Toyota to assemble Prius in Thailand for Asian markets

Toyota Prius

The recent hybrid-related announcement in Budget 2011 may have been cheery news for potential hybrid adopters, but here’s where it gets even better, especially for those looking closely at the Toyota Prius.

Toyota Motor Thailand is to begin production of the third-generation Prius hybrid, with the vehicle set for its soft launch on October 21 and its Thai market debut next month. The batteries and engine will be shipped in from Japan for Thai production.

Following the Camry hybrid, the ZVW30 will be TMT’s second locally-assembled hybrid. Thailand is the third country to build the Prius after Japan and China, and the vehicle will be exported to other Asian markets to meet rising demands – the assumption is of course that when Thai exports begin, Malaysia will be taking the Prius from here instead of from Japan.

Potentially, dependent on the Thai-made vehicle’s pricing, this would mean an even cheaper Prius in Malaysia. UMW Toyota is currently in the midst of carrying out a revision on the price of the Prius following the full exemption of the import/excise duty for hybrids. How much the Thai-made vehicle will figure towards the final revised price remains to be seen – we’ll just have to wait and see what the final numbers are.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Armeng on Oct 19, 2010 at 1:29 pm

The recent budget announcement cheered by many people as they hope the price of Prius to be lowered and affordable. I hope Toyota is less greedy when they restructured the new Prius price.
    Anyway, sadly to say that Thai always get bigger Toyota investment or priority compared with Malaysia.

• White Jimbo on Oct 20, 2010 at 11:51 am

Well, what can we say when our import tax is so high….U should ask our government not to be so greedy when taxing the people.

• alldisc on Oct 20, 2010 at 3:04 pm

change. change.

• cant u read…? “full exemption of the import/excise duty for hybrids”…. if it still expensive theres nobody to blame but Toyota….

• lalal on Oct 19, 2010 at 1:49 pm

why not assemble in msia??

• 4x4Fan on Oct 19, 2010 at 5:07 pm

Because..Toyota looking at labor cost..Correct me if what I said wrong..compared M’sia and Thai, our currency is more expensive compared to Baht..moreover, Toyota have big plant in Thai compared to us..

• RadzLee on Oct 19, 2010 at 5:49 pm

then they should open a plant in indonesia instead of thai!

• campro on Oct 19, 2010 at 9:31 pm

to choose indonesia or thailand….so thailand better lah…indonesia cannot pakai…m’sia is in middle between them

• you mean our salary is higher? we are hiring indon anyway. So thai can hire indon too. And their gomen seems to be smarter than we have

• MoFaz on Oct 19, 2010 at 9:34 pm

u will just blame gov wherever you live.
          if you’re in thai, you blame gov officials for controlling or having family members in GLC…
          if you’re in Singapore or HK you blame gov for high import tax for cars and sky rocket price of houses…
          if you’re in USA, you blame gov for bailing banks and automakers…
          just tell me, where do you think have the best gov? Arab? Brunei?

• Number-Rocks on Oct 20, 2010 at 12:49 am

MoFaz is saying that Malaysian automobile policy is the BEST of the BEST of the BEST compared to all other countries ………………………….

and dont forget………….he drives a Proton !

• umnosukapitnah on Oct 20, 2010 at 9:36 am

so the conclusion is…gov always wrong & people always right!

• anti-cheater on Oct 20, 2010 at 9:42 am

syurga…..hahaha

• company still hav to pay levy if using indon/bangla/nepal also had to limit how many yr they can work n the local people tend to hav higher pay/demand n higher material cost….thai meanwhile local already cheap, labor law not so strict n material cost/land is cheaper than malaysia, smaller currency value…but they not hav stability as compared to us…stability is not only thing than company see but overall situation

• campro on Oct 19, 2010 at 9:30 pm

i thk thailand is good choice for toyota place their money…so i see no problems they hv plant at thailand and produce car for ASEAN market

• Malaysia’s not friendly Automotive Industry is the very reason why investors are running away. Figure it out.

• Tiadaid on Oct 19, 2010 at 8:14 pm

Funny, for a not friendly Automotive Industry, many brands have set foot here. Not the least bit premium brands like Mercedes. Why don’t Mercedes set up shop in Thailand then?

• campro on Oct 19, 2010 at 9:34 pm

Thailand no lose to m’sia for automotive industry…it depends the manufacturer what they need & what they focus on…for the govt policy, thailand always more attractive.

• than y we all comparing n sulking if car maker go to thai if u say depend the maker what they need n what they focus on…..

• toomba on Oct 24, 2010 at 3:29 pm

thailand has mercedes plant too.

• great move… hopefully can see tis car $ @ 100-120k…

• No way. The batteries and power conversion technology are very expensive and there is no way the price will close or cheaper then the conventional models.

• evoskylancer on Oct 19, 2010 at 5:07 pm

Why not? It is fully exempted from all duties and it’s assembled in Thailand. Thus, we could probably see the price around RM120k.

• 4x4Fan on Oct 19, 2010 at 5:11 pm

Dude,,not only the maintenence..if we talk about price..huh..well..you all already know the tax, when car from outside m’sia,taxed when entered in our Boleh Land..

• Salamander on Oct 19, 2010 at 5:34 pm

For Asia they have AFTA. Even though the Tax is still there but the value should be far more less if CBU from Japan.

