Best Range Extender EV award for Proton Exora Hybrid at RAC Future Car Challenge, UK

The Proton Exora Hybrid won the “Best Range Extender EV” award at the Royal Automobile Club (RAC) Future Car Challenge event held in London this week, beating rivals such as the Chevrolet Volt. It managed to travel for about 4 hours on just 2.2 litres of petrol thanks to the majority of the energy probably being provided by the on board batteries – that’s how an extended range EV works.

More than 60 eco-friendly vehicles including 53 cars embarked on a 60 mile challenge in a bid to see which one used the lowest amount of energy possible. The 60 vehicles consisted of cars, light commercial vehicles and motorcycles powered by various different systems such as range extender systems, mild hybrids, full hybrids, and pure EVs. There are three categories of engines – EV, Hybrid (HEV), and Internal Combustion Engines limited to emissions of up to 110g/km fueled by any legal means.

Best Range Extender EV award for Proton Exora Hybrid at RAC Future Car Challenge, UK

The route took them from Madeira Drive in East Sussex up to Pall Mall in central London. The challenge’s Technical Panel is made out of 6 auto industry members – Ben Cussons, Chairman (The Royal Automobile Club Motoring Committee); Richard Parry-Jones (Industry); Steve Cropley (Autocar); John Wood (President, Institution of Mechanical Engineers); John Hilton (Flybrid Systems), Dr Ricardo Martinez-Botas (Imperial College London) and David Bizley (RAC Motoring Services).

There are a total of 12 category winners plus one overall winner per vehicle type. The overall best car entry was the Volkswagen Golf BlueMotion. Other than the Exora, Proton had also entered a fully electric Proton Saga EV. The Saga EV was driven by an engineer from Frazer-Nash, a company assisting Proton with the development of hybrid technologies.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1674]

Here’s the full list of award recipients embedded below. Seems all the class-based awards were for “Most Economic & Environment Friendly” in class, while at the bottom you’ll find the overall “Best” awards listed:

Related Post:
Is this a Proton Exora Hybrid demo vehicle?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mystvearn on Nov 08, 2010 at 4:08 pm

Congrats. Now to iron out the bugs and think of mass production. A lot of big families would want this kind of car

• MoFaz on Nov 08, 2010 at 5:13 pm

looks like range-extender hybrid is a better choice than EV :)
      and using just 2.2l for almost 100km, that’s great. but you have to remember that the fully charged battery could move the car for 60km before the extender begin to recharge the battery. which means 2.2l was used for the remaining 40km. but the figure is nonetheless impressive. bring the Exora now!!!

• ahbeng on Nov 09, 2010 at 6:38 am

if it is as u said,
        2.2L using fuel alone for 40km?

THAT IS TOTALLY IMPRESSIVE !!

bcoz Viva range is about 1L for 10km. so 4L for 40km.
        yet this is Exora!

• Faizal on Nov 09, 2010 at 4:16 pm

i drive viva n yet the fuel consuming is about 17-18km/l (long distance). and 14-16km/l (short distance). im not sure if ur viva can only reach 10km/l.

• MoFaz on Nov 09, 2010 at 6:03 pm

it’s even more impressive if you could use electric to charge the battery rather than using the extender engine. the following figures are based on previous data available on paultan regarding Lotus range extender hybrid:
          the first 60km could be from the battery alone. it takes 3 hours to fully recharge, and (assuming) the power needed is 3000watt/hour (maximum), means that 9kWh of electricity used to charge the battery. 9×22 cents = RM2, or 9×33.4 cents (if monthly consumption is more than 200kWh) = RM3.
          for RM2 or RM3, you can go 60km… equivalent to 1.6l / 60km or 1l / 37.5km.

1l / 37.5km = impressive!!!

• boyxinan on Nov 09, 2010 at 9:05 am

keep it up proton! this is what people want.. keep improve interior and external look and people will buy this for sure.. can you upgrade the proton badge? looks like thundercat logo is better than proton badge..

• perodua on Nov 08, 2010 at 6:07 pm

What is the point? Proton is the ONLY 1 of the 50 GLC that is losing money. No matter what award you get but the company is still losing money. This is today’s latest news announced by the Deputy Finance Minister today. How come? Mass production, do you think it is possible? Talk is useless…..see the market response first (result).

• autojohndoe on Nov 08, 2010 at 6:26 pm

hey… TNB lost 5bil last year… so?

• perodua on Nov 08, 2010 at 6:39 pm

Please check properly your source….tenaga is gaining about 0.9billion.

• Inspiron1525 on Nov 08, 2010 at 7:00 pm

@Mr Perodua & AutoJohnDoe,

Which tabloid or political newspaper did you read ?

At the end of June, Proton’s profit is RM84.7 million.

And TNB’s net profit at the end of May is RM2,145.4 million.

• YOU TELL US THE FIRST PARAGRAPH BUT REFUSE TO TELL USE THE SECOND PARAGRAPH… WHAT IS YOUR F&^%ING POINT!!!!

KUALA LUMPUR (Nov 8, 2010): Of the nine government-linked companies (GLCs) in Khazanah Nasional’s stable, only Proton Holdings Bhd suffered losses in 2009, that was at RM302 million, Deputy Finance Minister Datuk Donald Lim said today.

However, the national carmaker recovered later by recording a RM219 million profits in the 2010 financial year, he told Datuk Abd Rahman Bakri (BN-Sabak Bernam).

