Mitsubishi ASX launched – 2.0L, CVT, CBU, RM139,980 – We drive it in Japan and Langkawi!

The Mitsubishi ASX is here. This is the third and final part of the new model onslaught (after the Pajero and Lancer Sportback) by Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia, which surely must be the busiest car company in the second half of 2010. The ASX, which was introduced in Japan as the RVR earlier this year, is billed as a compact crossover that aims to combine the good points of an SUV and a sedan.

At under 4.3 metres long, the ASX is noticeably smaller in footprint than the CR-V and X-Trail, but its 2,670 mm wheelbase actually betters the Honda and Nissan. The platform sitting under this 2WD crossover is adapted from bigger brother Outlander. Going with the compact and agile theme, turning radius is a class leading 5.3 metres. The suspension consists of MacPherson struts up front and multi links at the back, while the steering is an electric system.

The ASX is powered by the 4B11 2.0-litre engine as found in the Lancer. This DOHC 16-valve MIVEC unit produces 150 PS and 197 Nm of torque, which is slightly less than the C-segment sedan’s 155 PS/199 Nm, but it’s tuned to suit this application. Doing transmission duty is an INVECS-III CVT with 6-speed Sports Mode, controllable via nice and long magnesium shift paddles.

The kit list includes Active Stability Control (ASC), Hill Start Assist, dual front airbags plus a driver’s knee airbag, leather seats, cruise control, auto air con and a 2-DIN touch screen ICE system. The latter incorporates a reverse camera. Fully imported CBU from Japan, the ASX retails at RM139,980 OTR inclusive of insurance.

We’ve driven the ASX already – once in Japan and once in beautiful Langkawi – so look after the jump for our impressions and verdict!

Just a raised Lancer? That was what I expected before driving the ASX, but after two rounds of testing Mitsubishi’s compact crossover at the company’s Tokachi proving ground in Hokkaido and then closer to home in Langkawi, the ASX proved to be much more than that. Certain aspects that we don’t like about the Lancer have disappeared altogether!

Let’s start from the inside. It won’t take long to notice the more premium feel and better quality over the Lancer. Instead of making the entire dash panel out of soft plastic, Mitsubishi added a piece of slush material on the surface of the dash where your hands can reach. The front door caps are also of the same material, although the rear ones don’t get this treatment. The area where you rest your elbows are also padded and leather covered.

Leather is also found covering the seats, steering wheel and gear knob. It’s all in black, and the centre stack is in glossy black as well. There’s some silver and chrome accents to break the monotony. As usual for Mitsubishi, the area central to the driver is nicely done – the instruments are sporty and classy at the same time, the high-res full colour LCD trip computer display is cool and the three-spoke wheel feels as good as it looks. Making a repeat appearance are those long magnesium shift paddles that have a substantial action.

Mitsubishi ASX launched – 2.0L, CVT, CBU, RM139,980 – We drive it in Japan and Langkawi!The centrepiece of the dash is the Kenwood touch screen entertainment system. This 2-DIN unit also doubles up as a display for the reverse camera. All the above combine for a pleasant interior that’s streets ahead of the Lancer in quality and fit – no unsightly gaps here! A good driving position is easy to find, the steering is adjustable for reach and the driver’s seat has a big height range.

We’re no big fans of the 4B11/CVT combo in the Lancer, which tiring drone is very uninspiring. And while the ASX uses the same engine and gearbox, the workings seem to much better insulated from the cabin. It feels sprightly from the get go, and there’s less of the elastic CVT response when you floor the pedal. Besides feeling more natural in D, the gearbox’s manual mode comes in handy in fast driving where you need immediate response. Performance and acceleration is entirely adequate, and there weren’t any situation where it was found to be lacking.

I was pleasantly surprised by the performance and looked up the specs. More surprise was in store. The ASX’s low kerb weight of 1,375 kg is actually 10 kg less than the Lancer GT’s, while the comparatively lethargic feeling Honda CR-V weighs 1,540 kg. That explains it all.

The ASX’s compact footprint suggests an agile crossover, and it delivers in the drive. The well weighted steering is precise and has reasonable feel, while the other controls feel natural. Wearing 16-inch wheels with high profile 65 series rubber, the ASX rides very well over bad roads, soaking up most of what Langkawi tarmac threw at it with ease. There’s some body roll in corners, but it’s not of the off-putting variety and doesn’t distract from the business of driving.

It’s no sports car of course, but the ASX isn’t too uncomfortable under hard driving, and you won’t feel awkward pushing it too. The addition of ASC in addition to ABS and EBD is commendable, as is the driver’s knee airbag.

Boot space isn’t spectacular but decent considering there’s a full sized spare inside the car, and the load height is quite low. It would be great if the Lancer Sportback’s handy seat folding levers were included here as well. Although the ASX’s wheelbase is 50 mm longer than the CR-V’s, it’s not reflected in rear legroom, which is more apparent in the Honda, proving that bare figures don’t tell the full story. Headroom isn’t generous, but adequate, and the ASX feels more compact inside than in a CR-V or Nissan X-Trail. Feels roomier than the Peugeot 3008, though.

