2011 Mazda BT-50 pick-up truck – first images!

As always, a new Ranger will be accompanied by a new Mazda BT-50 (sometimes referred to as the Fighter). The two trucks are nearly identical beneath the different sheetmetal, tub and interior, which by the way Mazda’s designers have decided to take a completely different approach compared to Ford’s straight and macho lines.

The new Mazda BT-50 was apparently inspired by a picture of a lion, which gave the truck’s chief designer Ryo Yanagisawa the impression of a “magnificent predator, with his muscles all bunching up as though he was about to pounce on his prey”. I think the front looks OK but the rear is kind of off.

The interior looks quite car-like and I wouldn’t be surprised if you showed me the interior shot above and told me it came from a regular Mazda passenger sedan.

Mazda hasn’t given out much details on what’s going into the engine bay but I wouldn’t be surprised if it’s pretty much the same 2.2 diesel, 3.2 diesel and 2.5 petrol engines that are going into the new 2011 Ranger.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1621]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• subhero on Oct 14, 2010 at 10:20 pm

haiya…

sakit mata lorrr itu lampu belakang… haiyaa….

• campro on Oct 15, 2010 at 12:15 am

Damn ugly… it not match at all…

• Sorchai on Oct 15, 2010 at 8:31 am

Only Ssangyong Actyon is uglier…

• Black Dog on Oct 15, 2010 at 11:12 am

Agreed. The rear look worst that those China-made vehicles…urghh!

• redwings on Oct 15, 2010 at 12:41 pm

agreed… somehow… pickup truck should be always boxi… that show their musculer…

• do Mazda BT-50 re-badge ford ranger or other way…since ford not controlling mazda anymore(they has only small share in mazda)

• Virosh on Oct 16, 2010 at 1:14 pm

it looaks like they copied the back of a harrier.

• Thinkfirst on Oct 14, 2010 at 10:28 pm

Nice front. Back is a bit odd. I guess it will grow on you. Interior is nice and looks big too. I think it’s still command a second look out in the streets.

• Dangdut Fan on Oct 15, 2010 at 4:32 pm

Its very striking. Love it though. Trucks(save for Hilux and Triton) from the other brands come in plain and straight lines. There is not much diff when comparing them to the previous generation models. The design factor makes them stand apart from each other. I love a truck which does not look too out of place in front of Starbucks and this one fits that criteria. I wouldn’t want to drive a cement mixer to bring my girlfriend out and to look for new ones too..

• y the ‘look’ is in every mazda model……

• theanswer on Oct 15, 2010 at 8:54 am

it’s an image they wanna show to us. u see the pickup u know its mazda..u see the suv u know its mazda.

• shawal on Oct 14, 2010 at 10:35 pm

Ranger looks better, this doesnt look like a FIGHTER…..

• Gajen on Oct 14, 2010 at 10:37 pm

sorry mazda u cant apply a car design onto a truck…interior also from regular mazda sedans…ranger is better looking

• Jimmy on Oct 14, 2010 at 10:37 pm

Very car-like design, from in to out, good. But Amarok is still the best.

• the rear lights are just so prev-gen impreza.. haha…

• type-x on Oct 14, 2010 at 10:38 pm

kind a soft looking truck..maybe a younger sister to new ford ranger..hehe

• Anti Proton on Oct 14, 2010 at 10:40 pm

nice interior

• ah yat on Oct 14, 2010 at 10:42 pm

it a “cute” looking truck for ladies…

• downs on Oct 14, 2010 at 10:43 pm

Oh my, quite a let down in terms of looks. Been waiting to see official images since the drawing was first previewed here. Looks like I’ll stick with either the Triton or Navara after all.

• mitlanevo on Oct 14, 2010 at 10:44 pm

ya, agree with u Paul, front is quite good, but rear is a bit off…

• M-mealin on Oct 14, 2010 at 10:47 pm

looks like triton + hilux

• ko malu saje... on Oct 14, 2010 at 10:57 pm

pukes…

• Theophilus Chin on Oct 14, 2010 at 11:02 pm

Hmm… Perhaps will look better in metal. A tad better than new Ranger.

