GALLERY: US market Hyundai Elantra is a fluidic sculpture

The 2011 Hyundai Elantra will be unveiled to the American public at the LA Auto Show, and Hyundai has released a new set of images of the US market car. Hyundai will use the Elantra nameplate for this C-segment sedan in North America, but it will be called Avante in our market. Malaysians will get to touch and feel the Avante at the KL International Motor Show (KLIMS) 2010 alongside the ix-Metro concept and the revised Santa Fe.

In the US, the Elantra will be powered by a new 1.8L non GDI engine with 148 hp and 178 Nm of torque, mated to Hyundai’s own six-speed automatic. This fresh gallery is the most flattering to the “fluidic sculpture” lines of the Elantra/Avante so far. Hyundai’s new swoopy design language is also evident in the current Tucson and Sonata, but this is the most “full flavoured” example yet.

Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1695]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• nice

• MoFaz on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:41 pm

super duper nice :)
      i would choose this elantra rather than vios, city, forte, mazda 2, fiesta, peugeot 207 or inspira if it’s within the same price range… and i only hope they make a hybrid version of this.

• Whynot on Nov 18, 2010 at 1:32 pm

Good comment! Simply nice and this design outlooks will last for a long time and that is why proton wira lasted a long time. Most probably the 2nd hand value is good too!

• endre on Nov 16, 2010 at 3:35 pm

very nice. when coming here?

• comrade on Nov 18, 2010 at 10:41 am

when intro in Malaysia better give us good price or end up like i30.. very nice but very scarce on the road..

• tianshi on Nov 16, 2010 at 3:48 pm

Inspira is the best

• elite on Nov 16, 2010 at 9:25 pm

sorry la proton, i don’t think even lotus, mitsubishi, giugiaro, renault can come up with something like this.

• Happy Man on Nov 16, 2010 at 3:50 pm

Lawa siot!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!…but sadly..it is Hyundai….

• loveit on Nov 16, 2010 at 6:00 pm

so what if its hyundai?

• U mean proton better than hyundai?

• Happy Man on Nov 16, 2010 at 10:32 pm

ahahaha.. you can compare this for 2nd hand value.. i’m not saying this car is not good… but so far, majority will choose honda & toyota.. sad thing man… people in boleh land dont appraciate this model… =(

• DonkeyKong on Nov 18, 2010 at 12:00 am

You can check with 2nd hand car dealers as to how easy (or difficult) it is to sell old-model City, Vios and Altis these days. I wonder why their resale values are still so high when it’s not so easy to sell. 2nd-hand Accords and Camrys still sell fine, though. On the other hand, 2nd-hand Korean cars are some of the easiest to sell.

• Happy Man on Nov 16, 2010 at 10:36 pm

do you watch richad hammond when he reviewed Lexus LFA … last thing he said… in the end of the day, its just a lexus.. same goes here…. in the end of the day, this just a hyundai… and majority wont buy it….

• my fren,this clearly shows that ur are one of those who idolise T&H,even if they sell a crappy car to u,u will still buy it.U noe why,cuz u dunno wat is value for money.car is meant to be enjoyed and driven and nowadays other brands are really topping the list with almost full spec cars that are priced lower than ur so called high resale value T&H.IT takes some balls to purchase sumthing ur not familiar with,clearly urs is missing

• And richard hammond commented that “IT’S STILL A LEXUS” which means its an overpriced toyota.in case u din noe,Hyundai is soon to become to number 1 car maker in US,topping even the US car makers such as GMC.And ur still talking about resale value,as if ur gonna gain bek wateva u put in to buy ur DUGONG vios and Transformer City

• saddened by yr mentality. still thinks like old uncle, toyota and honda. do u know that hyundai is the 3rd car manufacturer in the world ???

• tustus on Nov 18, 2010 at 10:13 am

if you, which one you choose if you want buy your next car?
        1. Hyundai
        2. Honda or Toyota

• ong chin aun on Nov 16, 2010 at 3:57 pm

nice, just like the recent sonata. Hyndai really improve tremendrously in design and tecknology . Important of all is the after sale service and price and reliability.

• Sorchai on Nov 17, 2010 at 9:17 pm

Aiyah…Malaysians are always narrow minded. Only T&H. Cannot think out of the box.

Malaysians only buy cars that other people like and not the car they like. Let it be…

• Wisdom on Nov 16, 2010 at 4:17 pm

Speechless. Who’s sketch is this?

• ikat perut on Nov 16, 2010 at 4:23 pm

if can sell below forte 1.6 price or fiesta…heaven

• Redwings on Nov 17, 2010 at 9:35 am

No way.. Kia is owned by Hyundai.. In term of quality.. Avante is just above forte..
      The looks much better then forte, right?