• Dude, the duty has been abolish, only sales tax applicable. Read before comment la

• MoFaz on Oct 19, 2010 at 9:37 pm

apa ni, org dah cakap.. tak ada import tax & eksais untuk hybrid cars. tax apa lagi yg ko cakap ni?
          sales tax 10% memang semua kereta kena… even proton cars. kalau taknak bayar sales tax, go buy in langkawi or labuan.

• u buy KFC/MCD or astro or pay phone bill sales/service tax must be pay

• sukasuki on Oct 20, 2010 at 2:18 pm

so right now hybrid cars and 4×4 pickups were excluded from duty tax. just 10% sales tax. hurmmm….

• hewyk on Oct 19, 2010 at 1:51 pm

Brilliant news. Could this potentially bring the Prius down to the same price level of the Civc Hybrid?

• meteoraniac on Oct 19, 2010 at 2:54 pm

one can only hope!! ;) hopefully they would bring in Camry hybrid as well

• Lim Kopi on Oct 20, 2010 at 12:28 am

Yeah but …

Bare in mind the Tax exemption only applies to those below 2.0 engine ….

• Do bear in mind that the Civic Hybrid’s price will also be lowered, in accordance with the removal of the remaining 50% excise duty. So, the Prius will still be more $$$ than the Civic Hybrid.

So… early adopters who bought the early batch of hybrids with the 50% excise duty is being punished with lower resale value!

• alldisc on Oct 20, 2010 at 5:12 pm

would toyota do so? nah! i dont think so. the prius is way too advance compare with civic hybrid. civic uses a series hybrid whild prius one is series-parallel.

and while the civic switches off its engine during stationary, the prius does the same plus can move up to 40kph on the motor alone. better emission level and fuel consumption, especially for city traffic.

• cl_qwertyuiop on Oct 19, 2010 at 1:52 pm

Hopefully, the final price can be affordable for most of us.

• Trust me NOT MOST OF US can afford it.

• campro on Oct 20, 2010 at 1:18 am

for current cbu from japan estimated for rm140k for 2011…soon if cbu from thailand, i see still can cheaper 10k-15k…so total may around rm125k-130k for estimation…this price tag is reachable for majority common citizen to own it…with rm125-130k almost equal to current civic price…now u can see civic/altis is everywhere even in kampung…no problem at all….this is good

• TKLow on Oct 19, 2010 at 1:57 pm

Does it mean that following the full exemption on taxes, our Prius will be priced almost similar to the one sold in the USA? Toyota America is currently selling the range topping Prius at USD 28k (approx. RM 87k).

• Tiadaid on Oct 19, 2010 at 2:09 pm

It supposed to be. But that’s including Toyota America’s profit margin. UMW’s profit margin certainly much different. If the price’s more than that, we’ll know how much is their profit margin.

• weeling on Oct 19, 2010 at 2:31 pm

definitely more than 100k…

• Ash Menon on Oct 19, 2010 at 2:58 pm

I highly doubt that the Prius would ever be THAT cheap over here in Msia. Toyota isn’t THAT generous. Maybe around the 100k range?

• nighttrain on Oct 19, 2010 at 3:50 pm

Usually, the pricing would be whatever the Thai price, then add RM20k and presto! you get Malaysian price. It would be a miracle if the price is the same as Thailand.

• Tiadaid on Oct 19, 2010 at 4:24 pm

But that’s with tax…this is tax free. If they still do that, just goes to show how they think Malaysians are easily fooled!

• rossi46 on Oct 19, 2010 at 5:46 pm

aiya…UMW toyota will sure want big profit margin,….

• Any business entity will want profit. If no profit, then it is called donation instead. People do business as they please, because they have something to sell.

But one might wonder, if a company set up, protected to boot, after 25 freaking years, still doesn’t make profit and above all quality like sh*t, any customer would feel cheated.

Profit is okay; for as long the quality and reliability of the product are there. Even with NAP and super tax implemented we still could see what are the most sought after import family cars out there; Toyota, Honda, BMW, Merc, VW and etc.

• campro on Oct 20, 2010 at 1:21 am

umw cut cost too much…for example altis 2.0v thailand VS m’sia….with rm130k 2.0v we still dun get spec that equal of 2.0v altis sold in thailand…..HAIZZ

• altis 2.0v equal spec but if Corolla Altis 1.6E thai version no airbag, no back sensor and foglamp..malaysian versuion hav all that

• you forgot about UMW’s fat tax!!!

• that show even the G giv 100% exemption still the price can not be same as US ..not only make car need economic of scale(EOS)..but when importing we need that also..eg if malaysia importing 1000 prius, n US importing 100000 prius which will get better EOS…by far US market bigger than malaysia…even thai who will produce prius cannot compete with US price

• White Jimbo on Oct 20, 2010 at 12:01 pm

From what I heard, the final prize is not determine by UMW Toyota suka-suka. They need government approval & u can less assured that our government have both Proton & PETROnas in their mind (or wallet!!) when setting the final selling prize…
      They can screw the rakyat but never never let Proton & Petronas get screwed haha….

