN punya kroni… Enjin makan minyak… Nk jaga kepentingan Petronas… Stupid la korg ni. Hahaha. Korng time quote kt kerajaan style nk untung gila2. Mark-up melampau2 tpi barang mcm haram. 2 la realiti vendor2 kt luar 2. Masukla QC mcm mana hebat pn kalu vendor maen ala kadar ja… Baek masukkan proton2 bashers yg kutuk bnda2 psl QC dgn politik jdi QC. Bru cantek. Hahahaha…

• yeah…
      i know your dissatisfied about my comment…
      To be honest, I’m not say about the party involved in PROTON but the some politician make their a huge profit in term of low quality parts so easily by closed tender.
      You know the mean of closed tender?
      I you dont know let me tell it to you.. Closed tender is “zero-competition” among the competitor because the “selected” Politicians cronies were given tender to make their parts for PROTON cars. At the same time, PROTON doesnt know about their ability for making a high quality parts because most GLCs are political-aide based that cannot be denied by Malaysian or PROTON MD itself.
      As long in my life..I never seen the PROTON tender is advertised in newspaper also other media because its closed tender my man and not open tender! The pro of opened tender is to give opportunities for individual companies in making of high quality parts also cheaper parts without thinking a huge profit! Hence, the cheaper PROTON cars can be realized with the opened tender.
      Thank you..

• I agree

• udasalleh on Oct 10, 2010 at 4:54 pm

so… u’re equating Proton as a govt agency?? u mean Toyota, Honda, Mitsubishi, Nissan, Hyundai, Kia, BMW, Merce, Ferrari does open tender? Wow! Seriously would like to try for one of those if i heard about it.

• no…
          just like i said before most GLCs are political-aide based..
          as you can see at Petronas, TM and TNB, the Khazanah is main share-holder in the company.
          You know who is Khazanah?
          Khazanah is government company that set up the business activity for gov..same as Temasek Holdings in Singapore.
          I said about the PROTON ONLY in practice closed tender but I don’t know the other leading car brands practicing the closed tender also..
          If you have a fact just reply this comment ASAP. ok
          Thank you.

• Tiadaid on Oct 11, 2010 at 9:22 pm

Mr. Zulh, what do you think GLC stands for? Of course they’re linked to the Government, they’re GOVERNMENT LINKED COMPANIES. You really think if the other party took over things would change? Hell no, they just replace BN’s cronies with their cronies! That’s how Malaysian, well actually the world’s politics are being run.

• Proton BashersAreStupid on Oct 10, 2010 at 10:26 pm

Mr Zulh..
        I understand the concept of open and closed tender. But do u know Proton parts all come in various parts before they are combined as one part in the car?? These are the defects in terms of QC during TM tenure. During DSZ… He came up with only one vendors for one parts so that these parts can be obtained much cheaper and the vendor parts can be assessed e\much effectively. Which means brg cincai.. Fired tukar yang laen. Even there are other car assembly in M’sia purchase the same parts from these vendors as well. Sometimes there are defects in manufacturing it. Is just in order to maintain at a affordable price and competitive more. There are tender either closed or open but in the end… In order to catch-up with the tagline mentioned… product are given according to the tagline. Is not cheap affordablity. That meant all people can owned a Proton. Yup. During TM tenure… He maximized Proton’s profit by taking cheap parts and holding some many vendors which later caused so many parts problems and during this time… Yup so many cronies bela by TM frenz and family not political… Bro… U speak like u handle with Government b4… U pn tau… Kalu u nk dpt tender… Kna ada cabel kn?? Time DSZ… Perkataan cable2 dh xdk. Xcaya u pi dkt Proton COE… Ckp u nk supply parts. Tgk apa diorg 2 ckp. U kalu nk bash… Bash biar on technical… Ni bash more bias to politics. Mmg aku ketawa brdekah2… Hahahaha…

• you just said about TM era that have a some of cronies in PROTON. Is not only about their friend and family but some politicians are involved during that era. YOu know meh Dr. M appointed him as MD of PROTON for sake of making huge profit. This appointed happen because Dr. M has been a friend with TM as long ago and thats why TM is easily give a closed tender to selected cronies incl. politicians. As a result the low quality spec part is produced by the selected cronies in addition with tin milo body for PROTON cars. Eventhough DSZ era has begun but politicians involvement in PROTON is still occur because Dr. M is still as Advisor of PROTON that give a much of closed tender to their cronies for making a huge profit. I’m sure if Dr. M is still as PROTON advisor the QC will not improved again and again. As i hope, the PROTON management should give the opportunities to suitable company for set up the high quality parts also good practice vendor by open tender. As i just said in my last commented, PROTON please advertised your tender in the newspaper and other media to show the integrity for their company in the future. That why you cannot simply come PROTON COE to supply your parts because is not a better way for you show your product. Just same as you come to someone house without permission with house owner. Integrity is main key for PROTON to improve the cars into high quality by open tender in newspaper and not simply come to PROTON COE to show your product!!!
          haha., so funny you said PROTON COE is the place for individual company set up their tender with PROTON! It will not happen if Dr. M is still in position!

