Renault Megane RS spotted again in Langkawi!

Loads of yellow Renault Megane RS hot hatches were spotted in the Langkawi port earlier today by our very own Harvinder Singh while on assignment in Langkawi for the Mitsubishi ASX group media test drive.

This yellow hot hatch sports a 2.0 litre engine force inducted with a twin scroll turbocharger, making a peak power of 250 PS at 5,500rpm and a peak torque of 340Nm at 3,000rpm, all at the tip of the driver’s fingers and toes – there’s no twin clutch wizardry here – it’s all manual action via a 6-speed manual transmission!

The previous generation Megane RS was sold in Malaysia for RM235,000, about 10% more than what you’d pay for a Golf GTI. From what I hear the Megane RS is a more driver-focused machine – yet to try one! Look after the jump for a full gallery of the Langkawi cars.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1648]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• PutraRocker.Com on Oct 30, 2010 at 6:45 pm

langkawi my hometown..woot3 o_O

• dude, it’s my hometown too… :)
      We can get the Megane with a much cheaper price there…

• bryan jones on Oct 31, 2010 at 11:32 am

are they using Megane RS as taxi in Langkawi soon?? – because of the yellow color.

• bluetravler on Nov 01, 2010 at 12:33 pm

well, malaysia taxis used to be black and yellow. now they just have to paint the main body black. :)

• gooshh on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:06 pm

u can get cheaper price..but cant go anywhere..haha

• pomen_gtr on Nov 01, 2010 at 10:41 am

bring into morac karting track and whack it over there… (But sure not enuf la such small track)

and dun forget rent the airport strips to do drag battle… :cheers:

• TaipARGHOwner on Oct 30, 2010 at 6:49 pm

Very very nice!!!!

• blabla on Oct 30, 2010 at 6:50 pm

gorgeous!! i’m having a ‘crisis’. lol

• toyoottt on Oct 30, 2010 at 6:53 pm

I think, price in Langkawi less than rm150k.. isnt?

• kingkong on Oct 30, 2010 at 6:53 pm

this is what i call good car.

• good car? what r u talking about? the only good performance car that i know is honda civic type R and honda civic 2.0 ivtec. Megane does not have the ivtec technology and have a very low buitl quality. how come you say ‘good’ car. open your eyes widely and see how many megane and how many civic otr…

• junaidi on Oct 31, 2010 at 9:51 am

open your eyes see who’s winning constructors championship in F1. see what engine they using.

• RadzLee on Oct 31, 2010 at 10:12 am

oi…
        since when civic 2.0 ivtec is performance car?
        if u put it that way no wonder lah civic is wayyyyyyy much common than megane!
        since many ppl use wira does it mean that its a good car?
        dont judge a car performance base on its sales… go do homework!

• oi, only constructors champion in F1? thats all? come on la. honda has more than that. only oxymoron will choose unreliable machine over honda civic. autocar asean award, JCOY, Japan superGT champion…what the hell you talking about renault. 100% of us never heard of megane 15 years back. but 100% of us Malaysian grown up in civic i m sure. Some more megane dont have the technology of iVTEC

• Steven on Oct 31, 2010 at 6:16 pm

s60..F1 is the pinnacle of motorsports so in my view its a fair comaprision on which manufacturer had the best or the leading tech!!…unreliable, bro have u seen the honda engines used in the ATCC often break down and are fragile at the limit…thats y u dun c the honda’s racing in the WTCC…trust me i know, been racing for a few long years now..n a renault engine is STRONG if built correctly….

and talkin bout japan GT, then DO NOT like gaijins racing at their hme turf hence the cold shoulder rules and regs…and if u are mre knowledgeable u will noe tat the japs are very pro jap car makers, they knida shun the other car makers….even the mosler and other non-jap car team consist of many msian and non-japs…

talkin bout history, oni a person wif shallow car knowledge will nvr head of megane frm b4…do u noe of the citroen C1,C2, audi quattro,escort mk1-mk3 even the mexico,……all this cars have legendary status in the automobile worls and ive oni mentioned a few…do ur homework man!!! dun embares ur self in public!!..here a tip for u for free, do u noe tat b4 he build raace cars the lambo builder usd to build farm tractors!!!