• seancorr on Nov 16, 2010 at 4:25 pm

Very nice….hope it gets some decent sales here. The new Sonata here to me fail to grab much attention. I still see the Accords & Camrys coming out from the factory like no tomorrow

• DonkeyKong on Nov 18, 2010 at 12:02 am

Sonatas are not rolling off the distributorships fast enough. The bookings are jam-packed and the buyers have to endure months-long waiting lists. I guess the distributors themselves did not expect such a hot reception.

• Mancini on Nov 18, 2010 at 9:59 am

sonata is above camry n accord in term of spec but price is the other way around. right now more and more people (including me) start to love other makes than honda and toyota.

the problem with sonata is not the reception of malysian, but the waiting period is way to long to bear.

• SaddenMYS on Nov 16, 2010 at 4:29 pm

Beautifully designed!

Proton should learn from Hyundai spending their resources in recruiting talented designers and produce better looking products instead of becoming a minor shareholder of a F1 constructor…..sigh!

• yippi33 on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:02 pm

wanna know who’s behind all these “fluidic” designs??

http://www.themotorreport.com.au/26259/hyundai-appoints-philip-zak-new-head-of-design

current one is not korean, even the previous one is’nt…the technical centre is also in america (HATCI) and not korea..KIA is also using the same strategy..

Proton outsourced the design of future models to Giugiaro..they are spending their resources in the right direction..

• Whynot on Nov 17, 2010 at 1:21 am

You r absolutely right! I fully agreed. Lotus sports car in a Malaysian dream. Why should we using Mitsubishi when Lotus sports car r so damn beautiful and not being applied to Proton car design for so long???

• Jimmy on Nov 16, 2010 at 5:01 pm

Side view: front end is short compared to the rest of the car especially the rear.

• simon vw on Nov 16, 2010 at 5:08 pm

Most people are still worried about the reliability and after sales service which will affect the resale value of this brand.

For the brand to do well best Hyundai Korea take back the distributorship and expand the business themselves then chances of it becoming a success will be there.

However in this bolehland many things is left to be desired.

• squawk on Nov 17, 2010 at 11:59 pm

I used to think old Korean cars were crappy. And then I was driven around in some really old ones that we don’t get in M’sia e.g. Kia Delta, Hyundai Starex (not the new Grand one) and I was pleasantly surprised that they didn’t feel like an Iswara taxi even though we were on rough roads.

• torres on Nov 16, 2010 at 5:29 pm

Nice….Lets hope the new 2011 HONDA CIVIC looks much better than this…!!!…

• Coolken on Nov 16, 2010 at 5:46 pm

Yup, That’s why i opt for a japanese make anyday in Malaysia..

• A CBU from Korea should be more reliable than a CKD Japs. At least my experience with the Japan H&T is not that excellent. And after sales service for the Japs is neither good nor cheap.

For me, why bother about resale value if you were to use the car for long period. The most important thing is the selling price is lower, the car is beautiful and excellent to drive.

• rossi46 on Nov 16, 2010 at 7:35 pm

Agreed,….the low purchase price will off-set any re-sale value advantage of a Japs if u’re planning to use it for 5 years or so….

• Duncare on Nov 16, 2010 at 10:54 pm

If one cares so much about how much it can sell before purchasing, that commodity should be “real estate”. Buying car is not an investment cause it already depreciated the moment the it was registered.

I am not sure about a CBU from a specific country would be better than local CKD of a particular brand. As long as I could afford its monthly installment, have 3-5 years of worry-free and mostly trouble-free ownership, plus a lot of fun-and-feel-good factors every time I turn the ignition, why not?

• DonkeyKong on Nov 18, 2010 at 12:06 am

Sadly, those chinamen will never understand this and think of cars as investments instead of liabilities.

• T+H cars are not that good on Dec 14, 2010 at 5:41 pm

A friend (VW) threw cold water at me when I said I wanted to buy a korean car, saying I will lose so much on resale. Another friend (N) threw me cold water saying korean car spare parts damned expensive. Many other friends (T+H) similarly threw cold water at me for choosing cold door car, mostly cos of low resale value and lower reliability.

What I found out later was T+H+N’s fuel consumption is not really that good (all this reported extremely low HC, high tech and specs are crap invented to save face) and even VW gave this cold water thrower friend lots of problems which he refused to admit.

At times, really disheartened by all these cold water splashed at me. But I believe I will make the right decision.