• alldisc on Oct 20, 2010 at 5:33 pm

first, USA is an open market especially non-local cars. stiff competition will drive prices down.

second, USA with more than 200 mil population has enough scale of economy for car companies to sell cars at a lower price.

malaysia really lacked the volume. imagine chevrolet is selling only 300 cars here in a year. and net profit is only RM10,000. means net profit is only 3mil.

but if chevrolet’s manage to sell 5,000 cars then they do not need RM10,000 profit per car. RM2,000 alone will make a good 10 mil profit for them.

• I dont think it will make any difference even if the Prius is being build in Thailand as current base on the budget the import and excise duty is already 0% ..So even if it is CBU from Thaliand the price will still be the same..

• mr_3m on Oct 19, 2010 at 5:31 pm

based on the assumption that import and excise duty already at 0%, you are right…

changing the source/manufacturing base of the hybrid models will only give Toyota (and UMW), and not their customers, the opportunity to save some costs (transportation from Thailand v Japan, materials, labour)

hence the final selling price for the Prius etc will be most likely the same to Malaysian, in fact UMW/Toyota may not even pass the cost savings they will make by changing the manufacturing base for hybrid cars to be sold here in M’sia…

and subjectively we may also have to accept some slight sacrifice in build quality & QC…

• scgtimk1 on Oct 20, 2010 at 8:43 am

Don’t hold you breath.

Even if they assemble in Thailand don’t forget every component will come from Japan.

Do you think that raw material is from Thai? In you dreams.

This is the Japanese business practice everything must be Japan and Japan people make money. Even if the procure the parts from Thai vendor… guess what the vendor must be Japanese majority share company, and this company will always make sure Japan is Ichiban (no 1) to get raw material or parts.

Don’t be stupid. the cost will end up higher.

• nabill on Oct 19, 2010 at 2:18 pm

overhyped , i can beat prius fuel consumption with any modern diesel engine , bt sadly not many manufacturers here offer diesel varient

• rossi46 on Oct 19, 2010 at 5:43 pm

actually..our gomen had missed the boat to be the Hub for hybrid …..

now, they making the same mistake …with diesel, they shud have give incentive to diesel manufacturer (european) and become the asian hub for diesel & future diesel hybrid (which make more sense the all this petrol prius’s)….BMW & Pug is waiting for our gomen to give incentive for diesel manufacturer

• alldisc on Oct 20, 2010 at 5:41 pm

nabil, prius is not about fuel saving but its all about environment. its quite obvious you do not care about the world we will inherit to the next generation, right?

toyota internal’s test found out that over a period of 1 year the prius recorded 1,000kg less carbon produced compare to a similar 1.8 litre sedan ( i bet its altis 1.8).

imagine if they sold a million of prius, how much carbon we had saved.

think of the future. think of our children.

• JohnDeep on Oct 19, 2010 at 2:19 pm

By then, I believe the price would be between 130K ~ 135K

• iampaultanfan on Oct 19, 2010 at 2:20 pm

if it’s umw….I don’t think they will sell it cheaper than rm100k….
    we don’t even get the one with solar paner but with higher price….

• gangully on Oct 19, 2010 at 2:27 pm

might be easy to find out… correct me if i am wrong here…

but if we take the prices of all the cars assembled and sold in Thailand and compare it with the price of the cars sold in Japan, we should be able to get a rough idea as to what the difference in price would be (in terms of percentage) then we should be able to get a rough idea of the price of the Prius assembled in Thailand in Baht…

it should be that simple…

Paul, you have the price details?

• 2,050,000 yen (1,952,381 yen without tax) ~ 3,270,000 yen (3,114,286 yen without tax)

• slekuzen on Oct 19, 2010 at 2:34 pm

No way the Prius will be priced at RM87k. That’s in the league of the ageing Vios. It might be able to hit RM115k. And that would already be a miracle…

• andrew on Oct 19, 2010 at 2:40 pm

I’m just a bit curious on the battery on these hybrid cars. As we all knows from our laptops and cell phone battery can’t last more than 2 years, i’m wondering how long can these battery on those hybrid car lasts. Anyone knows how much to change a battery? I’m really interested in driving one though…. :P

• Haidir on Oct 19, 2010 at 4:04 pm

what can i remember from previous fans’ comment;
      “battery need to be replaced every 4 years with cost between RM4k – 12k.”

if that kind of info is true, probably hybrid is just not for me yet. that why car is priced for those who can afford it.

• ong chin aun on Oct 19, 2010 at 4:56 pm

Well, if u maintain the battery well, than it will last longer. Currently how long is your conventional car battery last? Frankly, it should be lasts more than 3 years to 5 years. The important thing is the initial pre-charge !!! Battery must be pre charged b4 used.
        Sure, the shop say no need to charge, but it will last after gurantee period or 2 years +, Then got repeated sale, untung.

Also, self add pure distilled or deionized water to the required level. Of course, your car charger must be in good condition. Of course, if you can take out the battery after a year or two for slow charging will increase the life of battery.

• autojohndoe on Oct 19, 2010 at 5:58 pm

if the batteru for hybrid as at the cost of normal car battery… yes, it is OK…

But this battery is special made… it is expensive!

