Toyota issues recalls on 136,000 Passo and iQ cars

toyota passo

Well, another recall to be had, this one from Toyota again. The Japanese automaker announced that it is recalling some 136,000 units of its Passo hatchback and iQ ultra-compact cars, with close to 65,000 vehicles in Japan and about nearly 71,000 cars in Europe being affected.

The recall is over a potential problem with a sensor on the power steering that may fail if the vehicle drives over humps, making the steering feel much heavier in use, though there are no reports of any accidents due to it. The affected vehicles were manufactured between October 2008 and October 2010, and the company says that the fix is a simple one involving an update to the software.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Wil myvi be affected too?

• casey-c on Nov 05, 2010 at 10:15 pm

Everytime when I read the recall news, Malaysia marketed cars are not affected.

• Protong Owner on Nov 06, 2010 at 2:35 pm

if follow the standard, they would have recall all power-windows problem car already.

• kimi_ on Nov 06, 2010 at 2:40 pm

This is because the car in Malaysia are down spec or basic spec…..Meaning no fluid or hydrollic steering, brake sensor or watever shits.

So, dunno it is a blessing(no recall, less prob) or anger(minimum spec compare to other)?

• No hydraulic steering? What u talking about la.
          Almost all car have hydrallic power steering, same goes to Myvi

The advance/expensive car have servotronic steering, active steering, electric steering…

• yamseng on Nov 06, 2010 at 3:39 pm

no worries.. malaysia will not be affected.. out of all things in this world, malaysia only effected by the flood and occasional haze… the rest of things like volcano, typhoon, earthquake, economic downturn, car recall all not affected :p

• bolehhh on Nov 08, 2010 at 2:19 pm

also not accected here are economic downturn, jobless, abandoned projects, QC-less vehicles, white elephants….. huhu….. :-)

• perodua on Nov 06, 2010 at 9:01 am

Malaysia car always not affected from Honda, BMW, Nissan, Toyota (except minorty Prius) and others recall?

• Sean Lim on Nov 05, 2010 at 5:32 pm

Is Myvi affected?

• alldisc on Nov 07, 2010 at 7:15 pm

i dont think myvi is that advanced with sensors in the steering system. unless it is using Electirc Power Steering like Toyota Vios. EPS do need sensors.

passo maybe using EPS

• Tiadaid on Nov 07, 2010 at 9:35 pm

Passo uses EPS

http://www.just-auto.com/news/toyota-recalls-136000-cars-to-modify-eps-software_id106919.aspx

• Lancermania on Nov 05, 2010 at 5:35 pm

wonder hw many Passo hv been half cutted to here…

• tiadaid on Nov 05, 2010 at 5:40 pm

If Passo with a sensor problem is undergoing a recall, what about Myvi with warped brake disc problems? No need to be recalled?

• casey-c on Nov 05, 2010 at 10:19 pm

Myvi dics brake problem is there long time ago and I believe is small a issue to Perodua owner. Proton power windows switch problem are big issue to those who own the car or not. See how BIAS is the comment in this blog. Hai ya.. beh tahan la

• Initial R on Nov 06, 2010 at 5:19 am

I see the power window problem are much big fuss rather than disk break & alignment problem… dare to die coz of break problem rather “malu power window tak boleh bukak” when to pay the toll… Any comment by SYOH…. where SYOH ?…. not see any in here… hahahaha

• learner on Nov 06, 2010 at 7:49 am

i believe myvi/viva brake disc problems will replace wira power window problems as the main joking topic in 10 years time.

• stephen on Nov 08, 2010 at 12:46 pm

ironically I see many Myvi owner speedy along PLUS…used to be Kancil owner trying to tail gate a bimmer…nowadays I see Myvi trying to Tailgate bimmer…hope they really know what is going on in their car before speeding this way.

• tiadaid on Nov 06, 2010 at 12:29 pm

Guess P2 owners are too proud to ask for recall, since if they ask they’ll be ashamed after bashing P1 owners to kingdome come.

• Wa~~~ so big problem.. so.. When Perodua is going to recall my sister’s Myvi~?
    It’s so dangerous to her as she’s only a little girl~ how can she handle that sudden increased force?