• Azli Umar on Nov 01, 2010 at 11:40 am

pity to those who nvr experienced living abroad. while it’s a privilege rather than necessity, at least, dont insult yr intelligence by not reading high quality, established car magazines. if it’s an expensive exercise, surf the Net – u gonna hv many free articles/write-ups to read.

open yr mind..open yr eyes..read much..to see the REAL world :)

• mr_3m on Oct 31, 2010 at 11:12 am

give him a break lah… he’s still stuck in 1980s or somewhere where people think only Honda make good car… Honda is a good car manufacturer but manufacturer of good handling performance cars? Not quite… ever since the last NS-X, not much else is good handling…

• handsome*dude on Oct 31, 2010 at 11:41 pm

what a frog under the bottom of the well ~~

so funny!

• My goodness!!…you all putting renault above honda in performance aspect?? You are all Malaysian or Eskimos??? You can ask any indian minaci, any office clerk, any primary school teacher up to our minister, every of them recognize honda civic. Maybe you should ask yourself which is the first model in the world using digitometer, drive by wire and iVTEC technology. Civic type R was already mentioned few times faster than Golf GTI. Civic 2.0T is much more solid, much more speedy and much more beautiful than e90 BMW 3 series. These are all admitted by our pundits. Thats why it won COTY autocar asean and still reviewed and compared untill now. type R is on par with Bugatti to me, not renault….

• speechless…

• Civic type R vs Bugatti? Try to ask the Honda CEO and he wouldn’t dare to commit such statement. Are you a Honda salesman? Sorry but they are stopping the production for this car soon…

• junaidi on Nov 02, 2010 at 5:23 pm

COTY Auto Asean YO!
            FUYOOOO!!!

Jaguh kampung.

• YoMamma on Dec 30, 2010 at 1:26 am

Wahhh… s60, which kampung you come from? No doubt FD2R is a good car but by no means, those technology are pioneered by Honda.

iVTEC? Just another fancy marketing name for variable valve timing. And Honda didn’t pioneer variable valve timing. Alfa Romeo did. Betcha didn’t know that.

• armandd on Nov 01, 2010 at 8:33 am

since when the civic 2.0 i-vtec is a performance car? A stock standard Proton Satria GTi can run circles around it..

• Aiya, he only know two car only..Civic R & Civic Sedan. Give him a break lah. Pitty him.

• Stapler on Oct 30, 2010 at 7:00 pm

Yummy…..

• ~~The best hot hatch money? can buy~~

• Machi on Oct 30, 2010 at 7:15 pm

Saliva activator….very very chun !! Big challenge to Scirocco for sure..

• wow!
    tax free cars!

• Now THAT is a gorgeous looking car. Totally.

Err what do you mean by full gallery? I only see those three.

• dodgeviper88 on Oct 30, 2010 at 7:36 pm

any chance of chipping it for more power like the GTi?

• Cosa Nostra on Oct 31, 2010 at 7:50 pm

Recommendation: decat full exhaust system ie. Remus or Supersprint + BMC Air Filter = 280++bhp.

P/S: use only V-Power Racing fuel.
      all other fuels are crappy.

• Citroën ds3 on Oct 31, 2010 at 11:57 pm

Bro, megane rs is close to golf r.. 250 hse in that beauty of 2.0 turbo charged power plant…

• oisehh…this is too sexy machine..
    put this side by side with supermodel,i’ll still look at this yellow hatch..
    i’ll wet my pants either…hehe..

• Ib Ma on Oct 30, 2010 at 7:44 pm

Owh, nice machine with nice colour!