• Basher on Oct 11, 2010 at 6:10 am

What part do you want to supply? How many time you have been rejected?

• scgtimk1 on Oct 11, 2010 at 9:36 am

Auto company don’t advertise tender open in newspaper la…. you want to know why
            ?

Competitor will know that you want to launch a new model…that what will happen?

If you really want to supply to Proton just go up to them and offer yourself do presentation…. supply RE market first… put up good track record…

Orang bodoh tak tau pasal automotive nak bercakap pasal automotive la… open tender lah… ….this comment is plain stupid…

BTW I work as proc. head of of one of M’sia Nip CKD Company… We also don’t advertise our tender openly…… you want to supply contact us and do presentation… and if your company good and have what it takes we can consider you… but until then

• ok…
            what you commented is correct
            but with open tender it can be done with the interviewing the participant by presentation also. Its not a stupid idea but the alternative idea for individual company set up the tender with PROTON. It just a same with walk-in presentation and supply your parts if qualify by the rescpective company.
            In PROTON nowadays is no “cable relationship” for you supply the parts by walk-in presentation like Mr. Proton BasherAre Stupid said.
            Hence, walk-in and open tender is just a same but the prodecure and integrity is quite differ and more important is not a plain stupid comment.

• mujahid on Oct 11, 2010 at 3:45 pm

I got headache reading ur english version comments……. maybe write in Malay better….

• callenish on Oct 11, 2010 at 8:15 pm

do you really know how GLC run their business and what business model they use? when they issue a close tender, do you know how they select the potential vendors? if you don’t know the process, don’t just blindly say contacts are given to cronies or politician.

yes, i agree the fact that many companies in this country own by politicians, but that’s not the case when close tender being exercise. vendor not selected base on who own it, but what it can provide.

for your info, there are guideline from ministry of finance on how much is the value of contract which eligible for open tender. not every tender is worth doing it by open tender.

do you know why GLC exist in the first place? to fund our country. do you think people working in GLC is highly paid? No, people in GLC have to divide the objective between business and national obligation.

so, please don’t simply say something not right base on your own perception. even i myself hate politicians, but we need to accept the fact, politicians are everywhere, not just in malaysia.

• biggie on Oct 11, 2010 at 8:42 am

ade ke bodoh nak pakai open tender. There are standard operating procedure on how component outsourced la. It is being used at ALL OTHER CAR MAKERS and proton being one also using it.

The Japanese (especially T&H) will stick to one company and involve in what being termed as vendor development program. Similar program exist in Proton during the Mitsu era, but has being dismantled by TM following some ill informed advised such as found here.

Why the need for vendor development programme? Every component sourced will involved lots of investment, and if the vendor do not get the next order then they will certainly tutup kedai; and to avoid that they will have to increase the price or reduce their quality.

• Swift on Oct 11, 2010 at 3:37 pm

to sum it up you are okay with farked up components as long as vendors are able to cari makan right?

Why not apply the same mentality to other companies see if people will laugh at you?

• aduss on Oct 09, 2010 at 11:16 pm

masalah nyer bermula dari “cut cost” , yer la nak buat benda 2 jd murah kan… bila murah org akan beli.. in yg salah.. patutnya, nak murah ialah dengan keluarkan production 2 dengan banyak2 dari 3,4 kilang di seluruh dunia,. bila production tinggi.. all cost akan berkurangan.. ni bukan masalah vendor semata2.. yg bersalah ialah sesiapa yang buat keputusan untuk cut cost ni… tak kira la org tu dr car maker atau vendor… kepada pembuat kereta.. korong kena ingat korang akan bertanggungjawab jika ada org yang mati sebab sikap “cut cost” korang.. jawab la korang kat akhirat nanti..

