Suzuki recalls Swift over problem with the door mirrors

suzy swift

Here we go yet again. Suzuki announced late last week that it is recalling a total of 90,617 units of its Swift hatchback in Japan to fix a problem with the cars’ door mirrors. A further 192,000 vehicles sold globally are also possibly subject to repairs (might the cars sold here be on the list, one wonders?)

Suzuki said that over time, vehicle vibration could loosen the screws used to secure the door mirrors, causing them to dislodge or fall off. The rectification work involves using adhesive to further secure the screws. Thus far, 77 complaints regarding the defect have been reported in Japan, but there have been no accidents due to it.

The recall, which began last weekend, applies to Swifts produced between May 2007 and September 2009. It also affects 19,426 vehicles sold in Japan manufactured by Suzuki for sale by Nissan, these being the MR Wagon, Cervo and Moco.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Tiadaid on Oct 18, 2010 at 8:23 pm

2010 will be remembered as the year of the recall…man, when will the recall problems end?

• Mat Gipang on Nov 03, 2010 at 2:02 pm

Well, this model was launched in 2005….now is 2010….and 2011 model will be out soon!
      YET!!! SUZUKI STILL HAVE NOT RECTIFY THEIR STEERING RACK PROBLEMS!! 5 YEARS JUST TO RE-DESIGN A RACK?? I have been following the problem highlighted thru the suzuki forum for a while now yet still more worried owners are confirming the same problem! My fire for this awesome car has been doused already.
      Anyway, Is there any other car which has much fun as this yet more reliable ( minor problems i.e side mirrors screws or wipers rattling accepted.. bill won’t come up to 5k unlike..”just for a problem part”) than a swift sport? No Latios pls ;)

• Hehe..what a lovely month for automotif industries.. :)

• I Luv Proton on Oct 18, 2010 at 8:46 pm

Proton never do the same eventhough thousands of their cars have the same problem. Why proton, why??? :( :(

man admits mistake

• Amira on Oct 18, 2010 at 8:51 pm

Is it true Naza is going down?
    Check it out

https://www.blogger.com/comment.g?blogID=3817862292398547413&postID=7669344340524396950&page=1&token=1287133901659_AIe9_BE43py2DU74vBzzlUHuF6DoVniMHLvXVT7DS4az90xV6xtgKqCHzDqiUOw4aVTY6Nn6zPnpB900GDJLlv-z36ODLfNq9tunv8YJus-N6PdXcoMOWsK0hQ3hTwYJnJvM-FViGI9t4

• Steve Jobs on Oct 19, 2010 at 1:27 am

Where have all the Proton Bashers gone?

• when proton make recall, there were hundred of comments (mostly bashing) posted very fast..

this time with suzuki.. why feel a bit quiet eh.. somemore still drag proton into this…

hmmm… wonder why…

• yamseng on Oct 19, 2010 at 6:39 am

old stories bro

• learner on Oct 19, 2010 at 10:14 am

weird!!! the first post for SUZUKI SWIFT topic is about NAZA!!!

• yamseng on Oct 18, 2010 at 8:59 pm

this is sooo cooooollll man.

• haprakah on Oct 18, 2010 at 9:03 pm

to all car manufacturer …

let’s just recall all your car back…

LOL

• zaidebb1 on Oct 18, 2010 at 9:07 pm

got party ka? everyone make a recall

• malaysia sure wont affected!!! so no recall!!

• trav_da_man on Oct 18, 2010 at 9:18 pm

Recall is the new pink in the motoring world!!!! Everyone should have did it once…..or more!!!!!

• fasgen on Oct 18, 2010 at 9:24 pm

no bashers here?

• takNakBN on Oct 18, 2010 at 9:28 pm

wow…..

it’s like a carnival of recalls…

• autojohndoe on Oct 18, 2010 at 10:13 pm

who’s next?

• Facebook_User on Oct 18, 2010 at 10:17 pm

Mcm mcm la these days

• afhstingray on Oct 18, 2010 at 10:49 pm

nice to see a manufacturer recalling because of a quality issue, not just a safety issue.
    if proton did this they’d have to recall pretty much all their cars lol.

• nothing nor nobody is perfect!
    however is good to know they admit thier short comming…that’s the sprit!
    better than waja power window!

• raybrig on Oct 18, 2010 at 10:59 pm

aiyooo…now is musim recall kereta kaa?? so what’s next??..