• Maserati on Oct 30, 2010 at 7:51 pm

Nah ,I will still take a Scirocco.

More reliable and spare parts aplenty.

This is French,and French cars are known to be not reliable.Break down,and you wouldnt know where to find parts.

• eeeriz on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:25 am

In recent review, Golf GTI is much better than Scirroco in almost all aspect. And i’m talking about 2 door GTI.

Your view of French cars is in the past. Sometimes the breakdown is due to the ignorance of car owner who doesn’t know how to take care of their car. My father has owned a ZX since 96, and the car is still going strong and NEVER broke down, not even once!

Frenchcars are the most under rated car in the world. They are good, they are reliable, they are comfortable (try Xantia), but 1 thing why i never consider them because they didn’t have any turbocharged car, well, maybe until recently.

• BSLee on Oct 31, 2010 at 5:14 pm

I owned Renault Espace for the last 7 years and recently bought a Peugeot 308 Vti to replace the aging E39.
        French cars are nice to drive…comfortable and offer good control..but generally not as tough as the German’s(body and parts).

• Canaanite on Oct 30, 2010 at 8:08 pm

Renault Megane RS already proven as a hot hatch beaten Ford Focus RS and VW Golf R on the track.
    Megane RS only lost 0-100kmph sprint…

• Do you drive on the track every day?

I have to bring the kids to school too…. ;)

• Azli Umar on Nov 01, 2010 at 11:51 am

to school? drive different car laa :)

use this sexy Megane for occasional track days.. weekend interstate-sprints.. dating & cruising (speeding?) with yr lovely partner (GF/wife)..

then , the world is belong to (both of) you & this stunning Megane…

• Toba Super Volcano on Oct 30, 2010 at 8:12 pm

6 speed MANUAL transmission.
    Say No to auto gearbox !!!

• ammar on Oct 30, 2010 at 8:18 pm

Megane RS tu… I wish I had the kind of money to buy one of these things. Its worth its weight in gold.

• c14man on Oct 30, 2010 at 8:21 pm

sexy and powerful….
    but Scirocco is more sexy. =p

• handsome*dude on Oct 31, 2010 at 11:44 pm

i don’t agree with that.

Scirocco and this MEgane RS pair side by side, each has its own beauty!!

• shawal on Oct 30, 2010 at 8:29 pm

I want one…

• RM 235k+? better to buy honda civic type R.

• torque on Oct 30, 2010 at 11:13 pm

R u kidding me? U certainly haven’t driven the R26. CTR is f*ckin stiff and track bias while the R26 is firm yet comfort and track ready!! And this is…RS250, way better than CTR my fren.

• mr_3m on Oct 31, 2010 at 11:08 am

dude.. there are 365 days in a year… and even if the CTR is better on a track… u cannot definitely drive the CTR everyday on Malaysian roads… either your back gives up first or your teeth will probably shake loose…

• but certainly civic type R is a faster, tougher, better quality, more sexy and better brand image and premium. Megane RS or Scirocco only half of civic type R civic. And see la OTR, type R is more commonly seen than Megane or Scirocco. Thats a proof!!

• eeeriz on Oct 31, 2010 at 3:26 pm

Faster? My standard PV6 can beat a standard CTR on a long highway.. why? Top speed for CTR is 180kmh.. haha.

Tougher? Come on.. keta jepun..

Better quality? No, interior wise, CTR sucks, typical japanese style

Sexy? Well to certain eyes maybe, but Scirocco is much sexier than CTR. Ask Jeremy Clarkson pls.

Premium? U don’t get it, do u? There’s nothing in premium for CTR. This car is only for hardcore only. The ride is f**king stiff, what kind of premium is that?