There’s nothing groundbreaking about the Mitsubishi ASX, but it’s a likable car that’s decent to drive. Personally, I like its compact size, but reckon that there will be as many whose idea of an SUV/crossover is of a bulkier vehicle with more presence. If that’s you, the ASX won’t be in contention, but if you’re sold, the ASX’s attractive sub RM140K price tag plus two years free maintenance package will help to seal the deal.

The ASX will be showcased at Midvalley’s Centre Court from 10-14 November. There are 13 optional interior and exterior accessories from Japan brought in by MMM for the ASX retailing at RM6,490 per package. The fully kitted car will be on show in Midvalley as well.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• tHe^CuLpRit on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:07 am

wow very very decent pricing there…. surely could tempt people from the usual X-Trail, CRV et al. But public will be vary of purchasing a Mitsu for fear of Proton acquiring the rights to assemble this model in the future. Highly unlikely to happen but tell that to the buying public!!

• DonkeyKong on Nov 02, 2010 at 2:20 am

The phobia of buying a Mitsubishi probably does not affect the more educated members of the public.

• dexter on Nov 02, 2010 at 9:21 am

tell to the people who bought the lancer at RM120k!

• eleven on Nov 02, 2010 at 9:55 am

You mean to say that all the current Lancer owners are the less educated members of the public? What has being educated to do with buying a Mitsu. In fact, the current Lancer owners made a very wise decision in the Lancer as at that price, they are purchasing a fully imported 2 lt Japanese car.

However, Mitsubishi has just ‘betrayed’ all their Lancer customers in Malaysia

• ericmaxman on Nov 02, 2010 at 10:19 am

its all business, nothing personal.why dont you say that Proton betrayed the Exora buyers as Mitsubishi is going to rebadge it? ==”

• eleven on Nov 02, 2010 at 3:26 pm

Am surprised some still don’t get it. MItsu is rebadging the Exora for sale in ANOTHER country. Whereas the Inspira and Mitsubishi are the SAME car sold side by side in the SAME country. That’s the difference. You don’t call this betrayal to the current Lancer owners. By the way, all GOOD business dealings involves a certain level of ethics. Nothing personal!

• artworkz on Nov 03, 2010 at 4:07 pm

exora owner ll feel proud if mitsubishi rebadge it ! after that alot of exora owner ll put diaomond3 logo instead of thunder cat. but sadly, i think this ll not became truth.
            ps/ exora free to mitsubishi, mitsubishi also dun wan.

• ericmaxman on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:17 pm

i think you’re one disgrunted lancer owner~ nothing personal~~

• Whats with all the disgruntle, you think being loyal to the brand can get extra value added service ka? Grow up ler, what do you get being loyal to a car brand or manufacture???

The ones making money out of you the so called loyal follower are the manufacturer themselves, do they care after you bought the car? Yeah…for 2 years free service maybe…that’s all . Do they give you anything after the warranty period….you on your own ler. Oh yes…the salesman may be remember you…after a while only ler.

Think this way ler, if the manufacturer know and care for their loyal followers, they would have compensate or reward you for your remorse of them allowing other manufacturer to rebadge their product. Do they do that…ask your self ler.

Even when the do a face lift or enhancement of their current modes, do you get anything…other than you saying…whoa that’s should be on my rides. Do you go and sell your current rides just to get the newly uplifted modes, I don’t think so (calling your self loyal followers konon!).

To them this is business and you are just a customer or buyer. Throw some gift or rewards of some sort upon purchase to make you feel appreciated and cared for buying their product , that’s all.

You buy what you like based on your preference and most of all your budget. Do you still want to be stuck with the same modes and tech when other manufacturer came up with better modes and tech for the same cash value just because you want to be loyal to a brand or manufacturer….Oh grow up!

Enough of the loyalty, you can’t bring it to the grave, but they can get you to the grave faster though…

• fantausy on Nov 02, 2010 at 2:45 am

Malaysian worry this will be another “Lancer” rebadge project….

• manU supporter on Nov 02, 2010 at 8:43 am

Haha Proton future rebadge of the failed Proton Arena !!!!!! Proton Arena Gen2 !!!!!

• adoi….. i thought i saw a persona meter cluster & a inspira front there…… hooray :-)

• taboogen on Nov 02, 2010 at 8:56 am

why have to worry…can buy good product at low price mah.. when cannot afford to by expensive car bising… now given apportunities also bising.. malaysian people tak pernah bersyukur

• mohdnasir on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:15 pm

biasalah org malaysia benda free pun c brsyukur

• PakAbu on Nov 03, 2010 at 3:56 pm

What an abuse of the term “bersyukur”.

Please don’t make it lose its religious connotation by attaching it to worldly stuff.

• SukaTgkOrg on Nov 11, 2010 at 4:43 pm

bersyukur mean to be thankful PakAbu.. u can be thankful to anyone or anything u like… if it was to be religous..it syukur Alhamdullilah.. dont confused Arabic with being Religouse.. I know some old timer who are not at ease when a blonde and sexy arab lady sings arabic love song…

• MangO on Nov 02, 2010 at 12:36 pm

Good price. Great Specs. Makes you wonder if its another deal made with the Govt before it gets localized. Its unlikely because Proton already has the Exora but they have the power to surprise.

