Nissan introduces all-new Serena MPV in Japan

serena c26 1

Nissan has launched its fourth-generation Serena ‘minivan’ in Japan, and the vehicle will begin domestic sales at the end of this month. The C26 is a full-model change, replacing the C25 which was in the market from 2003 until this year.

The vehicle features the new MR20DD engine, and the 2.0 litre direct injection block, with twin variable valve timing control, replaces the MR20DE on the outgoing Serena. Output figures for the unit, which is mated to a Xtronic CVT gearbox, are 147 hp at 5,600 rpm and 210 Nm of torque at 4,400 rpm.

serena c26 b

The eight-seater gets a larger cabin than its predecessor, including an interior length that’s 300mm longer than the C25’s. As before, you get a multitude of seating configurations, fourteen in all, and the third row seats, through the help of an innovative link mechanism, sits 175mm lower compared to the ones in the previous Serena, offering the occupants better visibility.

Novelties include an Idling Stop system, which adopts an ECO motor that restarts the engine and also serves as an alternator during deceleration. Pluses offered by the belt-type engine cranking system, where the ECO motor restarts the engine by directly rotating a pulley directly connected to the crank through the belt, are a shorter start time as well as quieter operation, since there’s no starter motor.

serena c26 c

Besides offering improved aerodynamic efficiency (it’s 8% better than the older Serena), the new one has a Zone Body that’s stiffer, yet is more comfy than its predecessor.

Among the many items on the equipment list are VDC, TCS, ABS and EBD plus Brake Assist, Hill Start assist, curtain and side airbags, Isofix mount points, front seat active head restraints and auto light and rain sensors.

Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1689]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Independence on Nov 12, 2010 at 2:06 pm

this is much better from nissan .. civic style meter and sunroof … thumbs up.

• it will never happen here in malaysia cos tan chong wont give u these type of interiors….. huhu

• Nice.. Better than previous gen too boxy, this got some curves.. Alphard competitor?

• littlefire on Nov 12, 2010 at 2:23 pm

I think is more like Wish, Stream competitor.. As they have Elgrand to take care of Alphad… Anyway the Serena in Malaysia here is almost 2 generation back…

• Yea, good 2 generation behind….

• Paul Tan on Nov 12, 2010 at 10:33 pm

This kind of “tall” MPV one size smaller than the Alphard probably competes with the Toyota Noah/Toyota Voxy.

• hihihi on Nov 13, 2010 at 7:14 am

No i thk it will compete with Toyota Estima, Honda Elysio and Mitsubishi Grandis because Nissan Grand Livina builded to compete with Stream and Wish

• FAReast on Nov 12, 2010 at 2:27 pm

i think the Elgrand is the Alphard beater..

• nabill on Nov 12, 2010 at 2:10 pm

nice interior , and 210nm of torque is very beefy for a normally aspirated 2litre engine….

• rossi46 on Nov 12, 2010 at 3:23 pm

Any diesel alternative?….a navara 2.5 diesel wt huge torque and low FC will be good for this heavy ppl mover

• The design is nice . Wonder how much it will cost when it arrives Malaysia

• tikus on Nov 12, 2010 at 5:37 pm

With Tan Chong I dont think so coming in lar…We still stuck with 2 gen behind

• subhero on Nov 12, 2010 at 2:15 pm

front look like HONDA ELLYSION. correct me if wrong.

body look so huge..

but very nice METER READER.

• Kogul on Nov 12, 2010 at 2:16 pm

This look very much like the honda stepwagon. even the front grille looks very honda-ish.

• Wow.. If this big size is call “minivan”, I wonder how big is the real van?

