New Toyota Prius lowered price – RM139,900

The Toyota Prius will be priced at RM139,900 in the Peninsular Malaysia and RM141,500 in Sabah and Sarawak effective today. This is a drop of about RM35,000 in Peninsular Malaysia from the previous price of RM175,000.

That’s how much that remaining half-price excise duty means – RM35,000. Our prices are still higher than Langkawi’s prices as we still have 10% sales tax despite import duties and excise duties being 0% now. Just to recap – when the Budget 2011 was announced, the Malaysian government lowered the duties for hybrid vehicles below 2,000cc of displacement to 0% for both excise and import duty. Previously, the government gave 100% exemption of import duty but only 50% exemption for excise duty.

It looks like our estimation of the new Toyota Prius pricing after the complete removal of excise duties by the government was pretty much spot on after all. We estimated a price of around RM140,149.30 with a tax savings of about RM34,850.70. We calculated that based on the Langkawi price of RM127,408.45 and adding 10% sales tax. So we can assume that UMW Toyota is transferring 100% of the benefits of the tax break to the consumers.

New Toyota Prius

Next up would be the Honda Civic Hybrid – an announcement from Honda Malaysia should be coming soon before the end of the year. Our pricing estimation for the Honda Civic Hybrid was RM111,078, a drop of about RM18,902 from the current price of RM129,980.

At the new price of RM139,900, the Toyota Prius really starts becoming very tempting. The new price is also below RM150k so it becomes more favorable in terms of claiming capital allowances – that should start driving up sales for the Prius as a company car as well.

We tried the Prius (watch our real life road test review on Driven or our Japanese closed track test drive on this blog) and found that it could give significantly lower fuel consumption without the driver consciously trying hard to save fuel – that’s what a good hybrid should be doing, not forcing you to mind your throttle to the point that it becomes distracting and unenjoyable.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nighttrain on Oct 28, 2010 at 11:12 am

Wow! your estimate of RM140K was spot on. Should have put down a lower guesstimate in the previous post haha..

• alldisc on Oct 28, 2010 at 1:43 pm

SEE?? who says UMWT is greedy??? such a high tech car is sold at about 105-110K only. it is the G that impose taxes and duties to all cars in malaysia.

want a cheaper car?? ask toyota to sell cars without warranty lorr… and they can easily reduce 20-25K further.

• hooray paul lets go & buy it now :-)

• nice incentive, go green !! more hybrids on the road !

• wanr35 on Oct 28, 2010 at 11:21 am

can we buy lah right now….

• Peterpj on Oct 28, 2010 at 11:23 am

Paul, a correction on your paragraph on the capital allowance (i.e. tax depreciation) for motor vehicles.

Capital allowance can be claimed on the full motor vehicle price for motor vehicles priced below RM100,000.

However, capital allowances are restricted to RM100,000 on motor vehicles exceeding RM100,000 and below RM150,000. The Prius with the new pricing falls within this category.

For completeness, capital allowances are restricted to RM50,000 for vehicles exceeding RM150,000. The old Prius pricing fell within this category.

• JonLing on Oct 28, 2010 at 2:25 pm

ehm……i really dunno what you are talking about. why so many standards for capital allowances?? which 1 is the 1 that is being implemented now?

anyway, this is definitely good news for many people. finally, prius’ price is more appropriate than previously.

• Peterpj on Oct 28, 2010 at 4:04 pm

Its good that you don’t understand – keeps us tax agents relevant, hehehe.

But putting it simply, capital allowances are a form of tax depreciation that you can claim against your business income. For motor vehicles, the rate is 20% initial allowance for the first year you acquired the vehicle and 20% annually thereafter (assuming cash purchase. different computation applies for HP purchase).

The various quantum’s were introduced as a way to encourage the purchase of Malaysian vehicles since their prices are generally below RM100,000 and to discourage companies from purchasing imported vehicles.

There are further rules on changing your vehicle too regularly. Where capital allowance has been claimed and the vehicle is disposed within 2 years from acquisition, all allowances previously allowed would be clawed back…except where the is sufficient commercial justification to support the disposal.

Of course, these rules don’t apply where the vehicle is registered with the Commercial Licensing Board, i.e. there is no restrictions for capital allowance claims for these vehicles.

• tokmoh on Oct 28, 2010 at 5:43 pm

Fuh fuh, not bad for Msian tax.

@JonLing : ooh… you don’t want to know how much more complex UK tax system is hehehe. From what I can understand, Peterpj means something like this:

<RM100k = full capital allowance (CA). If car RM80k, then can claim RM80k CA. If car RM90k, then can claim RM90k CA.

RM100k – RM150k = RM100k CA. In this new prius’ price case, (139,900 – 100,000) RM39,900 cannot be claimed.

>RM150k = RM50k CA. Under old prius price, (175,000 – 50,000) RM125k cannot be claimed.

Correct, Peterpj?

Ok la tu, byk gak savings in terms of tax. Dah la harga drop, pastu dapat extra RM50k CA :)

Things have changed, I used to loathe Prius for its ridiculous price tag, a classic ‘penny wise, pound foolish’ case. Now I think its (price) much more acceptable and sensible.

• 140k for this prius is still overpriced.

with the 100% tax exemption…we can see clearly how much/fat UMW’s profit is.

RM 140k = USD 46k ( @3.05)

But prius in US starts at $23k….so we still pay double.

Still blaming proton / gov for high car prices in malaysia? wake up!!

• tokmoh on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:14 am

You’re right bro, but this is Msia. Until Msians can get past the veil of blind japmobile worshipping, UWM will exploit us to no end.

• GMamaK on Jan 12, 2011 at 5:32 am

For the same spec of Prius, the selling price in Thailand is 1190000 baths or about RM120k, Hong Kong is HK$287727 or about RM114k, Japan is USD28700 and in USA is USD23000-24000 only!!!!!!!!!!!

UMW is overpriced?!!!!!!!!!!!!F…….g greedy!!!

• pendatang yesterday on Apr 03, 2012 at 7:19 pm

You have not factored in the “purchase” price of AP. So, the overprice is not the greed of UMW but those whose name (or race) starts with the letter “M”.

• Salamander on Oct 29, 2010 at 12:16 am

Thank you so much Mr Peterpj for sharing the knowledge with us :)

• 4x4Fan on Oct 28, 2010 at 11:24 am

Harrier….Prius….Harrier….Prius….Harrier….Prius…..Harrier….Prius…..Hmmmmmmm…..?I need to call Nujum Pak Belalang la ni….

• dragster on Oct 28, 2010 at 11:25 am

BRAVO…TOYOTA…..then more ppl can afford to go GREEN….well done TOYOTA

• mohd hafizzul dorifuto on Oct 28, 2010 at 11:26 am

Great…thnx to our government…

• gilabangsat on Oct 28, 2010 at 2:16 pm

some people are just so ungrateful..it’s in their gene

• nighttrain on Oct 28, 2010 at 11:29 am

did they downgrade anything, or is everything intact like pre-excise duty?

• Paul Tan on Oct 28, 2010 at 11:31 am

Our Prius didn’t have much in the first place – no solar panel roof and etc. But I will check.

• Goproton on Oct 28, 2010 at 11:43 am

no solar panel at first place…with a downgraded info meter….
        maybe umw really thinks that Malaysia is not hot at all when park open air….maybe they think that, ‘aiyarrr those stupid ppl will go n tint solar film larrrrrrr don’t care la we just charge them with the panel price larrrrrrr but don’t give them’
        maybe there’s more internal downgraded which we
        don’t know yet…
        but still a very good car…credits going to Toyota engineer and the new local tax policy….=)

• Paul Tan on Oct 28, 2010 at 1:07 pm

They just replied me – specs remain the same.

