Ford Fiesta hatchback to get optional bodykit soon!

ford fiesta bodykit 1

I caught this particular Fiesta while at Sime Auto ConneXion’s Ford PJ showroom snapping photos of the ‘updated’ Focus – it’s a 1.4 litre manual that’s testing out the upcoming bodykit for the car.

There’s already a decent buzz among Fiesta fans regarding the impending kit for the hatch, which consists of a front lower lip, side skirts and new rear diffuser (the hatch’s standard panel will be replaced by this one), though buyers wanting to slap a complete kit on will have to be patient – the side skirting will need some reworking in terms of size.

ford fiesta bodykit 2

As can be seen on the mule, the skirt looks more than a tad blocky, and its dimensions pretty much says it’ll have some ground clearance issues, so Ford are going to trim and reshape that one before the kit gets the go ahead for local production.

Pricing hasn’t been officially announced (well, you’d need a product to sell first), but the word is that the entire bag will be priced around RM3,000, in all probability nicely below that. I’d think that sedan owners won’t be left out eventually – you can just see the possibilities there too!

ford fiesta bodykit 3

Otherwise, it’s rather flashy, the bits, especially the rear diffuser, and that front lip does look quite trick (well, perhaps it could do with a bit more integration to the bumper). What do you think?

More photos after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1697]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• sakoz on Nov 16, 2010 at 4:32 pm

smart gilerz!!! wanttttt

• Apernie on Nov 16, 2010 at 5:41 pm

Why not bring in the UK b/kit version + projector headlamp sure lg hebatz like the one you could see from the website, subtle but …dang….optional perhaps…please…
      http://www.ford.co.uk/Cars/Fiesta/ExteriorDesign

• Vincent on Nov 16, 2010 at 4:36 pm

Look more Garang!

• T4VR-Ralph on Nov 16, 2010 at 4:51 pm

Ford Malaysia should introduce Ken Block‘s Fiesta package.

Malaysian owners won’t hesitate to buy it for sure

• Jimmy on Nov 16, 2010 at 4:54 pm

Can somebody please explain the RM6000 price difference between EM and WM? Thank you.

• Chris on Nov 16, 2010 at 6:10 pm

Yes! I would like to know as well! I thought it was a misprint on the newspaper initially… I’m just expecting maybe 1-2k difference.

• EM guys are richer. Even newspaper more expensive.

• Chris on Nov 17, 2010 at 2:39 am

That’s what most WM people are thinking, and it’s wrong. It may be true for some successful businessmen (1 out of 10k?), but not true for the rest of us who work for salary, why else did you see so many EM people go over to WM to look for job?

It’s a fact, we earn less, but majority of the things cost more. Cars, newspaper, electronics, etc etc. Any Sarawak/Sabah people here would agree with me, that salary is mostly spent on basic needs and not much on luxuries.

Try to make a friend in EM and share thoughts, you’ll learn a lot. I don’t even subscribe to newspaper anymore because I rather spend those money pumping petrol.

• The Loner on Nov 17, 2010 at 7:51 am

I agree with Chris that most EMs aren’t as rich as many WM think. The income there is slightly lower than WM. Most of the local manufactured foods, households are made in WM and shipped to there, so the transport charges are to be bared by consumers there.

• 5 words for u my fren:

Don’t vote for the government……

• Tiadaid on Nov 17, 2010 at 2:15 pm

You probably didn’t get the sarcasm there.

And MZ, 6 words for u my fren:

The others are just the same…

• _xXx_ on Nov 17, 2010 at 2:50 pm

I also think EMs are richer. Why? Entry restriction imposed on WMs when entering Sbh/S’wak. Free movement for EMs!

• dun worry bro, if u really want this fiesta, fly over to WM to buy 1, and ship it to EM. much cheaper, somewhere around rm500-rm1k. u save at least rm4-5k.

• Tiadaid, LOL!!!!

That’s awesome…but never try never know. Hahaha…

• Tiadaid on Nov 16, 2010 at 6:52 pm

Flight costs maybe? Perhaps instead of shipping from Thailand to WM, they ship it straight from Thailand?

