Automatic transmission only driving license in the works

Automatic transmission only driving license in the worksFor many younger drivers out there, the only time they’ve ever drove a manual transmission car was when they were in driving school. Cars with a stick shift are increasingly rare these days, as most opt for the ease of an auto, especially in urban areas. With this in mind, the Government plans to allow automatic transmission cars to be used for driving tests, Parliament was told yesterday.

However, Deputy Transport Minister Datuk Abdul Rahim Bakri added that existing regulations which stipulate that only manual transmission cars can be used to test learner drivers, must first be amended before the plans can proceed. He also said that the curriculum enforced for driving schools and tests methods must be changed accordingly.

Of course, a new class of driving license would also have to be created, which prohibits these “auto-only” drivers to drive manual cars. This system is also practiced in Singapore, where people can opt for the Class 3A license, which is easier to pass of course, but will disqualify them to drive a car with a clutch pedal.

If this plans goes through, it will just accelerate the death of the manual transmission. Already, many manufacturers are reluctant to bring in stick shift variants, citing the lack of demand as an excuse, and it looks like a whole generation of future drivers will never know the joys of driving a manual. What’s your view on this?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• its a good move. make it a choice for new drivers to take. should be able to help new drivers to settle in driving conditions and also help the lady drivers make better judgement.

• lady driver with better judgement?? i’m also dreaming the same.. & will dreams forever..

• Troll Bait on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:21 pm

Hopefully will see less moronic behaviour on the roads as the workload of driving an AT is halved.

• That’s a sexist statement.

• outdated comment & thinking

• Good thing for auto is that the mistake of pressing clutch during braking can be avoided. Though they don’t teach this at driving school, it’s a big factor which will lead to brake failure and accidents.

• y would anyone use right foot to press a clutch n left foot for braking? racing driver?

• Kevin Chiang on Nov 05, 2010 at 4:08 pm

M/T or A/T does not affect driving judgment…. It’s more of a coordination problem

• Though AT only license is good and convenient. Still new drivers should learn to drive stick :) . Just in case. :)

My 2cents.

• Memento on Nov 02, 2010 at 6:17 pm

Yea true. Afterall, it takes less than a week or a month tops to learn how to drive a manual car and after that, you will know how to drive manual clutch forever.
      Even a monkey can drive automatic without learning

• E Bear on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:11 pm

Hmmm, how about DSG and automated manuals……….

Manuals will still have a market as it offers the cheaper choice for the average sedan owner.

• Green Fuel on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:12 pm

Manual transmission is going to die, in the next 5 years only the rich will able to own a manual car (super sports car)

• it will die anyway faster than we think…..coz EV car do not need manual gear to operate

• ericmaxman on Nov 02, 2010 at 2:59 pm

even so, most of them would have paddle shifts..or flappy paddles.lol

• we must be realistic on this.. our malaysian car & human population still varies from lowest kasta who drive rotten datsun 120y or rotten vannette to luxurious.. we should study & travel all round malaysia.. i mean grass root info.. 1st hand reality..

those who permit this so called auto lesen only thinking of selling their auto viva/auto saga.. come on…

many life is already on stake.. we better focusing on making a special lesen for whom who want to be driving on hiway.. mountainous roadway like jeli-gerik, gerik-lenggong, gerik-pengkalan hulu, gerik-kulim, kota tinggi-pekan, kuala kerai-g.musang-merapoh-lipis, genting highland, bentong-gombak, g.musang-lojing-simpang pulai.

forget about making economy boost in the price of other people life.. pls Kementerian Pengangkutan.. pls lead us to better driving skill community..

• ur suggestion not realistic bro…come on..wat happen when someone who do not that lesen suddenly hav to use mountainous highway?..the bright side that in the future we do need transmission at all due to development of electric car, solar car etc that related to pure electric without combustion engine..driving skill do mean that who drive manual car is better but maturity on the road is important not the lesen or manual gear

• Hayyo bro KMZ.. i hope i’m not offend u. Our Peninsular Malaysia is so unique becoz we got Banjaran Titiwangsa. So do our Borneo fren.. they got mountainous road also but, i hear their road standard is imferior than us..

BEING REALISTIC bro KMZ.. when time comes, anyone who got that SPECIAL LONG DISTANCE/MOUNTAINOUS LESEN will be well known. They r normally some one who drive long distance regularly, know function of vehicle & their capability and i think alot of them will be public transportation or freight transportation driver… so i think if anyone want to us that road, they better of using public buses, cabbies or planes..

we r still far from 1st world driving skill, need not to say attitude.. so forget bout green car eletric car when half of population is still struggling to filled up their motorcycles tank..

• Hmmmm..the death of manual transmission, no more rally car after this..perhaps.. :)

• rally car use manual transmission?

• yeah…rally using AT?.. i cant imagine that.

good bye toege.
      good bye heel and toe.

roaming in winding road will never be the same again.

• The Loner on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:12 pm

Rally cars uses sequential manual transmission. Still has clutch pedal but shifting is strictly sequential order.

• its a little too far to talk about rally with this AT MT stuff.

• alamak on Nov 03, 2010 at 1:40 pm

DSG is an automated dual clutch sequential manual transmission

hmm confusing license.

They should adopt the Finland govt driving test, every person has to control a car on skid pads and learn to catch drift… no wonder they have such talented pool of rally and f1 drivers hahaha

• aksMs on Nov 04, 2010 at 6:59 am

Then it will take one learner 3 years until they get the full driver’s license. I like that. I’m all for the Fin’s method. Hehehe.

• 911gt on Nov 11, 2010 at 5:36 pm

no, it is to ensure that only qualified driver will obtain a driving license, not simply a ‘lesen terbang’ or ‘sure-pass package’.

• dumb driver on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:17 pm

practicality is a must when comes to traffic jam esp. in Klang Valley. driving is not joyous anymore when every corner is either jam or speed trap. kaki patah if using manual. worst if the taxi is hogging the road. u ikut sama dia crawling mcm tak ada power.

• Troll Bait on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:24 pm

With my well muscled legs, I have no problem driving an MT in a 2 hour jam. 3 hours maybe a bit susah tho’ hehe

• Matchy on Nov 02, 2010 at 6:16 pm

Of course u’ll get the muscled leg from all the clutching! (one sided muscled leg though) lol

• S.Roma on Nov 02, 2010 at 6:29 pm

Now u can say la, when u are 60 years old?

• WinterAngeLs on Nov 02, 2010 at 6:31 pm

I would fall asleep driving AT for too long on the road. MT keeps me awake!

MT FTW!

• aldo.rain on Nov 03, 2010 at 7:21 am

most taxi drivers driving manual. they all fallen asleep on the road. don believe me. follow them frm behind. ur blood start boiling.

• type-x on Nov 03, 2010 at 9:31 am

yeah! and I get my left foot cramp all the way!

• seriously, you are a dumb driver

• Wisdom on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:18 pm

Thinking green, for now, only manual transmission emits less pollutant and more efficient in fuel usage.

By introducing auto only license, less manual car will be sold, and looking at the market trend, DSG or twin clucth transmission (which is as efficient as manual) will take sometimes before fully utilized in Malaysia. So for now, the usage of torque converter auto will only increase CO and CO2 level in our atmosphere.

Thinking green.

• Jutawansegera on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:19 pm

Automatic is for sissy lol

• ericmaxman on Nov 02, 2010 at 3:18 pm

but sometimes, no matter how much they love manual, have to see current situations also maa.. issues like practicallity etc also plays a role

• Troll Bait on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:25 pm

Nope, auto is for lazy ass, weak legged fools who phailed their driving test so bad they had to bribe the jpj dick to pass.

• F430 and F458 dont have manual too. you must be disappointed,

• ya… some cars like ferraris, Evos, Imprezas, Megane RS, 308 GT… they dont have auto transmission…

• untitled on Nov 03, 2010 at 12:33 pm

their’s aren’t really torque freaking converter, its sequential gearbox!

• Yup, thats why I dig porsche turbo.. duhh

• gogo2 on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:22 pm

Although my car is manual stick, I prefer auto. My next car will be auto. I will never miss manual transmission. And mind you, I’m not younger generation. I’m in my 30’s.

• Troll Bait on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:26 pm

Dude, you’re young lah. Lurk more, grasshopper.

• your kancil 660 has a manual, so stop crying.

you can buy inspira 1.8 manual too

• Cyberkayu on Nov 03, 2010 at 11:45 am

I m in early 20,i drive manual,auto is lack of responses

• stevencbk on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:22 pm

We were manual lovers …

Cant’ imagine if our clutch padel only can apply in Sepang one day!

• Z kenny on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:23 pm

i think it is great, it makes the elderly and the learners to concentrate on the road/traffic, rather than worrying about the “stick” and clutch

dual clutch cars are more efficient and lost min power compare to manual …. and most of the cars are heading to that kind of technology, thats the future

as for stick, i love stick, but mostly for weekend sports car
    i wouldn’t want to stuck on a jam on a manual car …

• Troll Bait on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:30 pm

There’s a very simple (but strenuous) exercise that you can do to build more leg muscles. Squats. Works wonders for improving your pathetic legs. Then you wouldn’t mind getting stuck in jams with an MT.

