Mitsubishi Lancer Sportback 2.4 launched in Malaysia

lancer sportback 1

Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia today unveiled the new Mitsubishi Lancer Sportback, and the hatchback’s arrival expands the the Lancer range in the country to two model and three variant types, the GT and EX sedans being the others.

The fully-imported, five-door C-segment offering, which Danny Tan reviewed in Japan, is available only in 2.4 litre form here, and the 4B12 four-cylinder pot – also worn by likes of the Outlander – puts out 168 hp at 6,000rpm and 226Nm of torque at 4,100rpm. The block is mated an Invecs-III CVT box with a six-speed manual mode.

lancer sportback 2

The main draw with this 1,415 kg creature, besides its sporty outlook, is in its cargo space – while no van, the 60:40 one-touch folding rear seats get to about 10-degrees from completely flat, and in a seat-stored position you get a cargo space that’s 1,570mm deep and 1,395mm wide, which is pretty decent. In base form the boot is good for 345 litres of space.

Additionally, the floor is height-adjustable via a single one-handed operation to provide either a hidden storage compartment or provide an extra 90mm depth.

lancer sportback 3

Standard equipment includes front sport seats, automatic air conditioning, a six-speaker two-DIN LCD touchscreen entertainment system, front fog lamps, a rear spoiler and steering column-mounted magnesium paddle shifters.

Automatic headlamps and rain-sensing wipers are also part of the kit, as is cruise control (with buttons on the steering spoke), sporty aluminium pedals and a front strut tower brace to help sharpen handling.

lancer sportback 4

There’s plenty of leather to be had, what with Nappa covering all the seats, and the gear knob, parking brake lever and three-spoke steering wheel also get the hide bits. As for wheels, the Sportback sits on 18-inch 10-spoke alloys, wearing 215/45 series rubbers, and safety features include dual front SRS airbags, Active Stability Control (ASC) with Traction Control, ABS with EBD and brake assist.

The Lancer 2.4 Sportback is available in three colours, Lightning Blue, White Solid and Black Mica, and is priced at RM129,363.00, on-the-road excluding insurance, and it comes with a three-year/100,000 km warranty as well as Mitsubishi’s 2-Year Free Maintenance package.

lancer sportback 5

If you however fancy a bit more sport in your Sportback, then the Lancer Sportback LE is definitely going to get you going. Lots of dress up bits in this special edition, of which only 30 units are available.

There’s a repainted front grille, gun metal-finish rims and carbon fibre design trim on the rear bumper, for starters. Ralliart accessories include stickers and emblem, front bumper foil, fog lamp ring and scuff plates, and the interior is enhanced with redesigned, race-inspired Nappa leather seats with red and orange stitching. All this for just a bit more over the standard Sportback, at RM130,831.00, also on-the-road excluding insurance.

Gallery of launch photos after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1636]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Davidz on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:18 pm

Proton Inspira Aeroback!

• kiddd on Oct 21, 2010 at 10:32 pm

Pity to Lancer, after Inspira were launched, all people will relate Mitsu lancer with Proton Inspira…

• BeemerFreak on Oct 22, 2010 at 7:57 am

Yeah pity to Mitsubishi, great heritage brand being associated with 3rd world company. No matter people with the right frame of mind will still buy a Mitsu, at least for me I know that all components are made and assembled in Japan.

• scgtimk1 on Oct 22, 2010 at 9:41 am

Pity you are born in a 3rd world country! Pathetic ain’t it?

• Haha… Slap on own face!!

• losantara on Oct 23, 2010 at 2:44 pm

ya we are all very pittiful bacause of all this rebadge exercise….but we dont have a choice sob sob

• scgtimk1 on Oct 22, 2010 at 9:42 am

Sorry I mean ‘were born’ .

• Finalist Imam Muda Astro Oasis on Oct 22, 2010 at 10:42 am

Ustaz says stop moaning and groaning over your regrets that you live in a 3rd world country.

Just pack your bag and leave this country la… simple mah!!

• Dodgy on Oct 22, 2010 at 10:51 am

They could use local (Proton) parts.. and you don’t even know it.. :)

• anand on Oct 22, 2010 at 2:15 pm

it’s CBU la….do you understand the terms used?

• SukaTgkOrg on Oct 22, 2010 at 11:57 pm

anand..its CBU yup.. but still… they can buy Protons Part ..fix it in Japan..and send it back here :-) (sound fimiliar isnt it?) ..but hold on..whats wrong with our own product?

• S.Roma on Oct 23, 2010 at 9:34 pm

Ya lor, CBU – complete build up, means totally from Japan…

• mohammadsuhaimi on Oct 22, 2010 at 10:57 am

I think u were born at 4th world country
          No tonly Mitsubishi being rebadged by proton, Citreon PSA also rebadge. What about Suzuki being rebadged by Subaru.

• fadhli p.edar on Oct 22, 2010 at 2:16 pm

F.U!! they r made in japan but assemble in THAILAND laa…!!! do your study 1st before opening your mouth idiot!!

• ichi24 on Oct 23, 2010 at 1:36 am

another typical basher

even if proton make a great comeback

you people would bash to no end

i pity your brain more than i pity the monkey in the jungle

• DICKYBIRD on Oct 23, 2010 at 4:00 pm

make the comeback first then you talk, proton.

• What comeback? Rather a twist of U-turns as I can see it. Back to the same 25 years ago strategy, Rebadge, Rebadge, Rebadge. At least Perodua accepted its fate as a Toyota/Daihatsu clone. Protong keep on telling the rakyat that they are local kampung champions; fought off the Japanese and European marques (while in the same time, making back deal with them Mitsu, Lotus etc). As the saying goes, “meludah ke langit, ter SLAP muka sendiri!”. Kroih ptuih!