• bystander on Nov 02, 2010 at 5:18 pm

it is not impossible, after all, proton doesn’t have any model of suv be it a mini one, it would be even more likely if their inspira gain huge success! if rebadge, proton can attack the rush market with maybe with 1.8 engine like inpira, cause this asx really too small (specially the rear) to compete with crv. never say never, simple as that!

• Neutral on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:14 am

wah nice!new model that price lot cheaper than old Grandis

• untitled on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:16 am

wow lighter than a lancer?! around 1350kg is kind of good for car this size! just wonder, why the heck lancer is so heavy =.=” wonder what’s the weight of inspira

• nabill on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:42 am

looks like a decent value to crv and xtrail which most ppl wil compare it to

another thing is , actually i wish langkawi wd be the default choice for car manufacturers to test their cars for media reviews..

wd be nice if we have a place of our own ….bcos usually its the usuall going up to genting testing…

• Very good pricing. Allow us to have more choice.

• Ichi24 on Nov 02, 2010 at 2:28 am

Proton inspira suv ~~~ @~@”

• crazyboutcrv on Nov 02, 2010 at 3:02 am

Not much variants to choose from in terms of cc.
    See the Tucson.Much better overall.dashboard,3 variants too choose,push start button
    A few drawbacks of Tucson like no knee airbag.Smaller boot.
    Something similar is the 2 rounded thingy in front of drivers seat which both have.
    No paddle shift and
    no reverse camera for Tucson.
    oh well..you can`t have everything.
    Keep it up Mitsubishi.2 Thuumbs Up !
    It just gets better and better.

• arjuna on Nov 02, 2010 at 6:51 am

yeah and no auto cruise,no cvt gearbox,no touchscreen audio unit,no full colour trip computer,no pedal shifters and a very basic interiror.who cares about sun roof we dun need it here with our climate.tucson sell on shape oni,whoever bought sorry la,i think its a wrong choice,sumore ask to wait for 6 months for dat car!wtf

• Why don’t you list down stuff that the Tucson has that the ASX does not offer?

It is not your call to tell other people that they made the wrong choice on the Tucson. You did not pay for their car.

• agreed! thats the beauty of human being..if we all have same choice/criteria/interest, we will chasing the same woman…. :)

• FLIZZARDO on Nov 02, 2010 at 3:13 am

wth with this design?

• Gajen on Nov 02, 2010 at 3:18 am

fron lancer, the rear lights is exactly from lexus IS

• toyottt on Nov 02, 2010 at 4:36 am

How come Lancer Sportback with 2.4 cheaper than this?

• Maserati on Nov 02, 2010 at 5:57 am

Ugly looking car.

But good quality interior since Cbu frm Japan.

• Hi Danny, any luck on the real world fuel consumption? and do the rear seats fold flat?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Nov 02, 2010 at 10:09 am

Just a few degrees away from being fully flat.

We don’t have the car for very long during media test drive events, and we drive quite hard. A longer test over a few days in normal conditions will be better for measuring FC.

• mitsubishi aspira on Nov 02, 2010 at 6:10 am

wow !!!…the car is such a beauty..but if u loook from the side…not that much…:D…my opinion

• looks fantastic….however, from the side, to me, it looks like a bigger savvy esp the one in red….. perhaps my eyes are just playing tricks on me…

• the next model to be rebadged as proton…..ouch for the buyers who pay premium dollar as mitsu

• fornette on Nov 02, 2010 at 8:25 am

Is the FC better than lancer since it’s lighter?

• Only a 2WD? CRV or X-Trail is AWD. Big difference here.

• rosdi on Nov 02, 2010 at 8:56 am

How is the fuel consumption? You know this car is a 2.0 and hybrid cars are cheaper than their non-hybrid counterpart (only in Malaysia)..

• _xXx_ on Nov 02, 2010 at 9:08 am

Good. A direct hit to the bloodily over-priced CKD Tukson…

• Mancini on Nov 02, 2010 at 9:16 am

ugly looking sport rim. boo

• Where is the 4WD system .. Too bad.. But is a CBU over the CKD CR-V …. It is hard to choose !!

• eisyam on Nov 02, 2010 at 11:21 am

i think proton should rebadge ASX with 4wd funtion………sell it as proton SUV with cheaper price, and target it for international market…..at least proton can add new variation in its product….no use to develop new model for small market, but proton need to add more model in its stable to ensure it can penetrate more international market…………

• E Bear on Nov 02, 2010 at 12:47 pm

U mean AWD…..

Hardly need 4WD in dry terrain.

• research on Nov 02, 2010 at 10:15 am

how the hell HONDA charges 150k for a CKD CRV????????

• ericmaxman on Nov 02, 2010 at 10:15 am

i think this was the taped up car i saw last month along the NSE~ looks big.. @_@ not Q7 sized, more Q5 sized.. :p

• Mozilla Chrome on Nov 02, 2010 at 11:11 am

This definitely will eat CRV!
    H should revise their CRV price to compete with this!