• myvisucks on Nov 05, 2010 at 5:52 pm

stil, myvi not affected? poor toyota. always not affected in malaysia.

• Initial R on Nov 06, 2010 at 5:22 am

Hehehe… mean the downgrade issue are true… Hmmmm…. wonder why ?… Pay expensive but get downgrade… in other hand export to other asian country as Daihatsu with batter grade… Hmmmm….

• yongtj on Nov 05, 2010 at 5:58 pm

soon perodua will claim…passo recall will not affected Myvi….no problem…Malaysia products are best among the world…

• lets sing!

jenama malaysia~ produk kita~ jenama malaysia~ kebanggaan kita!

• Initial R on Nov 08, 2010 at 7:55 am

Erkkk… P2 not actually malaysia product, “Di tulis sebagai rebadge tapi dibaca sebagai keluaran malaysia”. So not proud of it…..

• is that a myvi?
    my myvi is affected too???

• C.I.F.U.T on Nov 05, 2010 at 6:08 pm

this is what will always happened when QC was totally done by computers

• casey-c on Nov 05, 2010 at 10:23 pm

What a carpy reason from Toyota, They are “So Proud of Toyota Quality” and arrogant , now trying to blame computers. Computer never lies!!! Human do. Understand!!!!

• Peterpj on Nov 05, 2010 at 6:10 pm

I guess the Myvi won’t be affected because Perodua uses a different (and much more responsible) parts supplier.

• peYno on Nov 05, 2010 at 6:52 pm

prrrfthhh typical answer…
      our supplier in Malaysia is THE BEST

prrrrtfhhhh

• wah u talk like the ceo of perodua…. for sure they wil say like tat soon to avoid the cost of recall coz anyhow in msia, no car maker will be sue if accident occur

• Malaysia safety standard may not up to other countries..like japan and europe…So it is no issue for perodua and toyota to recall our myvi..anyway, who care to complain and sue the manufacturer here? consumer awareness and right are very low in Malaysia.

• saki77 on Nov 05, 2010 at 8:43 pm

nice one…this one i can get the sarcasm….

• it’s not the item’s problem.. but mentioned is the programme.. nothing to do with supplier..

• Haha, you right mate. I wonder does producing a poor-skulled viva is considered responsible, LOL

• yamseng on Nov 06, 2010 at 3:42 pm

the supplier is protected by gomen.. hence the product is protected from defect by GOD!

• blabla on Nov 05, 2010 at 6:10 pm

tak habis2 recall. damn. ur QC has gone down the drain. kudos toyota

• strada on Nov 05, 2010 at 6:25 pm

How can a mechanical problem (steering sensor failure upon certain level of vibration) be remedied with mere software update? Is Toyota hiding a more serious problem?

Thank god the Myvis are using hydraulic steering.

• goproton on Nov 05, 2010 at 7:53 pm

actually it can be fixed….programing can fix many things beyond your imagination…

• saki77 on Nov 05, 2010 at 8:44 pm

not everybody can get this hi tech stuff…but….with with a lot of reading…then u know…correct?…corect?…. :)

• strada on Nov 05, 2010 at 9:10 pm

My imagination is backed by sound reasoning, unlike nebulous conjecture of yours. Pray tell, suppose, my hard drive quits spinning. Can a programming update cure this?

If the steering sensor is faulty upon hitting a swell/bump, I may very well be a mechanical related fault in the form of loose electrical connection, misaligned sensor, erroneous output that doesn’t correspond to the physical quantity being measured, etc. I would expect at the very least for the recall to address the sensor, and not just the software update.

• yes, seriously.. a mere software update is not enough… how can a mechanical related problem be solved using just a software update?? or is it because the bumpy, those software inside the chip panicked and start to loose its memory for a second?? lol…

• goproton on Nov 06, 2010 at 6:01 pm

do you know a normal suspension system can be tuned to be sportier mode just by programming?but it’s very hard to tune it right…

• casey-c on Nov 05, 2010 at 10:41 pm

Toyota usually said a simple fix, like what happen to the sticky accelerator.