• see the performance indicator la. it can easily trash type r anytime. type R also have already stop production. Now honda is going hybrid already. no more performance. hello wake up la. even honda won’t support youe cause

• mr_3m on Oct 31, 2010 at 6:42 pm

i love the CTR too… but i know it is a much compromised road car… the CTR is one the best (relatively) affordable performance car to come out of Japan (exclude those hypercars like GT-R, LF-A etc),

but having said that… i still do appreciate the existence of cars such as the Megane RS, Clio RS 200 Cup etc… yes, French cars are a bit fragile… and not sure whether they are such a good ownership proposition but still, they are way too good to ignore when it comes to driving them on the backroads/twisties…

out of topic, to cure the CTR harsh ride, even some tuner like Litchfield UK got hold of a suspension expert (AST Suspension from Netherland) to come up with bespoke dampers for the CTR to make it “breathe” better with the road… I would definitely get my CTR with this… (in my dreams though…)

• torque on Oct 31, 2010 at 6:48 pm

The more commonly type R u c on the road my dear fren is the freakin’ civic 2.0 taffeta white poser lah!!! ;-)

• handsome*dude on Oct 31, 2010 at 11:48 pm

the NCM and this joker s60 sure buddy~~

normally i will imagine u guys dye ur hair in yellow color~ and like to put exhaust as loud as you can that type…

that’s wat we call “ah beng”

oh ya..and u too will put lots of sticker on ur car afraid other ppl cannot notice ur car ~~

to all other brothers here, agree of wat i said? :)

• hey, when did the honda launched the type R? when did the VW launched the scirocco? of coursa la slaes of type R a little bit higher, the rest… Copy one only…

• armandd on Nov 01, 2010 at 10:05 am

satria neo is more common than VW golf GTI, does that make it more sexy and got better brand image than the golf? civic type-R is too over-rated, vtec just kicked in yo..!

• honda badge is more premium than volakswagon or renault. The H looks more fierce with 2 fangs like that. VW is known boxy car and fragile while renault none of your children ever heard about the brand. So if civic sales is higher, it proves that it has more quality and more speed. The ending of too fast too furious 3 shows the heroin driving NSX which is a Honda…think why? there must be reason, non other that Honda is the top performance and premiuem brand in the world. i believe that…..

• YoMamma on Dec 30, 2010 at 1:35 am

s60, in USA, the civic are known as housewives cars… grocery getter cars.. bwahahhahahaa

• chuakz on Oct 30, 2010 at 9:00 pm

looks like langkawi is a good market for renaults…since its tax free there….i remembered when i went there many yrs ago there were a lot of citroen C3s…and the only old megane RS I’ve ever seen was in Langkawi..

• sexy front and back

• Anti Proton on Oct 30, 2010 at 9:05 pm

im so happy XD

• speedywinger on Oct 30, 2010 at 9:27 pm

OH MAN hot hatchback !!~

• mohdjiman on Oct 30, 2010 at 9:56 pm

Paul, you not going to test this machine?

• BeemerFreak on Oct 30, 2010 at 10:14 pm

Now VW should respond by Bringing in the Scirocco and Golf R. Autocar has proven that twin clutch gearbox gives best performance, best economy and in the VWs better fun through the paddleshifters.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lRwfvnDt7BA

• torque on Oct 30, 2010 at 11:17 pm

I’m working with VW fren and be patience, Golf R, Scirocco R and the Polo GTi is arriving mid next year! ;-)

• RadzLee on Oct 31, 2010 at 10:15 am

W.O.W!!!

• aizat2209 on Oct 31, 2010 at 1:29 pm

are you like serious?

• droll on Oct 31, 2010 at 5:08 pm

arrive or not, i would prefer this over VW machines. megane and its legendary handling. oooooooh. sweet!

• torque on Oct 31, 2010 at 6:52 pm

Yup! Booking has been taken as we speak but price is still not been given to us juz yet…then again, the customer who booked the R spec dun even give a rat about the price already, they can afford it!!

• not-quite-the-auto-junkie on Oct 30, 2010 at 10:27 pm

WWWOOOOOOWWWWWWWWW…. thats a real hot hatch!