Other GLCs like Axiata Group Bhd recorded RM1,653 million profit in 2009, CIMB Group Holdings Bhd (RM2,807million), Malaysian Airline System Bhd (RM490 million) and Malaysia Airports Holdings Bhd (RM377 million).

Also chalking up profits were Pos Malaysia Bhd (RM75 million), Telekom Malaysia Bhd (RM643 million), Tenaga Nasional Bhd (RM918 million) and UEM Group Bhd (RM761 million).

Among the strategic assets owned by Khazanah which have been disposed of partially are those in Malaysia Airports Holdings Bhd (logistics), PLUS Expressways Bhd (infrastructure and construction) and Tenaga Nasional Bhd (utilities).

However, he said, Khazanah still maintained its position as main shareholder in companies which are considered its core and strategic investments.

At the same time, the government’s investment arm has also restructured and sold all its shares in RHB Bank (finance) which was not considered its core business.

To a supplementary question from Dr Tan Seng Giaw (DAP-Kepong) who asked about efforts to encourage private investments, Lim said from time to time, the government would reduce its share in major companies listed in the Bursa Malaysia in line with the liberalisation policy.

• perodua on Nov 08, 2010 at 7:47 pm

Careful of your words…….there is no reason to be rude. Pls check the proton profit and loss since it was set up. Proton already lost money for the past 18 years. What is the significance of the second paragraph?

Pls talk nicely……

• untitled on Nov 08, 2010 at 9:27 pm

so are you admitting, currently they are in profit? what’s your point for your previous argument anyway?

• kozekx on Nov 08, 2010 at 9:30 pm

You said, “Proton is the ONLY 1 of the 50 GLC that is losing money. ”

“losing” here means a current event. You are saying that P1 is STILL losing money even now. Do you understand that?

Carefull with your words. There is no reason to propagate lies. Get your facts right.

Pls talk correctly and with facts…

• Inspiron1525 on Nov 08, 2010 at 10:41 pm

@Perodua

Losing money for 18 years? Here’s what my trusty Stock Performance Guide 2004 says.

Proton’s Profit by Year:
            2001: 297 million
            2002: 1122 million
            2003: 1138 million.
            (I don’t have the data for the following years)

Yes, there are years when Proton make losses.

But I just want to show you that even 7 years ago, and Proton was making nice money. So your idea that the company was not making money for 18 years is super dumb.

• perodua2 on Nov 08, 2010 at 11:45 pm

I understand why proton still like its situation now. When a person is giving an idea for discussion and the responder is responding with words like ‘super dumb’ (inspiron), fucking and others.

Yes…proton does improved BUT will all sort of protection. I guess you all are like the very typical malaysian that doesn’t able to take the criticism from the good perspective. If anything not suit your taste….all you do is just cursing / scolding and behave like a child.

I do not want to argue about it. Pls talk what ever you like as what proton did everything is good and no flaw. You all are just want ‘face’ and doesn’t see the fact behind.

If you all think proton is so capable…..please send all your comment to the proton and government to remove all the protection so that proton can give a good fight with non-proton car maker.

No wonder we can’t accept criticism because the most of the people in this blog have similar atttitude with ours lovely politician. Muka / face is the most important rather than the true capability of a car maker.

You all talking bad about proton basher…..you all blinded proton supporter also no good either.

I’m happy because I’m neutral in the issue. Good or bad with proton is not my business. When proton losing money…..government will subsidise. When proton make money….they will talk laud laud like nobody. Who cares…..not my business.

Sad……

• skyLine4ever on Nov 09, 2010 at 10:20 am

neutral???
            dont be silly…
            better u change your name first…..

• perodua1 on Nov 08, 2010 at 7:48 pm

Careful of your words…….there is no reason to be rude. Pls check the proton profit and loss since it was set up. Proton already lost money for the past 18 years. What is the significance of the second paragraph?

Pls talk nicely……

• learner on Nov 08, 2010 at 10:18 pm

who care the past, look forward, P1 is making profits and their models and technologies is not that lagging behind. they win the award is good starting point compared to other major players in EV @ hybrid tech.

• mirror mirror on Nov 08, 2010 at 10:48 pm

I don’t know how you do your accounting, if Proton exclude the excise duty rebates they get from the government then there is a good chance that they lost money for the past 18 years, otherwise I think they have only made losses for the past few years.

• Tiadaid on Nov 09, 2010 at 9:20 pm

mirror mirror, if they don’t get the rebates (thus having to pay the same excise duty), wouldn’t their cars be priced higher?

• mivec on Nov 08, 2010 at 10:34 pm

“However, the national carmaker recovered later by recording a RM219 million profits in the 2010 financial year, he told Datuk Abd Rahman Bakri (BN-Sabak Bernam).”
          hey his my pendidikan jasmani teacher during my primary school age.

• MoFaz on Nov 08, 2010 at 7:16 pm

Exora is already mass-produced. it’s not like they have to build the car from scratch.
        to implement hybrid engine on mass-produced cars is like installing NGV on normal car. it’s interesting to know that we’ll have 2 options (or maybe 3) for Exora in the future:
        Hybrid, Turbocharged, or CPS 1.6 – i believe the CPS version will cease to exist once we have turbo engine.

• whateva on Nov 09, 2010 at 6:25 am

hate perodua… u r not neutral.
        maybe perodua so jealous to Proton’s achivements… come on. Plis ignore Proton, u just focus on your own car. rebadging and sell. full stop.
        whatever Proton did will always be wrong to you. anyway, i dont think Proton’s people disturbing u perodua…

• markovnikov on Nov 08, 2010 at 10:14 pm

to exact 1st batch of exora hybrid will be driven by all the VIPs/YBs.

currently they have 50 units

they opting to produce 200 units.