• hooray lets go get it :-)

• Hi Paul!

Can you explain how does a hybrid car like Prius or Honda saves on fuel consumption since petrol is used to charge the batteries for the car to run on electricity?

Thanks.

• nighttrain on Oct 28, 2010 at 11:48 am

Langkawi ones are fully loaded or bare also?

• Shaycoat on Oct 28, 2010 at 11:34 am

The government move to reduce taxes on hybrid car is great. Our country will become greener. However, i am a bit curious on the maintenance cost of the vehicle. Yes, the cost will be lower if more and more people drive this type of car, but this will not happen sooner. It may takes some time about 5 to 10 years for the cost to come down. The cost that i mean is the cost related to changing the batteries and other super-green spare parts that related to hybrid system. Nevertheless somebody need to ‘kick-start’ to drive this green car.

• farghmee on Oct 28, 2010 at 1:47 pm

not to mention when xcden occur.

the firemen need to be more cautious of high voltage connection.

• rulered on Oct 28, 2010 at 11:34 am

Pity for those who bought at 170k previously. Any rebates for earlier birds who go green earlier I wonder.

• mr_3m on Oct 28, 2010 at 4:07 pm

yeah… pity those early birds… so now 2nd hand Prius drop from RM16xk to RM12xk within months… but only a minority is affected i assume…

• is there a long waiting list for the prius in malaysia?

• Bronx on Oct 28, 2010 at 11:42 am

In Canada it cost only C$30k only with Tax, Levies, Fees, freight and Delivery too!

• gangully on Oct 28, 2010 at 11:51 am

WOO HOO! go canada then! leave this expensive country!

• Thomas Heng on Oct 28, 2010 at 6:09 pm

We stay at Malaysia because we love Malaysia but not the government.
        Malaysia = rakyat + land/border. Please bear in mind Malaysia not BN.

Back to the topic, hope the manufacturer bring more hybrid vehicle to the Malaysia :)

• JohnDeep on Oct 28, 2010 at 9:59 pm

Why must blame gorv. now since the tax is zero except 10% sales tax. It is clear that UMWT is the one making so much profit.

• Thomas Heng on Oct 29, 2010 at 12:26 am

People are easier forgive and forget when got the candies…..they just give something you deserved to had it much earlier in GOOD timing.

When you have a good lover, everyday is valentine. Don’t once taste the sweet then call it daddy. Analyst it in a broader view and care for long term.

Don’t forgot the one who gave you the candy have tons of candies which belong to whole MALAYSIANS.

MALAYSIA GAMBATEH~

• Thomas Heng on Oct 29, 2010 at 12:28 am

yeah~UMW~you should do some research of its background…

• A good example of “lollipop candy” victim (gula-gula) by the BN government. Bravo. The very reason why they can stay in power for the last 50 years.

• SuperT on Oct 30, 2010 at 2:53 pm

Sometimes people just simply said they stay Malaysia because we love Malaysia, But cakap Bahasa Malaysia pun tak fasih, tanya siapa Tuk Janggut pun tak kenal, tanya siapa Agong sekarang pun tak tahu, nyanyi lagu “Negaraku” pun tak tahu, Tapi kereta nak murah, minyak nak murah. You should go Korea and see how they support their own kind, you’ll be amazed….

• turbo go go go! on Sep 10, 2011 at 4:19 pm

kata cinta malaysia, income tax pun tak bagi. lol

• Bronx on Oct 28, 2010 at 12:14 pm

Gangully, I’m in Canada.

• PakAbu on Oct 28, 2010 at 12:15 pm

Wow, RM90K only?

Could be Toyota’s strategy to capture market share.

• jimpo on Oct 28, 2010 at 12:59 pm

UK selling at 20-23k pound = 100k – 115k (including 17.5% VAT).

no wonder toyota malaysia yearly profit is such high

• isnt that canada MSRP? wat is OTR price

• gangully on Oct 28, 2010 at 11:53 am

its all good if you want to go green and all, but i have seen these Priuses on the highway travelling at speeds in excess of 110kph… which begs the question… is it that green at that speed?

i remembered this Fifth gear test that they did with a Prius and some other diesel car… and on the highway at speeds of 70mph, the diesel car was better in terms of fc… which should translate to lower carbon footprint too… no?

• mynameisboo on Oct 28, 2010 at 12:12 pm

only if we have higher specs diesel fuel.

• nighttrain on Oct 28, 2010 at 12:18 pm

yeah.. we’re still struggling with diesel quality. Wouldn’t make sense bringing in diesel cars. Or delaying the diesel transition, for some purpose which is a mystery to me. Not sure if we can make our 2020 target.. haha.

• wat is the relation diesel n 2020

• nighttrain on Oct 29, 2010 at 9:40 am

by 2020, we’ll be negara maju. Diesel quality should have improved by now, bla bla bla.. which part is hard to understand?

• arcana on Oct 29, 2010 at 9:20 pm

there’s no mystery to this……its becoz proton has hybrid and EV in their R & D lines….
        so it makes sense to give benefits related to them…..starting with hybrid and EV later….
        why give diesel the benefit when proton has none?
        its all politically motivated….get it?

• Lim Kopi on Oct 28, 2010 at 12:32 pm

its actually Topgear where they tested the old Prius with an M3

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dKTOyiKLARk

turns out the Beamer is more economical …. not sure if Jeremy is right about this :)

• Tiadaid on Oct 28, 2010 at 3:20 pm

Yes it is at speed. A BMW M3 going at 80mph only uses half its power, but a Prius going at 80mph is grunting and groaning in an effort to maintain that speed.

• alldisc on Oct 28, 2010 at 1:31 pm

yes, the prius is at its best in city driving especially when teres a lot of start-stop traffic.. during which the car will rely only on battery and electric motors to move around – giving ZERO emissions. something like a bicycle.

but at highway speeds, the diesel can be greener, provided the diesel and its engine is of euro4/5 spec.

• paragon on Oct 31, 2010 at 2:20 pm

then it should make perfect sense for car makers to create a diesel hybrid rather than petrol hybrid engines. Or is there already one out there?

• arhusin on Oct 29, 2010 at 11:53 am

prius car dosent have any gear transmission . it runs fully on electric motor.. imagine u driving only on ur 1st gear. sure u drain to a lot of energy. whereas normal cars have a gear transmission control.

the reasons behind hybrid cars dont have gear transmission is they try to save the energy from losing to transmission loss. at least that what i think

• People in Malaysia are not that entirely “green” savvy if you know what I mean. They still throw rubbish here and there, open burning, wastage in ‘carbon footprint’ by driving big Merc or Beemer just to buy 1 roti kosong dhal sambal at mamak and etc.

The primary reason Malaysians go for “green” label cars lies with its better fuel efficiency technology. Even the non-hybrid such as Vios, City etc (petrol powered engine) cars from Toyota and Honda have better fuel consumption too.

The only one still left behind with its “national pride” of the 1980’s fuel guzzler technology is a local company which actually transform tin milo into car parts. Pity.

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Oct 28, 2010 at 11:54 am

more companies will make it their cars..save on their monthly petrol payment claims!

• nohybrid on Oct 28, 2010 at 12:09 pm

HYBRID CAR!!!!!