• Need4SpeedUnderground on Nov 16, 2010 at 4:55 pm

nice stuff … like it

• insperut on Nov 16, 2010 at 5:03 pm

this is SICK!

• No. This bodykit ruins the whole “Kinetic Design” theme of the Fiesta. It doesn’t do it justice.

• I agree with your view.

Not only it looks out of place or out of shape, it has made the car too low for Malaysian roads, and all the road hums and bumps, not to mention pot holes.

In fact, without the added bodykit, the car itself is already sitting quite low.

It is interesting to note that Malaysians drivers or car owners generally like to add bodykit to their cars which cost few thousands. This is evident even with car dealers/manufacturers such as Proton, Perodua, Naza, now Ford.

Why not give some options or spend the same amount for some practical items such as better safety features, equipment and items of better value for money. Eg Ford Fiesta with only one airbag?

For one, I would love to have s Auto Cruise Control for Ford Fiesta 1.6 HB instead of cosmetic items.

• that’s right, Malaysians love to spend money on the more useless accessories like bodykits. I would prefer to spend more moolah on a integrated reverse camera or a sun/moon roof.

• this Fiesta is feisty with the bodykit :)

think there will b a lot of Fiesta on the road soon, i guess.

• loveit on Nov 16, 2010 at 5:57 pm

such a high drag when the car is speeding..I bet those chin spoiler is imminent to fall anytime..better made it ‘integrated’ with the front look..

• Gajen on Nov 16, 2010 at 6:16 pm

not bad but i’d rather have it stock without the bodykit,looks cleaner and smarter

• l3ryan on Nov 16, 2010 at 6:36 pm

standard looks are nicer

• hello on Nov 16, 2010 at 6:57 pm

ground clearance too low. you’ll be having phobia driving over bumps and coming down ramps. better stay practical. however having said that, the kit looks very good on the car.

• matrxe on Nov 16, 2010 at 7:23 pm

i’m liking the rear diffuser. All cars should have one.

• Already got my fiesta on the road last week……..bodykit…no thanks. I like the original look.

• Lim Kopi on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:09 pm

Why the Penang plate ah? Cheaper to get is it ?

• Kuntakinte on Nov 17, 2010 at 7:20 am

I was one of those who placed a booking for the car during their roadshow in April. Test driven the car at launch but was very disappointed by the hunting gearbox in low speed plus the 1.6 hatch felt underpowered too. Canceled the booking 2 weeks ago. Still waiting for refund

• lchan on Nov 17, 2010 at 10:24 am

Not bad. Looks good and rear diffuser looks more like what they should look like rather then just a black slap of plastic for show.

• pug dog on Nov 17, 2010 at 11:29 am

wow, i like. nice.

• mata katak on Nov 17, 2010 at 11:46 am

the bodykit will add another 10hp……

• don’t like this bodykit at all.

• Ash Menon on Nov 17, 2010 at 4:33 pm

If it looks like a Jazz, and talks like a Jazz….

Personally, I prefer the stock look. And I’m not really loving this colour on the HB either. Looks much better on the sedan.

• bobdbilder on Nov 17, 2010 at 10:55 pm

I’d rather have a Duratec or 200cc more for RM3K. Which means a taller engine block by maybe a few mm and a stroker kit. That will give you about 10bhp. I wouldn’t want to stick on bodykits that will bring the weight up and could ONLY be effective above 110km/h. I really don’t get the whole bodykit upgrade jobbies that’s been going around. If I wanted any bodykits, it would be front splitter that extends as far back as the front wheel axes and more engine venting ports.

• dragster on Nov 18, 2010 at 9:35 am

just another ah beng’s dream of driving sport car…

• K-Bro on Nov 18, 2010 at 1:55 pm

finally honda jazz can balik kampung!!!

• nobody on Nov 19, 2010 at 9:03 am

no automatic transmission? kidding me?

• hi Anthony Lim ,

may i know what is this fiesta color? is original or paint it yourself?
    cos i did saw this color on malaysia wensite

• Bobby on Dec 17, 2010 at 4:53 pm

Could U gv me information where can I buy the Bodykit for FORD FIESTA (kinetic design)

• Bobby on Dec 17, 2010 at 4:55 pm

where can I buy te bodykit for Ford Fiesta (Kinetic design)