• azsha on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:25 pm

The joy of driving a manual car greatly depends upon its performance.

• ericmaxman on Nov 02, 2010 at 3:00 pm

sometimes its also fun to drive a underpowered manual car. personal preference i guess.

• rosdi on Nov 02, 2010 at 6:19 pm

I drive a manual Kancil 660. Tell me more about underpowered manual car please..

• yeah.. you need to drop from gear 5 to 3 or in case emergency, need drop to gear 2 just to overtake long trailer…yeah, i often doing like that using my 1.3 old saga…

• Arcane on Nov 03, 2010 at 11:44 am

BHP-to-Weight ratio pls..

• Beemer on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:26 pm

manual driving is still the best driving experience…no matter how good your car is, u can only feel the true excitement of revving the engine and control the speed of the car by using stick..another point is, if happen 1 auto car breakdown, then the only car that is available is manual, these drivers cant drive it at all coz they dont know how to drive manual car! what a waste!

• the point is to move the world towards : “if happen 1 auto car breakdown,..” then the other available car would always be AUTO !

problem solved !

• Mozilla Chrome on Nov 02, 2010 at 6:26 pm

By having all cars in AUTO means move the world towards? Hmm..

• bryan.jones on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:26 pm

regardless of the joy driving a manual, what we need to look here is the improvement of the learning process that in result could be able to develop more smart, safety & intelligent drivers on the road.

no harm for no-manual driving test, I didn’t touch an original manual for years. recently using clutch-less model.

• NumIak on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:28 pm

Agree!!! future drivers will never know the joy in the stick shift!!!
    The funs with stick are hardly found even in the DSG or Selespeed…
    That’s why we have the Tyre R with the 6 speed manual

• rally_fan on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:52 pm

DSG is an amazing piece of technology. but for me personally, driving a manual with a clutch gives you a totally different and more involving driving experience. I have nothing against people who drive auto’s, as everyone has a right to their choices. I just hope the car manufacturers dont do away with the clutch pedal in the future, but if they do, i’ll just opt to drive an old car with a clutch, no problems.

anyways.. countries like Australia, although there is an option for auto only license for a long time now, still has a healthy number of manual drivers.

• manual forever!
    I enjoy driving manual transmission car eventhough stuck at Pasir Gudang Highway traffic jam everyday.

• T4VR-Ralph on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:32 pm

i’m a stick shift driver, and I dislike automatic, and hate cvt.
    what i see there is no such thing as “joy of driving” anymore…
    no “passion” on driving nor cars…
    everyone just buy car just for the sake of going from point-A to point-B.
    sad…

• yup i buy car for the sake of go point A to point B….coz i rather sleep at back than driving….future EV not need manual transmission anyway or any transmission….still waiting for auto car not auto transmission but car drive auto…hehe

• carsut on Nov 02, 2010 at 3:49 pm

luv my Persona MT.. even 2.0 cant match the pick up when I rev my engine to RED

• get a life, rempit

• S.Roma on Nov 02, 2010 at 6:35 pm

U sure?

Wanna race with my 1.8 Dohc Wira?

Don be afraid, wira only ma…

• danial on Nov 09, 2010 at 7:46 pm

Hey dude,

I will wait for you in JB with my 1.6 Gen2 Normal Aspirated, 4-2-1 extractor, bullet mid-box with , high cam, K&N drop in filter with Cold-Air-Intake.

Vroom!

• U sure?

Wanna race with my new 1,4 TSI Golf?

Don’t be afraid, 1.4 only ma…

• naqib on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:33 pm

i’m 22 n just got my license in july
    i’m driving a manual kelisa, d car’s stupid but i’m loving manual transmission
    this is a welcomed move, but hopefully they’ll retain normal D license type

• The manual kelisa is a very good car. It gives very good mileage. Please enjoy what you have!

• mr_3m on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:30 pm

i really like the manual kelisa… especially the basic 850 model i used to have, it reminds me the fun of driving a simple back to basic manual car, you can enjoy it even at low speed around the city…. but of course, ain’t no fun driving it in traffic jam…

in these times of increasing fuel prices, cars like the kelisa are definitely holding its value…

• clutch basah on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:35 pm

Malaysian young generation is lame, lazy and weak.
    Still keeping my 6 yr old manual Waja.. manual trany rocks!!

• Troll Bait on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:33 pm

lol – not only the young, old unkers and aunties are also lame, lazy and weak! They buy the most automatics in bolihland leh!

• type-x on Nov 03, 2010 at 9:43 am

few oldies I know still prefer manual. probably most of the car during their early days are manual

• this is so so sad….. i prefer manual thn auto…it saves petrol, got more thrill whn shifting…and u can fully feel the power on one’s car engine….

• andymervingeorge on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:36 pm

I think its a pity that manual gearboxes hv to end this way in this country. Its sheer money making effort by the govt obviously. I can admit that driving a manual in urban roads is a ball cruncher, even I am contemplating to get an auto trans for my next car now. We’ll just see how the future goes for some of us manual heads. Our fates lie in the hands of the car manufacturers.

• gilabangang on Nov 02, 2010 at 3:18 pm

how can this be a money making effort by the gov. They are giving you more options. Go for the normal license if you wish.

• its not like manual trans will terminated in malaysia…y so takut2..it profit driving school more not the G

• NO!!!!
    How can they do this!?
    We are not like the US with majority of cars in Auto tranny. Their GM’s and Chevys are mostly auto so they can do this.
    If our country goes through with this, then our younger generation will not only know how a manual tranny feels or drives like but they will lose interest in the joys of driving one!

So send your kids for the full licence so that they are not deprived of this!

• gilabangang on Nov 02, 2010 at 2:52 pm

They are giving you options. what’s your problem?

• What wrong with not knowing how manual feels like? Just like,will u still teach your son to use telegram to tell you that he is not coming back for dinner,or just a sms?

• Aston Martin still has manuals! =D

• Lightning McQueen on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:38 pm

It looks like only die hard drifter left with manual trans, others? all opt for manual

• Tan Tee Lim on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:40 pm

Oh! No… Hope this will not discourage manufacturers like Honda to bring in Civic Type-R and CR-Z for the people who CAN drive a stick shift. (T_T)

• autojohndoe on Nov 02, 2010 at 6:14 pm

where have you been?

there is no longer Civic Type R la…

• y u mean discourage? if more people opt for auto lesen that show more demand on auto car….car maker just respond to market preference

• ericmaxman on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:40 pm

another reason for more people to buy auto cars. look at the US, similar system, most cars sold there are mostly auto. only purist/car enthusiats/stick lovers will get manual, it seems.

• superleggera on Nov 02, 2010 at 9:58 pm

I prefer european rather than american. Make some study bro, european prefer manual, nothing to do with purist/car enthusiats/stick lovers. Most cars in europe are manual. Why we malaysian want fto follow american? American sucks when it comes to cars

• the european regulations tax the ppl based on every single ounce of CO2 that the car produces… so obviously manual tranny saves some 15-20% fuel compared to auto and thus, u also save the tax amount… so most younger ppl in europe prefers manual cars becoz it saves money…

• BOYRACER on Nov 03, 2010 at 2:03 pm

In the US, they have low speed limit & the roads are always monitored by the cops.Why go faster n get caught.So thats why standard american cars are automatic & have soft suspension.Btw those american cars have large V6 or V8 engines so that performance wont suffer badly.The smaller engined cars still have manuals though.
      I prefer European cars,they have firmer suspension to cope with their roads eg.winding n mountain roads.
      In the UK the yearly tax are based on emission emitted by the cars.Lower emission gets lower tax & higher emission pay higher of coz.
      Since manual version emits less pollutants than their auto counterparts, they are the preferred choice.

Wonder what will happen if our road tax system is based emission like in the UK.
      Still many ppl wants to drive autos?A dream to see this happening here.

Sorry bout the long comments.
      Cheers!!

• reeboot on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:40 pm

its a sad sad day indeed.in a time where paddle shifters becoming a norm, and where clutch are no longer control by ur skills and experience, driving is gonna be dull. sigh…

i remembered when i couldnt get my bro’s integra to work coz the clutch keeps ‘kicking’ back at 1st gear due to the enormous torque…had to start on 2nd gear,but the joy of revving to 6-7k on 3rd gear was breathtaking….

• ericmaxman on Nov 02, 2010 at 3:06 pm

soon to be gone were the days of when people drive to enjoy the pleasure as driving, and not as merely a mean of transport from point A to point B

• mnazri.tan on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:50 pm

awesome !!! i know that feeling

• chris on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:43 pm

if you want a car, get a stick, if you need a transportation, for god sake, get an auto~~~

• blo0d on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:44 pm

i dislike this idea. this is because i enjoyed driving a manual and it put me in more control of the vehicle. of course in city like kl we will suffer abit because of jams and whatsoever but when theres no jam, manual is the way to go. furthermore there are many tech today to help manual driver such as hill assist etc etc.