LOW ON FUEL….
    HIGH ON MAINTENANCE…

• PakAbu on Oct 28, 2010 at 12:18 pm

It would be nice if you can share your experience regarding the high maintenance of using a hybrid.

;-)

• Kok Chi on Oct 28, 2010 at 12:39 pm

Wait till fuel prices go up to RM3+… Which won’t be too long away.

Maintenance isn’t that bad anyway… Batteries are warrantied for 10 years… How many of us drive cars longer than 10 years?

• alldisc on Oct 28, 2010 at 1:37 pm

its the next owner that will benefit. meaning this prius ensure relatively good re-sale value. mind you, prius has 2 batteries.
        1. a 650 volt powering the motor that is engineered to last minimum 10 years. the 2. a 12 volt battery which last like ordinary wet-cell batteries. the prius needs this for the bulbs in the lamps. and such.

• Lanbo on Oct 28, 2010 at 3:07 pm

I have been driving my 2nd gen honda city for 26 years already

• Protong Owner on Oct 30, 2010 at 5:13 pm

imagine our petrol is RM3. (50% more), e.g you will have to pay extra RM300 (assume you pump RM600 per month now). So yearly you pay extra RM3.6K. 10 Years we pay extra RM36K. A family car sedan like Camry, Accord easily cost RM36K more than many other places. So compare to high petrol or high car price, which one you select?

• subhero on Oct 28, 2010 at 1:01 pm

which maintenance is higher?..

• dag372 on Oct 28, 2010 at 5:09 pm

do you ever have a hybrid car?

• mynameisboo on Oct 28, 2010 at 12:11 pm

which generation of prius is this?

• How about who just bought them? Is it fair fir them?

• Richard on Oct 28, 2010 at 6:09 pm

Paul,

Of course it is not fair. How can the government penalise the early adopter to protect the environment like us. Is our government trying to send a message to the public that if you are the late adopter, you will be benefited more than the early adopters??
      This is really outrages.
      Can you help us out here to voice our dissatisfaction and any possibilities of compensation here from the government?

• Armeng on Oct 28, 2010 at 8:43 pm

dream dream dream, its a beautiful dream…sorry but true

• JohnDeep on Oct 28, 2010 at 10:04 pm

it is not long though, 2012 and later got screwed again.

• Hi Richard,

I am an aggrieved owner too, and there about 350 aggrieved silent prius owners out there.

Suggestion ,write to, as I have,
        1) treasury/MOF at http://www.treasury.gov.my/bajet2011/index_bi.html

[email protected]

and

2) ps His secretary said that he is on leave today when I called him. How lame!

Kuah Kock Heng
        President of Umw Toyota Motor Sdn Bhd
        Jalan Utas 15/7
        Shah Alam, Selangor 40915
        Malaysia
        Phone: 60 3 51236688
        Fax: 60 3 51236497

But Cheers ,

Nick

• Richard on Oct 29, 2010 at 4:15 pm

Hi Nick,

Thanks for the info. I too have called Mr. Kuah and was told he was a business trip. Left my details for him to call back.

I will write to Treasury and get a group of Prius owners I know to do that too.

Can i have you email for further correspondent?
          My email is [email protected]

Regards,
          RA

• Hi Richard,

My email is in your mail box. Let get our numbers and write to MOF at the above address . We have been neglected and sidelined.

Malaysians are a quiet lot.

Kindly let me know if you do not get my email.

Thanks and kind regards.

• Sarjit on Oct 29, 2010 at 12:32 pm

Paul, i agree with you that it is definately not fair. I bought my Prius just in August and i have lost a value of $35K in less than 3 months!
      In this country, there is no protection for the consumer. The Govt can make any decisions and devalue your property anytime they like.

My challenge to the Govt & Toyota – If you care for the rights of all citizens, pls reward the early birds too.

• Richard on Oct 29, 2010 at 4:18 pm

Hi Sarjit,

Please see Nick reply above and write to UMW and Treasury dept to lodge an official complaint.

• Protong Owner on Oct 30, 2010 at 5:18 pm

if this logic stands, if government intend to abolish all import car tax and car price drop back to “where it used to be in the early 80s”, should we complain? or do we want our next gen still paying high price in car? I would not want my next gen suffered what i suffered before.

• ynnad on Oct 28, 2010 at 12:22 pm

Turbo-diesel in the same gene pool as the ford focus tdci and bmw 320d should be the best intermediate step for Msia with our poor public transport infra and large geographical area.

But it’s hard for that to happen here in Msia bcoz diesel is heavily subsidised for commercial use. Doubt the fuel pump companies want to dedicate more resources/infrastructure for 2 types of diesel (i.e. clean diesel (less/no subsidiy) for private vehicle use and regular yucky diesel (full subsidiy) for commercial vehicles.

Now if only they make a more refined SUV/MPV with Turbo-diesel.

• mr_3m on Oct 28, 2010 at 3:58 pm

how come they can do so with petrol? like Shell can distribute regular 95 and V-Power 97 & Racing as the premium version… why can’t they do the same with diesel??

E.g regular diesel and another V-Power (V-Diesel?) branding equivalent for clean Euro 4/5 diesel??

or may be they are waiting for the local manufacturers to come up with TDCI/TDI version of their cars first then may be clean diesel will go mainstream… another reason is probably the cost of refining the diesel to Euro 4/5 level is definitely too much for the mega-rich oil companies….

• Until government decided to offer clean EuroIV/V diesel Prius is the best efficient car money can buy, cheaper over RM30k than pre-Budget. BTW, Thailand will get their CKD Prius around B1m=RM100k.

Should our Prius cheaper? Or new Prius all from Tomyum country?

Kudos Toyota for listening to public grudge. Offer Camry 2.4HSD too at RM150,000.

• alldisc on Oct 28, 2010 at 1:40 pm

camry 2.4 hybrid NOT entitle for tax/duties exemption because it is more than 2,000cc.

the price if it comes to malaysia? about 180-200K.

• Kok Chi on Oct 28, 2010 at 12:34 pm

Well… I read somewhere that currently our Prius is from Japan. But apprently Thailand will now be assembling the Prius too.

Probably Toyota is making more money now since the Prius will come from Thailand instead. Not passing all the savings to the end consumer as mentioned… They pass the savings from the tax but not the savings from the manufacturing.

• priuster on Oct 28, 2010 at 4:01 pm

paul, does this mean that there is a possibility that the price of prius will be cheaper later when umw toyota brings in the prius assembled in thailand?

• subhero on Oct 28, 2010 at 1:00 pm

as what i understand. we have to wait atleast 6months for booking this car.

correct me if i wrong.

• Richard on Oct 29, 2010 at 4:20 pm

All existing stock of 35 units was snapped up 1 hour after the announcement.

• Unforgiven on Oct 28, 2010 at 1:17 pm

At RM140k, it’s still not affordable, or maybe I’m just earning too low… sigh…

• KL Stray Cat on Oct 28, 2010 at 1:51 pm

Next step…reduce (or remove) inner-city toll rates for green vehicles.

• azrai on Oct 28, 2010 at 2:11 pm

Now just waiting for the bigger Prius MPV. The previous Prius owner should be bengang this time.

• ismazri on Oct 28, 2010 at 2:19 pm

Behold, the pedal of death saga.

• Civic EK on Oct 28, 2010 at 2:24 pm

it would be nice if under 100k, i will put it in my serious consideration huhu..

