Perodua Viva Elite Exclusive Edition – RM42,000

The Perodua Viva Elite Exclusive Edition is the latest edition to Perodua’s Viva model line-up. It adds a few new features to the existing Perodua Viva Elite model, which so happens to be the best selling Viva variant so far (41.4% of total Viva sales) since it was launched.

The new Exclusive Edition is available in a new colour – Classy Purple, in addition to two other colours – Midnight Blue and Ivory White.

Other changes include custom colored alloy wheels, new combination leather seats, and Exclusive Edition trim level badging.

The leather seats are made out of smooth leather for the main body, while the darker bits you see above are suede velour leather. The Viva Elite Exclusive Edition is priced at RM42,000 on the road.

Perodua aims to sell 600 units of the Viva Elite Exclusive Edition every month. The car was launched at Perodua’s new Puchong 3S center, which now combines the sales branch and the service center in a single location. The old service center has been moved to the site of the current sales center for better customer convenience and now includes 16 bays with 14 of them having hoists.

Look after the jump for embedded brochures as well as a detailed photo gallery including live, exterior and interior photos.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1682]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1690]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1691]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cars @ proton on Nov 13, 2010 at 3:09 pm

nothing different. Next year limited edition….

• mohdjiman on Nov 13, 2010 at 3:15 pm

yeah…agree…its still a small Viva…

• MoFaz Supporter on Nov 13, 2010 at 4:45 pm

PERODUA quality anytime BEAT PROTON (Pro-Torn)

• MoFaz on Nov 13, 2010 at 7:05 pm

eh?? no, I wouldn’t say that.

• Tongkat on Nov 13, 2010 at 8:00 pm

yea, cos you P1 cyber trooper. your boss will tear you apart if you tell the truth, lol.

• MoFaz on Nov 14, 2010 at 10:48 pm

just few thousands extra, you can buy Persona, better than this viva.
            or you can buy saga at cheaper price, which also much better than this viva.

for RM9540 worth of accessories in this viva, you still didn’t get Airbags, and ABS? the price difference between Persona H-Line compared to B-Line is RM9500 and that includes leather seats, dual airbags, ABS & EBD, autocruise, GPS device and few other tiny-miny details…

who’s taking malaysians for ride, actually?
            P2 get the gov protection and all bashers simply blame P1 for everything.

i don’t get it…
            previously proton was bashed when they produce a limited 25 units only Satria Neo Lotus Racing edition, which costs double the standard Neo price due to high performance parts installed in that special edition. and enthusiast know the price they pay is really worth it.
            this exclusive viva price is almost double the basic viva price, and i don’t see anything exclusive except for leather seat. and what’s so exclusive about it, if 600 people can buy it every month?

• alishah on Nov 14, 2010 at 11:23 pm

Haha agree with you Tongkat.

Wondering how much is the paycheck for this kind of stupid job. He will be a Salary man for the rest of his life.
            He is using a lot of different log in name if you abserve the posting time carefully.

• MoFaz on Nov 15, 2010 at 12:16 am

Tongkat & Alishah, i hope you’re not stupid and able to understand this clearly.

you may verify with Paultan regarding my log in name, ip address and email address for evey post that i made. and no, i’m not working for proton and I’ve never receive any ‘salary’ from this ‘stupid job’ (as what you’re referring to).

simply accusing someone is fitnah!

my points regarding the ‘accessories’ in the post above is one of the reasons why I’m siding with Proton all this time. they don’t have to hire me, and I’m doing this voluntarily. But of course there are times when I don’t agree with them, for example: MV Agusta and A1 & F1 ventures.

• kozekx1 on Nov 15, 2010 at 9:03 am

To Alishah, please rebut MoFaz’s arguments in a civillized and intellectual manner. Behavior like this won’t help Malaysia in competing against the rest of the world.

• only price will be different..haha

• untitled on Nov 13, 2010 at 7:23 pm

perceived quality vs. actual quality? seriously still thinks p2 quality is better?

• Wan Assad on Nov 13, 2010 at 7:26 pm

Err… Please come back with the same comment after 3 months.

• MoFaz on Nov 13, 2010 at 7:55 pm

i just don’t understand why would anyone buy this small car at RM42k when they could buy the bigger Saga at the cheaper price.

• rexis on Nov 13, 2010 at 11:12 pm

Because it is Toyota wannabe and it make people feel really good about it, hence giving a boost on the quality feel, price value, and even better handling without any tuning required.

• agree with you…
            go saga go!
            any nuts female will buy it.

• You buy 1 protong sage, repair cost equivalent to buy 10 viva. That’s why people still opt for imports and alternative brands. Mr. Mofaz, sale bulan ni jatuh ker? Desperado!

• paparadzi on Nov 14, 2010 at 3:05 pm

ABS, airbags.

• paparadzi on Nov 14, 2010 at 3:28 pm

Ooops, sorry. I thought something “exclusive” will have a better spec. Just check it out, Viva Elite EZi have dual SRS airbags, ABS with EBD & BA. But not for the Exclusive.

http://www.perodua.com.my/index.php?section=ourcars&page=vivaelite&action=specs

• Kambing Gurun on Nov 14, 2010 at 9:23 pm

Me too. Though I am a viva owner (definitely not elite one), I still couldn’t understand why people would buy viva for 40K++. For that price level I’d choose Saga over this.

• MoFaz on Nov 15, 2010 at 1:24 am

if memory serves me right… looks like SYOH is perodua salesman who previously drive waja, persona, and some other car, and now driving Grandis.

• skyLine4ever on Nov 15, 2010 at 9:35 am

lol….
          Perodua’s quality better than Proton’s??
          dont make a joke…
          all car are same…
          it depends how u take care of ur car…
          i use a 2003 satria 1.5 GLi…
          i bought it from someone in early 2007…
          my car never get any problem…
          engine, gear box all ok, never got problem…
          power window a bit slower but i dont mind…
          as long it still can go up and down…
          maintain ur car well and ur car will be in good condition…

• 4x4Fan on Nov 15, 2010 at 1:19 pm

Yeah..You the man…!All cars are still the same..the different is only “Value Added” means accessories make by the “business opportunist”..Sepa2 yg pintar sila jwb question saya ni..

Lamborghini dgn Saga ataupun Viva, apa yg sama dan apa yg bbeza dr segi kegunaannya…?

• keyhadi on Nov 13, 2010 at 8:45 pm

Sampan handling, like vios dugong is it true ?

• learner on Nov 14, 2010 at 8:06 am

no, vios is even better.

• I wonder why ppl ONLY keep on comparing Dugong’s handling with Proton’s.Is that THE only aspect that can be compared? Why don compared engine parts? Accessories?Fuel efficiency?Quality of the spare parts?Why???
          Because Proton Saga’s Window keep on spoiling after a couple of months using?Or even you buy a car is not because of the quality of the spare parts? You buy car because it is well tuned/have a very good handlling?
          Or even when you whack your car you will hear sound of “empty hollow metal ” even though it is new?(I tried both Saga,Persona,Exora and yet Dugong has the solid feel/echo!)
          But P1’s handling wont be better than sportscar at RM30++k.Dont think Lotus tuned them meaning that really good ,sure wont be better than sportscar(for those that very and ONLY particular about handling,I don know why)
          haha~funny fellow giving their shallow and ONLY opinion again.

• For those who unlike my comment I would wish them to point out specifically which statement that they unlike. I really wonder.
            Bila you ade $$ you will say sth like this, bila you tak de $$ then you will say the other way round.

• people always comparing dugong handling with proton because there are too many people who said toyota is always be a better choice compare to proton. so when we make a comparison, handling aspect would be one of the criteria that the buyer should consider. as a matter of fact, lotus handling really makes your driving more exciting.. if u don’t trust me, ask any neo owner, how fast they can take sharp corners.. 140kmj? 150kmj?160kmj? not a problem maa.. but with vios, i dont think people will dare to take a sharp corner even at highway speed..

• alexpoh85 on Nov 15, 2010 at 9:54 am

wtf keyhadi is comparing vios to viva? Like mr.yeah said, only those P1 supporters will continue comparing their P1 handling to some other brands they like to bash about (for eg, perodua n toyota, just because perodua rebadge toyota cars).

I think this is a super naive comment from keyhadi. The thing is, he only compares one aspect of the car where there are much more important things to compare.

For god sake, please grow up keyhadi.

PS: ya this so called viva exclusive edition has nothing to shout about, really disappointed with the marketing strategy of P2. Those buy it has some serious analytical problem.

• alexpoh85 on Nov 15, 2010 at 10:59 am

Look at the first pic of the post, thumbs up from the P2 ppl. Is it true? If so, gotta ask them get each of that Exclusive Edition for themselves. Doubt they will.

I just can’t stop laughing at the pic, at the P2 ppl. They’re thumbing up for a car that every knows it’s a total crap for that price. It makes them look dumb and funny. LOL!

Can’t stop laughing on the thumbs up =D

• they were giving thumbs up for the year end bonus la!! not the car !

• very true….i would have given thumbs up if additional safety features are added!