• i think the hybrid battery is a very different battery from what’s in our hood now …

• Eric Ng on Oct 26, 2010 at 8:52 am

your are right…we have to replace the battery every four years. The new technology is coming soon…stay tuned…

• Perhaps you’ve heard it before, here’s a tip to increase your laptop’s battery lifespan;
      Remove your laptop battery if you’re plugging it to the power outlet (for most of the time). Keep the battery inside the bag and recharge it say; once a week (depending on your mobility needs). Only recharge when your battery power is well below 10%. Your battery will last longer.
      This tip is applicable to hand phones and other gadgets as well.

Last time I visited a friend at a factory, he was operating a skidder/forklift, he told me he never changed the battery for the past 10 years (that’s remarkably long). It turns out, heavy duty batteries are not that heavy duty at all. Only that the battery manufacturer uses better lead/higher quality rods that indirectly increases the battery lifespan. They realize this, so that’s why for the present battery mass production, they’ll always use lower grade battery rods so that they do not run out of business! :X

• ah yat on Oct 19, 2010 at 10:37 pm

Hi Bro,

Are u suggest those hybrid car owner to take out their batteries and run on gas… it make sense… hei then why buy hybrid car? can you explain what we should do when getting a hybrid car? Thanks.

• no they tend to be more pricey..how can forklift driver now that..a bit curious.

• SY0H…u will be laugh by chemist here in paultan if u said like that…

• Eric Ng on Oct 26, 2010 at 8:58 am

hey Bro,

the power output required by forklift is much lower than cars.

and the driving behaviour gives the complex usage (charging/recharging) at every seconds, which could drive a battery lifespan lower…

• GreenEco on Oct 20, 2010 at 1:33 am

TMT offers 10 year warranty for battery of Camry hybrid with unlimited mileage and free replacement for the first 5 years but will charge 1,000 Baht (RM100) for replacement after 5 years. We believe the same warranty applies to Prius.

• alldisc on Oct 20, 2010 at 5:43 pm

according to TMC, even the first gen prius has not had a battery change from now. maybe warranty claims but not end of life reason. and the first prius was launched some time like 12-13 years ago.

• 1 Malaysia on Oct 19, 2010 at 2:44 pm

Another words, Malaysia has lost an opportunity to attract FDI for Hybrid manufacturing,..thanks to government protection policy on Proton. We loss both $$ and job. Dr.M should know the quality of his citizen before making such a failure move. Unlike Japanese or Korean, Malaysian doesn’t have the determination, know how, or work ethic to have a heavy capital intensive industry like car. Not to mention we do not have the substantial market like China to bargain for investment. So like Sun Tze says, not knowing yourself or others, you are bound to failure.

• mirror mirror on Oct 19, 2010 at 4:40 pm

He knew that already, that is why he brought in bread making know how from Japan, many thanks to him the bread is really good.

• Yea, those better got bun, others got bread, most got none.

• mirror mirror on Oct 19, 2010 at 11:06 pm

I hope the blog admin. don’t mind me turning this into a bread story but my favorite is the red bean one. I am going there (Empire Gallery, Subang) next Friday, anyone care to join me? my treat (limited to first 5).

• Mr. Honda on Oct 19, 2010 at 5:41 pm

If you want FDI, well FDI wont take any steps forward to be a product making country. Its only providing our talent pool to be low-level engineers working in assembly line and do some modification. All the design provide by Manufacturer.

• autojohndoe on Oct 19, 2010 at 9:09 pm

this case is where most malaysian cant see… they only see that, if car maker come to malaysia, job will be created, more money comes in…

but will this make they living status higher than current? or just the same…

if this happen… i bet malaysian will still be operators, low level engineers as Mr Honda said…

• ViosUser on Oct 19, 2010 at 11:34 pm

The SPUPIDEST ever comment I ever heard from this IDIOTIC autojohndoe. This is not the first time ge come up with this type of stupid comment.

FDI stimulates TONS OF down stream activities: constrction of factories (material, electrical and civil work), interior decor, logistic, real estate ( I have an apartment rented to a Japanese from Yamaha), service sector (I am a service provider to foreiners). airport, tax from highend retail (each RAKUZEN branch monthly revenue is RM 600k)….you want me to name more ?

You wanna know what incentives PM Najib has given to CocaCola to set up their branch in Negere Sembilan ?

BODOH BETUL LAH INI autojohndoe

• autojohndoe on Oct 20, 2010 at 9:20 am

hey smart A**…

I am talking about living status… Are they become much richer than us?

Making yourself richer doesnt mean the whole country is rich…

• bluetravler on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:42 am

Yeah. You’re are right. Forget about those idiots still buying the ” so call Gov’t Can Do” tag line. If FDI are not important why are the rest of the world fighting toe and nail to get it. Even singapore and big bad china. There was a study done years ago, and was publish in the ST paper in singapore. For every ONE (1) senior exc post to a country, his or she bring 7 (seven) jobs to the locals. (assistant, secretary, maids, etc to banks, secretary firms and etc.) ANd then there are the downline jobs. That innovate news ideals or tech to do a job. (maybe our gov’t is afraid about the ideals part to every thing)
            SO don’t get upset . No need too. I too, as many others here too, finds that most of the MOST vocal supporters of the bolehland gov’t here are just plain idiots. ( who IMHO, when if ever travel aboard, never really open their eyes to see the changes and improvement attain by other countries’ industries.)

