Aston Martin’s tiny Cygnet confirmed for production

This piece of news doesn’t come as a surprise. British-based sports car maker Aston Martin, yes the same company that has been giving us Bond cars has confirmed the production of the Cygnet super mini. The Cygnet which apparently “sets a new benchmark for compact luxury” is pretty much a refaced Toyota iQ.

Although the powertrain has not been confirmed, the Cygnet is likely to be motivated by Toyota’s 97hp 1.33 litre engine with 123Nm of torque. No mouth watering, rumbling V8s here. The compact vehicle is scheduled to go into production sometime next year and it will be built at Aston Martin’s Gaydon headquarters.

“Our customers need a small car for urban and city use, and they want the right tools for the right job, to downsize creatively without compromising intelligence, artistry and personality,” said CEO Dr Ulrich Bez. “The Cygnet is designed to support our sports cars by providing a greater degree of freedom in the urban context; it is a very special car, a premium but compact package with heart, soul and personality,” he added.

Despite being given the weird look by a few, Aston Martin’s venture into the compact car business is getting the blessings my many at the same time. Take Lotus for example. The company recently shown the CityCar concept at the Paris Motor Show. Just like the Cygnet, the CityCar concept is also a small sized vehicle. Although being just a concept at the moment, the CityCar is likely to go into production. More details including pricing and specifications of production Cygnet will be released by year end.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• wowww!!!

• Estimosis on Oct 12, 2010 at 2:11 pm

Its ok for Aston Martin to rebadge… but not for P1?

• sukasuki on Oct 12, 2010 at 5:53 pm

its because of the narrow minded citizen. no need to think much.

• nazri on Oct 13, 2010 at 12:16 am

issit rebadge toyota IQ? rebadge lor?

• as usual, but now i want to make a formula..
      proton rebadge= bad+bodo+xdak invention+duduk bawah ketiak mitsu+low class+ kereta rebagde rosak mcm proton..

but, if aston(can change with other carmaker also selain p1 and p2)
      others rebadge= very10(infinity) nice+ good for their development+..+ whatsoever..

org malaysia mmg mcm tu.. bkn aku xtaw.. apasal famili aku pakai gen2, savvy, saga(new saga) elok lg, xdak rosak pun.. nk wat cmne, org len x pernah dpt keta.. beli waja, ubah letak evo punye skirting, bumper,.. pastu bwk cm nk p masuk rally WRC.. mne x jhnm kete tu…

• Alpha on Oct 12, 2010 at 3:05 pm

Will it be more expensive than a Mini,Scirocco n all??or will it be as expensive as 135i/M1??

• yewyan on Oct 12, 2010 at 3:20 pm

wow… v cute car…..
    2 doors somemore…. good job…
    hw was d performance??
    0-100 10 sec can??

• fridaylover on Oct 12, 2010 at 3:39 pm

is it will be a direct competitor for p emas??or will p emas will be ever produced??

• DICKYBIRD on Oct 12, 2010 at 3:45 pm

LOL!

• gangully on Oct 12, 2010 at 3:49 pm

i wonder if we will see this in the next Bond… in quantum of solace we caught a glimpse of the Fiesta (albeit in Hybrid version if the sticker on the car is to be believed) used as the car to run-around-in in the city…

perhaps we will see this cygnet used in their city scenes…

• type-x on Oct 12, 2010 at 3:55 pm

oh no..i love aston martin..but i dont love this cygnet..look like there is something wrong with it..lotus city concept look better i think

• squawk on Oct 12, 2010 at 4:00 pm

Still looks ugly but at least it’s good for parking in London town.

• very cute indeed!!if park beside a DB9, ill still look at this first..

• Gajen on Oct 12, 2010 at 4:37 pm

silly move by aston…who would buy a toyota at aston price…in face the IQ looks better than this…

• Bernard on Oct 12, 2010 at 5:12 pm

Now everyone can become James Bond :-)

• somesay on Oct 12, 2010 at 6:26 pm

let me guess, RM500k for this compact luxury?
    hahaha kill me

• bogaboga on Oct 12, 2010 at 7:35 pm

maybe they use perodua engineers to rebadge the IQ lol (just kidding)

epic fail move by aston :P

• Bohbee on Oct 12, 2010 at 7:57 pm

First date scenario:
    Guy to valet: Hi, we’re leaving – here’s my ticket.
    Valet: What car sir?
    Guy: err..Aston Martin
    Valet: Very well, I’ll bring it around
    Girl: Ooo, u didn’t tell me thats what u drove??!!
    Girl upon seeing car pull up: …………???

• Darius on Oct 12, 2010 at 9:13 pm

Aston Martin is now a rebadged Toyota? The world is coming to an end

• iampaultanfan on Oct 12, 2010 at 11:31 pm

AM is not familiar in building small car so it’s acceptable….
    if AM rebadge a Ferrari then it’s a sick act….

anyway guess the price would be around Rm500k lo…since the new brabus fortwo is selling at rm500k(go check at naza) and the previous brabus forfour around that figure too….

• Dumb and Dumber starring Cygnet & Emas

• From first look, it’s ugly, but~ it will attract attention, and if it’s gonna be sell at the aston prices, it must have IMBA SatNav, aston Keyless and atleast powerfull engine and dont forgot the IMBA luxury that it must also have.

Anyway, better get The IQ atleast the price is mo considarable, this car? well gonna be good due to Toyota engineering and aston touch, but still, I foreseen to expensive and high price (hey what to aspect it’s from aston and it’s imported)

• thepilot on Oct 13, 2010 at 10:45 pm

coooooool…

• iampaultan on Nov 01, 2010 at 11:03 am

so cutie! so cooooooooooooooooooooooooooool! i like it! >.</^.^