GM’s Baojun brand for China to be launched this month

General Motors will be launching a new sub-brand in China under its SAIC-GM-Wuling Automotive Co joint venture later this month, and it will be called Baojun. The Baojun brand will be positioned under the Chevrolet brand in China and it will offer various low end vehicles including passenger cars, SUVs and minivans.

“The Baojun will be a full range of products that is targeting the low end of the segment. We will compete against the Geelys, the Cherys and the BYDs with the Baojun brand,” said GM China chief Kevin Wale. He did not comment on the price range for the Baojun brand cars.

The car you see above is apparently one of Baojun’s offerings – it doesn’t look bad at all! It’s supposed to be called the Baojun 630 and is built on the Buick Excelle platform with a wheelbase of 2,600mm, which makes it sort of like a small C-segment or large B-segment car with a shorter wheelbase than the Cruze’s 2685mm.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Gajen on Nov 15, 2010 at 3:01 am

front-volkswagen
    rear-opel
    interior-opel

• 908HY4 on Nov 15, 2010 at 9:24 am

opel is (or was?) part of the gm group so, it is natural for their cars to look somewhat similar. it is a pretty decent looking design though.

• kitman on Nov 15, 2010 at 10:57 am

…….most cars are rather generic nowadays. still looks pretty good.

• Francis on Nov 15, 2010 at 11:09 am

its ok copy here and there as long they get it right then should be okay..if copy cat also cannot make a good car…i got nothing to say…

Nowadays the car maker trend is like tat ba……..

• KOREAN on Nov 15, 2010 at 1:03 pm

so wat? know how to copy nicely is a skill too~ unless u wan to copy the whole thing like inspira?

• MoFaz on Nov 15, 2010 at 9:16 pm

you’re malaysian but changed your name to korean… doesn’t that show that you are copying “the whole thing”, even the nationality?

• like the pegasus / horse logo …. very futuristic looking car

• azrai on Nov 15, 2010 at 7:56 am

The front hood idea come from the toilet bowl lid.

• 908HY4 on Nov 15, 2010 at 5:47 pm

by the way, that design is called a ‘clamshell design’ and not toilet bowl as mentioned. bmw used to have this design in the e21 and quite a few other car brands also used clamshell designs over the years. jusy fyi.

• azrai on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:51 am

When Savvy have this design, all people tell it is a toilet bowl design lid. Malaysian. Always worship foreign product.

• ericmaxman on Nov 15, 2010 at 8:14 am

let’s wait for the crash test

• Baojun – the name really cina, maybe just use JUN is better …

• portdickson on Nov 15, 2010 at 8:26 am

good looking car!

• Beggar_Banquet on Nov 15, 2010 at 9:05 am

That’s more than nice. Better than anything our Proton have done in the last 25yrs…LOL

• KOREAN on Nov 15, 2010 at 1:02 pm

yes.. some more it’s say it is a low-end brand… the design is much better than our shore here… so what we have here is the low-low end brand i could say…..

• MoFaz on Nov 15, 2010 at 2:01 pm

yes, somehow it’s true that it looks better than any proton car.
      but GM is also already 100 years old.

• MoFaz on Nov 15, 2010 at 3:27 pm

… and to be exact, Proton only started designing their own model 10 years ago.

• alamak on Nov 16, 2010 at 1:14 am

oh yeah…when proton is 100years old….we still got reason to say that GM is already 190 years old

• TerBaboo on Nov 15, 2010 at 9:13 am

the car looks handsome!…but the interior..urmm..~

• nice design..
    very robotic..

i like

• fantausy on Nov 15, 2010 at 9:51 am

Proportion for the light and the body is good…

• Mancini on Nov 15, 2010 at 10:04 am

its beautiful.

• Unforgiven on Nov 15, 2010 at 10:15 am

European feel, nice…

• bryan.jones on Nov 15, 2010 at 10:36 am

they kill off Mercury & Saturn… then create Boujan, very smart.. maximize opportunity in China..

• bombastik on Nov 15, 2010 at 10:37 am

nice…could be our next inspira…

• dragster on Nov 15, 2010 at 11:22 am

this is so called mix vege design….y can’t they come out with a original design…..

• Beggar_Banquet on Nov 15, 2010 at 1:16 pm

It looks pretty original & complete to me. As long as it looks good & didn’t make people laugh, I think it’s good design. (You can’t say the same about out Proton Juara *Dunia…)

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Nov 15, 2010 at 2:31 pm

Chevy- a chinese brand

GM- i took the best deal i could so that you and your sister brands could be redesigned and could get rubber on their rims.

Chevy- were nt the daewoos enough, do you have to degrade us.

GM – chevy don say that.

Chevy- i am not surprised you have never spoken of your plateforms or the design studios where those “looks” came from, no wonder FIAT left you…………

….slap……….

GM- ah, I’d rather sell off the brand

• shawal on Nov 15, 2010 at 2:47 pm

Looks like a toyota avensis with an opel’s interior

• Lookii on Nov 15, 2010 at 5:01 pm

AFAIK, even if GM has a fair share of the SAIC-GM-Wuling joint venture, the owener is still SAIC, GM is the 2nd biggest shareholder, followed by Wuling

• nolan on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:38 am

i like the design….but don’t like the name…..heard like ‘Bojan’….

• looks like a old 5 series bmw boot and from side rear lights

• i think the design is not really detailed, is this a prototyppe ? when the final prod is out then can make valuation whether the outlook is ok or not

• Joker The Great on Nov 16, 2010 at 10:53 pm

I smell the Passat CC in this model… Look it properly, you will find it

• haas torres on Nov 18, 2010 at 6:22 pm

Is it just me, or are the control switches facing the passenger (instead of facing the driver)? Ergonomic boo-boo?