• ViosUser on Oct 20, 2010 at 12:00 am

Any fella Mr. Honda yang tak tau datang dari mana……

I used to work for the Japanese, Sigaporean and local company. My best paycheck is still from the Japanese (although their engineers doing the same job as me get much better pay).

Do you know that 50% of the high end apartment around KLCC are owned by foreigners ? Per square feet above RM 1000 ah…… dear Mr Honda. FDI not only provide jobs. Their people spent here.

• Mr. Honda on Oct 20, 2010 at 1:16 am

I partly disagree with you. My friend is an engineer working with MNC company manufactured high performance tyre. I asked him, what did he do while working there?. He said to me, the factory he’s working right now is only embark in manufacturing products. All the design and technical specification are supply by other R&D branches around the world – from high-income economy. They do the design and all the intellectual properties owned by them ( They get much higher pay from us). He brought me some of the tyre detailing ( I hope he will not get caught). I saw all the details originated from others. I did not say he is not doing well while working there. Yes, he can afford Honda City which is comparable to you as a vios owner. I did not say FDI is not good. But to move up to the value added chain. I don’t think manufacturing other people product will make us going to high income economy.

I also used to work with foreign construction company as estimator for years before I do my own business. Vios owner, What you say before are the spinning effects of their money. When their money is gone. What you did to survive? Waiting for the rain to come?

• am agree with u….we should be provider or creator….

• ViosUser on Oct 20, 2010 at 11:10 am

dearest sweetest Mr Honda,

oh pleaseeeee dont compare compare lah…….what do u mean a City owner is comparable to a Vios owner ? A Camry owner is then comparable to a Accord owner ? What are u talking about ? Do you notice that a lot of MyVi at Bukit Damansara is driven by a driver ?

FDI and local technology are 2 different thing. Your Honda City friend can establish his own tyre company anytime. He also can choose to work with a local company anytime. But you should stop giving people a wrong impression that FDI has negative impact. You think you are smarter than PM Najib meh ?

• FDI – buy fish at the market.

what we need to become a fully develop country is…to catch the fish with our own tech n skill.

• Salamander on Oct 19, 2010 at 5:52 pm

So Dr M should attract more FDI and become a nation like Thailand?

No Thanks.

I prefer my current high paying job rather then manual labor. Malaysia move to encourage DDI rather than FDI is crucial in other to become high income country.

That is why we want to see our Domestic Company such as Petronas, AirAsia, Proton, TM, TNB and all SME will become the key player in our Nation/Regional economy. Not to just be overshadow by those Foreign Giants.

• Seriously brother, have you check the 2011 Budget?

• ah yat on Oct 19, 2010 at 10:32 pm

Hi Bro,

Attracting FDI would make us another Thailand. BTW, Thailand is known for what-ever-you-think before FDI flood in.

It has been years FDI is not coming, when the 5th PM took office, so current PM ask for DDI as his excuse, that is PM’s LAST CARD (sorry if your are not a gambler you would not known, it means NO MORE CHOICE), where are we going get enough DDI from these GLC companies which is race bias:

Petronas= sun set business
        Air Asia= Success due to cheap fare to ferrying top students which most of them will not return after graduatation (why= No FDI)
        TM= Joker monopoly phone company which suvives on license control
        TNB= one-year-make-profit-two-years-make-loss-company due to market price of coal and gas, aslo won the title for “make-bad-deals-with-private-power-generators”
        who else sime darby…

• Mata2 on Oct 19, 2010 at 11:14 pm

I should correct your statement of “it has been years FDI is not coming”. Are you the one who approve FDI to M’sia. I was working in an 100% international company 5 years ago and now in 2010.

• that true but do the thai living standard increase….they still hav large pool of poor people as compare to us large pool of middle income earner..our per capita around USD13k-14k thai only USD8k…it look fat FDI for so long do not giv thai the justice that they should get…they should become advance industrial country by now..instead we r getting there more rapid

• autojohndoe on Oct 19, 2010 at 5:55 pm

In Quran, there is a verse:

God will not change a fate of a tribe, until they change it by themselves… sort of like that…

So, what Dr M had done in the past is, he TRIED to change the Malaysian, by bringing Mitsubishi Motor Company as changing catalyst for our industry…

You know who failed it? the persons who keep belittling ownselves… the persons that keep saying, if we never do it, we can do it…

Maybe you can reflect this back to yourself…

• BeemerFreak on Oct 19, 2010 at 7:14 pm

Seems like bloody old man still has some fans, an very loyal ones too….. With car companies like Toyota Honda and Nissan setting up plants here, we dont need to waste over RM600 million a year in R&D to copy the Mitsubishi Lancer.. RM 600 million, imagine how many poor people we can feed, how many scholarships we can give or rather how much we can use to improve public transport…..SO pls people, think before you talk……..

• Tiadaid on Oct 19, 2010 at 8:06 pm

You’re looking at short term gain. If we focus solely on FDI, what would happen when wages started to rise, and competition from other low wage countries becomes intense. We’ve experienced the exodus of companies in the electronic sector to China. You want high income economy, you got to build things, not wait for people to feed you money.

• mirror mirror on Oct 19, 2010 at 11:35 pm

FDI is not just about reducing the locals to low wage blue collor workers.