• kiddd on Nov 13, 2010 at 3:43 pm

Dont want it, can someone define Executive for this car, is it for Exec who will buy It??, Any Exec here can give a comment for this moving box??.

• you read wrongly. It’s not Executive, it’s Exclusive. There’s a difference you know…

• kiddd on Nov 13, 2010 at 4:41 pm

huhu, my false, so where is the Exclusive for this MOVING BOX???…

• oldman on Nov 13, 2010 at 8:17 pm

you have the ‘exclusive’ right to buy this piece of metal for rm42K, cannot find anywhere but mesia…

Nyum, nyum..sound good to me…haha.

• rexis on Nov 13, 2010 at 11:22 pm

Its more like it is only exclusive for those people who willing to fork out RM42k for this tiny vehicle.

• oldman on Nov 13, 2010 at 4:09 pm

it’s exclusive…not executive. Have u ever read the article before putting a comment..

• mivec on Nov 13, 2010 at 4:37 pm

not exclusive and executive.. full stop

• uh oh..exclusive..executive..ex…ex..confusinglah..too many term marketing. But believe me, someone will still buy this ‘ex..whatever’ viva. Kudos to P2 marketing team for succeeding to influence people.

• next year will be viva elite exclusive ladies edition

or

viva elite exclusive premium merdeka special edition.

i wonder if the bonnet can show all the words.

• HirumaKecil on Nov 13, 2010 at 7:03 pm

Then comes viva executive with long wheel base.. after that come viva trd.. then viva extreme, then viva hurricane, then viva type r, then viva bla..bla..bla…

• mutings on Nov 13, 2010 at 6:42 pm

next up… perodua viva elite exclusive elegant dapper special edition limited edition. it’s even more exclusive than exclusive

• untitled on Nov 13, 2010 at 7:25 pm

hyundai i10 is around that price with better ACTUAL quality and better nvh! this is a rip off from p2! screw the NAP! cause even hyundai i10 can place their car at tat price range!

• xavier lert on Nov 15, 2010 at 10:59 am

than ViVa elite Super pulak….

• RON97 on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:39 am

Another traffic jam in the country…and so as saga. cheap car create jam. would propose gov to impose higher roadtax.

• John Doe on Nov 13, 2010 at 3:11 pm

It’s another sad day in Malaysia when a car like Perodua Viva is selling for RM42,000.

• I agree. Why oh why do we need another exclusive variant, of an already exclusive variant called the Elite, of a basic entry-level car? It boggles the mind.

• DICKYBIRD on Nov 13, 2010 at 4:08 pm

we all know that is due to the national car policy that protects local carmakers to the point where they specify a barebones and still sell it at top dollar.

• MoFaz Supporter on Nov 13, 2010 at 4:46 pm

Toyota Coralla 2.4 liter is only RM 54000 in the United States of America

• mivec on Nov 13, 2010 at 5:33 pm

so work there la bro.. and then take life insurance there.. XD

• MoFaz Supporter on Nov 15, 2010 at 11:24 pm

wow I do not expect my posting become a hot debate……Whatever you guys said……I am just stating the fact LOUD and CLEAR :

Toyota Coralla 2.4 liter is only RM 54000 in the United States of America.

Yes it’s RINGGIT MALAYSIA

• Prismo on Nov 13, 2010 at 6:52 pm

And fuel price in USA ain’t cheap…

• Turbo man!!! on Nov 13, 2010 at 11:41 pm

Dude.

Typical malaysian graduates earns RM2-3k a month. Petrol cost RM1.85

Typical american graduates earns 2-3k USD a month. Petrol cost around 1USD/liter. ( take the dollar per gallon, and divide by liters per gallon )

See the world before you comment.

• saki77 on Nov 14, 2010 at 2:39 am

Malaysian earn 2-3k per month how much the income tax?…Americans earn 2-3k per month how much income tax?

• bangmo on Nov 14, 2010 at 8:39 am

and US car price is way cheaper than here. Malaysian purchasing power has not increased much over the years due to the ketuanan policy.

• Prismo on Nov 14, 2010 at 11:30 am

with your qualification, are u can earn 2-3k USD just like em?

• paparadzi on Nov 14, 2010 at 3:10 pm

Same figure for fuel and salary.

So for a year of salary (RM 36k or USD 36k) what sort of car can you buy here in Malaysia compared to to the one in USA?

• typical malaysian…
            only say about income tax in USA!

U think Malaysia tax is low ka??
            there are many of them… service tax, duty excise, import duty, whatsoever,,,

the higher heavily tax is non-national cars!
            go figure saki77!!!
            dont just compare with income tax only but the other tax in Malaysia…
            OH MALAYSIA, TAX HEAVEN!

• Turbo man!!! on Nov 14, 2010 at 11:24 pm

So how much income tax? why don u tell us?

• The Red on Nov 15, 2010 at 12:28 am

I think with salary 36k USD annually, they cannot buy car with36k USD price.
            We here can buy rm 60k with rm 36k salary annually.

• S.Roma on Nov 15, 2010 at 3:28 pm

Dear Prismo,

Don u noe the price there is according to Worlds Fuel Price?

They are using floating system, where the price keep changing every day.

I have a fren who live there.

• Madboy on Nov 13, 2010 at 9:54 pm

This VIVA is ridiculously overpriced. RM42K for a 1 litre Perodua mini car?. I really pity all those VIVA Elite owners. And now things are going to repeat again for this Exclusive Edition. If Proton can sell a 1.3 litre Sedan for just RM32K and still make profit guess how much money will Perodua make for this rebadged mini?

• Perodua just to make a profit directly to UMW.
        UMW is just suck a fatty profit from Perodua instead of Toyota.
        haha

can someone tell me what is the meaning of GASA on the pricelist?

• sagaCampro on Nov 14, 2010 at 8:53 pm

same like proton inspira…no different.money goes to mitsubishi..

• peYno on Nov 15, 2010 at 6:26 am

that why proton has rebadge and homeground model…

• Reinmuster on Nov 15, 2010 at 1:49 pm

i tot they brought the mitsu’s technology? aiya..

• azrai on Nov 15, 2010 at 8:01 am

Government approved standart accesories

• perodua is really sick to sell a tiny junk at 42k. Persona is only 45k.

but the best part is that its selling like hot cakes to ppl that have zero knowledge about cars. have you noticed the paper thin doors in this car? shame on you perodua for being so greedy!!

• Fervent reviewer on Nov 13, 2010 at 3:20 pm

Just with additional colour and the price rises .I don’t think it’s worthy.

• Holly F on Nov 13, 2010 at 3:22 pm

RM42k for a car like that?

• kingkong on Nov 13, 2010 at 4:41 pm

What??? just few cosmetics touch up this piece of c**p need to sell at 42k?

• kimi_ on Nov 13, 2010 at 3:24 pm

What a rip off, p2 suck our money off for such a small car

But still better than savvy for Toyota DNA.

• Mr Wancer on Nov 14, 2010 at 12:03 am

Wanna race with a Savvy on curvy roads???

• HirumaKecil on Nov 14, 2010 at 11:30 am

Savvy approve by TUV… Same people who approve Mercedes and BMW… Anytime ,anywhere Savvy is extremely better… Fc almost the same, but don;t forget, Savvy got 1.2 engine, Top speed anytime can go 170-180( i try it myself )…. Can take corner better than Gen-2… Handling better than viva although its weight is more than Myvi… Savvy is superb… My friend used to owned Myvi.. the she go to langkawi, rent a savvy for a week…. Going back to KL… 2 month later trade in her Myvi SE for Savvy AMT…. Dem… When Myvi lover try a Savvy, suddenly she realize that Savvy is extremely better… Only take 2 month to replace her Myvi with Savvy.. What a car man…… Dun believe me??? Go try ur self la… bad looking car??? Spend rm1000 for spoiler and skirting, then cun-melecun already meh…

• HirumaKecil on Nov 14, 2010 at 11:31 am

Plus, savvy got Renault and Lotus DNA… Which is much2 more better than TOYOTA or we should say DAIHATSU???

• oldman on Nov 14, 2010 at 1:34 pm

No wonder sawy sales now booming, and MyVis keep dropping below the Sawys’, is it?

• skyLine4ever on Nov 15, 2010 at 11:06 am

@kimi_

lol….
      savvy is better than this viva elite…
      savvy’s handling is much more better and it’s kerb weight is a bit heavier makes it more stable….
      plus i see no improvement for this new viva but with higher price…

• ntah.. on Nov 13, 2010 at 3:28 pm

first viva with leather seats..

• mivec on Nov 14, 2010 at 12:34 pm

its leather or half leather/pvc?

• ntah.. on Nov 17, 2010 at 1:01 am

wat do u expect for that price.. if u want a better leather, go for a porsche.. wat im trying to say is at least p2 give more choice for the people to choose.. it depends on u whether u want to buy it or not.. if u dont like it, then go for other car that u like..

• Adrian on Nov 13, 2010 at 3:29 pm

Nice colour.. Cheap n cheerful..