• Paul Tan on Nov 12, 2010 at 3:24 pm

I found out when I visited the US recently. These huge E series vans for example.

http://www.publiquip.com/photo/Ford-E150-E250.jpg

• Sean Lim on Nov 12, 2010 at 4:56 pm

eg The-A-Team Van, GMC G-15

• seriusSAM on Nov 12, 2010 at 2:25 pm

they should re-call this back and re-design the front end
    beside it look like honda .. the front end seem like don’t sync with the huge back

• wonder whether TCM will bring this to malaysia, we’re still having C24…

• ETCM too slow and very proud to offer over 10 years product in our market. For them current Malaysia serena is too new since C22 vannette is still POPULAR.

• nice! but as far as i remembered, we dont even get da serena C25.. our serena stopped at C24 facelifted model. not sure if that one still in showroom or not…

• vwfan on Nov 12, 2010 at 2:55 pm

This probably means that ETC will launch the C25 soon. Its always one generation behind here.

Prove me wrong ETC.

• So when is Tan Chong bringing in ?

• screwdriver on Nov 12, 2010 at 3:20 pm

we didnt even get the last gen serena =(

• cardreamer on Nov 12, 2010 at 3:39 pm

I thought it was a bigger brother of Honda Freed!..naahh..just wait for the smart looking Pug 5008….

• rulered on Nov 12, 2010 at 3:50 pm

I find that 3rd row which folds to the side not a good way to get more space. It should fold flat on the floor.

• xvtec on Nov 12, 2010 at 4:38 pm

much better..can take on Honda Stepwgn.But both this Serena and Stepwgn are hardly here..huhuhu

• JonLing on Nov 12, 2010 at 4:54 pm

……i think maybe until C27 comes out, then ETCM will start to assemble C25 Serena, and mark it as “The All-New 2xxx Nissan Serena”…….speed up a bit lah, ETCM! Don’t treat us like all those poor countries lah…….

• nolan on Nov 12, 2010 at 4:56 pm

weird looking MPV so far……seems like they design the car in China……

• POLICY on Nov 12, 2010 at 4:58 pm

i’m still proud of my C22 serena

• ETCM will be laughing all the way to their banks because of this type of buyers. In Europe or America continent, driver seat above tires van is thing of the past. No safety. In my place a vannette c22 driver almost lost his legs because of the stupid no safety design. Asians easily fooled by the japanese.

• This thing is seriously good looking ~ another high tech looking mpv…
    gosh..why is all the car having spaceship design now ~ striking ~

• Jimmy on Nov 12, 2010 at 5:31 pm

Small, like a Wish; no telescopic steering like the Sylphy(shame), leper-panjang like our Juara, will be launched in Malaysia in 2020 — stripped down version with no moonroof and (?) left-over products from Japan??? (lower cost price so that ET makes more money???)
    Come on lah, work harder. Can’t you just please improve?
    Oh I see, the 3S centre took soooo many years to be approved by G. What happened? No Kopi O no talk kah????????
    BTW, I was impressed by a Sentra Supersaloon taxi > 15 years old and still very smooth the engine. This alone cannot get you more share in nowadays competitive car market.

• mulgara on Nov 12, 2010 at 5:32 pm

ETC may act conservatively by not introducing a model that is not likely well received in our market. Majority of those who keen in buying a MPV and can afford the price range of a Serena (e.g. entrepreneur and businessman), they probably do not mind paying slightly extra and pick the mainstream choices such as re-cond Estima, Alphard, Elgrand, Odyssey and etc. In turn Serena becomes a choice of niche market over here.

• jackie on Nov 12, 2010 at 6:25 pm

looks like a extended viva elite. cheers.

• this thang really look like elysion from far.
    SO huge this ‘minivan’

• Serena used to be a huge success during the years of 1997 to 2000, when MPV market was just about getting popularity from its developing stage here in M’sia. It is still a good unit over the years eventhough the competition is stiff. In recent years, it is overshadowed by lots of nice, cheaper and practical local marques such as Exora and Alza. Nonetheless, Grand Livina which started its footpath here 3 years back, the presence of Serena is even less visible and less significant. It’s so sad to say that it has followed its B13’s brother’s fate, i.e. becoming a town carrier (taxi).