• weeling on Oct 28, 2010 at 2:25 pm

i though it would priced around 100k…

• vincent on Oct 28, 2010 at 2:34 pm

Stll a cut throad price from Toyota even tax was removed. Don’t tell me the tax for this car is only 3xk? Why pay 140k for fuel savings when you can save 40% by getting a FIesta which gives you very good fuel consumption.

• altimate on Oct 28, 2010 at 2:37 pm

Really good news :)

I think now it’s time to buy before it’s replaced with the ones assembled in Tomyam-land.. because most likely the price will remain the same if offered with similar spec.

Some ppl who would have considered a Camry may also consider Prius because for that price range, you can only get Camry 2.0 E spec which is quite empty, while this has 7 airbags, cruise control etc. which could be more attractive in that sense.

• nighttrain on Oct 28, 2010 at 2:52 pm

Normally T brand assembled in Thailand will carry an RM20K markup when it enters Malaysia. But if Karl says it’s RM100K in Thailand, then we’re ripped off about an additional RM20K(can use this cash to pursue a master’s degree oo..), regardless of Langkawi price..
    But, if Langkawi price comes into the equation, then RM140K sound reasonable lah..

• Faisal on Oct 28, 2010 at 3:08 pm

wahh !! thx to our government !! tq PM !!

• will see what is the new price from Siamland. as Tax is given to the G, but margin is to the director pockets so there r not much different. As for diesel power it seem not keen to aisa countries vs EU…

if wanna try diesel why not Bio-Diesel here sure make some saving for the transports ppl…. but Bio-Diesel still no “kang kau” for the G yet… so can put a side lah.

• I think those who live in urban traffic jammed places like Penang and KL will definitely see significant petrol savings. But for those in less jammed areas or highway drivers, the tdi may actually be more economical?

• i need to find job with higher salary so that i can buy prius before end of 2011.

well, the fuel money will be used to pay the loan anyway.
    but, at least can contribute back to the environment

• Vincent on Oct 28, 2010 at 3:53 pm

Wait, before every one is celebrating, need to check out, Is hybrid car also subject to AP? If yes, what is the number allocated to Prius?

With 140K, demand sure will go up, but then, if supply remain the same…. soon the price will move up, or the under counter incident will happen…

If no, then Prius can be bring in as much as the demand.

• mr_3m on Oct 28, 2010 at 4:01 pm

sticky pedal or randomly accelerating Priuses no longer an issue, no?

• mini cooper freak on Oct 28, 2010 at 4:27 pm

The price have not been confirmed yet, Paul. I just went to the showroom today… Prices have not been finalized yet, which means that the price is not yet effective.

• u should checkout the toyota malaysia website… the price of the prius has been revised to rm139,900…

• shawal on Oct 28, 2010 at 4:30 pm

Awesome News!

• Damn! I already bought 3008.. if not, I don’t mind buying this Prius.. doing my bit for the mother earth… too late now. Never mind, my next car will be an electric car :)

• think on Oct 28, 2010 at 5:58 pm

No worry…3008 also a nice car

• Yes. Love my 3008. But can’t help to feel a bit dissapointed coz I like Prius but when I bought 3008, Prius was outside my price range (<RM150k).. well water under the bridge.. No point whining. Might as well enjoy what I have than wishing for things that I don't have :)

• zimba on Oct 28, 2010 at 7:38 pm

I believe you just realize how not fuel efficient is your 3008..

• I just got the car. I filled up full tank, still not finish yet.. so can’t say for sure BUT I suspected it is not really fuel efficient .. luckily I don’t use the car every day :)

• Jimmy on Oct 28, 2010 at 5:14 pm

Fair and welcome.

• dodgeviper88 on Oct 28, 2010 at 5:36 pm

Prius is not a ‘green’ car. Has anyone realized that the batteries has carbon footprint in producing them. How about disposal of the batteries? When you replace the batteries, you think the cost of the batteries is less than the cost savings of petrol? Even if you sell before the batteries need replacing, the depreciation is counted thus more depreciation as compared to a normal car. All this so call hybrid tax exemption is just another gimmick. I would like to see the government bringing in Euro 5 diesel and all diesel cars under 2.0L with green engine to be tax exempted. The VW Polo 1.2TDI is rated at 85MPG, which is 30.30km/l. Details are at this website http://www.carmagazine.co.uk/Drives/Search-Results/First-drives/Volkswagen-Polo-Bluemotion-2010/

• Machi on Oct 28, 2010 at 10:37 pm

I do love advanced diesel engine..perhaps with hybrid would be greater..but in this case..guess it might not be the fair comparison..

1. Size: Polo 1.2 TDI has much smaller in size and hence much lesser weight (comparing Prius 1.4 ton to Polo 1 ton)
      2. Manual transmission against CVT in Prius.
      3. Power (78 hp vs 136hp in Prius)
      4. Cabin size

and..CO2 emission difference is 2g/km…In my opinion, Prius is still a clear winner.

Well..the correlation between CO2 reduction from hybrid and carbon footprint for rare earth materials usage on battery and motor (Neody & Lanthanum) is still a big arguement…No specific study and data to prove which cause more damage to environment ..it’s no point for us to headache about too …so park this question to the scientists to answer.

Just my 2 cents..

• PakAbu on Oct 29, 2010 at 7:03 am

Sometimes, ‘going green’ is only ‘feel good’ more than anything else.
      Just like not using bags at supermarkets while the packaging of the stuff you buy contains even more plastics.

• Joker The Great on Nov 01, 2010 at 8:57 pm

cost of replace to the new battery for Prius is RM17K inlcuding labor charges at UMW

• When is the X6 Hybrid coming in?

• Bluelite on Oct 28, 2010 at 6:23 pm

Pity those who bought recently or previously……earlier batch 2nd hand value might drop quite alot…maybe less than RM100K????

• yea~ drop kau kau.. who say Toyota 2nd hand is so good and stable?

• Don’t hv to becos those who bought earlier are damn rich anyway…

• Oh well, we’ve always had inconsistent policies, haven’t we? Now the early adopters are penalised with a big depreciation instead of being awarded for their initiative.

So, the price at Langkawi will still be around RM125k? Still beyond affordable for the average local car buyer…

• gilabangsat on Oct 29, 2010 at 9:39 am

it’s not incosistent, Gov revised the policy to give rakyat cheaper green cars. if you have problem with that, too bad lah.

• untouchable on Oct 28, 2010 at 7:13 pm

Honda Insight mugen are way much sporty…
    hey Paul..any news about the Insight ??

• guys..

pls wait til next yr..release of electric power prius.

• Wa~ This car may beat Civic’s sales… But then, If the Civic Hybrid priced at rm110k.. Then, All Civic potential definitely choose Civic hybrid laa.

• Ouchh! Poor guys who buy before hand !

• nolan on Oct 28, 2010 at 8:55 pm

Thats the way ahak ahak…….i like it ahak ahak….

• Steven on Oct 28, 2010 at 9:03 pm

Wait for Honda Malaysia to bring in the Honda Insight hybrid next year. It should be cheaper and more sporty than Toyota Prius. Hope it can be priced below RM100K. Then it will give Prius a beating. Honda The Power Of Dreams.

• Steven on Oct 28, 2010 at 9:06 pm

Wait for Honda Malaysia to bring in the Honda Insight hybrid next year. It should be cheaper and more sporty than Toyota Prius. Hope it can be priced below RM100K. Then it will give Prius a beating. If Honda Civic hybrid is priced at around RM111K, Civic sales (all variants of Civic – hybrid, 1.8, 1.8S-L, 2.0) will go up. Honda The Power Of Dreams.