• clock spring on Oct 09, 2010 at 2:32 pm

http://www.airbagcenter.com/airbag_clockspring.aspx

check this website to see a big picture what CLOCK SPRING is about.

• tiadaid on Oct 09, 2010 at 9:49 pm

So the spring’s not so small, not insignificant to be ridiculed.

• akubiomed on Oct 09, 2010 at 3:51 pm

Satu langkah bijak dari Proton membuat pengumuman masalah clock spring kalau tidak akan memberi kesan sepeti nama besar Toyota

• Jimmy on Oct 09, 2010 at 5:37 pm

QC has to do with the management & CEO, but it has got something to do with the attitude of the engineers and manual workers (why employ workers who are not willing to learn/improve); and the keberanian to say NO (because of INCOMPETENCY) to friends/supporters-undi eg in UN-MO.

• smokey on Oct 09, 2010 at 8:09 pm

my BLM’s horn is not working too during hot days…mlm
    ask SC fix, they say cannot fix coz got airbag inside…zzz

handbrake button cannot come out after released…need to pull it out manually
    ask SC to fix, end up still the same…only wrote ‘FIXED’ in resit but i cant see any difference at all…i think they never do anything at all!!!

• Yoong Tofu on Oct 09, 2010 at 8:45 pm

Hey, new CEO & management! Why no recall for power window??

• protonguys on Oct 09, 2010 at 10:38 pm

recall for power window..?replace with powerhand bleh kaaa…?

• Hang Jebat on Oct 09, 2010 at 10:13 pm

Last time, I bought new Proton Iswara, new Proton Wira, both I experience a lot of malfunction & which, I have to complain during service, which then I even forgot to tell the service guy, because to many complain to remember. now sold already… why Proton, cheapest car lah.
    I also bought new Myvi, OK lah sikit, but still have complain… dah jual
    Recently I bought new Vios, untill now, no malfunction, nothing to complain during service.
    even my 1982 GL & Recond Wish 1.8 dont have problem.
    Hope Proton will look into this issue, this small issue but many complain/malfunction.
    Cars, no problem I think, only accessories and small parts have problem.

• fazron80 on Oct 10, 2010 at 12:45 am

You lucky buy the T badge, if buy other badge maybe have problems. Some of my honda city not so happy with their cars. Hope your car trouble free until year 2110. Drive safe ok. Don’t traffic light drag your vios and always slow down when entering corner. Don’t forget your car is still just a vios so please refrain from high beaming others on the highway.

• True or not? Hard to believe… all cars have problem it is just a matter on whether the problem is big or small.. and whether u can accept it..

• hi all, to mr little fire, if neo has 50l of tank, is it possible for u to refill 50l of fuel???that is absurd unless ur car is dead because there is no fuel at all. normally reserve fuel is about 8L. so what the neo owner mention fill in in 41 litter is correct. but those who claim refill the tank 50 litter is a liar.

i owned waja campro and my tank is more than 50l. so normally when the fuel light is out, i fill around 48 litter to 52 litter of fuel, depend on how long it takes me to the gas station. so for 50l worth of waja campro auto which is heavier than neo campro auto, in town, average km covered is around 450km. if really light foot, can get around 520km. but for long distance, speed between 120-140kmh, average around 550km, if follow all the speed limit 90kmh trunk road, 110km highway, it is around 620km. so i bought it in early 2007, maybe becoz i am lucky, no problem at all except regular maintenance which send to branch sc every 10k. now the car covered 55,000km.
    my father saga blm 1.3 auto iafm, rm 50 can run around 250km to 300km, depend on right foot, the lowest is 250km.

so i think is not logical is 50litter of fuel can only cover 370km in neo which is lighter than waja except ur always rev to the max every gear until ur car is dead becoz already used all the fuel, remembern the tank is 50l, u cannot refill 50l unless there is no fuel in the tank

• neo16 on Oct 10, 2010 at 1:32 am

I regularly get roughly around 370km from my 1.6 Neo manual, ‘spirited’ driving most of the time. But normally fill up is just under 40L. In fact I’ve only hit 40L once or twice and the meter is well BEYOND the zero mark already

• off road user on Oct 09, 2010 at 11:43 pm

Just happen today, my cousin’s Proton Saga BLM just bought for 6 months suddenly cannot start this morning for no reason. Made a call to ‘Sahabat Eon’ for towing arrangement and shocking come to us. The towing car driver said “aise hari2 aku tarik kereta proton saga baru ni pasal xbleh hidup,ada yg masih plastik lagi pun xbleh hidup enjin”….OMG!….