• u wan the Gov test first or u test first?

• drMpower on Nov 09, 2010 at 2:40 am

the VIPs gonna drive the EXORA?

holy cow? do they really need such big car to move about?

i mean, why not they bring out that elongated waja which is actually better to drive the VIPs?

its good for promotional as well.

but EXORA pun EXORA lah.

kudos. praise to whom deserves.

• chansellor for vip.. exora for hospital kerajaan la..klinik pergigian bergerak and etc

• balloon on Nov 09, 2010 at 11:58 am

Congratulation’s Proton but i do have a question to ask

how many participants are using the Range Extender and who are them?

no point winning if there is only 1 participant with the Range Extender right !

Please give some comment thanks !

• learner on Nov 10, 2010 at 6:51 am

i believe, there will be no such category if no competitions. no matter how many competitors in that categories, P1 grasps that opportunity.

• Congrat Proton….

• yamseng on Nov 08, 2010 at 4:11 pm

if RAC dont said it on their website or their facebook… then it could be a lie.

impossible, again impossible for proton to win such thing. even if they won it, it could be because of the bomohs or something.

• samyeng on Nov 08, 2010 at 4:26 pm

in 2012 some people still have pessimistic, anhilitic and colonial mentality…………….sigh

• Salamander on Nov 08, 2010 at 4:32 pm

Obvious Troll is Obvious. Please GTFO, we dont appreciate this type of comment here.

• do u actually believe in bomoh in these days?

dood, you’re funny!

• 4agze on Nov 08, 2010 at 4:40 pm

the idiot-est thing i read on internet today is your quote

• scgtimk1 on Nov 08, 2010 at 4:42 pm

Yeah, everything that Proton win or positive review must been bribe or ‘bomoh’ed

Go Perodua Go…. I love Perodua so much……

if Perodua enter this sure take the Top Awards and win every category….

*rant*

• Proton Satria Neo on Nov 08, 2010 at 9:02 pm

Ya right, Peordua won’t able to enter because it’s a rebadge car. all of the produa car is a rebadge car.

• and also Perodua is now STOP exporting cars to UK… hahaha… u know why? Because it does not meet the EUROCAP standard as reported newspaper today lol…. So do u think perodua will get awards?

Kudos proton for putting so much effort on it even it lost money because of research and so on expenses. While perodua just rebadge of course spending is not that much as Proton did.

• Vlakin on Nov 08, 2010 at 4:50 pm

people like you that are crushing our economy.. what? proton cant win anything? is proton is so darn bad?.

they have proven that they are improving.. they just need the support of fellow Malaysian, then they can become like other automotive giant.

• exJAVANESE on Nov 08, 2010 at 4:59 pm

whoo.hoo…
      easy laid.. don’t be so sarcastic…
      Proton deserve it..
      as Malaysian..why u re not proud of it??
      weirdo…

• fasha on Nov 08, 2010 at 5:11 pm

third world mentality.

• carsut on Nov 08, 2010 at 5:13 pm

grow-up la bro.. dont talk like kindergarten kid!

• i'm a PROTON B4$h3r on Nov 08, 2010 at 5:19 pm

Your sarcasm too easy to spot la bro!

• knoxx on Nov 08, 2010 at 5:23 pm

what wrong with u.. !!!? cannot accept the fact..

• Unknown on Nov 08, 2010 at 5:31 pm

hahahaa… this comment me make me laugh my ass off the chair…
      This mean Exora has one more hidden feature that we dunno lol… exora can spell curse lol….

• What is wrong with you man?
      Something is wrong in your super twisted mind.

Menang amongst 60 competitor oso wrong and bashed..
      If Kalah oso bashed like crazy…

You go play your remote controlled car la better. Don even bother to condemn my PROTON!

This hybrid is product of PROTON from collaboration with colleges and Lotus in UK. I don care. I am getting 1!

You go away, don kacau my PROTON! I will kill you if you dare to say anything again to PROTON!

• letstorque on Nov 08, 2010 at 5:35 pm

Then what trophy in DSZ’s hand?
      Why you’re so stubborn to accept it?

• shooter on Nov 08, 2010 at 5:36 pm

ye lah.. kalo orang putih ke, kuning ke, buat n menang takpe- fair n square- tapi kalo orang sawo matang buat n menang je macam2 tak kena….. fair n square la bro

• Annoy-nimal on Nov 08, 2010 at 5:43 pm

Sorry to dissapoint you dude, you got that one wrong. I was there and saw the race. (Im not from Proton if thats what you’re thinking…) The Exora actually went at normal pace compared to other competitors who were going at much slower speeds to keep the milage down. This is a near production ready car. Thats why they won. Their direct competitor the Vauxhall Impera won the peoples vote because it was prettier but the Exora took the honours for best milage.
      Another plus is that the Exora really looked production ready and there were no exposed bateries or out-of-place devices inside the cockpit unlike many participants where you see battery sets and wires in place of the sets and in the trunk etc.
      The same goes for the Saga. Unlike the prototype versions we sometimes see on road shows, this Saga has its rear trunk completely empty without any power devices around. And quite surprisingly, Londoners tend to like the Saga and asked the Proton guys why not bring it here to the UK.

p/s you can check out the results in the RAC website. It will be updated soon.

• meane on Nov 08, 2010 at 6:39 pm

meanwhile, a comment from the jungle…

• ismazri on Nov 08, 2010 at 7:11 pm

Did you mean Proton use engineer genie to powered the EV or santau/cursed one to make other team to lose?