Will next time when Toyota had a new recall on another issue, their fix is just use super glue to stick the sensor back in a more accurate position. Then do a press conference to pour some Cow Dunk (bullshit) to their die hard consumers say it is a small problem and the fix is very simple and if not fix also does not affect performance.

Only god know.

• yippie on Nov 06, 2010 at 12:15 am

now yall know how mischievous those japs are..let me sum this issue up in classic engineering problem solving technique they call PICO:-

Problem :
        Steering gets heavy when drove over bumps..

Investigation:
        It is due to sensor malfunction when theres possible vibration. When sensor is giving faulty feedbacks, ECU detects power steering failure hence shutting down its mechanism temporarily.

Corrective action:
        Modify the ECU program by putting time delays ~5 seconds should faulty feedback is detected. Therefore power steering mechanism is not affected by the temporary malfunction of sensor.

Outstanding:-
        None.

Toyota saved billions of dollars by not addressing the real rootcause of the problem but by covering it up. Its like taking a painkiller when you got a headache..ur not curing the disease, but merely covering up the symptom..and thats dangerous…

Myvi is not affected?heck..i’m not surprised…the sensor might not even installed there in the first place…

• alldisc on Nov 07, 2010 at 7:03 pm

hydraulically assisted power steering does not need sensors. espcially basic set-ups in myvi.

electric power steering like the one equipped in vios do. So, i am thinking toyota’s spec Passo is using EPS.

• Initial R on Nov 08, 2010 at 7:50 am

And P2 salesman said it same spec like Toyota & Daihatsu, but when bad thing happen directly said not affected… Downgrade issue is true… Pay the price as same as passo but get downgrade… The daylight robbery story….

• Not for Malaysia?

• rulered on Nov 05, 2010 at 6:33 pm

Does it involve MyVi?

• A Class on Nov 05, 2010 at 6:34 pm

Seperti biasa.. not effected in Malaysia

• rain rain on Nov 05, 2010 at 9:30 pm

Can’t agree more on this, bro! Biasalar…Malaysian batch is not affected!

• FAReast on Nov 05, 2010 at 6:36 pm

malaysian myvi affected or not?

• lets hope the myvis wont be affected as well

• toyoott on Nov 05, 2010 at 7:25 pm

Toyota = Recall… source from new oxford dictionary.. Lucky theres no Vios in europe n american,, if not another recall..

• myVISE on Nov 05, 2010 at 6:42 pm

wow, so many recalls this day…

is Myvi going to get the same thing too?

• myvi best on Nov 06, 2010 at 12:06 am

VW,porsche,mercedes, toyota, honda all stand far far.. MYVi is the best of the best n the best car, y nid 2 recall~

• Mori2 on Nov 05, 2010 at 6:50 pm

hope passo halfcut will go down a bit after this :P

• Paul Sotong II on Nov 05, 2010 at 6:59 pm

MyVi rebadged from Toyota Passo. built on the same platform only change the skirtings and lightings. so both will be affected and possibly the reason Paultan highlighted it.

• alldisc on Nov 07, 2010 at 7:05 pm

hydraulically assisted power steering does not need sensors. espcially basic set-ups like in myvi.

but Electric Power Steering like the one equipped in vios do use sensors. I believe toyota’s spec Passo is using EPS.

anyone can clarify whether Passo using hydraulic or EPS?

• peYno on Nov 05, 2010 at 6:59 pm

when come to good things about passo.. perodua will claim theirs also the same
    but when come to bad things about passo.. perodua will say ours no relation at all

prrrrtfhhh

• saki77 on Nov 05, 2010 at 8:48 pm

well…everybody know that perodua had tweak and refine their cars…put a better handling…..so it must be better than Toyota….right?…right?… :)

• better handling??? only proton do that la~ perodua doesnt put r&d on this. they do only the exterior and interior looking.

• put a better handling?
        is it as good as proton’s?

• Initial R on Nov 06, 2010 at 1:59 am

yea… handling like a sampan…

• learner on Nov 06, 2010 at 7:59 am

the only r&d they have is changing interior trims and exterior bumper design, while the rest is basically removing ‘unnecessary functions/accessories’ to cut costs. errr, how come handling become better than passo?