• viva is cheap and inspira is expensive?

hmm…many peoples asking for inspira to be priced below 50k. nobody want to ask viva elite to be priced below 20k? anybody?

• Madboy on Nov 13, 2010 at 9:56 pm

This VIVA should not be priced higher than SAGA!!.

• Adrian on Nov 14, 2010 at 9:11 am

Where on earth did you see me say Inspira is expensive??…

And if I gave you 20k to build a Viva can u do it?

• bcos no one interest to buy it…. so even lower the price is pointless…. Inspira a lot ppl want to buy but cant afford it…. ;p

• skyLine4ever on Nov 15, 2010 at 11:14 am

@nxid

lol…
        50k for inspira??
        4B11 engine with CVT transmission…
        ABS, EBD and air bag equipped…
        lotus handling technology…
        and 4 disc brake….
        GPS, auto light off and some other features…
        can u have that with only 50k??

• Maybe P1 can offer below 70k, for Inspira Base line? Then i dont think any basher will complaint any more…. the sure buy one too… ;p

• HirumaKecil on Nov 16, 2010 at 7:44 am

Plus, put 1.6 campro cps.. Use 15 rims, remove the foglight, speakers only at the back, and no power window for back door.. so i think the price can be around 60k-70k … that will do….

• any test drive on the production version of the inspira?

• Fervent reviewer on Nov 13, 2010 at 3:37 pm

Again? I do not think new viva will be a hit among citizens. Just some small changes have been made but the price.. Except for those who needs purple-colored viva desperately. Perhaps 40k or 39k will be fine .

• freeze on Nov 14, 2010 at 11:09 am

It will be a hit. You must understand how women think. They must have the best of whatever they are interested in. They like Viva, get the most expensive model. This is a competition among their friends/colleagues.

As long as they’re not bound to the kitchen, these cars will sell well. It’s a marketing tactic to target the weak, feeble, and uneducated. Just like those scratch & win scams.

• Lan@ng on Nov 13, 2010 at 3:37 pm

Cmonla Perodua, another Viva version…what a joke. After this maybe Viva Elite Exclusive Etc Etc Etc…duh

• next year…Viva Elite Exclusive Special Edition

• klguy on Nov 13, 2010 at 5:38 pm

after that, Viva Elite Super Exclusive Super Special Very Limited Edition haha

• _xXx_ on Nov 14, 2010 at 11:15 am

That’s too long. Too costly to make the emblem. How bout Viva Executed edition?

• Asmara on Nov 13, 2010 at 3:41 pm

P2 don’t wanna loose to P1. P1 launch Inspira.. then they lunch viva ee. And still p2 no.1.

• theanswer on Nov 13, 2010 at 4:32 pm

depends. myvi still fighting with saga blm. i’m a proud driver of myvi..but at the same time drives blm belong to my gf..both car is good in their own categories. but i cant find any good in viva except the dvvt.

• type-x on Nov 13, 2010 at 9:45 pm

so wrong. saga blm sales beat myvi and viva.

• who win doesn’t matter, just hope the car u bought no problem only…..

• vivaXexlusive on Nov 13, 2010 at 3:42 pm

very tin milo and unsafe car.. I menyesal better put money on suzuki alto or saga blm..

• botak on Nov 13, 2010 at 11:09 pm

yaa.. i drive my gf car.. in trafic jem just 8km/h 5pin have been fall when hit by car at the back.. damn fail la viva.. you can knock and hear like a can tin for viva… and that how you can compare to other.. just the view?? wth!!!!

• Dean Winchester on Nov 13, 2010 at 3:43 pm

Rm42K for a car like this?? Perodua must be out of their mind…& they dare to call this as a “new edition”??shame on them…

• kingkong on Nov 13, 2010 at 4:43 pm

this square little box doesnt worth 42K

• Malaysia need a new law pertaining to rip-off and jack-up car prices. Hope somebody can raise this up in the Parliament session soon.

• MangO on Nov 13, 2010 at 11:19 pm

Actually… its the law that lets them set such ridiculous prices.

• Eyesore on Nov 13, 2010 at 11:03 pm

well, actualy p2 is in their right mind…due to the sales figure they deem it is right move to introduce the viva eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee….. and jack up the price…

the one who is out of their mind are malaysians who bought the overpriced viva and even crazier who will buy this overly overpriced viva eeeeeee….

• Fervent Reviewer on Nov 13, 2010 at 3:51 pm

Exclusive edition sounds blissful .. nice … I think Viva without Exclusive Edition is also considered good.

• Fervent Reviewer on Nov 13, 2010 at 3:57 pm

i mean only sounds nice *

• Prismo on Nov 13, 2010 at 4:48 pm

yup,only sound nice but the reality it doesn’t…..

• otakpening on Nov 24, 2010 at 4:09 pm

totally doesn’t..only stupid person (totally stupid like hell) would said this car is good

• Decepticons on Nov 13, 2010 at 3:52 pm

what a stupid car……RM42k for nothing…….shameful produa

• SOHAI on Nov 13, 2010 at 3:57 pm

that’s rip off 42k for that piece of crap.

• auto-junkie-but-not-quite on Nov 13, 2010 at 3:57 pm

prove that malaysian’s do prefer exclusive editions (ugly colour schemes and no-value adding interior differenciation) over Safety packs! 42k and doesnt even come with ABS or airbag.

• mfahd_88 on Nov 13, 2010 at 4:00 pm

what??
    another viva??
    YAWNNNNNNN..

• claxxion on Nov 13, 2010 at 4:04 pm

In the price list, what does GASA stands for? Its sad to know that the basic car price is only RM26k.

• MoFaz on Nov 13, 2010 at 7:37 pm

ya.. what is GASA? anybody could explain?

• MoFaz on Nov 13, 2010 at 8:08 pm

now i know what GASA is: Govt Approved Standard Accessories, which includes air conds, power windows, central locking, alarm, and anti-rust.
      now I wonder, what are the other accessories added into the Viva that cost another RM4384 there. leather seats?

• mitsubishi aspira on Nov 13, 2010 at 4:05 pm

quite nice but better go with blm…safer.. :D

• rosdi on Nov 13, 2010 at 4:07 pm

Perodua has no new product to counter Proton aggressive launches. Perodua is relying on MyVi to keep going… and now they are launching viva with stupid variants, executive la.. limited la, special la, obviously they have nothing to show.

Visit their website, they has only three cars there.

I really don’t understand why would people want to buy Viva when there is Saga.

• Asmara on Nov 13, 2010 at 4:15 pm

More reliable dvvt engine, fuel economy, after sales service, low maintain and toyota/dahatsu dna. Thats why.

• malaysian on Nov 13, 2010 at 4:47 pm

aiya..whats the difference after sales service maa..all car manufactures same laa.
        still u need to pay all them extra labour charges after warranty.u buy saga..more bootspace,better engine performance,bigger room space and low maintenance.whats so special with daihatsu/toyota dna with this small kind of car?

• lolwut on Nov 13, 2010 at 5:13 pm

not really..

• Will you buy it if you still can get saga or Myvi? it’s doesn’t matter who is the automaker but its just dont feel right…. anyone?

• untitled on Nov 13, 2010 at 7:29 pm

another example of perceived quality…instead of actual stuff, they listen to what his/her uncle/aunty’s son/daughter’s pet say

• oldman on Nov 13, 2010 at 4:16 pm

bcos maybe they had enuff with protong’s bulls**t

• rosdi on Nov 13, 2010 at 4:19 pm

I would like to add. With 42K we can get:

Saga 1.6! with 3K extra money for yamseng.
      Savvy Lite AMT. with 5K extra somemore!..
      Satria Neo Lite 1.6!. Just need to topup 1.9K (which won’t make much difference to monthly payment).

I notice there are quite a few Vivas in KL. Why people buy Viva when they can buy the above 3 cars? Can somebody explain?

• budleee on Nov 13, 2010 at 4:58 pm

Size matters

Some people choose to buy a smaller car due to its characteristic. You may not understand why, but we do. (it probably boggles you why the Myvi and Viva sells so well when there are other bigger options at the same price).

This is also the same reason why Alza is selling better than Exora (or maybe people just want a bigger Myvi)

Don’t forget the perception that people make that Perodua is a Toyota company thus having the Toyota quality.

I say these are just some of the points why Viva and its siblings are selling quite well.

• redkde on Nov 13, 2010 at 5:31 pm

hahahahah I’m camry owner, the quality is ok oly…no diff with proton hahaha dun bluff me mate!!

• zimba on Nov 13, 2010 at 5:33 pm

ooh? any prove to say alza’s sales is higher then an Exora?

• oldman on Nov 13, 2010 at 8:12 pm

dude, bacalah MAA report…takkan ko baca website ni je kot…

• peYno on Nov 13, 2010 at 9:21 pm

comparing alza vs exora sales… just like avanza vs innova…

alza sales higher coz the price cheaper than exora.. so does avanza vs innova…

but alza never meet their monthly slaes targat (4000/mth) .. compared to exora enjoying and manage to acheive mthly sales target (2000/mth)

• some people prefer smaller car, easier to park. especially first time drivers.