I’m tired up about bomoh2.

• tokmoh on Nov 08, 2010 at 9:27 pm

Bila masa la pula aku tolong Proton… (see my username hehehe)

Congrats Proton!! Here’s to hoping to more victories in the future :)

Fellow Malaysians, time to realise that there can be miracle when you believe in yourself. Hopefully, this victory will trigger more desire for Malaysians to work together as a true 1Malaysia. Let it be if the man who preaches this concept might not practice it, it matters more that we stay united and work together for a better Malaysia :)

• exora won teh best E-REV vehicle.

http://www.futurecarchallenge.com/docs/BLFCC%20-%20Results.pdf’

them pdf, check ’em.

• Outsider on Nov 09, 2010 at 11:10 pm

This make me laugh…Very funny.

• alldisc on Nov 08, 2010 at 4:12 pm

proton expects the be able to sell the exora hybrid by 2012. that is good. looking forward to it! and who knows, just timely for me to buy one!!

• u are cool man , luv u proton , proud to be Malaysian

• dinokl on Nov 08, 2010 at 4:22 pm

can’t wait to see it on our roads…good job Proton!

• exora hybrid > chevy volt

• wah.. proton exora hybrid.. why don’t test at Malaysia?

• MoFaz on Nov 08, 2010 at 7:18 pm

Malaysians won’t believe it if it was done in Malaysia. Even Exora crash tests was done in Spain.

• shooter on Nov 08, 2010 at 11:03 pm

biase la bro…mentaliti dijajah…suma bende dri luar tu elok..kite ni baik tak yah buat ape2 pun! yang nk kondem hasil kite ni org kite jugak- org yang sama yg akan rugi sbb kalo kite bleh buat bemacam2, maka bemacamlah yg tak yah diimpot, maka ramailah yg akan rugi sbab biznes down… yg aku pelik ni, kalo kite tgk balik sejarah org Jepun yg bebudak kite sanjung sgt tu, diaorg dulu supot hasil diaorg sendiri on an almost fanatical level, eventhough their products were at one time ago were considered crap by the the mat salleh standad…but look where they’re now???

they were nuked, occupied by the yanks, humiliated on the world stage…60yrs later – WOW!!!
        IMHO every single Jap realized that if they cant be counted upon to suport their own countrymen, every where, every time, then they’re NOT a Jap.

“…ask not what your country can do for you – ask what you can do for your country. ” – John F. Kennedy

itu pu kalo korang consider this is your country…

• Annoy-nimal on Nov 08, 2010 at 9:38 pm

Believe it or not, they did test it in Malaysia… a lot in fact. They wouldn’t have entered the race if it hadnt been tested.

• tikus on Nov 08, 2010 at 4:32 pm

Something wrong somewhere about the award..

• rosdi on Nov 08, 2010 at 4:37 pm

Ah sure tak elok punyalah.. sure meletup bateri soon or cannot start or batteri die within a year of course punyalah because it is Proton.

Only foreign brand is good. But if my beloved vehicle assembler rebadge some japanese brand and annouce it as national car I will sure beli one and proud of my national car, it will sure not rosak one.

• mirror mirror on Nov 08, 2010 at 4:39 pm

Well done Proton, should put more future emphasis on Hybrid and EV, forget about conventional engines as others are too far ahead already.

• philleo_d on Nov 08, 2010 at 4:45 pm

Paul,

Did you emailed either RAC or Proton to seek clarification before reporting this?

IMHO that’s the best practice for your side considering you are also a ‘news agency’ now.

Just my 0.02

• Paul Tan on Nov 08, 2010 at 5:37 pm

Yup, Contacted Proton.

• Annoy-nimal on Nov 08, 2010 at 5:44 pm

I was there mate… I can 100% confirm it to you.

• mrhalf on Nov 08, 2010 at 8:23 pm

hey philleo,, even this annoy-nimal have the proves.. even tv3 announced it.. maybe you didnt watch tv and kept reading the twisted down level news from someone blog eh?

• TeamKampong on Nov 09, 2010 at 11:01 am

u cant say philleo is 100% wrong… u know our TV news always protect our G.. n bash opposition… everything the G do The TV news say is good…. because of this it make us hard to trust the TV news..
          in order to find out if it is true we will find the source from internet …

• Tiadaid on Nov 09, 2010 at 4:18 pm

And you think the Internet is 100% accurate?

• scgtimk1 on Nov 10, 2010 at 4:06 pm

Better internet than Malaysian mainstream media

• hEY… WHY too much skeptics about proton’s achievement… Please be positive. Even the mainstream media report the same. In England and autocars.com the report are the same. Proton won for best extended class.

U cant hate Proton becoz you hate the Gov. As if like u hate your GF becoz u hate ur future mother-in-law. sound silly ryte..

U hate Gov just criticize them lo.

• we dont get to see what is written on the trophy so maybe he is just holding someone elses trophy. I believe is a hoax

• please check the link below

http://www.futurecarchallenge.com/docs/BLFCC%20-%20Results.pdf

• kozekx1 on Nov 08, 2010 at 9:41 pm

lol… sorry mate, but they have updated their website. please check it out. you are dead WRONG!

• pomen_gtr on Nov 08, 2010 at 4:59 pm

thats might be housing the new CVT tranny also i think???

• Oh at last my exora hybrid photo was published..hehe, anyway good job proton :)

• cynical on Nov 08, 2010 at 5:04 pm

Good job Proton. Now, let’s wait for the Proton bashers to start commenting.

