Peugeot 207 Sedan – our first impressions of the T33

pug 207 1

The RM75-85,000 car segment has certainly become that much more exciting in recent months. After years of what has really been a two-horse race, the slew of new contenders that have emerged or are coming about in this bustling segment is nothing short of excellent news to the consumer, who by the next few weeks or so will have a couple more choices to pick from.

That B-segment domain that has been owned by Toyota’s Vios and Honda’s City has since seen the inclusion of the larger C-segment Kia Forte into the mix, and then Mazda came along with its Mazda2 sometime back. This month or so is where it all gets truly interesting – first, there was the arrival of the Thai-made Ford Fiesta, and early next month will see two more joining the fray, one being another C-segment offering, the Inspira (granted, it, like the Forte, shouldn’t exactly be in the segment, but with pricing considerably dictating purchase decisions here, like it or not, the Proton is effectively lumped in, albeit primarily in manual form).

pug 207 4

The other, which arrives a bit earlier sometime next week, is the Peugeot 207 Sedan. Codenamed the T33 Project, the vehicle is essentially an updated 206 Sedan based on the 206 chassis, built in Gurun for the local market as well as the Asean region. Ahead of its market launch, we were invited to have a quick preview session with the car earlier in the week.

Continue reading the report after the jump

First, a qualifier – an hour isn’t that much time, especially so if you have to take photos. That, and the lack of even trade plates, meant that the course was limited to roads nearby Blue Box Glenmarie, so the observations made are quite limited in defining the car.

pug 207 2

Shape evaluation, however, doesn’t count in the above, what with spending all that time shooting it. The first thing that strikes you when you first clap eyes on the 207 sedan’s body shape is that it’s all very much 206. There’s really very little argument to be had that, by and large, this is a 206 with a boot strapped on – the front end screams it pretty loud and clear, for one. Indeed, lop off the tail and smoothen out the end and basically, you’ve virtually got the little prev gen hatch.

I suppose there’s really nothing wrong with that, given that it makes good economic sense to rebuild on the existing, and that one can only do so much cosmetic work on something before it starts looking too Frankenstein-ish. There is of course that omnipresent problem every automaker has faced when adding a tail to a hatch – getting the flow through to the rear altogether right. Witness the Suzuki SX4 as an example, as well as the likes of the Mazda2 and Fiesta for that matter. Some come closer than others, but all get no cigar.

pug 207 9

Likewise here. The integration of the lines from rear door/C-pillar to the boot certainly takes some getting used to, at least to me it does. The C-pillar and corresponding area to the rear fender has acreage, a little too much actually, all accentuated by the cut of that 206-ish door frame, which to my eyes don’t quite work. Nonetheless, the tail by itself isn’t as prominently disjointed as some of its ilk (once you get past that C-pillar business!), though it does have lines that are a bit Vios-like. Away from that, the shape is clean and devoid of too much fuss, business-like as opposed to revolutionarily exciting. For a small family sedan, that’s certainly well workable, I guess.

Inside, there’s really none of the tactility and presence of say, a 308, be it in the lines and overall presentation, but the plastics are decent to the sight and, more importantly, touch. Yes, that front fascia takes you back to the 90s from a shape perspective, but those who like their cabins unfettered will certainly find this one to be very pleasant.

pug 207 3

The slightly utilitarian outlook is dressed up by items such as an automatic climate control system, leather-wrapped steering wheel (which has only tilt adjustability), a multi-function display (located top centre) and four silver-trimmed, white background dial meters. A six-speaker, single-DIN MP3/WMA CD player audio system is offered, and this has Bluetooth and USB.

Other items in the kit list are dual front SRS airbags, two Isofix points for child seats, as well as sensor-activated headlamps and wipers, which is a big plus for an offering in this segment. The boot offers 420 litres of space, not the largest in its class, but more than ample to handle most things you care to load into it.

pug 207 10

Seat comfort is good, as is support, but I can’t tell you how it’d all shape up for your back over long distances, since the time spent in the driver’s seat was brief. I usually have issues with Pug seating – a ‘legs too far or arms too near’ kind of thing, but the 207 Sedan didn’t really have much of that, save the point that I think the accelerator pedal may be set a bit high. Jumping in to the rear to take photos revealed a decent enough amount of head and leg room for a strappy lad – what’s available in here squeezes ahead of the Fiesta, which I did think was a bit cramped during the Ford drive in Thailand.

No Prince block to be found here, but the 1.6 litre twin-cam 16-valve four-cylinder pot is a good change up from the 1.4 on the Bestari. With 110hp at 5,800rpm and 147Nm at 4,000rpm, it translates into a highly adequate performance if you’re not expecting to tear down the tarmac at every opportunity. The car is peppy at the get go, though arguably its Japanese competitors are that bit peppier in the low range of things. Still, it hauls off well, and movement up the speed range is fairly impressive.

pug 207 6

The four-speed auto adaptive tranny (the brochure doesn’t list the number of gears – naughty!) comes with Tiptronic and a Sports mode, and in use goes about its business well enough. There’s that familiar transition thud as it goes about shifts, but otherwise the box is smooth and the ratios workably spread to offer good linearity for city driving.

There was very little chance to push the car hard (and arguably, it isn’t really about this with this one, no?), what with the lack of road and corresponding opportunity to do so, but driven within what should be its usual operating parameters – city driving, with runs up to 100kph – the car performs quite admirably.

pug 207 7

Handling-wise, you can sense that this is one with a hint of a lively tail, but that’s only when you attempt to do fun and games with it. There’s a fair bit of roll, more than what I’d prefer, but this is nicely offset by the good compliance on call from the inverted pseudo-MacPherson fronts and independent trailing arm with transverse torsion bar rear setup. Comfort is essentially the name of the game here, and the 207 Sedan goes about it all in sensible fashion, like a good lad.

Noise levels were good during the short run. The engine isn’t that raucous, and doesn’t zing like its life depends on it when you floor things. On the move noise levels were acceptably good too, and the 185/60 series Kumhos (sitting on 15-inch 10-spoke Interlagos design alloys) didn’t intrude too much with tyre noise either. Nonetheless, a longer evaluation session should reveal how the NVH aspects actually shape up.

pug 207 8

The hydraulic-based steering has good weight, bordering on the heavier side even (it’s not that heavy that a three-point turn becomes a sordid affair), which feels reassuring. While my preference is for a nimbler, faster rack along the lines of that found in the Fiesta, which has far quicker response and sharpness in precision, the argument is that what’s on the Pug will suffice for most, unless you’re in the habit of tackling fast switchbacks on your way to the supermarket or the office.

On the whole, the 207 Sedan should shape up well for those looking at a Continental-based, point A-B family vehicle in that price range, though it’ll be interesting to see how well it fares against the new – and existing – faces it has to contend with, all bright-eyed and bushy-tailed at that.

pug 207 5

Five colours will be available for the 207 Sedan, these being Active Red, Alpine White, Metropolis Bronze, Velvet Silver and Premium Black, which is scheduled to be launched on Nov 3. Until then, the pricing is still indicative, estimated at RM75,000, and the car will come with a three year/100,000km warranty.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1646]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• toyooottt on Oct 29, 2010 at 10:58 am

good move nasim,, this thing can beat overpriced vios!.

• Dr.SD on Oct 29, 2010 at 7:25 pm

in this contender’ what is the purpose of Vios J at our market?…be smart buyer guys’

• but this car look vy ugly and unnature…….hm……..

• Ongwc5 on Oct 29, 2010 at 11:01 am

Nice car, give it up! :-)

• wanfumi on Oct 29, 2010 at 11:03 am

WOW…. the rear………

• naim jonn on Oct 29, 2010 at 11:04 am

the portion where the rear door meets rear wheels fender seems really awkward…

• eewann on Oct 29, 2010 at 11:11 am

funny looking car, maybe we’re used to hatchback design on this model

• halimWak on Oct 29, 2010 at 11:12 am

Nice but if Pug is your cup of tea then go for it.
    Doubt if it will make a major impact here but at least we now have more
    choices and competition in this 1.5/1.6 market.
    All the best NAZA. !

• Im so excited to see Toyota and Honda get Kick so hard with their super over priced cars. Especially Honda.

• Espresso! Quick! on Oct 29, 2010 at 4:35 pm

believe me, they won’t even feel it lah!

• arcana on Oct 29, 2010 at 9:00 pm

T & H are not getting kicked hard enuf…..
        all other brands in the segment 70-85k range cars’ total sales probably wont even beat vios also.

nonetheless its good to see more offerings in the market so that we buyers have a choice…unlike the old days.

• even if add all the competitors together, no way to break the japanese stranglehold. so i think they are wise not to go for japanese blood and try to fill niches as best they can.

• Tiadaid on Oct 29, 2010 at 11:16 am

Wahey, middle income earners have a lot of choices to choose from. It’s no longer a case of “I’ll take car H or car T” without test driving it. And it’s nice to see an Auto Climate Control in a B-segment car. Doesn’t sound like much, but still.

• Just curious. What is the income range for one to be considered a middle-income earner? 5k-7k? 7k-10k? 10k-15k? 15k-20k?