• Slum In Bolehland on Oct 14, 2010 at 11:11 pm

okie front quite good but back…uhhh how should i say a car that been potong by half….fugly….

• skatax on Oct 14, 2010 at 11:21 pm

agreed. they should have executed the rear light clusters better… after all, this is THE last nagare…

or is it? aha~

• gtr blogger on Oct 14, 2010 at 11:22 pm

Oh My GOD!!!!!!! That is terrible. Why do Mazda cues have to be based on the Mazda 6???

• Vlakin on Oct 14, 2010 at 11:23 pm

first i was like wahhhh cool truck!.. then i was like deng! ugly rear!

• Kington on Oct 14, 2010 at 11:31 pm

C’mon, just as we’re bout to get used to MAzda being the stylo gurus from Japan, they just had to ruin things with the rear of this truck.

Just look at it. Not just plain ugly but horrifyingly ugly.

• kimi's fans on Oct 14, 2010 at 11:35 pm

ok. i’m old fashion to accept this exterior

• Zidane on Oct 14, 2010 at 11:37 pm

Looks ugly to me.

• Weird!

• nabill on Oct 14, 2010 at 11:38 pm

rear had mazda 6 tail lamps….somehow that mazda flowing design doesnt add up on a pick up….awkward all around

• mini cooper freak on Oct 14, 2010 at 11:40 pm

when will this arrive in Malaysia?

• mastermind on Oct 14, 2010 at 11:40 pm

I like it,
    even Paul don’t like that much at back end
    to Me it Mazda trademark

• Any images of the rear seats? Judging from the back, it may have the same seat problems found on Hilux and Dmax.

• Kington on Oct 15, 2010 at 12:00 am

What sort of seat problems are you talking about?

So far, the Hilux seems very comfortable, until i sat on the rear seats of the Navara. Pretty impressive for a pick up. I find the seats in the Hilux thicker but the Nissan, i suspect, runs a better suspension setup than the Hilux.

• azarudin on Oct 15, 2010 at 12:05 am

This is the one that I am waiting for….from triton to hilux to Dmax to Navara and now Mazda……….

• campro on Oct 15, 2010 at 12:14 am

interior nice…rear damn ugly…the light design is nice but not suit to this pick up…i want to vomit when i see the rear…new Ford Ranger 2011 look nicer & better than Mazda pick up…i also dislike the front signal light…

• Freeman on Oct 15, 2010 at 12:41 am

I agree with all the comments put up about nice front but ugly rear design.
    The solution? I will still buy this truck but have the entire back changed to Ranger’s since it’s much better looking. Same size and dimension…. I suppose! Haha!

• M-mealin on Oct 15, 2010 at 12:46 am

that rear lamp is really not match..divided by 2..and i think to much triton on it but worst version triton…

• mirror mirror on Oct 15, 2010 at 1:05 am

oh no.

• bystander on Oct 15, 2010 at 1:21 am

i’ll put it this way, ford ranger is the truck for men, this one is for the gays!

• khang on Oct 15, 2010 at 1:50 am

Maybe it’s just me… … I really like smiley faces on mazda, but this one kinda remind me of savvy.

• Not a good colour to reveal your new model! Imagine the car in Black, Blue or Silver. That Copper Red has never sold well in any model.

• HirumaKecil on Oct 15, 2010 at 4:52 am

Lagi suka kalau mazda reused bahagian belakang arista .. depan dah cun…

• tiorrrr on Oct 15, 2010 at 5:55 am

i dont care about the look,,, only care about powertrain and gearbox, navara my first choice…., paul, engine detail pls,,,,…

• freeze_sr on Oct 15, 2010 at 7:28 am

This way different than the sketches shown previously. I would take this interior and put it in the ford ranger. Then there’s a perfect truck.

• nonon on Oct 15, 2010 at 7:56 am

still one of the most beautiul pickup i’ve seen so far….better than triton and the overrated hilux….

• LOL!! on Oct 15, 2010 at 8:00 am

i know its mazda but this is a truck, not a car, it should be looks tough and raw power…….this thing wont sell well im sure of that

• The Loner on Oct 15, 2010 at 1:23 pm

See Bermaz’ agression you will know. BT-50 is a rare pickup truck on the road. Its sister truck, Ford Ranger is better than it.