• yeh persona-r :-)

• waklu on Oct 22, 2010 at 10:48 am

mitsu management doesn’t care…yg penting profit :-)
        “arigatok proton..haip haip haip..itu keleta akan mayak laku..haip haip..luit luit(duit duit)..
        haip haip :)” <–said mitsu CEO dengan 18 kali tunduk :)

• ho ho on Oct 22, 2010 at 1:12 pm

and we have ppl here who are actually proud of our local car company… proton boleh! boleh apa? tak tahu…

• yeah…i am proud of proton…and nobody force u to proud of proton…and nobody force u to buy proton…if wanted to own imports, go for imports…BUT if u have no $$$ to own imports, keep quiet and use public transport or own a honda ex5…

• Dodgy on Oct 22, 2010 at 9:42 pm

Aly.. you seem not to mind paying RM40,000 for your ap, instead for your children’s education … you must be damn rich.. or vanel.!

• 4x4Fan on Oct 22, 2010 at 1:16 pm

Hey Dude..You all discuss la hatchback ni puas…Sy cuma nak tanya…Hot chicks to include the hatchback price ke…? I need one…!hahahah….

• Anyone who buy cygnet also will be related to iq? Is it?

• i don think this model is on their agreement..it quite annoying..proton not that desperate like u guys…..they not need more hatchies they already hav gen2 n neo..next generation gen2 might be from persona R without butt….this too many door n the butt too big for neo

• allen on Oct 22, 2010 at 9:26 am

i tot the persona is from gen2 +butt ? so the persona R is another new design ?

• Black Dog on Oct 22, 2010 at 12:01 pm

I thot Ralliart is Dead??? For us ‘3rd world’ country only?? Anthony?

• gtmaniac on Oct 22, 2010 at 8:26 am

Funny.. that is the excactly the first words that crossed my mind too!

• 1Malaysia on Oct 22, 2010 at 2:21 pm

Inspira edition 2020

• rosdi on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:20 pm

The girl is gorgeous. :-)

• iampaultanfan on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:35 pm

the Le package looks nice….just 30….sweet

• Smart guys get this?

• Machi on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:41 pm

Very good price strategy by MMM! 2.4L for only 130K ..can consider. Any figure on CO2 emission, 0-100kmh and weight?

• Sportback looks great, but is it too pricey for a sportback ?

• JKucing on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:44 pm

So we will have Inspira hatchback as well?

• likehondanotsomuch on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:46 pm

Wooooo,,,,,,,Inspira hatchback reveal !!!

• get this and after 1 year it becomes inspira aeroback? no thank you sir.

• i don think this version is on their agreement

• oomph on Oct 22, 2010 at 8:19 am

they can make new agreement if they want….

• dexter on Oct 22, 2010 at 8:33 am

how do you know?? are you willing to risk rm130k of you hard earn money only to find out proton will be rebadging it as inspira hatchback 1 year down the line!? i certainly am not! i have lost faith totally in Mitsubishi.

• Black Dog on Oct 22, 2010 at 11:58 am

Mitsu Malaysia is the victim

• ichi24 on Oct 23, 2010 at 1:40 am

those japanese couldn’t care what your thinking is

any deal is done will only result in = $$$$$$$

they are lol-ling at you all

• and mitsu dont care if u lost faith on them…u are nothing to them…so go get civic or toyota…hauhauhauhau

• autojohndoe on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:48 pm

wow… its big… abit like caldina’s size…

• Turbo on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:49 pm

wait till Proton rebadge this car………

• h4dRi on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:49 pm

price similiar to lancer gt but now with 2.4, more angry lancer owner after this perhaps?
    the looks is kinda weird thou, rear looks like harrier …

not sure wheter it will sell well as people afraid mitsu will sell this design to proton too

• Scott on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:49 pm

Our future Satria NEO… nicezzz

• With inspira coming up, this is an alternative for those who want and can afford a lancer but of more distinctive from ‘inspira looking lancer’, or i suppose ‘lancer looking inspira’. lol

By the way, the girl looks gorgeous, but why only one pic? you keep the rest for your self Anthony?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Oct 21, 2010 at 10:09 pm

It’s the only one I have. Really. :)

• Cool didn’t realize this was written by Mr Anthony Lim and not conventional Paul or Danny. Who’s Mr Anthony and Mr Jacob now? Sorry not updated on the new authors.

Nice. Comparable to mostly reconditioned Caldina in terms of wagon-sized design. But why CVT since so many reliability issues? First, in the City, then Lancer now soon to be problematic gearbox issue on Inspira. Should use dual clutch like Ford (in the Fiesta) and VW with their dual clutch + DSG.

• walaoeh on Nov 12, 2010 at 2:36 am

actually DSG also start to face problem liao….let’s wait and see Getrag’s GB got prob or not~

• tianshi on Oct 21, 2010 at 8:58 pm

Proton Inspira Aeroback

• DiscoStick on Oct 22, 2010 at 1:11 am

Was there any Waja Aeroback? No right? It is not going to be Inspira butt-less :P

• Lover on Oct 21, 2010 at 9:02 pm

Go away Proton Inspira!

• nice package and not so bad pricing….
    personally i think it’s a great car and worth buying..

• retro boy on Oct 21, 2010 at 9:06 pm

the return of proton aeroback in 3 yrs.

• hapacrita on Oct 21, 2010 at 9:06 pm

wow……!!

• nelson on Oct 21, 2010 at 9:07 pm

quite pricey..
    or for me only?

• Andrew on Oct 21, 2010 at 9:07 pm

excellent value for a 2.4 :]

• alex tye on Oct 21, 2010 at 9:07 pm

haha….say no to MIT !! SCARED become Proton !!

• raybrig on Oct 21, 2010 at 9:08 pm

Inspira Aeroback…hehe….