• why should they?

H has their own target buyers.

H is still H and it’s different from M.

• _xXx_ on Nov 02, 2010 at 11:41 am

Hold your horse till Protong finishes its ASX duplicate…

• everyone should be worry about the whole industry ecosystem. supplying low quality parts like @#$@#$@!. everyone in the business supplies like #@$@!#.
    mari naik lrt ramai2 bagi itu lrt jadi sardin.

• Tauke on Nov 02, 2010 at 11:52 am

frankly said the design got no different with lancer…..
    when proton rebardge this car, kindly change it to let it look something different.

• inspiration on Nov 02, 2010 at 12:01 pm

Proton 5 years rebadging strategy….

2010 proton inspira @ mitsu lancer
    2012 proton inspira hatchback @ mitsu lancer sportsback
    2014 proton inspira SUV @ mitsu asx

long live proton…..and may the people of malaysia continues to buy overpriced cars until forever

• E Bear on Nov 02, 2010 at 12:55 pm

I don’t think Proton is going into rebadging business, judging from the Perdana sales figures maybe they wanted to play it safe and focus on their key strengths.

Inspira is not exactly Lancer…………only looks similar on paper and drawing, the real thing can be quite different.

• drMpower on Nov 02, 2010 at 12:55 pm

are u out of something good to talk about? or u are just numb-minded? or… u are just…stupid?

he said OEM collaboration is not a continuous projects. and would involve only the ultra special cost cutting job. of which the market prediction wouldnt economically justify the ground up cost of building a vehicle.

i am no proton ultra, infact i drive a japan. but i dont waste my time mumbling about this and that. i decided to keep living my life

• research on Nov 02, 2010 at 5:20 pm

yeash dude…u r so rite… honda charges 150k for CKD CRV u will buy n say gov tax. but if proton sell expensive u will say proton is crazy..

then how come CBU mitsu is at 140k?

• goproton on Nov 02, 2010 at 12:01 pm

booked this car 2 weeks ago…getting it soon hehe…=)

• Ah Fook on Nov 02, 2010 at 12:12 pm

Cannot buy now.. wait for the Inspira ASX, at least RM30K cheaper.

• nolan on Nov 02, 2010 at 12:18 pm

i’ve checked it out at a showroom in Setapak…..very nice and macho looking car….
    the price is ok…..space wise a bit dissapointment….i doubt if 5 people can fit in…..
    but overall the car is very interesting……hope Proton not interested in rebadge it…..

• zafedz on Nov 02, 2010 at 12:23 pm

I think Airtrek is better than ASX…

• u never know, proton hands might get itchy and rebadge it…and it will be proton first suv…

• E Bear on Nov 02, 2010 at 12:52 pm

2wd makes more sense for most people.

Most 4WD/AWD driven in 2WD mode most of the time for better fuel consumption.

A higher vehicle with a more commanding view and presence.

Being a CBU……..it’s so much better put together. Worth it!

Just don’t expect it to out sprint an express bus with ease.

• rosdi on Nov 02, 2010 at 12:56 pm

My friend drives a Honda CRV, he says fuel consumption is bad…

• yoyoan on Nov 03, 2010 at 8:02 am

my friend’s friend drives a Kancil, he says fuel consumption is bad…

• TallPan on Nov 09, 2010 at 2:14 pm

my friend drives me mad, he says fuel consumption is bad…

• drMpower on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:01 pm

most of motorist in malaysia they want cheap cars of which i dont think they will be having any of it in the near future.

however, what if the manufacturer gives more in a car they sell and the people got more than a car in return? what i meant is, since the prices of the cars are not going to go down, why not the manufacturer equip the car with more quality and extras?

this mitsu is really worth the price. CBU summore, its got loads of stuffs that other 140k vehicles on the market (the same class of it)

i think we should go for the value nowadays, instead of cost.

• should offer 2.4 option for this “bigger” unit … maybe after 6-12 months ?
    and give the 2.0 for the sportback…

• Future Proton SUV?? But the price really looks tempting…… Nice

• RSBoys on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:38 pm

The cars really look nice. But I think better to wait for another 2 yrs ++ in case Proton decides to rebadge it again. As rakyat, we welcome this. Can really save a least RM20K….cheaper price. Sorry Mitsu….!! Thanks Proton….!!

• Lightning McQueen on Nov 02, 2010 at 1:45 pm

Paul,
    I wonder what type engine they install for Malaysia?
    Euro 2 or 3?

• Balikampung on Nov 02, 2010 at 2:09 pm

NOW we know how the PROTON SUV looks like ….

• ctawyong on Nov 02, 2010 at 2:12 pm

if proton rebadge this model will be better cause proton never have an SUV model before, why lancer as proton have so many sedan’s car???

• Ordinary Joe on Nov 02, 2010 at 2:19 pm

I have no issues with mitsu and the inspira thing or anything, but IMHO, overall the ASX is ugly..