• Gajen on Nov 16, 2010 at 6:17 pm

right now im just waiting for toyota and honda’s next generation, wanna see if they can do better than this, i mean hyundai is really stepping up.good job

• zhang on Nov 16, 2010 at 6:37 pm

nice, sure beat the H & T hands down, when will this car available in our bolehland ! and of cos our SD is hopeless in therm of timing n pricing…

• this is such a beauty.

honda should learn a thing or two from hyundai in designing the new civic…lets not even talk about the ugly altis.

jap cars are getting sooooo boring.

• This new avante sure beat the hell those jap car, i.e (civic,altis,sylphy,mazda3,lancer. )well done hyundai!!!

• Katak on Nov 16, 2010 at 8:33 pm

Now, this what we car proper car with really good look ^^

• Omg, not another overpriced twisted metal

• reuben how on Nov 16, 2010 at 9:57 pm

HYUNDAI stands for everything korean. PROTON stands for everything Malaysian. That means Failure with a capital F.

• DonkeyKong on Nov 18, 2010 at 12:07 am

So what you’re saying is Korea is a failed state and so is Malaysia?

• comrade on Nov 18, 2010 at 10:35 am

do you mean every Korean and Malaysian are Failure..?? how about you? which country do you came from??

• Whynot on Nov 18, 2010 at 1:04 pm

Proton will never die, let hope so they can stand the pressure from 1Malaysian bashing until they are really bucked up for hard and serious thinking why 1Malaysian preferred foreign car more. This is evident, we r proud of Protons being Malaysian but not with the current progress as what Malaysia think it should be. If Protons still thinks they r the best and they themselves is not driving a proton car. Then Protons should bash themselves first at their own mouth.

• reuben how on Nov 16, 2010 at 10:00 pm

Malaysian company always mismanage their principal’s brand. I remember when Woongjin Coway was under Malaysian management. Those were very dark days. Korean service is excellent, and if you are Malaysian living or studying in Korea you will understand what I mean.

• bryan jones on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:30 pm

one word: Beautifullllllll

• SwiftMatrix on Nov 17, 2010 at 12:42 am

Nowday, I do believe that Japs depending more on Mazda to fight against Korea in term of design… Mazda have more gas in their tank compare with Honda & Toyota…

Personaly, Honda still have to improve on its design department….. The last car that came out from its R&D and really excited me till now is Prelude….. it ways more than 10 years ago…Meanwhile, for Toyota, I have to say nothing excited me for their sedan cars segment.. its very boring… But I can’t said so for their MPV & Wagon segment….

Korea’s KIA & Hyundai are much better nowday… compare with old those day whereby they make a joke with their Sonata …remember E-Class + Jaguar ‘wannabe’ design… he he….

• Pentansakua on Nov 17, 2010 at 12:57 am

Is going to give the Japs a good challenge especially in the C-Segment
    If the price is right from SD like maybe 80 to 85K..

Am sure to be the first to book for the CBU

• Mohan Nair on Nov 17, 2010 at 5:25 am

This car will end the duopoly of Honda Civic and Toyota Corolla here in the US. A friend of mine who wanted to put some down for the car was told there were more than 100 people ahead of him. I am talking about Dallas Fort Worth area.

Honda and Toyota should very seriously start produce better looking value for money cars else Hyundai is going to eat their lunch. Hyundai with their new manufacturing facility in Alabama is firing on all cylinders !!!

• car_inspector on Nov 17, 2010 at 11:28 am

nice outside, bad inside -> ridiculous noise, lousy sparepart, poor engine
    buy korean car if u want to entertain others, but torture urself by drivng an expensive but under expectation car :>

• DonkeyKong on Nov 18, 2010 at 12:09 am

Wow, did you just ride in a 1990 Hyundai Sonata before deciding to share your capsule review with the rest of us?

• comrade on Nov 18, 2010 at 10:39 am

you’ve already test drive the 2011 version…?? wow!!

• Joker The Great on Nov 17, 2010 at 12:09 pm

Korea learned from the mistake very fast…
    While Japanese car was in comfort zone for many years…. Yah thanks to their previous effort for ability to produce a high quality and reliability car for many years..
    But it seems that those Japanese car now the day no longer look attractive, thought that VVTI, VTec can last longer..

Sorry la, Korean car catch up very fast at this moment.. Non of us can deny it..
    Now the day, you dare to to say lousy Hyundai or Kia…? hahahahaha

Lets wait for this model coming in…
    Once again, i am sure this car worth for every single cent….

Toyota………………. Sad to see that you care to produce the car which end up you to call back million of units in world wide, its proof that, those important defect will cause the human gone, you dont even care about it before you launch it…..

Wake up guys… Choose the right car…..