• Lim Kopi on Oct 29, 2010 at 12:18 am

Well , according to WHATCAR.COM , Prius is still far more superior than Honda’s Civic hybrid and Insight …. see 4 urself:

http://www.whatcar.com/Review/EditionCompare?newOrUsed=New&makeId=23978&modelId=24339&editionId=24353&makeId1=10582&modelId1=10747&editionId1=35424&makeId2=10582&modelId2=11014&editionId2=36222

• Richard on Oct 29, 2010 at 4:29 pm

I got a chance to look at the car in and out last week. Sportier dont think so. Shape closer to 2nd Gen Prius. Dashboard is too clustered. Backseats and legroom way smaller than Prius. Performance wise, 1.3 with smaller electric motor on Honda compared to 1.8 with much bigger electric motor……..tells it all. Compared the specs.

• autojohndoe on Oct 28, 2010 at 9:37 pm

after this got TRD sportivo or not? hoho

• toyota is world class brand….dont deny….whre is estima hybrid?

• toyota prius,,number 1 hybrid….car
    not honda..

• Carl Wong on Oct 28, 2010 at 10:35 pm

For me it looks better in blue for both Prius and Civic Hybrid. I am seeing a lot of Prius and Civic Hybrid around lately, the prices are lower now which means there’ll be even more hybrids on our roads. Well done Toyota and Honda :].

• prius on Oct 28, 2010 at 11:18 pm

will consider prius if they include the solar panel, else its pointless..

• Joker The Great on Oct 28, 2010 at 11:50 pm

waooo so cheap man…..
    those who as as marketer which to travel a lot, can consider this car…
    my dream car….

• Road Thunder on Oct 29, 2010 at 12:16 am

Driving a Prius can literally kill you if the pedal gets stuck to the floor and you ram full speed into a bus or a prime mover.

• aroma on Oct 29, 2010 at 2:52 am

This is the first comment i read after turning on my pc, damn sh*t the boring !

• prius is better for performance and fuel saving.. 1.8 hybrid compare to
    Honda insight and crz only use 1.3 and 1.5 engine hybrid..

• Prius owner who bought before this can keep the car for till the end of HP.
    Well done!

• arhusin on Oct 29, 2010 at 12:04 pm

jazz hybrid is coming out soon. Just launch in japan. ithink we should considered other option than the prius.. if the excemption apply for this car sure be around 60-70k.. hahahaha

• Balikampung on Oct 29, 2010 at 2:05 pm

Dont be so impulsive…..

wait for the CAMRY HYBRID

lots more Hybrid coming in

• arcana on Oct 29, 2010 at 9:26 pm

unlikely dude……no tax exemption for 2.4 hybrids….
      unless u feel that u have too much money in hand and want to get 1 no matter wat

• You guys have totally underestimate the capability of Toyota Prius, go and watch the latest Hollywood movies; “The Other Guys” starring, Will Ferell and Mark Wahlberg to see a Prius in hot pursuit (covered with cocaine). Do not miss the part when both of them argue about food chain “Tuna versus Lion” conversation and see how “The Rock” and Samuel Jackson died in a horrific way (a case of over confidence). LOL!

• autojohndoe on Oct 30, 2010 at 10:53 am

haha.. you believe what shown in the film?

like a kid la you…

• maximus on Oct 31, 2010 at 9:34 pm

the rock and sam jackson died!!! spoiler!!!! Did the prius killed them? well, fair question since the prius has or had the notoriety to harm which may lead to death. Ill fame…

• CarDude on Oct 29, 2010 at 10:07 pm

Unfortunately, this “tax free” for Hybrid will only last till end-2011.
    Of course, we all hope it will last forever.

Won’t it be great if this tax free stays on forever?

If it’s true, I predict lots of cars sold in Malaysia are going to be Hybrids
    since we are paying only 10% Tax and
    Malaysians will be buying car at prices close to our neighbours.

• bobby on Oct 30, 2010 at 9:54 am

for those who felt unfair, i felt so sorry to you, truly i am but the world is unjust.

today u go to a giordano to buy a shirt RM69.00.

tomorrow is their discounted day, promotion goes for 2 shirt for RM99.00. can u go get back ur value loses ?

same principle here.

• maximus on Oct 31, 2010 at 9:38 pm

hey if you can afford to go green, then by all means, pay.
      I am an early adopter of plasma TV. The price plumutted and the picture got better. I will file a claim for value loss with the TV manufacturer. oit!!

• Dawsding on Oct 30, 2010 at 10:02 am

my only concern is the resale value after 7 yrs, i wonder how much the price would have dropped then, coz even though the battery is good for more than the guaranteed 10 yrs but people will still have the concern of the need to replace the battery and that will reduce the demand for it

• JohnDeep on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:00 am

10 years ago a Nokia hp battery cost you RM150, but now you can get it at RM50. When volume is there everybody will rush to do the business and competition will make thing cheaper for sure. Don’t worry…

OTOH, 7 years from now 2nd hand petrol/diesel cars will be very cheap instead because of expensive fuel to run by then. So battery operated cars is the way forward.

• bohtakchek on Oct 31, 2010 at 5:28 pm

another overly expensive product that battery can’t last 10 years….

• Hyundai Fan on Nov 20, 2010 at 12:42 pm

Test drive Prius but salesman is strongly recommended Camry which has the same price as Prius with the reason that Hybrid car is still new in Malaysia and not worth buying. I am more interested to know if the resale value of Prius will be very low or the same as Camry. I think we can only find out the answer after 2011. So, if I buy the Prius now, I will be risking myself as nobody can tell if hybrid cars will receive good response in the near future and I may end up loosing more money if the resale value is lower than other D-segment cars. I am more risk averge.

• keikor on Nov 23, 2010 at 5:59 pm

Hi Hyundai Fan
      I think hybrid is the way to go, imaging two years later how much the ron97 patrol price will be. Just like you I have been thinking for a month on what car to buy, between camry, prius, altis 1,8. had tested all of them. From the test i found that the prius & camry 2.0 driving comfort more or less is the same, altis totally no even come close and friend of my told me that his camry 2.0 (2008 model) fuel consumption is 550~580KM for 50L, I ended booked the prius today for long run, I going to keep this car at lease 7 years… considering camry “no so” fuel economy & fuel price may go up sky high in the future. Salesman told me that need to wait till end of March or early April to get the car.

• Willy Go on Dec 03, 2010 at 7:37 pm

Hi Hyundai Fan,

I have already made my booking for my Prius, estimated to arrive sometime in March 2011.

My decision based on :-

1/ Drive tested.
      a/ Comfortable with sufficient power. I know there are critical reviews condeming lack of power, etc (even 1 US user reviewed how he still miss his Camry). Prius is suppose to be confortable & economical, not expected to compare with Ferrari or Lamborghini as far as power is concern.

2/ Prius is of higher technology (if I’m not wrong).
      a/ The petrol engine is not running when driving in low speed of car stationed. Most other hybrid’s petrol engine must be in running condition once they start the car. Could be the reason Prius 1.8L is more economy than Civic Hybrid (1.3L).
      b/ The battery can be recharged even when we apply brake (something in capturing the kinetic energy & charging it into the battery, I’m not good in these technical aspects).
      c/ Plus other high tech, needed to further research thru the internet to know better. I love the speedo meter reflected on the windscreen, meaning you can see your speed limit on the road. Sadly many options not available in Malaysia, told by salesman these options not allowed by gov.)