• Tiadaid on Oct 29, 2010 at 3:04 pm

I might say 5-10K could safely be considered middle income…

• Syarif on Oct 29, 2010 at 3:50 pm

If 5-10K is middle income, then I know many in that category already driving BMW 3 series or Merc C Class

• E Bear on Oct 29, 2010 at 4:37 pm

maybe it is safer to put at 4 to 6k, combined income.

• Tiadaid on Oct 29, 2010 at 5:02 pm

Yeah, since those are basically entry level Merc & BMW.

• laluan sehala on Oct 29, 2010 at 5:31 pm

could be used basic entry level bmw and benz?

• hey hey is there any poll that we can do in this blog to know how much is monthly salary and how they can put the money on car? it’ sinteresting to see the car market segmentation in malaysia

• it should be around RM2k-6k for single RM6k-10k combine income

• vincent on Oct 29, 2010 at 11:17 am

not nice

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 29, 2010 at 11:19 am

Most affordable European car in Malaysia. Good job. More choices for the Malaysian customer.

• Gino Borghessa on Nov 01, 2010 at 7:54 pm

Y’know ‘Chuck’, I sure wouldn’t want to be the one to let The Chrome Cobra know what you’re doing with that handle.

• Rizal on Oct 29, 2010 at 11:19 am

Not my taste….the front lamp from the side view look weird for me..

• UnManNO on Oct 29, 2010 at 11:21 am

nice car

but i’ll skip it

• Agogogo on Oct 29, 2010 at 11:27 am

WOW..
    another species of DUGONG emerges in MY

• nighttrain on Oct 29, 2010 at 11:29 am

Even a Cam-tak-Pro CPS is more advanced than this engine. It’s like a Pug from 1998! Unless you’re really hard-up on owning a French logo, can buy lah. We’re basically taking a few steps back, seriously. And the shameless meter panel! Gear position display for the blind? Hahah..

• Jutawansegera on Oct 29, 2010 at 5:26 pm

This Lion is more garang than the kepala harimau LOL ^^

• altecs on Nov 24, 2010 at 11:02 am

The campro at a glance looks like a better engine overall in terms of power output because that is what proton/mitsubishi are good at; making strong high-revving engines(100km/h 3k rpm lol) that have silly fuel consumption… and yes, many people including me can really appreciate that.

On the other hand, this humble 110hp pug is probably designed for day to day driving with a fuel consumption that won’t burn a hole in your pocket. In a way it’s a few notches up in terms of practicality compared to your average proton. So yeah, it’s unfair to compare them 1 to 1 and we should be happy that as a consumer we now have a butt-ton of cars from the same category to choose from.

• How does it compare to the Saga?

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 29, 2010 at 12:49 pm

The Saga BLM is good but more for basic transportation. The 207 is packed with a lot more features. I’d compare it more with the Mazda2, Fiesta, Vios and City.

• Protong Owner on Oct 29, 2010 at 11:35 am

yes, this is so good to the market! consumer has more choice.

1) Vios – highly over price
    2) City – over price also
    3) Mazda2 – lower a bit price will be good
    4) Naza Forte – it will be good if Kia logo :P
    5) Fiesta – interesting to see how the market respond
    6) lastly Proton Lancer – more interesting to see how the market respond.

• E Bear on Oct 29, 2010 at 4:39 pm

If 1 & 2 over priced, how come so many people still buy them………

• laluan sehala on Oct 29, 2010 at 5:37 pm

maybe they are not overpriced. maybe they take that hugh margin they have and reinvest into their aftersales infrastructure and subsidies for parts pricing. just a guess.

but to play that game of high price and to use the margin for reinvesting, the brand must usually be built up first by having numbers on the road and 1 and 2 did it in the past by the same strategy. low price… eventually, they built up their numbers, people got confident buying them and they started charging more so they could reinvest into their parts and network. so, looking at their position now, perhaps they do not seem so over priced?

just a theory.

• whitefox on Oct 29, 2010 at 5:42 pm

Because at that time the 80-90k market only have

Vios
        City
        Sentra?

before other brand start enter the market ><

• One word: UGLY

• blackjkx on Oct 29, 2010 at 11:40 am

How about Savvy sedan? Good eh

• Gino Borghessa on Nov 01, 2010 at 7:57 pm

The Savvy sedan got a roomier engine bay (with an easier and cheaper to fix engine dropped in), the option of a real automatic transmission instead of the poxy AMT, a wheelbase stretch and a new name. It’s called a Saga.

• err..’gud’ work..

• Saw it in showroom last weekend. Black colour was ~okay~ but silver or lighter colours make the car reveal it’s “flaw” of extended boot design.

Also, the door handle, really looks to me like an ‘opener’ for ‘doraemon-type’ hands… err~~~

• 908HY4 on Oct 29, 2010 at 2:46 pm

the brown looks nicer and helps to blend the shape better. imho, dark colours like black, brown and red suit the car best. dark blue (the one like the 407 colour) will also be good for this car.

• Also, not sure if anyone mentioned here, but if any of you intend to get this car, PLEASE, change the tyres IMMEDIATELY as they are KUMHO (not sure whether is powerstar 957) and the best part of it, is they are MADE IN CHINA. I’ve seen it with my own eyes.

These tyres are NOT GOOD IN QUALITY. Last only 40K and will go out of shape easily.

• the rear door line is just too weird..
    yuong man wont go for this i believe..inspira will be more attractive

• Jaybond on Oct 29, 2010 at 12:21 pm

I think the fundamental visual flaw which contributes to the ungainly & weird look, is the rear overhang – it’s just too long. This is the same problem that we all saw on the previous gen Honda City, and the current Mazda 2 & Ford Fiesta Sedan. Most likely the main reason is to provide ample rear boot space, but resulted in imbalanced bodywork proportion . What Naza could have done (or asked Peugeot people to do) to make this car look better, was either to move the rear axle further back or reduce the rear portion of the bodywork (although the former is quite impossible without doing significant platform re-engineering, which ultimately adds more cost).

• 908HY4 on Oct 29, 2010 at 2:48 pm

jay,

this car was designed way before naza came into the picture so there was little the local boys could do regarding the structure. still, you are right. the stretch to the rear axle would have made this car look more integrated.

note also that the 308 based 408 rides on a longer wheelbase. that’s why it looks much more integrated.

• E Bear on Oct 29, 2010 at 4:41 pm

Aiyah after a few months, will get used to it.

The owner will be inside the car most of the time so the funny rear will be forgotten soon enough,

• Steven on Oct 29, 2010 at 12:26 pm

I have just come back from seeing and sitting inside the Peugeot 207 sedan. There’s only one word to describe it – UGLY. The car is small, the rear seats are cramped and not spacious and the meter panel is weird looking with its silver garnish. The power window buttons are not located at the door panels. Instead they are located somewhere around the gear shift stick. Weird, isn’t it? The door handles have a funny shape. This car is a no-no for me. At this price, I’d rather go for the cheapest Naza Forte which is bigger. There’s only one thing good about this Peugeot 207 sedan. It has a solid body!

• engdau on Oct 29, 2010 at 12:26 pm

It’s actually old product. If it is available locally way back in year 2000, many ppl will go for it. But now….going to year 2011! The timing is not right. Technology is obsolete, unless the market is India, Cambodia or Vietnam.

• Tungau A/L Punat (original people) on Oct 29, 2010 at 12:29 pm

Ok what??? But rear space (passengers) looks smaller.

• taboogen on Oct 29, 2010 at 12:30 pm

I think the only sucessful hatchback convert to Sedan is from Gen2 to Persona.. and who said malaysia cannot design cars. The roof line look out a bit

• Maserati on Oct 29, 2010 at 12:33 pm

Crap car. It will do worst than the mazda 2. I dont see why anyone would want to buy this.

Nothing special.

Being very antiproton, i really hv to say the inspira is a better buy compared to this. But thats about it

• not bad more choices for the rakyat and an entry model into Peugeot ownership

• hate the design..that outdated radio fascia also included.

hate them both. inspira FTW

• Espresso! Quick! on Oct 29, 2010 at 4:24 pm

the good thing is, i was told by SA that this head unit can change to whatever we want. old one cannot cos too integrated with the multiplex something. anyway, got all the features like bluetooth, aux and usb port mah. so, maybe it don’t look fantastic but it has the features oredi and if don’t like, can just change by taking to kedai aksessori!

• vertigo on Oct 29, 2010 at 12:46 pm

this car make the statement “butt-ugly” comes alive.

• Frankly, NAZA will be better if not involve with this UGLY model at all. Better bet with 408 sedan. This is too much. Very old car and can’t compete with Inspira alone let alone Vios City.

• sonyman on Oct 29, 2010 at 7:06 pm

408 sedan is not very much prettier. 407 is much sexier. 508 will be very very handsome on the road

• c14man on Oct 29, 2010 at 12:51 pm

front look still ok, mostly thanks to the large pug logo which resembles 308.
    side profile totally lose out big time.
    considering how terrible latio sedan, sx4 sedan, fiesta sedan, mazda2 sedan looks, guess this 207 sedan is acceptable in the league of hatch-turned-sedan cars.
    guess Forte is the more attractive deal.