• ProtonWanabe on Nov 02, 2010 at 2:23 pm

when is proton going to rebadge this model rm90k perhaps?

• anand on Nov 02, 2010 at 2:25 pm

Just stop talking about rebadge la….If you want to wait just do it…anyone wants to buy it just do it….I think Paultan’s website shall be changed to BASHING CLUB. We should be getting infos about the new products…not talking nonsense…

• jackson on Nov 02, 2010 at 2:33 pm

does it come with the moonroof? the extra packages on offer, do they have an option for moonroof?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Nov 02, 2010 at 2:45 pm

No. The optional parts are:

– chrome plated door mirror cover
      – front corner extension
      – front under cover
      – luggage mat
      – luggage net
      – rear bumper plate
      – rear garnish (grey or silver)
      – scuff plate
      – shift knob
      – side tray lid
      – side wind deflector
      – tailgate protector

• Just went to see the ASX… Not bad but the warranty is lousy!

• TallPan on Nov 02, 2010 at 9:00 pm

hi Jd, why do you think the warranty sucks? pls share tks

• nolan on Nov 04, 2010 at 2:51 am

I thought they give 2 years free service and 5 years warranty…..?

• ikfndr on Nov 02, 2010 at 2:52 pm

Inspira 4wd

• nolan on Nov 02, 2010 at 3:13 pm

Pleaseeeee PROTON…………….i beg you…..spare this model for me, don’t rebadge it…..

• steventan on Nov 02, 2010 at 3:28 pm

ASX similar to the Aust Stk eXchange is very popular in Sydney
    but its the Dualis/Dualis+2 which caught my eye.
    Hopefully Nissan will bring in this model since the ASX was launched in Aust.
    b4 coming to our shores.

• The front fenders are made of fibre… lighter rims,maybe that explains why it is lighter……..
    Have to test drive car first comment later…..

• just read autoworld’s review of asx before reading this. that article’s writer also tested the sportback lancer. did you get to test that too? how is the asx’s interior build quality compared to lancer sportback?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Nov 02, 2010 at 5:22 pm

Our Lancer Sportback test drive report came out back in September:

http://paultan.org/2010/09/13/mitsubishi-lancer-sportback-test-drive-report-from-japan/

As mentioned above, the ASX interior has better quality materials and fit compared to the Lancer family

• Lim Kopi on Nov 05, 2010 at 4:59 am

cheers danny,

but that still doesn’t make it a good car :)

• If possible, please add in push start-stop function and full sun roof.

• cantik!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Don’t rush guys, wait for Proton to do their job

• mata katak on Nov 02, 2010 at 7:30 pm

why everytime ppl take pic with car always do their “thumbs up”??
    Even when lousy car launched, the guy on the stage oso do “thumbs up”……

Next time, when I see ppl sell remote control toy car, maybe they give thumbs up too?

• stormrider on Nov 02, 2010 at 7:57 pm

Saw both ASX & sportback last weekend when i went to service my Lancer… design not bad …but no more Mitsu for me… Never trust Mitsu / MMC…

• bystander on Nov 02, 2010 at 8:43 pm

Danny, the seats are SEMI LEATHER, only the sides are real leather, most of it are synthetic or made to look like leather i guess, that is what the salesman told me, i examined and found that there are some difference indeed.

• boo mitsu ASX on Nov 02, 2010 at 9:45 pm

ni SUV ape ni?hahaha..
    ni Lancer pegi gym ke??

kalau Mitsubishi buat semua pon suka..tapi kalau kereta national buat macam ni..
    cuba Persona buat SUV or MyVi buat SUV…sure semua pon kutok kaw-kaw..

• Lim Kopi on Nov 02, 2010 at 9:50 pm

OMG .. is it just me or …

They just STOLE 90% of Audi Q5’s design cues …. front and back

so maybe instead of rebadging this as a Proton,

Can put 4 Rings there and pretend its a Q5 .

• Jimmy on Nov 02, 2010 at 10:43 pm

No leather seats is a shame to CRV and no telescopic steering is a shame to X-trail!
    I wish this one will have moonroof as optional accessory.

• RedLine on Nov 03, 2010 at 1:31 pm

Slightly out of topic….why is it that now people are calling it “moonroof”? Last time it was called sunroof.

• Philip J. Fry on Nov 03, 2010 at 10:39 pm

Apparently a moon roof is a type of sunroof:

http://autorepair.about.com/od/glossary/a/sun_vs_moon_roof.htm

• Prashnan on Nov 03, 2010 at 12:29 pm

Haa!…could be Passat Proton…soon….?

• M-mealin on Nov 03, 2010 at 2:06 pm

really2 compact SUV, compact with tech, material n fresh design ext n int…CRV n x-trail n rav4 must b jealous that paddle shift…love it…

• Tasha on Nov 03, 2010 at 3:04 pm

Saw this ASX car yesterday.

It a 2 wheel drive only

Both Front Mudguard make of plastic material.

Body and door panels are very SOFT and not that spacious inside either .

Not confidence over the Satey rating of this ASX,

Better go for NIssan X Trail , Peuget 3008 , Ford Escape , Hyundai Tuscon , Vhevorolet Captiva instead .