• Wan Assad on Nov 13, 2010 at 7:37 pm

Not to mention this who bought for ‘Rent-and-Drive’ business. Ask those universities student.

• really?i am a beginner and i seem to be ok with my waja which is way harder to park compared to my sister’s myvi =)

• bobdbilder on Nov 13, 2010 at 8:12 pm

Toyota did a very good job of maintaining their brand. This is done equally great across all of their owned licenses. Branding is the cheapest way of securing sales. Look at ourselves, we still buy colgate, levi’s, Milo and Dettol. To get ourselves out of the comfort zone of brand loyalty takes a lot out of our own selves, and acquiring reputable information. Most of the time we don’t want the hassle and stick to what we know.

When people buy, the final decision is always about how you feel about it. Its always an emotional play when you make that final decision. Emotions seldom, if ever make sense.

• HirumaKecil on Nov 14, 2010 at 11:41 am

This is not TOYOTA… Even toyota also made in INDONESIA.. Quality suck… Ok fine.. Camry and Hiace heve good Quality… But Viva??? not Toyota la weh.. Just perasan toyota.. Quality.. Vendor same with proton.. Same factory supply part for Perodua and Proton..

• this tiny junk appeals to ladies only ( and some men) as they have difficulty parking a much larger sedan.

• just wait until the new saga come sure viva sale will drop..

• hantupensil on Nov 13, 2010 at 4:08 pm

after this.. super duper exclusive edition viva?
    hahaha.. patut pangil perodua vavi…

• mivec on Nov 13, 2010 at 4:17 pm

auto gear stick looks like taken from inokom atos 1.0 2003

• seriously on Nov 13, 2010 at 4:32 pm

if you can only afford viva just get the cheapest version and save the extra money to upgrade to a “real car”.

• zach55 on Nov 13, 2010 at 4:43 pm

P2 should introduce new cars to compete. RM42k for this Viva not worth for buying.

• they wont produce new one. remember, their only existence is to rebadge whatever come out from daihatsu/toyota. and malaysia people still complain when proton come out with inspira, this P2 have done it for years and nobody care

• exJAVANESE on Nov 15, 2010 at 2:32 am

with 42k.. i rather buy Kawasaki z750 second hand…
      more EXCLUSIVE on it and for sure pepole will daring ‘geram’ at you too…hihi

tettt…sorry perodua!! try next time.. with new flatfrom..
      We, Malaysian… are kind a bored with your car variant…
      (cepat2 laa bebaskn diri anda dari cegkaman toyota/daihatsu…korg pn bkn kanak2 lg kn? dh matang…xknlaa smpi ke tua org nk suapkn nasi kat mulut…?)

• Salamander on Nov 13, 2010 at 4:49 pm

After this it’s going to be Perodua Viva Elite Exclusive Special Edition, after they change the ICE equipment and add spoiler.

• cant believe people actually bought the Elite version which is tasteless. So now there is this Exclusive edition for those exclusively tasteless people.

• budleee on Nov 13, 2010 at 4:53 pm

I am pretty sure that the 52 thousand people that bought the Viva from January to September don’t comment on this blog.. okay maybe that’s an exageration..

lol.

well, it is true, you barely see any Viva Elite Ezi, or the former Ezi or Sxi (which why they pulled the Sxi out of the line up)

So no point making Exclusive Elite Ezi, when not many people will buy it.

Smart move Perodua, it will boost the sale of Viva.

• ismazri on Nov 13, 2010 at 4:55 pm

Not worth buy it

• losantara on Nov 13, 2010 at 5:05 pm

MOFAZ,

Read the pricing. The excise duty for national car is only 5%. You are really an IDIOT !!

We should stop this MoFaz from spreading wrong facts and figures in this website !!

• MoFaz on Nov 13, 2010 at 8:03 pm

special exemption by gov for certain basic model only. you can check Saga price list, 0% excise and 0% sales tax. here:

http://images.paultan.org/images/proton-blm/Proton_BLM_Tentative_Pricelist_Large.jpg

• the fact is true that national car receive 50% rebate on excise duty..if u read National Economy Recovery Plan chapter 7

“Raise exemption of excise duty on Proton cars from 50 per cent to 70 per cent for a limited period. This will mean a loss in Government revenue of RM 126 million in 1998”

then u can explain why is that vios 1.5j price is only RM71990 suppose the price should be RM98830 (langkawi RM 50,683.63) that mean vios J get excise tax+import tax around 32% only minus the sales tax

• Selamba on Nov 13, 2010 at 5:12 pm

Normal for Malaysia product…

• Darren Lee on Nov 13, 2010 at 5:18 pm

VIVA EOL very soon. Same goes to Myvi.

• kassim on Nov 13, 2010 at 5:39 pm

I bet after P1 officially launch Saga Facelift,P2 will launch another viva variant..erm..could be viva exclusive Ladies Edition? :)

• Prismo on Nov 13, 2010 at 6:45 pm

And after P1 launch Exora turbo then, P2 will lauch Alza facelift/SE/LE/Elite or whatsoever they called it… makeup a bit and the price will hike and for sure P2 blind supporter will defend like hell… YAWN!!

• eposuer on Nov 14, 2010 at 11:10 am

i heard someone told me p2 will launch Viva Exclusive Shemale Edition somewhere next year..

• bohtakchek on Nov 13, 2010 at 5:30 pm

if they are charging the consumer this much, please introduce safer car that once langar tak mati orang punya …. perodua has less sense of CSR … viva langar tiang or pokok at 30kph… pemandu masok ICU 1 week!! … we need at least NHCAP 4 star on the road !!!

not just a facelift different color!!

• tokmoh on Nov 13, 2010 at 6:42 pm

Look at Alza outdoor crash test few months back. Looks very unconvincing at <30km/h, and yet scored 4-star? Same as Exora?

Come on, at least Exora showed proof of crash test video in idiada Spain, how the heck Alza did what looked like worse and got same rating? Our Msian crash test team needs to do a lot of homework. I am not convinced, not without showing us documents to really justify why they both got same rating.

• Tongkat on Nov 13, 2010 at 7:58 pm

for exora, u go find p1

for alza, pls call toyota yer….

• tongkat, we are lucky here that no toyota recall being made. at the rest of th world, thousands have been recalled. open your eyes la. i dunno why people so stick with toyota that is boring, predictable, lifeless

• MoFaz Supporter on Nov 15, 2010 at 11:34 pm

Ya Proton is really very NON-PREDITABLE….

1. Out of a sudden U TURN to do rebadging
            2. Anytime there will be a recall
            3. Fit a 1.6 engine on 1400 kg Exora
            4. Rebadge a car and priced more expensive than the original Lancer (compared at fair groung free trade zone Langkawi)

• HirumaKecil on Nov 16, 2010 at 7:51 am

This basher name MoFaz Supporter is extremely blurr… No matter how we explain, including paul also repeatedly explain about inspira and exora.. he just still did;t get it.. what a blurr person u are… you are so what we call ‘LAMPI’…

• MoFaz on Nov 13, 2010 at 9:14 pm

no tokmoh, that crash test wasn’t for Alza, but for the lorry under-carriage thing. which basically prevent the car to go ‘underneath’ the lorry further and causing direct impact to the cockpit.
        so, the 4 stars is not for Alza, but for the protection thing.. ah, i donno what it’s called.

• Exclusive? go see today’s straits times and you will know what happens during accident…..

• Keithtsy on Nov 13, 2010 at 5:46 pm

i predict a perodua viva elite exclusive limited edition 18 years anniversary special edition. Since it all started in 1993

• why spend so much money for a viva????
    wake up Malaysian!!

• proton user on Nov 16, 2010 at 1:09 am

why spend so much on car then?
      go ride bicycle better!!

• jamal on Nov 13, 2010 at 6:02 pm

p2 need money. want to start a F1 team also maybe hahaha. on a serius note, next year proton merge with produa eh?

• MoFaz on Nov 13, 2010 at 9:15 pm

never happen, unless gov buy the whole P2 stake from toyota / daihatsu.

• jamal on Nov 14, 2010 at 2:00 am

never say never. this is bolehland we talking about haha. well for starters UMW would say no but we all should agree its the best solution for bolehland car buyers

• MoFaz on Nov 15, 2010 at 12:38 am

that’s why i said “never, unless…”
          but why should P1 merge with P2? P1 can do everything that’s P2 is doing, and P1 has the capacity to produce twice the current market size in Malaysia. their weakness is probably in QC.
          what P2 has to offer? Toyota tech..? for sure Toyota won’t let it happen.
          But somehow I believe the merger could be beneficial to us and country. look at Hyundai & Kia after their merger. P1-P2 could produce 1 model together in each segment, they get to sell more of each model and gain the much-needed economy of scale for them to move further.