• zimba on Oct 10, 2010 at 12:51 am

You sure it’s true? i’m a student in an local Uni. Many students here using Proton Saga Blm mostly car plate wt? to wu?.. all very new.. My classmate, my housemate and my neighbor. My hostel area are single storey. U must be trying to bash Proton. Nice story!

• Scania360 on Oct 10, 2010 at 1:15 am

hahah nice rekacipta story or just 1 per million unlicky problem..
      maybe u forget to refuel..tangki minyak kering ma..hahaha
      most of campus student love SAGA..every where..seen.
      me and 5 of my collegue with SAGA.. no body had any problem like this..
      thats why that towing car driver said that..he must think u were mking joke.. haha

• ihmatrix on Oct 10, 2010 at 12:14 am

PROTON BASHING THREAD >>> PAUL… sabar aja lah.

• soulfly on Oct 10, 2010 at 12:33 am

if u guys dislike proton, dont have to hantam la, go to them and tell them ur probs ur facing with the car.cant compare with other brand as proton maybe have $$$$$$ amount to spend on R&D then the japan, europe $$$$$$$$$. unsatisfied go and own another car. next time research on the car before u purchase it =)

The end.

• the most i unsatisfied is why exported PROTON cars get higher quality car than us!
      Because want to keep reputation among world ka??? hahaha

• osh_kosh on Oct 10, 2010 at 12:59 am

wow.. when will Proton consider to recall their cars for power window problem??

• Yeah, when will they recall their power window problem? I have to change mine every year. The regulator also gone. This year I asked them to remove the entire thing and lock the window permanently. Now use touch and Go, etc also have to open door. Last week when I was having lunch, there is a workshop beside it. There’s one new waja (the last batch before the lancer come in) came to fix the power window. Same problem, the serviceman said it’s normal. NORMAL!!! WTF

• ohtdpg7w on Oct 13, 2010 at 3:14 pm

thank god my waja which i bought last year still in good shape, no problem at all. don’t know why some face the problem but some lucky enough to escape it. how many proton factories are there? or are they assembled the cars in one factory?

• Tiadaid on Oct 10, 2010 at 11:03 am

Even Toyota won’t recall their cars for power window problems so…

• osh_kosh on Oct 10, 2010 at 6:57 pm

one question… how many toyota’s with power window problem? … and proton??? i rest my case..

• Tiadaid on Oct 10, 2010 at 7:18 pm

Just because you don’t know doesn’t mean you’ve rest your case!

• osh_kosh on Oct 11, 2010 at 10:45 pm

just because u r Proton lover doesn’t mean u need to hide the fact.. gosh…

• vezeroth on Oct 10, 2010 at 1:42 am

i dont think the problem is limited to gen2’s my persona steering wheel buttons do not function properly as well, a few months ago i had a problem with the horn too.. so hmm.. i think proton is playing down the extent of this recall

• zimba on Oct 10, 2010 at 2:00 am

yo people… It seem that from all of the 300+ comment.. there is hardly a condemn on Proton SAGA BLM (got 1 or 2 only nie.. i think it’s the basher! or just 1 out of million) and Proton EXORA.
    haha.. A proof that the New CEO doing good job. Proton New Cars are reliable now. =D Proud!

• Old or new management doesn’t concern us… it is a proton and the current management is responsible for everything… nobody is denying that the new mgmt Proton is getting better at their job of crunching out cars that meet the people’s need..

But to say Proton is now reliable??? Hahaha… its better but still a long long way to improve..

• farghmee on Oct 10, 2010 at 11:05 am

u’re true cat.

can’t u c that they are showing that they care?

to think is good. thinking too much goes nowhere.

• haidir on Oct 10, 2010 at 12:13 pm

just wanna ask ppl here some questions.

have top proton man ever use proton for daily car?

then it is easy for them to recognize any QC/QA, quality or problem of their own cars.

• Wahub on Oct 10, 2010 at 8:00 pm

Yes, I personally know one top guy in Proton’s R&D use Perdana..

• The Protong service center I know at D’sara (a famous one), the big boss drive a luxury Toyota Camry, and most of the workers ride kapchais and also drive kancil, kelisa and MyVi. But they service Protong? Ironic and strange isn’t it?

• boyxinan on Oct 11, 2010 at 10:36 am

that’s why I call, ‘Proud to be Malaysian’ but then we get FRAUD by p1

• bontton on Oct 11, 2010 at 11:19 am

same goes with my places..the boss hide his car in the behind garage..