3/ I make decision when there are good probabilities.
      a/ Any car that save petrol often have higher re-sale value.
      b/ Hybrids will be trend of future cars & Prius is top sale of all hybrids in the world.
      (We are not sure about fully electric cars; technicals, power, endurance…etc.)
      c/ Many Prius have been used as taxis in Australia & have been known to last.
      d/ Battery is not cheap, but known to have been replaced after 500K km, meaning it can last easily 10yrs, under normal usage.

4/ Lost of value.
      a/ All cars loose value once purchased, something we expected. Reason I seldom purchase cars, prefer property. Yes we also need to consider cars that drop value drastically.
      a/ Currently Prius is cheaper by about 35K only due to hybrid car tax exemption from gov. & not discount from Toyota. If the tax exemption is abolished, I don’t think I can afford buying Prius at 175K. I heard this tax free is only for 1 year (hoped I’m wrong).

Hoped these are valuable comments.

• Go Green on Nov 21, 2010 at 3:08 pm

I test drive the prius. Very quiet and comfort car. The best thing is, it allowes me to choose power drive, eco drive and ev drive. So i can safe more fuel :). The display is awesome and it’s easy to drive. Still considering whether want to purchase the car or not cause it cost RM139, 900 OTR. It’s still an expensive car. I hope the goverment can gift another 50% discount, so that green technology can become reacheable to lower and medium income group.

• go green on Jan 23, 2011 at 11:57 am

The salesman inform me, my prius will arrive either of Feb’11 or Mar’11. Can’t wait to see my new prius :)

• any owner can share the opinion for this car?

• I still think it’s over price. Despite the 50% tax rebate, i don’t believe in Paying Rm1.5K monthly for a car, even though i can actually afford it right now. If they take out the tax totally this car will only be a mere 105K, which to me is a better buy.

The Honda Insight is priced at Rm98K only, with full rebate. Nevertheless, i still doubt that the government is not gaining anything from this, because i still think they do. Second to that, by reducing the rebate, no one is going to buy Malaysian made vehicles.

Nevertheless, i think the Malaysian government is just F*ing rip off towards their own citizens, come on Malaysian made vehicles that is assembled locally is not meant to be that pricey, no tax is supposed to be included in the first place.

By the way, countries that produce oil, i.e Saudi and Venezuela, their petrol price per litre is Rm0.5 and Rm0.30 respectively, no tax for vehicles i.e ferrari, porsche, gmc or even a freaking proton there, Try pondering on that fact. Might as well build a freaking large aquarium and drown every Malaysians.

What a rip off.

• green peace on Dec 07, 2010 at 6:14 pm

Mr. K you have a point. however the most reliable hybrid car is toyota prius. and it’s assembled in Japan. others car engine has less fuel effcient. the goverment is protecting proton as you may already know and all this while we are paying more for the new imported cars compare to country like USA. so what choice do we have???

• Honda is giving 5 years warranty for insight battery, Toyota you are 42k more expensive, you can do better that that don’t you !!??

• keikor on Dec 17, 2010 at 4:51 pm

Hi guys, any idea where can I buy prius body kit in m’sia ?

• Mayonaise on Dec 26, 2010 at 9:52 pm

Paul, I’m not sure if you’ll get a chance to answer me this but I wanna ask about the “B” position on the shift knob, I have absolutely no clue what that “B” is for. Can you enlighten me on that? Thanks!

• Paul Tan on Dec 27, 2010 at 12:50 am

It’s to put the car into engine braking mode to use when going down Genting for example.

• green peace on Jan 23, 2011 at 11:51 am

Still got 2 months to go for my prius to arrive. can’t wait.

• I booked my Prius early Nov last and the UMW dealer promised they will try extra extra extra hard to deliver mine before 2011. Came Dec, the manager called saying that they cannot deliver mine that year and told me the car will arrive in March 2011. That sucks. Any idea where are the Prius now? Still at the factory?

• keikor on Jan 25, 2011 at 3:17 pm

your car & mine haven’t build yet :). in Japan alone the waiting is more than 3 months, see this http://www.reuters.com/article/idUKTOE62E04520100315. You may want to consider Lexus CT 200h If you have the budget, it look very nice & luxury

• go green on Jan 25, 2011 at 9:17 pm

patient guys. 2 more months to go. And our prius will arrive ;)

• Go green, they convinced me to put higher deposit so that they will try to get the car before 2011 from the remaining 2010 stock. I would not have done that if i knew the car won’t be there before new year.

Anyway guys, just got a sms from the salesperson. Mine will be delivered on Feb 14. Won’t believe it until i get the car and drive it.

• keikor on Jan 27, 2011 at 4:58 pm

Since they failed to delivered their promises to deliver the car on time, you deserved the right to demand for compensations. Ask them for discount or free gift :) Good luck

• I did ask for some kind of discount or gift as they are giving for other models now. No luck as of Fri when I settled all the remaining payment and new loan agreement (very small lower IR). Saw and signed all the particulars etc. Told my car will be in by today at their premise. Asked me to drop by today to have a peek.

Guess what? Got a sms late this afternoon, the car is not there yet. No delivery tomorrow. Reason want to install free tint first. What the f***? I already paid extra for V-cool. Told the salesman, UMW better throw in 16″ alloy wheels for the second delay! Saw the 16″ whells on Insight yesterday. Awesome and better look than prius 15″.

• go green on Feb 15, 2011 at 5:18 pm

wow Dr K, your prius is already here? nice man. what color you choose? mine will still delivered on March. how your prius is faster than mine.

• go green on Feb 05, 2011 at 9:51 pm

Dr K, my prius will still arrive on march. by the way, is our prius is 100% assembled in Japan or it comes from Thailand.

• new toyota owner on Feb 17, 2011 at 12:15 am

CBU from Japan

• So Far all PRIUS from Japan which makes it worthwhile. Prius already assembled in Thailand but maybe UMW listening to users and will keep importing from Japan, since tax free and Afta has no role to play in pricing.

• new toyota owner on Feb 17, 2011 at 12:14 am

my Prius confirm in early March. the car will only available in 25 Feb. waiting for JPJ register etc, will be early March. But still i saw some Prius OTR aldy. Is our one 2nd batch?

• keikor on Feb 17, 2011 at 2:28 pm

I think ours is the 1st batch of lowered price. I will get the car next week according to the SA.. the best part is this batch come with windows tinting which save me 1~2k…. :) I have few plans for my car
      1) glass coating
      2) put bigger wheels probably 17″ to match the car
      3) tinting – is free luckily
      4) more to come

• go green on Feb 17, 2011 at 8:34 pm

what color you choose. i saw silver color prius already here in penang. one truck carry the prius.

• Dear all, Finally I received my Prius late yesterday afternoon. Silver. I have yet to explore the features as I was too tired and not feeling well. I have not been feeling well since the second delay. Too upset of the delay I guess. Have to adapt with the different start-up, parking and stop procedures.

With free tint, I save 2.6K of V-Cool. Thinking of 16″ wheels but heard that change will void the 3 years warranty. The 16″ and 17″ look nicer. Where can we get the OEM (and avoiding the void?). Thinking of changing the radio too. But guess have to wait until UMW offer the OEM. Saw some China one on alibaba <2K. Not sure of the sound, video and GPS quality. Any suggestion?