• Neutral on Nov 13, 2010 at 6:05 pm

Nice color! At the first place, I don’t like this car too.Have you try seat and ride on this car? The interior space is much bigger than Iswara!!! Then I realize why some peoples like this car even though little bit pricy :)

• Prismo on Nov 13, 2010 at 6:48 pm

Have u at once sat inside saga blm? i bet u wont right… :)

• pencuri on Nov 13, 2010 at 7:18 pm

true its driver seat space is much bigger than iswara. but its tin milo. the handling is very viva and superb… i mean handling cornering in tight place, parking, etc.
      btw, i own both viva & iswara.

• HirumaKecil on Nov 14, 2010 at 11:48 am

Then u should try Savvy.. Easily u will love it.. Better performance, handling and fc also almost the same with Viva..

• BIGGER THAN ISWARA?

• vivaXexlusive on Nov 13, 2010 at 9:20 pm

dont believe him viva sempit, coca cola body.. Anyone want my 1.0 2009 viva?

• I do think pencuri says abt the Merdeka sale proton saga that 26999RM.. If u do own one, then u will know the back seat d … Cheersss

• mivec on Nov 14, 2010 at 10:48 am

now pencuri says viva bigger than iswara (interm of seat) really funny i dont surprise one day ppl will claim viva hv bigger space than inspira.. haih..
          never trust pencuri at first place la..

• some ppl also said viva is bigger than perdana. i say go check your eyes.

• otakpening on Nov 25, 2010 at 9:26 am

viva also bigger than estima..stupid people would said that..ahaha

• Good version of Viva. Nice compact from Perodua

• I think Perodua want to strike first before Proton come out with facelift Saga

• Later Face lift Saga selling at RM42k also, this Viva confirm cannot sell any more….

• i couldn’t fathom it.

P1 launch Inspira, P2 pun nak launch something new.

P1 has Inspira and P2 has this…?

good luck la yer.

• Estimosis on Nov 14, 2010 at 10:58 am

…and P2 want to merge with P1….P2 never had home grown models.. sudah nyawa-nyawa ikan baru ingat orang…I think its better for P1 to reject the merger thingy…

• * Classified *

Viva – Line up

2011:
    Viva – Fortune Edition (Feb, 2011)
    Viva – Love Edition (May, 2011)
    Viva – Supreme Edition (July, 2011)
    Viva – Merdeka Edition (Aug, 2011 – Limited 2,011 units)
    Viva – 1Malayisa Edition (Sept, 2011)
    Viva – New Exclusive Edition (Oct, 2011: 1st Week)
    Viva – Super Best Exclusive Edition (Oct, 2011: 3rd week)
    Viva – Double Yellow Edition (Nov, 2011)
    Viva – Teh-O-Ais Edition (Nov, 2011)
    Viva – Kampung Retro Edition (Nov, 2011)
    Viva – Baguuuus Edition (Nov, 2011)
    Viva – Xmas Edition (Dec, 2011)
    Viva – N.Y.N.R(New Year New Ride)Edition (Dec, 2011)
    Viva – WHATERLAH Eition (Dec, 2011)

2012 : TBC

• budin on Nov 13, 2010 at 7:34 pm

Lastly: Viva Forever… Lol~!

• You forgot three more versions:

1. Viva La Vida Edition, featuring Coldplay as the ambassador.

2. Viva La Loca Edition, featuring Ricky Martin as gaybassador.

3. Viva Forever Edition, featuring Spice Granny as cheerleader.

• armandd on Nov 13, 2010 at 6:34 pm

what a rip-off. if perodua sell it below 37k they will still make huge profits!

• Prismo on Nov 13, 2010 at 7:39 pm

As long they are protected by G tax, why must sell cheap right?

• Primo… i don’t think they can… who else is paying for all the re-calling of those toyota cars, huh? get the drift?

• this viva by P2 just like P1, after one year, viva’s windows stucked and the engine so noisy except the small size and engine gave low FC.

• peYno on Nov 13, 2010 at 9:43 pm

all small 1000cc engine has good FC…nothing special about it…perodua cars seems good FC becoz they don’t have/limited competitor … pls compare with other brands small cc cars like compact car suzuki or conti… you will know.. perodua FC not so good

• P2 good!!??? on Nov 15, 2010 at 3:47 pm

agreed with mizi….the viva had the horrible quality it was….my friend viva EZ…just 6 month….engine mounting already not good…when stop….car was shaking like hell……not to mention the myvi 4 years old I own…..quality MAYB bit better…but then….its more n more problem coming~~~Hopes P2 could justify the QC problem…not just selling the TOYOTA name to get more market!! =(

• Malaysian car buyer always kena dgn Produa…42k for viva? Leather seat can be done at any car cushion shop. Paint job at car painting shop and rim at any tyre shop. You can buy Persona base line with much spacer than this compact car.

• frossonice on Nov 13, 2010 at 7:31 pm

This is the reason why certain Jeremy Clarkson took a hammer and went on to destroy a Kelisa. Perodua have no taste and really put Malaysian automotive industries in shame. Yes, Proton was crap and probably still are, but there really have the guts to stand on their own except for Inspira which is understandable.

But Perodua, after 15 years, I haven’t see any of the OWN model yet, and they never got bashed.

• RadzLee on Nov 13, 2010 at 10:35 pm

perhaps if proton rebadged every single model they produced they wont get bashed?

• armandd on Nov 13, 2010 at 10:57 pm

I agree 110% with u.

• Turbo man!!! on Nov 13, 2010 at 11:48 pm

The whole idea of business is to make money.

If its profitable, who cares if they rebadge models.

I will get a lot of flak here, but look beyond car sense, and start to think business sense.

• Should not get the same tax treatment as P1 then. Lets see if they can maintain their sales after that.

• turbo man – talk this to bung mokhtar and you will be his good mate

• the_fighter on Nov 14, 2010 at 12:19 am

P2 is industri memasang skru only…oso like naza, they have no intend to build their own cars

• HirumaKecil on Nov 14, 2010 at 11:53 am

Not just rbadge.. but Upgrade version…. Paul himself said that Inspira ride is comfortable than Lancer, handling also better..

• black on Nov 13, 2010 at 7:35 pm

very expensive….only little cosmetic changes…the price not worth the entry level vehicle title…

• dinding_batu on Nov 13, 2010 at 7:38 pm

Mahal nak mampos.. Ridiculous.

• learner on Nov 13, 2010 at 7:53 pm

mmmm, i noticed the name is getting longer and longer. viva -> viva elite -> viva elite exclusive edition -> next? vival elite lilited exclusive edition???? the longer the name, the higher the price?

• autojohndoe on Nov 13, 2010 at 8:04 pm

Why not name it: Viva Elite Extraordinary Expensive Exclusive Excitement Edition

Viva EEEEEE….

• air bags, abs atleast…!

• Juinn on Nov 13, 2010 at 8:39 pm

So I suppose Viva GTi will be coming soon right.

• I think this car is seriously over priced. Instead of improving on the asthetics, why can’t they put in more value added features such as ABS or EBD or make the car more solid. This is not a high performance car and there’ s no point wasting $$ to make it look ‘sporty’ with some body kits or leather wrapped steering wheel.Come on…. Itt’ll just be a mockery on the road. A Viva will always be a Viva. Let it be the simple basic car it always is and it will gain respect instead of being laughed by others. If you plan to facelift or make it better, then consider improving on the safety or putting in some real value added addtions. Forget about the new colour, new meter design la, new leather steering wheel, leather gear la, sporty bumper la sporty this sporty that…exclusive this exclusive that etc. To me i’ll choose a saga anytime, it’s more value for money.

• zgatal on Nov 14, 2010 at 8:23 pm

that’s the reason why I never bought any of those special edition. hehehe

• there you go.

another edition of viva..

and the funny thing is..people will still buy it hah!

42k for such a small car..

• peYno on Nov 13, 2010 at 9:53 pm

again.. most viva aka perodua buyers are ladies and kids who just get driving license…sorry to say.. but this kind of ppl (ladies n kids) simply conned and they just a crowd follwers.. know nuts about cars

• nabill on Nov 13, 2010 at 11:19 pm

totally agree . what- my- friend- buy- i -oso- buy attitude……crowd followers , easily convinced by showroom salesmen , and financially ill informed…who in their rite mind will consider this at this price seriously? no offence bt its jus hard to understand the logic spending that amount on a car thats so basic in many ways(dont be fooled by leather,probably half pvc seats)

• HirumaKecil on Nov 16, 2010 at 7:56 am

They should ask their parent or ‘waris’ to teman them when they want to buy a car.. huhuhu..

• jason on Nov 13, 2010 at 10:01 pm

now p2 only sell 3 model viva,myvi,alza. so in next got many Edition soon.

• HirumaKecil on Nov 16, 2010 at 7:59 am

Yeah.. But in all Perodua car, i like Kelisa so much.. Very cute.. But viva and myvi.. Never ever like both..

• raoul on Nov 13, 2010 at 10:14 pm

For those who are thinking of getting this please add another 3k and get myvi Auto.

• noname on Nov 13, 2010 at 10:15 pm

what’s so exclusive? still viva elite lah..