• No la syoh…im working at Proton Platinium service center Mutiara Damansara..

• callenish on Oct 11, 2010 at 8:27 pm

haidir,

even our Agong Tunku Mizan, occasionally drive a persona around putrajaya alone. i live there and spot the car a few times.

he also proud with proton i suppose.

• DICKYBIRD on Oct 13, 2010 at 7:53 pm

his persona is not for people drive one, you think it is the same as your persona. get real! and if i had a bentley continental gt in the garage, no way i am gonna be tooling around in proton! stop being delusional!

• nolan on Oct 11, 2010 at 7:56 pm

my neighbour had his Saga BLM Steering Fluid leakage problem…..i heard few others had the same prblem too…..just concern when P1 want to recall…..?

• jahanam on Oct 10, 2010 at 11:12 am

thank god i just sold my 2007 neo….huhu~ lucky nothng happen to me during last 3 years…aiyoo..proton now getting to a “higner” standard as the toyoyta..calling their car back for inspection but after 6 years?????? huhu~ gud job guys…at least u all manage to trace the problem…..

• I have encountered with this ‘clock spring’ problem twice with my GEN2 when the car is newly collected in year 2005. When I was turning into left there come with a sound like ‘jing jing’.

The SC told me the problem link to the ‘clock spring’, a round shape equipment which connect the wire of the radio switches. The first set of clock spring did not work well and the problem of same sound occur again. Complaint to SC and again it has no choice but given me the second set. Luckily the second set work well and it last till now.

Thought I am the only unlucky one, but apparently it is Proton’s issue.

• haidir on Oct 10, 2010 at 12:06 pm

i too like to give my own comment

dont make a mistake by mixing between recall and problematic cars.

recall; not so much different between car makes

problematic; u can vote which one is the most problematic according to yours.

• pekan on Oct 10, 2010 at 2:15 pm

Checked with www.protonaftersales.com. Confirmed that my chassis number is included in the list of defective clock spring.

So, I went to PESC today. They checked with the chassis number and guess what.. They said that my chassis number is NOT in the list. WTF??

They said that the Proton have upgraded the clockspring starting from chassis number 63177, as stated in their Service Bulletin. WTF..?

Why the website said that my chassis number has defective clockspring but their Service Bulletin said otherwise..? What’s going on here..?

• Zidane on Oct 10, 2010 at 4:30 pm

Check out these website and you will know that other cars also have issues.

1. Ford (still with Quality issues and bad fuel consumption but still a top car to buy)
    http://www.roadtestreports.co.uk/car-reviews/2010/Ford/Fiesta/

2. Mitsubishi (safety scandal. but people look highly of mitsubishi)

http://www.mitsubishisucks.com/cars/scandals/clutch/

But life goes on. People forget abt the mitsubishi scandal which was on television once. but people never forget and forgive proton abt their power windows when it has been improved. Keep bringing up the same old seasoned news.

• peYno on Oct 10, 2010 at 4:34 pm

i notice.. ah beng proton bashers are not JDM or conti car owner..
    but just non proton car owner like perodua, jepun celup ASEAN car UMW car owner

prrrrtfhhhh

• peYno on Oct 10, 2010 at 4:35 pm

when perodua want to recall infamous switch power window problem???

• kelly on Oct 10, 2010 at 11:10 pm

finally proton recall…

• Hi, just want to share my experience with my 2005 Gen2 Hline. Before I continue, let me tell you that I service my car regularly, by the book. But, less than two years of ownership, I’ve had to replace the exhaust muffler. The original one rusted through, falling to bits. Now, on my third set already. Next, in Oct last year, suddenly my car wouldn’t start. The prob? The clock spring! It caused a short circuit, blowing the fuse, hence the car wouldn’t start. Prior to that I also experienced what the other owners here had described: failure of audio buttons on the steering, the ‘crock’ sound when turning the steering wheel. A proton mech came and diconnected the clock spring, pop in a new fuse and I could start the car again. But, the horn, the airbags, the audio and the cruise controls are rendered useless. I ordered the replacement part and guess what? It took more than 2 months to arrive! Even then it only arived after I had sent a complaint to i-care by e-mail. In the 2 months waiting for the part, I had no choice but to drive the car every day, and I had a few close shaves. Never knew before that driving without the car’s horn could be so dangerous!