• keikor on Feb 18, 2011 at 4:23 pm

Go green, mine is pearl white

Dr K, you are right on that on the voiding warranty for any modification, UWM only recognized what is in it originally, I’ve confirmed with SA & even one of the forumer at priuschat made inquiry from toyota to confirm that too.
            sad to say that there isn’t wheel upgrade option here, unlike other part of world there are option of 15″ or 17″.
            15″ is just too small that that size of car !!! Anyway I will still go for bigger wheel, I’m searching for a light weight wheels with the right price & pattern :)

• go green on Feb 18, 2011 at 5:49 pm

Dr K and keikor, I’m sticking to original wheels. I won’t change the tyre. Remember guys, 15″ tyre can safe more fuel. The wheels also come with covers that enhance the aerodymanic performance. Happy exploring your prius. I won’t get mine till early or mid march. I just check with the toyota salesman. I got my tender number already. Feel happy about it :) Now waiting for the D-day.

• Keikor and Gogreen,

Just noticed several things while driving to/from office. The rear view mirror does come with auto anti-glare, side mirrors are not auto-retractable and Goodyear tires are noisy. The tire noise is much louder than the engine. Probably caused by the slight “flat” syndrome on the tires when an imported car is parked too long (weeks) at the ports and storage ground. I experienced the same problem with my previous Freelander. Land Rover refused to change the tires and I had to adapt to the tire noise until I sold the vehicle. I am not sure with UMW.

My wife is also getting an Insight. Seems it comes with more goodies i.e. auto anti-glare, 16″ alloy, USB jack, power retractable side mirrors, 4 corner reverse sensors, manual shift control.. We were supposed to receive the car on 15 Feb too but Honda has yet to deliver.

• Correction: missed the not on anti-glare. No anti-glare rear view. No remote A/C starter. Different from the one I drove during the test drive model.

• Kelvin on Apr 01, 2011 at 2:02 am

Hi.. Just got my Prius last week and loving it since then! Upgraded to Altis 16″ rim with 205/55 R16 Michelin Primacy LC and was wonderful! Managed to get 4.9l/100km and ODO meter reading is around 600km.

• I think 1st shipment from Japan but second clearance batch. Anyway, you still got car ahead of the March timeframe right.

I got mine on the 11th but car already in Toyota before CNY from the port. They had probs with AP.

How is your car so far?

If you looking at adding things to the car, try ebay… Already bough cargo net, now planning to buy, Chrome door handle and chrome side moulding

• Hi all, I guess I am one of the lucky ones. I book a few days after new price announced and got mine delivered (to UMW) day before CNY. They only cleared all the documentation on the 10th of Feb (Branch Manager on leave, hahaha). Anyway, I took delivery of mine on the 11th and have been enjoying the car since.

Only thing is no leather seats and no central locking (the auto lock version). Other than that I like the power, CVT, quiteness etc.

The thing I enjoy most is pumping fuel, am using RON 95 only. FYI…

1st Tank RM 74+ – 725 km
      2nd Tank RM 74+ – 802 km

I am luck one of my colleagues from Germany is an expert in driving the Prius and he gave me pointers of the proper way to drive. I have been told, I can easily get close to 900km per tank. I do about 700-800 km per week and the difference in petrol would be over RM 100 per week if I did not cancel my Tucson 2.4

• new prius owner on Feb 27, 2011 at 12:45 am

hi Dr K,
    May i know that your free tinted is premium solar tinted, equivalent to V-kool? as you said you save on V-kool cost. is the free tinted only special for your case or all Prius will have this? How effective the tinted so far?

• UMW says free tint is for all Prius. I had a V-cool (CRV) before. Think V-cool performance is a lot better than Toyota Solar but V-cool gives some problem on hand-held GPS unit. Some V-cool cut off heat till 85-95%. Nothing is mentioned on Toyota Solar film.

Something is rattling at the rear but I cannot pin-point what is it? Saw in priuschat that many commented that Prius 2010 is a rattler. But I am surprised that even a < 2 weeks old rattles. Am sending mine for the 1st 1K service tomorrow and will see what is the problem.

• Keikor on Mar 01, 2011 at 10:36 pm

Hi Guys, I don’t have idea on the V-cool but I do have V-kool on my VIOS for more than 7 yrs without any issue with SmartTAG or Garmin GPS

after 6 days of having this car, I think the tint came with the car do the job well, parked whole day in the open air car park don’t feel too hot in the car, even my colleague feel the same.

as for rattling at the rear, it happened to me as well, the noise was from the tools in the rear cargo, i wrapped it with news papers the rattle stopped

• Vkool also got many grades. Not sure which one blocks Garmin and SmartTag. As the so called TOYOTA Solar something aka, ECO TINT Premium, it is not in the same range as VKOOL’s top product.

The price if you walk off the street for a PRIUS is RM 2200

Had mine done one week after delivery. They only decided to give tiniting free on the day I took delivery.

Did you guys get a toyota emergecny kit ??

• Keikor on Mar 02, 2011 at 8:03 pm

yes, mine it is included. For those wanted send the car for service, better call to check if they are able to service prius, I just found out today that not every service center are capable of service Prius,

The funny thing is that it seems like the some operators doesn’t know what is Prius or hybid !!?? when I called the service center and asked is your service center able to service Prius, they replied huh prius !!??” I explained is a hybrid car, I asked the operator again don’t you know that Toyota have Hybrid car ? they hold the line for few secs, I believed they are checking with someone in there, today really a joke of the day.

UMW Toyota if you see this, please send your people for product training !!!

• Does your remote have the panic button & can start the A/C? Mine, no. Do you get anti-glare rear mirrow? Mine, no. I have checked my car just now. No emergency kit. Will call the salesman tomorrow about this?

• Acutally they already mentioned only selected service centers can handle Prius and that’s the ones in Subang, Sec 14 PJ and Batu Caves (I think)

• keikor on Mar 03, 2011 at 11:02 am

Dr K, no panic & air-con button. for anti-glare yes u got to do it manually by tilt the rear mirror(it’s stated in the manual).

Maybe I just list down here what bundled with my prius (year 2011)
            1) More than RM1.5K discount from SA
            2) Solar tint
            3) Emergency kits
            4) a small can of touch up paint (pearl white)
            5) RM23 patrol voucher

• Keikor, did you book in UMW outlet or agent?

• I meant V-kool.

• go green on Mar 06, 2011 at 10:43 am

my car will be delivered next week :). the salesman told me it comes with toyota solar film which cost about rm2500. it’s free. for others you mention like discount voucher, emergency kits and rm23 patrol voucher, my salesman din mention that. so i’ve to ask to see if he can give me.

• Dr K,

The rattling can also be caused by the cover over the spare wheel. What I have done is to put a piece (custom cut) sound deadening mat from Wurth on top of the wheel. Also please check an ensure that the tray containing your tools over the wheel is fastened properly.

• I am not sure if I got the emergency kit? Where should I check for the kit?

Just before sending the car for the 1st service, I found that the rattling came from the black spoiler (with the third brake light). UMW confirmed it but told me they have no experience of rectifying it and need to leave the car for the whole day for them too check with the team leader & Toyota.

Nevertheless, the rattling dissapears for now. I guess UMW might have done something but the guy who attended my Prius may not knew about it as he insisted that they will attend the rattling on the next service.

• Starting a Prius Roll?
    No. Owner Month/Year Color City
    1. Kin 02/11 Metallic Gray Klang Valley

• Probably the best thing is to ask Toyota to set up a Prius group in their Toyota Tribes. Otherwise we could set up the Malaysian Prius yahoo or google group as the priuschat is a bit crowed.

• Keikor on Mar 03, 2011 at 8:19 pm

I’m pretty happy with the fuel consumptions, the 1st tank shown 5.8L/100KM & the 2nd tank i managed to get 4.2L/100KM, it’s getting better, by the way I’m using RON97.