• Will proton produces inspira hatchback too?

• theautoland on Oct 21, 2010 at 9:22 pm

consider it better if you plan to buy this Mitsubishi Lancer Sportback, because two years from now there will be Proton Inspira Sportback. just some minor change for sure – front grill to smile face – rear bumper – and ‘maybe’ some other little change…Another one – Lower price.

but if u really want it now, prepare to sell it on 2012. it’s good for our automotive industry anyway..2 years life cycle.

• anand on Oct 22, 2010 at 2:10 pm

another speculator

• jeeland on Oct 23, 2010 at 12:11 pm

so such this as that! cant you see, this is business strategies. the mitsu will not sell Lancer sedan anymore after the inspra. that is why they sell 2.4 sportback such low price

• will it be the next inspira aeroback/sportback?.hehe..

• I will not dare to buy any Mitsubishi, big NO NO NO, unless you are not learn the lesson…

• anand on Oct 22, 2010 at 2:09 pm

actually what car do you own now and by when do you want to buy one…

• and mitsu dont care if u lost faith on them…u are nothing to them…

• can’t understand how Mit think… giving engine (and looks) to Proton. Proton sell much cheaper… who want to buy lancer?? now even more expensive hatchback???

• rageaccel2 on Oct 21, 2010 at 11:03 pm

thought i read ‘CBU’ somewhere in the text there….

• JonLing on Oct 22, 2010 at 9:11 am

mitsubishi ppl are no stupid bunch of ppl lah…..come on, they are not opening up a non-profit organization ok?? these people know what they are doing lah. i just dun understand why many people here just said like the mitsubishi ppl are so retarded or something……sigh~

• SukaTgkOrg on Oct 23, 2010 at 12:09 am

you are so right… people forget …by selling Inspira .. Mits actually sell more of their Lancer (albeite in disguise).. better turn around overall, faster to reach their production targets and recoupe their product development investment.. surely they are not stupid..the stupid one are those who are too proud and still banging about CBU imported Lancer when Inspira is already here. but then again out of those who are proud about the CBU..mostly not even going to buy them anyway heheheeh

• so what!!

• Proton Inspira Aeroback !!! hehe after CKD price will be RM100k :P

• ericboy on Oct 21, 2010 at 9:29 pm

Wow!! Cool!! ^.^

• After what happened to the Lancer GT… i think ppl would be afraid to buy this one.

• Adwin on Oct 21, 2010 at 9:35 pm

Good News!

Hope Proton won’t rebatch this model as (Proton Inspira Aeroback).

• wow…..i like it…..speechless…..idamanku…..

• tigertie on Oct 21, 2010 at 9:39 pm

2.4 @ ~130k CBU Nippon, not bad at all..

• dude.. the next inspira aeroback.

• forfunonly on Oct 21, 2010 at 9:45 pm

with the recently launched Proton Inspira….I doubt people will be rushing to get this version….for obvious reasons…..so why launch this??

• walaoeh on Nov 12, 2010 at 2:41 am

I think MMM needs to make an official public announcement pointing MMC will not be selling this sportback to Potong~ Otherwise people will just get scare off one…

• Now cost ard RM130K, after 1/2 years past. proton rebadge then will coz RM90K…

• hinder on Oct 21, 2010 at 9:54 pm

overpriced

• Sharfox on Oct 21, 2010 at 9:55 pm

Hmmmm…. a question will arise. Why a Lancer when you can have a Proton? Cheaper price with LOTUS handling some more. The real Lancer is PROTON.

• sapa-sapa on Oct 21, 2010 at 9:55 pm

wah! nice and cute girl….

• Road Thunder on Oct 22, 2010 at 8:57 am

The girl is cuter than the vehicle…at least MMC got that one right

• maybe it will be a Proton it in 2 years time…. like the wira areoback sometime back :o)

• Kruel on Oct 21, 2010 at 9:57 pm

SRM II?

• mr. wiseGuy on Oct 22, 2010 at 2:09 am

what is SRM II ?? sorry i’m not that wise

• michelin on Oct 22, 2010 at 9:46 am

SRM = Satria Replacement Model = Neo.. i don’t think Proton is gonna rebadge this ‘jerung pendek’ as Neo since Neo is only 3-door.. leave this hatchback to Mitsu, P1.. you already got the ‘full jerung’..

• TheKHAI on Oct 21, 2010 at 10:00 pm

The leftover is given to proton, who market it as a ‘new’ model. Lol

• Nice price tag for a 2.4 but who will buy? Later Inspira upgrade to 2.4 hatchback, then you have to bang your head to the wall like others.

• off road user on Oct 21, 2010 at 10:00 pm

apsal aku tgk semacam jak bentuk….(rear body hatchback mcm pelik laaaa….)….

• Nice ~~~ but i think mitsubishi is going have their ASX rebadge for renault (i think) ~~~ I have a feeling this car will be rebadge as well … =.= (Mitsubishi, Please don’t let everyone down again)

• Paul Tan on Oct 21, 2010 at 10:17 pm

I just noticed the multi-info display in between the steering wheel has a color display!

• Wo hen wuliao on Oct 22, 2010 at 12:19 am

yup multi info display same like US version of lancer hatchback

• Sarimin on Oct 21, 2010 at 10:25 pm

:) nice info…

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Oct 21, 2010 at 10:32 pm

Why don’t you all f**king understand the reason why Proton rebadge Lancer,it’s purely to cut cost and Mitsu will also rebadge Proton’s car,get the facts right not talking craps.

• imran on Oct 21, 2010 at 10:47 pm

thanks for da info. let’s all dig deep and think of malaysian potential. critique from the inside will hold us back.