• kerimping on Nov 06, 2010 at 12:50 pm

Lol… being sarcastic eh? Well… that’s gonna cost you a lot of thumbs down

• yamseng on Nov 06, 2010 at 3:46 pm

you dont talk if you never own myvi… i ve driven merc, bmw, cayenne, etc before but i canz tell you myvi even though cheap offer the best handling compare to others!

• learner on Nov 06, 2010 at 8:28 pm

WOW, than savvy handling must better than merc, bmw, cayenne, etc since savvy handling is better than myvi.

• yuppie on Nov 06, 2010 at 8:44 pm

ya lor!.. perodua is up there among the car this fella yamseng drive u know!… unlike proton which handling only developed puny Lotus( which is only known and proven in the whole wide world for their car handling).. trust me.. Myvi is slightly better because I have driven sampan, mini bus, mountain bike,a horse.. eh wait.. i think the last one is has quite the same handling as Myvi.. can’t decide on this!

• casey-c on Nov 07, 2010 at 12:13 am

your quote

” i ve driven merc, bmw, cayenne, etc before but i canz tell you myvi even though cheap offer the best handling compare to others!”

after yamseng or before yamseng?

We need to know

• kerimping on Nov 07, 2010 at 12:19 am

compare to others? what other? kereta sorong? a car with boat-like handling and you call that better than others?

• Initial R on Nov 08, 2010 at 7:44 am

Wahhh…. Myvi handling batter than top marque ?. Wooo…. best tech on earth… The sampan handling beat lotus & F1 tuning… Hmmm… wonder what happen to Myvi when taking a sharp conner at 100km/h compare than Savvy…. Hmmmm….. Wonder…!!!!!!..

• udasalleh on Nov 05, 2010 at 7:47 pm

aik..? so civil..! where have all the big-mouthed bashers gone to this time..? cat caught their collective tongues..? :P

• goproton on Nov 05, 2010 at 7:54 pm

‘myvi owner don’t worry lo your car is safe’,said perodua…

• rickyll on Nov 05, 2010 at 8:35 pm

I think Myvi definitely has many untold problems. My daughter had a nasty experience last year. She got into her Myvi and turned the key, without even shifted to D, the car just dashed forward and hit against the retaining wall. The impact activated the driver’s airbag but the cover broke into two pieces, one of which cut her thight that required 11 stitches. I did seek help from a Perodua agent and was advised to lodge an ordinary accident report with the police and make an insurance claim instead. He told me cases like mine normally took a long time to settle and my daughter’s car would get stuck in the workshop while investigations were underway. Well, I had no choice but to heed the advice.

• casey-c on Nov 05, 2010 at 10:46 pm

Now all Perodua KAKI Listen to rickyll comment. You think Perodua is better than others??? you are wrong.

• that’s dangerous

• There’s something fishy fishy here.
      Maybe your daughther is hiding someting in her story…

When the automatic gear lever is in ‘P’, the car will not and cannot move.
      It is because it has a mechanical brake applied on the output shaft of the automatic gear. And also, the gear is not engaged into any position, so it will not move.

If she accidentally hit the gear lever, it will move to ‘R’ (but how to accidentally move it as she has to press the button to move it) and hit anything behind the car, not front.

Unless, she starts her car in ‘N’
      and accidentally hit the lever to ‘D’

Or somthing push the car forward…jeng jeng jeng….

But then, how about the parking brake? hurm….

Anyhow, the airbag should protect us from injury, not causing it.
      Sorry for her…

• totot on Nov 12, 2010 at 11:32 pm

I not sure what went wrong on your case…
      But like Fry suggest, its likely the case of “N” shift to “D” and did not pull up the parking hand brake.

I own one Myvi 1.3EZi and i did try to mistakenly start the engine while the gear is in “D” and some times in “R” by accident. It has a safety system to prevent engine from start (No crank) when the gear is in these position.

2nd things i notice is it will not open the airbag if the car did not hit at more than 30km/hr speed. My sister accident my myvi by hitting people car back side at speed slower than 30km/hr and it did not deploy the airbag even with the safety belt on.