• Anti Proton on Oct 29, 2010 at 12:52 pm

i feel cheated

• why? you have not bought it mah. so how can you get cheated if you have not spent anything?

• Hmm quite a lot Paul from what was just a first impression. I also noticed your work nowadays is more descriptive and quite nice at that. Well done.

• splash n dash on Oct 29, 2010 at 12:55 pm

Auto headlamps, auto wipers and climate control. Pretty good features for this segment and for those aiming on upgrading to their first “conti” ride. Again, somehow, the car looks alot different in person. Just doesn’t cut it in pics…

• naqib on Oct 29, 2010 at 12:55 pm

i really thought that naza would restyle it, especially the rear end (it’s like 7year old kid photoshop work) and upgrade the interior (206 is like two decades ago) to the “real 207” but it didnt happen
    i’m really dissappointed cos naza did heck of a job to beautify naza sutera from its mundane chinese sister
    they can sell this if the price is around rm50 to rm60k and compete with persona, but with this look and pricing i doubt that they can even sell 50 units a month
    trust me, malaysians value looks more than performance or quality, except with toyota

• 908HY4 on Oct 29, 2010 at 3:18 pm

i think the french do not allow the local boys to touch their ‘french’ designs.

• The interior even worst, poor legroom. An ugly extension or butt job car. I dare 50 unit average per month for first year also very hard to push away with RM75,000 pricetag. Go for Forte, Inspira instead or even new Fiesta. French car is decent but never this 206.7 ugly butt sedan.

Even the SA not keen over this creature.

• Simon VW on Oct 29, 2010 at 1:13 pm

Looks like a car which design to be hatchback but due to heavy demand in the sedan market they just attached a back to it.

Ugly looking like Mazda 2 sedan.

Let’s wait for the sales report after 6 months with so many better looking models around don’t think this car will do well.

• nabill on Oct 29, 2010 at 1:16 pm

i think this car will eventually be compared to the persona and not the inspira , nevermind the price range….most will have a discussion which will sound like ‘ which one to buy , vios,city,persona or 207 ??

• DonkeyKong on Oct 29, 2010 at 2:34 pm

Don’t hold your breath, for its size and proportions it might even be compared with the BLM facelift model!

• intermilan on Oct 29, 2010 at 3:08 pm

That should be the right thing to happen as vios, city, persona, 207 sedan (and mazda2 sedan + fiesta sedan + latio sedan + gen2) are all in the same segment.. the crowded B-segment.

Inspira is derived from the current Lancer (and the Lancer has morphed into a C-segment car). Therefore, Inspira should be compared to Civic, Corolla Altis, Focus, 308, Slyphy to name a few. Price-wise, it will win hands down. And from the reported number of bookings it received so far.. it sure is.

• Espresso! Quick! on Oct 29, 2010 at 4:26 pm

guarantee proton will win any fight lah. how for others to compete? they have ‘special’ pricing mah. no meh?

if wanna talk sales fight, then better leave proton out. no point talking if it is one way fight.

• Goproton on Oct 29, 2010 at 1:24 pm

pls redesign the door….so 90’s….

• tianshi on Oct 29, 2010 at 1:25 pm

Such a design If it hold a Proton badge then i would not be any surprise.

But a Pug badge, holy

• sick&tired on Oct 29, 2010 at 1:32 pm

very disappointing indeed! same old interior as 206 and even worse, the same 1.6 engine is used in the old peugeot 206 & c3! what were naza thinking!?

• better than ‘dugong vios’ lah

• Not the 1.6 in 308 engine ?

Maybe it is the same engine as the one old C4 sold here few years back.

• can’t be same engine as the 308 vti. the vti engine may not fit the engine bay and even if it does, will push the car price closer to the vti. now oredi the estimate price is 75k but with vti engine may be at city price!

will anyone buy a small pug at city price? even if it comes with the vti engine?

• BeemerFreak on Oct 29, 2010 at 2:10 pm

How bout the Hatch? The 207 hatch with a 1.4 turbo is fun, as that comes with paddle shift and 5 speed auto…….. SIngapore has it, so no reason for Nasim not doing a more higher end brother to this car, like the Fiesta Sport to the normal Fiesta

• fried tape play on Oct 29, 2010 at 2:13 pm

how can naza come up wit this 90s car? what does they expect?? selling 10 unit per month?
    huh..

come on…use ur brain..at least make it more pleasant to eyes, put some fancy skirting, or new bumper or whatever to make it look nice. or just put some gizmo like paddle shift..it really gets petrolheaders.

• bro, maybe the body kit is on the way lah… patiencelor. if i remember, they usually have a bodykit or even a simple rear spoiler for the car.

but, you are right. a body kit (like the vios trd type, which i like) will make it look better. much better. just hope the kit makes it look better and not worse!

• farghmee on Oct 29, 2010 at 2:14 pm

IMO, for a let’s-slap-a-butt model (sx4 sedan, persona, mazda2 sedan),
    the butt-ification of this Pug208 is nicely done :)

unfortunately, the tailight is very odd-looking.

my suggestion: put a mugen spoiler to emphasize the butt-iness.

• Mancini on Oct 29, 2010 at 2:15 pm

yes the price justify the look and feature. boooooo sama city and vios

• Ah kit on Oct 29, 2010 at 2:23 pm

The back door is so small and its design something like Mitsubishi Triton??

• sweesake on Oct 29, 2010 at 2:24 pm

ugly car.

• actually, the photographer managed to take pretty good shots of the car which makes it look more ‘normal’ then the other pictures we’ve seen.

good job!… whoever the photographer is! :D

• gtmaniac on Oct 29, 2010 at 3:41 pm

If you all think this is ugly, wait till you see the Swift D’sire sedan!

• PakAbu on Oct 29, 2010 at 4:31 pm

LOL. Looks like two halves of different cars glued together. :lol:

http://www.mycarqna.com/sites/default/files/images/dezire5.jpg

• Philip J. Fry on Oct 29, 2010 at 7:22 pm

Thankfully that’s only available in India.

• Espresso! Quick! on Oct 29, 2010 at 3:52 pm

peugeot has the 206gti 180. why not use that 2.0 engine here? isn’t this same front part of the chassis with 206?

owners can maybe find kedai potong for the engine and make their own monster 207!

what if nasim do a 207 2.0gti 180? hahahahaha! :D

i will vote for the 2.0. even if they put the 140hp 2.0 (from the older 206gti) is good oredi.

• Syarif on Oct 29, 2010 at 4:02 pm

Waiting for next generation Italdesign Proton Persona 2012…

• da'kongzter on Oct 29, 2010 at 4:11 pm

soooo many people comparing this to inspira… should compare 207 sedan with a persona.

Persona looks better if you want to vote for which car has a better ‘attached boot to a car’ looks

• Maserati on Oct 29, 2010 at 4:20 pm

Honda City & Toyota Vios is still the best out there!

Inspira is also still better than this piece of JUNK!

Fiesta & Mazda are rubbish.No fight at all compared to City & Vios.

Forte is another rubbish car.

Confused on whether to “THUMBs DOWN” or “THUMBS UP” my comment?

LOLZ,so many losers out there.This was just a test,its obvious that whenever you say anything positive to a CAR they like like INSPIRA,you will get many THUMBS UP.

So pathetic.

• the only reason u get lots of thumbs down is bcos u talk alot of crap…simple as that.

• David on Oct 29, 2010 at 11:25 pm

You know what Maserati? i think you should really go and take a look, feel, and for heaven’s sake, test drive them all. Don’t just jump to the conclusion where the big T & H are still tops. The truth is, both of those cars you think are more of DISSAPPOINTMENTS!!

Obviously you haven’t been trying most of these cars, i must say? Well, i’m close to having been test driven all, except for the Peugeot 207 sedan and the Ford Fiesta. Here are my opinions, personal ones.

Vios- No doubt this is the best-selling Japanese car here in Malaysia. Good acceleration, good packaging, but that’s about it. It’s got a pretty lifeless steering, TOO much body roll compared to the rest, looks ungainly, feels cheap, especially in J & E-spec, under-specced, and worst or all, overpriced!

City- Distinctive, debatable looks aside, the City has a good interior packaging, decent steering, and a peppy engine. However, the ride is rather hard for what is to be a basic Honda, feels tighter than a Vios, has some ridiculous ergonomics, particularly the air-cond dials and the radio, feels cheaply made once again, and as per the Vios, overpriced.

Mazda 2- A surprise package in the past year or two in this category. Fun to drive, with agile handling, sharp steering despite feeling electric-assisted. Even better handling if one opts for a R-spec, but the ride would be kind of unbearable. It does have it’s fobiles too, like cheap, scratchy plastics, a rather-awkward looking butt on the sedan, and, yes, the after-sales leaves much more to be desired. Still, it would’ve been even cheaper if it was assembled here locally.

Ford Fiesta- Based on the viewing of a local-spec sedan 1.6 LX, i must say that this is pretty solid for what’s a European car made in Thailand. Doors close with a really solid thunk, solid plastics, feels a wee bit tight for a person who’s close to 6 feet tall. One airbag could turn off the potential buyer, but the trade-off is ESP and traction control, which i greatly welcome. At 79k, not too bad as well.