• E Bear on Nov 08, 2010 at 5:15 pm

This is a great way forward for Malaysia.

• Its good to see something like this come out from Proton. BUT, Proton, please improve the quality of all your cars, wear and tear problems are really serious compared to other brand.

• aki_zz on Nov 08, 2010 at 5:19 pm

congratulations proton! u even use mpv and still won the award…

• littlefire on Nov 08, 2010 at 5:31 pm

Well.. The best overall is VW Gold Bluemotion.. Remind me of an article by Autocar last year that VW Polo Bluemotion even better in term of FC, maintenence & cost of owning the car compare to Honda Civic Hybrid…

• farghmee on Nov 09, 2010 at 12:41 pm

i agree..

so is VW Polo Blumotion or H Civic Hybrid a Proton?
      nope..
      so things about VW & H are just info.

stick to the topic.

• sixtythree on Nov 08, 2010 at 5:37 pm

congrats proton…cant wait for them to mass produce EMAS

p/s : just cant understand why there people with such low mentality and ignorant still want to voice out their negative thought on everything regarding Proton….sigh

• gilabangang on Nov 08, 2010 at 6:12 pm

They are born with defective mental.. need to recall!

• very true. now is recall season.
        why not recall al those defective brains as well.

• isra` on Nov 09, 2010 at 5:33 pm

yes…..

i like that statement……hahahahah

• they tend to go full retard when its about proton

• mrhalf on Nov 08, 2010 at 8:26 pm

whenever they see proton name or mark.. their brain suddenly get tangled up.. XD and then spill out gases (black gases)

• Uzair on Nov 08, 2010 at 10:26 pm

well some people are really happy to see other people crashed and fell apart. its their cup of tea.

• elite on Nov 08, 2010 at 5:54 pm

exora alone (without the foreign EV system) for sure won’t win any award, it is at best 4 star in crash test..

• Vlakin on Nov 08, 2010 at 7:18 pm

CRASH TEST HAS ANYTHING TO DO WITH HYBRID POWERED CAR!!!!
      *yes i am yelling*

• Vlakin on Nov 08, 2010 at 7:20 pm

NOTHING*
        *yelling again and misspelled* sorry

• reDalerT on Nov 26, 2010 at 12:05 pm

IS IT TO LATE TO JOIN IN THE YELL??

“exora alone (without the foreign EV system) for sure won’t win any award, it is at best 4 star in crash test..”

i ran out of facepalms……

• Nakal on Nov 08, 2010 at 7:33 pm

exora alone is not an EV lah…aisey

• korek on Nov 08, 2010 at 6:05 pm

yeaaayyy!!! i hope after the Exora hybrid on road in Malaysia… TNB will NOT increase the electricity tariff… hahaha hope so. Good move Proton!!!

• kozekx1 on Nov 08, 2010 at 9:45 pm

Let’s all install a solar panel system at our homes. Can use some of that to recharge the batteries.

• and also TNB will gain profit somemore..hahaha

• bluetravler on Nov 08, 2010 at 6:11 pm

Congrat Proton…. Hope it will now keep up the good work. I really want to see lots of EV/Hybrids on malaysia road soon.

• Malaysia Bulleh! on Nov 08, 2010 at 6:12 pm

Please sell it at a reasonable price for Malaysian.

Malaysian been foolish in buying overpriced car for many years.

• Orang Timur on Nov 08, 2010 at 6:13 pm

range extender – the best transition from conventional fuel to EV?

• Annoy-nimal on Nov 08, 2010 at 9:39 pm

Agree…

• drMpower on Nov 09, 2010 at 2:43 am

i thought there must a switch designed by one fella who went on patent it and making money of it while he shaking his legs. forgot la what his name.

so this range extender doesnt need such device?

• Kancil_Redbull on Nov 09, 2010 at 7:13 am

“..making money of it while shaking his legs.”

I gave your comment +1 for funny direct translation of ‘sambil goyang kaki’ lol!

• farghmee on Nov 09, 2010 at 5:22 pm

damn..i dun understand the direct trans. after reading it twice :P
          now i get it.

• Sard80 on Nov 08, 2010 at 6:57 pm

cool good job proton

• trav_da_man on Nov 08, 2010 at 6:57 pm

That a very good achievement from Proton showing its potential in Extender EV field. Proton is playing cards with environmental friendly cars with EV and hybrid. Most importantly it is hope they can priced their hybrids/EV in Mysia well in order to get their market.

With a good EV/Hybrid lineup looks like proton can sell it at overseas, hopefully with an attractive pricing and good economy.

• Good job Proton! And bashers, as usual… they just can’t accept that Proton is better these days.

• mkrafz on Nov 08, 2010 at 10:27 pm

you got that right!
      neither proton win or loss, not-so-so educated basher will ‘basuh’ and said there are something wrong with the competition, the award. bla-bla..
      they just can’t be satisfy.

• Faisal on Nov 08, 2010 at 7:13 pm

wah!! good job proton! i want 1!

• rigormortis on Nov 08, 2010 at 7:16 pm

congratulations proton.
    it’s a great achievement.keep up the pace and make us thrilled.
    good job.

• Neutral on Nov 08, 2010 at 7:25 pm

Good job Proton n Lotus! It is not easy task and you have provened it in international. Now please concentrate for mass production, we hope it will be much reliable at affordable price.Let it delay little bit as long as less problem Datuk Syed Zainal!

