The new Ssangyong Korando e-XDi200: the C200 Concept makes it to production!

For the longest time any time Korean SUV specialist Ssangyong appears in the news it’s been all doom and gloom. Here’s a good reason for Ssangyong to be in the news again – the Ssangyong C200 Concept penned by Italdesign Giugiaro has finally made it into production – here’s the new Ssangyong Korando.

Being a C-segment SUV, it competes with other SUVs such as the Hyundai Tucson, the Kia Sportage, the Renault Koleos and the Honda CR-V. There’s no quirkiness about the new C-segment SUV’s design language as demonstrated by some of the previous Ssangyong models but then again you’ll probably agree with me when I say that it’s also lost some of the edge that made the concept version so compelling. In a bid to be a non-offensive design the Korando has ended up looking a little last generation.

Under the hood at launch is a new e-XDi200 engine making 175 PS and a peak torque of 360Nm from 2,000-3,000rpm, consuming just 6.0 litres of diesel per 100km and putting out 157g/km of CO2. The turbodiesel engine has a variable geometry turbocharger and is said to be Euro 6 compliant. It can be either had had with either a 6-speed manual transmission or a 6-speed automatic, with both front wheel drive and all wheel drive configurations.

The all wheel drive systems runs on 100% front wheel power by default and only sends power to the rear wheels if needed, but 4WD mode can be locked if needed at speeds below 40km/h. Later, two other engines will be added to the mix – another smaller diesel engine and a petrol engine.

The new Ssangyong Korando’s unibody chassis sits on MacPherson struts at the front and a multi-link suspension at the rear. As for off-road capability – the following specs are given: a ground clearance of 180mm, an approach angle of 22.8 degrees, a departure angle of 28.2 degrees, a ramp angle of 18.5 degrees, and a wading depth of 300mm.

Look after the jump for a full gallery of the new Ssangyong Korando.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1665]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• blabla on Nov 10, 2010 at 12:26 am

looks a bit like qashqai. lol. just my 2 cents

• ko malu saje... on Nov 10, 2010 at 1:07 am

finally no freaky stuff………….

• fantausy on Nov 10, 2010 at 1:24 am

Bring this in and make the price low, a lot of contractor or side people like this kind of car with aesthetic and tall car…

• drMpower on Nov 10, 2010 at 5:22 am

i imagine this is no bigger than the vitara. or even the chinese curry or something.

however i must suggest the company to hire a public relation cum linguistic expert ASAP so that in the future there will be no more crazy model name like Korando or whatever

it sounds like ‘kerandut’ of which in malay, it may means the Scorotum.

• loveit on Nov 10, 2010 at 8:27 am

more like ‘keranda’ in Negeri Semilan accent

• carcoon on Nov 10, 2010 at 9:01 am

it’s actually scrotum, not scorotum.

btw to me it’s sound like a kelantanese pronunciation of the malay word, keranda. (coffin)
      still interested? hehe

• Andy Tan on Nov 10, 2010 at 5:52 am

My contractor father drive Kancil to work.

• theanswer on Nov 10, 2010 at 8:37 am

hahaha at first when i look at the front..i thot it was saga blm crossover..becaus ethe colour more like granite grey.

• Mancini on Nov 10, 2010 at 9:11 am

not good enough ssongyong. try harder

• Ash Menon on Nov 10, 2010 at 9:35 am

This is like looking at a girl with giant boobs and a tiny butt. Not that it’s unpleasant, something just seems off. I wonder what Korando means in Korean (or any language, really)..

Much improved, Ssangyong. Then again, when you have the Rexton and other Ssangyong models as your yardstick, a patch of cowdung would be considered a design improvement…

• Ayecaramba! on Nov 10, 2010 at 1:31 pm

Jaguar grille ALERT!

• bryan.jones on Nov 10, 2010 at 2:04 pm

cute SUV…

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Nov 10, 2010 at 2:26 pm

looks nice

considering ssangyong’s past

hope to see this in mahindra showroom soon

• Anti Proton on Nov 10, 2010 at 10:05 pm

honestly i think it is pretty nice. its better than a bmw x3. fyi. im a die hard bmw fan.

• Lim Kopi on Nov 10, 2010 at 11:27 pm

I like it … and name Sounds like Keranda :)

• thomas george on Nov 13, 2010 at 7:06 pm

Korando C200 concept SUV
    ideal for Indian market, hope Mahendra will launch soon in India with a very reasonable price tag. 10L?? would be nice.
    Thomas, Bahrain.

• EView on Apr 30, 2011 at 1:13 am

definitely better than ugly CR-V.

• gary yap on Apr 30, 2011 at 2:35 am

Saw a trailer full of it on the NSE heading south while on the way to Mcca this evening.