Look, no wires – it’s wireless charging for your EV!

delphi charging 1

Imagine charging your EV at home without the need to plug it into anything. That’s precisely what Delphi Automotive and wireless energy transfer technology provider, WiTriCity, is seeking to offer – the two companies are working on developing a range of automatic wireless charging products for electric vehicles.

The wireless charging system would involve no plugs or charging cords. Drivers would simply park their electric vehicle over a wireless energy source that sits on the garage floor or embedded in a paved parking spot. The system will automatically transfer power to the battery charger that’s on the vehicle.

delphi charging 2

WiTricity’s patented wireless energy transfer technology, invented by a team of MIT physicists four years ago, makes use of highly resonant magnetic coupling, offering a transfer of over 3,300 watts – enough to fully charge an electric car at the same rate as most residential plug-in chargers. The system can efficiently transfer power over significantly larger distances and allow more parking-related vehicle misalignment than inductive systems.

Wireless charging technology will of course need to co-exist with plug-in charging solutions, the company states, so that electric vehicle drivers have the ability to charge their vehicle with something like Delphi’s portable electric charger – which fits into any standard AC outlet – when they’re away from their wireless charging source.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• taboogen on Oct 25, 2010 at 10:54 am

I dont think so this will effisien. When there is gap between 2 connectors, power will be lost.

• DonkeyKong on Oct 25, 2010 at 1:02 pm

Nope. It’s a resonant cavity. Power is transferred through induction within the resonant cavity, not electrical conduction. This is something we learn in Electrical & Electronic Engineering in the first year itself.

Nikola Tesla was the first person to come up with this idea, and there have been subsequent attempts to improve upon it. The MIT researchers who came up with it managed to make it feasible, and that’s the technology that is being used here.

• campro on Oct 25, 2010 at 11:47 pm

this new tech kill u more faster…more radiation more harmful wave/ray….if the machine gone crazy might short circuit get u killed…

• casey_c on Oct 26, 2010 at 10:34 pm

You are right Campro. Radiation from the wireless technology has become our day to day pollution. All of us can not escape from it.

• J@CK LIM on Oct 25, 2010 at 10:55 am

Nice 1… studies of one of my assignment =)
    Hope it’s will launch in Malaysia within 5 years…
    there is one more thing, how about the battery life? will it sustainable ?
    Never expect it come to vehicle so soon…. great approach… Well done.. MIT

• 4x4Fan on Oct 25, 2010 at 11:04 am

Briliant Idea..When BOLEHLAND innovated our own..?Hopefully coming Soon..

• Mancini on Oct 25, 2010 at 11:12 am

that’s awesome!!!

• SukaTgkOrg on Oct 25, 2010 at 11:22 am

this could be the beginning of wireless electricity :-)

• DonkeyKong on Oct 25, 2010 at 1:04 pm

Not efficient enough for long-range transmissions yet. Receiver and transmitter has to be resonant-coupled, so this limits the effective distance. Tesla proposed using the Schumann cavity as the resonant medium for global wireless electricity, but it probably won’t work because the frequency is just 8Hz, much too low for practical purposes of power transmission.

• Jutawansegera on Oct 25, 2010 at 5:01 pm

This could be the start of Fried Cat or Rat every morning when u go get your car LOL ^^

• subhero on Oct 25, 2010 at 11:24 am

use EV vs use Petrol car.

petrol : rm hangus byr petrol

EV: rm hangus byr TNB

sama je

• rageaccel2 on Oct 25, 2010 at 11:16 pm

count la 1 km how much u pay for the electricity. want free ha? go make ur own country la.

• alldisc on Oct 25, 2010 at 11:30 am

superb and brilliant!!

• I guess we’re going to implement this kind of tech once we run out of fuel, like, forever.

• Jimmy on Oct 25, 2010 at 11:55 am

Again, it’s the MIT. What happened to our local unis which won lots of gold medals in international competition? Something is wrong somewhere.