• ayamxxx on Nov 08, 2010 at 8:14 pm

Don’t worry we, Malaysian will never get this car in our country. It is built privilege by Proton for the the ‘orang putih’ / ‘mat salleh’

We just get a campro cps that really fuel hungry!

• Uzair on Nov 08, 2010 at 9:48 pm

thats because ur mind is on the default setting of “mat salleh is a superior human being” and because ur mind is still “colonial”ize. i felt pity for u.

• megat on Nov 09, 2010 at 1:12 am

I pity you too uzair.
        Who is Dany Bahar in Lotus?
        You think Bahar is malaysian? baharin? baharum?
        Use the right head! and your English is atrocious !!

• Uzair on Nov 09, 2010 at 11:27 am

dany bahar is in fact not a Malaysian. he is an ex-ferrari guy that proton hired to be the new CEO for lotus.

and encik megat, for your information, i don’t give a damn if my English is atrocious. its not my first language anyway. but i do give a damn when someone is belittling Malaysian. and YOU should feel the same too. unless if u are not a patriotic.

and what is dany bahar has to do with ayamxx given a bias comment above? he deserved to be on that spot because of his talent and excellent record (as far as i know and i am open for correction) and he is not english, he is italian. there’s a big different between those two.

and i am still pitying YOU and ayamxx.

• megatisbangang on Nov 09, 2010 at 3:04 pm

pity u megat. is carlos ghosn is japanese?

• It has been published , the results . Best E-Rev vehicle , proton exora extended range ev. way to go proton ! http://www.futurecarchallenge.com/pages/results.htm , click on results link

• Hi Mr Paul,
    I think Proton won the award in “E-REV = Extended Range Electric Vehicle” categories over 1 other competitor i.e Vauxhall.
    Proton could be runner-up also if it lost.
    I think the award of course was in different categories.
    News nowadays has a lot of misleading facts.
    http://www.futurecarchallenge.com/docs/BLFCC%20-%20Entry%20List.pdf
    anyway congratulation Proton.

• 320d Efficient Dynamics Diesel win only 4 compete 2 of them 320d
      Honda CR-Z Hybrid win with only 2 compete both r CR-Z
      Volkswagen Golf blue-e-motion Electric win(not overall win) with only 3 compete one of them is saga
      Gordon Murray Design T.25 win with only 4 compete 2 of them Corsa 1.3 CDTi
      TATA Indica Vista Electric win with only 3 compete…..so

• nazri on Nov 09, 2010 at 7:31 am

yeah our malaysian always look down at outself product

• if Honda CR-Z Hybrid lose Honda CR-Z Hybrid still win coz the other car compete is Honda CR-Z Hybrid…lol

• reDalerT on Nov 26, 2010 at 12:10 pm

hahahahh… honda win yet honda lose to itself… damn funny

*btw not bashing H .. just pointing out the funny situation =]

• I bet it will never be the production car in Malaysia. If they do I will be the first to buy

• Oh ya.. make sure Proton still give the 100,000km and 5 years warranty

• 5 years warranty with unlimited warranry… Better…

• untitled on Nov 08, 2010 at 9:36 pm

you better be prepared with your money cause of your statement “I bet it will never be the production car in Malaysia. If they do I will be the first to buy”..because this will be in production by 2012/2013

• bmw is nothing , merc is nothing , audi is nothing , honda is nothing , toyota is nothing
    proton is something, proton is the no.1!

• bmw also win, merce also win..where korean company??i thought they were far ahead from us… can’t wait to buy this exora….anyone can tell what is the maintenance hybrid car? still need change oil every 5k km?batteries how many year need change? sure cost kaw kaw… … i still newbies in auto world..

• riazu on Nov 09, 2010 at 12:32 pm

keep dreaming la……and continue the words……No 1 (from behind)

• Kekekekeke on Nov 08, 2010 at 8:52 pm

If you think many of u are so good… then open your own car factory lol.. see wat will happen… I think u can easily sold ur car up 1M unit in a year hehe… are u good enough… ????

Looks in bird eyes… everything can be pro and con… try to thinking positive…

• Proton is now starting to kickin ass woooo.

• It is also a good way to introduce Exora and the new Saga to the British public. Bring them to the UK. I once witness the Vintage cars race from London to Brighton, when I was in Brighton.

• feisal on Nov 08, 2010 at 9:25 pm

Time to give look more into Range Extender Tech. That is where Proton has a chance of a level playing field in engine tech.

• Chateau on Nov 08, 2010 at 9:32 pm

Full credit to Frazer Nash (http://www.frazer-nash.com/index.html) (not Lotus btw) who developed all this technology for Proton….A great collaboration and should the price of the MPV be right this could be a massive success in export markets for Proton…Who knows one day they may even extend into the rest of Europe from the UK :)

• MoFaz on Nov 08, 2010 at 10:10 pm

that’s typical. even the credit should be given to proton, u bashers will give it to someone else, just because u hate proton? Frazer Nash only develop battery mgmt system for the EVs, and the engine is developed by Lotus, which planted in the Exora, and the whole project is funded by Proton. so why Proton shouldn’t get the credit?

• Chateau on Nov 09, 2010 at 12:24 am

It’s not a Lotus engine….Its a Rotary engine btw that extends the range of the vehicle…Simply charges the battery.

• its still “engine” bro produce by lotus

• rotary? wow.. it feel like u drive mazda rx7,8…huhuhuhu

• whitefox on Nov 09, 2010 at 10:13 am

http://paultan.org/2009/09/08/lotus-engineering-to-showcase-1-2-liter-3-cylinder-range-extender-engine-at-frankfurt/

it is from lotus ==

• manU supporter on Nov 09, 2010 at 9:21 am

bro, lotus don’t produce engine !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! They brought engine from toyota and tunned them for their new EVORA !!!!!!!