• Who said Car manufacturer cant recall by just a simple mirror, window or whatever minor defect??? Suzuki did it after 77 complaints, what about our beloved Proton? How many complaints have been made?? Or there’s no one actually complaint to Proton, so they are not aware.. LOL…

• MoFaz on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:44 pm

side mirror could be considered as safety items what.. without side mirror, it will be dangerous to drive around….
      let’s see whether toyota, honda and suzuki in malaysia are all free from defects and not included in the recall yet again…

• iampaultanfan on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:53 pm

and all the previous gen Kia/Hyundai too…latest one not too sure….
      but I remember my friend’s spectra dropped off one of the side mirror when the thunder strikes 2 years ago…funny eh….
      oh ya and you’ll know who they are…those who thumb you down….

• Mr No Name on Oct 19, 2010 at 12:34 am

what about toyota? few hundred cases already and a few deaths baru they minta recall…

• frossonice on Oct 19, 2010 at 8:37 am

Why did you drag Proton over this? Proton did a voluntary recall not to long ago and got bashed to hell because of that. This Suzuki get recalled only after 77 complains and I assume most people will think this is a good decision. Remember, Toyota were FORCED to recall their car and Mitsubishi simply hid their problem.

Any recall is a good thing. It means that manufacturers are taking responsibility on their products. Maybe previous Proton’s Management did not bother about people perception but don’t lump it out with current management. That is not fair.

• Proton should have replaced all the faulty power window switch/motor for all its WIRA or WAJA model VOLUNTARY… as you called it.

• banko on Oct 19, 2010 at 12:04 pm

i think gov should put mental stress subsidy in 2011 budget.

• milo tin on Oct 19, 2010 at 12:52 pm

Recall the farking power windows! mine is still not working! I will want to know who is the supplier of the Waja power window.

• vincent on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:25 pm

Again, Malaysia is not affected? lol :)

• nabill on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:35 pm

can citizens recall their votes in election bcos thy made a mistake ??!!

• davetoh on Oct 18, 2010 at 11:36 pm

“..using adhesive to further secure the screws”??? u mean superglue?? common man, this is taking cbu type cars a bit too far. dread to think what proton would do.

• if this also can be recalled, even when it doesn’t cause any safety issue. … what about . lol . i better hold my words. i am not a basher anyway.

• who said side mirror don cause safety issue…..drive car without side mirror or drive with power window prob which car u dare to drive…even jpj don bother u if power window prob but surely the will book u for driving car without side mirror

• they should recall all the swifts for steering rack as well. well known issue which they r hiding

• swifty on Oct 19, 2010 at 10:40 am

bro…nice to see you here again. let’s just say they recall them over this issue now, how many units would be involved? Hundreds of thousand, I guess, because virtually every unit has this problem. Well, we’ll just have to suck it up and live with it until something bad happens?

• mokkf82 on Oct 19, 2010 at 11:33 am

Anything wrong with your steering rack? It vibrates or steer loosely?

• apexg2 on Oct 19, 2010 at 7:58 am

erm, got swift but ckd…is it ckd include in this call back?

• Ash Menon on Oct 19, 2010 at 8:24 am

Well it’s nice to know that Japanese manufacturers are paying close attention to quality improvement. So far most of the recalls have not involved any fatalities, and only one or two had any accidents.

• rexis on Oct 19, 2010 at 8:30 am

Recall, and you are covered in every media.

Not bad.

• inderaloka on Oct 19, 2010 at 9:54 am

Who said foreign car doesn’t have a defect?

• its here paul and a picture too on the recall issue. though in japanese, nowadays we all have automatic google translate :). and from the article it also affect SX4.

http://response.jp/article/2010/10/15/146448.html

• cslee on Oct 19, 2010 at 11:52 am

Haha…Any car in this world with “Zero Defect”.?

• Had this issue 3 months back. Went back to service centre and they just added loctite.

• Malaysian on Oct 19, 2010 at 2:37 pm

Not sure how true is this, maybe Paul or any other Nissan Grand Livina can feedback ?

NISSAN GRAND LIVINA NEARLY KILLED MY FAMILY!
    http://drjacobgeorge.com/myweblog/?p=1264

• michelin on Oct 21, 2010 at 11:30 am

hah, Suzuki dah recall.. kenapa tak bash?
    Kalau Proton recall, bukan main kutuk lagi..

• buvanesh on Oct 21, 2010 at 6:48 pm

Is this a design issue or assembling issue? because, it seems in India this recalling is not happening. I need to get clarify. Any body have idea??

• aces22 on Oct 22, 2010 at 4:45 pm

I think SX4 also facing the same problem. Mine, siap boleh goyang2 tha side mirror. I reported it to Suzuki service center and they repair my side mirror FOC. they said something to do with the screw and it is not covered in the warrany..