After all MItsubishi Cars does not have much second hand value either.

• RSBoys on Nov 03, 2010 at 4:55 pm

I beg to differ abt the 2nd hand value of Mitsu cars. All cars depreciate as soon as it is out from the showroom. BTW, Mitsu just came back after been missing for 25 yrs. Most important is the after sales support (easy access of spare-parts) must be good.

• Tasha,

You are spot on .

Mitsubishi cars does not have much second hand value either and after an absence of 20 years , I believe Mitsubishi had a lot to catch up to do in terms of more servicing centres opening up and spare parts availability.

Mitsubishi Motors is only Japan Number 5 .

Hopefully , this time no more hidden defects in their cars anymore as previously Mitsubishi President resign because he conceal the defects of the Mitsubishi vehicles.

• Great! Price Vs Spec = Good Buy. CRV- Outlook stil Ok but Inlook =Yak(Outdated) & Price shit some more Thailand pasang one, X-Rail- In & Out also tak bole But engine very smooth.

• NEW PROTON SUV ` LOL

• Soundheart on Nov 04, 2010 at 5:36 pm

Went for a test drive yesterday..

With 16 in Rim the car look awkward. Seems like a frog with small legs. At least 17 in would match it bulging looking body. The semi leather seat eeeekkkkkk.
    Torque was great for 2.0-litre.

Hopefully Nissan will bring in their new Nissan Juke 2011 and Kia with it 2011 Sportage. With that Mitsu will definitely increase its ASX spec. With the current look …Haiyaaaa!!!! (scratch my head)…….

• the dashboard actually look quite nice..save the climate controller..

should put digital climate instead..

• rulered on Nov 05, 2010 at 10:09 pm

Test drove it, good torque, a bit noisy at times. Interior is a bit plasticy and under par for a CBU. Smaller interior if you compare with SUVs (this is a cross SUV remember) Nifty little crossover, probably suitable for town drive and softcore kampung road. I think the pricing is just right. Good for a second car.

• zhang on Nov 06, 2010 at 4:37 pm

guys, has ASX undergone euro ncap crash test ?

• Coolken on Nov 07, 2010 at 8:01 pm

Test drove the car today in bangsar, Saw the titanium gray and fell in love. The car looks gorgeous inside out, agreed that the climate dial could have done better but interior is much better than CRV and most of H and T’s cars. The drive is okay, better than the CRV.
    Will definitely buy it!!

• harry on Nov 08, 2010 at 2:14 pm

i think proton will rebadge it soon..

• Coolken on Nov 09, 2010 at 10:13 am

Honestly, even if Proton were to rebadge it like what they did to Lancer, i would still prefer japanese CBU cars as it is more refine and workmanship is much better. Given a choice of Inspira at 95k and lancer at 120k, i would still buy Lancer just because it is Japan-made. Citroen and Peugeot will be rebadging the ASX anyway. ASX would still be a good buy, and very competitive amongst those in its class such as Peugeot 3008, Nissan Dualis and the upcoming Kia Sportage. I think the ASX is the best looking of the lot. Suitable for a young chap like me. Cheerios.

• anand on Nov 09, 2010 at 6:35 pm

me too….most of them only care about the price not the quality…i went for Lancer CBU although i knew about inspira since I don’t want to waste my money on Proton….suffered for 12 years…enough of it….

• Reeza on Nov 21, 2010 at 9:36 pm

Well said bro..

Quality never comes cheap.

• rosman on Nov 11, 2010 at 2:13 am

i’m waiting proton to rebadge the GRANDIS…..

• carlover on Nov 16, 2010 at 1:13 am

this one or peugeot 3008?

• Mitsu is a big company. They don’t only make cars. Once they even make fighter planes.

• Reeza on Nov 21, 2010 at 9:28 pm

Taking delivery of a black ASX in a few days..waiting for the reg number.

Bought this for the wifey as she wants something biggish but not too SUV-ish.This is perfect plus its FWD which is a bonus cuz we do zero offroad driving,plus it received rave reviews in Australia.I don’t see the need for a complicated AWD setup that adds weight and mechanical losses to the drivetrain if u’re not gonna do any offroad driving.

Agree though the the 16″ alloys don’t do justice to the car..the 17″s that comes with higher spec ASXs in OZ and the UK looks much much better.Otherwise the car is just perfect.

Don’t care much about what Proton will do.. to hell with them.Never liked them anyways and till they WISE UP and make PROPER cars,I’ll give them a miss even if they rebadge other cars from other maufacturers.Just remove the protectionist measures and MAYBE,just MAYBE they might pull their socks up and do a proper job.

Till then,I’ll enjoy my more expensive CBU cars.It’s my money thank you very much.

• zulib on Aug 10, 2011 at 2:05 am

just wonder about the space… what about the back seat… does it nice to fit three adults? thank you.

• Actually to rich guys out there, Proton make proper cars for ordinary people like me, 7 cars to be exact (Waja, Gen 2, Satria Neo, Savvy, Persona, New Saga and Exora). Thats is why the New Saga has sold the most this year.