• peYno on Nov 13, 2010 at 10:16 pm

proton launch new model inspira
    perodua launch leather seat added edition VIVA

proton launch saga facelift
    perodua launch alza new rims design edition

proton launch exora with new turbo engine
    perodua launch alza new engine cover design + lady edition

• walauwei…almost same price as Saga SE.
    like this better take Saga SE.

• bunsh on Nov 17, 2010 at 12:27 am

yes and you get black grill down to centre bumper, black roof and new rims that looks sporty, very neat design

• batter wait for saga facelift

• Mat Sabu on Nov 13, 2010 at 10:26 pm

Hi, i own a 2007 1.0 viva (m). Up until to date, no prob / issue. Agreed with most commenters that this car is way way overpriced. My words:
    Pros:
    1. save fuel
    2. good rear legroom
    3. suitable ONLY for small person / small family
    4. serve just as 2nd car / ‘pergi pasar’
    5. build quality is fair

Cons:
    1. worst ride and handling
    2. tin can body
    3. no no for ‘balik kg’ especially on the highway = backache
    4. light body = wavering
    5. bad NVH
    6. rattling sound (somewhere at the rear passenger side)

Regards.

• HirumaKecil on Nov 14, 2010 at 12:00 pm

i think viva is overprice.. if the price is rm35k then it is agood car, if more then rm40k, then it is a bad car.. i owned 2.0 peugeot and first edition kancil 660.. My peugeot is much2 more better than kancil, but still i drive kancil much2 more than peugeot, coz it was fun to drive… Saving, easy to park and etc… For me, kancil and kelisa also kembara is the only car that perodua built for rakyat malaysia.. The other models is just to kaut untung semata2…

• joe jack on Nov 14, 2010 at 12:03 pm

a good review…couldn’t agree more.

• JACK HAMMER on Nov 14, 2010 at 8:50 pm

fuel save???
      it just a tiny 1 litre engine 4 god sake!!!

all tiny engines out there are fuel saving engine lah…

its like saying
      “i bought a kancil, and its small…” duuuuhh???

• MoFaz on Nov 14, 2010 at 11:41 pm

put other factors aside, it uses less fuel to get the job done compared to bigger car. it’s equipped with 660 / 1000cc engine because those are already adequate for the job. i mean, if you’re the only person in the car (driver only) and you drive to work everyday, you will save more by driving small cars – hence the term ‘fuel saving car’.

not everyone could afford to buy multiple cars for separate tasks, so majority will buy sedan (because of family and balik kampung) and drive it everyday. only if they could afford 2nd car, they would choose a ‘fuel saving car’.

• This not Viva Elite Exclusive Edition. It’s Viva Expensive Edition ^_^

• Asmara on Nov 13, 2010 at 10:53 pm

atleast got one airbage, bigger engine cc, more spacious and comfortable for short or long journey with same range of price.

but….

people will go for this moving box for their Toyota DNA.

• Asmara on Nov 13, 2010 at 10:54 pm

oppsss typo error.

i mean …saga blm got atleast one airbage, bigger engine cc, more spacious and comfortable for short or long journey with same range of price

• grizzyejoy on Nov 13, 2010 at 10:57 pm

Expensive Edition…seriously 40K? bullp**p

• redkde on Nov 13, 2010 at 11:05 pm

it’s pathetic one to think driving p2 is actually driving a toyota hahahaha….toyota DNA?? hehehe get a life man..

• Who I am on Nov 26, 2010 at 10:42 pm

Toyota has been received the GODLIKE status in malaysia. Anything will be praised when related with it~~ i don’t know other, but i know my family…

• come on guys, it is P2 marketing planning. for me, some minor renewal is necessary

• ntahaaa on Nov 13, 2010 at 11:42 pm

early next year.. there will be
    viva exclusive limited edition executive..
    that is not limited sales..
    with DVVT..
    and some CVT transmission.. <– cool
    price range rm 53000..
    lol…

• GreenFuel on Nov 13, 2010 at 11:47 pm

Another bad model from Perodua. The remove the safety feature like ABS and airbag, and replace it with those just for good looking accessories. Why don’t just sell is at a higher price? Or good looking is more important than safety???!!!

• Boring but still better than Sagaru.

• Who am I on Nov 26, 2010 at 10:45 pm

you are better be kidding, it better than saga which got more bhp, more space, more stable, more boot? Viva is kancil in essence from my sense.

• Cowabunga! on Nov 14, 2010 at 12:58 am

Accessories 4k, GASA 5k…hahaah…. what a load of crap.

• Have you guys notice… later for sure P2 will have final variant of viva before new model appeared/launched. It happen to me 2x when i my kancil SE then 1-2 month later P2 launched Kelisa ..then as time i got my Kelisa special edition.. 2 months later Myvi emerged… :( this is tactics kena con 2x

• ohtdpg7w on Nov 14, 2010 at 1:02 am

can’t wait to watch Jeremy blow up this car lol!

• iswara hate viva on Nov 14, 2010 at 1:16 am

Tin milo car which the ambition to beat any big car than it self. Kamon lah, this kind of car, korner sikit u boleh peng. how come, pointless, truly pointless…. its like its pointless in living this world…. p2 how many olds still not matured, go make your own car lah, wan to fight p1, minta maaflah….

i noe p1 quality is still, owh u noe when u owns a proton but p1 is learning, it 25th years for God sake, p2 kiss people ass and copy paste only, datz y quality boleh lah, but truly, it got no soul in it…..

seat is bigger than iswara?
    shit yes, but remember, seat saja besar, space ada besar meh???

p2 wif same old shit, shud call it Viva Ultimate Pointless Shit-tion….

• jolly_idiot on Nov 14, 2010 at 1:16 am

what so exclusive? Price?

• No offence but these little car should not be in our roads . It offers no protection at all for the passenger , accident sure not survive . Some more how many of u seen these little car drive so fast esp on highway , it’s so dangerous ! Myvi also , always wanna race with other on highway … Really dun understand the mentality

• learner on Nov 14, 2010 at 10:14 am

don’t play2 those speeding one is not myvi/viva but Boon X4. i dare not to challenge them, just simply give them way…. scare ooooooo

• GreenFuel on Nov 14, 2010 at 11:59 am

In US this car is classified as city car that is not allowed on their highway. Malaysia, you will see a 660 viva overtaking an Iswara at 100km/h.

• junaidi on Nov 14, 2010 at 12:28 pm

In Malaysia dont need to say Viva bro.
        Kapchai, scooter thousands of them riding on North South Highway

• Who am I on Nov 26, 2010 at 10:49 pm

maybe for the driver, the godlike toyota gave them additional horsepower to race?

• ramzidesa on Nov 14, 2010 at 3:33 am

P1 ass kissers will say rebadged Inspira is value for money @ 90K !!

• inspira is ok apa…whatever from mitsu or proton, just buy and enjoy it…

• skyLine4ever on Nov 15, 2010 at 10:03 am

at least P1 has the effort to be more competetive….
      if u ask inspira worth @ 90k i’ll say yes..
      engine 4B11 with CVT transmission..
      lotus handling technology…
      ABS, EBD, air bag and 4 disc brake….
      with GPS, leather seats and some other features…
      maybe it’s better than ordinary Lancer evo..
      but not Lancer 2.0 GT…

can u tell me which P2 car is better than P1 car..
      and worth the money of course…..

• Who am I on Nov 26, 2010 at 10:54 pm

Yes it worth for the specs P1 provided for consumer. Please don’t be double standard, i bet someday maybe probably P2 rebadge vios, and sell it, with a bit lower price (just like toyota rush and nautica in the past) some will say it is a wise choice. But P1 cannot. Why? Maybe because malaysian consumers treats P1 as the only national car in Malaysia.?

• marsox on Nov 14, 2010 at 7:29 am

damn p2.
    when viva been launched, it supposed to replace the old cheap reliable kancil in the market…p2 always famous with their cheap tin milo(but reliable haa) model, especially for low-income and entry level market…rite now, wanna take this “kancil market” to higher price.aiyooo

• jumbsuckuras$ on Nov 14, 2010 at 7:36 am

viva better than savvy??what a joke..even tiara more better than bibah.

• Strictly for mat rempits who are upgrading.

But I seriously doubt they could afford it.

• elite on Nov 14, 2010 at 8:55 am

for a car like viva to keep selling so well despite the disadvantages compare to saga shows how bad proton is

• JACK HAMMER on Nov 14, 2010 at 9:06 pm

duuhh…
      its nothing to do with P1 lah..

it shows how greedy perodua is…

• Dah bleh start booking ker…..kaler purple tu memang cantik compare dengan i10 atau alto viva ni lagi best. rm42k ok la

• peYno on Nov 14, 2010 at 6:27 pm

safety first.. if u love ur family.. try avoid this TIN MILO body car.. otherwise, u will regret

• maybe his the salesman, he dont buy but sell only~ ;p so safety no problem for him~

• he is buying for his ex-wife. surely choose this viva – the unsafest car on the road on sale today.

• HirumaKecil on Nov 16, 2010 at 8:04 am

Celah mana pulak viva lagi bagus dari i10 ngan alto… i10 siap abs lagi bro… Alto punya design lagi cantik weh… Takat cantek sebab kaler purple, beli honda c70 pon boleh cat kaler tuh..