When the Japanese set up auto assembly factories in Thailand, they have also groomed a host of Thai car parts manufacturers who can compete in the world market. These car parts companies in turn also groomed many high salaried Thai engineers to do R&D in parts design and manufacturing processes. Then there are also many middle management people and smaller peripheral SME’s who make pretty decent economic gains from these FDI. At the same time the Thai government also does not have to divert a large amount of its resources to develop the automotive industry, the foreigners and private sector can take of that.

• scgtimk1 on Oct 20, 2010 at 8:57 am

Yes you are tight about the Japanese groom the local vendor.

did you know that all the vendor there is 100% owned by Japanese or majority Japanese share holder.

The Thai’s gor nothing if these company suddenly want to pack up and go to Vietnam who want to employ these engineers that you say?

The Japanese knows better to invest in Thailand and don;t risk their intellectual property cannot be stolen by thai’s because they don’t have any lcoal company or product that can challenge them.

Malaysia is other way around, think if their (Japanese) technology got into the hands of Malaysian and Malaysian sure ‘curi ‘ and give back to local company that able to produce a product to compete because we are capable of doing that.

• ViosUser on Oct 20, 2010 at 12:14 am

Remember I told you before to stop commenting on financial matter ? Please read your own comment again…..are you high on Ketamine ?

This is a repost from my earlier comment :

FDI stimulates TONS OF down stream activities: constrction of factories (material, electrical and civil work), interior decor, logistic, real estate ( I have an apartment rented to a Japanese from Yamaha), service sector (I am a service provider to foreiners). airport, tax from highend retail (each RAKUZEN branch monthly revenue is RM 600k)….you want me to name more ?

You wanna know what incentives PM Najib has given to CocaCola to set up their branch in Negere Sembilan ?

PIKIRLAH !

• Tiadaid on Oct 20, 2010 at 4:40 pm

Ok wise guy, what if the companies investing here close shop and there’s no local companies to pick up the slack, what will happen to the factories, the service sectors etc? How can they survive if the market’s no longer there?

Nobody said FDI’s not important, but relying solely, mind the keyword SOLELY, on FDI would not move the country forwards. If we rely too much on FDI, we’ll be exposed to incredible risks should foreign markets falter, which is why we should develop self reliance in tandem. If not, why China actively build up its own industries, sometimes through copying of foreign products, while also courting foreign investors? Why China have companies like Lenovo when they could just easily wait for Apple, Dell etc to set up shop in their country?

I think my point is valid enough.

• but luckily Malaysia do not depend on FDI coz some of our company invest outside – direct investment abroad (DIA) from company like petronas, UMW, maybank, CIMB, khazanah, many construction company, genting world, TH, sime darby, TM, maxis..etc

• Kancil_Redbull on Oct 19, 2010 at 8:30 pm

‘…bloody old man…’? Such words should be reserved for a political blog. Let’s keep paultan.org free from political matters shall we? We are here to read about motoring news, including your comment about money spent on R&D, but not what you or I think about a person or political party. And no, I’m not his fan or any party’s fan.

• BeemerFreak on Oct 19, 2010 at 9:59 pm

Nice to see so many patiotic blokes…. True for Kancil_Redbull, lets not spoil Paul’s website by the politics, the voters will decide…………

• mirror mirror on Oct 19, 2010 at 7:33 pm

I think you are wasting your breath, Malaysians have evolved into a self-defeating and self-denying lot.

• Dont say anything stupid. We lucky enough Dr Mahathir setup Proton. I dont want my future son to be working in factory tightening nut and bolt. Of course i dont want my daughter working in place where Thailand is famous for. We now can have our own engineer designing .( dont care if they actually designing or reverse engineering ).

I am gadly can tell u all that i involved in designing offshore module where the site is situated in Thailand. Most person that involved is Malaysian except for manual labour such as welder that come from Thailand. Although the welder were pay in USD per hour. I make more than them in less working hour. I only need a computer,mouse and knowledge.

I admit we have our own weakness. Seem like we Malaysian always learn mistake from the hardway. We must change our mental attitude first.

• longjaafar on Oct 19, 2010 at 2:47 pm

I hope UMW will not be greedy and try to make a killing out of the recent duty exemptions.

• prius... on Oct 19, 2010 at 2:50 pm

I hope it’s less than 90k

• altimate on Oct 19, 2010 at 3:22 pm

Quite the contrary, I find this news a bit disappointing :(
    Although the price may down significantly, but I bet it wont be the same as the Prius CBU from Japan (which has been one my major consideration)
    The finishing (assembly) quality of Thai made is in question and also there may be cost-cutting (some features removed), compared to the Japanese version.

Keeping my fingers crossed.

• Lim Kopi on Oct 20, 2010 at 2:09 am

I totally see what you are saying ….

alot of comments here show that some people are just misguided by the mere pricetag.

whats underneath that car, after being assembled in Thailand, although likely to be cheaper, but things that are actually MADE IN JAPAN will always have some slight premium …. ie, fit n finish , built quality, kit count ….etc … things which u don’t see with the naked eye …

• MoFaz on Oct 20, 2010 at 4:38 pm

to be eligible for AFTA, to eksport to ASEAN countries, Toyota need to use at least 40% parts from local (thai) or asean countries. only batteries and engines are coming from japan, others still made in thai.