• Fifteen on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:45 pm

The call to cut CO2 emissions means manual gearboxes are on its last leg.

Besides, stick shifts are not ideal for hybrids and EVs don’t have gears.

But you will continue to find manual ‘boxes in commercial vehicles for the current to near future. Modern Euro buses have already gone automatic.

Anyway, dual clutch has allowed a driver to have his cake and eat it. Nobody needs to fret about the demise of the stick.

• md5sal on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:46 pm

Manual stick FTW but not when at parking lot Federal Highway :D

• hafis on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:47 pm

wow…
    danger for women…
    press pedal like press mesin jahit…
    ada org mati sebap dia terpijak pedal minyak …
    terlangar anak sendiri…
    dah mati pecah kepala…

• chris on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:48 pm

A full manual is still the most joyous to drive. This move will just make for lazier new drivers with a dead-end choice for a car. Those who are good with a manual stick will be even better behind an auto, but not the other way around.

• but not mean better on road..lol

• Agree,

Most manual stick driver are far better drivers than auto drivers. In term of driving skill manual stick drivers are far superior, you can learn whole lot of skills with manual shifter. For car lovers the enjoyment they got out of revving the engine and dropping the clutch is one heck of adrenalin rush, you can’t get that with auto trans.

• brutus on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:48 pm

what a waste! stick shifters are still my preference but city life makes it so darn difficult!
    newer generations have such easy life@!

• nnnoooooooooooooooooooo!

• brutus on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:50 pm

my best experience with a stick shifter were EG6 and AE92. driving on old trunk roads, what a blast. funnily, i prefer the AE92 over EG6 on these roads.

• Arthur on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:51 pm

I strongly oppose this!

Roads in Malaysia already filled with incompetent driver as it is. Making a driving test easier to pass would make it even worst. Instead of adopting Singaporean practice, Malaysian government should look at how the German do it.

While the whole thing cost about €2,000. But this included mock exams, eye test, theory test, driving test, lessons, mock exams and so on. The theory test is tough, roughly about 30% of the people who take it fail to pass it on the first try.

And there is a minimum number of theory hours you have to attend and a minimum number of hours you must spend in the car. If I’m not mistaken they require at least 225 minutes and 50 kilometers per session on highways or country roads: at least 135 minutes on the Autobahn with each journey lasting at least 45 minutes, and another 90 minutes for driving in twilight or darkness, half of this on highways or country roads.

• scgtimk1 on Nov 02, 2010 at 2:18 pm

But sadly people don’t have a choice if they don’t want to take driving license.

You can’t get to where you want to go with our Public transport. So driving is the only choice.

• Ash Menon on Nov 02, 2010 at 2:49 pm

I agree with this. Public transportation, if I’m not mistaken, is rather convenient in Germany, so the lack of a car is not a huge problem.

• chris on Nov 02, 2010 at 2:37 pm

they should be making it HARDER to pass rather than easier. we can’t always just look to make things more convenient for new drivers because we don’t need NEW drivers on the road, we need COMPETENT ones.

• I like your points made in paragraph 2 an 3. I like them because I think they’re valid points and do hope the local gov could learn from this , and i also like the points because they have absolutely nothing to with what you’ve said about driving tests being easier to pass would be making it worse !

If you’re saying it’s easier to pass because of not being examined in using stick shift , it’s utter bullshit. What value does mastering stick shift techniques got to do with road safety if the pupil’s preference and the future of the industry in general are skewed towards auto transmission / shift tronic / tip tronic anyway ?

On the contrary, not having the need to pour your attention to handling the stick shift also allows your attention to be better spent at other areas like traffic movement, road condition , car behaviour etc. So if road test exams are easier to pass for this reason, i’d say well done JPJ !

• andrewk on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:51 pm

In the age where technologies like dual clutch gearbox and sync rev matching systems are already available to road going cars, its only a matter of time before the manual transmission becomes an optional extra for cars…

Nevertheless, there will always be “purist” who would prefer the manual boxes. I’d say driving a manual car is a dying art….

• mulgara on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:51 pm

Manual transmission may not be practical for city commute, but to me it could enhance driving pleasure to a certain extent. I have been driving two manual cars for 7 years, and switch to auto for 5 years due to the absence of manual gearbox for the model I purchased, and finally now back to manual again. Why? A good manual gearbox supplies you sheer fun on every shift you make and more responsive to the throttle thanks to its higher efficiency compared to conventional auto gearbox.

• mr_3m on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:46 pm

hehe.. same here… been driving manual cars years ago, after that an auto for 5 years but now back to a manual…

well have to suffer a bit during traffic jam but the solution is to drive outside peak hours as much as possible… in any case, the manual allows the driver more involvement and hence you do tend to concentrate more on your driving as a whole…

as for now, I personally think both transmissions are still relevant for cars due to their different benefits to the drivers…

• andrewk on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:56 pm

I totally agree on your last comment. But with DSG type auto transmission available, it shifts better than a human can. That’s why you see the century time for a DSG Golf GTI is better than a manual one.

• But for now, DSG’s are for the rich. Not for the majority of us, who will have to settle for the <RM80k cars.

• than wat the prob….just buy manual car la

• mr_3m on Nov 03, 2010 at 3:13 pm

but you can now have Ford Fiesta with Powershift @RM82k+ as the (relatively) cheapest route to dual clutch transmission equipped car……… it is not that far from the RM80k benchmark that you have set above….

• some says ford parts n maintenance is expensive..

• Need4SpeedUnderground on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:51 pm

I agree in anything give benefits to rakyat …

• FAReast on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:52 pm

i would like a car with both (manual + auto) – clutch = dual clutch transmission.
    of course at a cheaper price compare to VW. proton + perodua should have this technology a.s.a.p.

the problem for young people nowadays is not about changing gears, but more of controlling/using the clutch properly.

• MBX Boy on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:55 pm

I know Australia have had this for ages. And to me if it is implemented right, it’s good. But in Malaysia, I personally think it will be a joke, and another way for JPJ to make more money, especially when one can still get a manual license by giving kopi money.

• gilabangang on Nov 02, 2010 at 2:58 pm

yada yada.. the gov is always the evil one…

• its u la giv kopi money..u just said it..that typical malaysian when kene saman bribe the jpj or police..n than said the jpj n police r corrupt but they actually they the corrupter

• Call me old fashion, but I think drivers should learn to drive in a manual car. It helps to build mechanical awareness and understanding on the relationship between throttle and transmission.

• But will it makes them understand the relationship between throttle and transmission after driving manual car?

• The Loner on Nov 02, 2010 at 2:01 pm

Manual transmission allows the driver to have full control on gear shifting, especially on gear selection. For racing on circuit, the infamous heel-and-toe technique used when decelerating near corners.

Due to the use of H pattern manual transmission, drivers can drive the vehicle from stationary state at either 1st or 2nd gear, depends on how much the engine’s torque, unlike automatic transmission which must engage to 1st gear then follow the gear change sequence.

• i think the heel and toe technique is not use when decelerating near corner but after decelerating when you want highest torque possible to enter the corner by changing into low gear and synchronize the wheel speed and engine speed.

but again, it just my 2 cents.

• The Loner on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:15 pm

Thanks for the info. Just came across my mind is that matching engine speed and wheel speed also reduces the shock when shifting down.

• Nothing can beat the joyness of driving a car with stick-shift manual transmission!!

• Bbingbong on Nov 02, 2010 at 2:05 pm

:’-o the death of manual tranmission ..

• lazyf on Nov 02, 2010 at 2:14 pm

owh i luv manual trans bcoz…

1.enjoy to drive
    2.cheaper than auto trans
    3.less fuel consumption
    4.cheaper on maintenance side

correct me if im wrong…peace!!!

• owh i luv auto bcoz..

1.Enjoy to drive
      2.I cant find a new honda with MT(I cant afford TypeR)
      3.I can drive with one hand easily.
      4. AT is more easy to hand.

correct me if im wong..peace!!!

• Ordinary Joe on Nov 02, 2010 at 2:14 pm

The UK also has auto only licenses, but still most of their cars are manual.