3rd things is from the descriptions, your daughter might not follow the safety of driving an auto trans car where before start the engine, ensure foot firmly on the brake padel not the gas padel. Also for a car equiped with airbag, driver need to adjust the height of the steering and siting position so that chest not too near the steering. At least 30cm away.

The only untold stories mystery of a perodua myvi is the stupid brake system. The front disc brake tend to wrap easily and the calipers pin worn out fast. I have follow the advice of fellow myvian to upgrade it to half cut parts from Honda EG brakes and it works perfectly ever since i change it back in 2008. (Mine is 2006 batch Myvi) after 2 years warranty over.

• bryan jones on Nov 05, 2010 at 8:38 pm

how many thousand myvi on our road, sure P2 is chicken calling back all..

• blacky on Nov 05, 2010 at 8:40 pm

we have a lot more myvi than 136000 on the road….n with the bumpy road here…should hv many cases of power steering failure reported…which didnt happen i presume…power steering mostly needed for parking…if car movin….shouldnt b a big big problem..

• learner on Nov 06, 2010 at 8:06 am

hazard is hardly happen in this case because normally when going through road bump, drivers will slow down the vehicles to 20kmj only and bump normally exists at straight road only. so there is no reason for the drivers to turn the steering wheel before/on/after the bump and you are moving at very low speed.

BUT brake calipers problem is extremely dangerous as the effect will be greater at high speed. what will happen if the brake suddenly jammed while doing 90kmj? you think yourself.

• Neutral on Nov 05, 2010 at 9:18 pm

Myvi not affected lah,already asked friend from Perodua to confirm.

• wallstreet on Nov 05, 2010 at 10:01 pm

ur friend a mechanic or ceo? Anyway no need to tell here, everybody here know everything is fine here…malaysia boleh!!

• tiadaid on Nov 05, 2010 at 10:03 pm

For this problem, maybe. But there are many problems in the Myvi that warrants a recall. If Proton got slagged for recalling their cars, why isn’t P2 slagged for NOT recalling their cars despite the inherent issues, some of which could effect the safe operations of the vehicle?

• Initial R on Nov 06, 2010 at 1:58 am

As usual…Good things related about Toyota is good, when the bad thing happen.. “We are not effected with the recall due we used local vendor supplier”… Where all P2 & T supporter go aaa ?… Not hear any from them… :)

• Ash Menon on Nov 05, 2010 at 9:53 pm

Considering the state of roads here, I’m sure we would have heard some whiff of it if the Myvi was affected. I can’t tell whether I’m impressed with Toyota for being proactive nowadays, or disappointed with their lower QC standards…

• elite on Nov 05, 2010 at 10:02 pm

i think myvi and viva sales will still be as strong as ever after this even with this issue and price disadvantage…shows how bad proton is…

• peYno on Nov 06, 2010 at 6:06 am

proton oso got so many recall b4… including g2 and neo recently.. but the sales is still the same…not affected..it shows how malaysia dont care about recall issues

• peYno on Nov 06, 2010 at 6:23 am

as record.. most expensive proton car INSPIRA seems selling better than most expensive perodua cars NAUTICA… shows how bad perodua is

prrrrtfhhh

• NickL on Nov 06, 2010 at 12:39 pm

Recall issues doesn’t matter much, some people make it a too big deal. Its only bad when they have problems and don’t recall.

• BOYRACER on Nov 05, 2010 at 10:06 pm

Wow!!! Where are the proton bashers?if proton got recall, so many comments.
    If perodua/daihatsu/toyota, so little.

• Neutral on Nov 06, 2010 at 12:43 pm

Perodua not recall, meaning it is safelah. If Perodua recall,lagi ramai basher. True?

• peYno on Nov 07, 2010 at 6:13 pm

no i don’t think so… there are 100 plus comments oredi over the weekend and this just an issue about TOYOTA PASSO… if perodua issues the comment may reach 200 over/day

prrrrtfhhh

• perodua is invincible from any recall..the qc is the best among the world!