Kia Forte- Okay, this car is a C-segment competitor, but the reason why it comes here is that it competes on pricing. And pricing apart, it’s a very solid C-segment competitor, only behind the Mazda 3, Volkswagen Golf, and that’s about it.

Need i say more? I can’t help but say how much of a hypocrite you are, only knowing how to bash non Honda & Toyota competitors, and praising the former and latter brands as if they’re gods!! Grow up man, this is compedition and healthy debate, so i’d suggest you’d better do so, otherwise you’re the laughing stock and the hatred of many car lovers!!

Cheers!!

• Darius on Nov 04, 2010 at 8:05 pm

This is how a Malaysian speaks and thinks. Many of them.

No wonder this country is screwed.

• shawal on Oct 29, 2010 at 4:21 pm

Its a bit expensive for something so ugly…

• Stiff on Oct 29, 2010 at 4:21 pm

When people are making noise about expensive Japanese cars then they should revisit the truth behind the NAP. If Peugeot is not under Naza, will we get the price of RM75k? I don’t think so. It seems like a lot of people complain that they have no options to get cheaper car. Yes, they do, they have Proton and Perodua. When we first started to complain how Vios or City is, then why you think of getting it on first place? This is Malaysia and imported cars won’t go any cheaper as long as high duties are imposed on imported cars.

• E Bear on Oct 29, 2010 at 4:46 pm

This will be a successful model nonetheless if marketed correctly.

Most worry about reliability and spares so these 2 fear factors need to be covered for success.

• Need4SpeedUnderground on Oct 29, 2010 at 5:10 pm

great car …

• i tought dugong n city were ugly, this is FUGLIER…might as well opt for mazda2 or ford fiesta!

• hamzah85 on Oct 29, 2010 at 5:39 pm

haha..
    quite strange looking at the fuel tank door..too close to the back door..

• laluan sehala on Oct 29, 2010 at 5:55 pm

biasa oredi for those who use 206. no probs.

• tansri on Oct 29, 2010 at 9:00 pm

maybe with the sedan it looks more wierd..
        there is ample of space at the back..

• Agree!!
          Why they made the rear door so small and weird looking………
          Audio system also look so cheap………..
          Dashboard like Persona…

• duda dude on Oct 29, 2010 at 6:02 pm

Have you guys see the pic. of the new facelifted saga?? It looks more like accord!!

• OnyxDragon on Oct 29, 2010 at 6:05 pm

another rubbish car with rubbish built quality. sigh

• sunny on Oct 29, 2010 at 10:42 pm

its not rubbish and it is not rubbish quality lah. go see first before making comments like this lah. why just talk without even seeing it? grow up and don’t follow the crowd.

• onyx,

how you know? don’t bluff lah. you saw the car oredi? don’t simply say things by just assuming lah. not good you behave like this.

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 30, 2010 at 6:18 am

If it were badged VW and priced RM20k higher, he wouldn’t be posting what he did.

• Zidane on Oct 29, 2010 at 6:07 pm

Proton is starting to move forward.

Has Naza moved backwards?

• Vlakin on Oct 29, 2010 at 6:57 pm

lol.. even the air cond display does not show it is a sedan..

• hey Paul, sry for out of topic, may i know where is the housing area?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Oct 29, 2010 at 11:44 pm

It’s in Glenmarie, across the road from DRB-Hicom. Surrounded by commercial land, though.

• thanks man, i know sure alot dislike on my post.

• laluan sehala on Oct 30, 2010 at 9:43 pm

nolah, what’s wrong with your post? i also wanted to know where it was shot. the houses look good but i’m guessing at least half a mil for those houses. cheers!

• the dashboard look cheapskate like korean 2004 type design.

• Here’s my humble opinion:

Burok nak mampos.

• Steven on Oct 29, 2010 at 9:13 pm

I don’t want to waste my time commenting about this expensive, small ugly sedan.
    Believe me, Honda City and Toyota Vios sales won’t be affected by Mazda 2, Ford Fiesta, Proton Inspira, Naza Forte and now this Peugeot 207. Even Naza Forte sales are not good although it has many features and cheaper than City and Vios.

• you said dowan to waste time comment… then why comment at all? you seem confused!

and yes, this will not affect sales of those models at all. who in their right mind would think that they are trying to compete with those cars?

can sell enough, cukuplah.

by the way, don’t wast your precious time in replying.

• Steven on Oct 29, 2010 at 11:29 pm

That’s the way aha aha, I like it! Here’s my reply: I am not wasting my precious time replying bercause I spend a lot of time driving my sleek, sporty and powerful Honda City i-VTEC! By the way, I am not confused. Honda City i-VTEC=Beauty, Peugeot 206=????

• laluan sehala on Oct 30, 2010 at 9:45 pm

if you don’t know peugeot 206 = ? then maybe you need to research more. but then again, don’t waste your timelah. just be happy with your city which i also think is a pretty good car and one of the best looking in its segment..

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 30, 2010 at 6:20 am

The Kia Forte sells about 500 units/month doesn’t it? Not bad for a non-mainstream make if you ask me.

• Steven on Oct 29, 2010 at 9:23 pm

Aiyo, Proton Persona looks nicer than this car. It’s so ugly!

• Jimmy on Oct 29, 2010 at 10:49 pm

Earning 5K to 10K per month already want to drive Merc C or BMW 3 series?? Must be a lad still, not seen enough waves and storms.
    BTW, rm75K is just too ambitious. Should be around the price of H-line persona and cheaper than Vios J.
    The shape of the windoww on the rear doors near C-pillars are the culprit that makes the car look big buntut, true?
    BTW the transportation fee from WM to EM is 6K for a car? People who agree with this must be still staying in houses on trees, like some ‘Sarawakian’ s who bought non-luxury cars with price difference of 6K.
    Be KEADILAN a bit more lah.

• pug dog on Oct 30, 2010 at 9:13 pm

“People who agree with this must be still staying in houses on trees, like some ‘Sarawakian’ s who bought non-luxury cars with price difference of 6K.”

What do you mean? CARE TO EXPLAIN. You must be a lad still, not seen enough waves and storms.

• namerku on Oct 29, 2010 at 11:01 pm

i drive 206 b4..wow.really enjoy driving Pug..put the design beside..

• whatever on Oct 29, 2010 at 11:30 pm

Cantiiiiikkkkknya kete ni!!!! Sape la yg design….kreatif sungguh. Brpe hrge? RM75k? Ish…ish…ish…murahhhh tu…..but trust me, it wont sell. NAZA has commited yet another sin by offering hopeful malaysians who desperately wanna drive ‘conti’ cars with style. And yet again…this is what we get. NAZA…the french hv made the biggest fool out of you n us.

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 30, 2010 at 6:24 am

What the? Sin? What’s wrong with you man? This Naza-bashing stuff is getting ridiculous. The 308 VTi is priced just under RM100k. The 207 is there to be an affordable European car. They must have fought hard to keep the lion badge on this time.

No one is making a fool out of you man!

Furthermore Naza Group is a large group of many companies. Peugeot is sold by Nasim, a subsidiary. When you talk about Suzuki, you don’t mention DRB-Hicom all the time right?

• Sambalbelacan on Oct 29, 2010 at 11:33 pm

Until then, the pricing is still indicative, estimated at RM75,000!
    Even if this car is price at RM50,000. I will rather choose a Saga SE than this Pug.

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 30, 2010 at 6:24 am

Yes I think you should go with a Saga SE. Peugeot 207 is not for you.

• Jimmy on Oct 30, 2010 at 1:10 pm

Simply bash only. Why do you hate Pug? I wish this car can be priced that way to benefit a lot of other Malaysians. They will have another decent choice.
      To most people, at the price of RM75 000, majority will still choose Vios J (including me if I ever buy a B segment car again). I can say now that the monthly sales of Inspira is going to be less than Vios.
      Nasim, re-look again at the pricing, like what Ford did.

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 31, 2010 at 9:01 am

I think they are doing the best they can. Come on let’s not imagine they are so dumb they wake up in the morning and put their trousers on backwards, please?

• Affandy on Oct 29, 2010 at 11:56 pm

cheap plastic

• Steven on Oct 30, 2010 at 12:15 am

Looks like a cartoon car.
    Saga looks beter than this car.

• kimi fan on Oct 30, 2010 at 12:43 am

what i concern about whether this T33 reliable in the long run , will be spare parts selling in fair price , comfortable for front and back passengers, adequate power for whole family to travel long journey ..etc. …

i believe everyone has common expectation.

• farrel8177 on Oct 30, 2010 at 1:00 am

This article is on Peugeot 207. Not Proton. Please don’t compare Peugeot to the likes of Proton.

• kimi fan on Oct 30, 2010 at 3:46 pm

we all know this article is on 207, but don’t we always compare this and that ?