• drMpower on Nov 02, 2010 at 2:16 pm

i am very interested to know how singapore do their regulations on that ‘disqualify them to drive a car with clutch pedal’

do their police traffic officers stop cars during routine road checks and see whether got clutch pedal or not? or they just go high tech and in their hands got electronically detectable device that scans a car to determine whether that vehicle is fully automatic or fully manual or steptronics or whatever the gearing system is?

i am telling you, what works in other country doesnt necessarily works in our country. so instead of copying what others are doing, we should examine what should and can be done in our country.

in anywhere around the world, i suppose there are factions of people (not many but still got there) like to take advantages of everything in life. they dont really care whether it is lawful or its sensitivity of the others. what they want, they want. its as simple as that. and that relates so much to this auto tranny only driving license proposal.

some people who in dire need of license would go for the easier (and could be cheaper) auto tranny driving license but when they got the license they would turn into kimi raikkonen in turbocharge wiralution 500bhp on the road! i have nothing against kimi, hes a hell of great drive and wira is a great car no matter how mad u modify it it just a bloody wira. but i am against the person who sees a hole in our system and start to misuse it.

i know the way to solve this is by doing more penguatkuasaan. but why need more penguatkuasaan if u can do a system with very limited hole to exploit?

think about this again. this whole proposal would unearth a thousand way of miss using. unless that man, the director that said about this, can guarantee a full tip top 24hour surveillance and penguatkuasaan service, i see this proposal to bring more bad things as consequences.

the already in place driving test is more than enough to provide our people good driving qualification. unless he or she drive a car illegally (regularly, plus summore driving mom’s automatic vehicle) BEFORE go properly learning and taking license testing, that person shouldnt have a problem. everybody starts with a zero and by the time they are deemed ready to take the test, that means they know how to drive a car properly.

i am not insensitive about people failing the test but in need of license to move about, but what chance u got in real road if the test also u cannot pass? get it done in manual mode car, and u are MORE than READY to ride in any tranny available in the entire universe.

• forminor on Nov 02, 2010 at 3:25 pm

i don’t think it will be much different dude. whatever you’re saying is already happening now. heck. a bus driver with an expired L license and have been blacklisted still can be employed as a bus driver and would have gone scott free if it wasn’t for the crash..so,what’s the difference is this going to make?i look at it as another option to make easier for the majority of people nowadays to get their license. it won’t increase the abusers of system.

• drMpower on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:27 pm

my thoughts are with the victims. an apology doesn’t make up for even little tiny things. that bus driver must be punished. full stop. so as the bus company. how could they continue serving the people with a driver with no license. its been what…8 years after he been without a license, isnt it? spare no one. not even the closest crony (if they are)

here, people power counts. let not stop until the guilty parties get into the books!

what am i telling is, get a system with minimum room for abuse. this automatic only driving license learning/testing is a system with plenty rooms for some kind of people to miss use. just look some comments already jotted.

some of them even ask for ‘options’ to drive manual lever cars. how can someone learn and drive automatic for their entire life, to start using stick? it is impossible to do without having a crash. but for someone driving manuals, the transition onto automatic geared vehicle is smooth.

i am all for the things that make our life easier. every single system we have here is abuse able. but a system with little room to be abused is considered a good system, vice versa.

i do hope i am wrong, and if the government decides to go ahead with this, i strongly suggest that pilot groups are introduced. so that we can know the consequences of such actions. maybe for 6 months to a year. or 1 and a half years.

• mr_3m on Nov 02, 2010 at 5:07 pm

the issues you mentioned are more about enforcement and education, if in Malaysia, enforcement (and driver education) is strong, even if we have many many loopholes in the system, people will be so scared to take advantage of them due to good enforcement….

and with better education in the system, be it in driving etc… hopefully you will see more responsible drivers…. not just people who only know how to turn a steering wheel and press the pedal… and these drivers don’t signal when changing lanes, they tailgate, they use emergency lanes, they cut queues at tolls, they block the fast lane, they do all sorts of things on the road…

in countries like UK, their point-penalty system is strongly enforced, unlike our KEJARA demerit point system which nobody actually knows how it works, and over there all driving bans and penalties are taken seriously… unlike here, even if you are banned or don’t even have a licence, you may still be driving around for years before you may be caught and in the bus express case, it all ends in a sad tragedy…..

how many more of these to happen before the Ministry of Transport, JPJ, Police finally wake up from their lack of enforcement??

• y u think in UK the same thing not occur there eg people got no lesen drive..there r always people who will broke the law no matter how strong the law

• mr_3m on Nov 03, 2010 at 3:25 pm

KZM,

There are no perfect law on this… and of course there will be law-breakers anywhere on the planet….

But I’m talking about the level of enforcement, our level of enforcement was never that high….

can you tell me how many bus companies got away with employing blacklisted drivers even with years of summonses???? The problem here is this… if everybody is doing the same thing, they all get away with it…. and the problem will never be solved…

Currently, we’re more reactive to a problem as and when it happens but less proactive in taking action to prevent the problem in the first place…

• ichi24 on Nov 02, 2010 at 2:20 pm

NO!!!

such move would only result of higher chance woman driver causing accident!!!!!

• JonLing on Nov 02, 2010 at 2:23 pm

i think it’s a good move by the govt, and it’s a timely move. seriously, nowadays more than 90% of the drivers opt to drive automatic gear cars. so as much as i like change gear manually, i would not oppose this suggestion.

and no, i don’t think this spells death to all the future manual transmission cars in malaysia. just take a look at the US, they used to like automatic gear so much that almost all but some serious sports cars were in automatic gear, and now i think even some BMW normal 3 Series can be had in manual gear already.

just make sure that for those who took automatic gear test can have some “options” to drive manual gear cars too, if they realised that they could save more with manual gear cars. maybe govt would come up with some additional tests for this group of ppl or some other ways.

anyway, manual gear cars won’t vanish, for sure. no im not talking about only some small cars or commercial vehicles. im talking about some ‘normal size’ passenger cars too.

• The Loner on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:24 pm

Agree with you in some points. Although automatic transmission is a majority in US. The car manufacturers there still provide manual transmission for people to choose (see Ford Mustang and Cheverolet Camaro as an example).

As for BMW M3, manual transmission always available since its debut.

• research on Nov 02, 2010 at 2:25 pm

please teach them not to be so smart n use left foot braking.. =)

• Arthur on Nov 02, 2010 at 3:21 pm

Aww. can’t use left foot for breaking? You better tell this to sabine then

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5KiC03_wVjc

• yup..it really dangerous unless you on track.
      sudden release of brake pedal while pressing gas pedal will cause unwanted acceleration that will lead to accident. which scare me if i seat next to driver using this method.

• Manual transmission is the best transmission ever

• If this goes through, then peeps I am afraid we are officially old, most likely the product of the rocking eighties (or even earlier).

• it simply means many men are turning into pussies. quite literally.

• So agree! i love manual. to bad i drive in the city have to opt for auto for now. Would love my speedster have a stickshift!
      Btw. just a suggestion. Make all woman drive auto first to make sure they get a hang of the vehicle. Then give them the option of driving the manuel.

• you’re saying all men who are participating in the pinnacle of motorsports — Formula 1 , all 24 of them , are pussies, just because the cars are not the conventional manual stick shift.

How much more single minded can you be ?

• i think malaysia is gentlemen country ….other country eg US , UK r sissy country

• BOYRACER on Nov 02, 2010 at 2:28 pm

Oh no.The death of manual tranny.I think they should not do it.At least the learners must learn with manual 1st.Once they passed its up to them whether to drive a manual or auto car.

I love driving a manual car.Enjoying it every minute.Traffic jams? so what.Used to it.Worth the hassle for me.I like to keep my car under my control, not the other way around.
    Heel n toeing,throttle balance while cornering; only a manual can give us that advantage.
    Manual forever!!

• Nizam80 on Nov 02, 2010 at 2:29 pm

I have no problems with this move as you all already know that Singapore already has it and I think so does Australia if I’m not mistaken.

I will always prefer a manual. But as time passes, I will only prefer it for weekend drives (when there are less traffic jams), and for long distance driving, on twisty bends, etc.

For going to work to and fro, better get an auto.

• Notakosong.com on Nov 02, 2010 at 2:30 pm

they need to make optional upgrade for the license later on.

so maybe when the driver want to try the thrill of manual, they can opt for the upgrade.

• i don’t like this. seriously i don’t like any of this. i’m just 15, but i think this will make the younger generation getting suckier and suckier lol. for god’s sake, most ppl nowadays can’t even shift properly in those stupid Need for Speed video games LMAO.

man, i can’t wait to drive my dad’s manual-converted Perdana V6 after i turn 17 ^_^ lol

• fazron80 on Nov 03, 2010 at 10:08 am

wohooo if the engine is not yet converted go convert it to turbo the soonest you can. the joy of kepish kepish.

• no way, i don’t have enough coin in my piggybank to buy a 6A12TT loooool xD

but i would go for the 6A12TT’s twin turbo smooth boost rather than those big-ass high boost turbo and BOV ‘kepish kepish’ sound :D

• mr.eims @ Perfume on Nov 02, 2010 at 3:03 pm

i think… its not a very wise move…. waste of time i guess…

current procedure is ok already.. if they take the driving licence & then drive auto, then let them be lah..

why need to have 2 type of licence & then wasting time to take another manual tranny licence if later they want to drive manual.

when they take the driving licence with manual car, its harder than driving auto, later when they drive auto tranny everyday they will feel easier.this is for their own safety.

• good for JPJ and driving school…can get more bussiness

• if before 100 take driving exam n if now 50 take auto lesen n 50 take normal lesen..its still 100..but it will incur cost for driving school cost hav to buy auto car, higher maintenance etc..n i think cost to get auto lesen even higher as compare to normal lesen..no one wan to pay more if there is an option cheaper normal lesen n costlier auto lesen

• Richard on Nov 02, 2010 at 3:08 pm

Don’t think it is a good idea….manual transmissions are not only more fun to drive, they are more economical and pollute less. Perhaps the removal of fuel subsidies sometime in the future will “force” people to go back to stick shifts, as it is in most parts of Europe.

