BMW recalls 150,000 vehicles in the US over fuel pump-related issues

bmw x6

Those hits just keep on coming. Yet again do we have another recall, this one in the US and from BMW. Following the recall issued earlier in the month regarding defective brake vacuum pumps (which translated into a ‘technical service campaign’ locally), BMW has – through its North American office – issued a recall for more than 150,000 vehicles made in 2007-2010 to fix faulty fuel pumps, primarily high-pressure units in cars equipped with twin-turbo inline six-cylinder engines featuring BMW’s direct fuel injection system.

The company says that affected vehicles may experience a failure of the high-pressure fuel pump, with symptoms including long-crank engine starting times along along with the illumination of the “Service Engine Soon” light. In certain cases, the driver may experience reduced engine performance in a safe mode accompanied by a tone and the illumination of the “Engine Malfunction” light.

bmw z4

Approximately 130,000 vehicles are potentially affected, with about 40,000 expected to require a new pump. BMW USA said it will replace the high-pressure fuel pump and do a software update for the necessary vehicles. Affected models are the 2007–2010 335i, 2008–2010 135i, 535i and X6 xDrive35i and the 2010 Z4 Roadster sDrive35i.

Separately, a further 20,800 2008 normally-aspirated X5s in the US were also recalled to have their low-pressure fuel pump replaced. BMW said that should the fuel pump fail and the engine stop running, the steering and the brakes would still remain operational even with the loss of power assist for the steering and brakes.

The company said that there have been no reports of accidents or injuries connected to the recalls.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• nebula87 on Oct 28, 2010 at 5:00 am

LOL…its BMW turn…XD

• shawal on Oct 28, 2010 at 5:12 am

Those sneaky Germans…

• meane on Oct 28, 2010 at 6:20 am

eh? bmw also-uh?

• if p1 do the same to d old waja..

• Again..in US? But its kinda normal actually..I mean look at the list below
    this year recall list:

-Toyota
    -Honda
    -Nissan
    -Suzuki
    -Proton
    -Mercedes
    -BMW
    -Volvo
    -Porsche
    -Cardillac
    -Ford
    -Jeep

and the list go on… http://www.internetautoguide.com/auto-recalls/04-int/2010/index.html

• acerman on Oct 28, 2010 at 10:52 am

Hmmm,,,no peroduas….must a very perfect car…..NOT…. my wife’s viva rear brake problem leaking and left passenger window cannot wind down….WTH! Seems to be common problem nowadays for perodua. One year, battery already kong, WTH! Again,

• wow..my brother’s viva also have battery kong problem..should p2 look into this matter seriously?

• informer on Oct 28, 2010 at 4:44 pm

my sister’s viva & my fren’s viva got the same problem on the left passenger window.

now that we know actually recalls are good because at least they got the responsibility to change it.

so hopefully p1 & p2 also will keep checking the quality as they promise.

• greasemonkey on Oct 28, 2010 at 8:43 pm

so to those who always praise p2,(toyota’s quality ma!)..there you have it.

• Someone on Oct 28, 2010 at 9:33 pm

Those ppl are misguided. The cars made by perodua are only BASED on daihatsu, which is only partly owned by Toyota anyway. Lots of the materials used are selected by Perodua.

• CocoBear on Oct 28, 2010 at 11:15 pm

All these problems are quite common with Myvi. They are replacable for free. You have to push the issues to the girls at the counter.

• Izhar on Oct 28, 2010 at 7:48 am

Recall Season in US…..

• a lot of the recent recall is on fuel pump issue…
    i wonder why…?

• alldisc on Oct 28, 2010 at 8:05 am

the peak of recall season 2010 – honour goes to BMW!!

• Troll Bait on Oct 28, 2010 at 8:10 am

No wonder can see so many bimmers stuck by the roadside for the past few years. I thot was some stupid virus, turns out to be potong style vendor issues. KAKAKAKAKA. Only > 20 y.o. Jap cars will konk tengah jalan. Not a bad record, compared to the krauts.

• aiyooo ….BMW got recall still want to relate to P1…not related la bro..

• dragster on Oct 28, 2010 at 8:24 am

Moral of the story: Nothing is perfect in this world…….

• BMW-More Problem on Oct 28, 2010 at 8:25 am

Bravo BMW…..

Now manufactures are coming forward after the Toyota Fiasco….

Good for the consumers….

• JonLing on Oct 28, 2010 at 8:30 am

After reading all the recall news recently, I can’t help but wondering why almost all the recalls are affecting the cars in the US market?? Any problem with some particular suppliers or makers of the spare parts for those cars??

Guess who’ll become the next one to recall their cars……hmm……

• keluangman on Oct 28, 2010 at 8:40 am

I think our local beemers also have this problem. The latest to hit is the new F10 5 series…poor fella stranded at NKVE highway….

• BOYRACER on Oct 28, 2010 at 8:45 am

Another recalls again.Wonder why is it with the latest technology available today, they are still unable to produce something that is completely reliable.
    I know they are recalls before this but compare 10-15 years ago, it is not as many as nowadays.Or is it because they kept the recalls “hush hush”.
    I do know that it is impossible to make something that is 100% perfect but considering the fact that there are so many recalls in the last 1 year or so does make it worth pondering.
    I don’t know.Can anybody enlighten me.

• zimba on Oct 28, 2010 at 10:14 am

the more techy is a car.. the less reliable is the car. and also .. the more techy is your car, the less chances is your car is able to be repaired.