• I think there are certain design cardinals that cannot be broken. Do not overuse
    chrome with colour parts especially red. Red and chrome makes you nauseatic…

• JonLing on Oct 15, 2010 at 9:05 am

Like the interior, but not so much on the exterior. Front looks like Hilux with some Hyundai Sonata’s fluidic sculpture touch, rear……..hmm……..it’s definitely unique, but not sure it will be pleasing to most of double cab fans…….

• what the ^!%@$^!$# on Oct 15, 2010 at 9:23 am

The rear lights are so “china” truck like. Just remove the lights on that swing gate. It’ll look much better.
    Front bumper too small. Larger bumper please.
    Now, doesn’t it look like a mini toyota tundra?

• lazyf on Oct 15, 2010 at 9:29 am

suit for “iron” ladies…

• rexis on Oct 15, 2010 at 9:41 am

yerrrr…. back light to scare off tigers in the wood?

• Mayonaise on Oct 15, 2010 at 10:02 am

Me being a Mazda fan, the look of this BT-50 looks quite odd… The front is quite alright (looks a tad like the Toyota Hilux) but the rear is just… uninspired… I do welcome the car-like interior though…

The new Ford Ranger wins hands down on this one…

• Sharp angle design on a boxy body :S

• the color is weird ..
    design also not so attractive..
    I don’t think this pick up could match Hilux..

• The rear looks like pasting Mazda 2 rear lights on it.. Looks very ‘car-ish’ intstead of ‘truck-ish’.. Haha

• acerman on Oct 15, 2010 at 11:27 am

The front profile looks nice, like a sedan look. The rear, like something is missing…half done.

• sam.L on Oct 15, 2010 at 11:35 am

they all growing up already except isuzu dmax now the smallest pickup in town. still triton have the longest bed like airpot runway.

• nolan on Oct 15, 2010 at 1:05 pm

Niceeeee….atleast it nicer than Proton Arena…..

• Bius Dogong on Oct 15, 2010 at 1:55 pm

oh please…. ugly side of Mazda…

• hahahaha on Oct 15, 2010 at 6:42 pm

it looks like cx9/cx7. ahaha. cool

• off road user on Oct 15, 2010 at 9:26 pm

much better than Hilux 3.0L…..look tough and sporty…

• you dont need a pickup to look soft like a town car.

• E Bear on Oct 16, 2010 at 9:06 pm

Mazda pick-up trucks and Ford also have not been doing that well the last 5 years.

Too many Toyota, Mitsubishi & Isuzu fans.

It would be nice to see some kangaroo bars in front…….the front grille looks a bit unfinished.

Tail…..easy to identify in the parking lot.

• Pengguna Bijak on Oct 17, 2010 at 11:56 am

Just put black tinted film on that rear brake lights (on swing bed side) and doesn’t look gay anymore. Any AhBeng or Kedai Abang can do it. The rest of rear brake lights also can be all tinted red film giving it visual partition from the black- tinted swing bed lights.

Put some chrome bull bar (lower part only) in front bumper, big 33′ MT tyres, another chrome bull bar below rear bumper with tow buckle and put Carryboy bedliner cover (like Navarra optional bedliner cover) so what so gay-ish about it.

Additional fender flare on all wheel arches (like Hailat and Triton) will give that muscular looks. A full bodykit will complete the whole macho man job.

Just don’t play any Village People or Wham! mp3 then it’s OK!

• CocoBear on Oct 17, 2010 at 8:57 pm

WTF? Those drivers must be either gigalo or females.

• mazda & triton = for gays

• George on Oct 28, 2010 at 7:34 pm

Brilliantly carved Mazda Pickup tail lights add to the beauty of this model.

• raipul on Nov 03, 2010 at 12:52 pm

…eeemmm!!..suma komen nmpaknya tdk menyebelahi MADZA BT50,…tia paaa maaaa…klu sa …janji sampaiiii d tmpt yg d tuju,….nway..GO3x !!!…MADZAaaaaa!!!…

• japanese guyz on Nov 04, 2010 at 10:14 pm

this is not sold for japan