• Reeza on Nov 23, 2010 at 4:46 pm

‘Ordinary’ guys should be able to buy better and safer cars IF NOT for Proton.Please do realize that..

• mmmm….. lawa, bergaya…… ada kelas…. hope to get one for FREE! :-)

• Imran on Nov 29, 2010 at 11:33 pm

the ASX is so much smaller than the CRV and Xtrail..
    i think its about Dualis/Qashqai size.. which is one class lower compared to xtrail..

for this price might as well go for the popular CRV 4WD rather than this 2WD…
    in the UAE it is priced from Dhs75k=Rm60k for base model..fully imported from japan
    i am opting the 3.8L V6 pajero at RM100k full options .. compared with Msia’s price of RM290k!!!

• Hi, went to the ASX dealer to have a closer look at the ASX. First impression….nice,compact,suitable for young execs and lady execs that like ourdoor/rugged lifestyle. The exterior is quite ‘bulky’ though but what do you expect? I do agree the tyres should be 17″ and wide…18″ with a low profile would be nice. The headlights and rear lights are “ordinary”. Once you are inside…that’s where the excitement begins. Fisrt the paddle shifter…it;s the in thing at the moment.It makes the machine look ‘mean and modern’..if you know what I mean. The cruise control is a must nowadays esp. when we are traveling on the highways. What entices me to buy the ASX is the AV system installed. It’s what all drivers want…reverse camera, bluetooth, handsfree, GPS nav, video etc. Compared to the other SUVs or Crossovers, Mitsubishi outclassed them all. But as what some of you have said…Proton might surprise us with the ‘localized’ version like what happened to the Lancer cum INSPIRA. I think those who bought the Lancer felt tricked and fooled by Proton…honestly that’s what I think.

• Ahmad Don on Dec 03, 2010 at 11:02 pm

I bought ASX last week.

What to like about this car;
    1. The size. Not too big and not too for my family of four persons. Easy to park.
    2. The design. From the front it look like Mitsu Lancer on steroid. From the side I thought it look more like BMW X1. From the back it look like CRV.
    3.Interior. Fine leather for the seat. A lot of compartment for food and drinks. The interior looks luxurious. The Keenwood audio gives good quality sound.
    4. The drive. It like driving a tall car.

What not to like about this car
    1. I thought the side mirrors is too big. It blocked part of the sides view.
    2.Too many electronic sound from the car. It beeps when seat belt is not applied. It beeps with other vehicle is near to the car. The beeping sound is quite annoying.

I just used it for one week. I am satisfied with it overall quality. I think I made a right decision on choosing this car.

• Reeza on Dec 05, 2010 at 4:54 pm

Well said..exactly my thoughts.

Best thing is that it is FWD instead of 4WD.I don’t know why some would want 4WD for something like this,a softroader lifestyle vehicle.People who buys this car is unlikely to venture offroad anyways,and 4WD will only make the car heavier and use more fuel.

Not a fan of the CVT tho,but for what it is,I think it works well.

Good buy.

• ShaolinTiger on Dec 06, 2010 at 3:58 pm

If you are talking about the front proximity sensor, you can turn it off actually there’s a button to toggle it below the steering wheel to the right.

• Hantan on Dec 13, 2010 at 12:50 pm

I have just placed an order last week. See u in 2 weeks time! :)

• Coolken on Dec 05, 2010 at 11:33 am

I booked this car already. BUt opted for the 2011 model.
    Still thinking if there’s a better option. Tested out many cars,
    and still thinks this is the best of the lot. Thank God, the next Proton
    SUV (based on Lekiu) is nothing like ASX. But i will still have
    another 2 months to decide, since the booking fee is fully
    refundable. Update us regarding the drive and all ok??

• You manage to get your 2011 model? According to salesman, the 2011 model wont be out until march! they want to clear 2010 model.

• Test drove ASX in Singapore. This model has strong ads among the other SUV entrants, to entice the Sing buyers but the timing is just wrong.The high COE has affected the sale as the government clearly want to control the passenger cars on the road. They still have the unregistered 2010 models in store.The model come with 2 variants medium and high-end and both FWD as the target market is island wide city driving. Unlike in Malaysia, the model only come with simple AV without all the LCD or rear camera. Recent sale promo include 5 year free service and warranty.I agree with some reviewers that this SUV is not for family, the backseat is not as spacious as other sedan, even sedan Lancer is more comfortable.Obviously adult passengers cannot sit at the backseat for long distance journey, say Singapore to KL, I bet after having to sit in for long-jam border checkpoint, then upon entering JB, the passengers are more than willing to continue the journey to KL by public transport as backpain is no longer tolerable especially during weekends or holiday. Nonetheless a good buy for SUV lovers.

• ShaolinTiger on Dec 06, 2010 at 3:56 pm

For those asking about fuel consumption, I just had this car for review/test for 3 full days.

I can estimate with a mix of highway/city driving it does around 550km for a full tank (around 55 litres with the fuel warning on for quite a long time) – using RON95.