• squall_shinoda on Nov 05, 2010 at 10:19 pm

Power steering sensor? Paul Tan, do you mean the sensor for EPS system? Because what I know the Perodua MyVi uses a conventional hydraulic power steering and not EPS.

• Basically all model from Toyota undergoes recall..

OTS, U think Perodua is a better company compare to Toyota?
    ._. Perodua produce a downgrade version of toyota. with lousier suspension and a softer chasis (as in Alza)
    Of course our lovely Myvi definitely is no no better than a toyota passo. Perodua~ all the citizens are waiting for you to take your responsibility.. We trust u on QC, dont u dare to loose our trust on u?

• learner on Nov 06, 2010 at 8:14 am

as you said, P2 is CKD-ing downgraded version of T which mean they have stripped down expensive parts/functions as long as the car can move. when the related car recalled because of this parts, sure is P2 products are not affected. at least we know one thing that they have downgraded.

• Mata2 on Nov 05, 2010 at 10:57 pm

40% prius already in recall list. Myvi owners pray hard yours in the list too, so that you will drive your car later with peace of mind.

• Sambalbelacan on Nov 05, 2010 at 11:48 pm

Of course Myvi not affected lah.Malaysian batch always not affected! Because even if something wrong did happens, people will consider it as normal accident.That’s why our boleh land accidents rate so high.

• Mata2 on Nov 06, 2010 at 8:55 am

Our accident rate least to do with car reliability, mostly something to do with ‘rempit’ style of driving. Buses, lorries and cars without ABS can be driven at above 140kmh. They are stuntmen!!

• acerman on Nov 07, 2010 at 7:14 pm

That’s not fast. Have you even seen a bus goes more than 140km/h? Tailing u up and flashing lights behind you?

• casey-c on Nov 07, 2010 at 10:42 pm

The first thing we need to improve and lower the accident statistic is to have all drivers to drive with heart (berhati hati). But we can all see the road users regardless the Motorbike rider, car and commercial drivers are all very selfish. More kiasu than anybody on this earth. They all like to Speed at very high speed (airbag can;t help at those speed and ABS cannot stop in time also), “Mencelah”, potong queue, double and triple park, illegal parking at the junction… and more ….

So what is the

• Izhar on Nov 08, 2010 at 8:07 am

agreed….all the safety features just helping when emergency situation comes…
          all manufactures do their crash test at mid range speed….and they expect we drive in speed limits…example….crash test at 90km/h, and we drove at 110km/h with safe distance of 2 second, when something happens, ABS, EBD..etc can make our car drop speed below the 90km/h(below maximum test speed), so the car frame, chassis, air bag, can work efficiently.
          But what if we drive 180km/h with safe distance 0.5s???(cucuk angin)…can our car reach 90km/h in short period of time???

• Honda Power on Nov 05, 2010 at 11:56 pm

Better buy Honda.

• Kambing Gurun on Nov 06, 2010 at 12:57 am

Whatever. Just another Toyota…

• peYno on Nov 06, 2010 at 6:08 am

do you think downgraded version (perodua) is better than JDM, europe version???

• Mata2 on Nov 06, 2010 at 9:07 am

Where are those toyota fans here, you got internet connection problem ou your fingers numb? Still think toyota cars are perfect 10? Typical Msian bought car for the design. Myvi is as bad as 86’s saga, nothing special except cute design.

• Notoriez on Nov 06, 2010 at 7:50 am

Where is the bashers eik??

P2 lovers?? any comments??

Hahahahahahha

• xavier lert on Nov 06, 2010 at 8:27 am

my sister hav the first version of myvi…and after more than 5 years…the whole car feels like its gonna falls apart when running on NS hiway…. it was perfect the first 2 year… i even clock 180kmh KL skudai 2 hrs….. during its first yr. so i guess…altho passo n myvi the same car…the quality in overall is a defenit different….(i guess…)..and a better after sale service as well.. :)

• inulgelek on Nov 06, 2010 at 8:43 am

myvi is using conventional hydraulic/power steering gear instead of eps.so definately myvi not affected meh

• I bet many Myvi owners don’t even know much about cars…they bought it because others bought it too….popular maa..