• MoFaz on Nov 09, 2010 at 11:05 pm

which engine are u talking about? jangan la menyampuk tak bagi salam.
          we’re talking about Lotus Range Extender engine here la….

• tamsleepnine on Nov 09, 2010 at 12:22 am

frazer nash devoloped the full eletric saga.not exora.

• Noamaan on Nov 09, 2010 at 2:41 am

Hi,
        Frazer-Nash Research developed both the Saga EV and the RE-EV Exora. Not just the BMS, but the entire drive system.

N.

• Tungguu the forthcoming Prius MPV la

• austin_cipan on Nov 08, 2010 at 9:44 pm

Why Proton wins?

Because it was up against another car in the Extended Range Vehicle Category… The Vauxhall Ampera…

Total 2 cars in that category…

• toyoott on Nov 08, 2010 at 11:04 pm

thats mean.. Proton are better than Vauxhall!,, haishh, another basher..

• Honda CR-Z Hybrid win with only 2 compete both r CR-Z

• Salamander on Nov 09, 2010 at 1:59 am

Have you seen Chevy Volt? Do you even read the article? Haih.. 3rd class mentality. Go surf autoblog and search for Chevy Volt and read all the entry on how the Chevy Volt is suppose to be the savior of GM.

• low2215 on Nov 09, 2010 at 8:22 am

Well , Vauxhall Ampera is the europe versoion of chevolet volt !!

and we beats them

• farghmee on Nov 09, 2010 at 5:40 pm

a car vs an mpv..
      yet the mpv won?

funny right?
      think again.

that mean the Lotus RE & the systems is very good.

btw..where can i find the pics during the competition?

• Paul, the result is already updated. You can edit your article now. Anyway, any spyshot or news on the Gvment hybrid car under development?

• nolan on Nov 08, 2010 at 10:52 pm

How come Proton look nicer in UK….?

• Anti Proton on Nov 08, 2010 at 10:55 pm

lol damn fake…..

• peYno on Nov 08, 2010 at 10:58 pm

all this while, i tots butthurt gang are JDM or conti car owner. but i was wrong, they are only perodua owner and ASEAN 2nd class Japs car lover who can’t afford the REAL JDM car

prrrrtfhhh

• megat on Nov 09, 2010 at 1:03 am

This is a great beginning for Proton.
    Most of the cars in the competition are already production models ie
    VW B Effi, BMW 320d and some local UK based co’s.
    Therefore this competition is not world recognised
    Don’t rest your laurels P1 cos most manufacturers will be coming out
    their own EV/Hybrid in the near future ie BMW – efficient dynmics/ nissan Leaf etc.

• Salamander on Nov 09, 2010 at 1:53 am

They beat GM wonder boy savior Chevy Volt? This is a wow news. Now take your time Proton to mass produce this. Do a proper RND, test and make sure the system is reliable enough before marketing it.

• Salamander on Nov 09, 2010 at 2:12 am

BTW Paul where did you get the news that our Exora beat Chevy Volt? I tried to verify the news but there is no official statement from RAC.

• mivec on Nov 09, 2010 at 10:11 pm

chevy volt = Vauxhall Ampera (europe version)
      yeah car vs mpv.. still exora mpv win

• drMpower on Nov 09, 2010 at 2:45 am

so if that Range Extender get like 2.2litre for 100km travelling distance, from a big bulky exora, imagine how much little tiny thing like EMAS consumes over 100km distance?

woooooooooohhh

bring out the EMAS. i’ll pay for the basic nothing one~

• MoFaz on Nov 09, 2010 at 5:53 pm

the following figures are based on previous data available on paultan regarding Lotus range extender hybrid:
      the first 60km could be from the battery alone. it takes 3 hours to fully recharge, and (assuming) the power needed is 3000watt/hour (maximum), means that 9kWh of electricity used to charge the battery. 9×22 cents = RM2, or 9×33.4 cents (if monthly consumption is more than 200kWh) = RM3.
      for RM2 or RM3, you can go 60km… equivalent to 1.6l / 60km or 1l / 37.5km.
      impressive!!!

• drMpower on Nov 09, 2010 at 9:37 pm

how u count need 3000watt/hour?

typical kah? phew 3kW tuh….

that 3ringgit is for a month, right?

a month! kui kui kui

• MoFaz on Nov 09, 2010 at 11:52 pm

our TNB electricity (for houses) is 240volt, with common 13amp fuse as maximum. so, 240×13 = 3120watt or 3kW. i’m just assuming the maximum value as we don’t really know the amperage of Exora battery charger yet.
          no, RM3 is not for a month, it’s for 60km of travel on battery alone. for the same amount of money, maybe you could only achieve 20km on normal engines.

• haish on Nov 09, 2010 at 8:01 pm

berat emas lebih kurang Exora gak… Lotus Emas pun disebut dalam 1400 kg.

• ahbeng on Nov 09, 2010 at 6:26 am

i am proud.
    proton is very much into RND, a very good sign for MALAYSIAN.
    while perodua is totally a rebadge, good for the COMPANY’s profit.

• Kancil_Redbull on Nov 09, 2010 at 7:23 am

Congratulations Proton. Credit must be given when it is due.

A couple of feel-good news relating to Proton lately:

1) Proton Inspira (debatable)
    2) 2nd in constructor championship for APRC rally with only TWO neo 2000 cars participating!
    3) exora hybrid RE

Keep it coming Proton!