• ikfndr on Oct 30, 2010 at 10:30 pm

Nice ass

• why not bring the normal megane… it looks just as good and much cheaper…

• Citroën ds3 on Nov 01, 2010 at 12:09 am

Look.. Out.. Handling.. Crap… 4 freaking speed auto!! 1.6 engine.. Pathetic machine.. It is as if the standard version was issued to accommodate to outer spare parts… Leave no justice to the car…

• such cool machine to have… but sadly me no $$$ get… :(

• torque on Oct 30, 2010 at 11:07 pm

There’s one TC Euro Cars showroom in Langkawi. Now, do you think with all that units will actually sold in good numbers right there? The reason few of the units send there is TC tactics to make a huge profit by running from taxes. TC mostly send few Renault units over there and park it for some time. Nonetheless, RS250 really rocks and Golf R is no where close to it’s superb chassis.

• Tan Tee Lim on Oct 30, 2010 at 11:20 pm

hope we get TC Euro Cars bring them over to KL and offer it at a reasonable price. It’ll definitely give the VW Scirocco a run for its money.

• Joshua on Oct 31, 2010 at 7:40 am

By the way, when is asx going to launch official? Here Sarawak bintulu I had see two asx on the long trailer…

• Bryan Lim on Oct 31, 2010 at 11:19 am

Saw this at SS2 Rothmans on Monday-Tuesday last week. So jaw dropping!

• Henry on Oct 31, 2010 at 11:27 am

I suspect those cars will be transhipped to a neighbouring country and not sold locally. Why land in Langkawi and not Port Kelang?

I could be wrong.

• waldan on Oct 31, 2010 at 11:37 am

megane rs vs scirocco vs rcz vs mazda 3 mps (coming)…. huh …..

• semut on Oct 31, 2010 at 5:02 pm

107K duty free……..

• droll on Oct 31, 2010 at 5:10 pm

the suspension setup in this car is really amazing. it has a rear TORSION BEAM and still it tracks the nurburgring in a respectable time. kudos to renault.

• droll on Oct 31, 2010 at 5:11 pm

i wonder if this is the sport or cup chassis edition.

• rain rain on Oct 31, 2010 at 6:54 pm

Saw 1 grey Megane RS near to Alor Setar Mall, kedah just now…eye attracting baby!

• Six Gear on Oct 31, 2010 at 8:03 pm

I wonders Renault sports Megane III RS250 can use local RON95 or a must RON97 petrol getting full 250hp?

• Langkawi on Oct 31, 2010 at 10:18 pm

because at langkawi the RS will be sold at rm100k+ only.

• Citroën ds3 on Nov 01, 2010 at 12:06 am

Paul, any chance the paultan team will be test driving it? In Singapore, the agent only limit the test drive to journalist.. And only 2 mix review came out.. Sitting in that car.. The bucket seats just gave me the chills… I really hope there will be another independent opinion on that car… What I read recently is that the handling is not as sweet as the previous generation to allow more comfort drive… But I love the spec of the car.. From what I see while in the show room… It is like they plong the whole ps3 inside complete with the gran tourismo game in it.. Got g force indicator la.. Got 0 to 100 sprint time la. Got distance time la.. All in all.. The tech in it is meant for track… But with no test drive… I can’t really bring myself to part with my hard earn dollars… And with 2 mix review that only agree on 2 things… The growl of the engine makes no justice to the car… And the handling leaves one to want more… Looking forward to your review on this car

• Zikri Fuad on Nov 01, 2010 at 1:02 am

Wow.. seems that many like the car.. good la.

For those who has not driven the Megane R26 (no more), Civic Type R, Impreza and Evo IV; I think you should drive and compare it yourself. All of those cars were great, and also has its weaknesses. Not all will like one model, but this car has won many awards and hearts of many motoring journalists in Europe (where it has been sold about less than a year), so it has to be very good.