• ahbun on Nov 14, 2010 at 10:06 am

P2…the biggest scam in Malaysia…

overpriced with lots of problem…

viva 08 (AT):
    1) engine rattling sound when idle and when you initially step on the gas.
    2) disc brake problem (vibration on your brake pedal when braking) (note: its not even ventilated disc brake). had changed last year in p2 sc.
    3) body is very very thin.
    4) NVH???? dont say la…u know la….

future upcoming problems:
    1) drive shaft
    2) suspension kong
    3) broken engine mountings

• mujahid on Nov 15, 2010 at 11:58 am

my 2 yrs old viva EZi Premium spec already change suspension, drive shaft, timing belt, aircond belt, what else ha……. rubber also fail already…. so many…..

• P2 good!!??? on Nov 15, 2010 at 4:08 pm

My Myvi last time….just use not even 5 month…disc brake already bend…when apply brake….steering shake crazily …..==ll

Then…the drive shaft change on the last year….which my Myvi just nearly 3 years old …….@#$@#%%$&%*^&#

• autojohndoe on Nov 14, 2010 at 12:36 pm

they roll out some editions… what is the difference between Viva Elite.. and Elite Exclusive edition?

both are having same exact feature… except the trim and finish…

being in manufacturing field.. i bet variance of colour just makes difference not more than RM1k per car during manufacturing…

so, why they jack up the price so much?

• mata katak on Nov 14, 2010 at 12:39 pm

Next year, Perodua will come out with a new model:

Elite Exlusive Executive Extra Extreme Special Limited Edition….

Can oso mark up price to 50k…..

• autojohndoe on Nov 14, 2010 at 8:12 pm

add some more for fun

Viva Elite Exclusively Executive Extraordinary Extreme Expensive Extra Edited Edition…

• emosi glock on Nov 14, 2010 at 12:54 pm

maybe they should hv paultan edition

• yes and the target customers are p2 fanboys and proton bashers

• wow… “exclusive edition” badge at the rear of the car. must be somethign like AMG Mercedes or ABT Volkswagen. this is cool. now i’ll be very exclusive on the road, no cars can compare with mine coz i’m very exclusive, good job P2 for developing an “Exclusive” variant of the Viva. Now I can be different from others.

“Reupholstered with a luxurious leather interior, fine finishes and absolute attention to detail” and “LEather seats with embroidered detailing and new stiching orientation” now that’s cool. I can be in the same league as those high end cars with leather interior.

Come on P2. By all means I’m not looking down on you. But, please, this is a basic car, stop coming our with endless variants of your model. Let Viva be simple, Upgrade the vital components such as improving on the safety, using high qulaity materials and make the car feel solid. People will appreciate this more. Now you are a laughing stock!

• nighttrain on Nov 14, 2010 at 3:53 pm

Why don’t just introduce Viva turbo.. power of 1.6 car.. this is a waste only..

• skyLine4ever on Nov 15, 2010 at 12:11 pm

this car too light…
      add turbo engine and this car will turn upside down…
      lol

• iye ke on Nov 14, 2010 at 4:14 pm

my father says he don’t like the driver’s seating adjustment.. “kancil ngn kelisa ok la.bawak viva macam bawak lori kene duduk tegak”

• autojohndoe on Nov 14, 2010 at 8:43 pm

for me… it same goes with myvi… the driving posture does not suits me… to straight

like driving a van or lorry….

• not-quite-the-auto-junkie on Nov 14, 2010 at 4:34 pm

i think GASA means… government approved standard accessories? those things like alarm , audio and aircond. basically overpriced stuff for them to make extra money.

• nolan on Nov 14, 2010 at 7:02 pm

Look nice if young female unmarried teacher drive it…….

• iye ke on Nov 14, 2010 at 11:36 pm

u oredi got some1 in mind?hehe..

• nolan on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:47 am

I have plenty of choices bro….but dunno which one to choose…..
        the one driving Myvi look nice to me….hehehe

• MoFaz on Nov 14, 2010 at 11:49 pm

what if the teacher is bigger than the car? still nice?

• nolan on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:45 am

have you seen any female teacher bigger than this car..?….my gosh…..you should have some taste bro…….freedom of choice….hahaha

• Sepajo on Nov 14, 2010 at 8:07 pm

This is what Perodua good at – designing bumper and reflector

• lazyf on Nov 14, 2010 at 9:27 pm

Hmm…terlalu banyak “Edition”…pilih aje mana yang sesuai…

• GayBoy on Nov 14, 2010 at 11:29 pm

Inspira is better than this one lah

• MoFaz on Nov 14, 2010 at 11:58 pm

isk… no need to compare with inspira la.
      this car is for entry level, low budget only. i’m not saying for ‘low income’ people because sometimes high earners also buy small cars because they put low budget for a car, 2nd car perhaps… for wife or for son/daughter in college.
      so, this car should be compared to some other small cars in proton within RM40k price:
      Saga, Savvy & Satria Neo, and not too far, Persona too.

• i like the meter..kelisa boleh masuk? :P

• Wisdom on Nov 14, 2010 at 11:54 pm

I’m a bit disappointed with Perodua lately….

2 years old Myvi already plague with malfunction power window switches, warp disk, rattles at the front suspension part (sounds like bushing give way), engine and suspension that is so harsh and noisy even running 80kmh. For a 52K, i didnt expect the ageing will be so soon.

I tried my in-laws Alza when he brought it new last April. It feels ok for a new car that time. But recently i had the chance to drive it again and to my surprise, only about 6 month old and clocking about 8k km, the so-called budget mpv felt so harsh, sound protest on every undulation on the road, with big crash sound whenever it going over uneven manhole cover.

The ageing properties of these Perodua’s is so poor.

We better off with 05 Sentra, 04 Vios & City, or even 01 Altis for god sake. Those car felt better, more comfortable, quiet, and parts that last so long that u could be changing it coz you think its worn (but actually still good).

Heck even Persona 08 still felt solid.

• alishah on Nov 15, 2010 at 12:03 am

Proton is established b4 Perodua but Perodua beats Proton eventually in terms of revenue and profit

• MoFaz on Nov 15, 2010 at 1:03 am

why am i not surprised?
      Proton was ‘greatly’ profitable when they rebadge Mitsu cars in the early days. why is that so? because Proton only assemble & produce, but all design & development cost, crash tests, and road test was already done by Mitsu before that. that’s Perodua in current situation.
      Now, Proton develop most of the models internally, they have to bear all the costs. Profit per car is not as big as before.
      Imagine if Perodua design & develop their own cars.. could they still beat Proton? they know the cost is high, that’s why the best they could produce now is just a concept, which looks very similar to Kancil. now, where is all the profit they get for 17 years have gone to? shouldn’t they be able to produce own model by now, like Proton? maybe Toyota / Daihatsu already took the money back to Japan…

• We can see proton going in that direction once again , they are rebadging Mitsubishi Lancer too. So in all farness our National Car makers still has a long way to go.

• MoFaz on Nov 15, 2010 at 6:22 pm

we’ve explained the Inspira ‘story’ over and over again. go find articles regarding Inspira, and read properly….
          only smart guys get (understand) it.

• alishah on Nov 15, 2010 at 11:15 pm

Dear MoFaz

you said “we have explained” ?? who is this “we” ? Those who receive paycheck for working at odd hours ? I wonder why are you so free all the while ? Do you have any friends or girlfriends ?

• MoFaz on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:26 am

‘we’ are fellow readers in paultan blog…
            and why do you have problem with whatever time i post here? does the time has anything to do with the info we’re sharing here? does it bother you so much that I have friends and girlfriends?
            i don’t have problem if you could argue with facts, or asking questions properly, and we fellow readers here could probably share our opinions peacefully. personal attack clearly shows that you’re just natural-born basher.

• HirumaKecil on Nov 16, 2010 at 8:12 am

Weh alishah.. Why dont u just go to Proton dealer and test drive ur self.. Just know how to bash.. We’ve explain it so many,many,many time…. Still u ask this stupid thing.. Did u really think that Proton pay for people like me to make a propaganda like this.. Why it’s so hard for u to understand… Haish… And, i’m not owned a Proton.. i won’t buy a Proton coz i’m very obsessed with Peugeot.. But still i love Proton.. Coz i already drive almost all proton models, and there are a lot of Proton around me, my father,cousin,gf, house-mate, friends…

• peYno on Nov 16, 2010 at 4:03 am

yeahh proton will be having rebadge models and and homeground models

rebadge model
          Inspira
          upcoming Perdana replcement

homeground model
          saga
          persona
          exora
          upcoming persona R
          EMAS

and that is the differ between proton and other national car (100% rebadge)

• peYno on Nov 16, 2010 at 4:07 am

alishah
      perodua profit better??
      1. can u give me actual figure of it?
      2. proton also was enjoying their business when they rebadged saga, wira 20years ago…so nothing to shout out if u say perodua (rebadge company ) can make better profit…

• Hunter on Nov 15, 2010 at 1:57 am

lol.. my wife bought the 2007 EZi @42K (regretting every day *sigh*) which includes dual airbags and ABS!!.. didnt know what damn trend p2 is following now? downgrading newer models while maintaining ridiculous prices?! just only knew that viva elite and this new sucky variant doesnt have Airbags and ABS! and selling for 42K! absurd i say! removing safety features that are oh soo needed on our malaysian roads? what were p2 marketing team thinking? total BS. they should treat these newer variant vivas as motorcycles, ALL DRIVER & PASSENGERS MUST WEAR HELMET!

its just like P2 is sending a message to us rakyat, “padan muka korang, sape suro miskin/bodoh sangat mampu beli kete 40K je, haaa, pegi la mampos dlm tin besi buruk kami nih! awww yeahhh!!”