The price of the part is not cheap – and plus labour, amounted to almost RM300. Now I wonder if I could get a refund since Proton had openly admitted that the clock spring was actually faulty to begin with and not because of normal wear and tear, under which it would not be covered. Also, I wonder if the part they replaced is actually the new and improved version or a new part with the old specs, in which case it would still need replacement. I had already sent my enquiries through e-mail to i-care but so far no replys yet. Anyone in the same situation?

• DICKYBIRD on Oct 12, 2010 at 12:44 pm

wow! and not a single pengampu proton dares to take a shot at you. i wonder how they feel knowing their beloved proton can endanger hardworking people who pay good money for these cars. good luck to you bro, safe driving.

• kenny_lim on Oct 12, 2010 at 10:08 pm

tats wat we are trying to say, how many died because of this? no one knows………

• Hazri on Oct 11, 2010 at 12:12 am

OMG! i just came back to Malaysia and suddenly received this shocking news!

FYI, after 3 years i bought my gen2 (jun 2006), my steering audio control didn’t functioning anymore, and when cornering “crok crok” sound came out from the front wheels…i did change to the new audio player because the mechanic said the original player already damage..

and now….who’s going to be blaimed!!!!

• No shocking news la idiot. ..latest Merc also recalled their car. Check local newspaper for detail.

• I’m running out of annual leave.. so when are they gonna recall power window la??

• panjang on Oct 11, 2010 at 3:57 am

Now you know why DSZ suggested the government should consider under Budget 2011 the end-of-life vehicle (EVL) policy b4 the recall announcement was out.
    He said it is timely for the government to provide packages and incentives to make sure that old cars which are not safe and “green” are not on the road.

• alldisc on Oct 11, 2010 at 6:36 pm

we need to agree on this. our market is saturated already. malaysia has about 27 million ppl but about 11 million of cars. new car market is about 500,000 unit every year. meaning in 4 years we can expect another 2 million new cars on the road. and a huge percentage goes to 4 major cities ie KL, JB, penang and ipoh.

the effect is terrible not only on traffic flow but also on environment (heat, exhaust emissions)

• Tiadaid on Oct 11, 2010 at 9:08 pm

Indeed. The car market’s super saturated. For instance, my aunt next door owns three cars. The other neighbour owns so many cars, he parks them in my porch! If you go through my neighbourhood, it looks like a used car lot with so many cars parked on the side of the road!

• DICKYBIRD on Oct 12, 2010 at 5:11 pm

what is the alternative? walking to work? certainly not taking the train or the bus coz the timekeeping of those systems will get you fired.

• DICKYBIRD on Oct 12, 2010 at 6:02 pm

so if the market is saturated then the only option is for local carmakers to sell their cars elsewhere, no? are they up to it?
        if you scrap old cars and make people buy new cars, the problem remains. public transportation long neglected, need to be improved and fast.

• DICKYBIRD on Oct 12, 2010 at 12:37 pm

he is hoping those who are forced to junk their old clunkers will buy proton. haha, cynical and desperate.
      show me where it says protons currently on the road are green cars?

• I hate Proton Driver but luv proton car on Oct 11, 2010 at 8:24 am

at least Proton dare to recall back.. Perodua??? Complaint untill die pun never get response..

• kenny_lim on Oct 12, 2010 at 10:06 pm

well, u’ll never knew how many died before the had their first response

• hmm look likes DSZ is doing a right desicion.. this problem is under TM last time… and i’m facing tthis problem right now, steering wheel have a krek2 noise, audio will be + when i turning the wheel to the left and will be – to the other side… suddently horn (already plug out the relay) and the worst is it my radiator fan mulfunction (not stop until battery out) due to the short circuit. but other than that, my gen2 (2004) don’t give any problems yet… ;)

• jojo n friends on Oct 11, 2010 at 10:12 am

darn it. my 1988 ‘ferrari-red’ saga power window also got problem lately. the window go down when I push the button to up and vise versa, especially at toll both which a beauty stationed. and guess what, sometimes it does stuck too.

anyway, got recall meh for this model?

• JohnDeep on Oct 11, 2010 at 2:37 pm

sometimes my accord has this problem too, I should complaint to Honda so that they will recall all accord from the market…

• kah..kah.. your car built in 1988 still want proton to repair for free ka…

• nolan on Oct 11, 2010 at 11:54 am

so many faulties in my Proton Wira but still no recall……i dun know why….

• Eyesore on Oct 11, 2010 at 4:51 pm

aiyaa.. so many faulty in my 1984 Mazda 626…. why still no recall haaa??? Damn you mazda!!