• c14man on Oct 21, 2010 at 11:57 pm

yes it’s totally an acceptable business strategy to rebagde.
      but to let another company rebadge your car and you yourself selling the same original model in the same country is kinda stupid move right?
      it makes people lose trust in your brand.
      if you own a lancer, you will understand how they feel.

so, no it’s not ok to launch a similar car of different form in the country where they have your rebagded car.
      might as well let the company rebadge this also.
      it’s essentially the same thing.

• So, dont blame Proton…blame the 3-Diamonds…
        I think Proton did well for itself in securing the rebadge deal…

• khaix19a on Oct 22, 2010 at 9:22 am

i think its not any one fault, mitsubishi sell copyright of lancer to proton to earn some profit, if I ceo of mitsu i do the same thing if the deal can make some money, its all about business, from my opinion proton is proton and mitsu is mitsu there is different between proton and mitsu…

• JonLing on Oct 22, 2010 at 9:34 am

no….i dun think that’s stupid at all. just look at daihatsu and perodua in the UK, daihatsu is selling its own sirion there, while perodua can still sell myvi. i dun think daihatsu’s sales have been affected greatly by myvi.

the same goes to japanese market. some car companies rebadge the models and sell in the same japanese market as the original ones, and dun even have plan of selling the rebadged model out of japan. i dun think either one of the car company is suffering because of that decision. it’s just the matter of catering for different market sections.

• shamazlan on Oct 22, 2010 at 6:01 am

why mmc want proton car? they can’t design a car?

• eJason on Oct 21, 2010 at 10:37 pm

What the heck is mitsubishi thinking, who in the world would believe this brand again after the lancer case!

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Oct 21, 2010 at 10:38 pm

Why didn’t you all go crazy and mad when Citroen and Peugeot rebadge Mitsu’s car.
    Proton will not rebadge this Lancer,that’s why they bring in this Sportback and by the way there is no difference when they give Lancer to Proton because the sales for the sedan is not that good.

• Agree, all this people just never learn. I hate reading pointless comment form Malaysian so called car lovers when they them selves don’t understand what is going on in the automobile industries these days.
      They are just here to make noise when they themselves can’t even afford to buy the original car in the first place, yet have the guts to make such comments.
      My conclusion is simple, they only make noise coz it’s Proton doing that. They won’t bother if Perodua or Naza are doing the same thing.
      Typical katak bawah tempurung daaaa…

• 4x4Fan on Oct 25, 2010 at 10:22 am

Go back and Study Business la Bro…Business mmg mcm ni..Too much strategy..Apa da…..Sempit pmikiran ko ni..

• CopyCat on Oct 21, 2010 at 10:40 pm

smart guys get it…watch http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TK8CRvvTSow

• value 4 money.
    the same price can only get u a totoya altis top spec and a civic 2.0 with modula bodykit. still, toyota and honda loose out 400cc and also its a JAPAN CBU!!!
    will the lancer gt get a 2.4 also?

• rapishifter on Oct 22, 2010 at 12:38 pm

don’t forget for 2.4 they hv manual six speed version….nice

• Looks sporty, reasonable price for 2.4 CBU good specs, now many consumers worried of Mitsu rebadge programme.. zzzz

• Talking about hatchback, Golf is still the King…

very bad timing for MMM since our proton gonna hav the new launch Inspira..

• Looks good on the surface but sadly it only cost RM 80K in taiwan for the same car but it’s a 1.8. The price 130k for a 2.4 looks good in malaysia but do you guys know why they want to bring in only a 2.4? Look at it in a different view and you know how “sincere” the company is doing for their msia customers. Just my 2cents.

• campro on Oct 21, 2010 at 11:42 pm

100% i can guarantee nobody is going to buy this car anymore…

• Super kancil on Oct 21, 2010 at 11:43 pm

For this lancer~inspira lesson,i guess nobody dare to buy mitsubishi anymore!!! MMM please leave yr pajero here and dabao go back to japan!! All malaysian takut and not trust u anymre!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• ichi24 on Oct 23, 2010 at 1:47 am

who they care????

your nothing to them, remember???

they here to make $$$$$$

and you have no right to meddle in their business.

they sell only to those that interested in their cars,

if you can’t afford it, then do ‘cussing around like you have over 900000 in your bank acccount

sheeesh mahresian mentality :x

• theanswer on Oct 21, 2010 at 11:50 pm

2.4 engine with 130k price? wow..cheapest 2.4 car in msia. good job mitsu.

• ayayay on Nov 22, 2010 at 5:17 pm

cheapest for now.. soon Perdana replacement model [PRM] will be cheapest model for 2.4 engine with 120k

• ayamxxx on Oct 22, 2010 at 12:08 am

wow, dvd plus gps player is there!

• Mitsu deserves to be spanked for betraying their customers.

• junaidi on Oct 22, 2010 at 9:27 am

betray in what way?

Orang yang nak beli Mitsubishi beli lah, orang yang nak beli Proton beli lah. No one forcing them to buy it.

And for those who already bought Lancer GT’s and GS’, sudah beli apa, is their problem now.

• comahead on Oct 23, 2010 at 8:07 am

is it…? or after few years they cannot beat T&H in term of sales volume so better give it to P… more income & volume via comm…

• soon, proton will announce proton inspira aeroback

• ayayay on Nov 22, 2010 at 5:13 pm

nah .. dont think so.. they more likely hatchback instead of aeroback.

• I would love to buy this if Proton don’t rebadge it anytime soon, really like the black color!

• Once bitten 3 Diamond ex fan on Oct 22, 2010 at 1:54 am

Fool Me Once Shame On You,
    Fool Me Twice Shame On Me.

Are u kidding us MMC?

• TonyT on Oct 22, 2010 at 2:25 am

Compare this to Golf 1.4 TSI, i think Golf is a better buy. What do u guys think ?

• theanswer on Oct 22, 2010 at 9:21 am

based on performance yes..but i think golf tsi a bit smaller.