• amir zaheen on Nov 02, 2010 at 3:08 pm

looks like a whole generation of future drivers will never know the joys of driving a manual
    -quote….

i like…LoLz~~~~

• i think they should leave it as it is….should learn manual in case of emergency! there will be more jams caused by road blocks..

• I don’t think manual cars will go away. There is always a market for everything. The Proton Inspira is offered as a manual as well, and I am sure there are quite some orders for it.

This is more for lazy young kids with parents who want everything easy…. it reflects poorly on them imho.

• I feel proud of being a Malaysian as we are all trained to be Manual Car driver by default. This make us face no problem wherever we go. We can drive either manual or auto car at any situation, any country, as long as we show that we are valid drivers.

I’m in Singapore, and I just need to convert my driving license to Sg license to make me elligible to drive both types of cars. As compared to other countries citizens, we don’t need to take any particular test again to drive manual car, which I feel so superior when I stepped on other countries.

Why should we have different test to drive different types of cars? People have the option to purchase auto/manual car according to their preference, while we continue to hold manual license!

Manual license rocks!

• emosi glock on Nov 02, 2010 at 3:37 pm

make it cheaper for this,it is always about economy not personal pleasure

• ive recently changed my car… before i use manual transmission now ive used AT for about 3 month… the truth is manual transmission is way more enjoyable and better at overtaking…
    nevertheless all driving student should learn manual…

• oldman on Nov 02, 2010 at 7:46 pm

i think you need more lesson on ‘how to overtake a car in auto car’….

u are unsafe to other drivers….

• when will have license for paddle shifter category?? ngeh ngeh

• carsut on Nov 02, 2010 at 3:51 pm

paul tan.. u may conduct a survey about AT and MT.. who wont the best

• h4dRi on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:29 pm

the result will be bias, as most motorhead prefer manual and majority of us here are motorhead, manual will win the poll, unless the auto we taking about is DSG….

• budleee on Nov 02, 2010 at 3:59 pm

hmm.. joy of manual?

drive a national car.. LOL.. always got manual one ;)

for the general public who view cars as just getting from point A to point B, they would welcome the change…..

die hard fans? kedai potong kan ade :p

• squall_shinoda on Nov 02, 2010 at 5:25 pm

Well, looks like our national cars will be the only options left for manual lovers. Even if I say so, there are more auto variants in the Inspira, Persona and Exora than manual variants.

• jul2305 on Nov 02, 2010 at 3:59 pm

Bought my car in KL, it was an auto..After driving it for 6 months,went to my workshop and ask to source for a manual tranny..It is just so boring driving an auto….
    No regrets even when caught in the jam peak hour…

• fazron80 on Nov 03, 2010 at 10:04 am

wait until your knees give way. Maybe at time you should have an extra auto car to drive. btw I also absolutely in love with the manuals.

• who said younger generation dont like manual tranny.. im 20 y.o and been driving manual car since i am 17 and in love with manual.. no to auto for me.. boring is the word..

• donadoni on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:03 pm

BIG effin’ NO!

• vee-dub on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:07 pm

susah sikit nak pinjam kereta manual jika tak tahu bawak manual. Owner manual untung :)

• emine on Nov 02, 2010 at 7:40 pm

betul….. senang nak jaga kereta nanti….. pasal tak semua orang boleh pinjam ;)

• somesay on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:33 pm

maybe, just maybe they can make the cost of learning auto transmission a lil bit more expensive than the usual class driving licence, so in that way manual trans can still be the best opted license plus you are actually will be paying 1 for 2, manual + auto. And still choices is been given. all in all, stick is the winner here.

• squall_shinoda on Nov 02, 2010 at 5:20 pm

Agreed. The current manual gearbox license is the best value for money. One license for manual and auto. If auto license, can drive auto only. If, let’s say your auto car broke down and you have to borrow someone else’s car which happens to be a manual car, then the auto license holder will surely die because they cannot drive manual car. If they drive manual cars, they will either have their RM300 flying to pay the saman or paying some duit kopi to the cops.

• tiadaid on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:35 pm

People always say you drive a manual car to enjoy the pleasure of the driving experience?

But tell me, where in KL can you find a road that would allow you to savour the experience when every road is jammed to the hilt with cars? Maybe if you live in the outskirts you could give it the beans, but if you’re a city dweller, isn’t it nice to have an option?

• mnazri.tan on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:48 pm

i have no problem driving a stick in what ever condition …and i live in KL…i guess.. i have become the rare breed facing extinction….heheheh

but joke aside…i have two car…one is gen2 manual and persona auto (dont ask me why i choose to have both ) at any day…i enjoy the manual better… :)

• Wisdom on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:42 pm

Will they train these auto driver the proper way to hold the food when eating while driving? I’m pretty sure the topic of ‘how to properly fold your left foot on the seat’ will be included.
    ;p

• kingkong on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:43 pm

i love manual..

• Silentguy on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:43 pm

I almost finish my whole driving (the proper way not the kopi tiam way)…. And honestly I think tat people should learn. How to drive manual because it is much more fun and
    u really get to know your car which u spend 10k to 1mil….. Better then a car with auto
    which just dead boring when u drive it…it not saying tat Malaysian should drive manual…. I
    just saying tat should at least learn how to drive manual because if they are force or no choice to drive munual they would not be scare… In the future I goin to be a stick driver and tat for sure .. Love manual!

• My first car is a saga BLM manual
    I’ve been driving it for a few years and i still feel that manual car still feels better as you have real ‘control’ over your car with a clutch and manual stick
    besides our national cars is well-known for automatic gear box problem
    therefore i still prefer a manual car
    (can even jump start if the starter got problem)

auto transmission license is for the convenience of aunties…

• S.Roma on Nov 02, 2010 at 6:56 pm

(can even jump start if the starter got problem)

Agree with u on this 1 !

• Rags1968 on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:47 pm

Why in major cities like KL, u see single occupancy cars, well the govt of the day has yet to provide an intergrated and comprehensive transportation means and solutions so that man on the street like me who without fail pay my taxedon time never get to enjoy having a stress free commute to work to earn a living to feed my family of 5.

Driving an auto car provides some respite but it does not actually address the fundamental issue of not having a world class transportation system despite many plans to transform the country to develop status with high income earners, I for 1 support the end of life policy proposed by Proton MD, it makes a lot of sense provided cars are not taxed too high by the govt, as it is we already pay quite high income tax.

As for manual cars, I enjoy manual cars, it gives you the freedom to explore the limits of ur car, driving a 4 speed auto sucks big time, maybe the 7 speed or 8 speed autos could be bliss but unfortunately I cannot afford a mercedes benz or bmw or a lexus, so for me, 5 speed stick shift still best

• rexis on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:51 pm

Regardless of which kind of transmission I prefer, I surely prefer a one-type-fit-all license.

• It really is preference for the type of driving you prefer in the long run, there really isn’t an argument besides the sad fact that the auto industry is phasing out MT on their models.

On one hand, I prefer AT for a comfortable ride on big luxurious cars when I go between states. Easy, comfy, efficient, and I can hold a fillet-o-fish in one hand, and maneuver the steering and turn signals with the other. If you give me a heads up when you overtake, I’ll give you the nod of acknowledgement with a burger on my right hand. Elegant or what?

On the other, I like to have control over my car. At work for example, I drive an MT Proton Arena which I absolutely love because it does everything it should do. Carries all kinds of things at the back and the 1.5’s pretty fiesty yet easy on the fuel. A primitive, no-nonsense workhorse without any fancy thingamajigs like ABS or Airbags (haha). I like the MT on that one because you can drive pretty carelessly and bluntly without worrying that it may break. It’s been working well so far!

I am just hoping that the auto manufacturers who, in their right mind, will keep MT options available for the people who still care, because it is about profits and who they can sell as much as possible to right? We don’t want to turn the experience of driving into a console game where the computer does most of the work for you. We want the relationship between man and machine to be as one.

I, for one, support having the MT option to be kept open and available.

• The Loner on Nov 02, 2010 at 10:26 pm

Actually the foreign car manufacturers have the manual transmission as a standard equipment for many models produced.

It is just that our big company groups who become authorised distributors for the foreign cars are deciding the cars’ spec, mostly for the sake for good profit margin.

• mystvearn on Nov 02, 2010 at 5:04 pm

In UK, manual transmission cars are more sought after than auto transmission cars.

How about having two cars for a household? I certainly don’t want to loose the skill driving a manual car.
    So:
    1. Perodua myvi-manual (short distance driving)
    2. Honda civic-auto (long distance)

• xuwenchao on Nov 02, 2010 at 5:09 pm

most of the comment came from manual tranny lover’s. why so emotional. they are just giving the option. there’s no more fun driving manual tranny in traffic jam. do you?

• they are mostly driving a beat up local 1.3 manual car or 660 manual.

They wanna say they are ppl who loves driving.