• blacky on Oct 19, 2010 at 3:40 pm

i think will be in the range of altis 1.8-2.0

• alldisc on Oct 20, 2010 at 6:13 pm

yes, just like civic. umw is unlikely to ruin vios as no.1 seller in non-national segment.

• Haidir on Oct 19, 2010 at 3:57 pm

as history can tells us. drop of the price will not get much as we expected, disbelieve can you.

• helmi on Oct 19, 2010 at 4:35 pm

Bloodsucking UMW Toyota greedy as ever. Made in Thailand Altis, Camry & Vios are damn expensive here, the same also goes to Made in Thailand Prius.

• iampaultanfan on Oct 19, 2010 at 5:51 pm

umw should consider giving us a good pricing on prius…I’m sure many will buy it if the price is good…they might earn more too by selling more units….umw….pls listen….

• BeemerFreak on Oct 19, 2010 at 7:08 pm

Vios is made in Malaysia…….

• fried tape play on Oct 19, 2010 at 9:52 pm

vios j only, the smeel are spon on. smeels like myvi

• if u compare both malayan n thais camry 2.0E without tax…RM88,400.51 (langkawi price)= RM117250.61 (minus 7%VAT)

something bit weird la…from current system car with engine cc 2,000 – 2,499 suppose tax is like this import tax 30% excise duty 90% sales tax 10% but if u add up

(30%+90%+10%)*88400.51+88400.51=RM203321.17 camry 2.0E

but when i do reverse calc from actual price camry 2.0E

[(144,990.00-88400.51)/88400.51]100=64%? not 130% what do it mean?

• squawk on Oct 20, 2010 at 4:06 pm

You cannot add the percentage. It has to be calculated as 30% of 88k + 90% of 88k = 10% of 88k + 88k.

• MoFaz on Oct 20, 2010 at 4:34 pm

if camry made in thai, no import tax because of AFTA. not sure how many % is excise duty though.

• alldisc on Oct 20, 2010 at 6:34 pm

dont forget, the invisible hand in G setting car prices to favour national makes. vios cannot be cheaper than persona.
          so altis cannot be chaper than vios.
          and camry cannot be cheaper than altis.

• _xXx_ on Oct 19, 2010 at 6:16 pm

5-10k turun dorang kasi kalo buatan siam….

• Well perhaps we could follow the pricing strategy of the Thai Prius. Then add the usual “greed factor” of UMW = MY Prius price

A similar trend can be seen comparing local Altis/Camry with the Thai version :)

• Vincent on Oct 19, 2010 at 6:45 pm

Even the taxes and duty has reduce, it still not mean we going to get cheaper Hybrid car.

UMW will know to do the math…

Let say cost of Prius is RM100K

They will still have to do below market decision:

1) If price below RM140K, what is the # pontential Camry will go to Prius?
    2) What is the total # of Prius can be bring in? that allowed by G to issue AP?

Then, they will have to further consider below:

If seling RM120K, can sell 1000 unit a month. 1000 x 20K = 20,000,000

If selling RM140K, can sell 600 unit a month. 600 x 40K = 20,000,000

End up, still sell at RM140K…

• _xXx_ on Oct 19, 2010 at 8:47 pm

I think I have proven to you guys previously that Prius is ridiculously priced.

Prius price should be slightly more expensive than Civic Hybrid, not 30-40%.

• Mata2 on Oct 19, 2010 at 11:23 pm

These 2 are different in engine displacement, therefore the price is not in the same bracket.

• _xXx_ on Oct 20, 2010 at 8:52 am

Maybe you didn’t read my previous reply.

In SIngapore, the cost price of both Civic Hybrid 1.3L AND Prius 1.8L are very close. Do we still want to talk about cc thingy here?

• OMV is close does not mean that the final price will be close..oneshift the diff final price is ~RM22k

• banko on Oct 20, 2010 at 12:51 am

i dont think UMW will put cheaper price for prius,,,they will sqeeze malaysian hybrid customer before p1 turn come…

• evoskylancer on Oct 20, 2010 at 9:32 am

the price of prius in langkawi is around RM127k while the price of civic hybrid is around RM100k…so, after the budget announcement, the price of prius should be around 27% more expensive than civic hybrid…however, now that prius will come from thailand, the gap may come down….prius may be around 20% more expensive than civic hybrid only

• yesman on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:38 am

xXx, every one know mal cars is expensive, even P1 & P2 cars r selling more here than others!

• kubuddy on Oct 19, 2010 at 6:56 pm

new altis price is too much & hard to see on the road

now no tax for hybrid UMW should bring down their pricing to gain back market share. Malaysian know how much UMW profit…

• dragster on Oct 19, 2010 at 7:18 pm

BRAVO!!! TOYOTA for bringing in PRIUS in to asian for assembly…hopefully we can less for a hybrid car…..BRAVO

• J@CK LIM on Oct 19, 2010 at 7:26 pm

Hope no recall when mass production XD

• Neutral on Oct 19, 2010 at 8:06 pm

why Thailand? why why? Make in Malaysia lah,better quality and finishing :)

• fauzi on Oct 19, 2010 at 9:42 pm

Coz our Malaysia going to be high-income economy by the year 2020.