• peYno on Nov 06, 2010 at 12:00 pm

most myvi buyer are ladies.. and they don’t much about car.. as long the car can start and reach destination.. it considered OK oredi for them..

• yamseng on Nov 06, 2010 at 3:53 pm

true bro… ask any fresh grad who just get driving license, most of them bought myvi

• lkf0512 on Nov 08, 2010 at 2:22 pm

What choice do we have!?
      Do you really think I love/like my MyVi?
      Don’t forget not all of us are as lucky as you are…driving an import car…if you are!

Call it sampan or whatever you like but the car never really gives me much trouble.
      Just spend some time on regular maintenance, that’s all it takes!
      I get it when I need it and I mean it.

There are good Protongs and bad MyVis out there but I am currently satisfied as I am lucky getting myself hassle free.

P/S:
      MyVi is never a sport car, neither Proton.
      So, what is with all the handling?
      Drive smart and safe!
      I saw one smart ass drove his MyVi into a lamp post and the lamp post landed onto someone’s roof whereas I drove my MyVi passing by him…laughing.

• it’s weird in the world full of recalls
    the only carmaker in malaysia doing recalls is proton

• BOYRACER on Nov 06, 2010 at 2:25 pm

I guess that Perodua may be the best car maker in the world..no recalls (yet).
      prrrrfffftt

• Honda Power on Nov 06, 2010 at 4:11 pm

Yeah, where are the Toyota fan boys? Too shy to comment now?
    Toyota’s quality is deteriorating. Between Toyota and Honda, Honda is the more premium Japanese brand. In fact, Honda is the best Japanese car brand; not Toyota. Toyota only beats Honda in sales volume; not quality.

• A.J. consumer on Nov 06, 2010 at 6:18 pm

Its time we unify to BOYCOTT all products related to Japanese, Japanese brand, Japanese designed goods and services !!!

• wallstreet on Nov 06, 2010 at 8:17 pm

You are really a clown. Just because of 1 or 2 company doing recall, you want to boycott. LIke that just ask everyone to buy european car la…even proton uses jap parts…

• sagaCampro on Nov 08, 2010 at 9:57 am

so boycott ispira, myvi, viva, alza, wira, iswara, perdana…all from japan,especially the engine…buy saga, gen-2, satria neo and persona with campro engine only….

• Koryo-ne on Nov 06, 2010 at 6:31 pm

Japanese are thick-face & arrogant towards asean communities, they never admit their wrongdoing and no offer apology. Japanese only apologies to their own kins.

Remember WW2, Japanese had torture, butcher, rape, rob asean communities.
    Did they ever try to apologies and compensate ? Never !

• yuppie on Nov 06, 2010 at 8:50 pm

.. and still you have a Vios Dugong in your garage… hehehehe…

• duda dude on Nov 06, 2010 at 9:37 pm

true!! now, malaysians still support them and underestimate our own brand!! hmmm……

• learner on Nov 07, 2010 at 8:04 am

no wonder conti car doing really good sale in china while the rest of asia still worshiping japs. it’s history matter.

• they compensated us alright. in form of MITSUBISHI LANCER since 1985.

• Orang Timur on Nov 07, 2010 at 5:37 pm

some people worship “dasar pandang ke timur” too much.
      there’s no need to look at Japan for everything, they are not that perfect anyway.

and remember, Malaysia is ‘timur’ also.
      look at (and believe in) our own capabilities once in a while!

• azrai on Nov 08, 2010 at 9:30 am

Now i know why they want to make History a must passed subject. The Japanese already compensate us in term of giving 2 ships to Malaya after the independent. but now the ships already become ‘tukun tiruan’.

• hunters on Nov 06, 2010 at 7:23 pm

Toyota RECALL….what about Passo Sette aka Alza ?

• greasemonkey on Nov 06, 2010 at 10:32 pm

Finally, this is for those who glorify p2 myvi. Those who use it b4 will know it is a full of problem…brake disc,power window switch,macam-macam bunyi.and SRS SYSTEM that ‘s popular and easily stolen.! so,guys n gals ,nothing is perfect and we can’t get best of bot
    h world.so,don’t bash others who don’t prefer the type of ride YOU like.