• squall_shinoda on Nov 09, 2010 at 8:06 am

Congratulations to Proton for their win in this green technology challenge. This victory should have proved us that Proton is now going at par with other larger carmakers, though Proton will only start mass-producing hybrid cars between 2011-2012.

The Campro CPS hybrid used in the Exora Hybrid should be a hit when it will be mass-produced. Though the Exora offers the best value for money ever, people like us tend to complaint that the Exora is underpowered to carry 7 aboard. In the future, when the Exora Turbo and Exora Hybrid will be launched, then both should solve the power delivery problems. If you want to race with your Exora, then choose the Exora Turbo. If you want to save the earth, then choose the hybrid.

A big kudos to Proton and DSZ for this magnificent victory…!!! :)

• farghmee on Nov 09, 2010 at 5:43 pm

hmm…exora hybrid will be using cps?

in above news, it employed the new range extender..

• yewyan on Nov 09, 2010 at 9:35 am

… u supporter juz support blindly….
    dun u even knw malaysian style??
    gd thing is outside d country… n shit crap wil stay inside …..
    wad to do…dun ever tell me dat u all din even angry when ur beloved “Proton” break at roadside more frequently than other branded car at same or even more exp price…
    if d quality of d car in d country is better than outside i gt nth to say…..bt wad happen is d opposite…
    n is tis proton?… oh comeon proton… we customer deserve gd quality car for such high price u offered to us…even frm technology u lost bt at least giv us a quality n non-problematic car…

• Tiadaid on Nov 09, 2010 at 4:21 pm

I don’t think it’s Malaysia style. A lot of countries have the same situationlah, especially Asian countries. Maybe it’s the colonialism mentality.

• awg1031 on Nov 10, 2010 at 4:21 pm

where got facts saying proton breaks more than others? statistic ka bro? or just u see on the highway? as far as i see, it’s mainly kancil or wira..both of course are outdated model..i don’t see new saga or persona..

• reDalerT on Nov 26, 2010 at 12:29 pm

haha you own either one? or just sitting in ur daddy’s/mommy’s ride? proton always break down? dude, even wira 1999 spec doesn’t break down in 2010 with regular BASIC maintenance.

• wahsl on Nov 09, 2010 at 9:50 am

” You go away, don kacau my PROTON! I will kill you if you dare to say anything again to PROTON!”

Hello! you thing who are you, are you PROTON CEO? suka suka can kill people!

What so GOOD about YOUR PROTON, after 25 years still want to become copycat Inspira???

Close Protong factory, import all Inspira from Japan and Balik Kampung taman jagung lol………….

• lazyf on Nov 09, 2010 at 10:32 am

go PROTON!!!
    go baby go!!!

• TeamKampong on Nov 09, 2010 at 10:45 am

are there any big companies in these category?

• mivec on Nov 09, 2010 at 7:52 pm

sure u can see toyota, bmw, vauxall, honda, murrey, tata, nissan all 64 participant..

• TeamKampong on Nov 10, 2010 at 10:39 am

i saw the list…. only 2 cars in this category… hahaha…. proton n vauxhall…. u all see E-EV… only 2 cars…. other is different category… y proton did go agains toyota prius category..

• Tengokje.. on Nov 09, 2010 at 11:17 am

Congrats Proton. Good effort. Hopefully can make into mass production as mentioned by Tun Dr. Mahathir.

Salam..

• izhar on Nov 09, 2010 at 11:31 am

good job….

• rexis on Nov 09, 2010 at 12:14 pm

Range extended EV, that would mean the engine is used for charging battery and powering electric motor.

What is the spec?

• this is a good effort by proton. well done.

never mind the naysayers, its some sort of mental state they have gotten themselves into and refuse to get out of. it is their right..

having said that, we do hope proton will improve and get up the curve. btw, that german ‘director of quality’ that was announced sometime back, is he still around? any changes to product quality yet? any measurable difference? we do like to hear more!

rgds

• carlove on Nov 09, 2010 at 2:10 pm

hopefully proton will introduce exora and persona R hybrid in 2012. I’m waiting for it….

• MoFaz on Nov 09, 2010 at 5:25 pm

exora hybrid by next year. emas in 2012.
      persona r in 2012/2013.. will get completely new engine and gear systems.

• Tun Dr M, wrote more about this. apparently Saga also won!!

http://chedet.co.cc/chedetblog/2010/11/proton-dalam-era-teknoloji-hij.html

• Airwind on Nov 09, 2010 at 4:49 pm

Gratz Proton :D cheaper hybrid for malaysian roads in future

• peaceaim on Nov 09, 2010 at 10:06 pm

way to go proton. huhu better than volt / ampera which took chevvy 10 years of R&D

• congrats proton n hopefully they can keep their promise to produce the car in the near future coz no point winning the award if Malaysians are unable to drive it in our own country..

• black on Dec 12, 2010 at 10:46 pm

Go… Go… Proton.
    GambaTE !

• Yea. Gambate…

• Yusnaidi Zulkuply on Sep 22, 2011 at 12:46 am

exora REEV boleh naik genting tk??

• lepanther on Nov 08, 2011 at 9:15 pm

Sapi punya susu, lembu dapat nama. Congrats to Proton.
    I doubt there is a single Malaysian engineer involved in this research. Who’s brain are we using here? Local or overseas? Proton just re-badging the research. It is typical strategy of Proton all this while. We shall see when the real car hit the road! :-)