I using “normal” mode most of the time with no special driving technique, my average cruising speed is 110 ~ 120KM/H. Hopefully after 1st 1000KM service will getting better.

RM 0.105/KM !!! I’m impressed :D

• go green on Mar 06, 2011 at 9:38 pm

toyota mentions it’s 5 sen use in city and 8 sen use in highway. does anyone hit that?

• prius owner on Mar 08, 2011 at 12:18 pm

so far in my first ride 78KM range (more on highway and less in city) hit 3.6-3.8liter/100KM. Good. But in purely city drive i normally get at 4.4L/100KM. Still learning how to be drive efficient.

• prius_driver on Mar 07, 2011 at 10:35 am

nice numbers u have there keikor. Hopefully after service, it’ll hit 4L/100km

• Received our Insight on Friday. Pick up of the 1.3L is more responsive than Prius. Auto wipers, auto headlights and auto collapsable side mirrors. No anti-glare rear mirror (that we saw in the Honda showroom.) Ride smoother in Prius. Will be using Prius for long distance journeys. I am still waiting for my Emergency Kit that was missing during the delivery. Mileage on my Prius? Already 2 fill-ups but forget to note the L/km.

• keikor on Mar 07, 2011 at 3:05 pm

dude please press the “PWR mode” button, the throttle & pedal respond change immediately, you’ll feel the kicks

• Dr K, just click the display and you would get to a stage where you have records for the past 5-6 refills.

• I agree the Prius PWR mode is awesome! Insight has the S(port) mode similar to City. S mode in City is more ummp than D mode. I have yet to use that S mode but even at normal D, the pick up is surprising better for Insight. BTW UMW called this afternoon saying that they have found the TEK. Thanks guys for mentioning about it here. Otherwise I won’t know that I was short-changed.

BTW no paddle gear shift in the Insight we received. Dissapointing. Sometime I feel that these car companies try to mislead us by showing different equipped models during the test drive and shows (in showroom). By the time (months) you get your cars, they will make excuses that those shown in showroom or given for test-drive are Japanese-spec. When I test-drove the Prius in Nov, I was shown the model with remote starter & A/C model. No brochure with the 2011 spec given.

• prius owner on Mar 08, 2011 at 12:11 pm

Ask all prius owner,
    do you aware that our Prius doesn’t has auto door lock after car accelerate? It need to manual press door lock button. Are your Prius car like that? Bit disappointing on this very basic safety feature.

• Keikor on Mar 08, 2011 at 4:29 pm

no auto door lock

• No auto lock. In fact during the test drive, UMW showed the car can be programmed to open only the driver’s side or all doors, can start the A/C remotely etc.. These features are not provided. Or may be these were not explained by the saleperson during the delivery.

• go green on Mar 10, 2011 at 8:08 pm

that’s not good. i tot it comes with auto lock when we drive at certain speed. i may need to check.

• I have found and downloaded soft copy of user manual. Anyone wants a copy just put your email id down… will send to you

• go green on Mar 11, 2011 at 4:07 pm

i just receive my car today. the salesman come and pick me up to get my prius. Felt happy and tired. I was not able to sleep well due to over excitement. my car comes with emergency kit and toyota solar film. that’s all i get. well when i look at the function they are many things i need to learn. maybe in a month i’ll get used to the system. the car is very quite. there is no auto lock. so i need to manual lock the prius. the salesman told me i can install the auto lock and the car will still under waranty as long as they din cut any orignal wires. now i’m heading to sleep. felt very tired cause yesterdat only slept 5 hrs. i’m from penang and my prius is abbys gray.

• prius owner on Mar 11, 2011 at 11:51 pm

Hi go green,
            i am from kedah, abbys gray too. properly we are the only two select this color in northern region.

• Hmm I wonder how many on the road now…

I am from Kota Kemuning and there is a white color there, mine is metallic gray.

• Finally I received my TEK. The salesperson was not as cheerfully as usually. Probably he was scolded by the manager. But he admitted that UMW forgot to put those kits in a few of the earlier batch. Kin: There is also a silver one in KK. I have seen the white one at the 1st (McD) roundabout a couple times. Yet to see your gray one. Saw to be delivered several silver, 2 gray and a black Prius at UMW. I am assuming you bought your from Sec 16 UMW. Did you get the 1.5K discount as Keikor did?

• go green on Mar 14, 2011 at 9:26 pm

Dr K, what is TEK mean? my prius come witth spanar and screwdriver that wrap with plastic. something was missing. so i called the salesman whether toyota got give tool bag or not. so i’m still waiting for his response.

• go green on Mar 16, 2011 at 8:37 pm

the longger i drive this car, the more excitement i have. it’s so wonderful and happy to drive this car.

• go green on Mar 17, 2011 at 6:50 pm

sad la, i try to register my prius at toyota tribe website, it declines. don’t know why. somemore toyota tribe doesn’t have prius forum or prius activities.

• TEK toyota emergency kit which UMW somehow forgot to put in. I have manage to register as the TT member. Took 2 weeks after i complained. Unfortunate no prius category yet. UMW should put this up as Star reported 700 prius new order. Otherwise I have set up an “open” yahoo Prius Malaysia group where the members do not need the approval of the owner to join. In future we may need to screen the membership as some you get nasty unsolicited mails. In this case I will need moderators to hel. The link is here http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/priusmalaysia/.

• Dr K, are you staying in Kota Kemuning? Is yours white WUV or WVA

• keikor on Mar 18, 2011 at 10:19 am

Kin, I ordered from the agent. I don’t like sec16, most of the SA there are very LC

For those just received the car, you better check your tyres air pressure check. Today I went to gas station pump my tyres, I was shocked that the indicator shown all 4 typres air pressure is 350KPa(50PSI). 120KPa more than the recommended (info can be found on the driver door). luckily it didn’t exploit :)

It will be good if someone can setup the prius forum for m’sia, anyone ?

• go green on Mar 20, 2011 at 10:52 am

Hi Keikor and Dr. K, i found a prius fan website at facebook. here is the link http://www.facebook.com/?ref=home#!/group.php?gid=103715152161
      and another one is http://www.facebook.com/?ref=home#!/group.php?gid=139515726468.
      i’m not sure how effective this group is, and i’ve join them. not so much member though.
      by the way, where do you keep your spannar and screwdriver that comes with prius. i don’t see any tool bag given.

• keikor on Mar 20, 2011 at 9:23 pm

Go green, I wrapped it with news papers, cheap, easy sound deadening, I just keep them under the cargo

• go green on Mar 21, 2011 at 2:10 pm

thank you keikor. i wish toyota can give us tool bag for our prius tools. it’s neater and looks more elegant.

• I went to my regular accessory shop and got Wurth deadening map to cover the whole spare tire area under the storage area. Cost about 40 RM. Cut a little and wrapped the spanners.

Will be soundproofing that section myself since I still have spare. Being a hatch back, any noise from back is very clear unlike a sedan.

• rudolf edward on Mar 20, 2011 at 8:08 pm

wish to have nissan murano hybrid!!!!

• flyer168 on Jun 15, 2013 at 7:44 am

Hi Paul,

I have been driving the 2011 Prius 1.8 since 2011. I am looking forward to the Prius 1.8 7 seater Wagon.

Any chance of it coming to KL, Malaysia…?

• sy berminat nak pakai Prius 1.8 tapi masih takut kerana elektronik n servis.. How about FC…