• Mitsubishi should just close their showrooms and sell Proton cars….

• Garfield on Oct 22, 2010 at 4:52 am

Mitsu is doing Proton a favour lah, by creating more ‘halo’ models for ordinary people to dream over. It makes u aware (or dream) that you can plonk in a 2.4 in place of your 1.8 4B10 later when a 4B12 halfcut is available. It doesn’t really matter if this model sells well or not, or if really anybody feel betrayed. The profit they get per Inspira that Proton sells should match what they get for each Lancer sold anyway.

• droll on Oct 22, 2010 at 6:08 am

nice power but road tax mati la.

• amievil on Oct 22, 2010 at 6:39 am

why is there anyone reject this mitsu’s car enter the market?
    if dont like it, just go buy another car.

mitsu or proton or any car producer has their own target sales &
    the product are relevant with their goals.

they has nothing to do with “all malaysian will buy this & that car”.
    as long as their target sales are achieved (even only 100 units per year),
    there wont be any issue for them. if the sales are beyond the target, then its a bonus.

so, let any sedan, hatch, sportsback, lancer, inspira enter into this market. it is the company ‘s strategy.. and they would have hired the best marketers they could find that probably are given triple the salary than yours.

its all about THEIR strategy.

SO DONT TALK LIKE ITS YOUR FATHER’S BUSINESS!

• shinrei on Oct 22, 2010 at 8:22 am

i think many of lancer owner don’t get down to the fact that proton takes mitsu car and re-badge it… heheheh!

• Critic on Oct 22, 2010 at 9:57 am

If everyone thinks like you, we wont need to have paultan website, or any automotive websites or car mags.

I think the comments here for this topic are all quite relevant as everyone is discussing if this model is worthy or not. When pricing and cost are concerned, we could discuss on the resale value, maintenance, after sales, and today, whether the car wil be rebadged which will affect the resale value or future price.

• Erran on Oct 22, 2010 at 7:08 am

i got d original, u got d pirated version… hehehe…

• karimngah on Oct 22, 2010 at 7:40 am

Proton , Just JV with MMC and just rebadge
    whatever MMC produces. don’t tarik harga again cos
    very soon someone will form a JV with this revitalised co
    and at the end of the day P1 will be the biggest loser !!
    Ponder on this great opportunity DSZ .. its for the long term.

• azrai on Oct 22, 2010 at 7:53 am

The price is quite competitive for a 2.4l engine. Wow!! looks like the japan-Malaysia FTA already kicked off.

• REDRIDDLES on Oct 22, 2010 at 7:55 am

SRM means satria replacement model…..no, it not going to be

• haidir on Oct 22, 2010 at 8:14 am

can i call this sport wagon car

• JusticePao on Oct 22, 2010 at 8:22 am

Never trust Mitsubishi again…..THEY WILL BETRAY YOU ONE DAY LIKE HOW THEY BETRAY LANCER SEDAN OWNERS.

• Road Thunder on Oct 22, 2010 at 8:55 am

I agree, agree, agree. Now my neighbour with a Grandis is worried sick his vehicle will soon become Proton Grandis.

• tikus on Oct 22, 2010 at 10:05 am

Yeah lor… Next Gen for Exora!!

• ichi24 on Oct 23, 2010 at 1:51 am

lol you read their agreement???

exchange car platform to be re-badge (mitsu will rebadge exora & persona from the agreement)

and by the way, Exora was proton own design, nothing had to do with grandis.

typical basher

• Looks like Malaysian mentality still cannot accept Proton rebadge strategy…. and most of them still don’t understand what is rebadge engineering…. although Paul here has stated why Proton do that….

And even famous brand like Porshe, Nissan, Mazda also have done the same strategy…

No matter what Proton do… Proton rebadge kene kutuk…Proton design ownself kene kutuk…This time Mitsu got bashed pulak… oh my…

To be honest with you all, if this kind of mentality existed, our auto industry will go nowhere…

• **&#!@@ on Oct 22, 2010 at 1:54 pm

One suggestion for you. Read what most people here said before you start typing. Most M’sian accept Proton rebadge

• losantara on Oct 23, 2010 at 2:31 pm

Another IDIOTIC comment by **&#!@@, if Proton really think that they are well accepted by the Public, just fight like a MAN by removing trade barrier.

Most M’sian accept Proton rebadge’ you said. Research done by SRM od Frank Small ? Or you ask your neighbours ah ?

FACT: Proton still cannot compete and need milk bottle !

• walaoeh on Nov 12, 2010 at 2:45 am

Yeah just remove the import tax, I think all of the people will rush to buy Altiz or Civic at Rm85k just like the price in Thai… hahah….

• ayayay on Nov 22, 2010 at 5:02 pm

nah.. better re-badge than invest a billion of RM every year for R&D but low profits. re-badge = low capital high profits.

p/s : dont waste billions of our money [ i mean Proton money not mine ] for r&d but gain low profits. better re-badging for low capital and high profits

business thinking [profits]

engineer thinking [ R&D ][ R&D ][ R&D] thats means spend more money3

• Hahaha…same mentality has gone to the parlimen also, have you heard what one of the menteri said…pitty him.

• freeze_sr on Oct 22, 2010 at 8:32 am

Hmmm…Can put this 2.4 into the Proton Aspirin. Can convert to colour screed Info display too.

• aiyaa….Proton can only rebadge if Mitsu give them the engine…even the current Inspira also, Proton cannot touch its engine and transmission…No need for baseless fear…

If u like Proton, buy Proton. If you like MItsubishi, buy MItsubishi…Just because it looks the same, doesnt mean it is…(my thoughts really)

• Stay away from Mitsu’s… after 2 yrs otr tis model will be rabadge as Inspira Aeroback! hahahaha

• nighttrain on Oct 22, 2010 at 8:56 am

2.4l.. what segment is this car? 168hp is pretty weak for a 2.4litrre engine.. even torque is a joke. Is it fulltime 4wd crossover?