• JohnDeep on Oct 11, 2010 at 2:34 pm

If you talk bad thing about proton, you will gain a lot of supports, if you mention good thing about proton, people will burn you to death. This blog members full of bashers who hate proton forever. You guys live in your own cocoon and feel happy about any bad thing happen to proton.

My simple advice, don’t buy product that is cheap in comparison if you have the money to spend. Live within your environment for those who have that much money to spend for proton cars only. Without proton and produa, there are many of us still riding motorcycles and take the whole family in a public bus.

I never own proton car, but observed the quality is improving in every model. Accept the fact..

Sad, cheap mentality of bashers here…the forum serves nothing to these people.

• DICKYBIRD on Oct 12, 2010 at 12:28 pm

you say quality is improving but yet you dont buy? what cock are you talking? are you another one of those idiots who thinks without proton the great many of the rakyat will be walking to work coz cars prices are sky high! fool! imports are expensive because of the need to protect proton. this protection is not meant to be permanent but to allow for the nascent car industry then to get up to speed. you look around in places where the cars on a level playing field in malaysia, in langkawi and labuan, how are the sales of proton there?

• kenny_lim on Oct 12, 2010 at 10:05 pm

well, u should say, without proton, u might be driving a toyota at the same price of wira…hehe. but cakap tak serupa bikin, if support their cars…why dont u buy one?

• zailanz on Oct 11, 2010 at 3:03 pm

Waja 1.8 and Savvy owners everywhere are waiting for a recall of so many components in this car, but looks like we are the forgotten guinea pigs who bought these ‘trial and error’ cars from proton just to be left with many headaches..

• looks like proton lovers don’t take criticism very well. they will either ask for photo / video proof or they will say you’re a P2 salesman.

• Tiadaid on Oct 11, 2010 at 8:49 pm

Calling baseless bashing as criticism is like calling McDonald’s health food.

And that’s SARCASM for those who can’t grasp the concept.

• kenny_lim on Oct 12, 2010 at 10:04 pm

well, u cant deny the fact that proton car is in a very low quality built by untrained staff…..it is a fact….face it!

• anand on Oct 11, 2010 at 5:32 pm

Even if Proton rebadge Mercedes…still I won’t buy it..

• A Class on Oct 11, 2010 at 8:31 pm

Yes, as today they have recalled for 85k C & S Class in Us due to problematic on steering.. actually, they should rebadge Proton..

• Mata2 on Oct 12, 2010 at 5:08 pm

If u rebadge merc to ” anand” do you think people will buy? Pandai cakap, kereta sorong pun tak mampu nak buat!

• whenever it rains I gotta drive with an umbrella sticking out of my stuck power window. I fear for my own safety. I demand a total recall on power window!

• cheaplasticdashboard on Oct 12, 2010 at 6:36 am

Now PROTONg must recall all their cars (excepto Perdana) for the cheap plastic used in the dashboard!

So plasticky!

• Eyesore on Oct 12, 2010 at 8:15 am

So why don’t we ask perodua, toyota,kia etc to recall their product as well cuz as far as i know those manufacturer use the same plastic for their dashboard as well…. or u will only feel plasticky in proton cuz they’re malaysian product but in toyota or kia you won’t feel plasticky cuz the feeling is overwhelmed by the arrogance feeling of driving ‘imported’ car??

• Mienzz on Oct 12, 2010 at 6:08 pm

Agree with you !

• kenny_lim on Oct 12, 2010 at 10:02 pm

erm…….have u ever ride on a kia or toyota cars? haha…..i dont think they are from the same manufacturer. if they are, then they are getting a sub standard parts for us…

• BMW-More Problem on Oct 12, 2010 at 3:02 pm

recall.. what is new…..

strange that only now they come out in public…..must have something to do with the Toyota Fiasco in US….

Might as well join the club…

• Its true that proton had issued a recall and that’s commendable, but they overlooked one thing: what about those who had already replaced the part, spending 100s of ringgit. I had already replaced the part Dec last year after experiencing some problems with the car due to the faulty part. I sent an e-mail to i.care, enquiring about a possible refund but there was no reply.

A few minutes ago I just got off the phone with i.care and the initial feedback is not good; no refunds. When I asked to speak to someone else, the personnel replied there was no one else I could talk to and that I have to take up my complaint in writing or by e-mail to i.care. When I told her I already did that, she asked for my e-mail address and said she’ll check the mail that I sent and that someone will get in touch with me later. So, I’ll have to wait again. Just hope that I will get a favourable reply.