• awg1031 on Oct 30, 2010 at 9:18 am

wow..finally, a contender for dugong..looks awfully distorted..(at least dugongs looks macho after some makeup)

• Beh tahan on Oct 30, 2010 at 9:21 am

Toyota & Honda are selling well due to their brand image. Naza vehicles although priced competitively still has a lot to do especially its after sales service. Even worse is the reliablity of the vehicles they once sold. Hence leaving Naza a very bad image. As usual, French vehicles are usually associated with being temperamental and sexy. Good as a girlfriend but not as a wife. Nevertheless, I can’t say that the 207 exactly fits the term sexy. In fact, far from that. More apltly should be UGLY and technology is really obsolete.

• Vincent Ang on Oct 30, 2010 at 9:52 am

If Naza wishes to sell a 1.6 which can only generate 110hp for anything higher than RM65,000 the car is dead. The Proton Persona has a the same hp and spares are comparatively cheap and easy to come by. How many of you would pay RM 70,000 for a car which is the same in the power department, looks like shit and is almost the same size as the Proton Persona High Line (A) which only cost RM59,499?

• Steven on Oct 30, 2010 at 10:37 am

On the contrary, Peugeot 207 is smaller than City, Vios and Persona. I have compared the specs. Rear legroom is cramped.

• laluan sehala on Oct 30, 2010 at 9:32 pm

Vincent,

you are absolutely right. the proton will of course sell very well even without any promotions. but, peugeot is not looking at competing. i think we can let them have this that they are smarter not to go head to head with a giant right?

let’s just leave them to sell to their own niche. judging from the many negative comments here, paultan.org readers will not buy the car but i think there is still a big niche out there who would find a simple, back to basics car with a european badge attractive. and, i think we should accord those who buy this car some level of respect too for the guts to take the plunge. i’m sure they are aware of all the negatives that were mentioned here.

• Maserati on Oct 30, 2010 at 10:05 am

Hie ,David I have test drove all the cars you mentioned except the Fiesta.

And to be very honest,none of them come close to City or Vios driving experience lah.

Just admit it lah,who are you trying to protect ?

Forte for all its good looks drives like a stick.No feedback or feeling at all.Engine no pickup at all.500/month is good for a non mainstream model? Thats pathetic considering its a C-segment with a B segment price.It should have been selling in bucketloads.

The only buyers of Forte are those who lurk in Lowyat and Paultan.

Mazda 2 has good pickup,handling but overall the car feels damn cheap and I thought Vios was cheap enough.Mazda 2 interior is cheap plastics all over.

Fiesta – Lousy brand name.Nobody will ever buy this car.Yes its cheap.But lets think LONG TERM! Dont be penny wise ,pound foolish boy! Save a little bit here and there,when kena one service,a few thousand.THINK!

This Peugeot 207- I think its the worst piece of crap that I have seen in a long time.Not even worth a test drive.I am reckoning it wont even sell as much as the Mazda 2 .

The Mazda 2 ,Forte have been trying so hard to take abit of the market share away from T & H.But they are not even close.

Look at the sales figures.I hardly see a Mazda 2 on the road.Forte i see more often,but that oso is only once in a while

DOnt let me get started on Hyundai sonata,Until now I have seen like 1 new Sonata on the road.

All these brands are so desperately trying to make an impact.These are half baked efforts.And with ppl like David supporting them,I dont see how they can actually improve in the future.

They will never beat T&H now & forever.

Remember,just because you dont want to be the same with others,you are quietly suffering behind paying EXTRA for spare parts & service for stupid brands like FORD,Hyundai,Kia, Mazda.

• Honda Power on Oct 30, 2010 at 10:48 am

Well said, Maserati. I agreed with your comments 100%. There’s no way other car brands/models like Forte, Fiesta, Mazda 2 and now Pug 207 can affect the sales of City and Vios. In Malaysia, T and H will always be the first and popular choice of people who want to buy non-national cars now and forever!

• laluan sehala on Oct 30, 2010 at 11:31 pm

i also agree with this statement. toyota and honda are just too strong. what the other brands can do is to look for small areas where the customers needs are not addressed by them and go for those areas to market their cars.

i am also 100% sure that they are realistic in their sales expectations. no point going up against the top brands right? they will be just wasting resources. best to focus resources on targetted areas only. not mass like the top 2 japanese brands.

• Darius on Nov 01, 2010 at 11:01 am

Well, I guess that confirms one thing. Malaysians are dumb.

• go drive a proton, and keep quiet. Why come here? Why surf net? go watch tv, you are too old for this new era.

• David on Oct 30, 2010 at 12:02 pm

Typical T & H fanboy attitude. Open-minded Malaysians like us will give pros and cons about all cars, but there you are, all nothing but NEGATIVE comments about the non T & H cars!!

I’m not protecting any car, as i do have both Japanese and Korean makes in my driveway. Yes, the Koreans’ after-sales could be better, but it’s better then last time where they had super crap franchise holders. I mean, can’t you even give some respect to non T & H cars, and not just saying only T & H will rule the Malaysian market?

And for heaven’s sake, how dare you call these brands and it supporters half-baked? These brands, for heaven’s sake, are generally better than your beloved T & H. People have their own rights to support any brand, whether it’s T & H, Ford, Kia or any other brand. And what are you trying to do here? You’re here, as if screaming to the community here on Paultan that we should ONLY support T & H.

No brand is stupid, it’s only the shallow-minded supporters who are the one’s that stupid.

• I couldn’t agree more with you especially regarding Sonata (not many encountered on the road– maybe the owners just park on driving after wee hour since they too sayang to enjoy the Korean beauty); no thank to silly pricing. The sedan should be lower substantially to Camry-Accord price or at least RM10000 lower than Tucson SUV wannabe.

Forte actually is pretty good car but limits by old gearbox like Vios but you don’t feel that Vios’ as lack as Forte’s. Reason: unreliable NAZA after service or at least negative perception due to the Korean residual value affect.

Ford Fiesta l reserved to blame since their price OK but we must guaranteed that service cost is CHEAP. So, wake up Ford and show your cost of service.

Pug or even in cheaper version Naza-nized moniker won’t sell. I hate the ugly butt plus cramp interior as if they car design for 2 adult and 2 under-10 children.

• Jimmy on Oct 30, 2010 at 1:26 pm

YES. TRUE. Don’t know who were the threes who gave thumbs down.
      If you never listen objectively to critics, you never improve!
      You just think that people want to fitnah you? Of course there are some here, who bash or criticise for fun.
      I am afraid most of the car companies, other than Toyota/Honda, or their dealers are looking at short-term benefits/profits and take little effort to built confidence in customers. You think your sales will climb up in ‘expensive-car-land’ by just throwing in some gadgets??
      Have you choose your customer service personnels carefully based on attitude and competency, or by their skins?
      BTW, Mazda if you hear me, you need to improve the interior of Mazda 2. It is really very cheap, cheaper than Vios.

• laluan sehala on Oct 30, 2010 at 6:22 pm

There’s a clear line between constructive criticism and mindless bashing based on armchair research. I’m sure the importers are keeping their ears in here but be fair. Is that so hard to ask for? And, I don’t even see this as a threat to the establishment, so, why the unrelenting bashing? Unless there is a hidden agenda around this whole picture by the establishment.

• “Forte for all its good looks drives like a stick.No feedback or feeling at al”

OMG “Maserati”, you’re complaining that Forte drives like a stick as compared to a Vios ? Come on ! Vios steering is sooo gay and lifeless , if you take off the steering and place it on your gf’s bed , i swear she couldn’t tell the difference since you’ve replaced her teddy bear with a steering wheel !

• toyoottt on Oct 30, 2010 at 6:58 pm

you know what.. Vios price in thailand is RM45k-RM50k,, but Fiesta is the best selling car in thailand… hrmm wonder why?

• Tiadaid on Oct 30, 2010 at 10:38 pm

You’re kidding right? Ford lousy brand? Funny, considering that Fiesta’s the best selling car in Europe where the choices available are many. As for driving experience, having driven the Fiesta, it’ll force the Vios & City into the weeds!

• Maserati on Oct 30, 2010 at 10:06 am

After looking at this ugly car,I feel that the Vios is actually very nice with bodykit!

• most cars look good with a well designed bodykit. yup, even the vios trd looks pretty good but then, i’m quite sure this 207 will also look good with a larger set of wheels and a well designed body kit. knowing nasim, there will surely be a body kit for this car. the only question is when will it be introduced?

• Honda Power on Oct 30, 2010 at 10:39 am

Honda The Power Of Dreams

• T & H are empty cars without much things. Dont even have isofix to protect ur loved ones (baby). Their engine tech also old. Please compare spec to spec. Buy what u think is the best and makes u happy. Nobody forcing anyone to buy 1 brand.

• maserati, what car do you drive?

• 207 is suck-cessfull design from France automaker. Better ask Azlano to redesign 207 hatchback to sedan THOUGH their own Saga BLM is another ugly car from Savvy.

• yaawwnnn….

If i’m in the market for this price range, sorry i wouldn’t even blink an eye at getting this one . Too ugly and boring

• Malik on Oct 30, 2010 at 5:49 pm

OMG, noboby seems to care about comparing about the safety rating of Toyota Vios , Honda City and peugeot 206 but bragging each other immaturely with non productive issue like the look of the cars only but nothing else.