• fried tape play on Oct 19, 2010 at 9:50 pm

simple. thai’s ‘cable’ are stronger

• campro on Oct 20, 2010 at 1:48 am

Honda made in M’sia…troublesome for most honda owners….our labor too lazy….HOW GOOD??? i prefer all japanese car to build in thailand instead of M’sia…Indonesia sure more worse…

• yesman on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:35 am

simple reason! thailand impose fair policy but bolehland has quota!

• banko on Oct 20, 2010 at 11:30 am

quota is good if it have good objective…. if objecive try to avoid bubble…then it good…

• New Lotus Concept Production Dream on Oct 19, 2010 at 9:52 pm

Not sure if people buy this car cares more about the environment or own pocket money. Not so green after all as compare with modern diesel. Battery life sustainable/disposable? I was wondering what would happen if the car ran across a sharp object that pierces into the battery by accident.

• for Asian or for ASEAN market??

• GreenEco on Oct 20, 2010 at 1:49 am

According to previous report,

“The world’s biggest automaker wants eventually to export the hybrid cars from Thailand to quickly expanding Asian markets”

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/SEAsia/Story/STIStory_563283.html

• scgtimk1 on Oct 20, 2010 at 12:57 pm

This automaker also last time promised local UMW Toyota that Vios will be exported to other ASEAN country so assembly of Camry and Altis should be moved to Thailand to free up capacity..

boohooooo, everybody got fooled by those greedy Japanese coz they don’t have majority stakes here in Malaysia.

• Jimmy on Oct 19, 2010 at 10:16 pm

Toyota Prius is: UGLY.

• _xXx_ on Oct 20, 2010 at 8:59 am

Please say, IMHO or personally….toyota prius is ugly. I think this is better.

• evoskylancer on Oct 20, 2010 at 9:42 am

i beg to differ mr. jimmy…toyota prius is one sleek hybrid machine and the design is very pleasing to the eye…

• alldisc on Oct 20, 2010 at 6:38 pm

toyota prius is the best design for aerodynamic purpose. not downforce, but smooth airflow. it is apparent same design with 1st gen honda insight.

• If the price is too expensive, I will buy from Thailand and bring into Malaysia, it is tax free!!! Anyway I don’t think Prius will be selling cheaper than Civic Hybrid.

• campro on Oct 20, 2010 at 1:50 am

then u may not entitled for purchase ron95 fuel…but it still good can save more money…

• _xXx_ on Oct 20, 2010 at 8:57 am

What a GREAT idea! You are a genius….hehe

• rossi46 on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:37 am

U need AP for that if not mistaken

• _xXx_ on Oct 20, 2010 at 3:00 pm

no need to know whether AP is needed or not. Common sense tells you that it’s not easy to bring in a foreign car else our roads will be flooded with siam/sg scrap cars and who the hell is gonna buy local car/protong!

• JohnDeep on Oct 20, 2010 at 9:46 am

you need AP bro.

• u still need AP

• untouchable on Oct 20, 2010 at 5:37 am

Its better from the mother country… Thailand output has so many -ve comments.

• leonardo on Oct 20, 2010 at 8:06 am

The bottom line is, i would only consider buying any hybrid if the price drops below RM 100K. Anything over than that is considered ‘luxury’.

• Love to own a Prius at lower price!

• umnosukapitnah on Oct 20, 2010 at 9:50 am

if price under 120k…babai laa to ugly corolla altis!!

• talk about hybrid’s battery how long (KMs) it will last?

• alldisc on Oct 20, 2010 at 6:40 pm

no prius owner has need to change battery even from 1st gen prius due to end-of life reason. info from toyota motor corp.

• Faisal on Oct 20, 2010 at 2:16 pm

i must say that this prius is ugly.. but interior i don’t know..

• Not-Soul-Uncle on Oct 20, 2010 at 3:35 pm

those who said UMWT blood sucking, go work for them, get big fat bonus and buy a Prius at staff discount.

those who welcome FDI, give yourself applause, we rather want our children to work as a low pay factory workers than street menacing mat rempit.

buying a hybrid, pointless to me, I’ll rather enjoy my 100% petrol internal combustion car for a few more years before i take MRT.

• Machi on Oct 21, 2010 at 12:23 am

Whatever it is …make sure every malaysian is afford for a hybrid and together we reduce carbon footprint!

• Vincent on Oct 21, 2010 at 12:22 pm

In this case, the price should be follow Langkawi as it is the same tax free, duty free in Malaysia..

Btw, I see Honda Malaysia websitestated Langkawi price for Hybid Civic at RM100980 OTR…

But I can find this info in toyota Malaysia ler…

Let see how much more UMW and Honda Malaysia want to make.

• Paul Tan on Oct 21, 2010 at 12:34 pm

No, you still have to add 10% sales tax to the Langkawi price as only import and excise tax is 0% now.

• Vincent on Oct 22, 2010 at 10:38 am

oohh…It mean for automotive in boleh land, we have AP (cost RM10K), import tax (can be up to 200% for high end model), Excise Duty, and sales tax…

In this case, 10% sales tax will still apply.

When GST come in, the sales tax 10% might drop to 4%.

• ezracopters on Oct 24, 2010 at 3:32 pm

is it wrong if i say.. i just love reading u guys babblin bout FDI, GLCs, gov plan etc rather than prius itself.. heck i dont even like prius anyway, not a man car in term of design and engine tech (my opinion la hehe) i love the planet by planting lots of plants round my homeyard..