While ferrari/lambo owners are sxckers that drives semi auto gear car. lol.

• that’s why ferrari and lambo owners are mostly old people, retired and some of them own that car for fancy, to show that they are capable of owning it.

however, people who bought supercars with manual tranny such as 911gt3, type-r or m3 are people who loves car control, driving passion and more mechanical involvement.

as stated by an auto magazine in a review, “people who bought a lambo usually are for other people’s benefit. however with the porsche, it is the other way around”
        if u know what i mean :P

• weird!! nothing to be afraid….it is giving an option after all wat the fuss

• armandd on Nov 02, 2010 at 5:22 pm

I just wanna say 4 words:

Real Drivers Drive Manual.

• oldman on Nov 02, 2010 at 7:40 pm

No really…many supercars now have auto tranny as only option…so, they’re not real drivers….

• fazron80 on Nov 03, 2010 at 10:01 am

one day F1 also will use auto. Really? you think? yeah me too.

• udasalleh on Nov 02, 2010 at 5:28 pm

Tiptronic gears with pedals at the steering column like in some cars are already becoming an alternative. These are disruptive technologies that are shaping the future bringing in innovation and efficiency.

My honest wish is for the next generation to drive only electric vehicles, it will be more economical and eco friendly which in part will be eliminating manual gears altogether. U wanna show ur bravado then get a super licence and race at the track.

Lets focus on the bigger picture and look to the future with less polution and dependency on burning fuels instead of getting emotional on preference of transmission types.

• Bob Tahar on Nov 02, 2010 at 5:38 pm

Really funny watching American participant in Amazing Race… when one of the challenge is to drive stick shift car ina 3rd world country… hahaha

• I dont get it….The Govt is only considering the option to allow people to use auto when taking licence, they are not saying that everybody HAVE to drive auto.

My opinion: people who opt to use auto during JPJ test should never be allowed to use manual on the road. a separate class of licence should be introduced to cater this. Anyway, current scheme is ok already. The worst driver should at least be capable of using manual.

• S.Roma on Nov 02, 2010 at 6:51 pm

Don u understand what the news all about? OMG !

• apax understands perfectly….

• i understand the article but i dont get it why manual drivers suddenly become so defensive here. it’s not like the G is forcing u to drive auto. you can always opt to use manual cars when taking tests. Plus, those who already have licences like most people commenting here will not be effected, only the new drivers are….

i hope u get what i didnt get….

• If it is implemented…then, we will have very limited option for new manual car in our market…even now we can see how is manual car offered in our shrinking market…whether it is the lowest variant (mostly local) or it is the highest end for sport car.
    Very limited option for those want to buy manual car with a good package (accessories and others features..like safety)

• It is a sad thing happening here. Manual transmission cars allow a driver to gain full control of their cars. Example: optimal gear changes, optimal throttle control, and the joy of using handbrake and using both of your legs to control clutch, brake and throttle. Manual cars are slowly phasing off.

• rosdi on Nov 02, 2010 at 6:26 pm

Define optimal. DSG can do it better and faster than you could.

• blackbox on Nov 02, 2010 at 6:06 pm

I switch from auto to manual. I found that manual make me focus more on the driving and road condition. Driving auto I is too easy and don’t need full concentration.

• emine on Nov 02, 2010 at 7:50 pm

less road accident, God-willing…. :) when everyone is focus when driving

• in auto i also more focus and relax on the road n driving….

• blackbox on Nov 02, 2010 at 6:09 pm

I heard in Finland you need to do power slide in driving test. I think we should follow.

• somesay on Nov 02, 2010 at 6:42 pm

one cannot detest. urmm except my grandma as she doesn’t have license yet.

• that bcoz their country has snow..so they need to be able to drive in snowy condition

• rosdi on Nov 02, 2010 at 6:25 pm

You guys still discussing about MT or AT? Google is already testing driverless car where you just tell the car where to go and you sit at the back texting with your iphone lah..

In 10 years there is not even a need for driving license. :p

• somesay on Nov 02, 2010 at 6:54 pm

oh, i thought they’re already invent that. but they called it wheelchair i think. Remember the scene from Wall E… pathetic

• S.Roma on Nov 02, 2010 at 6:26 pm

Disagree !

I prefer manual !

• if our traffic wasn’t like that, i would love to drive a manual any day.

• vovozz on Nov 02, 2010 at 6:42 pm

my first car is datsun then sunny n now sentra… i more love to drive datsun n sunny coz of the manual transmission give more soul to the car then driving automatic transmission… clutch is actually give more control then just pedaling with auto… since i have to cruise in 1hour traffic jam everyday, i have to use auto.. anyway.. auto is boring..

• shawal on Nov 02, 2010 at 6:48 pm

They have to learn Manual! at least they’d get a clue of what is running under there and how it all works…

• I think it’s all about personal preference. If you prefer manual, then drive it, there’s no need to put down those who prefer auto. Besides, are there really that many manual transmission cars these days? Most good cars are now equipped with semi-auto transmission anyway and soon, the manual ones will only be driven by car fans and enthusiasts. And semi-auto transmissions like VW’s DSG is even better than manual ones, they even save more fuel with their dual-clutch tech. It’s the same thing that had happened with signal lights. Learning drivers then had to execute all those hand gestures and arm movements but today, it’s no longer relevant.

• chris on Nov 03, 2010 at 12:24 pm

Maybe we’re going off topic on the manual versus auto. This is about the auto license issue. What is the point of having this category other than making it easier for drivers to pass and obtain a license? The only area that can be tested will be on-the-road test (which a lot of us know is quite pointless after some “extra” fees paid) and the parking test. Yes, signals we’re implemented but that is for safety, instead of sticking your hand out and risk injury. And that was a global movement and standardised for all cars manufactured. But I think every new learner should start from learning a manual, because that is the basis of how an auto even came to existence. No matter what, a driver who learned to drive a manual can eventually still drive an auto, by preference. Manual cars (or pickups) are still relevant. People are just growing lazier and more complacent. The auto still needs drivers to constantly shift between brake and accelerator. It’s just how a person gets use to it.

• Arashikage on Nov 02, 2010 at 7:19 pm

If this goes through….more driver would be “less skillful” since they can’t drive manuals……

• mata katak on Nov 02, 2010 at 7:22 pm

haiya…..car with auto box oso can be invloved with accident.
    Manual box oso the same….

The driver is the culprit…..

Ikut suke-suke driver or owner…..As long as they driver according to law and dont be a dumb ass driver on the road…

• Joker The Great on Nov 02, 2010 at 7:25 pm

Separate the the Driving Test into few type:

1) Auto Gear Driving License ONLY = Pay Higher renewal driving license fees
    and
    2) Manual + Auto = Moderate driving license fees
    3) Manual ONLY = The cheapest…

• kingkong on Nov 02, 2010 at 7:32 pm

ppl getting fatter driving auto..lol

• c14man on Nov 02, 2010 at 7:44 pm

you’ve never drove a car until you’ve driven a manual transmission.

so sad to see manual transmission so rarely available…
    no matter how good the engine, how good the auto transmission, nothing beats a well trained manual transmission…

let’s mourn for manual transmission… >_<

• emine on Nov 02, 2010 at 7:46 pm

Thats why we dont have REAL cars like manual BMWs in Malaysia anymore………. everybody wants to drive…. with auto transmission…… Darn, we are becoming like Americans…… we should be more like the Europeans….. have and use the proper public transport to go to work…….. then own and drive proper manual cars when we are not working………. see….. less traffic jam on the road……….

• dragster on Nov 02, 2010 at 7:54 pm

after this nobody dare to curi manual transmission’s car….coz donno how to drive…..so manual trans. safer….ha ha ha

• freddo on Nov 02, 2010 at 8:12 pm

Let’s vote. I go for MANUALLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• NickL on Nov 02, 2010 at 8:13 pm

Whats so hard about the current curriculum anyway.
    The manual kancils are like so easy to drive, rev damn high also the instructor don’t care, yet I saw people rolling down the hill during the driving test.
    I guess even with automatics this people would still roll down the hill.
    but yeah automatic would be much easier as you can focus purely on driving

• Heather on Nov 02, 2010 at 8:19 pm

I’ve had a manual licence since I was 18 but started driving an automatic about five years ago when my shoulders gave up the ghost after years of pain. An automatic is far easier than trying to wrestle with the gears with my poor stiff shoulders and I don’t have to bother with a clutch either. But it’s good that my licence is fully manual, because hire cars aren’t always available with automatic in parts of Oz. When I was learning to drive, automatics weren’t very numerous but I believe Brits and Aussies can choose to have an automatic-only licence. Maybe the US should follow suit ….

• transformer on Nov 02, 2010 at 8:41 pm

i had mentioned many times….

our Gov should implement re-test every 3/5years, this will help to weed out “Lesen Terbang owner” that shouldnt be driving in the 1st place…..

hope fully its a free excercise to improve road safety….

wish someone here can relay this to Gov or even to head of Road & Safety

• zimba on Nov 02, 2010 at 10:08 pm

re test????…. after driving for 3 years?? You tell me who dont have enough skill to pretend as a P driver to show the examiner?? And you mean every 3/5years? oh..~~ So you want to waste rakyat money on this senseless exercise?
      If you are so unconfident about your own skill~ you should be the only one and retake it.. You dont need to drag the whole world to do it together with you. Be brave my bro, we want you to be better.