• Joker The Great on Nov 17, 2010 at 12:12 pm

http://www.themotorreport.com.au/50437/2011-hyundai-i45-wagon-spied-testing

Hi Paul
    How about this car…? i45 from Hyundai… So far yet have any introduction about this car to us… Looks awesome for this car too…
    When you look at the rim, you will know this car design surely great and catch our eyes

• arcana on Nov 17, 2010 at 2:27 pm

actually the i45 is the sonata which was introduced here months back.
      that spyshot is the wagon version…not for our market.

• thebugbud on Nov 17, 2010 at 12:51 pm

smart, good strategy and tactful. Listen to the customers and u will be right. That’s what the korean did for the last few years. Proton? Not say no but they are trying too.

• nolan on Nov 17, 2010 at 12:59 pm

Nice design and excellent overall…….Good buy….

• Nice and good car.

For those who had a bad perception/experience of the previous korean machine should try out the Sonata and Tucsan and you will be a surprice for their improvement.

I would put my money on Tucson against the CRV and x-trail and Sonata against the accord and camry if my budget is ard 140K.

Anyway, if the elantra price ard 80- 90K then I will put my booking in and this car is ahead of our civic, altis and proton inspira.

Well, just hope they dont price the car like I20 (above 110K) and make this car affordable to the middle income grounp who look for car range from 80-90K.

well done, Hyundai.

• mulgara on Nov 17, 2010 at 3:46 pm

Freaking handsome. But it makes my i30 looks out of date. Sigh…

• Ash Menon on Nov 17, 2010 at 4:40 pm

wah so fast already think i30 looks out of date? dun la bro, i30 still a gorgeous car.

• mulgara on Nov 18, 2010 at 9:14 am

Thanks bro. Don’t worry, i30 still looks great to me and I ride it happily as my daily commute. Gonna have a long term relationship with it :-)

• Mancini on Nov 18, 2010 at 10:08 am

yes, i agree, 130 is gorgeous car. sell me cheap one then buy this sonata

• Ruszali on Nov 17, 2010 at 3:57 pm

Have we learn how the Korean perceived their local brands such as Hyundai dan Kia. If we want to see Proton dynamicly moving forward, we should think and behave like Korean consumer too.

• Forteowner on Nov 17, 2010 at 9:42 pm

Proton will never be a that stage base on our country economy scale
      it will never be justifiable to produce your own car , proton can only survive
      by re badging , by imposing high import duty tax and the money to bail out
      proton which is half alive because of is under Khazanah otherwise they have long
      gone as all these re badging is about business propositions and not about
      Proton moving forward nor improving….

Korea is almost the same size of Malaysia about 900km and yet their population in south korea is about 60 mil and the domestic market is enough to justified their production and of course they have to produce quality car otherwise it will not be
      accepted by the koreans and look at sales for korean in US despite the auto sector
      sales decline especially for Toyota however Hundai-Kia register a strong double digit
      sales growth vs 2009 and projections of 15% growth for 2010 and my guess is
      they will hit the mark by Q3 exceeding the projected figures..

With Sportage,K5,Sorento & Avante on the list in 2011 i am sure we will see some solid sales here if is price right and we can thank Naza for that otherwise you won’t be
      getting anything like Forte for 81K in C segment..

Next contender to watch out is K5 which is going to give a value for money
      and packs with lots of feature for the D segments..

Proton needs to merge if they don’t we the rakyat will suffer with high import tax
      and AFTA for auto sector in bolehland will never be materialize….

http://paultan.org/2010/03/11/kia-opens-1-billion-plant-in-georgia-its-first-in-the-us/

• Nasai on Nov 18, 2010 at 5:31 pm

Ya, thank Naza for very bad after sales service. Sure mah they can make Forte C-segment very affordable at the price of Japs T & H B-segment cars cuz they got close conection wif gov, Rafidah, major AP holder, etc.

Naza wont be bringing the K5 anytime soon. Just look at Soul & Sportage. Until now still not launched in M’sia. I even saw a Spore registered Orange coloured Kia Sportage along LDP recently, the LED Day Running Light (aka eyeliner) was so cool, just like the Audi A4 and other Audi’s models, must thank Peter Schryer for that.

As for any Korean cars in Malaysia, be it Kia-Naza or Hyundai-Sime Darby, lets just hope that these distributors’ after sales service would improve. As for now, lets wait for KLIMS in DEC to see this Avante in Hyundai Booth.

• Forteowner on Nov 19, 2010 at 11:29 am

i can say is not all SC is bad and you can’t just label 1 bad apple to be all bad
          aren’t you and who cares about gov connections as it don’t benefits me and
          as long as i care is that i can buy a good quality non national as compare to
          the same price or higher for national car..