This was with quite hard driving on the highway.

YMMV.

• Reeza on Dec 08, 2010 at 7:58 pm

Mitsubishi’s KLIMS ASX showcar came with optional 18″ alloys.. looks much much better than the puny 16″s that they come with as standard.

Gives it that sportier edge.

• Kenny on Dec 09, 2010 at 3:49 pm

I am thinking of getting an ASX or a Mazda 3 2.0L, what do u guys think? I just like to be unique!

• david on Dec 13, 2010 at 3:56 pm

a bit scary ,it might be next proton exora asx

• Hantan on Dec 14, 2010 at 8:37 pm

Don’t worry guys! MMM has just announced that ASX and Sportback no no for rebadge. They have just learned from “mistake”!

• Phillip Zak on Dec 18, 2010 at 10:42 pm

4B11 …..Hyundai’s Gema Engine…So same engine as the Tucson.

• Car looks good, similar thoughts when Lancer came out, but id be abit afraid. With Lancer bck in 08, Proton proved that there will likely be no re-badge, and with the price of 120K at the time, the Lancer was a dream car to own and a head-turner (until Inspira).
    prices drop, then bang – cetak rompak comes through – Inspira @ under 90K, additional 2K for a make-over kit which will turn a Proton to a full fledge ‘cosmetic-wise’ Mitsu EVO IV.

– you will not,anymore, be unique and the talk of the town –

• venice on Dec 29, 2010 at 9:57 pm

Is very funny thing i read the news as about..mention about the weight..

The ASX’s low kerb weight of 1,375 kg is actually 10 kg less than the Lancer GT’s, while the comparatively lethargic feeling Honda CR-V weighs 1,540 kg. That explains it all ( as above – but in the catalog there write 1970 kg more 400kg compare CRV)

• luckily i drive a BMW …. end of story..

• ?Mit what? on Jan 14, 2011 at 10:18 pm

both front fender not metal :S
    and.. why only offer lower spec asx?
    malaysian cant afford to buy the higher spec?

• michael on Jan 17, 2011 at 3:05 am

the best car ever…!!

• Lancer platform is bold on Jan 23, 2011 at 9:16 am

The ASX is bolder than Triton and Pajero Sport due to styling directly taken from Mitsubishi Racing Lancer rally raid car.

• Lancer platform is bold on Jan 23, 2011 at 9:24 am

Triton and Pajero Sport is too bad for me. This is bolder ASX!

• ASX IS NOT BAD CAR
    BUT IT REALLY EXPENSIVE

• Suzuki vitrara on Feb 11, 2011 at 7:25 pm

Thinking of changing from Suzuki Grand Vitara to this. What do you think?

• chris on Feb 26, 2011 at 6:40 am

Anyone can confirm whether ASX comes with fixed point for roof rack installation?

• zuLivina on Jun 27, 2011 at 10:17 am

Sunroof version only for Europe market….pls check youtube.com

• Isuzu trucks on Mar 10, 2011 at 8:39 pm

It is good to see Mitisubishi car back in japan with good and attractive looks and also awesome technology. It was very good for driver to share their experience while driving this car.

• arief on Apr 19, 2011 at 3:41 pm

i’m actually dissapointed because the ASX they’re selling in malaysia at the moment doesn’t feature the auto-stop go technology.i’m sure they still using the normal key to start the engine.no key-less entry.

• Ran 3000+ km on my ASX. FC on average abt 10.5km per litre on ron95. Drives much better on ron97, the improved acceleration is actually quite addictive. Will accelerate effortlessly to 110kmph at 2k rpm only. Throttle is very easy to handle. Very stable at high speeds. Cornering abit tricky cos of height. Only thing I didnt like abt d car is d engine is very noisy from 3k rpm upwards, and worse still it’s of d treble kind (maybe it’s time to change d exhaust!) n d back seat is abit too straight n not spacious enough. if u r driving alone most of d time, who cares? My mother-in-law said my car is ugly. Who cares either? It wd b nice to have push start engine n steering control for audio but at this price for a CBU from Japan, I cant ask for more, can I?

• Dear Paul,
    Can U make a review / comparison between the new trio – Mitsubishi ASX / Kia Sportage / Hyundai Tucson like U did to Nissan Teana / Honda Accord / Toyota Camry. They have superb damn good looking. Any plan to do a test drive? Tq

• zuLivina on Jul 04, 2011 at 1:24 pm

Good evening…………anyone here..pls share the fuel consumptionof this Mitsu Asx?…

• grizzly on Jan 31, 2012 at 7:21 pm

to date, still no proton rebadge version of this asx…

• Norzarina Noordin on Aug 20, 2012 at 10:53 pm

Hi there. Just had my ASX nearly a month ago. Yesterday my ASX was hit at the rear bumper and tear it off. Its beyond repairable i guess. Does anyone know how much a new rear bumper would cost?

• axsFollower on Sep 16, 2012 at 3:32 pm

Read and re-read the specs…no mention of the safety bar specs at sides and front…anyone with knowledge of that please?

• anyone know the fuel consumption? RM0.??/km?