• no country did that sir…
      it a waste of time and money…
      you just might need to ask them to attend 1 hour video show at JPJ for every 5 years renewal. or after your Kejara points exceed 5 points.
      This is to update them on new laws/regulations or best practices in driving.
      and to tell them the latest trend in road accidents.
      also the latest automotive technology.

• Archer on Nov 02, 2010 at 9:38 pm

Actually the joys of driving a manual car is highly overrated in my opinion. Using a manual car especially in city traffic can be rather tiring, I’d prefer an automatic and keep my concentration on driving safely instead. Agree that Government should implement a choice for testing on a manual or auto. hey by the way I have seen drivers who drive manual cars get all worried handling an automatic and I have seen some accidents caused by those who are familiar with manual gears when they get into an automatic car.

By the way one of the readers here said in 10 years time we may not even require a license cause the cars will be driving themselves around and you sit in there enjoy a cup of tea.

• comrade1 on Nov 03, 2010 at 9:35 am

yeah n when the electronics start malfunction/ getting virus and all it will be more dangerous and causing a bomb to repair….

• fazron80 on Nov 03, 2010 at 9:55 am

it goes the other way around too don’t you think. People driving auto also can get into accident when shifting to manual cars.

• Asmara on Nov 02, 2010 at 9:53 pm

Keta manual bateri kong, leh tolak kasi hidup… keta auto tak bleh.. kena pinjam bateri orang atau taruk jumper….

Kotak gear manual kalo rosak boleh repair… tapi auto kena tukar satu set..

Bagi aku keta manual sedap bawak kat highway.. potong senang walau cc keta kecik. Tapi keta auto seksa nak potong kalau cc kecik cam viva tu… tapi drive dalam bandar Oklah.

• bro,
      gearbox kereta auto boleh repair lah..
      aku pernah overhaul auto gearbox wira 1.6 aku tahun 2004 dulu..
      mase tu overhaul dalam RM2500.00
      sekarang dengar cerita dah murah lagi…

lebih baik overhaul dari beli recon… walaupun beli recon murah, belum tentu..
      geabox wira auku dah tuka 2 kali.. rosak selepas setahun pakai je.
      kali ketiga rosak, aku decide buat overhaul walaupun kena bayar mahal sikit…
      lepas tu tak rosak dah sampai aku let go kete tu tahun 2007.

kalau nak potong, turunkan je la gear tu ke gear lebih rendah… tak susah beb…
      sama je dengan kerata manual.. cuma mungkin power kurang je sikit .

masalah kete auto CC kecik tak sedap kat hihway sebab banyak guna 3 gear je..
      kalau aku banding wira 1.6 aku dengan wira 1.5 auto.. memang banyak beza..
      Wira 1.6 ada overdrive.. Wira 1.5 takde overdrive..

• beatnik on Nov 02, 2010 at 9:56 pm

There are already thousands of jokers on the road.. what more if the automatic license is introduced.. what’s next, a driving license just for dsg? LOL

• manual ROCKZ!!!

• Carl Wong on Nov 02, 2010 at 10:34 pm

I think conventional manual & even automatic transmission will be eliminated eventually due to their fuel wastage when used. It is the fuel efficiency age so I believe most cars will be switching to automatic CVT (Continuous Variable Transmission) in the near future. Apart from being the transmission with the best fuel efficiency, it has really good torque (good for hill climbing) and it is still much easier to drive for most (No gear changes/shifts :]!!!)

My family have a 2006 Honda City VTEC which uses a CVT and it’s still one of the best car in its class in all aspects and is still very fresh to drive.

• kimi fan on Nov 02, 2010 at 10:38 pm

i’m neutral. although i own a auto transmission car, is relaxing when driving. but i do admit that we do more self-conscious for certain times, certain people when driving manual.

cause, our brain will be more active when shifting gear by our judgment.

• kimi fan on Nov 02, 2010 at 10:49 pm

by the way, i hope authorities will be fair in everything in the future if they implement. otherwise we will be discussing same story again

• Cowabunga! on Nov 02, 2010 at 10:45 pm

even the car thief won’t know how to steal a manual in the future…ahhaahh….

now, that’s cheap car security.

• fairSyah on Nov 03, 2010 at 5:17 am

savvy AMT – manual tranny with auto changer, persona – full auto tranny

• Petrol_Head on Nov 03, 2010 at 7:03 am

Drive a stick and you’ll drive any car.
    It’d be funny if people fail the Auto Transmission test car.

• bobdbilder on Nov 03, 2010 at 10:53 am

Bro, you just hit something. If those freaking idiots would go take the Auto Only license, they can’t fail. That means there’ll be more freaking idiots on the road. On top of the ones we do have.

Aren’t we suppose to raise the bar?

• Petrol_Head on Nov 03, 2010 at 6:04 pm

Yup yup..true. We should raise the bar and not just simple 3 point turns.
        Stick with Manual Tranny, besides..more fun with a stick :)

• paparadzi on Nov 03, 2010 at 1:10 pm

If you can’t handle the road and the traffic, you should fail the driving test, manual or auto.

• bottle on Nov 03, 2010 at 7:23 am

sape yang ada experience kat sini,
    bila dah biasa bwk MT,then tibe2 bile bawak AT,accidentally tekan2 kaki kiri carik clutch nak dipijak?
    it happened to me countless time.
    hahaha…

• squawk on Nov 04, 2010 at 3:38 pm

Takde problem macam ni. :-)

I can jump from manual conti with signal stalks on the left into auto jap right away. You just have to remember which car you’re in la. :-P

• zizy lol on Nov 03, 2010 at 8:45 am

i love stick

• adiddaniel on Nov 03, 2010 at 8:50 am

AT only for helpless and lazy driver.

• I am driving a rare to find, a Manual Honda Jazz

• I got two stories:

Story #1
    I got New York driving my license when I was a student, and then convert them into Malaysian license when I got home.
    The learners permit test cost me five bucks, and (I think) $50 for 5 hours in-class driving lesson.
    Afterwards, I learn to drive the car with the help of my friends, all using auto cars.
    My driving test were also using auto cars.

The NY license did not mention “for auto cars only”. So when I got back home, I got full D license.

Back in Malaysia, I took few weeks to get myself familiar with manual cars. And frequently embarrassing stall at traffic lights.
    But it was not that difficult since I already comfortable with controlling the steering and the throttle/brakes. apart from changing from left-hand drive to right-hand drive.

Story #2
    When my wife start to learn to drive, after she got her “L” license, I taught her using auto car just to get her familiar with the feel on the steering and the gas/brakes.

Then I taught her to do emergency brake, until she are comfortable to stop the car without jerking. This also can make her feel the consequence of a near crash. That (I think) can make you a more careful driver.

Next, got her to drive at highway speed (100-110km/h) to familiarize her with high speed driving.

Afterwards, at last, I taught her to operate the manual gear box, and afterwards, she continue her driving lesson with the official driving school.

I think I had made her a more alert driver.

• oldman on Nov 03, 2010 at 8:29 pm

story #2….it’s illegal… no one shud teach anybody driving except the certified instructors…

Hehe.

• fazron80 on Nov 03, 2010 at 9:53 am

you” be more alert during long drives when driving manually instead of using auto.

• maybe out of topic.. government also should introduce car license according to the size of the car..or JPJ should be realistic..

during test, use kancil.. once get license drive Alphard, grad starex..at the end.. dunno how to park the car.. take double space to park the car…

• 1Malaysia2020 on Nov 03, 2010 at 10:48 am

No problemo. I can drive both. Perhaps manual really is a dying breed. No one would want to shift gears manually during traffic jams these days. Fun driving? Come on Danny, how many of us 1Malaysian out there ever considered fun as part of the equations when buying cars. 4 things only; fuel consumption, space, brand and price. Btw we still have dual-clutch and steering mounted pedal shift for fun if anyone want to play. Would you say Ferrari and Lambo (or Aston) is not fun to drive?

• bobdbilder on Nov 03, 2010 at 10:51 am

I’d say to each his own. If most of people want to be slow, wafting along in a depreciating asset go ahead.

But manual will outrun, out-turn any auto or cvt or stupid ungimicky powershift.

• sagaCampro on Nov 03, 2010 at 10:51 am

i always have bad tampered when driving manual car especially in traffic jam.i surrender my manual car and changed to auto..it helps me calm in 3 hours driving period in weekdays….

• zafedz on Nov 03, 2010 at 11:09 am

How about motorbike for B2 license??Any plan to implement scooter as a test bike??Totally no gear!!!

• paparadzi on Nov 03, 2010 at 1:09 pm

In 1983 I took my first driving license, in the state of Delaware, USA. An automatic car was used for the test. We were expected to handle the road and the traffic; handling the car itself was secondary. It took me another 2 years to be able to drive a manual car. Of course the license never mentioned the type of transmission that I could drive.