• learner on Nov 07, 2010 at 8:09 am

do you really know what blind basher really means? means that they will never learn the lesson from this. they just waiting PT to post something about P1 to start bombarding day and night.

• but i <3 JAV :P

• paktok on Nov 06, 2010 at 11:34 pm

P1 or P2 all cikai one so don’t buy it at all..

• izhar on Nov 07, 2010 at 7:41 am

myvi not affected….dun worry….hahaha

• Kimi Raikkonen on Nov 07, 2010 at 11:49 am

Perodua is rubbish!.. Rebagde!… Just change logo!.. No development!!!… Cibai!!!!

• Schumi on Nov 07, 2010 at 1:38 pm

Perodua is rubbish!.. Rebagde! Just change logo!.. No development!.. Cibai!

• bullet on Nov 07, 2010 at 2:20 pm

seems like p2 car are not glamour. until today, just hundred something comment. hahaha.

• peYno on Nov 07, 2010 at 5:07 pm

perodua only glamour among ladies , ah soos and college girls who just get a driving license… now is school holiday season

• bullet on Nov 07, 2010 at 7:46 pm

ur right, only among ladies. that’s why my friend call it as ladies car. pity to men who buy the car. hahaha. just joking.

• alldisc on Nov 07, 2010 at 7:13 pm

i think myvi is not affected. myvi is using hydraulic power steering, quite basic without sensors. i believe toyota passo is using EPS like the on in vios/city and the likes.

anyone can clarify whether Passo using hydraulic or EPS?

• Wisdom on Nov 07, 2010 at 11:52 pm

Rephrase from the other topic…

All these recalls are a new marketing strategies….

Why is that? Because if you study carefully, most of these recalls only involves minor issues eg; broken seals, loose screws, relays etc. which cost tiny for manufacturer.

Those kind of things / parts cost only few cents for manufacturers plus labor cost which only an extra small work for their existing mechanics. Total cost only few dollars/RM per unit.

Yes they recalls few tenths thousands of cars but breakdowns still cost only small margin compared to their cost of doing commercials/marketing which can attract only few buyers to their showroom.

By doing recalls, from let say, 30 thousands cars, maybe 50% or 15 thousand owner could turn up to their workshop, usually besides their showroom. While waiting the ‘small’ issue been rectify, the owner will be invited to sit in the lounge within the showroom, reading brochures of the new models, approach by the salesperson, given test drive of the new models, negotiating trade-in values, and could ended up with a new unit sold; an effective, live approach.

And if you notice, these recalls applies to those owner which already or almost finish their car repayment in the related countries. Thats why manufacturers in Malaysia didn’t bother to do recalls; the loan repayment is up to 9 years= almost zero trade in values. And if they recalls owner let say from 2001 models, sure everything has fall apart, ended up as a ‘complaining session’ from owners, rather than try to persuade them.

If manufacturers genuinely wants to address issues, why did’nt they, for example, replace the whole knuckle+disk&calipers for Myvi, replace the whole engine bottom part for Gen2 (due to low oilsump design), replace the whole power windows mechanism for Waja, replace the whole CVT gearbox of earlier version Honda City (due to belt slippage) and replaces all headlamps of Altis/Camry due to yellowish after few years. Yes that is an issue as the yellowish/fading can cause less illumination for night driving and involves safety.

There goes your Myvi…..

• zanggief on Nov 08, 2010 at 9:10 am

sounds reasonable…

All automotive ‘taikos’ are having this recall action or so call special service campaign like europe reps bmw, mb even volvo that good for safety; us reps gm,ford; japan reps toyota, honda, nissan; korea reps hyundai, kia

P1/P2 recall may consider ‘kacang’ only as total model involve may just equal to the ‘taikos’ monthly output. All this can fix during normal service time ( : – )

• learner on Nov 08, 2010 at 10:46 am

brake caliper/disc problem is not small problem

• silver on Nov 08, 2010 at 11:05 am

i like this comment!

• Rizal on Nov 08, 2010 at 9:09 am

Bad news for P2 fans…