• grunge on Nov 17, 2010 at 12:22 am

why did she regret it? i dun understand why?

• Hunter on Nov 18, 2010 at 3:49 pm

why u say? havent heard of ‘local car quality syndrome?” lol.

6 months after use, ONLY DRIVER SIDE power window still operable. other 3 kong alrdy, sent for repair 2 times at p2 service center, 6 months summore, all 3 fail again?! wtf? been going up and down p2 service center as long as the warranty period still valid.. now 3 yrs has past and the same problem never solved. maybe got some ghost living in the other doors i think. Yes my frens, power window issue isnt exclusive to proton only!

got a lot more of other problems, but too much to list down, waste of my time and comment space.

• 42k for Viva???? better put in as FD in bank.

• elite on Nov 15, 2010 at 7:01 am

if perodua or other makes in malaysia wanted to reduce their prices, do you think they can? what is the reason they can’t? why prices of cars are controlled like food commodities?

• Average Joe on Nov 15, 2010 at 7:32 am

20k too expensive!

• wha’ts so EXCLUSIVE bout this VIVA???

• HirumaKecil on Nov 16, 2010 at 8:21 am

Very exclusive… Only for extremely stupid person.. Better buy viva elite that this exclusive.. mush better buy Saga, and the best choice is topup abit, for Persona… If u buy wira 2hd wira also still better than buy this stupid think… Now, we just need to wait and see… Kita tunggu siapa yg bodoh…. If u buy viva elite, i have nothing to say, but if u buy this exclusive.. i will call u super bangang..

• Jeicee on Nov 15, 2010 at 10:24 am

Finally got leather seat in Viva…..

• Fallen on Nov 15, 2010 at 11:11 am

Not a fan of viva..but it’s still better than the new saga (biggest joke in car industry)…anyway,no point arguing whether p1 or p2 is better..ppl buy them for 1 reason only = could not afford imported cars..

• what car you have? bentley? aston martin or rolls royce?

• learner on Nov 15, 2010 at 6:47 pm

which part of saga is a joke? i see more pros than cons for saga vis-a-vis viva. at the SAME price saga is bigger in size, bigger boot space, bigger cc (of course big in FC too) while viva is all to the SMALL side. the only big side of viva that is so called ‘exclusive edition’ without airbag and ABS but priced the same with saga is the BIGGER joke.

• autojohndoe on Nov 15, 2010 at 9:18 pm

so… if saga is a joke… what makes tata?

• Kambing Gurun on Nov 15, 2010 at 9:50 pm

Not so. Sometimes it is because they know what is meant by affordability and value-for-money. I wonder how people fancy owning cars at the cost of 30-40% of their take home salary… just for the sake of owning the so called imported cars…

• skyy! on Nov 15, 2010 at 11:16 am

id love to own one just for the sake of its fuel consumption, but overall really disappointed with our car industry, go the hell man. im pretty optimistic that we are able to make something with pride, but yeah, no hope though! haha

• peYno on Nov 16, 2010 at 3:58 am

ppl buy it because we have no choice….. ppl are forced to buy small cc (good FC) car from perodua national car only compact car market protected by Gov and controlledby perodua…. just imagine,, if other small cc (Good FC) import cars are more less same price like viva.. do u think ppl will buy this TIN MILO GIANT hypermarket trolley design car???

• miyuk on Nov 15, 2010 at 12:11 pm

national car company…want to make big profit using small as possible investment…cheating stupid citizen and end up producing piece of crap car

• cslee on Nov 15, 2010 at 12:50 pm

Not worth to buy this Exclusive edition. Better buy Viva Elite Ez, can save RM3-4K,spec almost 90% same.

• Kambing Gurun on Nov 15, 2010 at 9:43 pm

Did you mean Viva Elite MT? Elite EZi is priced at 44K…

• MoFaz on Nov 16, 2010 at 2:14 am

if the Viva price is more than RM40k, they should call it Viva Ridiculous.
        there’s no more “Kancil… sebijak anda”, bcoz smart guys wont buy it

• cslee on Nov 16, 2010 at 8:09 am

I meant not Viva Elite MT, but is Viva Elite Auto,without ABS and Dual air bags, it cost less than RM40K (after RM3-4K discount).

• Adrian on Nov 15, 2010 at 2:29 pm

RM42k x 90% = RM37,800..

Can get Viva @ Full loan!!… LOL..

• Overprice! They want to make money and leave safety behind. No ABS and Airbag! My God Perodua, what have u done? For me this model is failure! Make driver and passenger in danger everytime.

• example
    saga = RM 44k for a full spec se with airbag (auto)
    viva = RM 42 k for kereta kosong

proton develop everything by their own for the saga and selling cheaper but why a viva that is a defunct mira in japan selling so expensive when rebadging purposes is to save cost?

• peYno on Nov 16, 2010 at 3:53 am

now i understand why two ex perodua MD’s leave perodua and move other other company like proton and NAZA…

• P2 good!!??? on Nov 16, 2010 at 8:29 am

The P2 car having a deadly “bugs”…..the car will feel like “loose” after certain years of usesage….feel like the wheel going to tear of anytime…==ll

For my Myvi….this happen after 1 year from the date I brought it….was tot the problem is the bushing wearing….but then…..the SC technician told me….this is normal…LOLX…..

I am quite sad for wat Perodua Saleman use to claim : We’ve got Toyota gene on perodua car…I think am gonna to believe…since TOYOTA was having quality problem for the various model all around the world……Bullshit!!!

• sayang perodua? on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:30 pm

Bukan mahu kondem viva tapi betul punya cerita, bari je beli 6 bulan lepas viva elite, cat kat bumper dah terkopek, getah kat pintu belakang dah tertanggal, cermin belakan ada bunyi masa turun naik, fender sebelah kiri tah terkeluar. kereta ni gi hantar anak sekolah je…dan tak pernah ada kemalangan,

• greasemonkey on Nov 17, 2010 at 8:29 pm

DON’T WASTE YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY ON THIS CAR!

• Hunter on Nov 18, 2010 at 3:58 pm

agree with so much bro,

but p2 no need to worry coz I damn sure can say that got a few thousand un-educated pakcik & makcik, auntie & uncle that gonna buy this car for their children… reason? “perodua bagus, xmcm proton slalu rosak, p2 pon harga murah dari proton, lagi selamat belikan anak perodua!” in their mindset.. but in fact, they just ‘sentenced’ their beloved children to a milo death-can without any safety features.. lol.

• maxchock on Nov 17, 2010 at 10:46 pm

i don’t see a purpose on this.. Exclusive edition, Special Edition, Limited Edition, Special Limited Edition, Limited Special Edition, Sports Edition… only cosmetic change… they have playing this kind of tricks for 20 yrs… no improve at all… Malaysia boleh..

• What so Elite about this model? what ever P2 do with Viva,it.s still the same entry level car

• besi buruk on Nov 22, 2010 at 9:50 pm

cam “peti ais atas jalan” pun rege 42k ke?betui2 cekik darah…perodua dan kroni.

• fazron80 on Nov 25, 2010 at 3:29 am

Next year P2 will try to sell this viva at 52K. For P2 change new colour and rims already worth thousands.

• zainal abidin on Dec 04, 2010 at 3:34 pm

With fuel prices going up and up and up and up what perodua should do is put the fuel efficient 1000cc engine into something much better looking or maybe even a ‘small sedan’… Hopefully ASAP…

• To Hell With Protectionism on Apr 13, 2011 at 4:50 pm

Ridiculously overpriced.. Kesian 1Malaysia kene tipu kene sapu.. Check out price of car di negara lain.. Sepatutnya harga Viva tak lari jauh dari Kancil dulu.. Viva=Kelisa=Kancil=Same car upgraded just like saga=iswara=lmst=blm=fl=Rubbish.. 1Malaysia kene perbodohkan sampai bnyk org jd bodoh skrg ni..

• i buy viva 850 manual coz its more space, more cheaper (rm420 per month with full loan 9 years) and save fuel (10 cents per 1km). any car can beat this?!!

• kerajaan BN lah punca harga kereta sangat mahal di Malaysia.Perkenakan cukai nak lindung proton dan perodua.tapi masih jual mahal jugak.sepatutnya kereta sebegini dijual pada harga tak lebih 24000 sahaja.