Most important for a driving license holder is to be able to handle the road and the traffic properly. Whether the car has manual, CVT, DSG, AMT, auto or whatever doesn’t matter. You can run a red light in any type of transmission. You can break the law or involve in an accident in any type of transmission you like. It makes no different.

As for the car market in Malaysia, few car makers offer manual transmission, and mostly for lower end cars. As one don’t always buy a lower end car, nor people buy cars based on the transmission alone, the statistic on the demand for manual transmission is actually flawed.

• gaman on Nov 03, 2010 at 1:46 pm

Manual still tranny are fun..

• Jeyan on Nov 03, 2010 at 1:57 pm

Greetings …

Personally, Manual or Automatic Licenses are the same … as the exams are still conducted based on an old curriculum.

It would be better if the driving exams are re-vamped and incorporated with Defensive Driving techniques, Skid Control, etc. This would be a better move to bring down the number of road collisions in the country, and to make us all better Drivers :)

Finland Driving Exams are something to take note off … that’s why it’s a country that producers some of the top drivers in motor sports

• Tiadaid on Nov 03, 2010 at 8:26 pm

Yep, Finland’s driving exams are basically the training ground for Finns to become racing drivers.

But the costs, should it be implemented here, would cause more people to drive without a licence!

• mohgui on Nov 03, 2010 at 2:02 pm

i drive an auto-shift car now as it is no joke getting caught in a traffic crawl with a manual-shift. as it is… it’s just for convenience sake. however, i really miss driving a manual-shift car. the feeling of accelerating and dropping gears when negotiating turns using a manual-shift is simply awesome. even with paddle-shift, this feeling can’t be replicated.

honestly, the auto-shift nowadays is merely for convenience as i mentioned above. to really enjoy driving, manual-shift is still the best bet.

• Jaybond on Nov 03, 2010 at 2:32 pm

I hate to say this but…..I HATE AUTOMATIC CARS!!!…

• bikinpanas on Nov 03, 2010 at 2:35 pm

Let’s vote. I go for MANUALLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Learn Basic first then u can drive both transmision…

• chaerul on Nov 03, 2010 at 3:14 pm

heard that in Italy, automatic are for disabled only :)

• Apollo on Nov 03, 2010 at 4:19 pm

I wanted a stick drive. Only if my wife is not sharing the car with me. Otherwise I have to settle for a auto tranny.

• Anti Proton on Nov 03, 2010 at 4:44 pm

this seriously sucks

• Mr.Bily on Nov 03, 2010 at 4:52 pm

Manual Transmission is a stupid and old system! The best is semi-automatic sequential Transmission, which make gear shifts quick and smoother.

AT is to provide a better driving experience, especially in cities where congestion frequently causes stop-and-go traffic patterns.Manual Transmission mostly for lower end market. Do not waste our resources to amend the regulation, government have to take care the poor community.

Semi-automatic sequential Transmission is for high end and sport market.

• Notoriez on Nov 04, 2010 at 1:00 am

Nothing beats the old skool way.

AT is just for pussies :)

• Izhar on Nov 04, 2010 at 7:43 am

learn manual, buy auto car….use auto car…simple!!!

• MT is stupid? I bet you a AT user.

• you call stepping just on the accelerator and brakes ‘driving’? you call shifting between P R N D ‘driving’? you call letting the car do all the gear changing ‘driving?’

do us all a favor and leave this country immediately. we don’t need any more unskilled, not alert, annoying speed demons who tailgate; people like you. these kind of unskilled drivers are the main reason why there are near misses, sudden breaks, and accidents on the road!

• Auto transmissions are practical for city commuting purpose. To learn how to properly control a car, manual transmission is the way to go. No doubt that flappy-pedal gearbox can shift real quick and gives you the control over gear shifts but its just nothing like the good old gear stick and clutch pedal. I’m a die-hard manual transmission fan!

• squawk on Nov 03, 2010 at 10:59 pm

I wouldn’t worry about AT drivers driving MT cars because they won’t know how and are too afraid to do it!

I just worry about them accidentally accelerating instead of braking and driving off parking structures.

• extremeken2 on Nov 04, 2010 at 12:18 am

WTF.. young ppl dont drive manual? To whoever says that, #### you ,

Im 18 and nearly all my friends drive manual including me and we enjoy it,

For Auto-tards , learn to be a MAN, sissys, even my mom drives manual.

• Notoriez on Nov 04, 2010 at 12:58 am

Automatic Transmission is for the ladies. Guys who love Autotransmission only is a hmm…

I wonder why people bitch driving manual transmission in heavy traffic jam?

I drove my MT car every day without any problems. Doesnt’ feel tired also. Young kids nowadays are damn pampered.

Only real drivers uses manual. period.

• Its the end of Initial D.

• Izhar on Nov 04, 2010 at 7:41 am

better teach new drivers using manual transmission…
    after pass the test they can drive both type of transmission….
    if they only know to drive auto…what will happen in case of emergency that need them to drive manual…..
    but both have pros and cont

• learner on Nov 04, 2010 at 8:13 am

if like this, wait for another 10 years after the implementation of the auto car driving license and who ever posses the skills of driving manual car will be very rare and can start ‘manual exclusive club’ blog. by that time who know if you said you can drive manual, chick will impressed a lot like you possess space ships license ;-)

• Hameed Koyakuti on Nov 04, 2010 at 9:12 am

Manual T/M – heel and toe
    Auto T/M – left foot braking

rpm not fall below 4k if driving in city. For aggresive drving, rpm higher.

• Naiem on Nov 04, 2010 at 9:31 am

Youngsters nowadays becoming lazy and impractical. They will never know the truth of driving skills. Even sport cars like the Audi r8 offer manual transmission with same features in AT version (except the gearbox).

But i strongly agreed, license for AT is only for AT. B’coz i saw many people fail to drive in multi-level parking. especially sunway piramid, PPUM hospital and even Semua House.

However, license for AT only might affect car industry in long term.

• Hameed Koyakuti on Nov 04, 2010 at 9:34 am

If car battery flat, cannot jump start in Auto TM. Have to replace with another battery. Make sure you dont stranded in the outback.

The problem here is, most cars nowadays do not come standard with battery strength gauge, most mechanics do not check your battery voltage level on every servicing intervals.

• YesNo on Nov 04, 2010 at 10:09 am

I vote for MT … Hope for car manufacture will still release MT & AT for each model …

• Fifteen on Nov 04, 2010 at 3:12 pm

Criticising that an automatic is not a real driver’s car is akin to saying an A380 is nowhere near the technology marvel of the Wright’s brother machine.

• squawk on Nov 04, 2010 at 3:45 pm

I did some part-time work as valet in US and because I was one of only 2 persons who knew how to drive MT, the 2 of us got to drive many ‘fun’ cars around the block. :-)

• tummyhorse on Nov 04, 2010 at 8:18 pm

Dont blame KL traffic as an excuse for driving AT. To many people it is one hand and one leg free and makes chit chatting on the mobile easier while driving an AT…

• Kevin Chiang on Nov 05, 2010 at 4:07 pm

Oh My, with that I guess a lot of people will be missing out on a lot of driving pleasure…. And to those who complains bout clutching in traffic jam, well, if you’re fit, it means you have a weak leg.

• Caleb on Nov 08, 2010 at 10:57 pm

I haven’t taken my driver’s license yet (still 18 ^^), but I feel as though driving a manual car is better as it’s more involved. Being more involved equals less accidents and better awareness. I tried driving auto on my rally simulator (don’t laugh, it’s pretty real) and almost everytime I get an accident later in the stage. But with manual, I can “feel” the road and predict conditions and adjust accordingly, which is absent driving in auto…

Long live Manuals! :D

• DKsan on Dec 08, 2010 at 5:53 pm

Instead of creating new class for driving license, I think we should improve driving skills within the driving school.
    Doesn’t matter manual or auto, the driving skills is what we should concern about.
    I mean, many people always thinking that driving fast cause accident and death.
    I’m not saying it wasn’t true but it often because of reckless and clumsy driving, whether they drive auto or stick.

So as for my 2cents, we should stay put to current driving class and improve the lessons thoroughly.
    As for me, all should have a little bit skills of driving a stick so more skills can be learned.
    Thus, when they got their license, they already have lot of driving skills which can help them to be better on the road, whether they drive auto or manual.

Plus, without manual car, drifting will be very disappointing. I mean, without clutch…?
    Not so great.

• i learned how to drive stick at 7 ill pick stick over a automatic any day i get better gas mileage i can control my engine speed speed up faster or slow down faster by a fast shift with no clutch work ie floating and yes it can be down without messing anything up and no im not a hick from a farm just grew up in a town were kids drove to school to the store and had job at 13 we didnt need a card to say you can drive

• Teslafanboy on Apr 27, 2018 at 12:44 pm

Auto gear got problem meh? The future is electric car.. oh wait electric car dont need transmission box..