• theanswer on Oct 22, 2010 at 9:27 am

i think this car will seat along mazda 3, ford focus, i30 hatchback. and i dont get what do u mean by a joke because the engine generate much more hp and torque than camry 2.4.. tho the hp lower from accord 2.4..still torque also higher than accord. so weak is not a question here unless u’r comparing with 200k golf gti or 300k bmw.

• junaidi on Oct 22, 2010 at 9:45 am

Interesting. I think have to get a feel of the gearing also la.
      I dont even know why a lancer needs a 2.4. One of the other models has a Turbocharged 2.0. oh…wait…..

• nighttrain on Oct 22, 2010 at 11:26 am

my thoughts exactly… wrong engine in the wrong segment… why dont you just plonk in the 2.0 turbo… hehe..

• walaoeh on Nov 12, 2010 at 2:47 am

The 2.0 turbo with double-clutch sell for RM130k in other tax-free countries….

• hmm…perhaps this is the model that mitsu will sell in coming years while slowly n quietly phasing out the sedan version since the inspira has cloned it ^^

• Alifz on Oct 22, 2010 at 9:08 am

My opinion, this car is the answer to Toyota Caldina..what a great job MMC..and great price too :)

• junaidi on Oct 22, 2010 at 9:32 am

I like how the lower dashboard panel looks like carbon fibre.

• loveit on Oct 22, 2010 at 10:00 am

the profile look like harrier if jack the suspension up a bit..now mitsu is copying toyota?

• carfan on Oct 22, 2010 at 10:04 am

No reason why P1 cannot do a limited run of Inspira or Hatchback with turbo or 2.4 engine as “halo” model like TX3 for Ford, Do the Inspira Evo10 better!!! I am queueing up for this man.

Problem not the re-badging but that the rebadging result in Inspira becoming “national car” resulting in different excise duties and therefore price betw Lancer and Inspira.

• pretty looking for the car and gal as well

• syafiq syukri on Oct 22, 2010 at 10:39 am

Mitsubishi Lancer Is My Dream Car……..

• funkbanana on Oct 22, 2010 at 10:58 am

whats the transmission ?

• Confius??? New Proton Inspira Sportback 2.4 launched ????

• let’s ask all mit lancer owner how thier feeling?

• Proton WALAN on Oct 22, 2010 at 12:14 pm

Freedom of speach is important and every individual should be accorded the rights to voice out their opinions.

Some here saying Proton made a wise move rebadging the lancer while some chose to disagree.

I totally disagree as the objective of the establishment of Proton is not only profit making. The Malaysian has been made paying high taxes of cars because of one sole reason PROTON.

If they rebadged the lancer and price it at RM40K i would solute them as this directly benefits the public. But rebadging and still sell at high price is a joke!

• banko on Oct 24, 2010 at 3:29 pm

they have workers to feed…that the reason
      i don’t say that i agreed with p1…but lancer at 40k? then who going to buy persona,vios,city,forte,mazda2,fiesta ….40k lancer will make country in trouble more then make make custoemr happy…….honda might wat to close their factory if that happen…. yes,,it all due to NAP…hehe,,,our country our way…. all people around the world make complain about their gov…that normal… thank paultan for become channel for us to have “counseling session” online..:)

• walaoeh on Nov 12, 2010 at 2:50 am

Potong should sell it at RM85k for 2.0P since Mitsu Lancer sells for RM85k with AFS HID + Sunroof in other tax-free countries in Asia~!!!

• Tauke on Oct 22, 2010 at 12:15 pm

P1 should look wider, P1 should not only aim the mits car, P1 have to take off P2 to become a 1 stop car rebarge centre, every car come in must rebardge to proton and sell. so we can avoid AP system and everybody drive national car. 1 Malaysia, 1 brand car. Then using others better technologies (if any) to create more cheaper and better national car…….. P1 pls go aheard and rebardge as many type of car as possible. Mits’s car already your target, please extend your target further to other brand. We support you

• carfan on Oct 22, 2010 at 1:09 pm

I sokong. Please start with Golf GTI, Scirocco, Audi TT, RS— now all cars will be affordable

Great idea.

• Yo Tauke,

“P1 pls go aheard and rebardge as many type of car as possible.”

I love what you are saying, it make my day…should be ahead and re-badge lorrr. So fast the fingers typing suddenly got accident.

Don’t get me wrong, I understand what you saying and it’s an idea maybe Perodua might pick up and present to the Gov.

• Kwing on Oct 22, 2010 at 12:19 pm

ugly car, but 2.4 mivec is very powerful for the price anway! sedan would be much better which is selling everywhere else except malaysia!

• anand on Oct 22, 2010 at 12:29 pm

I think with all the comments around here….most of us need to just sit and wait for new models to come in….which means that we’re not going to get a car for the rest of our lives….just buy and use la….whats all the fuss….rebadge la….this la….that la…are you all changing cars every month…..if you do that than you’re not smart….

If you have money buy the Original Lancer…No money buy Inspira….so easy….Malaysians will never learn…like to bash others peoples only…since lot of them are damn free….Whatever they use is their taste….what the F**K you care…..

• The best comment ever….

Don’t be surprised if one day Lancer owner silently trade of their bumpers for that of Inspira’s…

• tycoon88 on Oct 22, 2010 at 12:58 pm

hey…how cum the black lancer sportsback got ralliart sticker on it.

i thot they oredi “tutup kedai” a few months back?