I sense Honda and Toyota salesman here commenting trying to outdone their cars with Peugeot 206 and Naza. This is ridiculous as neither Honda or Toyoyta or Peugeot salesman are shareholder of the parent companies and there is nothing to be proud of such car brands unless yoiu own these companies yourself.

For your info , under ANCAP rating

1) if the car safety rating category is 3 stars meaning under collision , the occupant can be dead or alive with fracture bones

2) if the car safety rating category is 4 stars meaning under collission, the occupant of the car can be badly hurt but alive.

under the ANCAP testING with dual frontal airbags only ( no side airbag and window curtains )

1. Toyota Vios = 3 stars

2. Honda City = 3 stars

3. Peugeot 206 = 4 stars *

So when we drive we always drive with Safety IN MIND and always think of safety first.
    The car brands that offer better safety will be a better buy always.

I wonder what is the safety rating for New Proton Inspira ?????

• Honda Power on Oct 30, 2010 at 9:01 pm

Malik , ANCAP rating for Honda CIty is 4 stars, not 3 stars. Please check your facts before posting.

• Malik on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:40 am

Honda power , Honda City does not deserve 4 stars at all unless side and head airbag included. The ANCAP results you are refering as 4 stars had side airbags & head airbag included as well . I mentioned testing under dual front airbags only others excluded!!

Honda City produce in malaysia does not have side & head air bags . Does this Honda City deserve to have 4 stars rating ?.

Answer : NO

FYI, Peugeot 206 testing under front dual airbags without side airbags and head airbag easily achieve 4 stars .

• Ur correct Malik. Many people see T & H got high NCAP but they dont know that cars and those sold in malaysia not same. Different spec. Even SG and Thai have better spec T & H. Dream on T & H lovers.

• Malik on Nov 01, 2010 at 3:51 pm

Thank you JB for being rational and resourceful

Malaysia locally assemble Honda City only provide dual front airbags and the rest comprising of side airbag and head airbag are missing !!

So this tell you what?

Cheers and have a nice day !!

• E Bear on Nov 08, 2010 at 9:45 am

Ignorance is bliss…….

Let them enjoy the bliss.

• anti-first on Nov 01, 2010 at 9:25 am

what say you now, honda power?

• c’mon people, let’s not bash just for the sake of bashing. even bashing the new inspira. what’s the point in bashing that car too? it is just a business decision made. what will all this bashing achieve? none of the car companies will take any of the bashing seriously unless we come up with smart discussions that are constructive.

let’s be thankful there’s this outlet for us to air our views. ‘laluan sehala’ is right in saying that we should not bash for the sake of bashing just because we can bash. can we be a bit more responsible here and look at things objectively? i do agree that nasim has some way to go when it comes to aftersales and spart parts pricing and the capability of their aftersales staff. it is a broad statement but they should take note and improve as these are the factors that determine whether the public views a car is of value or not.

i also agree that selling a car on price alone with the highest specifications is short sighted and that the owner must be offered a total ownership solution which delights all the way. from the time the owner visits the showroom, the showroom experience, the buying process itself (there is a need for more clarity here) and most importantly, the aftersales experience which will make or break a brand.

so, if we can make comments like these, i’m sure there’ll be more thumbs up rather than thumbs down to the posts. there’ll be less name calling and resorting to abusive language. please know, this is a worldwide site and we should not portray ourselves, malaysians as being low in mentality by our comments.

yes, there are also fights in other forums overseas but we don’t need to sink to those levels do we?

and, yes while the 207 looks a little ackward from a few angles at the back, there are also some angles which show it off pretty well. yes, it is based on the 206 and have the doors from the 206 but the 206 is in itself a good car which many 206 owners can testify. so, using it as a base for this model was a decision that is supposed to delight the peugeot owners that they have a tested and proven chassis to upgrade to. and looking at the engine, from a 1.4 8v sohc to a 1.6 16v dohc is improvement already isn’t it? yes, it is not par with the other offerings on the market but there are also others that prefer more reliable (the 1.6 engine is itself proven to be reliable and is used for peugeot motorsports in the 206xs rallye, that engine is still used in south america in the rally versions of the 206+) engines with adequate technology. for them, it is more peace of mind. less complicated engines can also mean less chance for things to break down.

i am not defending nor am i promoting. i am just looking at things objectively.

• Jimmy on Oct 30, 2010 at 10:59 pm

Good, well structured.
      I always hope other brands can improve to compete with Toyota (that is why I always use Toyota/UMW as example, to stimulate the rest).
      So, it is called TOTAL OWNERSHIP SOLUTION; good, I will remember this phrase. I hope it is delighting all the way before and after sales, for all the brands (from luxury to national ones).

• hahahaha, i just only cooked up that term! :D

• Peter on Oct 31, 2010 at 1:05 am

Jimmy, Toyota brand is not a very good example to lead other brands.

Many brands are much better off than TOYOTA nowadays . Why can’t you use other brands besides TOYOTA as comparison?

Do you Know what is TOYOTA nickname

” Million units recall vehicles ”

Most brands I believe does not have million units recall vehicles like TOYOTA encountering now.

LOL!!

• mizzuddin on Nov 07, 2010 at 9:51 pm

i think the only party to be bashed is the government

• Honda Power on Oct 31, 2010 at 7:45 pm

Malik, where did you get the info that Honda City with only 2 airbags got only 3 stars in ANCAP crash test? Open your eyes, google Honda City ANCAP, go to ANCAP website and tell me when ANCAP did a crash test for Honda City with 2 airbags? None at all! ANCAP did crash test for Honda City with 2 front airbags and 4 side airbags and it obtained 4 stars. Honda City didn’t get the maximum 5 stars because it doesn’t have Vehicle Stability Control (VSC). If it has VSC, it WILL get 5 stars. Please check, double check and triple check your facts before you comment. Do you drive a Honda car? I drive a Honda City i-VTEC and I am a Honda loyalist so don’t give me all this crap! I am not taken in by your bullshit!! If you think Pug 207 aedan is very safe and good, just go and book the car and I congratulate you. To each his own. Enough said. Have a nice day and keep cool!!!!

• Malik on Nov 01, 2010 at 4:05 pm

Honda Power,

Please be factual.

Malaysia locally assemble Honda City only comes with dual front air bags .
      It DOES NOT come with side airbags and head airbags ( missing specs )

Unless locally assemble Honda City comes with dual front airbags , side airbags and head airbags , then under ANCAP results shows clearly 4 Stars.

So now , both the side airbags and head airbag are MISSING , it shows clearly that locally assemble Honda City is not the same specs as overseas specs .

If you do not like 3 Stars then perhaps i believe i will give that locally assemble Honda City half a Star more == 3 1/2 Stars. Bear in mind you said WILL get FIVE stars with VSC .

So isn’t fair to says WILL omit ONE STAR away from 4 STARS since locally assemble Honda City does not come with side airbags and head airbags .

Cheers and please be more rational about it and kindly listen to others in the forum on their opinions too.

• Honda Power on Nov 01, 2010 at 11:00 pm

Malik, you cannot assume that just because Honda City has only 2 airbags, it only deserves to get 3 stars for safety rating. The only way to prove it can get 4 star rating is for ANCAP to crash test it based on their standard testing. Until and unless ANCAP says Honda City with 2 airbags get only 3 stars for safety rating, I stand by my statement that Malaysian Honda City has a 4 star rating for safety. I am curious to know what car you are driving now. Ok, I may sound harsh in my comments yesterday but those are the facts.
        Tasha, Honda City design is futuristic and will ALWAYS be evergreen. It will never be outdated. I drive a Honda City i-VTEC and all my friends and relatives say that it is a sleek, sporty , stylish and futuristic looking car. Cheers!

• David on Nov 02, 2010 at 8:57 am

Honda Power, with all due respect, if the car tested abroad gets 4 stars because it comes with the side airbags, our local-spec City is way less. Please bear in mind that the side airbags play an even bigger role in enhancing the safety of the car, hence the safety rating as well.

For instance, the Insurance Institute For Highway Safety, or better known as IIHS rated the USDM Mitsubishi Galant without side airbags a ‘Poor’ rating. However, when the optional side airbags were fitted and another car crash tested, the car not only got a ‘Good’ rating, but also a ‘Best Pick’ award by the institute itself. So you can see the difference, drastically different ones, and bear in mind, these are real facts, on the institute’s website.

If you choose to stand by your statement that the Honda City here is still a 4-star car, by all means go ahead. Without a doubt, this would show how shallow brand loyalists are. You do the math, check the facts, then think whether whatever you said was actually true.

