BMW On Demand – hourly rentals available at BMW World

bmw welt 2

The next time you’re in Munich, have a fair bit of free time and fancy doing the drive around by yourself bit, you might want to rent a BMW from BMW.

The automaker has begun a pilot project called BMW On Demand, where all its current models can be hired at the BMW Welt (World) in Munich – the mobility service offers rentals on an hourly basis. The project will initially run over a period of twelve months, and will be extended to other locations in Munich in a second phase.

While BMW isn’t the first car company to run such a programme, On Demand is perfect for those who want to sample what the brand’s different model types are all about – you can take a 5 Series sedan for that important meeting on a weekday, and then switch over to a Z4 for a trip into the countryside during the weekend. And, with the M models available too, think of the jollies you can have, say, bombing down the B-roads to Salzburg in an M3 sedan …

bmw welt 1

The desired BMW model can be booked in the colour and with the equipment the driver prefers. Staff are available at a dedicated BMW on Demand counter at BMW Welt to provide individual advice. Bookings can be made directly at the counter or via the BMW Welt website.

Ah yes, the rates. The hourly hire fees vary depending on the model and the time of day, of course. A 1 Series, for example, costs 16 euros an hour, a 5 Series 23 euros an hour. At the daytime rate, between 9am-6pm, a maximum of four hours will be charged, while a maximum of two hours at the night rate goes between 6pm-9am. All the necessary insurance premiums, plus cleaning and servicing, are included. The hire charge as well as the fuel used is payable only by credit card, and vehicles are collected from and returned to BMW Welt centrally.

While the new F25 X3 pictured above was on display at the Welt during a recent trip there, I’d think that one’s not quite on the rental list yet.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• drMpower on Oct 28, 2010 at 2:01 pm

what? bmw doing rental now?

• BMW lack of money at the moment.. So they brainstorm and got this brilliant idea..
      1. When everybody drive one… they will fall in love in it… then , people will aim for BMW for their car.
      2. To overcome BMW crisis at the moment.

One stone kill two birds!!

• hinder on Oct 28, 2010 at 9:05 pm

smart marketing strategy.

• rally_fan on Oct 29, 2010 at 9:39 am

bmw has higher sales every quarter so far this year as compared to 2009. they are also on target to deliver more than 1.4 million cars for 2010.

• hindsigh on Nov 09, 2010 at 10:08 am

Potentially this could work, however one must also consider that having this rental center requires stock… which has to be depreciated so it could be very costly… unless BMW has found some way around having to depreciate its stock or that they estimated benefits outway the depreciation fees

• KL Stray Cat on Oct 28, 2010 at 2:02 pm

Wedding planners take note for future expansion…hahahaa

• Chilavert on Oct 28, 2010 at 2:47 pm

if this service available in msia, we will see more cases about cheating in business or even in relationship. i can pretend to be rich so i can do business with dato’ or even date beautiful women. wow i like it.

• anthony, was there a red classic beamer outside the museum in your 2nd photo?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Oct 28, 2010 at 7:26 pm

Yes, the E21 is still there. It was behind me in the second shot.

• Firdaus Abdullah on Oct 28, 2010 at 4:17 pm

Maximum 4 hrs rental is too short, can’t take a girl out for just 3 hrs!
    Anyway, it would be great if they have that kind of service in Malaysia.

• rosdi on Oct 28, 2010 at 6:56 pm

Itu maximum hours charged la!.., bukan maximum hours you can rent!

• oo? Then saya rent satu tahun pon 4hr charge only?

• rosdi on Oct 28, 2010 at 10:24 pm

Pernah dengar parking 3 ringgit per hour, 8 ringgit maximum per day? Think.. think.. that otak kena gerak sikit.. needs some exercise.

• JonLing on Oct 28, 2010 at 4:31 pm

another superb marketing campaign by BMW! wish they could have it here too.

• Korean on Oct 28, 2010 at 4:53 pm

Sir, give me the X6 M for 3 days. Charge it to my Amerian Express Platinum.

• schumi on Oct 28, 2010 at 7:32 pm

why Sir? you are the master or the receptionist is the master?

• Korean on Oct 29, 2010 at 12:46 pm

Learn how to respect people and be humble kid. Everybody is equal regardless of their profession and position.

• nighttrain on Oct 28, 2010 at 5:08 pm

At night, when they turn on the lights, BMW Welt looks like a spaceship.. excellent architechture.

• Porsche has done this in the past already.

There are a lot of i.e. Americans, who spend a lot of money to rent a Porsche to drive on the Autobahn at speeds >200km/h. For those who are afraid to drive by themselves, there are even S-Class or Audi A8 Taxis available at Munich airport:

http://www.taxicelik.de/1/images1/ea9500.jpg

Remember: No speed limit on the Autobahn… ;)

• azrai on Oct 28, 2010 at 5:27 pm

Sure soemone can took the BMW to their future in laws just to impress them.

• Gavin on Oct 28, 2010 at 6:22 pm

ahh nice if i live in munich no reason i wouldn’t already own a german marque

• if this is true, i might rent X6 just to show off! hahaha!

• rosdi on Oct 28, 2010 at 6:42 pm

For a moment there, I thought this service is in KL, until I saw the rates is in Euro. Damn you.. I was already thinking of taking my family to Pulau Redang in an X6 this weekend.

• Grey-Neutral on Oct 28, 2010 at 9:17 pm

lol…..give me the rate….i’ll use this car to fetch stewardess and ms. model…. keke

• smokycar on Oct 28, 2010 at 9:32 pm

what do to? economy no good, there are still many over stock in the warehouse!

• subhero on Oct 28, 2010 at 11:02 pm

malaysian driver gile2. tokey BMW recond pun takut nak bagi sewa.

kat malaysia kalo bagi sewa bukan buat duit. tapi buat jahanam business. so then ramai mat rempit drive m3 kalau buat BMW rent at malaysia.

• tishaban on Oct 29, 2010 at 6:54 am

There are plenty of germans who rempit on the road too. BMW drivers are apparently the worse of the lot and this can only feed the rage :-)

http://ind.pn/ai3Cnm

• alldisc on Oct 29, 2010 at 8:38 am

ahh… a 1 series will do for me. 16 euros per hour. wait, why must i pay euros? only for europe ke? aisehman!

• rexis on Oct 29, 2010 at 9:02 am

Good opportunities available locally consider that there are armies of MLM sharks swimming around wanting to drive exclusive cars to impress/show off/fool their prospects.

• subhero on Oct 29, 2010 at 10:39 am

so then IF BMW allowed rental in malaysia. so then MLM akan tumbuh macam cendawan after this.so then akan ramai lah kene kelentong..

u know, malaysian sometimes, very2 creative HOW TO CHEATING..

BMW, dont allowed bmw rental to malaysia.

• razoraz on Oct 29, 2010 at 10:36 pm

ini mesti ada pengalaman ‘kena kepung’ ni…

• Mancini on Oct 29, 2010 at 2:19 pm

if in malaysia mesti ‘ketuk’ rm300 per hour. its boleh land babeh

• razoraz on Oct 29, 2010 at 10:43 pm

now everyone can drive BMW-D.T.F