Ford Focus gets new features – TDCi sedan joins lineup

foci 1

Improvements are always a neat thing, and if you get additional features without having to pay a sen more, well, all the better. Such is the case with the Ford Focus here – the car get some minor enhancements, available across the range, without any change to the price.

The changes and add-ons are minimal, so it’s not a facelift (in any case, the C307 has already had its mid-life upgrade), though the front bumper has been reworked, with revised fog lamp housings the main giveaway.

foci 2

The top lip of the grille is also now body coloured (it was in chrome before), and the car now comes wearing a new wheel design – the five-spoke Y-pattern borrows its shape from the alloys seen on the Mondeo.

Elsewhere, the Focus now comes with auto rain sensing wipers as well as auto headlamps, auto dimming rear view mirror as well as a dimmer switch for the instrument cluster to complete that which is new on the Focus, which continues to be priced at RM112,888 and RM111,888 for the petrol hatch and sedan respectively, on the road without insurance.

foci 3

Meanwhile, a new variant joins the local Foci lineup, this being the TDCi sedan. Everything that’s on the TDCi hatch is to be found here, and the price is identical too – RM128,888 on the road, with insurance. And yes, both the diesels feature the above mentioned refinements.

Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1694]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• RON97 on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:07 pm

i dont know why this auto rain sensor should be mentioned. it’s not a luxury specs and bottom line this function is useless.

• it’s a statement of technology that this car have.. small thing but big different. means that’s cool..

• Tongkat on Nov 16, 2010 at 1:45 pm

its like power steering and front disc brake, you still mention it in the brouchure.

do your inspira has that? no right? so thats something luxury then.

• raja hakim on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:21 pm

nice car… i love the new focus…. and now it got much bettter with the diesel in the sedan… the price is also not too expensive…

• Jimmy on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:21 pm

Arrogant transport fee of RM6000 from West M’sia to East M’sia. No other car companies do that. Is this Fiesta a RR-equivalent?
    Not sensitive to marketing, likely will not have big achievement.

• lkf0512 on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:28 pm

Luckily Ford did not call it Focus Exclusive Edition…

• They should bring in the Ford Focus XR5 Turbo. I would buy one.

• and what an ape here begging for focus XR5 turbo to come. we already have recond civic type R euro model here in the market under NAZA and few others. i dont understand why must people go for something unreliable and less powerful focus or renoult RS. At least as a malaysian, stick to FD2 or Altis Dual VVTI which have more qualities and more powerful engine. really dont understand the mentality of malaysian nowadays. Office clerk also know which car is the king of the road now…civic

• JohnDeep on Nov 16, 2010 at 4:54 pm

For sure you never drive a turbo car. FD2 sure cium asap any of 2.0 lit turbo car including satria upgaded turbo!!

• formless on Nov 16, 2010 at 9:30 pm

oh oh s60 here you come..
        haven’t take the pills for today yet?
        come on, your comment wasted too much we reader’s time.

• DiscoStick on Nov 17, 2010 at 12:47 am

Even a 1.6 Turbo outpaced ur so called Dual VVTI easily. Powerful dude?

• rageaccel2 on Nov 17, 2010 at 7:38 pm

hahha.. s60…again, really stupid comment here… no need to write so long lah. wasting our time..

• The Dude on Nov 18, 2010 at 10:10 am

King of the road…which planet did u come from?…have ever driven a Focus or VW yet……get a life my fren…n drive one…..dun talk through ur rear end…..power is not everything if a car like civic handles like a brick………….u can’t even drive it fast through the first corner without the car wobbling like a sail boat…….

• Bbingbong on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:55 pm

did they still retain the driver electric seat?

• sutheshkumar on Nov 16, 2010 at 3:03 pm

yup, they still have it. checked it at the showrom last week. ;D

• beatnik on Nov 16, 2010 at 1:35 pm

Wow.. still on NCT5?? LOL

• Ah Fook on Nov 16, 2010 at 1:43 pm

TDCi with our Euro2M diesel???
    Who wants to spend RM128K and see black smoke coming out at the back????

• The Loner on Nov 16, 2010 at 5:45 pm

Different people have different perspectives. Some are for the better fuel consumption for diesel. Some will say diesel is dirty.

Overall is that frequent care for diesel engines is a must if not the injection system damaged then who will take the blame.