• crash test ratings are based on the version tested. for example a car is tested with tcs, 7 airbags, abs, ebd, generally, the works, the rating obtained (whatever it is) is for that version and that version only. but if a car that is sold comes with less of those items, say for example, maybe 5 airbags only, without tcs or even a smaller diameter rim, that rating would not qualify already. it is basically up to us the owners to believe whatever we want but the fact is if any of the spec is different, the rating would differ (most probably southwards as the new car assessment programmes normally test the top versions with the most safety kit). however, do take these with a pinch of salt. i’ll give you an example. the saab 9-5 (not the just launched version) was tested way back in the ninties and it got a 4 star euroncap rating. there was nothing wrong with the structure and the car was tested with its full complement of airbags etc. the thing that held back its 5 star status was the non-inclusion of a seat belt warning beeper and indicator. so, fundamentally, the car was already a 5 star holder but it did not get that status due to a tiny technical matter which was deemed an important matter for inclusion by the ncap committee.

the facelift model of the 9-5 did come with the seat belt indicator and the car got the 5 star rating eventually.

in this respect, many automakers claim 5 stars in the euroncap but are those cars really 5 stars? we will need to check the spec tested and the spec sold. it is for this very reason that euroncap in their website quotes the version tested.

anyway, as long as you feel happy with your purchase, it will be every bit as good as you think it is. important thing is, buy what is most comfortable with you and not what others think.

• Tasha on Nov 03, 2010 at 2:30 pm

Honda Power,

Sorry to say about your personal character .

Either you are Half baked or a Moron in the making .

Oh My Gosh , locally assembled Honda City ( WITHOUT SIDE AIRBAGS AND HEAD RESTRAINT AIRBAG ) still hold 4 STARS ? .

You must be out of your mind , I believe so.

I personally totally agree with Malik view point that locally assembled Honda City only deserve the most 3 or 3 1/2 STARS . Say what you want but to most of us in these forums , your HONDA CITY whatever I-VTEC ( no big deal or of any prestige at all to us) only derserve 3 or 3 1/2 Stars safety rating the most.

If you keep insisting 4 Stars perhaps you are behaving more like a MORON and we the backbencher keep watching your attitude with laughter .

Afterall , JAPS cars are still struggling today to keep up with the better safety rating of most European cars

Please live up with reliality

Cheer up !

• Tasha on Nov 03, 2010 at 4:10 pm

Honda Power,

Sorry to say , either you are half baked or a Moron

How can a locally assemble Honda City ( WITHOUT SIDE AIRBAGS & HEAD RESTRAINT AIRBAG ) can be considered 4 Stars safety rating???

I totally agree with MALIK saying locally assembled HONDA CITY whatever I-VTEC ( no big deal or any prestige at all to my eyes ) as having only 3 or 3 1/2 STARS safety rating.

If you keep on comforting or keep insisting yourself with 4 Stars , then you are a MORON in the making .

Majority including me will NOT agree with what you had said and brag about .

Till today, most JAP cars manufacturers are still struggling to keep up with the BETTER SAFETY RATING of European cars .

Good luck then

• Honda Power on Nov 03, 2010 at 9:55 pm

Tasha, you are the biggest moron here; not me. Are you driving a BMW or Mercedes? Please tell me what car you are driving and I will tell you whether your car is prestigious or not. If you drive a Proton or Perodua, please don’t waste your time replying my comments for goodness sake! If you want to buy the 207, just go ahead and place a booking. Sore loser!

• Darius on Nov 04, 2010 at 8:13 pm

LOL, this guy still talking about how great his City is.

CITY , for gods sake. Budget bottom of the range, Thailand made, Jap car.

But please make sure you pay off the 9 year loan you took ok?

And dont put down people based on what they drive cos you aint driving much either.

• CocoBear on Oct 31, 2010 at 11:45 pm

I have seen enough of recycled 206/207. This trend of ugly notchback makeover is a terrible disease that plagues the auto industry. They all should be put into the hall of shame because of the lack of passion.

• Honda Power on Nov 01, 2010 at 11:15 am

CocoBear, you are right. The Ford Fiesta, Mazda 2, Suzuki SX4 and now Pug 207 all are sedans which are derived from hatchbacks and the shapes are weird especially at the rear.

• Tasha on Nov 01, 2010 at 5:38 pm

The design language of these cars speak for itself.

Toyota Vios and Honda City = Contemporary typical “JAPS ” fresh design flaw after first two years of ownership but the looks is NOT EVERGREEN FOREVER .

PEUGEOT 206, 207, 308 = Contemporary European design flaw but the looks is FOREVER EVERGREEN

So after two or more years of ownerships, Toyota Vios and Honda City model looks ( NOT EVERGREEN FORVER) suddenly becomes dated and absolete in need of new model freshing by the manufacturer to keep up sales and looks

However, Peugeot design flaws still hold the EVERGREEN PROFILE forever in years to come without need for freshen up unless necessary by the manufacturer.

Just my two cents worth !!

• anti-first on Nov 03, 2010 at 3:42 pm

tasha, dude or dudette – your design observations are spot on!

to be fair, the only models of T & H that i consider as evergreen (civic/accord/corolla/starlet/etc) are those from 1970 until 1995.

2000 onwards, the models become plain and doesn’t evoke your senses in the long run, albeit the saving factor of owning one is reliability.

in short, the post-2000 models are RELIABLY BORRRRINGGGG! :)

one just has to google and find out why people take the trouble to restore pre-1990s cars, be it contis or japanese coz these cars have character, charm, fun to drive and evergreen designs!

personally though, as a peugeot/conti owner, i can say that these cars are not that reliable (TLC is mandatory) compared to japanese makes.

but at the end of the day, i drive a peugeot/conti solely because i WANT to and not because i have to – a sentiment shared by peugeot/conti owners. :)

• nolan on Nov 01, 2010 at 10:34 pm

In 2 years time, we’ll see recalls on Pug……..just wait and see…

• nolan, you some kind of fortune teller or something?

if you haven’t heard, they already had a recall for the 107 and this is no fault of theirs. it was for the 107. this model is almost 100% toyota aygo except for some cosmetic changes here and there to make it look peugeot. The exercise was run in conjunction with the worldwide recall exercise for the toyota aygo.

• Honda Power on Nov 03, 2010 at 10:26 am

Malik, David and HR1,
    OK, let’s close this discussion about safety ratings. All I want to say is buy the car that you are happy with. Do not let other peoples’ opinion affect your car buying decision. If you like Peugeot 207, then buy it. If you like Honda City, go for it. If you listen to so many opinions, you may not buy a new car and end up still driving your old car. So I let this discussion rest and I am not going to comment about this Peugeot 207 topic anymore. Have a nice day.

• anti-first on Nov 03, 2010 at 4:57 pm

wow, a highly questionable response to end an obviously hot discussion.

i’m not trying to flame here but it seems like you’re in damage control mode.

is it a confirmation of sorts with regards to the malaysian honda city’s safety ratings, based on your responses?

• anti wrong on Nov 03, 2010 at 6:43 pm

Why Peugeot 207 must have sedan? it is too ugly too ugly too ugly too ugly too ugly too ugly… uglier than Mazda2 sedan. The 207 CC is the best!!!

• anti wrong on Nov 03, 2010 at 6:45 pm

I prefer 207 CC (cabriolet) and hatchback.

• anti wrong on Nov 03, 2010 at 6:47 pm

I prefer 207 cabriolet (CC) and hatchback, and wagon (SW).

• Honda Power on Nov 03, 2010 at 9:50 pm

Anti-first,
    Why must I keep on commenting about an outdated 206 with a boot? It’s not worth commenting at all. This discussion will never end if I don’t put a stop to it. I have other things to do than to enter into a never ending debate which benefits no one. I am not in damage control mode and please don’t assume that Pug 207 is safer than my beloved Honda City i-VTEC. City beats 207 hands down. Go and compare the specs one by one in detail. As far as I am concerned my City has 4 star ANCAP rating.

• Honda Power

I agree and share the view of others but not yours

You seems to be having a BIRD BRAIN and much into becoming the extreme MORON on this forum keep on defending the Lousy HONA CITY !!

Peugeot 206 win hand down over HONDA CITY

To us , LOCAL ASSEMBLE HONDA CITY is …….

CRAPY, FUGLY , UNIMAGINATIVE , CHILDISH AND 3 STARS

Stop your unimginatinative and unwarramted claims over your lousy HONA CITY now !!!

Many people are getting real “sick ‘ on you ……..

• Dream On on Nov 06, 2010 at 9:14 pm

Pete, I support Honda Power’s views about the Pug 207. For me, Naza assembled Pug 207 is crap, ugly, outdated and weird looking. It’s a 12 year old Pug 206 with a boot. and it is not even sold in France and Europe. You have no right to condemn Honda City. Honda City is a good car. That’s why it’s a bestseller in Malaysia. If you cannot afford to drive Honda City, please don’t be jealous and condemn the car. Ha Ha Ho Ho! Are you driving a Mercedes or BMW? What gives you the right to condemn Honda City? What car do you drive? For all I know, maybe you are just driving a Proton or Perodua. You are a nitwit and nincompoop to post such illogical comments. If you like the Pug 207 so much, just go and book it. Pug 207 is downright LOUSY! Nobody can stop you from buying Pug 207. To each his own and in your case to you your own. Have a nice weekend and Sayonara!

• armandd on Nov 03, 2010 at 9:52 pm

ford fiesta is the more sensible buy i think.

• stevencbk on Nov 04, 2010 at 10:45 am

Loyalty wont’ last forever,

~ is time to say goodbye to H & T …

• laluan sehala on Nov 11, 2010 at 6:28 pm

in this segment, price is a major factor. loyalty is there for the upper segments.