• Tiadaid on Oct 28, 2010 at 11:08 am

Today’s cars are much more complicated than cars of old. There’s too much gadgetry and over reliance on technology. Old cars are much simpler. But of course, old cars are much more polluting and have less performance.

• BOYRACER on Oct 28, 2010 at 11:28 pm

Thats why i will continue driving my 20-year old Proton.Less gadgetry, much more reliable.I love older cars, easier to work on.
        So so to drive but hey, thats all i can afford at the moment.I know it more polluting n less performance for the given engine size.
        Cant really really afford newer cars with less polluting engine.can you blame me for not buying newer cars?My salary is not big..what can I do?

• imagine how much bashing does proton received if and when they do this…

• hehe..u r absolutely rite bro..when bmw, lexus, toyota even rolls-royce do the recall thingy, people wont bash them.100% sure…but when proton or p2 do this, u’ll see pages of bashing :) cruel rite? :)

• Someone on Oct 28, 2010 at 9:36 pm

I just can’t stand people who say this. Not because I’m one of those manafacturers fans, but if you take a look at the post on Toyota’s recall, you can see hundrends of bashers.

• theanswer on Oct 28, 2010 at 9:23 am

thnx to toyota because they make their recall procedure a public. from there, every manufacture realized that they also should be responsible for any problem especially related to safety of the car.

• thanks to T? ha..ha…..they have been forced to recall their cars because of reported deaths of T car users in US ..if not they will continue to keep quiet and will not recall their cars…..so dont try to give credit to them when they don’t deserve it

• read in yahoo yesterday that BMW’s reliability index was below average,same goes for Merc and Audi despite commanding such a premium price. Honda and Toyota still made it to the top despite the recalls but prius dropped to average.

• i read that too.. I seem that we shouldnt expect much from BMW, Benz and Audi.. Japanese car are always the more reliable one and suit our lifestyle with less problem. Our life is tough enough and it’s good that we can expect more reliable car from T n H.

• Need4SpeedUnderground on Oct 28, 2010 at 9:57 am

even “Ultimate Driving Machine” do a recall …

what I’m try to say is. nothing is perfect … period

• greasemonkey on Oct 28, 2010 at 10:33 am

Anyone can make mistake,so to all bashers out there,THINK b4 u bash n if u do,pls lah bash logically,not get carry away emotionally! BIG GLOBAL AUTO CO pun recall,what more la local co,p1,p2,naza .just my thought.

• bless bmw.. hope it wont impact much. fuel pump failure is a serious problem.. high output cars like turbo requires high pressure fuel pump to perform max performance..

• mohsin on Oct 28, 2010 at 12:23 pm

2010 Musim tarik kenderaan

• nabill on Oct 28, 2010 at 1:33 pm

i really think there should be some sort of regulatory body to check those US part suppliers , rough estimate is that around 80% recalls occur in the US or originate from there , this is rediculous and downright dangerous as thy are reducing their cost at the expense of public safety…..there should be a stop to this , even chinese cars made in china from cheap china materials dont have this recall every 1-2 month….

theres something not right in the US and some one from higher authority should do some comprehensive invistigation…NOT to car manufacturers but part suppliers , seems most recalls are related to material used rather than design flaw,which indicate using very cheap and low quality materials

• BOYRACER on Oct 28, 2010 at 11:31 pm

Or maybe they have stronger consumer rights there.Thats why they have more recalls there.Dont want to get into one of those lawsuits.

• mirror mirror on Oct 28, 2010 at 3:10 pm

Münchausen syndrome.

• Henry on Oct 28, 2010 at 4:33 pm

Hehe…. This recall disease is very contagious. So many are now ‘infected.’

• mirror mirror on Oct 28, 2010 at 4:40 pm

Munchausen syndrome.

• CocoBear on Oct 28, 2010 at 10:53 pm

Nissan is making headlines as well! 2.1 million cars will be affected and owners should aware of their cars stalling when starting or when on the move.

I experienced the same problem with my 2006 Nissan Tiida/Latio/Versa and here is my brief story:
    For the past 7 months, she will hessitate to start when I start to crank it. I would say 1 out of 10 chances that the engine won’t fire. Initially I thought the battery was running out of juice. So it was changed for about 200 bucks. After a few days, she was dead again and I have to crank the life out of the key stick and it eventually alive after many gruelling minutes. I have even pushed started her many times with my friend in the seat and some good aussies will give a helping hand. Deep in my believe I thought the problem has to do with the air/fuel mixture and because it is an economy car, I dun give a damn with her and I have only washed her twice. Hahaha.
    Put the embarassment aside and she is still a good thing because she is fat and comfy inside.

Now if you google for ‘Nissan starting problem’, all hell break lose. There are sooooo many complaints about this and after sooooo many years, Nissan has finally found the root cause. It has to do with the relay. I guess that’s the reason why soooo many people have to replace their batteries and caused sooooo much of embarassment.

• Banyak
    Masuk
    Workshop

• Wonder which brand going to win the Recall Race !

• VW Golf Car Parts on Oct 31, 2010 at 9:04 pm

Are cars and their components getting too complicated or are these companies spending too little time testing their new cars in order to get them to the market in less time?

• Mohd Fuad Omar on Sep 02, 2013 at 12:58 pm

I’m in midst of buying the BMW X6 35d year 2008. do this vehicle effected on the fuel pump related issue? this car is recond from UK. pls advise.