• rossi46 on Nov 16, 2010 at 7:40 pm

FYI…the Focus TDCi engine had been modified to suit our Euro 2M….btw, ranger 2.5 TDCi had been going around in ages wtout prob in Msia ( The TDCi engine are all had been made to suit Euro2M)

• The Loner on Nov 16, 2010 at 9:12 pm

Basically any diesel engine vehicles available in Thailand suits well in Boleh Land, as Thailand’s diesel fuel also has high contents of sulphur.

• But thailand have a cleaner fuel namely gasohol E85, bio-diesel B5.
        Malaysia only proud with shitty Envo-diesel in 2006 but until now still no commercialized in petrolpump . What I can say, Thailand which have more efforts towards greener environment instead of Malaysia with EURO 2-M Petrol and Diesel!!

WE WANT BIO-DIESEL AND BIO-ETHANOL RIGHT NOW GOV!!!

http://www.pttplc.com/en/products-and-services.aspx

• carfan on Nov 16, 2010 at 1:46 pm

This is not the new model is it???

Diff to pay for new car when the next model is already due.

• Peterpj on Nov 16, 2010 at 2:07 pm

hehe, I was the first few customers to collect this version of the car (mine is a hatch).

• alfaizal on Nov 16, 2010 at 2:35 pm

Euro2M diesel doesn’t mean it emits black smoke. Thats more due to older diesel engine technology. But Euro2M has higher sulfur content than more recent Euro5 that can be damaging to the newer tech of diesel engines.

• The Loner on Nov 16, 2010 at 5:47 pm

To be described in detailed here is the limits in PPM for sulphur content:

Euro 2M, not more than 500ppm but over 50ppm.

Euro 4, below 50ppm but over 10ppm.

Euro 5, not more than 10ppm

• Need4SpeedUnderground on Nov 16, 2010 at 3:09 pm

nice car …

• Tracks on Nov 16, 2010 at 4:23 pm

To many people, features like Rain Sensor and Automatic Head Lamps Control are deem useless or unnecessary. However, these features are actually for added safety rather than convenience items. But most people just don see it that way.

E.g. when you switch on your parking light while driving, the intention was to improve your visibility to others rather to yourself.

• rulered on Nov 16, 2010 at 6:10 pm

I just wonder whether the TDCi will be available for Ford S max one it is launched.

• rossi46 on Nov 16, 2010 at 7:43 pm

Yes…that the best application of the TDCi engine…..Heavy MPV/PPl mover are well suited to diesel….need all the low down torque to pull those weights without sacrificing Fuel economy ( Starex & Santa Fe..even the Q7 TDi are gud example for heavy vehicle gettin the advantage of diesel’s torque)

• Gajen on Nov 16, 2010 at 6:20 pm

this isnt the latest focus right? i rmb seeing a newer version in motorshows

• acerman on Nov 16, 2010 at 7:21 pm

Almost all the instruments in cars nowadays are auto. I have a friend who has a brother who owns a wira. My friend told me that his brother aren’t used to all the auto things in the car, I wonder why…

• arcana on Nov 16, 2010 at 10:34 pm

i wanna know what “auto” is available in that wira…..besides the auto tranny…..
      really curious……unless its modded somehow

• oldman on Nov 18, 2010 at 8:22 am

Wira…banyak auto…

Auto open / close door
        Auto seat adjustment
        auto signalling left / right
        auto cruise
        auto petrol filling up
        auto load / unload luggage…

• proton user on Nov 18, 2010 at 2:24 pm

auto stop
          auto pump failure
          auto power window jam
          auto rust

• ah yat on Nov 16, 2010 at 9:53 pm

SD brought in goodies hoping will improve sales. Ford has some great cars but SD need to improve their weakest part in the all demanding 3S in auto industry: sales, SERVICE, sparepart.

• Danny on Nov 16, 2010 at 10:45 pm

Good car bad service, expensive parts..

• was at PJ Ford last week.. test drive this car… it 4 speed auto (petrol).. the turbo diesel unavailable for test drive..

it a good car.. but my pocket is not that good ahahah// actually i went there to see the fiesta..

with current promotion.. they give u lots of discount.. :D but still i cant afford

• budlee on Nov 21, 2010 at 12:30 am

if i am not mistaken..
    black smoke is not cause by our Euro 2m smoke
    black smoke is caused by the lack of a particulate filter that filters the exhaust.
    some diesel engine such as those from Volkswagen, are so clean the exhaust does not need to be pointed downwards..

• Why ford focus petrol still running on 4 speed?
    why why?