• Dream On on Nov 06, 2010 at 9:12 pm

Pete, I support Honda Power’s views about the Pug 207. For me, Naza assembled Pug 207 is crap, ugly, outdated and weird looking. It’s a 12 year old Pug 206 with a boot. and it is not even sold in France and Europe. You have no right to condemn Honda City. Honda City is a good car. That’s why it’s a bestseller in Malaysia. If you cannot afford to drive Honda City, please don’t be jealous and condemn the car. Ha Ha Ho Ho! Are you driving a Mercedes or BMW? What gives you the right to condemn Honda City? What car do you drive? For all I know, maybe you are just driving a Proton or Perodua. You are a nitwit and nincompoop to post such illogical comments. If you like the Pug 207 so much, just go and book it. Nobody can stop you from buying Pug 207. To each his own and in your case to you your own. Have a nice weekend and Sayonara!

• David on Nov 16, 2010 at 7:49 pm

Talked like a true sore loser, fanboy, and utter idioticness. If a car isn’t good, everyone has the right to condemn it, and you have NO RIGHT to dictate what we do! Who do you think you are to say such things?

From my personal point of view, the Peugeot will lose out on three things:- style, ergonomics, and after sales service that needs improvements. But, it wins in these aspects:- decent performance, ride and handling, price, equipment, and even safety features!

Every car has its good bits and flaws, so let’s all love what we buy, respect every car, and give detailed criticism, and not just straight-to-useless conclusions statements.

• Dream On on Nov 06, 2010 at 9:15 pm

Honda City wins hands down over Pug 207. Woo hoo!

• Leeann on Jul 14, 2011 at 5:52 pm

Is like a childish boy screaming for his favorite toy,, valueless comment which not worth to be read .

• amused on Nov 07, 2010 at 12:04 am

this is really funny. Toyota has cybermaster98 as it’s prime defender, now Honda has found its in the form of Honda Power.

way to go. fanboi ftw. any intellectual discussions can go down the drain, since fanboi drops & spills in fanfacts like the rain. yo yo yo.

fact : ancap rated Honda City spec comes with full safety feature – 4 stars
    fanfact : local spec Honda City, half the spec, but still, it’s a 4 star safety

so, is it so hard to tell apart a neutral comment or a fanboi ones? why bother? they are called fanboi for a reason….XD

• E Bear on Nov 08, 2010 at 9:38 am

Fan boys make this site more lively but do hope the comments do not get too personal.

Whether City has 2,3 or no stars from whatever CAP….the sales charts speaks for itself.

For 85k min……or Vios for that matter……goes to show fans make it count.

Honestly, this is not really a 207, just a 206 with a boot right…which is just that.

U can see it for yourself at their international web page. Nothing wrong just that this is not the best Peugeot has on offer, just something for fighting for market share.

Since it is so new, really difficult to gauge whether it has any practical shortfalls or none at all.

Must important, lets not get personal. Make the attacks less personal.

I have been driving a 97 City since 97 and I can tell u how dissappointed I was then. The surprising thing is that the engine can still run on SAE 40 despite mileage nearing 300k. No overhaul, just ori. And this was not even their best engine back then.

2 years back got rammed on the driver side by a speeding motorbike. The side impact bars actually helped.

Ori auto gearbox already died few years ago.

Honestly, I like this 207 becos it is Euro…supposed to be comfy but the head points towards P1.

Yup, I have a P1 too but I drive a P2 to work, company car.

Btw, most people don’t know airbags and abs need to be maintained periodically.

• azwad on Nov 08, 2010 at 1:08 pm

can it runs on RON 95 petrol?

• looks like a big eyed SX4 sedan!

• mb3300 on Nov 14, 2010 at 4:28 am

Its like they chopped off 206 Bestari and elongated the back and redesigned the lights. A terrible mismatch, and also not forgetting, its an awfully ugly car.

• mobile on Nov 14, 2010 at 9:15 am

..harga berapa ekk?
    kalau 60k boleh beli..

• The red color is my choice

• This is not 206 bestari. The engine is a new one, the seats are improved and the boot has space. 1.6 engine is reasonable, may be equal or better than a persona. The fuel consumption is fantastic.

• Happy Dragon on Nov 18, 2010 at 4:34 pm

This car is China version, don’t think it will work in Malaysia. Big dissapointment is they use 206 interior. This should not be called a 207. This is just dumping old stocks to Malaysian. Wrong marketing strategy.

Yup, it is a good car 10 years ago, but not today.

• knight on Nov 18, 2010 at 5:24 pm

basically Naza likes to chop and reduce specs for any car they brought in. Not honest at all in retaining the originality of any models they bring in under the CKD structure.

A 206 and trying to re-badge it as a 207.

http://www.peugeot.com/en/products/cars/peugeot-207.aspx

toyota/honda maybe overpriced (thanks to govt due to tax and not toyota/honda) but you get the model as it is. you don’t buy a honda civic with some city’s components.

• E Bear on Nov 19, 2010 at 4:58 pm

Just saw it earlier…..darn….the best seats I have tried in a long time….unbelievable.

The door joints a bit crude….otherwise, quite ok. Doors felt light…..somehow.

China market is very competitive and if this model is sold in China…..should be quite ok.

The “nice” sales lady told me it was 72,888 otr…no idea whether it is true but I really love the seats! Rear or front also nice n comfy.

And nope, I am not Nasim staff.

Did not test drive so don’t know how it moves and sound. I reckon changing the tyres to bridgestone entry level tyre will be enough to get a good positive result.

Don’t know about Kumho….just don’t have a good vibe.

• Alley on Jan 20, 2011 at 5:16 pm

the kumho will be the first thing to go. that car needs better tyres… please!!!

• zainal abidin on Nov 20, 2010 at 11:32 pm

Hey Guys….my dad still owns and drives a 406….nice handling and nice looking car….Make no mistake, for whatever issues on design flaws or whatever….or the supposed to be ‘not so nice looking’ rear end… THIS 207 IS STILL A PEUGEOT and if it sells well, thousands of people will remain employed because of it and if the OTR price is even lower than RM72,888.00, I guess more would be customers will feel inclined to buy it…

A note on the rear end…just add a nice looking ( lip ) spoiler to make the rear end better looking…

• the spoiler is on the way. i saw a full body kit version some time back with trade plates on federal highway. it looks real good.

• Average Joe on Nov 22, 2010 at 3:21 am

Is there an uglier car on the market? That thing is fugly.

• this is a pug which even pug lovers dont want to be caught dead in it. ive sampled the rear doors in different locations, and they wont close.

• A Bear on Dec 02, 2010 at 4:35 pm

Hmmm didn’t have this problem when I saw it 2 weeks ago.

Nasim need to look into this urgently as this will be very bad for first impression.

I don’t mind owning this car, as the seats are really something special. French have been building cars for a long time, should be ok.

• mustanks on Nov 25, 2010 at 4:10 pm

good looking from front view only, not side and rear… that why they less show rear view in ads.. huhu,,, soo sad…

• Abe Deng on Dec 07, 2010 at 10:39 am

This is not a 207, it’s a 206 and very old fashioned (especially interior) compared to current models. Why Naza wants it named 207, I just don’t know.

• Ze Ber on Dec 07, 2010 at 3:40 pm

Hmmmmmm, it is not really a 206 yet also not a 207 hatch…….it’s a 207 Sedan! ha ha ha.

My wife was really impressed with the quality.

Just noticed u need to use a key to open the oil filler cap!

Totally like this car on the inside.

• laluan sehala on Jan 21, 2011 at 9:07 am

er, the key thingy is to force the driver to stop the engine while refueling. it is a regulation to stop the engine while refueling isn’t it? anyway, other peugeot models like the 308, 3008, 407 and 5008 also require the ignition key for refueling… only diff with this 207 is they have an additional flap to cover the fuel filler cap.

• it is not naza. it is named by peugeot themselves. surf the peugeot argentina, brazil, iran, china and other country websites where this car is sold. they all carry the same name.

• sedih dengan tax kereta di malaysia on Dec 25, 2010 at 12:38 pm

dun blame the car makers in malaysia. if they include all the specs, every malaysian will not be able to buy any cars due to the taxes(except the rich ones) .. so pls.. lets all hope for the best in the fure… at least decrease the taxes by 50% is better so that the motorist will be able to afford at least a proton or a perodua and the quality of proton and perodua will indirectly increase due to competitors and malaysian won’t die easily in accidents due to better quality and safety cars.. peace to all and merry christmas and a happy new year..

• Unfortunately for us and fortunately for some others, this will never happen.

Very easy to control the competitors, whats is the point of having 1000 units booked when u only have license to bring in 50 units. ha ha ha.

Happy New Year.

• Eric Ng on Nov 11, 2011 at 5:10 pm

i like Peugeot…but this is another Dugong !!!

• dannhy on Nov 26, 2011 at 10:24 pm

I would only buy if below 50K.

• Mazlo on Mar 22, 2012 at 10:10 pm

very nice. comfortable and best deal around when comparing the spec to other b-segment sedans.