K5 will make is appearance after the depletion of Optima and that will probably
          in 1st half 2011 same goes to the face lifted sportage ..it depends on Naza
          which to bring in first

Thats right there is still improvements needed for after sales, but still there
          are those whom is still skeptical with Korean makes..Korean have evolve and
          not 10 yrs ago maybe but proton is just pathetic..

• Awesome!

• martin loh on Nov 17, 2010 at 9:16 pm

Beautiful design ….. hyundai cars nowadays look alike…. new i10, tuscon, i40 & etc…all look alike…

• Look for good value car on Nov 17, 2010 at 11:07 pm

The car is more Ummph than Sonata !

• Teighlour on Nov 18, 2010 at 12:18 am

I am currently driving a 2003 Elantra. It is a lovely car and still driving it, no major problems with the car. Regular maintenance by Hyundai and the car lasts. So with this new 2011 Elantra/Avante coming out, I dont mind to upgrade. Hopefully it can be cheaper then the old price tag I paid @ RM97K seven yrs ago.

• Hercules on Nov 18, 2010 at 5:24 pm

no matter how it design or talk until how good the car is, it still no fight with Honda, honda simply come out a model everyone will ramp to buy. unfortunately hyundai doesn’t have this fate.

• road runner on Nov 29, 2010 at 4:15 pm

hav u dun d research???
      how old honda is
      how young hyundai is
      what is d FACT nowadays
      Check (dont think u hav plenty free) Honda in US vs Hyundai in US

• I freaking love new Hyundai and Kia design,good looking and styles!

• dexter on Nov 18, 2010 at 8:46 pm

thats bcos the lexus LFA is priced insanely high, even higher then Ferrari and Lamborghini. on the other hand, the elantra is priced lower then civic and altis. the older model was not a looker, thats why it didn’t do well, the new model should fare better. I would definitely pick this over inspira (or others in the same price bracket). there is a reason why hyunda/kia are doing so well now.

• whatever on Nov 19, 2010 at 10:42 pm

For 8 wonderful years i’ve been driving my 1.8 matrix. No regret buying it. Will book this new avante if hyundai offers a special buy-back plan. Last time they offered me RM5k rebate if i trade in my matrix with i10 but luckily i saw this sexy avante just in time. Gonna book one @ 2010 KLIMS soon….hahaha

• Darren on Nov 20, 2010 at 12:42 am

nice design. very spacious.

I drove a korean made for 4 years. it is terrible. Short life span, expensive spare parts and service, high FC, under power, noise everywhere, ugly design (it was a company gift, it was company choice). nothing is good even dun dare to give 1 more try. I still felt that this car is going to be under power. Many ppl will buy because of the good looking futuristic design like why many Kia forte on the road. Some owner bought it because of atractive price. C segment car selling under a B segment price of a Jap made. I do wish it will turn up to be a good car like the Jap made.

• Hyundai Fan on Nov 20, 2010 at 11:06 am

If the new Honda Civic is really look like what as shown in this website http://www.carmiddleeast.com/index.php/main/gallery/2079/Articles/0, then I will say sorry to Honda for designing such a backward design car which is totally cannot fight with the new Avante in term of exterior and interior look. The front side of Honda Civic is just like Honda Integra and the rear light is like Ford Focus Sedan. The interior is worse than the current model. Honda is repeating a mistake for designing a next generation car that is worse than the current generation car like what it did for the previous model in 2000-2005 & was lost to Altis badly. This time sure will lost to Avante again. It is not worth waiting for the new Honda Civic. Avante should be the car that is very worth waiting for.

• road runner on Nov 29, 2010 at 12:30 pm

Really interested w 2011 Sonata 2.4 is it GLS, SE n y dont get d highest bhp for our market
    Reviewed only good not bad
    What abt sumthin similar to Fifth Gear or Top Gear
    Look for top speed not found anywher
    Possiblity on engine mod i.e. RELEASE SPEED CUT
    Time to shift from H@Jap to H@Korean

• How much it will be for the new avante model?? I’m planning of getting one of this as my first car :D

• How much it will cost for this car? I’m planning of getting one of this as my first car :D

• Kim Jong il on Jan 05, 2011 at 10:37 am

Korean Technology, Design headed by former design director of VW/Audi. That why major transformation in Kia and Hyundai designs. Not forgetting the lead designer now is an Italian.

Asians can’t design for jack, Japanese designer suck too compared to the Europeans.
    Only thing we are good at here in Malaysia losing control and crashing into things.