• jigmaster on Nov 12, 2010 at 11:34 pm

any news on grand livina’s face lift?

• Well, we can all speculate on whether its niche or mainstream market, or how it’ll sell till the cows’ grandsons come home.
    Truth is ETCM still selling C24 at C26 prices. And unless they sell out their current stocks, you’ll only see the C26 in brochures or mebbe in Spore.
    When other manufacturers intro new models, existing are offered with massive discounts to shift, otherwise they be selling OLD MODELS many many years down the road… what gives?

• well….
    i think not the TC fault this time
    nissan dun not introduce any C25 outside japan
    now serena is pure JDM car !

• yesman on Nov 13, 2010 at 5:50 pm

front looks ok but the back just like VAN!

• alex tye on Nov 14, 2010 at 12:57 am

wait..wait….wait….dont know TC how to business?the TEANNA until now dont have any news? new serena from Japan,like that we still need to wait another few years in malaysia! previous serena year 2003 until now 2010…..still dont have any replacement…what the hell TC doing? feel sad to NISSAN MALAYSIA !!always slow people few step !!

• Serenalamo on Nov 14, 2010 at 2:52 am

.C26……mmm …..Nice car…… something to dream about………………..I’m still driving a C23……….sigh…..

• FUGLY!!!!

• I am seriously consider buying a new Nissan Serena this year but sadly there is no news on launching the new model in Malaysia!! Does anyone know when will the new Serena be introduced to Malaysia? Why are we 2 generation behind? What is TC doing? Is there a way to import it ourselves?

• vejai on Jun 23, 2011 at 6:06 am

I have a c25 and i think it`s a big waste of time it look`s nice but not functional imagine there no place to rest your hands on mid row ,they put head rest but to low ,on front door pocket there`s a big hole so when you put things it just falls out ,does not handle well braking is poor ,they say it`s an 8 seater it`s not it`s a 7 seater.no cigarette lighter,seats are uncomfortable.

• vejai on Jun 23, 2011 at 6:10 am

i have a c25 and i think it`s a big waste of time it look`s nice but not functional imagine I there no place to rest your hands on mid row ,they put head rest but to low ,on front door pocket there`s a big hole so when you put things it just falls out ,does not handle well braking is poor ,they say it`s an 8 seater it`s not it`s a 7 seater.no cigarette lighter,seats are uncomfortable.

• perak on Nov 15, 2011 at 8:28 pm

really? what about the service & spare parts, troublesome as well?

• maiden on Dec 10, 2011 at 1:58 am

nice looking MPV…..test drove the 3rd gen (or was it the 2nd gen), not bad….for people who prefer the sliding door type but are limited by $$ will see this as one of the options (besides the mazda 5, honda freed is too small, i believe)….

• Cliff Tan on Jun 03, 2012 at 11:40 pm

When will be available in Malaysia market ?

• Jack Philip Yong on Oct 13, 2012 at 9:27 pm

If Nissan Serena C26 is imported to Malaysia under grey import, Nissan Serena C26 will become “hot cakes” for MPV and Nissan Serena buyer in Malaysia.

• ahchai69 on Dec 26, 2012 at 5:12 pm

Malaysia needs new dealership for nissan, tan chong extreme slow ..

• Bgirl1902 on Jan 01, 2013 at 6:14 pm

When will it be launched in malaysia?? Really looking forwarf to it.

• Bgirl1902 on Jan 01, 2013 at 6:14 pm

When will it be launched in malaysia?? Really looking forward to it.

• Now still selling C24 here, how you guys get C25.
    BTW, C25 is avail in taiwan, Hk,so not JDM laa, only TCM and bolehland as usual far behind.
    Teana was selling in Spore many years before they bring in, the Sentra also old model, haizz, TCM duno their business.
    Old stock must discount & clear laaaa.

• ASEP NISSAN SOETA BANDUNG 1 on Jan 13, 2013 at 10:42 am

THE BEST MPV JUST ALL NEW NISSAN SERENA