Personally, the reliability and spare parts issue does affect the image and resale value of this brand in Malaysia. I heard TC Euro as the official importer are working on some moves to improve it. As I have used and owned several French cars within this 14 years, the scenario of parts and reliability has improved a lot. Frankly, they are still not on par with Japanese in terms of reliability and durability at the moment, but for sheer pleasure of driving and comfort, it is hard to fault.

So, please do tests them and feel for yourself. Knowing the specs of the cars did not reflect the real feel / value of the car. That’s why they have “TEST DRIVE”.

• New Lotus Concept Production Dream on Nov 01, 2010 at 8:08 am

Great driver’s car with luxury features! I will buy this car if I don’t have one in this category yet. A hot hatch is preferred to be bought for a lady. If this is manual transmission, it will definitely lose 50% market shares to VW scirocco and perhaps the coming Ford Fiesta Sport/RS . Yet, it comes after scirocco which already captured a lot of sales worldwide. Hope Lotus will launch all 5 models according to schedule, otherwise Tesla shall lead with its electric car. Yet, better value in terms of low import duties and sales taxes in Malaysia.

• mr.eims @ Perfume on Nov 01, 2010 at 10:57 am

2 doors cars is definitely a driver focused car.

for me, i’m a family person & prefer golf GTI than this even though renault megane RS makes me drool with its power & performance :p the design is definitely very hot!

different between renault megane & golf GTI on the road is renault megane RS will definitely catch people’s attention more than Golf GTI.

nway.. paul.. pls test drive one of those if u got the chance, i realy want to read ur test drive review :D hope it doesnt sacrifice too much on the comfortness.

• i think its about time Proton Satria to change their model to shape more like VW sirocco n Renault Megane.

• They used to bring in Megane Scenic in a 1.6 Manual transmission. A relative had one and it _never_ broke down. You can hardly find any now.
    I wish malaysians had a more European mindset towards cars so that we can have more choices if we want a manual transmission. Over there the top spec cars are all 6-speed manuals!

• my bet still goes to VW golf R if compare side by side. DSG+AWD is awsome. VW build quality and reliability is better. Not to mention, vw hold better value then renault here. trust me, you will be cursing if you want to resell this car… no doubt this is a good car but.. you do the thinking.

• Tungau A/L Punat (original people) on Nov 01, 2010 at 4:54 pm

Is this Megane will back to WRC again? Pi mai Pi mai itu juga..Ford and Citroen.. Quite boring..

• Definately better than civic Type R…nice sculptured body with performance pack!

• paparazi on Nov 02, 2010 at 2:13 pm

anyone interested to own this collectible 1:24 scale Renault Megane RS (Rally car)?

• paparazi on Nov 02, 2010 at 7:56 pm

is 2010 Renault Megane Trophy 1:24 scale diecast car, anyone?

• antiwahlan on Nov 03, 2010 at 3:04 pm

Tomorrow in sepang, TC will be handing over those who have pre-booked the Renaul Megane 250RS. Owner will be collecting their car in sepang track itself. Go there to see the buzz…..

• Stuart on Nov 05, 2010 at 11:49 pm

The price of this car in Langkawi officially OTR is 107,000. Well, I maybe will go and have a near look and test drive tomorrow ! Its under Nissan’s distribution.

• Stuart on Nov 05, 2010 at 11:54 pm

Not so amusing for me ,cause thinking of the aftersale’s services and maintenance ability.

• kikomo on Nov 08, 2010 at 9:05 am

wahlau..CTR and Civic iVTEC the best car ever? that is so ricer comment… as for VTEC system, go try wikipedia the history of VVT then u know which car manufacturer came out with the idea..even Nissan 300ZX used it when Honda only uses the ZC engine… VTEC is great, but Honda the best car? i doubt that… prefer Subaru or Mazda for Japanese car….

but this Megane RS? huhhu…wish i can test it…never drive a high performance continental car before…