• i was expecting more pics on the girl lol

• economist on Oct 22, 2010 at 1:09 pm

I heard that Mitsubishi salesmen starts applying job from Proton, Toyota and Honda. Because they know their rich bowl is fragile

• anand on Oct 22, 2010 at 2:08 pm

just hear only la….never bother to check but mere speculation and simply spread anything to make it as real…..next time try to comment with some real infos

• Besides the lancer, they do have other models such as triton, pajero, grandis and many more. Before inspira came in, sales of the lancer were not that high as compared to civic and other rivals.

• stormrider on Oct 22, 2010 at 2:03 pm

Regret buying a Mitsu Lancer… Hai.. Moral of story, never buy Mitsu…

BTW, who is going trust Mitsu brand again? Surprise that MMC still have the cheek to launch Lancer Sportback after Proton launched the Inspira.

BTW, MMC going to dump the leftover Lancer stock to other countries?

• This mitsu or hyundai tucson?

• awg1031 on Oct 22, 2010 at 4:09 pm

hmm..it looks old, not proportion, and more like a wagon to me..

and since when MMC starts using ‘sport’ to the cars name..it looks pitiful as if their trying hard for their sale..duh..

• blackbox on Oct 22, 2010 at 4:31 pm

Rebadge is normal in car industry, but please rebadge a car that not selling in Malaysia.

• helmy on Oct 22, 2010 at 4:46 pm

very2 nice n i like the car.

• Did u know that mitsu copy some design to build lancer..u can see mitsu copy on metre and aircond panel from gen2..tak caye u can check..

• Lotus and Mitsubishi…pity!

• Seen the car in Bangsar showroom….Looks impressive! New design and new 2.4L engine, I personally felt the price is very good. 170hp… not many cars out there offering such spec at such a wonderful price. =)

• whocares on Oct 22, 2010 at 8:47 pm

paul and the gang,
    i believe this is a face to face between subaru impreza 2.5na and golf 1.4tsi in terms of engine output. perhaps u can opt for a test drive comparison and share with us..

• KCivic on Oct 22, 2010 at 8:50 pm

I like it! who cares if Inspira has been launched. very decent price full spec sports kit at RM131k is a steal if u ask me, and looks different on the road too, a bit like Subaru Legacy wagon. Well at least this is ori cbu from Japan and looks very nice and garang! hopefully it does not become Protons Inspira Sport Hatch after 2 years. Nice looking car i must say.

• waldan on Oct 22, 2010 at 9:14 pm

0-100??

• E Bear on Oct 22, 2010 at 9:44 pm

Latest Lancer quite good sales actually.

Great comeback.

With Inspira…..this sportsback already a foregone conclusion.

Might as well make it another Proton model as well.

Inspira license don’t know whether can sell overseas also or comes with limitations.

It is ok if P1 is a new company but with few decades experience……..maybe we expect they can do something original and do us proud.

• ichi24 on Oct 23, 2010 at 1:55 am

Proton have said, Inspira is for local market to cover the C-segment market.

unless proton said otherwise, then let your imagination runs wild :D

• amievil on Oct 22, 2010 at 10:56 pm

what ?!!

NO TEH TARIK HOLDER ??!!!!!

FFFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU…!!!!!!1!!111

• Current Lancer owners cheated? True if it’s a lousy problematic car ….I’m sure that don’t happen to most Lancer owners…bad fc? maybe average ( want good fc just buy a Viva)…Bad performance and handling?,, You must be kidding…Too expensive?..Well, 3 years ago when it was first launch everyone say..”Good job Mitsubishi for making affordable Japanese CBU”…..A good car will always be a good car….people will still buy this new Lancer ….

• keluangman on Oct 23, 2010 at 7:59 pm

agree.

On a contrary, I think Inspira is too expensive for a locally assembled proton. Too much profit margin.

• luke cage on Oct 23, 2010 at 11:28 pm

MY FREN ….WHAT PROFIT MARGIN??…. FIRST BATCH OF INSPIRA IS ALMOST 100% CKD FROM JAPAN, SO PROTON MMG TARAK UNTUNG, PART STILL NOT FULLY LOCALISED YET……

• fuck toyota on Oct 23, 2010 at 1:20 pm

my friend, the toyota fans said, the toyota is the best, because it can conquer the world. then i ask him,”y you so proud of toyota?”, and i said, toyota here in malaysia is too expensive, but at price 80k, you only get the dugong(vios), if compared to waja cps, there is lots of different, eg the handling and performance. he reply me “ok, i love toyota bcause they give me the best service, and the design is good, you said proton is good, but in fact, u r comparing toyota with mitsubishi”-he said. and i don’t think the answer is comply to my question ..wth of toyota fans.. just answer for their emotion, not the car spec especially in price. the conversation too long. but at last, he get mad of me..hahaha…

• Anti Proton on Oct 23, 2010 at 8:02 pm

i seriously like this. but the proton inspira changed my mind.

• smokycar on Oct 23, 2010 at 10:24 pm

i always like Lancer, after so many generations, until this fugly sportback come out. why destroy the legacy?

• So many bashing, but when the Inspira launch. You will be there at Proton showroom. Mark my words. curiosity. It should have been more effort on the Inspira than just rebadging.

• maximus on Oct 24, 2010 at 11:08 am

yup…go ahead and take pride in the INVECS whatever slushbox. any self-respecting petrolhead will stay miles away from it. or any slushbos for that matter.
    personally waiting for the 1.8M inspira..will be fun.