Oh, and I did asked her whether the part that I bought was the new improved version or a new part with the old specs. She said it was the latter and that I would have to get it replaced. What a bummer! That means I paid good money for a faulty part to replace the original part which was also faulty to begin with!

• kenny_lim on Oct 12, 2010 at 10:00 pm

well, if they are sincere…they should do so. after nearly 1 yr of faulty parts, now they recall…..i think more are affected……..my advice, don buy proton

• Saga BeLum Masak on Oct 13, 2010 at 12:35 am

Aiyyaaa.. no need to complaint tru i-(dont)Care one. Just go to KPDNKK, file up your case. Bring all the proof you have. I also tired of complaining. Proton never listen one.

• JeremyLek on Oct 13, 2010 at 11:37 am

Hi all,

Just to check with you all. I just sent my car to Proton last week due to the recall. I realise something and curious about the recall.

I thought they suppose to change just the clock switch, right? they also change the whole faceplate that have the buttons of the audio panel on my steering wheel. is it true? I notice the alignment and sizing of the plate is mis-aligned.

Kindly enlighten me…

• Hi, its me again. I just got a reply from i.care. Verdict: no refunds. Kinda expecting that but can’t blame a guy for hoping. But I am not going to give up just yet because I believe that I have a legitimate cause. This time I am going to write and keep on writing to the top management until I get a response from them, failing which I may be forced to initiate legal actions. Wish me luck!!

• Mental on Oct 14, 2010 at 5:48 pm

I just dun understand…… proton come up with this recall also ppl make noise…. p2,T,H also have done it previously rite…. so what!!! so proud with japs!!

• CopyCat on Oct 17, 2010 at 2:05 am

next year recall…paddle shift broken…INSPIRA

• IsqandarNotZulkarnain on Oct 18, 2010 at 4:36 pm

Under DSZ, the Inspira is more reliable…..

• bertrand on Oct 19, 2010 at 6:16 pm

Proton recalls those cars equipped with the auto-cruise function which have the following symptoms:

1. Noises when turning the steering wheel.
    2. Unintentional triggering of the car horn.
    3. Malfunction of car audio remote button on the steering wheels.
    4. Self-deployment of the air bag.
    5. Unable to start car due to short circuit of the electronic components.

But there are much more proton cars (Gen2 especially) which is not equipped with the auto-cruise function faced the almost similar problems and it might endanger passenger safety. The symptoms are:

1. Noises when turning the steering wheel.
    2. Unintentional triggering of the car horn.
    3. Malfunction of car audio remote button on the steering wheels.
    4. Malfunction of site mirror.

As I’m the owner of the care Gen2, several calls had been made (16/10/2010, morning) to Proton Official service centre & its servicing network. They refused those car problems which is not auto-cruise.

I went to Proton Service Centre at PJ sec 13 on 19 Oct 2010 and inspection on my Gen2 car is carried out. In the report, “clock spring malfunction, recommend customer to replace new clock spring assy.” It cost at RM 290. Side mirror not working, “checked by technician and found wiring problem, need more time for further checking” Report num: M28759, Invoice num: 92891831.

The cars’ quality remains doubts and buying local made product, especially Proton is a nightmare.

• khairul on Nov 10, 2011 at 7:01 pm

recall campaign for gen 2 dah abis ker..? baru jadi ler problem clock spring tuh.. adoi..!!!

• Johnsixfox on Apr 26, 2013 at 7:22 am

I drive proton, gen2 bought 2 years ago in September 2011
    My car break-down last week and it won’t start, but the dealer here said “no, your car was not recalled” and I and my mechanic can read that on the internet. is he dodging me?

We are very sure this is a clock spring, we have tried to change battery, jump started and no success.

what can I do please?

• Amber Haddad on Nov 29, 2016 at 9:49 am

I bought a 2007 proton GEN2 last year, 2 months after buying it the electrics on the steering wheel stopped working ( volume up, down, skip track etc) then the horn became hard to press, airbag light came on and stayed on. The horn doesn’t work at all, after research I found the click spring is faulty and the company did a recall on all 2004-2008 vehicles for that very reason. I live in Victoria, Australia, any suggestions?

• Amber Haddad on Nov 29, 2016 at 10:58 am

For anyone in Melbourne u just rang Proton on Spencer street and gave them my VIN and they are fixing my car for free as its part of the recall, I hope this helps someone else too, their number is 93298862