• Shaycoat on Oct 25, 2010 at 3:07 pm

Local uni have this expertise where numerous research have been conducted. But this wireless power transfer has a lot problem i.e. electromagnetic which could caused cancer. You can actually watch a lot people demonstrating the wireless power in Youtube. Yes it works but normally safe for low power demand. A lot of issues will rise in high power such as charging our EV battery. EV batteries is not a conventional 12V, it is 300V +++.

• rageaccel2 on Oct 25, 2010 at 11:20 pm

we were surrounded with microwave in our daily life. wifi, cell phone, wimax. so why not add one more.

• Shaycoat on Oct 26, 2010 at 11:11 am

Did you notice that all Wimax, wifi etc are data transfer not power transfer method. Thus, your judgement is invalid.

• Sounds like health hazard to me. Health authorities in some countries like Germany and Sweden have issued health warning safety guidelines for low powered wireless appliances. High powered wireless device like this can only be worse. Having said that, this is the way of the future and it is likely to be part of as life as much as mobile phone transmission towers today, but we can not be ignorant of the potential health hazard of such technologies.

• emm, will it charge my mobile phone if i leave it inside my car? or will it charge my brain also if I stay inside the car?

• LOL..good question…but my be it must have a certain type of receiver…if not..put all your chargeable appliances in your car!!!

• Salamander on Oct 25, 2010 at 12:40 pm

I have made a research before in transmitting power wirelessly in my uni days.. But there are too many issue. One of the main problem was associated with radiation. If you send power wirelessly there tends to be radiation.

We would not want to compromise our health over this would we?

• jl@ipl on Oct 25, 2010 at 12:49 pm

How about embedding the power source resonator into the road so that the car can be charged at all time? “Charging Lane”, maybe? The charging fee transaction could be done just like the “smart tag”.

Just my 2 cent………

• altimate on Oct 25, 2010 at 3:17 pm

actually there is something similar being studied on, i remember watching a documentary quite recently, where they are studying how to harvest the sound /vibration generated by the cars moving along the road and convert into electricity.
      Yeah i agree, I think this tech would complement the wireless charging.. it will be great

• squawk on Oct 26, 2010 at 10:31 am

The Koreans have already experimented with this using buses. Implementation is slated for 2011.

“South Korea is trying a new way to turn public transport green by using a technology popular in electric toothbrushes and razors to power buses and cars.

The country’s top technology university on Tuesday unveiled a new electric transport powered by recharging strips embedded in roads that transfer energy through magnetic connections. There are no direct connections with wires.

Vehicles with sensor-driven magnetic devices on their underside suck up energy as they travel over the strips embedded a few centimeters under the road.

“The technological concept behind the idea has been around for about 100 years. We have found a better way to transfer the electricity to make it practical,” said B.K. Park, a project member at the Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology.”

• bryan.jones on Oct 25, 2010 at 1:41 pm

good tech.. they should design this wireless charge with wired charging.. to the time to charge can cut 50%.. hahaha..

• armandd on Oct 25, 2010 at 2:46 pm

is it save for the vehicle occupants and everybody who’s near the car when it’s charging?

• mystvearn on Oct 25, 2010 at 3:24 pm

They forgot to address one major flaw. Placing something like that under the car is dangerous. Stones, rocks, mud, etc will hit it. You may spend more time replacing that thing rather than getting the benefits

• I wish my notebook PC have this…….gudbye to bulky power adapter

• untitled on Oct 25, 2010 at 5:48 pm

reminds me of palm pre wireless charging kit..

• petra on Oct 25, 2010 at 7:22 pm

for long transmission …we called it ….Super conductor.

• JonLing on Oct 26, 2010 at 8:27 am

This is still one of the coolest and most brilliant new technologies yet, despite all the issues that the researchers may or may not have to resolve.

• Ayam Tambatan on Oct 26, 2010 at 9:33 am

Mmm what happens if a cat went in between the resonators aa?

• mr.eims @ perfume on Oct 27, 2010 at 1:20 pm

in future, could possibly aply on parking lots. ev cars with this tech, pay with coins on the parking lot meter maybe so while they walk around the supermarket, the car is charging at the parking lot. good tech.