• Izhar on Oct 24, 2010 at 12:33 pm

nice…..maybe after 10 years can be a collection model…

• ezracopters on Oct 24, 2010 at 2:00 pm

OMG.. what an ugly car..

the front..yeah..jerung and all.. side and rear look.. haha like a fat lady who had a beautiful face and husky voice..

and why d heck u guys talking bout proton in this thread.. some people just couldnt stop ehh..

p/s btw i own a neo, wut a disgrace to even mention neo and this fugly in the same sentence.. no way no hell this gonna be the look for next satria neo.. satria neo already had the look, the quality, the performance..if someone say the next satria neo gonna look like this, then i’ll be more wise i guess http://paultan.org/2010/03/03/seats-scirocco-rival-is-pretty-and-green/ hahaha

• Adil Hidayat on Nov 05, 2010 at 12:28 am

Bro, I own a neo as well, a 1.6 auto to be precise, and also a previos owner of the Mitsubishi Lancer GT. What you said is true, this car could never be compared with a neo, a neo is JUST a NEO, it’s not even close to the Sportsback. The Sportsback is like GOD, the Neo is just like …. a neo….

Why do i leave this comment? because I’m a proud ex-owner of the Mitsubishi Lancer and the Satria Neo, but after testing the Sportsback, NO NEO is equal to the Sportsback…i even dare say that NO PROTON is equal to the Sportsback. Maybe one day Proton will rebadge this to Inspira Sportsback, but still I’m a PROUD soon-to-be-owner of the Sportsback :)

Say No to Proton & Mitsubishi, but say yes to the Sportsback (at least for the next 2 years before it’s being rebadged again)

• dRwh0 on Nov 05, 2010 at 10:18 pm

bro..where did u test this sportsback..?how was the performance..?btw..i booked it as well last week without testing it..heh..

• crving on Oct 24, 2010 at 5:26 pm

Overall, looks good. 2.4 for rm130k, cbu from japan? Quite a bargain I think. Even civic and M3 is around that price, so I think mitsu did offer a good overall price package for this car.
    It did appeared for euro market as early as 2009. Luckily I already bought a crv, if not, this definitely under my shopping list…

• fatcat on Oct 25, 2010 at 10:35 am

Is there a EVO model for this hatch back model type ?

• Anson on Oct 25, 2010 at 10:39 am

who will buy it at this time? after buy it… later got proton inspira hatchback… with cheaper price… what for waste the money? buy other brand better…

• limta on Oct 28, 2010 at 10:38 am

i think MIT not expecting too much sales on this car, Thier reputation spoiled by proton.
      Anway, MIT lancer convered to proton is the good move. MIT will get alot of profit out of it. They surely will get some royalty. It is better then remind as MIT lancer and mostly ppl will choose Altis or Civic.

• This car looks good but the brand has been severely tarnished locally

• Frizo on Oct 30, 2010 at 7:40 pm

Why proton can’t design their own car like this or better. Proton got their own good designer, but sometimes their management doesn’t want to choose the good design cause of money.. If they want to challenge outside brand, please please and please redesign all their car and built the 100% car.

• ayayay on Nov 22, 2010 at 4:12 pm

nah.. proton selling car for high profits. they dont wanna waste capital for R&D to much.
      if they invest a billion every year for R&D their will not gain high profits.
      business thinking [profits]

• Frizo on Oct 30, 2010 at 7:44 pm

Honda come from factory in Thailand, Toyota also from Thailand..I think Mitsubishi direct from JAPAN. The price that offered by Mitsubishi is competitive. Go Mitsubishi. Better you used Proton factory in Tajung Malim,Perak to produce your car, so the price can go cheaper and proton also can make benefit from it. Share your idea with proton engineer and automatically proton can develop their own staff for future.

• Mitsubishi is wasting their time if they want to share their ideas with Proton engineers. After 27 years, Proton is good in re-badging and cosmetically modifying cars. Not sure if they are born stupid or just plain lazy. Misubishi also does not want to have the same low quality as Proton if they manufacture locally.

This hatchback is a good car for the price. But I think people will steal your mitsubishi logos and parts to stick to their Inspira.

• ayayay on Nov 22, 2010 at 4:05 pm

nah.. business strategy from Mitsubishi. we import at same price from japan which lancer or re-badging inspira . the different price market because of AP & duty import/excise. sure proton have more APs than small imported car company.
        AP = Approve Permit [ ultra low duty import ]

proton do the same at China..
        gen2 re-badging as Europa at china market

as long as Mitsubishi car can sell their car here mitsu will do for profits
        even re-badging as inspira

• ShaolinTiger on Nov 03, 2010 at 2:01 pm

Looks like a Rover 25 to me.

• japanese guyz on Nov 07, 2010 at 1:39 pm

The sportback is a gay!!! I prefer sedans (as the Evo offers only sedan version).

• Hellfire on Nov 16, 2010 at 10:09 pm

THIS SPORTBACK(SEXYBACK) GAY OR NO GAY DOESN’T MATTER. AS LONG AS PEOPLE TURN THEIR HEAD OVER WHEN I DROVE PASSING BY, THEN ALL THE MONEY I PAID FOR THIS CAR ARE WORTHWHILE! LoL! U SOUNDS LIKE KINDA CAN’T AFFORD IT!

• dRwh0 on Dec 10, 2010 at 3:00 pm

call it gay or what so ever..i’m getting mine today.. :)

• HangJebat on Aug 14, 2011 at 2:18 am

Biz is Biz.. who care where, why n what ??? 1st world ? 2nd world / 3rd world ? No world ? so, what ??? WTF u all !!

• InspiraLancer on Nov 11, 2011 at 9:54 pm

yeah bro! u are soo fucking right!

• Alan ridzuan on Apr 04, 2012 at 9:56 pm

What ever guys… I have a 1.6 (manu al) neo, 2.0 lancer gt, and recently just purchased the 1.8 manual inspira limited edition. ..looking at this 2.4 baby, I still adore it. :) why can’t you guys just get along alredy,haizzzzz…

• David on May 18, 2012 at 7:38 pm

exactly, the inspira or lancer gt can never be converted to sportback. and sportback is much powerful. delivers 170hp , 225nm torque..dont compare inspira with sportback.